Skip to main content

Full text of "Schuylkill County, Pennsylvania; genealogy--family history--biography; containing historical sketches of old families and of representative and prominent citizens, past and present"

See other formats


Gc M, L 

974.801 
SchSs 
V.2 
1153970 



OENEAL-OGY 



COL-L-ECTTION 



1833 01203 8763 



GENEALOGY 
974.801 
SCH8S 
V.2 



SCHUYLKILL 
COUNTY 

PENNSYLVANIA 

Genealogy — Family History — Biography 



Containing Historical Sketc/ies of Old Families and of 

Representative and Profninent Citizens 

Past and Present 



IN TWO VOLUMES 



ILLUSTRATED 



VOLUME II 



CHICAGO 
L H. BEERS & COMPANY 

1916 



INDEX 



1153970 






Achenbach Family 

Achenbach, Gregory 

Acker, Mrs. Esther A 

Acker Family 


759 

759 

931 

930 


Acker, William S 

Adam (Adams) Families 

104, 221, 

Adam, George B 

Adams Family 

Adams Frank 


930 

...'.. 983 

.104, 221 

1192 


Adams, George 


105 


Adams, John H 


107 


Adams, Robert W 

Adamson Family 

Adamson, William R 


107 

247 

247 


All>right, Hiester S. 


96 






Allen, Lueian H 


268 


Alspach, Charles P 


317 


Andreas Family 


393 


Angst Family ... 


251 


Angst, John H 

Annunciation Cliurch, Shenandoah, 

Archbald Family 

Archbald, Col. James, Jr 

Aregood, Isaiah 

Aregood, Ossman J 

Aregood, Samuel C 

Arndt Family 


. .... 251 

1151 

35 

35 

592 

593 

592 

415 






Artz Family 


1032 


Atkins, Charles M 

Auchmuty, J. E., M. D 

Bachert, Elias 


1 

452 


Bachert Families 438, 475 

Bachert, William I 

Bachman Family 

Bachman, Samuel 

Baer (Barr) Families 565, 


, 659, 818 

658 

456 

456 

990, 1011 


Bailey Family . 


383 


Bailey, Samuel S 


383 


Baldinger, Albert 

Balliet Family 


690 






Bannan, Benjamin 


168 


Bannan. John 


609 



Bannan, Miss Martha E 

Bannan, Thomas B 

Bare Family 

Barket, Solomon A 

Barlow, Ephraim 

Barlow, Nathan 

Barr, Edward 

Barr (Baer) Families 990, 

Barr, Milton 

Basler, Mrs. Mary C 

Basler, William 

Bast Family 

Bast, Jeremiah F 

Bast, Oliver O 

Batten, George 

Batten, Shadraeh 

Baum, Earl D 

Baum Family 

Bauscher, David 

Bauscher Family 

Bausum Family 

Bausum, Frank W 

Baver Family 

Baver, Franklin D 

Beatty, George H 

Bechtel, Edgar W 

Bechtel Family 2 

Bechtel, Francis W 

Bechtel, Judge O. P 

Beck, C. Lester 

Beck, Edward F 

Beck Families 

100, 466, 1087, 1092, 1141, 

Beck, George 

Beck, Isaac G 

Becker Family 

Becker, Irwin H 

Becker, William 

Behler, Anthony 

Behler Family 

Behler, Samuel B 

Behney Family 

Behney, Prof. George A 

Bell Family 

Bell, James J 

Bendriek, Mrs. Helen 

Bendrick, Joseph 

Ben-Salem Clmrch (Reformed) 

Bensinser, Hiarles S 

Benfin-er Families 404, .116, 7.30, 

Bensingev, Frank L 

Bensinger. William F 

Bergan, William 



610 
610 
565 
719 
552 
552 
1011 
1011 



566 
566 
496 
496 
498 
1171 
1171 
821 

409 
410 
633 
633 
381 
381 
869 



1162 
1076 
100 



IV 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 



Family 58, 

John D 

Berger, William 

Berk Family 

Berk, John K., M. D 

Berkheiser Family 

Berkheiser, Arthur J., M. D 

Berney, Timothy F 

Berrett, George 

Betz, Peter 

Bevan, John 

Beveridge, David 

Bicht, William F 

Biersteiu (Birstou), Pius W 

Billig, William 

Billman Family 

Birch, Mrs. Margaret D 

Birston (Biersteiu), Pius W 

Bischoff, Conrad 

Bisehoff, William C 

Bittle, Charles H 

Bittle Families 234 

318, 329, 473, 525 

Bittle, Isaac C 

Bittle, John C ' 

Bittle, Marcus 

Bittle, Oliver A 

Bittle, Mrs. Rosa 

Bittle, Samuel B 

Bittner Family 

Bixler, Irvin H 

Bleiler Family 

Bleiler, Thomas F 

Bobbin, John J 

Boczkowski, William D 

Boden Family 



671 
1019 
1027 
1099 
1169 
827 
888 
63 
1169 
357 
35S 
473 



588 



Rolich Families 411, 618, 851 

Bolich, Herman A 852 

Bolich, Louis C 851 

Bolton, George W 900 

Boltz Family 548 

Boltz, Jacob 548 

Bond, Miss Emily 764 

Bond, George 763 

Boner, Mrs. Alice M 1198 

Boner, Ambrose 1197 

Boner Family 1197 

Borbaeh, Charles C 494 

Borlace Family 1134 

Bosch, Joseph C 1214 

Bosche, Frank 1084 

Bmighter, Ezra J 1038 

Bowen, Charles K 695 

Bovren Families 695, 1066 

Bowers, Walter G., M. D 6.39 

Bowman Families 194, 1178 

Bowman, George F 1178 

Bowman, Peter 195 

Boyer Families 176, 421, 725, 1047 

Boyer, John O. J 725 

Braehman Fam (lies 797, 1034 

Brachman, Frederick W 796 

Braehman, Harry J 1033 

Brady, Michael j 413 



.803, 1160 



Braun (Brown) Families 76 

1072, 1096, 

Braun, Robert C 

Breen, Joseph 

Breen, Patrick 

Breisch Families 

Brennan, Hon. James E 568 

Brennan, Michael R 1025 

Brobst, Edward C 230 

Brobst Family 230 

Erode Family 254 

Brode, Samuel 254 

Erode, William 256 

Brommer Family 698 

Brommer, Manuel W 698 

Brown, Adam J 1103 

Brown, Charles T 768 

Brown, Edwin .- 152 

Brown (Braun) Families 62, 

405, 768, 875, 1096, 1103 

Brown, Frank 152 

Brown, George W 62 

Brown, Harper H 1071 

Brown, Jacob P 1000 

Brown, John C 405 

Brown, John K 63 

Brown, Walter E 1096 

Brown, Warren G 875 

Brown, William J 1121 

Brown, William W 540 

Brownmiller Family 726 

Bruuim, Hon. Charles N 168 

Bruner Family 115 

Bryant, Willis L 162 

Bubeck, Charles H 561 

Bubeck, Clayton W 561 

Bubeck, John E 560 

Buchsbice, Mrs. Dorothy 1028 

Buchsbice, Gottlieb 1028 

Buckley Family 799 

Bucklev, William R., M. D 799 

Buck Hun Colliery 866 

Buehler, Francis J 1020 

Buehler, Peter 519 

Buehler, Samuel 519 

Bull, .Jonathan, Sr 770 

Bull, Ross 770 

Burke Brothers 350 

Burke, Edward J 184 

Burke Family 184 

Burke, James V 350 

Burke, Martin M.- 182 

Burke, Patrick H 183 

Burkhardt, James 1078 

Burkhart Family 947 

Burkhart, Karl W 947 

Burnham, Joseph 950 

Burnham, William J 950 

Butz Family 281 

Butz, George W 280 

Canfield Family 847 

Canfield, Prof. Patrick S 846 

Cardin Family 1210 

Carl, Abraham 638 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 



Carl, Mrs. Ellen M 639 

Carl Families 95, 837 

Carl, Frederick 837 

Carl, Harry E 95 

Carmitcheli Family 954 

Carmitehell, George E 954 

Carroll, Prof. Charles 257 

Christeson, Capt. Hans C 689 

Christeson, Mrs. Louisa 689 

Clappier, Christian G 342 

Clappier, Peter 342 

Clauser Families 749, 898 

Clauser, Jacob W 749 

Clay (Henry) Monument 610 

aayton, Nelson 296 

aayton, E. Bruce 296 

Cleaver, James R 77 

Cochran, Andrew B 116 

Cochran, William A 117 

Coldren, Darius D 146 

Coldren Family 146 

Collins, James B 303 

Collins, Patrick 303 

Conrad, John L 344 

Conville Family 534 

Cook Family 841 

Coombe, John M 852 

Coombe Family 258 

Coombe, Eiehard 258 

Cooper FamOy 896 

Cooper, Prof. Jonathan W 896 

Corbe, August 829 

Crawford, Mrs. Alona B 285 

Crawford, Andrew J 284 

Crawford, Samuel G 285 

Crosby, NeU 838 

Culleu, John J 1211 

Cummings, Pierce 855 

Cunimings, Thomas J 855 

Curran, James 779 

Daley FamUy 823 

Daley, William J 822 

Dampman Family 995 

Dampman, William M 994 

Daniel, Arthur H 1080 

Danner, Henrv 809 

Darkwater Colliery 866 

Daubert Family 601 

Daubert, William H 601 

Davis, E. F. C 43 

Davis Family 585 

Davis, Mrs. Ida H 290 

Davis, .John H 288 

Davis, Thomas D 585 

Davis, Thomas J 153 

Deehert, Daniel, M. D 464 

Dechert Family 464 

Deebel, John F 556 

Deebel, Samuel 555 

Degler Familv 901 

Degler. Joel S 901 

Deibert, Allen J 747 

Deibert. Charles V. B 834 

Deibert, Daniel 869 



Deibert, Daniel D 576 

Deibert Families 213, 

576, 663, 677, 747, 834, 869, 1004 

Deibert, George E 213 

Deibert, James 677 

Deibert, Samuel J 663 

Deibert, William F 1004 

Deisher Family 426 

Deisher, John H ; 426 

Delaney Family 858 

Dengler Family 1048 

Dengler, Howard 1048 

Derr, Elias 570 

Derr FamOies 570, 670 

Derr, Gabriel B 669 

DeSilva, Mrs. Ella E 380 

DeSilva, John S 380 

Detweiler Family 23 

Detwiler, Dr. Peter C 23 

Dewald PamUies 437, 1029 

Dewald, Irwin 1029 

Dewald, Samuel 437 

Dewey Family 961 

Dewey, Michael G., M. D 961 

Diefenderfer Family 535 

Diefenderfer, Guy H 536 

Diefenderfer, Wi'lliam H 535 

Dietricli, Frank D 1064 

Dillman Family 80 

Dillman, Daniel D 83 

Dillman, Daniel K 82 

Dillman, D. Walker 84 

Dimmerling FamUy 1062 

Dimmerling, George F 1062 

Dinger Family 667 

Dinger, Joel A ; 735 

Dinger, Wilson R 667 

Dirscliedl, Henrv A., M. D 295 

Dirschedl, Joseph 295 

Ditchey, Charles F 1119 

Ditchey, Jacob W 1119 

Doehney, William F 358 

Dodson, Weston & Co 860 

Doebler, Mrs. M 490 

Doebler, WiUiam G 489 

Doherty, Edward A 1156 

Doherty Families 527, 1156 

Doherty, William F 527 

Dohner, Henry J 310 

Dolbin Family 765 

Dolbin, John 'E 765 

Donahoe Brothers 907 

Donahoe Families 574, 908 

Donahoe, Hon. J. Wilfred 574 

Donahoe, Eiehard A 909 

Donahoe, Thomas C 908 

Donmoyer Family 1084 

Donmoyer, John W 1084 

Donne, Daniel 1056 

Donne Family 1056 

Donohue, Martin 317 

Donohue, Michael M 317 

Dormer, Martin 964 

Dormer, Mrs. Mary 965 

Dornbach, Henry H 543 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 



Douglass, Dr. George 37 

Douglass, Miss Eachel M 37 

Doyle Family 240 

Doyle, W. Francis, M. D 240 

Dresher FamUy 623 

Drumheller Family 512 

DrumheUer, Bert E 512 

Dumcius, Eev. John 300 

Ebbert Family 505 

Eberly FamUy 1102 

Eberly, William 1101 

Ebert FamUies 1037, 1077 

Ebert, George W 1077 

Eberts, Joseph 356 

Ebling Families 948, 974 

Ebling, Irvin A 974 

Ebling, John M 948 

Eckert, Abraham L 297 

Ehrhart Family 433 

Ehrhart, Mrs. Julia C 436 

Ehrhart, WUliam N., A.M., Ph.D.... 432 

Eifert Family 1031 

Eifert, William P 1031 

Eiler, Elwood T 702 

Eiler FamUy 884 

EUer, Frank 703 

Eiler, John 703 

Eisenhauer, Samuel 557 

Eisinger, Charles W 816 

Eisinger Family 816 

Elison, Alois 1091 

ElisoD Family 1109 

Elison, Peter 1091 

EUiott, William 174 

Emerich, Elijah 222 

Emerich Families 223, 445, 714, 957 

Emerich, Irvin W 714 

Emriek Family 957 

Emrick Jonathan B 957 

English, Ellis J 1100 

Esterly, Walter F 1071 

Evans, Miss Annie S 746 

Evan's, Charles B 746 

Evans, Clarence H 1014 

Evans, Rev. David 1 1131 

Evans Families 86, 801, 978, 1014 

Evans, Nathan 746 

Evans, Samuel J 977 

Evans, William D 1191 

Fahl Families 590, 950 

Fahl, John H 590 

Farquhar, George W 4 

Farquhar, Guy E 4 

Farquhar, Otto E 8 

Farrell Family 775 

Farrell, Thomas A 775 

Faust, Andrew B 1126 

Faust, Charles W 927 

Faust, Mrs. Dora T 309 

Faust Families. 565, 627, 775, 899, 927, 1126 

Faust, Mrs. Rebecca E 1127 

Faust, William G 308 

Fayhey, John B 1190 



Feger, Jacob 642 

Fegley Families 298, 807 

Fegley, Perry W 298 

FeUer, Levi 1095 

Felty Families 1020, 1037 

Felty, Ferdinand 1037 

Felty, John H 1020 

Fenkner FamUy 915 

Fenton FamUy 684 

Fenton, Ivor D., M. D 684 

Ferguson, Anthony 980 

Ferguson, Christopher P 57 

Ferguson, Daniel J 56 

Ferguson FamUies 50, 980 

Ferguson, Patrick J 50 

Fertig FamUy 396 

Fertig, John 396 

Fesig, Samuel M 850 

Fessler FamUies 351, 708 

Fessler, Harry G 351 

Fessler, Jeremiah 708 

Fetterolf FamUy 826 

Fetterolf, Peter 826 

Fifller FamUy 445 

PUbert FamUies 11, 177, 248 

FUbert, John Harry 248 

Filbert, Maj. Peter A 177 

FUbert, Peter K., D. D. S 11 

FUer, Elisha, Jr 760 

Fisher, C. Arthur 291 

Fisher FamUy 291 

Fister FamUy 600 

Fister, James H 695 

Fleming, William C 1106 

Flexer FamUy 392 

Flynn Family 389 

Flynn, John J 389 

Foley, James 1211 

Ford, Edwin 889 

Foster, Thomas 165 

Foyle, Martin E 1204 

Frack, Daniel 77 

Franey, James J 1146 

Franey, Martin 1146 

Prantz, Christian 1180 

Freeman FamUy 709 

Freeman, John W 709 

Freese, WUliam F 945 

Freudenberger, Fred D 399 

Fritz, Martin 773 

Fryer, Daniel C 1081 

Fuhrman FamUy 622 

Fuhrman, WUliam F 621 

Gabbert, Christ F 980 

Gable FamUies 1033, 1056 

Gable, Harrv P 1055 

Gable, Henry E 1033 

Gane, Uriah 450 

Gane, William U 450 

GanglofE FamUv 878 

Gangloff, Rev. 'William 877 

Garis, Thomas 925 

Garrett FamUy 963 

Gazdzik, Father Joseph 495 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 



Gehrig, B. Frank 1194 

Gehrig Families 712, 1194 

Gehrig, J. Franklin 712 

Geiger, Miss Augusta 891 

Geiger Family 562 

Geiger, Jeremiah D 562 

Geiger, WQIiam 891 

Geist, A. Frank 664 

Geist Family 664 

Gensemer Family 235 

Gensemer, Daniel J 235 

Gerber Families 378, 461, 493, 649 

Gerber, William H 493 

Gerhard, Charles 99 

Gerhard Families 443, 485, 717, 903 

Gerhard, Frank 443 

Gerhard, Prof. Frederic 99 

Gerhard, Henry Y 485 

Gerhard, William F 717 

Gibbons Family 1123 

GUgour, George 309 

Ginther, George C 455 

Ginther, John B 596 

Gluuz, Bernard ■ 436 

Glunz, Clement B 436 

Goho Family 482 

Golden, Thomas B 713 

Gore Family 412 

Gore, Mrs. Mary E 413 

Gore, Samuel H 412 

Gorman, Joseph H 125 

Gorman, Miss Julia T 125 

Gorman, Thomas 124 

Gowen, Franklin Benjamin 171 

Gray Family 272, 341 

Gray, James C, M. D 272 

Gray, John M., M. D 341 

Green, Thomas 1058 

Greenawald, Daniel A 374 

Greenawald (Greenawalt) Families.... 

374, 597 

Greenawalt, Moses S 597 

Gregory, John 800 

Grieff, Elmer D 506 

Grieff Families 313, 506 

Griefif, William A 313 

Grosser, Edward W 375 

Grosser, George 375 

Grosskettler, Eberhard C 1183 

Grosskettler Family. .1139, 1181, 1183, 1204 

Grosskettler, John 1204 

Grosskettler, Joseph 1139 

Grube, Charles W 981 

Grube, Ernest 750 

Grube Families 751, 817, 981 

Grube, Lewis J 817 

Grumm, Frederick L 885 

Haber, William 356 

Haeseler, Dr. Charles H 532 

Haeseler Family 531 

Haeseler, Frederick 155 

Haf er Family 794 

Hafer, Jared 794 

Hagner, William 488 



Hamilton, William T 220 

Hand FamUies 856, 1059, 1063 

Hand, Ira W 1059 

Hand, James Monroe 856 

Hand, John F 1063 

Hand, William E 856 

Hanney, Edward J 779 

Hanney, John F 778 

Hannum, Mrs. A. J 285 

Hannum, John T 285 

Harlor, Thomas 1067 

Harris Family 262 

Harris, John M 261 

Harris, Eobert 262 

Harron, Eobert 784 

Hartenstein, Peter 340 

Hartman, Simon 763 

Hartung Family 407 

Hartung, Thomas 952 

Hause Family 154 

Hause, Frederick H 134 

Haverty, Peter F 1153 

Hawkins, Claude H 499 

Hawkins Family 499 

Header, Monroe 1025 

Heberling, John F 1201 

Hede FamUy 811 

Hede, John J 811 

Hehn, Alfred 722 

Hehn Family 722 

Heim (Hime) Families. .228, 408, 522, 748 

Heim, Lyman D., M. D 228 

Heine, Francis W 583 

Heine, Michael H 537 

Heine, Solomon 538, 583 

Heiser Family 926 

Henry Family 414 

Henry, Wilson 414 

Hensyl Family 407 

Hensyl, George S., M. D 407 

Hepler Family 7.53 

Hepler, Eev. Henry 753 

Herbein, H. J., D. D. S 624 

Hermany, Phaon, M. D 610 

Hess, Adam 825 

Hess, Jacob A 1107 

Hess, I,ambert 463 

Hessinger Family 1008 

Hessinger, Howard W 1008 

Higgins, Patrick T 1195 

Hikes Family 848 

Hikes, Morris W 848 

Hill, David K 893 

Hill FamOv 893 

Hillanbrand, Charles L 608 

Hime (Heim) Families.. .228, 40S, 522. 748 

Hime, Jacob F 522 

Hinkel Family 472 

Hinkel, William H., M. D 471 

Hoak, Peter 1109 

Hobart, John Potts 44 

Hobart, Nathaniel P 45 

Hock, Conrad, Sr 605 

Hock, Conrad K 605 

Hoch Family 1054 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 



Hach, Harry E 1054 

Hoepstine Family 505 

Hoepstine, James W 505 

Hoflf Family 252 

Hoff, William, Jr 252 

Hoffman Family 521 

Hoffman, Miss Maud E 814 

Hoffman, Peter L 813 

Hoffman, Eobert J 520 

Holderman, Mrs. A 721 

Holderman, Carl F 720 

Holland, David A., M. D 595 

Holshue, Josiah 570 

Holtgreve, Rev. Francis P 1193 

Holy Family Church, Shenandoah 1193 

HonsVierger, Jacob S 1085 

Honsberger, William H 1085 

Hooper, Mrs. Mary J 782 

Hooper, Robert W. C 782 

Hopkins, Richard W 1022 

Hoppes, Charles H 934 

Hoppes Families 467, 934 

Hoppes, Joseph S 467 

Horn Families 641,805 

Horn, George B. McClellan 805 

Horn, Mrs. Hattie 806 

Horn, William 641 

Houser, Daniel 740, 741 

Houser Family 809 

Houtz Families 422, 425, 1193 

Houtz, Rev. Harry D., A. M 421 

Hoy Families 201, 389 

Hoy, Pancoast T 201 

Huber, Andrew W 776 

Huber Family 776, 1049 

Huber, Lyman A 1049 

Hubler Family 84 

Hughes, David C 1026 

Hughes, David G 987 

Hughes, Francis Wade 41 

Huling, J. W 1201 

Hullihan, John 1199 

Hummel, Engelhart 753 

Hummel, Frank J 752 

Hunter, Alexander 1050 

Huntsinger Family 1039 

Huntsinger, John E 1039 

Iffert, John 772 

Imsehweiler, Lorenz 275 

James, Benjamin F 736 

James FamUy 736 

Jenkins, Frederick C 176 

Jenkins, Gething 514 

Jones, David 1104 

Kaier, Charles D 165 

Kaier, Charles F 16S 

Kalbach Family 638 

Kaminskv, Rev. A. V '. 927 

Kane, John 1068 

Kane, John F 1068 

Kanter, Franklin 484 

Kauffman Familv 867 



Kaufman, Alexander 731 

Kaufman, Charles M 186 

Kaufman Families 186, 731 

Kaup Family 676 

Kaup, William W 676 

Kear, Albert S 138 

Kear, Charles R 137 

Kear, Edward G 138 

Kear FamUy 134 

Kear, Frank G 139 

Kear, Harrison A 139 

Kear, Mrs. Mary B 138 

Kear, Mrs. Sarah 137 

Kear, William 136 

Keefer, Andrew 286 

Keef er Family 1154 

Keefer, Harry 1154 

Kehler Family 655 

Kehler, Henry C 655 

KeUman Family 764 

Keilman, John H 764/ 

Keith, Elvin W., M. D " 698 

Keiser, G. M 213 

Keiser, William 1188 

Keiter, Samuel 206 

Kemner, Matthias 347 

Kepner FamUy 352 

Kepner, Mrs. Ellnora 354 

Kepner, W. Clinton 352 

Kerkeslager Family 149 

Kershner Family 593 

Kershner, John U 593 

Kilgus, Jacob 537 

Killian, Joseph 883 

Killian Family ; . . 883 

Kimmel, Andrew S 270 

Kimmel Family 271 

Kistler, Albert S 458 

Kistler, Alvin 646 

Kistler, Charles S 1141 

Kistler Families. . .458, 646, 936, 1095, 1141 

Klase, Edward 755 

Kleber Family 732 

Kleckner Family 994 

Kleckner, Samuel 994 

Kline, Adolph 1120 

Kline, Mrs. Caroline 829 

Kline, G. Edgar 710 

Kline Families 711, 941 

Kline, Harry P 941 

Kline, Rev. Jacob 270 

Kline, Jeremiah 269 

Kline, Robert E 828 

Kliugaman Family 471 

Klinger Familv 1036 

Klinger, Lewis" A 1036 

Knapp, Alanson 452 

Knapp, Charles L 1199 

Knapp Families 452, 1199 

Knapp, Joseph P . . .1199 

Knauber, Henry 1022 

Knecht, William F 607 

Knepper Family 887 

Knepper. Harry 887 

Kuipe, Oscar 252 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 



Knittle, George F 976 

Kuoedler, Gottfried 1006 

Koeh, Albert G 891 

Koch Families. . .16, 419, 617, 891, 917, 976 

Koch, Jacob M 419 

Koeh, Hon. Eiehard H 16 

Koeh, Salem W 617 

Koch, Walter M 917 

Koenig Family 971 

Koenig, Samuel 971 

Koerper, Harry H 222 

Kolbe, Henry 539 

Kopp Family 652 

Kopp, John G., Sr 652 

Kramer Family 382 

Krammes, Charles H 700 

Krammes Family 701 

Krapf , Richard 1213 

Kraus Family 667 

Kraus, Henry W 667 

Krauss Family 788 

Krauss, Eev. Howard H 787 

Krebs Family 282 

Kreis, Henry C 766 

Krell, John 1060 

Krell, George 822 

Krell, P. Philip 822 

Kressley, Eev. Clement D., A. M 586 

Kressley Family 586 

Kreitzer, George D 1114 

Kripplebaur, Peter 886 

Kuebler, Henry Z 845 

KuU, C. Fred 334 

Kunkel Families 744, 965 

Kunkel, Jonas 965 

Lally, Anthony B 591 

LaUy Family 591 

Lamberson, Amos E 756 

Landemann, Henry 785 

Landeiilieroor, Hnrold L 1216 

Lattimore F.amily 657 

Lattimore, Harry D 657 

Laubenstein Family 612 

Lanbenstein, Frank J 612 

Laubenstein Mfg. Co 613 

Laudeman, Jacob 909 

Laudig Families 563, 679 

Laudig, Joseph H 679 

Laudig, William F 563 

Lautenbacher, Charles 142, 693 

Lautenbacher, Irvin L 693 

Lautenbacher, Jeremiah C 142 

Leaman, Mrs. Ida L. W 267 

Lebo, John 841 

Lecher Family 960 

Lecher, William E 960 

Lehr, John 1045 

Leibig, Benjamin F 1017 

Leibig Family 1017 

Leiby Families 442, 660 

Leiser Family 973 

Lengel Family 715 

Lengel, John H 715 

Leonard, John 321 



Leonard, Mrs. Mary A 322 

Leonhardt, Henry 756 

Lesher Families 243, 1042 

Lesher, Felix H 1042 

Levan Family 79 

Levan, Eiehard K 79 

Lime, J ohn H 462 

Lindenmuth Families 

483, 622, 843, 1124, 1168 

Lindenmuth, George Clarence 843 

Linder, Burd E 373 

Linder, E. Raymond 373 

Linder Family 372 

Lindermuth Families 501, 1124 

Lindermuth, Horace D 1126 

Lindermuth, Joseph 1124 

Loch, Daniel . . .'. 727 

Loch Family 727 

Loeser, Christopher, Esq 632 

Lomas, Benjamin 1203 

Long, Charles F 716 

Lorah Family 625, 1130 

Lorah, James 625 

Lord, Henry 687 

Losch, lion. Samuel Alfred 12S 

Loy & Minnig 559 

Loy, Harry F 560 

Lucas, Edwin 918 

Lucas Family 918 

Lutz, Eobert J 359 

Lynch, Abraham 226 

Lynch, John H 877 

Lynch, John W 226 

Lytle, L. C 1207 

Mc Andrew, Thomas C 600 

MeClure, George W 227 

MeCool, Eev. Joseph 98 

MeGuire Family 1019 

McKniirht. J. .J 850 

M.Xol.Iv, TIeiiry 1051 

M:H|i:iiiiei'. Oliver 1000 

MiHl.iia l-:iiiiilies 526,1118 

Madara, Zac.'ur P 526 

Madenford Family 518 

Madenford, Jeremiah 517 

Mader, Christian 1082 

Maher, John P S57 

Maher, Mrs. Mary A 857 

Malarkey, E. C 692 

Mandler, August 952 

Mandler Family 952 

Manhart, Henry 890 

Manhart, John M 890 

Mardis, William 709 

Marshall, Charles H 640 

Martin Families 486, 868, 1107 

Martin, .John H 1107 

Martin, Thomas J 868 

Martin, William W 486 

Master, Harry E 1187 

Master, Milton H 1187 

Matz, William 220 

Maurer, Elmer H., M. D 277 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 



Maurer Families 277, 1088, 1105, 1159 

Maurer, James A 1088 

Maurer, Solomon 1105 

Maurer, WUUam E 1182 

May, Charles H 761 

Meek Families 199, 1030 

Meek, Walter F 199 

Meisgeier, August 979 

MeUey, Eev. Dennis J 653 

Mengel Family 895 

Mengel, Nathan 895 

Mengle Family 309 

Mentzer, John 340 

Mercantile Club, MinersvOle 1101 

Meredith, Mrs. Leonora 7S 

Meredith, John S 78 

Merkle Family 476 

Merrick, Edwin E 736 

Messersmith, Abram C 833 

Meyers, Charles 631 

Michael FamDy 815 

Michael, Harry M 814 

Miller, Alfred M 304 

Miller, Mrs. Annie 782 

Miller, Charles B 446 

MUler, Charles D., M. D 102 

Miller, Edwin J 276 

Miller Families 

260, 304, 345, 446, 948, 1139, 1215 

Miller, George G 1052 

Miller, Dr. George M 103 

Miller, Henry L 628 

Miller, Homer F 948 

Miller, Jacob 431 

Miller, John Frederick 628 

Miller, John J 1215 

Miller, Levi 645 

Jliller, Milton H 345 

Miller, Oliver 805 

Miller, Richard E., Sr 260 

MUler, E'obert P 1052 

Minnig, Floyd H 560 

Minnig, Eev. George 179 

Minogiie, J. P 691 

Mohl Family 742 

Moll, George E 206 

Moll, Henry 886 

Moll, Mrs. -Mary K 206 

Molony, Edward W 785 

Molony, Joseph F 784 

Monaghan, Cliarles J 1028 

Monaghan Family 1209 

Monaghan, James B '. . 1027 

Monaghan, Peter J 1208 

Moore, Cyrus 549 

Moore, Mrs. Elizabeth M 550 

Moore Families 306, 492, 549, 573 

Moore, George H., M. D 305 

Moore, Harry C. 573 

Moore, John J., M. D 492 

Moore, Samuel 778 

Morea Colliery 860 

Morgan, George W 1215 

Morgan, Morgan 1003 

Morrison Family 501 



Morrison, Nathaniel C 501 

Morscher, Jacob 62 

Mortimer Family 150 

Mortimer, F. P., Sr 150 

Mortimer, F. Pierce, Jr 151 

Moser, Albert L 773 

Moser Family 773 

Moyer, Charles E 932 

Moyer Families 

31, 274, 814, 584, 915, 932 

Moyer, Huston Eobison 349 

Moyer, Isaac 32, 274 

Moyer, Joseph W 3 L4 

Moyer, WUliam F 915 

Murphj', Dr. Dennis J 577 

Murphy Family 1064 

Murphy, Michael 1064 

Murphy, John 273 

NaflSn, Paul E 71S 

Nagle, Col. Daniel 64 

Nagle Family 64 

Nagle, Gen. James 66 

Neidlinger, Christian 651 

Neidlinger Family 651 

Neiswender, Edwin E 723 

Neiswender Family 723 

Nesbitt, Mrs. Kate 1068 

Nesbitt. Eobert J 1068 

Xester, Aaron 881 

Nester, Daniel 931 

Nester Families 881, 922, 931 

Nester, Salem B 922 

Noeeker Family 173 

Noecker, James A 173 

Noel Family 940 

Noel, Stephen E 946 

Norton, Eev. Lemuel B 1147 



O'Brien, Michael J... 
O'Connor, Thomas C. 
'Donnell, Joseph . . . 

Oerther, John 

Ohl, Samuel 

O 'Leary, David 

Oliver, George 

Oliver, William 

O'Neill, Charles 

O 'Neill, George B 

Oren, James 

Oren, John M 

Orwig, Peter 

Osenbach Family . . . . 

Ossman, Aaron 

Ossman, Philip 

Ost, August W 

Ost, Charles F 

Oswald Families 

Owens, Maj. John F. . 



. 962 
. 253 
. 204 
. 547 
. 690 
.1154 
. 416 
. 416 
.1035 
. 985 
. 727 
. 727 
. 179 



S59 
479 
478 
882 
697 



Parker Family 38 

Parker, Hiram, Jr 37 

Parrott. Benjamin F 1135 

Patten Families 831, 985 

Patten, Thomas 985 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 



Patten, William T 831 

Patterson, Frank B lllli 

Patterson, Hon. George R 70 

Patterson, Mrs. Mary A 7G 

Paul FamOy 997 

Paul, John J 1035 

Paul, Thomas \V 997 

Peale, Charles Willson 8 

Peale Family 10 

Peale, Rubens H S 

Peifer Families 839, 1132 

Peifer, John 839 

Peifer, Hiram 1132 

Pelechovych, Eev. Joseph 973 

Perry, Eourindine 1065 

Pershing, Judge Cyrus L 181 

Peter Family 894 

Petery Family 303 

Petery, Oscar D 301 

Petry Family 332 

Petry, Harvey D 332 

Pfeiffer, John 620 

PhoeJii.x Hose Company, Shenandoah.. .1162 

Pleasants, Gen. Henry 172 

Pollard, John H 256 

Portland, Charles A 1171 

Portz, Frederick, Jr 191 

Portz, Frederick, Sr 191, 203 

Portz, Harry K 203 

Pott (Potts) FamUies U, 170,2-43 

Pott, John, Sr 170 

Prevost, John 47 

Price, John W 1108 

Pugh, William S 176 

Purcell, Mrs. Mary Ann 1153 

Purcell, Michael 1154 

Quail, Charles Edward, M. D 117 

Quail, Mrs. Emma C 118 

Quandel, Charles 696 

Quick, Samuel 772 

Quigel Family 672 

Quigel, Valentine W 672 

Quinn, Terence J 912 

Randall, David V 290 

Earich Family 431 

Ranch Family 335 

Rauch, George B 335 

Raykowski, Waldysluw 1044 

Eeber Family 244 

Reber, George W 207 

Reber, Harry A 207 

Reber, Horace F 244 

Reddy, Christopher C 951 

Reed, Albert L 32S 

Reed, Charles 1046 

Reed, Elias 109 

Reed Families . 292, 328, 333, 692, 1046, 1207 

Reed, Frederick B 333 

Reed, Harry D 692 

Reed, Jacob D 109 

Reed, Samuel 292 

Reed, Sherman H 1207 



Reese Families 287, 786 

Reese, Frank C 368 

Reese, John 368 

Reese, John W '. . . . 287 

Reese, Stephen 786 

Reichard, Joseph 398 

Reichwein, Henry 1021 

Reick, Frederick 431 

Reick, William H 432 

Reid, Robert A 325 

Reilly, Bernard 14 

Reilly, James B 14 

Reiner Family 1041 

Reinert, Daniel 260 

Reinhart Family 429 

Reiuhart, Henry 429 

Reinoehl, Levi E 1089 

Reiseg, Elmer G 1017 

Reisig, Frederick 567 

Reinalv, Lewis F 832 

Rennel- Family 1061 

Keuner, William 1061 

Renninger Family 970 

Renninger, John 970 

Rentschler Family 614 

Rentschler, Henry D., M. D 614 

Rice, Aaron L 1082 

Rice Family 1082 

Richards, William C 569 

Richenderfer, John H 1137 

Rickert Family 39 

Rickert, Col. Thomas H 39 

Ridgway, Thomas S 610 

Riegel Family 542 

Eiegel, Samuel A 542 

RUand (Ryland) Family 852 

Rissinger, Abraham F 1188 

Rissingcr, Jacoli J 1190 

Robinhol.l FMuiily 490 

Robinliold, Lewis C, M. D 491 

Robinhoia, William L 491 

Rockwell, W. B 180 

Robinpon, Moncure 180 

Robinson, William H., M. D 108 

Romberger, James M 1048 

Romberger, Jesse M 1047 

Romig Family 649 

Rooney, Christ J 1111 

Rooney Family 1111 

Rosenberger, Clemens M 367 

Rosenberger Family 367 

Rubright, Charles H 825 

Rubright Families 825, 939 

Rumbel Families 616, 1157 

Rumbel, Richard T 1159 

Rumbel, Trenton W 1157 

Rump Family 1098 

Rump, William 1098 

Ryan, Martin F 1061 

Ryland (Riland) Family 852 

Ryland, William H 852 

Ryon, George W 190 

Ryon, Judge James 190 

Ryon, John Percy 190 

Ryon, Hon. John W 190 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 



Sabaleski, Mat 

Sabold, William H., Sr 

Sachs Family 

Sachs, Henry 

Sassaman Family 

Saterlee, Britton W 

Schablein, Joseph 

Schablein, Michael 

Schaef er, Charles T 

Sehaef er Family 

Schaeffer Families 442, 

Schaefler, George M 

Schaffer Families 807, 

Schaffer, Salem B 

Schalck, Adolph W 

Schalck, Mrs. Emma R 

Schalck, George 

SchaUer Family 

Schappell (Shappell) FamOies ...... 

541, 682, 733, 988, 

Schappell, George W 

Scharadin (SharadiD) Families 

211, 308, 

Scharadin, Harry F 

Scharadin, Jacob A 

Scheaffer, Joseph 

Scheaffer, Sebastian 

Scheele Brothers 

Scheele, Carl 

Sehenek, Fred 

Sehief , Charles F 

Sehief , Mrs. Sofie 

Schilling Family 

Schilling, John C 

Schlaseman, Elmer F 

Schlaseman, Jacob A 

Schlear, Alfred 

Schlear Family 

Sehlegel Family 

Schlegel, James D 

Schmeltzer Family 

Schmeltzer, Frank A 

Schmidt, Christian 

Schmidt, Philip 

Schneider, Mrs. Catherine 

Schneider, Mrs. Elizabeth 

Schneider Families 90, 

Schneider, John F 

Schneiiler, Peter J. (deceased) 

Schneider, Peter J. (Loeustdale) 

Schneider, Theodore D 

Schoch (Schoek) FamUy 

Schoeneman, Michael 

Sehrepple, Gottlieb E 

Schrope, Charles A 

Schrope Family 

Schulz, Jacob E 

Schulze, Harry F 

Schuyler, Joseph M 

Schuyler, Miss Mary I 

Schwalm Families 754, 992, 

Schwalm, George M 

Schwalm, Ralph A 

Schwartz, Joseph 

Scott, Alexander 



1182 
801 
801 
457 
720 
283 
283 
830 
830 
462 
462 

1010 
807 



312 
312 
307 
1013 
1013 
398 



515 
925 
925 
553 
553 
1043 
1043 
336 
336 
524 
700 
706 
700 
524 



706 
954 

1102 
650 
674 
674 
929 

1075 



1217 
992 
1217 











Scott, John A 






707 


















Scott, Walter W 






. 707 


Seiberling Family 






. 387 


Seitzinger, Miss Emma 






. 240 


Seitzinger FamUy. .19, 239, 


783, 


986, 


1036 


Seitzinger, Henry M 






.1036 


Seitzinger, Jeremiah 






. 7S3 


Seitzinger, James M 






. 9,S6 


Seitzinger, Col. Nicholas 






. 19 


Seitzinger, Judge Nicholas . 






. 239 


Seligman, Abraham Pott, M. 


I).. 




. 242 


Seligman Family 






. 242 


Seltzer, Albert W 






.110 


Seltzer, Conrad 






110 


Seltzer Families 


.619 


, 942 


, 962 


Seltzer, Francis B 








Seltzer, Frank P 






. 942 


Seltzer, Miss R. W 






963 


Seltzer, Wesley A 






, 619 


Shannon, Benjamin Franklin 


, M. 


n.. 


, 162 


Shannon, Samuel H., M. D. . 






. 160 


Shappell, Andrew J 






. 683 


Shappell, Benjamm 






. 733 


Shappell, Daniel 






. 683 


Shappell, Elias F 






. 541 


Shappell Families.. 541, 682, 


733, 


988, 


1006 


Sharadin, Edward 






. 211 


Sharadin (Scharadin) FamUies. 








;mi 


308 


31? 










Sheafer, Lesley G 






. 25 


Sheaf er, Paul 






1176 


Sheafer, Peter W 






•?.n 


Sheafer, Walter S 






.1175 


Sheafer, William L 






, 24 


Shearer, Robert C 






. 343 


Shellhamer Family 






. 755 


Shellhamer, Jackson M 






. 755 


Shellhammer, Benjamin P... 






.1001 


Shellhammer Families. .686, 


755, 


982 


1001 


Shellhammer, James M 






. 686 








Q-^l 








1112 










Shissler, Mrs. Clara K 






, 867 


Shissler, Edward L 






866 


Shoemaker FamUies 




. 737 


, 913 


Shoemaker, James A 






. 913 


Shoemaker, John H 






. 737 


Shoener, Edward 






. 7S0 


Shoener, Mrs. Emma 






. 744 


Shoener Families 279, 


743, 


7S0 


, 910 


Shoener, John 






Qin 


Shoener, Hon. John T 






. 278 


Shoener, Joseph 






. 743 


Siefert, WUliam H. . .". 






, 748 


Silliman, Mrs. Catharme . . . 






62 


Silliman, Edward S 






67 


Silliman (Sillyman) Familie 
6( 


'S 






), 68, 


, 120 


, 208 


Silliman, H. I 


20S 








, 60 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 



Xlll 



Sillyman (Silliman) Families. 



Sillyman, Samuel 120 

SiUyman, Miss Susan J 122 

Simmons, Thomas 107o 

Sittler, Calvin E :Ui^ 

Sittler (Sitler) Families 301, 470 

Slater, Mrs. Clara K 401 

Slater, George W 400 

Slater, Henry P 400 

Smith, Charles E 1172 

Smith, Charles H 1074 

Smith, David G 227 

Smith Families 388, 477, 1074, 1172 

Smith, Jeremiah 388 

Smith, Joseph G 1176 

Smith, William E 108 

Smith, William S 470 

Snyder, Charles A 144 

Snyder Family 488 

Snyder, Frank 316 

Snyder, E'euben 316 

Spayd, Prof. H. H 126 

Speaeht, Mrs. Dorothy 393 

Speacht Family 392, 401 

Speaeht, Frederick 392 

Spencer, Mrs. Amelia J 47 

Spencer, George 45 

Spencer, William 45 

Spitzner, Valentine 1070 

Spohn, Moncure R 1023 

St. Clair Family 1024 

St. Clair, Oscar 1024 

St. Peter 's Church (Eeformed) 426 

St. Mary's Church, Tremont 653 

Stamm Family 879 

Starr, David 761 

Starr Families 88, 761, 1012 

Starr, William A 1012 

Staudt (Stoudt, Stout) Families 

447, 509, 729 

Staudt, John F 447 

Staudt, John S 509 

Stauffer, Arthur Elliott 482 

Staufifer, Elias K 480 

Stauffer Families 480, 845, 1115, 1165 

Stauffer, John M 1115 

Stauffer, Norman M 1165 

• Stauffer, William E 1166 

Steigerwalt, Albert H .' 376 

Steigerwalt Families 376, 395 

Stein, Daniel 324 

Stein Families 140, 418 

Stein, Jonathan Frank 417 

Stein, Franklin M 142 

Stein, Moses S 140 

Steiner Family 424 

Stephens, Alliert lull 

Sterner Family ill 9 

Sterner, Frank 1? 919 

Stewart, Harry H., M. D 581 

Stichter, George H 625 

Stief Family 758 

Stief , John A 758 

Stiles Family 1015 



Stiles, Michael V 1015 

Stine Family (332 

Stine, William N 632 

Stitzer Family 503, 687 

Stitzer, William F 503 

Stitzer, William G 687 

Stoker Family qh 

Stoudt (Staudt, Stout) Families 

447, 509, 729 

Strauch Family 450 

Strauch, Robert D 450 

Strause (Strauss, Strouse) FamUy 215 

Strause, Samuel 215 

Striegei, John G., M. D 520 

Strubhar, Aaron 767 

Strubhar Family 767 

Stutzman Family 836 

Stutzman, Raymond H., M. D 835 

Super Family 433 

Swoyer Family 997 

Tallman, Henry 1177 

Tallman, Mrs. Mary A 1177 

Tasker, Eeese 238 

Taylor, William T 827 

Thomas Family 192 

Thomas, Thomas L 193 

Thomas, Mrs. Thomas L 84, 194, 196 

Thompson, Alexander 668 

Thompson, Hon. Alexander 669 

Thompson, Charles D 906 

Thompson Families.. 32, 112, 114, 907, 1053 

Thompson, Heber H 35 

Thompson, Maj. Heber S ' 32 

Thompson, Isaac B 669 

Thompson, Lewis C 113 

Thompson, Oliver C 1053 

Thompson, Ool. William 112 

Tielman, William 1110 

Toole, John 1114 

Toomey, John 829 

Toomey, Michael 829 

Trachte, William 494 

Tregea Family 1004 ■ 

Trexler Family 967 

Turner Family 921 

Tyson Family 742 

Underkoffler, Charles M 772 

Unger, Albert A 495 

Updegrave Families 439, 681 

Updegrave, Morris 680 

Updegrave, Philip H 439 

Updegrove Family 661 

Updegrove, Walter E 661 

X:n, Uov.i Family 644 

X'ritli, .Irhn 209, 1201 

\oitli, .1 ihn, Jr 211 

A'ettcr, 1 >avid 704 

Vetter Family 704, 977 

Wachter, George A 943 

Wachter, Rudolph 944 

Wadlinger, Mrs. Margaret D 50 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 



Wadlinger, Frauds 48 

Wadlinger, Judge George J 4S 

Wagner, Alfred B 1016 

WagBer, Charles C 5-l.j 

Wagner, Charles G 508 

Wasner Fuuiilies 219, 

.-,us, .14.1, .l.ls, 781, 824, 886, 1014, 1016 

Wagner. Franklin 781 

Wagner, Frederick E., D. D. S 5o8 

Wagner, Henry A 547 

Wagner, Mrs. Mary A 571 

Wagner, PhUip 823 

Wagner, Samuel C 571 

Wagner William M 219 

Walborn Families 156, 1087 

Walborn, Ira Guy 157 

Walborn, Jonathan H 156 

Walborn, Joseph A 158 

Walliorn, Maurice D 157 

Wallauer, Jacob 379 

Walter Famdies 677, 793 

Walter, George W 793 

Walters, Henry 92 

Walters, William H 92 

Warne, Joseph L., M. D 1175 

Watson Families 1175, 1186 

Watson, George M 1186 

Weaklim, William T 63 

Weaver (Weber) Family 912 

Weber (Weaver) Family 912 

Weber, Louis 327 

Weber, William F : 327 

Weidman FamOy 864 

Weidman, Samuel 864 

Weiser, Conrad 158 

Weishampel Family 119 

Weissinger Family 27 

Weissinger, George 29 

Weissinger, Harry 30 

Weissinger, Leonard W 27 

Weldon, Michael 1100 

Weldv, Charles H 95 

Weldy. Henry A 93 

Wellendorf , Joseph 1080 

Wertley Family 266 

Wertley, Walter 266 

Wertley, Wellington A 267 

Wertman Family 820 

Wessner Family 431 

Whalen, Edward J 1160 

Whalen Family 1160 

White Families 978, 1090 

White, J. S 1090 

White, Maj. J. Claude 320 

White, Joseph E 978 

Whitfield, Joseph 928 

Whitfield, Mrs. Lottie E 929 

Whitfield, Eowland 928 

Wiesner, Dr. Edwin E 3S4 

Wiesner Family 3S4 

Wiest Family 478 



Wilhelm, William 224 

Williams, Mrs. Annie 1050 

Williams, William 1050 

Wingert, Adam 884 

Wingert Family 884 

Wintersteen, Mrs. John 1172 

Withelder FamUies 1079, 1083 

Withelder, Frederick 1083 

Withelder, John H 1079 

Wittich, Henry W , 1077 

Wittmer, Martin 999 

Wittmei', Mrs. Mary 999 

Wolfgang Family 771 

Wolfgang, Paul 771 

Womer (Woomer) Family 390,440 

Womer, Monroe 390 

Wonders, Newton M 714 

Wooleock, John 145 

Woomer, Elmer 440 

Woomer (Womer) Family 390,440 

Yarnall Families 472, 666 

Yarnall, Ephraim 666 

Yeager, Alfred A 819 

Yeager Family 819 

Yeingst, Prof. Wilbur M 360 

Yerger Family 701 

Yerger, Henry 701 

Yoder Family 582 

Yoder, Irvin U 582 

Y'orkville Fire Company 456 

Yost, Benjamin J 797 

Yost FamUies.. 322, 402, 446, 660, 798, 924 

Yost, Israel 924 

Yost, James A 402 

Yost, Jonathan 1 322 

Young, George 821 

Zapf , Charles A 578 

Zapf, William E 57S 

Zehner Families 739, 740, 984 

Zehner, Lewis A 740 

Zerbe Family 579 

Zerbe, WUliam E 579 

Zettlemoyer Family 1093 

Zettlemoyer, Frank 1093 

Zimmerman, Alfred 955 

Zimmerman, Edward 1093 

Zimmerman Families 

. . .' 550, 558, 811, 955, 1093, 1205 

Zimmerman, George K 811 

Zimmerman, Robert J 550 

Zimmerman, William H 1205 

Zion 's Lutheran Church 789 

Zion 's Eef ormed Church 426 

Zulich, Mrs. E. E 233 

Zulich Family 232 

Zulich, Henry B 232 

Zulick Family 603 

Zuliek, John S 604 

Zulick, Thomas H. B 603 



Genealogy— Family History 
Biography 



JOHN BANNAN, deceased, was in his time a lawyer of the first rank in 
his State. He was truly said by a writer of his time to have been a self-made 
man, but well made. He was born in Berks county, Pa., Sept. 19, 1796, and at 
the age of fifteen became an orphan, entirely dependent upon his own efforts 
for making a success in the struggle of life. He attended the subscription 
schools of the early times, the terms of which were only three months in the 
year, and in the interim was cared for by an uncle who lived on a farm. But 
he had the ambition for better things, and for years thereafter labored to 
increase his store of knowledge, so that he might be better equipped for the 
coming years. He began his career as an engineer under Phillip Wernwag, 
who lived at Douglassville, where his parents are buried; studied law at Read- 
ing under Charles Evans, was admitted to the bar in 181 8, and began practice in 
Orwigsburg. Later, when the seat of justice was removed to Pottsville, he 
removed to that city, to remain until death brought a close to his labors. When 
the war of 1812 occurred he entered the ist Regiment of Pennsylvania 
Volunteers, locally known as the "Washington Blues," serving as a private 
soldier under Capt. D. B. Keim until the end of the war. So patriotic was 
Mr. Bannan that when the Civil war occurred he offered his services at once, 
but the age of sixty-five was the bar to his enlistment. However, he assisted 
in the care of the families of those left behind and contributed his time and 
money to the relief of the soldiers and their widows. 

John Bannan was married to Sarah Ann Ridgway, who was born on the 
last day of the year 1806, and died at the family home in November, 1879. 
They were the parents of three sons and three daughters : Zelia R. ; Mary 
Joy; Thomas R. ; Douglass R. ; Francis B., and Martha Ridgway. In 1852 
Mr. Bannan built his beautiful residence on Sharp Mountain, "Cloud Home," 
the plans being furnished by his wife (who displayed remarkable talent for 
this class of work), directed by the architect. 

At the time of the projected erection of the Henry Clay monument in 
Pottsville, Mr. Bannan gave a tract 120 feet square for the location of the 
structure, and it was accepted. This tall and striking column, surmounted with 
a colossal statute of the great orator and statesman, was begun July 28, 1852, 
and dedicated July 4, 1855. It stands just below the site of "Cloud Home." 

Francis B. Banx.\n. son of John Bannan, was born in Orwigsburg, 
Schuylkill county, Feb. 28, 1833, and attended the local schools and a select 
school at New Haven, Conn. He took up the task of earning a living by 
entering the employ of Joel J. Bailey & Co., of Philadelphia, holding the posi- 
tion of clerk from 1850 to 1855. He then went for a short time with Daniel 
Kaiser, of the same city, finally coming to Pottsville. For a number of years 
Vol. II— 1 

609 



610 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL^ 

he was in partnership with Robert Allison, under the firm name of Allison & 
Bannan, manufacturing all kinds of mining machinery, drills, compressors, etc. 
In 1876 he closed out his interest, and in 1878 he went into the business of 
steamlieating, also- having a machine shop at Pottsville. He continued this 
work until 1889, when he retired from active life. 

On Jan. i, 1S63, Mr. Bannan was married to Mary T., daughter of Mrs. 
Julia (Kuethenthal) Repplier, and step-daughter of George S. Repplier. 
Mrs. Bannan died Dec. 22, 1893. They had children as follows : John R., 
living in Philadelphia ; Imogen R., widow of H. C. Halberstadt, formerly of 
the Pottsville Supply Company; Clara R., wife of H. H. Lineweaver, of 
Merion, Pa. ; and Bertha L., living at home. 

Mr. Bannan was one of the first to enlist, April 13, 1861, in the "First 
Defenders," known as the Washington Artillery, and was honorably discharged 
July 31, 1861. He is a natural mechanical genius, and many specimens of his 
handiwork are to be seen at the old home on the mountain, "Cloud Home." 
He has also invented a unique method of picture-writing with tacks, which he 
calls "Taxography." He is a writer of no mean capacity, having issued a 
pamphlet, the gist of which he read before the Schuylkill County Historical 
Society, entitled "Reminiscences of a Long and Happy Life of Fun, Frolic and 
Mischief." He has gotten together the details of many a childish escapade 
and incident of his boyhood and maturity, which are not only presented in an 
interesting and colloquial manner, but betray a disposition at once humorous 
and ingenuous. 

Thom.\s R. B.\nn.\x, deceased, son of John Bannan, was born Oct. 10, 
1827, in Orwigsburg, and there began his education in the public schools. 
Entering Yale College, he graduated from the law school, returned to Potts- 
ville, and was admitted to the bar of Schuylkill county, where he practiced 
until his death. He was one of the most scholarly, able and gentlemanly 
pleaders of his time. He served for a short period in the Civil war and then 
returned to his practice. He died in 1878. 

Marth.v Ridgway Bannan, the only surviving daughter of John Bannan, 
was born in Orwigsburg, and attended the private school of Miss .A.llen, in 
Pottsville. Later she continued her studies in Philadelphia. Music and litera- 
ture have been her chief interests. She has written in verse, and translated 
some of Goethe's poems from the German, which are published m book form. 
She is now living in her father and mother's old home, "Cloud Home." Her 
sister Zelia R. died Dec. 14, 191 1, and Mary Joy passed to rest May 17, 1912. 
kiss Bannan is a member of the Trinity Episcopal Church of Pottsville. 

Thomas S. Ridgway, father of Mrs. John Bannan, was born at Mount 
Holly. N. J., and was an architect, skilled in his profession, having drawn 
the plans for many of the finest homes in Philadelphia, where he lived pre- 
viously to his removal to Schuylkill Co., Pa. When he came to this county 
he became interested in coal lands, and he it was who induced his friend 
Stephen Girard to invest in the lands which have since become so enormously 
profitable He married Mary Jov, daughter of Daniel Joy, who was ordnance 
master in the Revolutionary war. They had a family of twelve children, ten 
of whom grew to maturity. 

PH.\ON HERMANY, M. D., of ]\Iahanoy City, the oldest practicing phy- 
sician in that section of Schuylkill county, has made a distinguished record in 
his lono- professional career, a half century and more of faithful service to 
his fellow men. His ideals of duty have been set forth in practical illustra- 




HENRY CLAY MONUMENT. POTTSVILLE 
nerstone Laid July 28. 1852, Dedicated July 4. 1855 



Henry Clav 
C, June 29, 1852. A 
,m Kentucky, 1806-07 i 



m Hanover county, near Ric 
A celebrated American state 
1810-11; was member 
1811-14. 1815-20 and 1823-25); 
candida'te for' the presidency in 1824: was secreta 
1831-42 and 1849-52; was Whia candidate for prcs 
of the "Missouri Compromise" o£ 1820, and of the 
compromise tariff of 1833. 



nd. Va., April 12, 17 



; died at 
United S 
from Kentucky. 181 



ingt 



1823-25 
Ghent in 1814; was 
tate 1825-29; was United States senator, 
in 1832 and 1844; was the chief designer 
omise of 1850; and was the author of the 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PEXXSYLVAXL\ 611 

tions throughout this extended period of activity, and the sum of his vise ful- 
ness may be best read in the popularity he enjoys among his townsmen. 
Public spirit in those things affecting the general welfare, and conscientious- 
ness in his personal relations with all whose lives have touched his directly, 
have been the surface indications of a character whose depth has been sounded 
by many besides his close intimates. Through the medium of his profes- 
sion he has no doubt had unusually good opportunities for observation and 
first-hand knowledge of many conditions in the community calling for better- 
ment, and the wisdom of his judgment has been proved in many tests. 
Coming to Mahanoy City in 1863, the year the borough was organized, he 
has had a part in the making of practically all her history. When he came 
here he made his rounds on horseback, and no one in this section has had 
more reason to be gratified at the improvement in roads and transportation 
facilities. 

Dr. Hermany is of German descent, and the family name was originally 
spelled Hermon. The Doctor's great-grandfather was the emigrant ancestor, 
coming to this country in 1756, and settling first near Philadelphia, Pa. How- 
ever, he moved to Lehigh county not long afterwards, and there his son Philip 
Hermany, the Doctor's grandfather, who was born at sea while his parents 
were en route from the Old to the New World, grew to manhood. John 
Hermany, son of Philip, was born in Lehigh county in the year 1800, and 
passed all his life there, dying Sept. 3, 1863, aged sixty-three years. During 
his earlier manhood he followed farming, later conducting a store and hotel, 
and he was the founder of the village of Jacksonville, where he served as 
postmaster for twenty years. His religious faith was that of the German 
Reformed Church. He married Salome Kistler, like himself a native of 
Lehigh county, and they became the parents of ten children, four sons and six 
daughters, all born at the old homestead at Jacksonville, of whom w-e have 
the following record: Didania (Mrs. Brobst), born in 1833; Sallie (Mrs. 
Crietz), born in 1835. who died in 1862; Mary (Mrs. Wuchter), born in 1837; 
Edwin, born in 1838: Phaon ; Lydia, born in 1842; John, Jr., born in 1844; 
and Martha M., born in 1850. 

Phaon Hermany was born Sept. 16, 1840, and spent his boyhood in Lehigh 
county, beginning his education in the schools of the home locality. Later he 
attended an academy at the Trappe, in Montgomery county, and he commenced 
the study of medicine with Dr. Daniel Shade, of Lehigh county. He took the 
regular course at the medical department of the L'niversity of New York, 
graduating March 3, 1863, and before long had started practice at Mahanoy 
City, Schuylkill Co., Pa. At that time there were but sixty-three houses in 
the town, and he was the third physician to locate here, Drs. Philip Weber 
and Brender having arrived a short time before. With the exception of four 
years during which he carried on a drug business he has devoted himself 
entirely to practice since, and with continuous success, few men in any walk 
of life being better known in the region. Recognition of his ability has come 
from his fellow members in the profession as well as from patrons. More 
than twenty years ago he was chosen president of the Schuylkill County Med- 
ical Society, and he is also a member in good standing of the Lehigh County 
Medical Society, the Pennsylvania State Medical Society and the American 
Medical Association. In 1864 he was appointed surgeon for the Lehigh \'al- 
ley Railway Company, during the period when Hon. Asa Packer was president 
of that company. His field embraced the territory in and about Mahanoy 
City. Fraternally Dr. Hermany is a high Mason, belonging to Mahanoy City 



612 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 

Lodge, No. 357, F. & A. M. (past master) ; Mizpah Chapter, No. 252, R. A. M. 
(past officer, and secretary continuously since 1881); Ivanhoe Commandery, 
No. 31, K. T. (past officer); Philadelphia Consistory, thirty-second degree; 
Lu Lu Temple, A. A. O. N. M. S., of Philadelphia ; and the Northwestern 
Masonic Aid Association. Years ago he joined Council No. 162, Royal 
Arcanum, of Mahanoy City; Asa Packer Lodge, No. 328, L O. O. F. ; and 
Washington Camp No. 124, P. O. S. of A. He was a charter member of the 
first fire company organized in the borough. Though he never sought honors 
of any kind. Dr. Hermany was elected a member of the local school board 
several times, serving on that body seventeen and a half years, and for a time 
as president. His interest in educational advancement, and foresight in pro- 
viding against the growing needs of the community, made his work in this 
connection especially valuable. For many years he acted as deputy coroner in 
Mahanoy City and vicinity. Politically he has adhered loyally to the principles 
of the Republican party. 

On Dec. 6, 1863, Dr. Hermany was married in Mahanoy City to Mary J. 
Bowman, of Bowmanstown, Lehigh Co.. Pa., daughter of David and Susan 
(Lentz) Bowman. Four children have been born to this marriage: Horace 
David graduated from Jefiferson Medical College in 1891, for a time prac- 
ticed medicine and conducted a drug store in Philadelphia, next followed 
dentistry, and is now engaged in electrical work in Mahanoy City ; Robert K. 
died in 1872. when four years old ; Susan L. B. is married to William Dyatt 
and resides at Hazleton, Pa. ; Sallie B. K. is at home. The familv are members 
of the English Lutheran Church. They reside in a beautiful home at No. 56 
South Main street, where the Doctor also has his office. 

FRANK J. LAUBENSTEIN, of Ashland, executive head of the business 
of the Laubenstein Manufacturing Company, is a representative of honored 
stock of Schuylkill county. The name he bears has also been prominently 
associated with industrial interests at Ashland from the early seventies, when 
Jonas Laubenstein. his grandfather, became owner of the business continued 
since his day by his son and grandsons, a manufacturing concern whose pros- 
perity has contributed materially to that of the borough. 

The Laubensteins are of German origin, and this branch of the family has 
been established in America since 1756, settling then in what is now Schuylkill 
county, Pa., where descendants of the original ancestors in this country have 
been resident continuously to the present. 

Jonas Laubenstein, the grandfather of Frank J. Laubenstein, lived and died 
in Schuylkill county. During the Civil war he was a loyal Union supporter 
and served in the army. Becoming profitably engaged in business as a manu- 
facturer of screens, he owned a plant at Minersville, and in the early seventies 
(1875) erected a plant of the same kind at Ashland. As previously stated, 
the business has been continued by the Laubensteins ever since. Jonas Lau- 
benstein married a Keumer, and the following children were born to them: 
Rev. William, deceased, who was a minister of the Lutheran Church ; Albert L. ; 
David F., deceased, who was a musician ; Charles S., who is engaged in busi- 
ness at Ashland as a manufacturer of screens and elevator buckets (he is also 
in the State game protection service) ; George, formerly a resident of Phila- 
delphia and employed by the Philadelphia Press; Jonas, of Minersville. present 
postmaster of that borough : and Katie, deceased. 

Albert L. Laubenstein was born in Schuylkill county, and he was con- 
nected with the screen manufacturing business at Ashland from the time his 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 613 

father bought the same to the end of his life. Though he attended to his own 
affairs systematicahy and with unremitting care, he was also solicitous for 
local enterprises which affected the general welfare, and took some part in 
politics in his borough. He was a Republican on national issues. 

Mr. Laubenstein married Ida M. Roads, daughter of Franklin Roads, at 
one time a resident of Minersville, this county, and a member of one of Schuyl- 
kill county's old families. Mr. Roads was a coal operator in this region for 
some time, and later carried on a feed business. Of his four children one son 
died young; Matilda R. is the widow of Jacob S. Laurence, of Alinnesota, 
and she resides at Ashland, Pa.; Purmillea is deceased; Ida M. was the wife 
of Albert L. Laubenstein. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Laubenstein were born six children : Howard R. died in 
1902; Frank J. is mentioned below; Albert R. is manager of the Laubenstein 
Manufacturing Company, of Ashland; Harry W. is also a member of that 
company, as is E. Carl ; Ida R. is the youngest of the family. The father died 
in March, 1909, the mother in May, 1910. 

Frank J. Laubenstein was born Sept. 3, 1878, at Minersville, Schuylkill Co., 
Pa., and was brought up at Ashland, receiving his preparatory education in 
the public schools there. After graduating from high school he took a course 
at Lehigh University, Bethlehem, Pa., and in 1897 entered the Dickinson Law 
School, at Carlisle, Pa. He was graduated from that institution in 1899. took 
a post-graduate course there in 1902, and was admitted to the bar in Schuylkill 
county in 1905. That year he began the practice of law at Ashland, and has 
continued it since, giving considerable time to his profession in spite of the 
fact that he has important interests in the local manufacturing field. His legal 
work has attracted much favorable notice, and he has acquired a clientele rep- 
resentative of the best interests in the community, the standing of his patrons 
being sufficient comment on his own reputation. He is a member of the Law 
Fraternity and of the American Bar .Association. As president of the Lauben- 
stein Manufacturing Company he has been influential in shaping its present 
policy and directing its affairs along thoroughly progressive lines, continuing 
the course for which it has been noted throughout the ownership of the Lau- 
bensteins. Frank J- Laubenstein is also doing effective work in local politics, 
as a member of the Republican party. Though still a young man he has done 
enough to show that he possesses the qualities for which the family name has 
stood in this region for several generations. 

Mr. Laubenstein is a member of the B. P. O. Elks and the P. O. S. of A. 
His religious connection is with St. James' Lutheran Church. 

The Laubenstein M.\nuf.\cturing Cgmp.xny has occupied a place as a 
stable industrial asset of the town of Ashland for over fifty years. Started 
by George Helfrig. it remained in his hands until purchased about 1875 by 
Albert L. Laubenstein, then the manager of a similar plant at Ashland. ' He 
had acquired considerable experience as a manufacturer of screens. After 
taking over the factory he began to enlarge its facilities and the scope of the 
work as increasing trade demanded, having a keen appreciation of the calls of 
the market and foresight as to the improvement of his product and its adapta- 
bility to various uses not hitherto appreciated. He carried on the business 
until his death, following a policy of liberal expansion which kept the Lauben- 
stein Company among the foremost of its kind. Following his death, in the 
year 1909, it was carried on for a year by the estate, with his sons in charge. 
In the latter part of 1910 his heirs, four sons and one daughter, incorporated 
under the present name, the Laubenstein Manufacturing Company, the officers 



614 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENxXSYLVANIA 

being Frank J. Laubenstein, president ; E. Carl Laubenstein, vice president ; 
Albert R. Laubenstein, manager ; Harry W. Laubenstein, secretary. All the 
brothers were born and reared at Ashland. The product of the plant, princi- 
pally perforated plates and wire screens, has a recognized reputation in the 
market. Modern machinery and new appliances have been installed wherever 
necessary, facilitating operations and bringing the equipment up to the maxi- 
mum of efficiency. The enterprising spirit of the owners has animated every 
branch of the work, which is going forward along the most approved modern 
lines. 

HENRY D. RENTSCHLER, M. D., of Ringtown, Schuylkill county, a 
practicing physician there for over fifty years, has during all that period been 
held in deserved esteem for his sincere devotion to the best interests of the 
community in which he chose to spend his life. His labors have all been in 
useful channels, contributing directly or incidentally to the general well- 
being. As one of the guardians of local prosperity he has allied himself with 
worthy movements of every character, whether their object was the eleva- 
tion of social conditions, the widening of business opportunities, or the mate- 
rial improvement of his borough. With broad intelligence and far-reaching 
sympathies he combines a versatility of talent which not only assured his 
professional success, but made him a valued cooperator in those enterprises 
which require foresight, clear judgment and executive capacity. Brought into 
close daily contact with all classes of his fellow citizens, he made practical 
use of the knowledge thus acquired regarding their vital needs, and never 
withheld his services in the promotion of such causes as he felt were favorable 
to supplying them. For many years he was the honored medical adviser of 
many a family, and though he has withdrawn from most of the arduous work 
of the profession he is still in demand for consultation, and attends to a large 
office practice. 

The Rentschler family is of German stock, and was founded in Berks 
county. Pa., about the time of the close of the Revolutionary war, there being 
three brothers, one of whom settled in the city of Philadelphia, one near Sun- 
bury, Pa., and the other, John George, in Bern (now Upper Bern) township, 
Berks county. John George Rentschler was born Oct. ii, 1755, lived for many 
years at Hamburg, Berks county, and afterwards followed farming and dis- 
tilling near that place. In 1785 he married Catherine Wagoner, born Dec. 
23, 1765, who died Jan. 2, 1847. They became the parents of teni children, 
six sons and four daughters, namely : Daniel ; George, who settled out West ; 
Samuel; Elizabeth, Mrs. Peter Philhps ; Jacob; Mrs. Qirist. Kauffman ; Mrs. 
Joseph Kauffman ; and three others — two sons and one daughter. 

Jacob Rentschler, son of John George and father of Dr. Henrj' D. Rent- 
schler, was born April 3, 1804, on the old homestead, and was reared in Bern 
township. He was a farmer and also owned a woolen mill, which stood upon 
his farm, the buildings being still there, about three quarters of a mile from 
Upper Bern post office. He manufactured woolen bedspreads and woolen 
goods from which men's and women's clothing was made, and in his time 
was known as an energetic, hard-working man. In about middle life he be- 
came paralyzed, and during the rest of his life he was lame. He died at Bem- 
ville Jan. 28, 1874. Mr. Rentschler was twice married, his first wife being 
Sarali Fegley, by whom he had four children, namely: Charles F., Fietta, 
Matilda and Frank. His second wife was Sarah Diehl, who died in 1845, 
and by this union there were two children : Henry D. ; and Lewis, who died 
in 1898, in his forty-fifth year. 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 615 

Henry D. Rentschler was born May 5. 1841, in Upper Bern township, 
Berks county, and there acquired his preliminary education in the pubhc 
schools, which he attended up to the age of fifteen years. Then he was a 
student in Washington Hall Seminary, at the Trappe, in Montgomery county. 
Pa., for three years, and he began his medical studies in the office of Dr. 
Devilla Schoener, at Shartlesville, Berks county. Entering the medical depart- 
ment of the University of Pennsylvania in 1861, he was graduated in 1864, 
and immediately thereafter settled at Ringtown, Schuylkill Co., Pa., where 
he has since had his home and field of practice. His work has been general, 
and his patrons during his active years were scattered over a wide territory, 
the country adjacent to Ringtown and other boroughs in this part of the 
county as well as his home place. He is an honored member of the Schuylkill 
County Medical Society and of the Pennsylvania State Medical Society, and 
respected by his contemporaries in the profession as well as by his 
patients. His public services have a large place in the records of his section. 
For twenty-eight years he held the position of school director in Union 
township (before Ringtown was incorporated as a borough), and during 
twenty-one years also acted as secretary of the board, where his recommenda- 
tions were always received with respect and his opinions sought and valued. 
In 1878 he was elected coroner of the county and filled that office for one 
term, when its duties were both responsible and dangerous by reason of the 
activities of the Molly Maguires. Politically he has always given his sup- 
port to the Democratic party. 

When the need for more solid financial institutions in this section became 
apparent Dr. Rentschler lent his aid to their establishment, having been one 
of the organizers of the Merchants' National Bank of Shenandoah, and was a 
director of same for twelve years, until the First National Bank of Ringtown 
came into existence, in 1904. He was interested in its organization, served as 
vice president for some years, and is now president of the institution, which 
has been a valuable adjunct to the business activities of the borough and sur- 
rounding country. He owns a farm of eighty-seven and a half acres in the 
borough, turned over to general agriculture and fruit growing. 

Fraternally the Doctor affiliates with the Odd Fellows and Masons, belong- 
ing to Ringtown Lodge, No. 287, I. O. O. F. ; to Mahanoy City Lodge, No. 
357, F. & A. M.; Alizpah Chapter, No. 252, R. A. M., of Mahanoy City 
(charter member) ; and Ivanhoe Commandery, No. 31, K. T., of Mahanoy 
City. He and his wife and all of their children are members of the Lutheran 
Church. 

On Feb. 15, 1869, Dr. Rentschler was married to Emmaline Rumbel, of 
Ringtown, who was bom there Feb. 21, 1852, and received her education in 
the local public schools. Eight children have been born to this marriage: 
Adalaide, born Aug. 19, 1870, completed a course in the Keystone State Nor- 
mal School, at Kutztown, Pa., afterwards studied music in a seminary at 
Hagerstown, and was organist of St. John's Evangelical Lutheran Church for 
years ; she is now the wife of Dr. George R. Shenk, of Reading, Pa., and has 
three children, Katherine F., Florence E. and Frederick R. Maurice F., born 
Aug. 19, 1872, after receiving an excellent fundamental education entered the 
University of Pennsylvania, but did not finish the course, and he is now 
engaged in the confectionery business at Ringtown ; he married Sadie Rumbel, 
daughter of Francis Rumbel, of Ringtown, and their children are Emmaline, 
Winifred, Ralph M. and Frederick. Walter R., born Oct. 12, 1874, received 
his education in the public schools of Ringtown, Bloomsburg State Normal 



616 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVAXL\ 

School and the University of Pennsylvania Medical School, which he entered 
in 1892, graduating in 1896, since when he has been in practice with his 
father at Ringtown ; he married Edna Hughes, daughter of George S. and 
Emily (Barrow) Hughes, of Clearfield, Pa., and their children are George 
Hughes, Henry D., Emily B., Rebecca R. and Isabelle C. Sadie May. born 
Dec. 10, 1876, graduated from the Bloomsburg State Normal School and 
taught school at Ringtown ; she was organist of St. John's Evangelical Luth- 
eran Church for over ten years; she died Feb. '7, 1907. when thirty years 
old. Harry J., born Dec. 16, 1878, was formerly engaged as a machinist in 
the hosiery mills at Ringtown, and is now farming there ; he married Pearl 
Fuhrman, and they have had two children, Elizabeth (deceased) and Fuhr- 
man Henry. Robert F., born May 23, 1881, graduated from the Keystone 
State Normal School, at Kutztown. Pa., taught school a few terms, took a 
course in a commercial college at Reading; and then entered the employ of the 
E. & G. Brooke Iron Company, at Birdsboro, where he is accountant; he is 
unmarried and makes his home at Reading. Elizabeth M., born Aug. 28, 
1883, who lives at home, graduated from the musical department of the 
Bloomsburg State Normal School, and has taught music at Ringtown, where 
she has also been organist in the church since 1908. Guy H., born Sept. i, 
1885, is a graduate of the Bloomsburg State Normal School, has taken courses 
at Columbia University, New York (iity, and is now supervising principal of 
the schools of Dunellen, New Jersey. 

Mrs. Rentschler belongs to an old family of Schuylkill county, being a 
granddaughter of Henry Rumbel, who was born Oct. 31, 1801, in East Bruns- 
wick township, this county, where he owned land near Rauschs which he 
traded for property in Union township, acquiring valuable holdings. He 
had one tract principally in timber (now owned by Washington Rumbel), 
cultivating the few acres which were cleared, and owned another which he 
occupied and operated, selling the latter eventually to his son Henry. He 
gave each of his sons a fann. Mr. Rumbel was independent in politics. He 
was known for his high Christian character, and was a zealous member of 
the Lutheran congregation of the Old White Church, in which he filled all 
the official positions. His wife belonged to the Reformed denomination. Her 
maiden name was Salome Andrews, and she was born Sept. 18. 1807. Mr. 
Rumbel died Nov. 17. 1869. Mrs. Rumbel on May 20. 1887. and they are 
buried at the Old White Church. They were the parents of the following 
children : Henry married Elizabeth Singley ; Daniel is mentioned below ; 
Jacob served in the Civil war. was wounded, and died from his injuries; 
Joshua married Lucy Singley; Rebecca married William Laudig; Mary mar- 
ried Levi Reber. 

Daniel Rumbel, son of Henry, was bom Dec. 24, 1830, in East Brunswick 
township, this county, and died at Ringtown June 26, 1891. He was educated 
partly in his native township, but was still a boy when the family moved to 
Union township, where he finished his schooling. During most of his early 
life he helped his father on the farm, continuing thus for some time after his 
marriage, and he also learned the trade of shoemaker. In time he bought a 
farm of about 115 acres from his father, nearly all timbered, cut the wood 
and cleared the ground, selling his lumber to the Catawissa Railroad Com- 
pany, who used it in the construction of bridges along their road._ Later he 
sold' fifteen acres to Jacob Laudig, retaining the remainder for himself and 
carrying on general farming for some years. He sold another portion of this 
tract to the Ringtown Fair Association for fair grounds. Below Ringtown 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 617 

he owned a tract of fifty acres mostly in timber, on which he had a water- 
power sawmill, and the timber cut there was used for mining and building 
purposes. His general farming and lumbering operations were very profitable, 
and he did well, but he was too good-natured for his own interest about gomg 
on others' bonds, and as a consequence he failed financially, his property being 
disposed of at sheriff's sale. After that he went into the shoe business at 
Ringtown, conducting a store and working at the trade. He spent his later 
years in retirement there. 

Mr. Rumbel married Sarah M. Seltzer, who was born Sept. 7, 1832, in 
East Brunswick township, and they had three children: Emmaline, wife of 
Dr. H. D. Rentschler, of Ringtown; William H., born Jan. 29, 1854, who 
rnarried Louisa Seitz ; and Trenton W., born in October, 1856, who married 
Barbara Maurer. The mother died Sept. 2, 1914, and both parents are buried 
at the Old White Church. Mr. Rumbel was a Lutheran member of that 
church, and a Republican in political sentiment. 

SALEM W. KOCH, who has valuable mercantile and agricultural in- 
terests near Rauschs, in East Brunswick township, has been one of the most 
enterprising residents of that portion of Schuylkill county for a quarter of a 
century and more. He has taken a hand in the direction of township affairs 
in various official capacities, and his personal influence has always been felt 
as a distinct force for progress. In church and social affairs he has also 
done his share, helping to raise the standard of the community by giving en- 
couragement to every movement whose object appealed to his sympathies as 
being worthy of support. He is a native of East Brunswick township, born 
Sept. 21, 1848, son of William W. Koch and grandson of William Kocii. 

William Koch, the grandfather, lived in Schuylkill county from early life, 
and followed farming in East Brunswick township, where he owned a farm 
of 180 acres, no acres of which were cleared ground. After operating this 
farm for some years he sold it to his son, William W., and it is now the 
property of George Zimmerman. After selling his farm he moved to Schuyl- 
kill Haven and was a boatbuilder for the Schuylkill Navigation Company for 
many years before his retirement. He died in that place, aged ninety-two 
years. Mr. Koch married a Miss Bolich, by whom he had the following chil- 
dren : William W. ; Daniel ; and Kate, who married John Deibert. For his 
second wife he married Briggetta Schaeffer, who was from Berks county, 
and they had one child, Lewis, who is unmarried. He became a Republican, 
and served his fellow citizens as school director. Mr. Koch was first a member 
of Christ Church at McKeansburg, but on his removal to Schuylkill Haven 
became a member of the German Lutheran Church there. He and his sec- 
ond wife are buried at Schuylkill Haven. 

William W. Koch, father of Salem W. Koch, was educated in East 
Brunswick township, and worked for his father until he was twenty years old, 
when he married. Then he bought his father's farm and operated that place 
for eight years, when he sold it and bought the mill property which Jonas 
Kunkel now owns. He conducted the property for eight years, when he sold 
out and removed to Lewisburg, Union Co., Pa., remaining there one year. 
Then he removed to Selinsgrove, Snyder Co., Pa., and bought a property, but 
held it only one year, when he sold and removed to East Brunswick township 
and bought the mill property now owned by Elias Bachert. At that time the 
property was known as the Weaver property. Mr. Koch operated the mill 
and farm for eight years, when the mill burned down and he sold the property 



618 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

to Elias Bachert. Then he removed to New Ringgold and from there to 
Rauschs, where he lived retired. He was killed accidentally on the Lehigh 
Valley railroad about a mile from his home, when on his way to go fishing. 
He married Catherine Kershner, a daughter of William B. and Elizabeth 
(Seltzer) Kershner, and they had three children: Oliver, who is deceased; 
Salem W.; and Wesley W., who conducts a hotel at Mohnton, Berks Co., 
Pa., his mother, now eighty-nine years old, making her home with him (he 
married Hannah Hartman). Mr. Koch was a Republican and was elected 
school director. He joined the Church of God at Steigerwalt, McKeansburg, 
and was an active church member. He is buried in Christ Church cemetery 
at McKeansburg. 

Salem W. Koch started his education in East Brunswick township, later 
attending the seminary at CoUegeville and Lewisburg Academy. He pre- 
pared himself for teaching, and taught one term at Selinsgrove, Snyder 
county, after which he came to East Brunswick township, and worked in his 
father's mill (now the Bachert mill), also operating the sawmill and assisting 
on the farm. Later he engaged in the general store business in New Ring- 
gold, where he remained five years, after which he removed to Rauschs Sta- 
tion and bought his father-in-law's farm of eighty-six acres. He still owns 
the same and has added to his holdings, having bought a tract of eighty acres 
and later one of fifty-five acres from the Bachert land. All told he had i lo 
acres under cultivation. Mr. Koch devoted himself to the operation of his 
farm for a while, and when the Lehigh Valley railroad was built through that 
section he put up his present store building, where he has done a general mer- 
cantile business for the last twenty-four years. His son Luther now manages 
the farm. He is a substantial man in his community and a good citizen. He 
has been closely associated with the township government, having served as 
auditor ; for four years as supervisor ; ten years as justice of the peace ; and 
twenty-four years as school director, also acting as secretary of the board 
throughout that period. As a worker of recognized value in the Republican 
party he has been township committeeman fifteen years, and has served as 
inspector of elections. 

Mr. Koch has numerous social connections. He is a member of East 
Brunswick Lodge, No. 802, I. O. O. P., of New Ringgold, and is a past grand ; 
a member of Washington Camp No. 100. P. O. S. of A., of New Ringgold, 
and a past president, and has been delegate to county and State conventions ; 
belongs to Protection Council, No. 935, Order of Independent Americans, 
McKeansburg, and is a past councilor. In religion he is a Lutheran, a member 
of the Frieden's Church at New Ringgold, and he has taken a leading part in 
the church and Sunday school afifairs. He was deacon for many years ; secre- 
tary of the church council from twenty-four years of age until 1913; superin- 
tendent of the Sunday school for several years; and was also superintendent 
of the Bachert Sunday school for some time. 

Mr. Koch married Maria Bolich, who was born Oct. 11, 1848, a daughter 
of William and Mary (Sechler) Bolich, the latter coming from Lehigh county. 
Mr. and Mrs. Koch have had six children : Luther Martin married Laura 
Hartman and they have three children, Mildred Emma, Salem Hartman and 
Roberta Maria ; Mary Catherine married W. M. Miller, of Topton, Pa., and 
has one child, Bessie Florence ; Emma Elizabeth married George G. Shick, of 
Pottsville, Pa., and has three children, Catherine Koch. Salem Henry and 
Bernon George ; Salem W., William B. and Oliver are deceased. 

John Bolich, Mrs. Koch's grandfather, farmed in East Brunswick town- 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 619 

ship, where he owned about three hundred acres of land. He followed gen- 
eral farming throughout his active years, but retired many years before his 
death, which occurred when he was eighty-four years old. His wife, Susan 
(Fisher), died at the age of fifty, and they are buried in the cemetery of the 
Frieden's Lutheran Church, of which organization they were members. Polit- 
ically he was a Republican. Their' children were as follows : John married 
Hannah Sechler: George married Priscilla Wanamaker; Daniel married Eliz- 
abeth Sechler; Samuel did not marry; William married Mary Sechler; Ben- 
jamin married Mary Reinhard ; Joseph married Sarah Oswald; Susan mar- 
ried Josepji Alspacli; Kate married Jesse Sechler; Hannah married Charles 
Dreher ; Mary married Jacob Steinmetz ; Diana and Sarah never married. 

William Bolich wasborn July 12, 1820, in East Brunswick township, and 
was educated there. He worked for his father on the farm for some time 
and before his father's death bought about eighty acres of the place, later pur- 
chasing another farm of 100 acres, to which he removed. He cultivated that 
tract until his death, which occurred when he was aged fifty-seven years. 
He was actively interested in politics as a member of the Republican party, 
served as school director, and belonged to the Frieden's Lutheran Church at 
New Ringgold ; he is buried in the cemetery of that church. Mr. Bolich mar- 
ried Mary Sechler, who was born March 10. 1823, in Lynn township, Lehigh 
county, daughter of Jacob Sechler, whose wife's maiden name was Fussel- 
man. Mrs. Bolich survives her husband, making her home with her daughter, 
Mrs. Bauscher. Mr. and Mrs. Bolich had three children: Charles married 
Sarah Kindt, of New Ringgold, Pa. ; Maria married Salem Koch, of Rauschs, 
Schuylkill county; Emma is Mrs. David Bauscher. 

WESLEY A. SELTZER belongs to two families of old and honorable 
standing in Schuylkill county, being connected in the maternal line with the 
Albrights, whose name has long been associated with high qualities of char- 
acter, for which its representatives have been known. 

The Seltzers were first established in Berks county. Pa., after their emigra- 
tion to America. Jacob Seltzer emigrated in the year 1752 from the upper 
Rhein, near Coblentz, in the vicinity of the famous "Seltzer Springs" in Ger- 
many, where he was born in 1732. He settled in Heidelberg township (where 
afterwards Womelsdorf was laid out), Berks Co., Pa., and became a natural- 
ized citizen in 1765. Several years before (in 1762) he had established a 
hotel in the village, which has been known until the present time as the "Selt- 
zer House." He died in 1788. He was married to Maria Catharine Hiester, 
of Bern township, who was born in 1735 and died in 1817. By her he had six 
children : Jacob, who married Catharine KaufTman ; Michael, who enlisted 
in the Revolution and died of fever shortly before the end of his term of 
service ; Elizabeth, who married Dr. Michael Tryon, a prominent physician of 
Tulpehocken ; Mary, who married Jacob Spang, a prominent ironmaster of 
Oley ; Catharine, who married David Dewees; and a daughter who married 
Christopher Reed. 

Jacob Seltzer was born in 176.4 at Womelsdorf, where he carried on farm- 
ingand kept hotel until his decease in 1825. He was married to Catharine 
Kaufifman (daughter of Jacob, of Oley), born in 1766 and died in 1842, and 
by her he had eight children : William married Catharine Ruth ; John married 
Mary Van Reed: Daniel married a Weiser; David married Eliza O. Sheetz 
and moved to Ohio ; Jacob married a Hassinger ; Michael married Catherine 
Hain; Anna remained single; Elizabeth married George See. 



620 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

Michael Seltzer, great-grandfather of Wesley Seltzer, served in the Revo- 
lutionary war, and was at Valley Forge. He was taken prisoner and con- 
fined with others in an old stone church, where he starved to death. His 
children were Abraham, John and Jacob. 

Abraham Seltzer, son of Michael, was born in Berks county. Pa., and was 
an early settler in East Brunswick township, Schuylkill county, where he fol- 
lowed farming at Drehersville until his death, which occurred there. For a 
number of years he kept hotel at that point, besides following agricultural 
pursuits. He lived to the age of ninety-one years, and his wife, whose maiden 
name was Catherine Faust, is buried with him at the Red Church. They had 
the following family : Joseph, Elizabeth, Michael, Susan, Polly, Catherine, 
Rebecca and Nathan. One married Daniel Ebling; another Edw. Ebling; 
Michael married Mary Frey ; Nathan married Catherine Albright; Joseph 
went West, where he died ; Mrs. Reuben Miller lived in the West. 

Nathan Seltzer, son of Abraham, was born in December, 1827, in East 
Brunswick township, and died at the early age of thirty-three. He was a 
successful business man, following farming, and kept an inn at Drehersville 
for a time, also carrying on a general mercantile business at that point. He 
was a member of the Reformed Church, and is buried at the Red Church. 
Politically he was a Democrat. His wife, Catherine, was a daughter of Peter 
Albright, of West Brunswick township, and four children were born to this 
union : Elizabeth, Wesley A., Oscar and Alary, all deceased but Wesley. 
Mrs. Seltzer remarried, becoming the wife of John Walborn, but had no 
children by that union. 

Wesley A. Seltzer was born Jan. 22, 1865, at Drehersville, East Brunswick 
township. Being only four years old when his father died he was reared by 
his grandfather, Peter Albright, meantime attending the public schools of the 
locality. He assisted his grandfather with the farm work until he reached 
his majority, and from that time farmed on shares, also conducting a lime 
quarry. He continued to carry on his agricultural work and quarrying for 
twenty-one years in all, and in 1894 removed to Orwigsburg. where he pur- 
chased the Jacob Hiest farm, a valuable tract of 135 acres, included within 
the borough limits. Under Mr. Seltzer's management during the twenty years 
and more of his ownership it has undergone steady improvement, and is up-to- 
date in every respect, having reached a fine state of cultivation. Mr. Seltzer 
has erected a house upon the land, which he rents. His time has always 
been given to business, and he is known as one of the most progressive agricul- 
turalists of his vicinity. He is a director of the South Schuylkill Farmers' 
Fire Insurance Company, which he has been serving as treasurer for some 
time. Politically he is a Republican, but has never taken any part in public 
affairs. His religious connection is with the Reformed Church. 

In 1874 Mr. Seltzer married Joanna Hoy, daughter of Jacob and Elizabeth 
(Faust) Hoy, and they are the parents of the following named children: 
Frank P.. now engaged in farming in North Manheim township, this county ; 
Mary, who lives at home; Anna, who taught school for a time, now married 
and living in Orwigsburg; Catherine, wife of John Williams, living at Pine 
Grove Furnace, Cumberland county. Pa. ; John W., living at Franklin Furnace, 
N. J.; George I., now in New York State; Edward, a student at State Col- 
lege ; and Albert, at home. 

JOHN PFEIFFER, of Tower City, is one of the substantial business 
men of his section of Schuylkill county. His own success would be suffi- 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 621 

cient to justify his faith in the county as a field for investment, and he has 
been among the promoters and supporters of some of the most progressive 
enterprises set on foot within the last twenty years, taking a public-spirited 
pride in securing for his locality the benefits afi'orded by the various con- 
cerns in which he is interested. Mr. Pfeiffef is a native of Germany and a 
typical member of his race, thorough-going, self-reliant, persevering and in- 
dustrious. It is to these solid characteristics that his many friends in the 
valley ascribe the good fortune he now enjoys. 

Mr. Pfeiffer was born in Germany Oct. 26, 1864, son of Daniel Pfeififer, 
also a native of that country. He brought his family to America in 1882 and 
settled at Middleport, Schuylkill Co., Pa. In the old country he had been 
variously employed, and here he was engaged for a time in coal washing, at 
Brockton. Then he followed farming until his retirement. His death 
occurred at iMiddleport, where his wife, Elizabeth (Pabst), also passed away, 
and they are both buried there. They had the following children : Jacob, 
John, Daniel, Frederick, Henry, Lewis, Charles, and Lena (who married 
George W. Miller). 

John Pfeiffer received his education in the Fatherland, being eighteen 
years old when he accompanied the family to America. He had learned the 
trade of stone cutter, and after his arrival in Schuylkill county was em- 
ployed for ten years at the mines and on the railroad. By that time he felt 
justified in starting business on his own account, and he opened the general 
store at Tower City which he has conducted ever since, having one of the 
best managed establishments in the town. The trade has increased steadily, 
and Mr. Pfeifl'er has given his patrons the benefit of his prosperity, im- 
proving his stock and facilities not only as the trade demands, but usually 
in advance of its needs. His merchandise is of reliable quality, the service 
is prompt and courteous, and no detail is neglected to insure satisfaction to all 
customers. Mr. Pfeiffer also owns the "Commercial Hotel," carrying a 
retail license, and he has considerable valuable real estate at Tower City and 
in Porter township. He was one of the organizers of the Consolidated Elec- 
tric Company which supplies light to New Philadelphia, Middleport, Cum- 
bola and Schuylkill township, and also to Blythe township, and whose plant 
was sold July i, 1915, to the Eastern Pennsylvania Light, Heat & Power Com- 
pany. He was one of the first stockholders in the Tower City National Bank, 
organized in 1902, and has been a director since 1914. He also helped to 
organize the Electric Light Company at Tower City, which has since been 
sold. Mr. Pfeiffer is a director of the Williamstown Water Company and 
the Wiconisco Telephone Company. The only public ofifice he has ever con- 
sented to fill is that of supervisor of Porter township. 

Mr. Pfeift'er married Emma Ida Miller, daughter of Thomas Miller, and 
they have three children, Ella, Charles and John. He and his family belong 
to the Reformed Church. Socially he is a Mason, holding membership in 
Ashler Lodge, No. 570, F. & A. M., of Lykens, Pa., and he also belongs to 
the Moose lodge at that place; to Tower City Lodge, No. 755, I. O. O. F. ; 
and to the Knights of the Golden Eagle. 

WILLIAM FRANKLIN FUHRMAN, present burgess of the borough 
of Ringtown. has been actively engaged in business there for a number of 
years, following various lines. His principal interests now are in the line 
of carpentry, and the steady demand for his services bears indisputable testi- 
mony to his good workmanship and conscientious fulfillment of every obliga- 



622 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENXSYL\'AXL\ 

tion. In his public duties he has been equally faithful, showing a sincere 
desire to promote the best interests of the town where his unselfish, progress- 
ive spirit is proving an influential element for good. 

i\Ir. Fuhrman was born Jan. 30, 1861, in Union township, Schuylkill 
county, son of Lewis Fuhrman, also a native of Union township, who was 
occupied at farming and lumbering. During the Civil war Lewis Fuhrman 
enlisted at Ringtown, this county, for three years, served his full term, and 
received an honorable discharge at Harrisburg, Pa. He died in July, 1869, 
and is buried at the old White Church near Ringtown. In religion he was a 
Lutheran, in politics a Democrat. Mr. Fuhrman married Susanna Linden- 
muth, who was born in October, 1838, in Union township, where she received 
her education. Her father, John Lindenmuth, was a farmer in that town- 
ship, owning a tract of over one hundred acres, part of which he cleared; 
there was a great deal of valuable timber on his land. He belonged to the 
Lutheran Church, and was a Democrat on political questions. He and his 
wife Hannah ( Ponnebecker) are buried in a private graveyard in Union 
township. They were the parents of the following children: Elizabeth, wife 
of Frank Rhoades; Jacob, who married Catherine Ulshaffer; William, who 
was twice married, his second wife being Eliza Diliplane; Rachel, wife of 
Daniel Rhoades; Polly, wife of Daniel Zimmerman; Amanda, wife of Peter 
Fry; and Susan, Mrs. Fuhrman. 

Mrs. Susan Fuhrman, widow of Lewis Fuhrman, resides in Ringtown 
borough. Six children were born to them: Caroline, who lives in Allentown, 
Pa. ; William F. ; Amanda, wife of Samuel Miller, living at Black Hills, near 
McAdoo, Schuylkill county; Barbara, deceased; Hannah, deceased, who was 
the wife of George Titus, of Rush township, Schuylkill county ; and Henry, 
of Ringtown, Pennsylvania. 

William F. Fuhrman attended the Home and Lindner schoolhouses in 
Union township, but as he was only eight years old when his father died he 
began work when yet a boy, helping his mother. He was employed by 
neighboring farmers until twelve years old, when he went to work in the 
breaker of the colliery at Raven Run, this county, later doing inside tasks, 
firing and running engines, etc. He remained there until nearly thirty years 
old. when he entered the employ of Peter Dresher, as teamster in his lumber 
woods and as wood chopper, continuing with him two years. For four years 
afterwards he was in the hotel business at Ringtown on his own account, first 
as proprietor of the "Eagle Hotel" and later of another house. He also 
acquired manufacturing interests in the borough, being one of the stockhold- 
ers of the Ringtown Knitting Mills, which he operated for a couple of years, 
later selling out and renting the farm of Dr. H. D. Rentschler, in Ringtown, 
which he conducted for four years. After the death of his father-in-law, 
Samuel Dresher, he bought the latter's farm, but never operated that prop- 
erty, which he sold later to Elmer Dennison, the present owner. In 1905 
Mr. Fuhrman bought the William Snyder farm in Union township, which he 
cultivated for one year, later selling the place to Jonathan Hetherington, who 
in turn sold it to the present owner, Benjamin Zimmerman. Mr. Fuhrman, 
however, retained eight building lots from the Snyder tract, and has disposed 
of six of them, still holding two. He also owns a seventy-foot (front) lot in 
Ringtown upon which he has erected a fine double dwelling house, which 
he occupies. For a number of years past he has been devoting his energies 
principally to the carpenter's trade, and he has a large number of patrons in 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 623 

the borough and vicinity. From time to time Mr. Fuhrman has acquired 
other interests, having been one of the first directors of the First National 
Bank of Ringtown, in which capacity he is still serving; he attends the direct- 
ors' meetings regularly. 

For some years Mr. Fuhrman has kept in close touch with local public 
afifairs, having served as election inspector in Union township before Ring- 
town was incorporated as a borough, and he has earned a well merited repu- 
tation for reliable service in public trusts. In 1913 he was honored as the 
choice of the townspeople for the office of burgess, being the second incum- 
bent of that important position since the incorporation of the borough. His 
official acts have been such as to hold the allegiance of his original sup- 
porters and gain him many new friends. Mr. Fuhrman has also been 
active in other local interests, being a member of Ringtown Castle, No. 300, 
Knights of the Golden Eagle, and of the Ringtown Lutheran Church ; many 
years ago he served as superintendent of the Sunday school held in Home's 
school in Union township. 

Mr. Fuhrman married Elizabeth Dresher, who was born Feb. 23, 1861, 
in Union township, where she received her education, remaining at home until 
her marriage. She is an earnest member of the Ringtown Lutheran Church 
and of its Ladies' Aid Society. Two children have been born to Mr. and 
Mrs. Fuhrman: Pearl May, the daughter, born Oct. 17, 1887, received an ex- 
cellent education in the public schools, graduating from the Ringtown high 
school, taught school for three years in Union township, and is now the wife 
of Harry Rentschler, a farmer, of Ringtown; they have had two children, 
Elizabeth Alice (born Dec. 26, 1912, deceased) and Fuhrman Henry (born 
Nov. 24, 1913). Samuel Robert, son of Mr. and Mrs. William F. Fuhrman, 
born June 2, 1891, was educated in the local public schools and at the Blooms- 
burg (Pa.) State Normal School, attending the latter for one term; he was 
an employe of the Hooven Mercantile Company at Shenandoah at the time of 
his death, Aug. 6, 191 3. 

George Dresher, grandfather of Mrs. Fuhrman, was a native of Ger- 
many. Coming to America he settled in Black Creek township, Luzerne 
Co., Pa., where he farmed the rest of his life, and he is buried there 
with his second wife. He was a member of the Lutheran Church. He 
was twice married, and had five children by the first union : Samuel ; Polly, 
Mrs. Henry Hetler; Katie, Mrs. Joseph Mostellor ; Elizabeth, Mrs. Aaron 
Mostellor; and Lydia, Mrs. Paul Huntsinger. To the second marriage were 
born : George, John and Henry all went West ; Stephen married Mary Etta 
Link ; Susan married Charles Baer ; Sallie married Jeremiah Spiegel. 

Samuel Dresher, father of Mrs. Fuhrman, was born Sept. 25, 181 5. in 
Mifflin township, Columbia Co., Pa., was reared and educated in that county, 
and became a prosperous farmer, owning three farms, one in Mifflin town- 
ship, Columbia county, and two in Union township, Schuylkill county. When 
he came to this county he settled on his large tract, which comprised 325 acres, 
then in the woods. He cleared a considerable portion of that property and 
carried on general farming for a number of years, but eventually gave up 
agriculture, renting out his farms, and for some time conducted the "Eagle 
Hotel" in Ringtown, owning the hotel property. When he withdrew from 
that business he rented the hotel and bought a dwelling in Ringtown where 
he spent the rest of his life in retirement. He died March 17, 1897, and his 
325-acre farm was subsequently divided into three parts and sold; these 



624 ~ SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

parts are now owned by Harry Shenk, Frank Lebenburg and the Girard 
Estate, respectively. Mr. Dresher's other Union township farm is now 
owned by Elmer Dennison. Mr. Dresher was actively interested in local 
affairs, being a well known member of the Democratic party, tax collector of 
his township, and a prominent worker in the Lutheran Church of Ringto\yn. 
He is buried at the old White Church near Ringtown with his first wife, 
Elizabeth (Hetler), who was born in Mifflin township, Columbia county, 
and died at the age of thirty-six years, when her daughter Mrs. Fuhrman was 
an infant. Her father, Peter Hetler, was a farmer in Milflin township, and 
he and his wife are buried at Mifflinville, Columbia county. He was a Demo- 
crat in politics. Mr. and Mrs. Hetler had two children, the other being a 
son Henry, who married Polly Dresher. By his first wife Mr. Dresher had 
the following children : Savina, Mahala, Mary Ann, Sydney Frances and 
Boyd (who married Emma Bitting, now a resident of Ringtown) are all 
deceased ; Peter married Sallie Hetherington ; George married Carolina Fry ; 
Elizabeth is the wife of William F. Fuhrman. For his second wife Mr. 
Dresher married Anna Lindermuth, daughter of Michael and Nima (Miller) 
Lindermuth, and she survives him, being now (1915) about seventy-five years 
old. To this union were born children as follows : Henry married Lizzie 
Seltzer, and they make their home at Berwick, Pa. ; Santharella married Wil- 
liam Long, and both are deceased; David, a resident of Ringtown, Pa., mar- 
ried Adeline Brown ; Charles, of Girardville, this county, married Sallie Schap- 
pell ; Anna is the wife of Irwin Seltzer, of Union township; Nima is the wife 
of Luther Stauffer, of Ringtown ; Emma married Fred Jay, of Philadelphia, 
Pa.; Fannie married Charles Richards; Ida married George Barnhart, of 
Girardville, Pennsylvania. 

H. J. HERBEIN, D. D. S., the subject of this sketch, was born in Bern 
township, Berks county, son of Dr. J. S. and Elizabeth A. R. (Winter) Her- 
bein, grandson of John Herbein, who removed to Bern township from Oley 
township, Berks county, where the progenitor of the Herbein family in Penn- 
sylvania located in 17 17. He was educated in the public schools of Bern town- 
ship, and Sinking Springs, Berks county, and in Brunner's Scientific Academy, 
Reading, Pa. After teaching in the public schools of Berks county for several 
terms, Dr. Herbein took up the study of dentistry, in the Dental Department 
of the University of Pennsylvania ; and was graduated from that institution, 
April 13, 1883, with the degree of Doctor of Dental Surgery. After practicing 
for three years as assistant in the office of Dr. E. Slegel, Reading, Pa., he 
opened an office in Pottsville, in March, 1886, where he has continued in the 
active practice of his profession to the present time. 

Dr. Herbein is a member of the Pennsylvania State Dental Society, the 
Schuylkill County Dental Society and the Lebanon Valley Dental Association, 
serving as Secretary of the last named organization for twenty-five consecu- 
tive years, and as President in 191 1. As a charter member of the Historical 
Society, he served as librarian of the Society, from its organization, in 1903, 
until 1912, when he was elected secretary, which office he filled until 1915. 

In November, 1912, he received the appointment of Local Registrar of 
the Pottsville District of the Pennsylvania Department of Health ; at the 
same time he was elected secretary to the Board of Health of Pottsville, 
which offices he still holds. 

Residing in one of the finest fossil fields in the country. Dr. Herbein has 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 625 

devoted his leisure time to the collection of Coal Flora, and has a large col- 
lection of typical specimens of coal fossils, as well as a very unique collec- 
tion of fossil reptilian foot tracks from the Mauch Chunk Red Shales in the 
vicinity of Pottsville. 

In 1893, Dr. Herbein was married to Miss Bertha M. Stichter, of Potts- 
ville, taking as a residence and dental office the residence. No. 407 Garfield 
Square, Pottsville, where, with their family of three daughters and one son, 
they still reside. 

GEORGE HOFF STICHTER. With the band of pioneers who blazed 
the trail through the wilds of Schuylkill county, Pa., in the year 1827, there 
was one young man who had just reached his majority, by the name of George 
Hoff Stichter, son of Peter Stichter. He was born in Reading, Berks Co., 
Pa;, Feb. 13, 1805, and was educated in a private night school which he 
attended after the day's labor. He learned the trade of tinsmith with his 
cousin, John Stichter. of Pottsville, Pa. In 1829, upon the death of John 
Stichter. he purchased the good-will and interest in the stove and tin busi- 
ness from the estate, and branched out very extensively, employing twelve 
to fifteen journeymen in his factory, all hand work, and using three teams 
on the road to sell the finished product north, east, south and west. 

George H. Stichter was a natural-born mechanic and inventor. In 1831 
he patented an improvement on the first cook stove. In 1832 he designed and 
patented the cylinder stove now in use. In 1833 he patented and manu- 
factured the first heating stove for house use to burn coal in the United 
States. Up to then grates walled in were used exclusively. In 1845 he 
added hardware to his stove and tin business, and continued in active life 
until 1876, when he retired, dying May 4, 1887. He served as county com- 
missioner from 1845 to 1848, as school director, councilman and tax collector, 
was a member of the old Schuylkill County Troop in the thirties and forties, 
and a charter member of the first Lutheran Church at Pottsville. 

On May 11, 1S30, George H. Stichter was married to Mary, daughter 
of John Hahn. of Reading, Berks county. They were blessed with eleven 
children, of whom four survive : Henry P. Stichter, retired hardware mer- 
chant ; Emma Fox, widow of Augustus Fox, grocer ; Anna Rich, widow of 
Isaac Rich ; and Joseph Stichter, clerk with the Coal & Iron Company- 
all of Pottsville, Pennsylvania. 

JAMES LORAH, of East Union township, has had his chief interests 
in the lumber business for a number of years. At present he deals exclusively 
in mine timber, operating as a lessee and working the timber under royalty. 
Possessed of noteworthy business qualities, Mr. Lorah has made his way in 
the world one of constant progress, in the course of which he has drawn 
to himself the respect of all his associates and the good will of his fellow men 
generally by the unselfish spirit he has shown and a keen sense of responsi- 
bility towards others, manifest in all his transactions. 

The Lorahs are an old family of this section of Schuylkill county. Michael 
Lorah, the grandfather of James Lorah, was born May 18, 1788, in Berks 
county. Pa., and was of French descent. His education was acquired in the 
local subscription schools. He followed farming and shoemaking, owning 
a farm of one hundred acres, which included the property where his grand- 
son James Lorah now lives, in what is now East Union township, Schuylkill 
Vdl. II— 2 



626 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANLA 

county. It was all Union then. He died on his farm ]\Iay 6, 1S52, and is 
buried with his wife at St. John's German Reformed Church, of which he 
was a member. In politics he was a Whig. It is supposed that Michael 
Lorah was twice married, and the maiden name of his first wife, born Dec. 
23, 1793, died March 6, 1837, was Hannah Fry. His second wife's maiden 
name was Polly Long. His children were: Emmanuel, who married Mary 
Houser ; Henry, deceased ; Lafayette, deceased ; Daniel, who married Polly 
Schappell, both now deceased ; Joshua, deceased : John, who married Cath- 
erine Johnson (she is deceased); Susanna, who married Aaron Gross; 
Hannah, wife of Samuel Beaver; Lucy, who died young, and William, who 
died young. 

Joshua Lorah, son of Michael, was born July 11, 1S30, in Union town- 
ship, that part now included in East Union, and there grew to manhood, 
meantime receiving his education in the local district schools. During his 
younger days he worked for his father on the home place, and after his 
marriage he lived as a tenant on various farms, continuing thus for a number 
of years. W'hen Michael Lorah died his son Emmanuel bought the home- 
stead, which he operated until his death, when it was sold by the adminis- 
trators to Elias Peifer, who subsequently sold sixty-three acres of the orig- 
inal tract to Joshua Lorah. He carried on general farming there for a con- 
siderable period. In his later life he cut up thirteen acres of this property 
into building lots and laid out the town of Phinny, including iSo lots. As he 
died before they were all sold his son James, as administrator of the estate, 
continued to dispose of them, buying two of them himself, upon which he 
built his present home. That part of Joshua Lorah's farm remaining un- 
divided was bought by his son Michael upon the mother's death, and is 
now owned by Jacob Landauhl. 

Mr. Lorah married Elizabeth Johnson, who was born Sept. 3, 1831, in 
Northumberland county. Pa., daughter of Henry Johnson, and was of Eng- 
lish ancestry. ]\Irs. Lorah survived her husband, his death occurring Feb. 
4, 1895, hers Feb. 9, 1899, and they are buried at St. John's Reformed and 
Lutheran Church in East Union township. He was a prominent Reformed 
member of that church, in which he held the highest offices, serving many 
years as elder and deacon, and also acting as treasurer. Politically he was 
a Republican, and kept up an interest in local public affairs ; he served as one 
of the directors of the school district and as treasurer of same. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Joshua Lorah were born the following children : Hannah married John 
Deeble, and both are deceased ; Michael, deceased, married Sarah Huntsinger, 
who now resides at Mountain Grove, Luzerne Co., Pa. ; Thomas, a resident 
of East Union township, married Missouri Applegate; Emma died in infancy; 
Mary died in infancy; Albert, deceased, married Anna Irwin, who lives at 
Allentown, Pa. ; James is next in the family ; Sarah, deceased, was the wife 
of Williani Schaeffer, who lives in Alabama ; Rebecca Elizabeth is the widow 
of Andrew B. Faust, and lives next door to her brother James ; Oscar, of 
McAdoo, Schuylkill county, married Clara Applegate ; Ida is married to John 
Wilhelm, of W'illiamsport, Pa. ; Jacob married Jennie Davis of Brandonville, 
Schuylkill county, and moved to Cleveland, Ohio. 

James Lorah was born ]\Iay 18. i860, in East Union township, Schuyl- 
kill county, where he was reared and educated, attending Lorah's school. He 
was trained to agricultural life, working on his father's farm until twenty-six 
years old, after which he was employed as a section hand on the Philadelphia 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 627 

& Reading road for nine months. His next work was for William and Elder 
Spangler, in the lumber woods at Andenried, Carbon county, being in their 
employ about two years, and later he was a stationary engineer for Coxe 
Brothers & Co., at their Oneida (Schuylkill county) colliery, for a period of 
eleven years. His sister. Mrs. Andrew B. Faust, having bought the lumber 
business of her deceased husband at the administrators' sale, he went into 
partnership with her under the name of Mrs. Andrew Faust & Brother, and 
they had joint interests for the next nine years, when they sold out. Later 
Mr. Lorah formed another partnership, with his brother Michael, in the 
same line, and they were together five years, dissolving the association by 
mutual consent. James Lorah is now alone in the lumber business, con- 
fining his transactions entirely to mine timber. He has other important con- 
nections also, being one of the most active business men in his community, 
and his encouragement of any project is considered a recommendation. He 
was one of the first directors of the Ringtown National Bank, and is still 
serving in that capacity. 

Like the earlier generations of his family in this region Mr. Lorah has 
taken a deep interest in the prosperity of St. John's Reformed Church, which 
he is serving as elder at present ; he was formerly a deacon. With his brother- 
in-law. Andrew B. Faust, and others, he built the present house of worship, 
Mr. I'"aust furnishing the lumber and Mr. Lorah contributing lilierally of 
money and supervising the erection of the building. He has always taken a 
leading part in the enterprises of this church. Fraternally he is an Odd 
Fellow, belonging to Ringtown Lodge. No. 287, which he joined Oct. 9, 1890. 
His political support is given to the Republican party. He has sened his 
township six years as school director, for two years being president of the 
board. 

Mr. Lorah was united in marriage with Margaret Catherine Faust, who 
was born May 3, 1863, in East Union township, where she was reared and 
educated, remaining at home until her marriage. She is a Lutheran member 
of St. John's Church, and formerly taught in the Sunday school. Children 
as follows have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Lorah : Derwin Ezra, born Dec. 
10, 1891, received his early education in the township schools, and later took 
the college preparatory course at the Bloonisburg (Pa.) State Normal School, 
from which he was graduated ; he is a member of the Improved Order of 
Red Men at Sheppton, Schuylkill county, and belongs to St. John's Reformed 
Church. Ivy May, born July 12, 1894, began her education in the township 
schools, later attending one year at the Bloomsburg Normal and taking one 
summer course at Perkiomen Seminary, Pennsburg, Pa., and is now teach- 
ing the Oneida school in East Union township ; she is a member of St. John's 
Reformed Church. Olive Margaret, born Jan. 5, 1898, acquired her early 
education in the township schools and is now attending the Keystone State 
Normal School at Kutztown, Pa. ; she is a member of St. John's Reformed 
Church. Beulah Caroline, born June 2, 190x3, is attending high school at 
Sheppton, in East Union township. James Russell, born Dec. 14, 1904, and 
Heber Daniel, born Oct. 14, 1907, are attending school in the township. 

Henry Faust, grandfather of Mrs. Lorah, was born April 8, 1780, prob- 
ably in East Brunswick township, and died June 6, 1871, aged ninety-one 
years, one month, twenty-eight days. He is buried at the Old White Church 
near Ringtown. and his wife, whose maiden name was Mengle, is buried at 
Weissport, Carbon Co., Pa. It is supposed they were farming people. Mr. 



1153970 



628 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

Faust was a Democrat in political sentiment. His children were : James, 
who married Levina Moyer; Frank, who married Dorothy; Michael; Daniel; 
Elizabeth (deceased), who married Jacob Trout; and Catherine, widow of 
Henry Eisenhart, living at Brownsville, Pennsylvania. 

Daniel Faust, father of Mrs. Lorah, was born near McKeansburg, in East 
Brunswick township, Feb. 27, 1828, and was there reared and educated. Dur- 
ing his young manhood he worked out among farmers, and in time bought a 
farm of his own, at Brandonville, in East Union township, Schuylkill county, 
upon which he followed agricultural pursuits the remainder of his life. His 
death occurred Oct. 11, 1910. and he is buried with his wife, Carolina 
(Bitting), at the Old White Church near Ringtown. She was born Oct. 6, 
1835, daughter of Charles and Margaret (Beaver) Bitting, and died Aug. 
II, 1914, at the home of her son-in-law, James Lorah. They had the follow- 
ing children: Hannah Malinda married Jacob Brobst, and they live at Hazle- 
ton. Pa.; Amanda Elizabeth is the wife of Frank Scott, of Brandonville, this 
county; Andrew B. (deceased) married Rebecca Elizabeth Lorah; Margaret 
Catherine is the wife of James Lorah; Daniel Wesley married Rebecca 
Bolander, and they live at Hazleton ; Silas Mayberry (deceased) married 
Charity Creasy, and she resides at Forks, Columbia Co., Pa. The father 
of this family was a Democrat and a Lutheran, belonging to St. John's 
Church in East Union township, which he served as deacon. 

HENRY L. MILLER has had his residence and business headquarters 
at Port Carbon for a number of years. But having had interests at various 
other points in Schuylkill county, and retaining important connections in sev- 
eral places besides his home town, he has more than local reputation and 
standing. Mr. Miller has exhibited in large degree the qualities which made 
his father one of the most valuable citizens of this region in his day, admired 
for his energetic and progressive character and respected for his substantial 
contributions to the development of the locality. 

John Frederick Miller, the father, was of German nativity, born in the 
kingdom of Wurtemberg. There he spent his childhood and youth, coming 
to this country when twenty-one years old. He landed at Castle Garden, New 
York City, came as far as Landingville, Schuylkill Co., Pa., by canalboat, and 
thence walked to Orwigsburg, where he found work with Reuben Hoy as a 
farm hand. Some time later he purchased 145 acres of land in West Bruns- 
wick township, lying one mile north of Orwigsburg, the old Leymeister 
farm. Part of it was still covered with brush and timber, and he continued 
the work of clearing and cultivation until 1895, i" which year he removed to 
the borough of Orwigsburg. The property remained in the Miller family 
for forty-five years, and is now owned by Fred Blacker. John F. Miller 
acquired extensive and valuable real estate holdings at Orwigsburg. and 
exerted himself very effectively in introducing modern conditions of life into 
that town. The first sewers laid there were of his construction, and he was 
the original owner of the system, now in the possession of his son Henry L. 
Miller. When the borough was ready to provide a public water supply the 
necessary land was purchased from him for the works, reservoir, etc., and 
he assisted the project in every possible way. He was one of the original 
jKirtics interested in the Orwigsburg Fair Association, which for years enter- 
taiind the people throughout this section. He was the first to start in the ice 
business at Orwigsburg, and carried it on successfully, as he did everything 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PEXXSYLVANL\ 629 

else he undertook. Indeed, his fellow citizens had such confidence in his 
judgment and faith in his disinterested public spirit, that few men of his 
time were more influential in guiding local affairs, though he took no special 
part in the administration of public matters. However, he was a zealous mem- 
ber of the German Lutheran Church at Orwigsburg, having been one of 
the founders of the church, and he assisted in building the present St. Paul's 
Church, which he served as trustee. Mr. Miller lived to the age of seventy- 
eight years, dying in 1909, after several years of retirement. He is buried in 
the Lutheran cemetery at Orwigsburg. 

Mr. Miller married Sophia Dietrich, also a native of Wurtemberg, Ger- 
many, who came to America when twenty years old, and died at Orwigs- 
burg at the age of seventy-nine years. They were married at that place, 
and the following children were born to their union: Elizabeth died young; 
Mary died young ; William, who lives at McAdoo, this county, is engaged in 
the ice business and has a farm in the Ouakake valley ; Henry L. is next in 
the family; George B. is living at Orwigsburg; John J. is a resident of Shen- 
andoah, this county; Catherine is the wife of John Reidler, of Orwigsburg; 
Rosie is the wife of Charles H. Hein, who is serving as poor director of 
Schuylkill county; Frederick hves at Pottsville. Mr. and Mrs. Miller also 
reared her sister's son, Jacob Koenig, who was born in Germany and was 
brought to America when nine months old. 

Henry L. Miller was born May 28, 1862, at Orwigsburg, and had school 
privileges there and in West Brunswick township. His early years were 
spent in assisting his father on the farm. At the age of eighteen he went 
to learn the business of broommaking, in which eventually he became engaged 
on his own account, following it for seven years at Orwigsburg and Auburn, 
this county ; he also made brushes. Then he entered the hotel business at 
Lakeside, this county, also taking charge of the pleasure resort grounds 
there for a period of four years. Returning to Orwigsburg, he became inter- 
ested in the manufacture of paper boxes in company with Samuel Miller, 
under the firm name of Miller & Miller, carrying on the business which they 
sold to George Ketner and which is now owned and operated by Oscar Knipe. 
For several years following Henry L. Miller gave his time chiefly to the 
timber business, and at the same time conducted coal washeries along the 
Schuylkill river, near Schuylkill Haven, taking out thousands of tons of coal, 
and finding the venture very profitable. In 1902 he came to Port Carbon 
and purchased the knitting plant then owned by George Heebner, and imme- 
diately set about improving and enlarging the facilities, foreseeing the great 
possibilities in the business. He rented "the old building of the Evangelical 
Church at Port Carbon, remodeled it to suit his needs, installed modern ma- 
chinery, and for the next six years operated the plant under the name of the 
Superior Knitting Mills. The business was then incorporated as the Superior 
Knitting Company, with Mr. Miller as president and general manager, Messrs. 
S. R. Beddall (ex-sherifif) and G. W. Beddall being the other members of 
the firm. They continued together until Aug. i, 1914, when Mr. Miller, 
having new ideas which he wished to put into practice, resigned as president 
and general manager of the Superior Knitting Company and formed a part- 
nership with his son, John J. Miller, under the name of H. L. Miller & Son. 
They have erected a fine modern, three-story brick plant on South Coal street. 
Port Carbon, one of the most complete of its kind in the State, equipped' 
with the most-tipproved machinery known to the trade, lighted, heated and 



630 SCHUYLKILL COUXTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

ventilated in accordance with the latest ideas, admirably appointed, in fact, 
for the production of the highest class of work under the most favorable con- 
ditions. The Millers deserve no less credit for the consideration they have 
shown in respect to the welfare of their employes than for intelligent dis- 
crimination in the choice of machinery' and the arrangement of their estab- 
lishment. They employ one hundred skilled workers, who turn out the finest 
grades of underwear, sold to jobbers all over the world. Mr. Miller's char- 
acteristic thoroughness has left no weak points in the business, his familiarity 
with the details of manufacturing being well supplemented with executive 
ability and grasp of trade conditions. He is one of the owners in the Potts- 
ville Bleaching & Dyeing Company, and for a time was the president of that 
concern, but is now vice president, Mr. John P. Schwenk, of Schuylkill Haven, 
taking the presidency; John J. Miller (son of Henr}' L. Miller) is secretary 
and treasurer. Mr. Schwenk and Mr. Miller erected the plant (at Potts- 
ville) in 1909. It is provided throughout with modern machinery and facili- 
ties of every description, being one of the most up-to-date factories of the 
kind in the State, and the company has established a remunerative business 
in this section, many factories having found its conveniences very advan- 
tageous. 

Mr. Miller is a large property owner at Orwigsburg. His holdings at one 
time included the "Harlon House" there, and he formerly owned his father's 
farm, but sold it in 1910. At one time he owned another farm in West 
Brunswick township. Success has come to him as the result of work, for 
though his ability is exceptional his application and perseverance have been 
equally noteworthy, and he has maintained a name for honor and integrity 
in every transaction. While a resident of Orwigsburg he was an officer in 
the Lutheran Church. At one time he was an active member of the Mahanoy 
City Gun Club and enthusiastic in the sport, being one of the best wing and 
rifle shots in this section. 

In 1885 Mr. Miller was married at Orwigsburg, by Rev. H. I. Erb, to Ida 
Amanda Honsberger, daughter of Jacob S. and Mary Matilda (Walborn) 
Honsberger. Her father now resides at New Ringgold, Schuylkill county. 
She is a great-granddaughter of Uris Walborn, an early settler at Pinedale, 
Pa. The Honsberger and Walborn families are mentioned elsewhere in this 
work. Mr. and Mrs. Miller have two children, Lottie Irene and John J., 
both living at home. 

John J. Miller was bom Sept. 2, i88g, at Lakeside, this county, and 
received his. education principally in the local public schools, attending high 
school at Port Carbon. In 1909 he was graduated from the Peirce business 
college, at Philadelphia. That year he found employment in the accounting 
department of the Eastern Steel Company's plant at Pottsville, but after a 
short experience there became associated with H. O. KoUer, of Reading, Pa., 
and established the Pottsville Motor Car Company. They did business at 
Potts\iUe, selling the Buick, Franklin and E. M. F. cars. Two years 
later Mr. Miller bought out his partner, and thereafter conducted the business 
alone until he formed an alliance with Theodore K. Leininger, of Orwigs- 
burg, under the name of the Pottsville Automobile Company. Their loca- 
tion was on Centre street, Pottsville, and they did a successful business, being 
sole agents for the Buick cars in Schuylkill county. In October, 1914, Mr. 
Miller having made arrangements to enter the manufacturing business with 
his father, sold his interests in the automobile business to Mr. Leininger, and 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PEN\'SYLVANL\ 631 

he is now devoting all his time to his duties as junior member of the firm of 
H. L. Miller & Son and secretary and treasurer of the Pottsville Bleaching 
& Dyeing Company. He is business-like, industrious and popular, and has 
excellent prospects of taking his place among the wide-awake men of the 
borough. 

Mr. Miller holds membership in the Patriotic Order Sons of America, 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Junior Order United American 
Mechanics, the T. P. A., and the Pottsville Motor Club. 

CHARLES MEYERS, proprietor of the Evening Chronicle, Pottsville, 
was born in Branch township, near Minersville, Schuylkill Co., Pa., Nov. 
25, 1855. He is descended from German ancestors, his parents, Jacob and 
Susanna (Laudemann) Meyers, being natives of Bavaria. They immigrated 
to America in 1852, and were married in Minersville, spending the rest of 
their lives in Branch township, near Minersville. The father died in March, 
1894, at the age of sixty-seven, and the mother died three months later, at 
the age of seventy-two. Charles Meyers has been entirely self-dependent 
from early youth. His parents were not financially able to afford him the 
advantages of an education, and he left school at the age of ten years, to 
join the army of slate pickers at the mines. He was employed in this capa- 
city and that of "loader" until eighteen years of age. Thereafter he was 
engaged in various lines of work for a number of years, until after his mar- 
riage, in 1880, when he returned to the mines as a foreman, being thus em- 
ployed for several years, at different places. In 1894 he became the super- 
intendent of the Brookwood Coal Company's washery at Mahanoy Plane, 
both he and his brother Harry having an interest in the $50,000 plant there 
erected. In 1896 Mr. Meyers resigned this position and was nominated as 
Republican candidate for the office of county commissioner, a position to 
which he was elected by a handsome majority. xA.fter this Mr. Meyers again 
returned to the mines, having retained his interest in the property previously 
mentioned, and soon thereafter considerable change was made in the propri- 
etorship, other property was purchased, and the business of the firm expanded. 
It now became known as the Madeira, Hill & Co., consolidating with the G. B. 
Newton & Company, and Mr. Meyers owned a one-third interest, being 
superintendent of the business. Leases were secured on additional property, 
in different parts of the county, the business being devoted to mining and 
washing culm banks, which proved profitable. In August, 1903, Mr. Meyers 
sold his interest in the extensive business here briefly described, and in 
May, 1905, he purchased the Chronicle, which is one of the principal daily 
papers in Pottsville, as it is also one of the oldest. The Chronicle from time 
to time, since Mr. Meyers has acquired it, has been thq leader in a number 
of crusades. Especially was it instrumental, in the fall and winter of 1909, 
in clearing up the stigma resting on Schuylkill county politics, resulting in 
many of the crooked ways of the professional politician Ijeing made straight, 
and the eft'ect of which is still wholesome on the entire county. The plant 
is large and valuable, fully equipped for all kinds of job and book work, as 
well as the publication of a daily newspaper. 

On Feb. 8, 1880, Mr. Meyers was married to Caroline Semmet, of Cres- 
sona. Schuylkill county. Her parents, Frederick and Elizabeth (Leonard) 
Semmet, were natives of Bavaria, and located at Cressona in an early day. 
Her father was killed in a railroad accident in 1875, and her mother died at 



632 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENXSYLVAXL\ 

Cressona in 1886. Mr. and Mrs. Meyers have two daughters, Marion and 
Helen, the latter now the wife of Lester E. Schlaseman. 

CHRISTOPHER LOESER, ESQ., who at the time of his death was 
the oldest member of the bar of Schuylkill county, was born in Montgomery 
county. Pa., Nov. 5, 1793, the son of Christian and Elizabeth (Stringer) 
Loeser. He came to Schuylkill county in 1814. During the war of 1812 Mr. 
Loeser served as a lieutenant in a company from this county, commanded by 
Capt. Theophilus Hughes, which in 1814 was stationed in Baltimore. He 
was for some years clerk in the prothonotary's office under Dr. McFarland, 
who was the first prothonotary under the new county organization of Schuyl- 
kill. Subsequently Mr. Loeser became deputy sheriff under Benjamin Christ. 
In 1820, as deputy marshal, Mr. Loeser took the first census of the county, 
going over much of the ground necessarily on foot. He read law under 
James B. Hubley, Esq. ; was admitted to the bar of. Schuylkill county July 
31, 1820, and commenced the practice of the law at Orwigsburg, then the 
county seat of Schuylkill. He entered upon a professional career, which con- 
tinued until he became enfeebled by disease, for nearly half a century. With 
great natural ability he united legal learning, untiring industry, sterling integ- 
rity and fidelity to the interests of his clients, who gave to him their un- 
limited confidence. 

During his long professional career Mr. Loeser acted as legal adviser to 
many of "the mining companies. So well known was his sense of what was 
just and proper, that he quelled many an incipient riot in the numerous strikes 
among the coal miners of his time, by merely raising his hand, and directing 
the men to return to work, telling them that he would personally present their 
grievances to the operators, and he never betrayed the confidence. After 
the removal of the county seat to Pottsville, Mr. Loeser became a resident 
of that borough, where death, which occurred March 27, 1865, at the age of 
seventy-two years, closed his long and useful career. Mr. Loeser was mar- 
. ried to Louisa Bartle Sept. 15, 1833. 

WILLIAM N. STINE, a prominent resident of Barry township, has 
occupied his home place there for over thirty years. He has prospered and 
has made investments from time to time in other farm lands, still retaining 
valuable interests of the kind. But he has availed himself of the opportunities 
to go into other fields, has been a successful trader, and at present does con- 
siderable business handling real estate. 

The Stine family is of German extraction. Jonas Stine, father of William 
N., was born in the Mahantongo valley, in this section of Pennsylvania, where 
his earlier ancestors settled. He was one of three brothers, and also had 
three half brothers, John, W^illiam and Safenos, two of whom, William and 
Safenos, were in the military service during the Mexican war. Jonas Stine 
in his youth followed carpenter work, but he soon became engaged in the 
buying and selling of horses, bringing many from the West. Later he became 
a merchant, having a store at Gettysburg, whence he removed to Dark Corner, 
in Columbia county. His next change was to Shamokin, Northumberland 
county, and subsequently he was located at Mount Carmel, that county, from 
which place he moved to the farm in Mahantongo where the rest of his life 
was spent. He was accidentally killed in 1869, by being thrown from a 
wagon. Mr. Stine's energetic disposition made him active in other lines as 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 633 

well as in business, and he was a leader of public opinion among his neigh- 
bors, being regarded as an authority on law and politics in Mount Carmel. 
He married Eva Ann Lake, who was born near Reed station, in Northum- 
berland county, daughter of John Lake, a farmer, who settled early in North- 
umberland county and continued to live there to the end of his days. . Mrs. 
Stine was one of a large family, three sons and several daughters: John, 
Daniel, Milton, Eva Ann, Mahalia, Kate, Martha, and Maria. Daniel, Mil- 
ton, and several of the daughters still survive. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Stine were born three children : Louis lives at Ansted, 
W. Va. ; Dora died young; William N. completes the family. He was only 
a small boy when the mother died, in 1855, and the father remarried, having 
several children by the second union : John W. ; Hannibal C. ; Jonas G. ; Flora, 
and Elizabeth. 

William N. Stine was born in 1851 at Shamokin, Northumberland county, 
received the principal part of his education in the schools of Mount Carmel, 
and when yet a boy began work at the mines. He was first employed at the 
breaker, and he was afterwards in the mines, spending a year thus in dififerent 
capacities. When only fifteen years old he became engaged in the business 
his father followed so successfully, dealing in horses, in which line he later 
developed an extensive trade. In 1883 he came to his present home property 
in Barry township, Schuylkill county, a farm of over one hundred acres, and 
for a number of years, in connection with its management, was extensively 
engaged in buying, selling and exchanging property. He acquired other 
farm property, at one time owning as many as eight farms. Some of his 
capital has been attracted to other quarters, being at present invested in the 
coal fields of West \"irginia. Besides his operations in real estate he has an 
interest in several hotels and local bank stock, a practical proof of his faith 
in the stabihty of business conditions in Schuylkill county. Though not a 
public man in any sense he is an influential member of the community, where 
his intelligence and substantial qualities of character are highly appreciated. 

In 1871 Mr. Stine married Phietta W'ehry, a native of the Mahantongo 
valley, where her father, David Wehry, was an early settler and became 
extensively engaged in farming. Mrs. Stine's brothers, Daniel and Amos, 
survive. Mrs. Stine died May 23, 1901, the mother of one child, Charles 
Henry, who lives in Barry township, this county. He married Sallie Berry, 
of that township, and they have had a large family, eight still living. 

FRANK W. BAUSUM, one of the leading merchants at Pottsville, bears 
a name which has been associated with the development of Schuylkill county 
from its early days, the family having been established here by his great- 
grandfather. In every generation the Bausums have been conspicuous for 
industry, honesty and the other substantial characteristics which are at the 
foundation of good citizenship and progress in any community. The present- 
day members of the family are no exception. 

Conrad Bausum, the emigrant ancestor of this family, came from Alsace- 
Lorraine, near the border line of Germany, settling in America in young 
manhood. He located near what is now Orwigsburg, in Schuylkill county, 
Pa., and followed the miller's trade at Orwigsburg, as well as farming. He 
died there, and is buried in the old cemetery at that place. His children were: 
John; Philip; William; and Sarah, who went West with a family by the 
name of Allairs. 



634 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 

Philip Bausum, son of Conrad, was born at Orwigsburg, Pa., and spent 
most of his Hfe there, dying at the comparatively early age of thirty-five 
years. He is buried at Orwigsburg. By occupation he was a carpenter and 
builder. He married Rebecca Reinheimer, daughter of Jacob Reinheimer, 
of Berks county, Pa., and they became the parents of the following children: 
Mary, who died in infancy; Edw., deceased; Henry, deceased; Daniel F. ; 
Sarah, who died in infancy; and Emma, who married Charles Reinhart. 

Daniel F. Bausum, father of Frank W. Bausum, was born at Orwigs- 
burg Feb. 9, 1840, and owing to his father's untimely death had few advan- 
tages. When but seven years old he began to work for Isaac Orwig, Sr., 
by whom he was employed until he reached the age of fourteen, and he also 
drove a store team for Isaac Orwig, Jr. His next employer was George 
Moser, for whom he did farm work for some time at Pine Creek. Return- 
ing to Orwigsburg he worked there until the Civil war broke out, enlisting 
Aug. 5, 1861, in C9mpany K, 48th Pennsylvania Volunteers, with which he 
served to the close of the'war, reenlisting Jan. i, 1864, in the same company. 
He was in the corps under Gen. Ambrose E. Bumside, and took part in 
thirty-seven battles, every one in which his regiment was engaged except 
that at Newport. After the war he returned to Pottsville and entered the 
employ of the Philadelphia & Reading Company, being engaged in railroad 
work with that company from Aug. 7, 1865, until March, 191 1, when he was 
pensioned. He is now living retired. Mr. Bausum married Anna Wesley, 
daughter of Peter Wesley, of Berks county, Pa., near Reading. They have 
had five children: George, of St. Clair, this county, a merchant; Mary, de- 
ceased; Anna, who is teaching public school at Pottsville; Frank W. ; and 
Cora B., at home. 

By virtue of his service in the Civil war Mr. Bausum holds membership 
in Gowen Post, No. 23, G. A. R., of Pottsville, and in the encampment of the 
Union Veteran Legion at that place. He is also a member of the I. O. R. M. 
His religious connection is with the Trinity Reformed Church of Pottsville. 
Politically he is independent, casting his ballot for the candidates he favors 
regardless of the party which sponsors them. 

Frank W. Bausum was born Feb. 16. 1872. at Pottsville. and obtained his 
education in the public schools there. When a boy of fifteen he began to work 
in Mr. Rohrheiner's clothing store in the borough, and after clerking in the 
same line for a period of fifteen years he formed his present association with 
George F. Moyer, in 1902. engaging in the clothing business under the firm 
name of Moyer & Bausum, as they still continue. Their first store was at the 
corner of Centre and Market streets, and in 1907 they purchased the premises 
at No, 4 South Centre street, opening their new store on that site Sept. 25, 
1913. The fine line of clothing carried by Moyer & Bausum is adapted to 
cater to the most fastidious trade, the patrons of this firm knowing from long 
experience that it can be relied upon to supply them with up-to-date furnish- 
ings and correct clothes and having a wide choice of desirable garments to 
select from. Mr. Bausum has evidenced his willingness to aid in keeping his 
city well to the front as a progressive municipality by his hearty cooperation 
in the activities of the Merchants' Association (of Pottsville and vicinity), 
of which he was an early member and is now president. His fellow officers 
are: E. F. Schlaseman, vice president; H. R. Knapp. recording secretary; 
T. E. Hummel, financial secretary; Harry C. Manbeck. treasurer. Mr. 
Bausum is also a member of the Civic Club of Pottsville, taking a thorough 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 635 

interest in all that affects the welfare of his native city. He belongs to the 
Reformed Church, and socially to the local lodges of the Elks, Fraternal 
Order of Eagles, P. O. S. of A. (Camp No. 36) and L O. O. F. (Lodge 
No. 20). 

Mr. Bausum married Catherine R. Mayberry, daughter of Joseph S. May- 
berry, of Schuylkill Haven, this county, and they have two children, Ethyle 
M. and Harry W. 

PROF. GEORGE A. BEHNEY, principal of the public schools of Out- 
wood, Schuylkill Co., Pa., was bom Aug. 10, 1876, at Outwood, and is a 
son of Emanuel and Catherine (Reinhart) Behney. 

Michael Behney, the paternal grandfather of George A. Behney, passed 
his entire life in Lebanon county. Pa., where he followed the trade of cooper. 
He was the father of the following children : Ephraim, who served as a soldier 
in the Union army during the Civil war, and now resides at Lebanon; Jere- 
miah, who also joined the Union army during that struggle, and met his 
death while a prisoner in the notorious Andersonville stockade; Emanuel; 
Louis; John, who is deceased; Eliza; Lucinda, and Mary. 

Emanuel Behney, father of George A. Behney, was born in Lebanon 
county, Pa., there received limited educational advantages, and grew up 
amid the furnaces and forges. He became a forgeman and in 1874 located 
in Pine Grove township, Schuylkill county, securing a position at the Eckert 
Forge, where he followed his vocation during the remainder of his active life. 
He died at Outwood in 1910. While he was an industrious and skilled 
worker, Mr. Behney was able to accumulate but little property, but he was one 
of his community's respected and substantial citizens. He married Catherine 
Reinhart, daughter of Ephraim Reinhart, who survives her husband and lives 
at Outwood with her son George A. The following children were in the 
family : Emanuel, Ephraim, Mary, Ellen, John, Jacob, Elizabeth and George A. 

The boyhood of George A. Behney was passed in the little country com- 
munity about six miles west of Pine Grove, and, as his parents were poor, 
he was allowed few advantages of an educational nature, early beginning 
work at the Lincoln colliery as a slate picker in order to contribute to the 
family income. He was, however, of a particularly studious and ambitious 
nature, and studied at night when through with his day's work, in addition 
to carefully hoarding whatever he could save from his meagre earnings, 
always with the goal in view of bettering his condition. Through hard work 
he was able to amass enough to pay his way through the Keystone State Nor- 
mal School, at Kufztown, Pa., from which he was duly graduated at the age 
of twenty years, and since that time he has been engaged principally in teach- 
ing school, although he has also worked in the mines in the summer months 
and engaged in other enterprises. For five years after completing his normal 
course Air. Behney taught school at Outwood, and then entered the United 
States railway mail service, with a run between Pittsburg and New York 
City. This work did not prove congenial, however, and after three months 
he returned to Outwood and established himself in business as the proprietor 
of a general store at Suedberg. After one year he disposed of his interests 
in that line and accepted the position of principal of schools at Outwood, a 
capacity in which he has acted capably ever since. Mr. Behney is one of the 
popular and efficient educators of the county, earnest, zealous, energetic and 
painstaking, interested in the advancement and careful in the training of those 



636 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

under his charge. He belongs to the Pennsylvania State Educational Asso- 
ciation and the Pennsylvania State Teachers' League. Fraternally he is affil- 
iated with Camp No. 223, Patriotic Order Sons of America, of Suedberg, of 
which he is now secretary, and of which he is an ex-district president, of 
the Fourth District of Schuylkill county. He also holds membership in the 
Knights of the Mystic Chain. Mr. Behney belongs to the Lutheran Church, 
and teaches in German a large I.ible class at Outwood. That he is independ- 
ent in thought and action in political affairs, and is standing boldly forth as 
an exponent of better government, is shown by a letter which he sent to the 
voters of J his district when he became a candidate for the Pennsylvania Legis- 
lature in 1915, and which said in part: "A little over half a century ago, on 
the now historic field of Gettysburg, Abraham Lincoln delivered a short ad- 
dress which has become world-famous, largely through its decisive utterance 
of the principles that really stand for human liberty and free government. The 
closing lines of this address were : 'Government of the people, for the people, 
by the people, shall not perish from the earth.' To-day the words of Lincoln 
are on the verge of becoming a false prophecy through the abominable manip- 
ulations and treacherous tactics of self-seeking politicians and party machines. 
It was for the purpose of trying to rectify these evils, and to make this coun- 
try once more a government of, for, and by the people, that I conceived the 
project of placing myself among those who are laboring toward this end. The 
Washington Party as you well know is the only party in the country to-day that 
strives toward this goal; it is to this party, therefore, that I have given my 
support and my undying allegiance. I sincerely hope that you will stand by me 
in this fight, which means so much for you and for me and for" the unborn 
future." 

Mr. Behney was married, July 24, 191 5, to Elizabeth Ditzler, daughter of 
Clinton Ditzler, of Greenpoint, Leljanon Co., Pa. Mrs. Behney's death, 
occurring after less than five months of married life, Dec. 6, 191 5, was a 
great shock to the entire community. 

JOHN K. BERK, M. D., has been established at Frackville ever since he 
began the practice of his profession, in which he has attained honorable stand- 
ing by conscientious attention to his duties. He is, indeed, a most creditable 
.representative of a respected family of Berks county. Pa., where it was 
founded during Provincial days. The Berks are of Gennan lineage. 

The Berk, Berck, or Berg family settled in Berks county in the very be- 
ginning of its history. The pioneer members of the family were Henry and 
Ludwig Berck, probably brothers, who located in Greenwich township. In 
1759 the former paid four pounds tax, and the latter three pounds. In 1774 
the taxable list of Greenwich township records the names of Henry Berck 
and Peter Berck. It appears that Ludwig had already died or removed from 
that township. The Federal census for 1790 records the following Berks for 
Greenwich township, as heads of families : Peter Berck, who had a son under 
sixteen years, a wife and three daughters; George Berck, who was married 
but had no children. In 181 1 John Berk was a taxable of Greenwich town- 
ship, and paid a tax of £1 5s. 4d. The Berks were among the Huguenot fam- 
ilies who came to this country for religious freedom, and with a family bear- 
ing the narne of Beli (now Bailey) settled in the same (Greenwich) township. 
Both families later moved to Albany township in the same county. One 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 637 

branch of the Berk family went to Ontelaunee, and of that line one member 
went to Cumru township, where to-day Charles Berg is well known. 

David Berk, who died in Greenwich township in 1871, was survived by 
his wife Hannah and sons David and Nathan. His will is on record in Book 
12, page 354. 

DanierBerck (as his name is spelled on his tombstone) was born July 
27, 1796, and died March 6, 187 1, and is buried at New Jerusalem Church in 
Albany township. He owned the farm now the property of Charles Schol- 
lenberger. This was a large farm, and when Mr. Berck died it first became 
the property of his son, Reuben. His wife was Sarah Billman, born Oct. 12, 
1793, died May 28, 1869. They had seven children, and at their deaths twenty- 
nine grandchildren and seven great-grandchildren. Among their children 
were: Johan ; Reuben, born in 1821, who died when past sixty years of age 
(he married Lovina Knepper, who died at the age of fifty-four years, and 
they lived in Albany township) ; Daniel B., born in 1825, died in 1884, who 
lived in Albany township ; and Salome, who married Jacob Reinhart. 

Henry Berk, grandfather of Dr. John K. Berk, was a prominent farmer in 
his section of Berks county, where he passed all his life. His wife's maiden 
name was Greenawalt, and they had the following children : Floranda, John 
G., Amanda (Mrs. Peter Warner, living at Kutztown, Pa.) and Llewellyn 
(who lives at Molltown, Berks county). 

John G. Berk, the Doctor's father, was born Jan. 20, 1845, and settled 
at Girardville, Schuylkill county, in the year 1873. After clerking about a 
year in a general store there he moved to Frackville, where he was in business 
as senior member of the firm of John G. Berk 8z Co., general merchants, 
remaining at the head of that concern the rest of his life. His death occurred 
at Frackville April 22, 1880, when he was but thirty-five years old, and he 
was buried at Hamburg. On March 30, 1869, he married Mary Jane Kal- 
bach, and they had four children, namely : William Henry, born Dec. 3, 
1869, a clergyman of the Lutheran Church now located at Berwick, Pa.; 
John K., born Aug. 22, 1871 ; Katie Louisa, born June 28, 1874, who died 
July 20, 1875; and Harvey Isaac, born July 3, 1877, who died June 5, 1878. 
The mother remarried, on Dec. 30, 1893, becoming the wife of William 
Huppert, of Frackville. No children were born to this union. 

John K. Berk was born Aug. 22, 1871, at Hamburg, Berks Co., Pa., and 
was reared in Schuylkill county, beginning his education in the public schools 
at Frackville. His higher literary studies were pursued at the Keystone 
State Normal School at Kutztown, Pa., where he graduated in 1892, after 
which he taught school for one year, at Lewistown, Schuylkill county. In the- 
fall of 1893 he entered Jefferson Medical College, at Philadelphia, and was 
graduated in 1S96 with the degree of M. D. He opened an office at Frack- 
ville, Schuylkill county, the following October, and has since devoted prac- 
tically all his time to general practice. His skill and sincere efforts to keep 
those who call on him have made him very popular with a wide circle of 
patrons, and in his desire to serve them well he has kept pace with the advances 
made in medical science through various channels. He is a member of the 
Schuylkill County Medical Society; of the Pennsylvania Medical State So- 
ciety ; and the American Medical Association. Local business interests have 
also attracted him to some extent. He was one of the charter members of the 
First National Bank of Frackville, and was made vice president of that insti- 



638 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

tution in 191 1. In religious connection he is a Lutheran, and fraternally he 
is a thirty-second-degree Mason, affiliated with Ashland Lodge, No. 294. F. 
& A. M.; Griscom Chapter, No. 219, R. A. M. ; Prince of Peace Conimandery, 
No. 39, .K. T.— all of Ashland ; and Rajah Temple, A. A. O. N. M. S., of 
Reading. 

On June 6, 19CX), Dr. Berk married Rae Ethel Hand, daughter of Lud- 
man and Hester (Goff) Hand, of Cape May Court House, N. J. They have 
had two sons, John William and Leslie Hand. 

The Kalbach family, from which Dr. Berk is descended in the maternal 
line, had its origin in the northeastern part of Germany, whence came Chris- 
topher Kahlbach, the immigrant ancestor, who settled in Heidelberg town- 
ship, Berks Co., Pa., before the middle of the eighteenth century. Here he 
acquired property, prospered, and reared a family of children, among whom 
were Adam and Michael. The latter, born in 1766, died in 1840. He had 
sons: Daniel, 1800-1874; and Michael, 1814-1896 (who married Elizabeth 
Womelsdorf, 1816-1895). Michael, Sr., and his sons are buried at Womels- 
dorf. 

Through the marriage of George Kalbach, one of the early members of 
the family, to Maria Spang, of Berks county. Pa., these Kalbachs are among 
the heirs to the great Spang fortune in Germany. 

Adam Kalbach, son of Christopher, was a farmer in Tulpehocken town- 
ship, where he owned a large plantation, on which he died, ripe in years, in 
1801. He and his wife, Maria Eva, had these children: Michael, George, 
Adam, Johannes, Susanna, Elizabeth, Maria Sabilla, Regina Catherine and 
Sophia. 

Adam Kalbach, son of Adam, above, was a farmer in Tulpehocken (now 
Penn) township, owning a large tract of land. He was twice married, his 
first wife's maiden name being Catherine Ruth, and his second wife's name 
being Christ. His children, all by the first union, were: Adam; Joseph; 
John; William; Isaac; Elizabeth, Mrs. Conrad Loose; Catherine, Mrs. Loose; 
Liddie, Mrs. John Epler; and Jacob. 

Isaac Kalbach, son of Adam and Catherine (Rtith) Kalbach, was born 
July 3, 1820, near Bernville, in Bern township, Berks county. He attended 
school in the locality, and until forty years old remained on the home farm 
in that township with his brother William. Meantime, on Feb. 2, 1S45, he mar- 
ried L. Haus, the ceremony being performed by Rev. August Hermann. She 
was born May i, 1826, in Bern township, daughter of Benjamin and Elisabetha 
Haus, and died at Frackville. Mr. Kalbach died there March 10, 1877, aged 
fifty-six years, eight months, seven days. He was a member of the German 
Reformed Church always known as the Bern Church. Mr. and Mrs. Kal- 
bach had children as follows: Elisabetha, born Nov. i. 1845, who died when 
eighteen years old; William Adam, bom June 11, 1847; Mary Jane, born 
Aug. 13, 1848; James Benjamin, born Jan. 31, 1853, who died when nine years 
old; Emma Catherine, bom Sept. 10, 1854, deceased in infancy; Henry Wash- 
ington, born Oct. 10, 1856, who died when five years old; Martha M.. born 
March 28, i860, who died when three years old ; and Catherine Ellen, born 
Sept. 20, 1862, who married Isaiah Mensch. 

ABRAHAM CARL, deceased, was born in Schuylkill county. Pa., a son 
of Philip Carl, also a resident of this county, whose useful life was rounded 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 639 

out within its confines. The children of Phihp Carl were : Elizabeth, John, 
Daniel, Abraham, David and Samuel. 

While still a boy Abraham Carl learned the shoemaker's trade, and he 
followed it for a few years, but later became a butcher, learning that calling 
at Fearnot, where he resided for a period. In 1874 he located at Tower City, 
and until 1881 was actively engaged in butchering. Then for a year he 
operated a farm in Porter township, and returning to Tower City embarked 
in a general merchandising business, which he continued for seven years. He 
built the well known "Carl House" at Tower City, and operated this hotel 
until within a year of his death, which occurred Jan. 30, 1898. His remains 
were interred at the Artz Church, near Sacramento, in Hubley township, 
Schuylkill county. For many years he was one of the well known men of this 
section, and his success in business through honorable methods proved an 
incentive to others to pursue a like course. He was one of the members of the 
Patriotic Order Sons of America. 

Mr. Carl married (first) Catherine Schwalm, who died leaving one son, 
Fred M., who is now a butcher in Tower City. The second wife of Mr. Carl 
bore the maiden name of Ellen M. Shade, and she was a daughter of Jacob 
and Mary (Klinger) Shade. There were no children of this marriage, but 
Mrs. Carl has reared four belonging to others, one of whom, Harry C. Kurtz, 
a son of Reuben Kurtz, has been with her since he was two years old. He 
is a plumber and tinsmith by trade, and is employed by Ira W. Hand at Reiner- 
ton, Pa. Mrs. Carl still owns the "Carl House." Like the rest of the fam- 
ily she is a Lutheran, and her charities in conjunction with her church, in addi- 
tion to those of a private nature, are many. She is beloved by all who know 
her, and those whom she has reared as her own rise up to call her blessed. 

WALTER G. BOWERS, M. D., ]\Iedical Superintendent at the Schuyl- 
kill County Hospital for the Insane, located within two miles from the borough 
of Schuylkill Haven, is a physician of wide hospital experience, particularly 
in the line in which he is now serving. His early training was thorough and 
comprehensive, a solid foundation for the practical work which he has had 
in such great variety in his special field, and his administration has been highly 
satisfactory to the citizens of Schuylkill county. 

Dr. Bowers was born Sept. 23, 1879, at Parsons. Luzerne Co., Pa., and 
obtained his early literary education in the public schools of that vicinity, 
graduating from the high school at Wilkes-Barre. He then entered the 
Medico-Chirurgical College, at Philadelphia, Pa., where he took the full course, 
graduating in the year 1904. Immediately following his graduation he became 
an Interne at the State Hospital of the North Eastern Anthracite Coal Region, 
at Scranton, Pa., where he remained for one year. Then for eighteen months 
he was at the Philadelphia General Hospital (Blockley), Philadelphia, mean- 
time passing the civil service examination at that city and at the close of his 
service in the institution named becoming first assistant at the Philadelphia 
Hospital for the Insane, at Philadelphia. The next three years were spent 
there, until he transferred to the State Hospital for the Insane at Norristown, 
Pa. He continued in successful work in that connection until appointed to his 
present position, at the Schuylkill County Hospital for the Insane, July 17, 
191 2. He was its first superintendent, assuming his duties when the hospital 
was opened, so that the entire credit for the progressive spirit which has been 
manifested at this institution from the beginning belongs to him. This is 



640 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

verified by the report of Floyd Haviland, M. D., of Kings Park, N. Y., who 
in his report to The Public Charities' Association of Pennsylvania, after a 
survey of all the Institutions in Pennsylvania caring for the insane, said: 
"This, in most respects, is the best County Hospital in the State." Dr. Haviland 
spent six months at this work. Dr. Bowers' conscientious performance of 
every obligation, and many responsibilities voluntarily taken upon himself, 
show how deep is his interest in improving the condition of those in his care, 
and how earnest he is in his endeavor to be of real service to the community 
which has honored him with so important a trust. He has been well received 
among his professional co-workers in the county, being a member of the 
Southern Schuylkill County Medical Society, the Schuylkill County Medical 
Society, the Pennsylvania State Medical Society, and the American Medical 
Association. Fraternally he is a Mason, affiliated with Page Lodge, No. 270, 
F. & A. M., of Schuylkill Haven. 

Dr. Bowers was married to Rae R. Pierce, of Millville, N. J., and they 
have two children, Leroy and Ruth. 

CHARLES HERBERT MARSHALL, cashier of the Merchants' National 
Bank, Pottsville, Pa., is undoubtedly a self-made man, and his career is an 
example of what can be accomplished even in these modern days by energy, 
hard work and perseverance. Young men who complain of lack of opportu- 
nities for advancement should read and learn what has been done by one man 
who started in life without a dollar and won a position where he handles 
thousands of those valuable tokens of wealth. 

James Henry Marshall, father of Charles H. Marshall, was born in 
England April 20, 1820, and came to America when a youth. He first resided 
in Philadelphia, being a member of the old Marshall family of that city, but 
remained there only a short time, coming to Jefferson county. Pa., where he 
bought a plat of 165 acres at Sugar Hill, near Brockwayville. He settled 
down to agriculture for the rest of his days. His wife, Ellen (Robinson), a 
native of England, died in Jefiferson county Jan. 21, 1880, and is buried at 
Sugar Hill. Mr. Marshall died Aug. 5, 1874, and is also buried at Sugar Hill. 
Six children were born to their union : Martha Jane Marshall, who married 
William W. Dougherty. Emma Marshall, wife of John Bryan: Florence 
Marshall, wife of William F. Burchfield ; John E. Marshall, who resides on 
the homestead in Jefferson county : James H. IMarshall. also residing on one 
of the homesteads in Jefferson county : and Charles H. Marshall. 

Charles Herbert Marshall was born July 27. 1866, on the old farm at 
Sugar Hill, Jefferson Co., Pa. He was orphaned at the age of thirteen and 
had but twenty-five cents when he started out to get an education and support 
himself during the endeavor. But he had unlimited courage, and undaunted 
by adversity took every odd job given him by the sympathetic but hardworking 
neighbors. In the summer he worked from daylight to dark at the numerous 
tasks of the farm, and in the winter did chores morning and evening to pay 
for his board, so as to attend the local public schools, from which he was grad- 
uated in 1883. As he grew older he labored in the lumber camps during sev- 
eral winters.in order to get money enough to continue his education. Finally 
he accumulated the amount necessary to pay for a course at the Clarion 
Normal School, Clarion, Pa., and later one in the Iron City Business College, 
at Pittsburgh, and defray his expenses while in attendance. Having com- 
pleted the course and graduated, April 14, 1887, he immediately found a posi- 




^.^^'^^U^.a^^c^l^ 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 641 

tion as bookkeeper with Horton Brothers, of Brockport, Pa., with whom he 
remained for one year. He next returned to Brockwayville and took charge 
of the books in Bond & Cooper's hardware store, remaining with them until 
May, 1892, whn he was offered the position of bookkeeper in the Brockway- 
ville Bank. He held this position until October, 1895, when, though but 
twenty-nine years old, he was elected cashier. In 1900 he formed a partner- 
ship with R. L. Buzzard and W. G. McCain and bought up all the shares of 
the bank. 

In July, 1900, Mr. Marshall promoted the First National Bank of Brock- 
wayville, was one of the largest stockholders, and took the responsible position 
of cashier and director. His activities seemed to be but commenced, for in 
the year 1904 he assisted in the organization of the DuBois National Bank, 
of which he became assistant cashier. In 1907 he saw the opportunity and 
again assisted in the formation of a bank, this time at Pottsville. With a 
capital of $125,000 and a surplus of $25,000, the new bank was firmly estab- 
lished, Mr. Marshall taking the position of cashier ('and also director), which 
he holds at the present time. The IMerchants' National Bank is one of the 
most substantial in the State, and to the financial acumen and clear discern- 
ment of Charles H. Marshall a great part of its prosperity is due. Concerning 
the many industrial enterprises in which he is interested, it is unnecessary to go 
into detail. Suffice it to say he is always prepared to finance any industry of 
benefit to the community and takes a warm personal interest in building up his 
adopted town, industrially and socially. 

On IMarch- 24, 1891, Mr. ^Marshall was married to Elizabeth Biddle, daugh- 
ter of Nelson Biddle, of Mififlinburg, Union Co., Pa., and they have one child, 
Anna Marshall. Politically Mr. Marshall is a Republican. He held several 
borough offices while in Brockwayville, being the youngest burgess ever elected 
in that borough. He is a member of the First Presbyterian Church of Potts- 
ville, of the Pottsville Club, and of the Acorn Club of EhiBois. He was for- 
merly a member of Knapp Commandery, No. 40, Knights Templar, of Ridg- 
way, but transferred his membership from that Commandery to Bethany 
Commandery, No. 83, of DuBois, of which he was a charter member. He 
still belongs to Elk Chapter, No. 230, and Elk Lodge. No. 379, F. & A. M., 
both of Ridgway, Pa., and also holds membership in ZemZem Temple, A. A. 
O. N. M. S., of Erie. 

WILLIAM HORN, of Sheppton, has held an honored place in that town 
and the adjacent part of Schuylkill ctDunty for many years, his business and 
official duties bringing him into contact with a large proportion of his fellow 
citizens. He was born March 10, 1840, at Pine Grove, Schuylkill county, and 
the family has been here since his grandfather's time. So far as is known, his 
great-grandfather came from the North of Ireland. 

William Horn, the grandfather, was born in the State of New Jersey, was 
a shoemaker by trade, and died in 1847, at the age of sixty-five years. Com- 
ing to Pennsylvania, he settled near Reading, in Berks county, was married 
in" that county, and thence removed to Pine Grove township, Schuylkill county, 
where he became a well known citizen, serving that township as a justice of 
the peace for a number of years. He was located near the Lauberry mines, 
and followed shoemaking all his life. His wife, Elizabeth (Bretz), died when 
about sixty-five years old. Their children were: Daniel; Mary; Abraham; 
Joseph: John; William; Sarah. Mrs. Fisher, a widow, now residing with her 

Vol. II— 3 



642 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENXSYLVAXL\ 

daughter at No. 2 Patch, in Bear Valley, near Shamokin, Northumberland 
Co., Pa. ; Jerusha, who married John Elder (he is deceased) ; and Eliza. At 
this writing (1915) Mrs. Sarah Fisher is the only survivor of the family. 
Mr. and Mrs. William Horn are buried in Pine Grove township, this county. 
He was a Democrat in political opinion. 

Daniel Horn, son of William and Elizabeth (Bretz) Horn, was born 
March 16, 181 5, near Reading, and lived to the age of ninety-three years, 
eleven months, twenty-three days, passing away March 7, 1909. The neigh- 
borhood at that time offered no educational advantages, and he began work 
early. He lived in Berks county until twenty-one years of age, and was there 
employed in chopping wood for the charcoal furnaces. Coming to Pine Grove 
township, Schuylkill county, he found work as a miner at the Lauberry mines . 
for a short time, later buying a team and hauling coal on the Mine Hill road, 
from Llewellyn to the canal dock at Schuylkill Haven. This was before the 
locomotive came into use on that road. He entered into a contract with the 
Hibners Coal Company to furnish mine timber, and was so occupied two years, 
then removing to Tamaqua, this county, where he worked a little while on the 
Little Schuylkill railroad. Later he took a contract to furnish cordwood for 
their wood-burning locomotives which he kept for five years, in 1863 moving 
to Mahanoy City, where he obtained the position of chute boss at the Hill & 
Harris colliery, remaining there for the next seventeen years. At the end of 
that period he retired and for a time lived at Shenandoah, moved thence to 
East Union township, and a short time before his death took up his resi- 
dence with his daughter Laura, Mrs. Charles Schreaves, in Shenandoah, at 
whose home he died. Mr. Horn married Susanna Feger, who was born Dec. 
27, 1813, near Reading, Pa., and survived him a few months, dying June 17, 
1909. They are buried in the Evangelical Church cemetery near Ringtown. 
He was a member of that denomination. Li politics Mr. Horn was originally 
a Democrat, but after his son William returned from his service with the 
Union army he turned Republican. A large family was born to Mr. and Mrs. 
Daniel Horn : Sarah E. (deceased), was the wife of David Faust, of Camden, 
N. J., a fire insurance broker; William is mentioned below; Henry, Clara and 
Franklin died young; Daniel A. was accidentally killed at Atlanta, Ga., in 1887 
(he married Mary Brannigan, and left four children) ; Maria married Daniel 
D. Kirby, publisher of the Salem Herald, of Salem, Ohio, and they have two 
children; Matilda married Alton O. Crobaugh, and they have one child (he 
is watchman at the Knickerbocker collier}', Shenandoah) ; Joseph died young; 
Laura married Charles Schreaves, of Shenandoah, a watchman. 

Jacob Feger, father of Airs. Susanna (Feger) Horn, was a native of Berks 
county, Pa., where he lived until after his marriage. He owned and operated 
a paper mill there, and moved thence to Schuylkill Haven, Schuylkill county. 
During one governor's temi he was doorkeeper of the House of Representa- 
tives at Hari-isburg. This was during the middle fifties. Later he was elected 
prothonotary of Schuylkill county, in which office he served one term. Polit- 
ically he was a Democrat, in religion a member of the Evangelical Church. 
He and his wife, Elizabeth (Yergy), both died at the age of seventy-four 
years, and they are buried at Spring Garden, Schuylkill Haven. They had 
children as follows : William ; Joseph, who married a Miss Mills ; Franklin, 
who married Sarah Johnson ; Susanna, who married Daniel Horn ; Matilda, 
who married Cornelius Hoffman ; Priscilla, who married George K. Reed ; 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 643 

Eliza, who married Morgan Saylor; Amanda, who married Emmanuel 
Pflueger ; and Abigail, who married William Spangler. 

William Horn was reared at Tamaqua and Llewellyn, where he attended 
public school until he reached the age of twelve years. He has made his own 
way in the world since. His first employment was as water boy for a gang 
of trackmen building the Philadelphia & Reading road, the part then known 
as the Little Schuylkill. As he became able to assume more responsibility he 
was given work as a trackman, working as such until he reached his twenty- , 
first year.. At that time came the first call for volunteers to defend the Union, 
and Mr. Horn was a member of the local organization known as the Scott 
Rifles, formed at Tamaqua, and mustered into the United States service as 
Company C, loth Pennsylvania \'okmteer Infantry. Their service was for 
ninety days, at the end of which term he reenlisted, joining Company H, 96th 
Pennsylvania Infantry, after a three weeks' furlough. The company was first 
under the command of Capt. Henry Hippie, and after his resignation under 
Henry Royer. The regiment left Pottsville Nov. 8, 1861, proceeded by way 
of Gordon Plane and Shamokin to Washington, D. C, and thence into camp 
at Bladensburg, Md. It was then moved across the Long bridge into Vir- 
ginia, beyond Fairfax Seminary. Col. Henry L. Cake, commanding the regi- 
ment, named the new location Camp Northumberland, in honor of his home 
county. Up to this time the command had been engaged principally in picket 
duty. Shortly afterwards the regiment was sent by boat to Fortress Monroe, 
and after the evacuation of Yorktown went up the York river to West Point, 
where it had a slight skirmish with the Confederate rear guard. From 
West Point it went on to White House Landing, thence to ]\Iechanicsville, 
where it was in camp for a short time, moving across the Qiickahominy river 
to Savage Station. It participated with McClellan in the Peninsular cam- 
paign. On June 2j, 1862, it formed the extreme right of the Federal line at 
Gaines' Mill, and the following day supported the batteries at \'\'hite Oak 
Swamp. At Malvern Hill it again had the extreme right of the line, and 
with the rest of the army fell back when that engagement was over. After 
participating in the second battle of Bull Run the 6th Corps, to which the 
96th had been assigned, was moved to help intercept the Confederate move- 
ment into Maryland. On Sept. 14th was fought the battle of South Mountain. 
Mr. Horn's company took part in the gallant charge up the slope, with the 
final result of a decisive Federal victory, going into the charge with forty- 
eight men, of which twenty-four were killed or wounded. He received a 
gunshot wound in the breast, so severe that the army surgeons did not expect 
him to live, and he spent three months in hospital at Burketsville and Fred- 
erick, ]\Id. When discharged from the hospital he was so weakened by his 
injuries as to be incapacitated for further service, and he returned to Tamaqua. 
For a time Mr. Horn tried railroad work, but found he was in no con- 
dition to stand it. Then he went to Mahanoy City and took a position at 
hoisting, on a coal plane, remaining there seven years. In 1871 he went out 
to Missouri, where he expected to do farm work, but it was too much for his 
strength, and after fourteen months in that section he returned to Mahanoy 
City, where he found employment issuing supplies to miners, shipping coal, at 
the Mahanoy City colliery. The superintendent of this colliery later asked 
him to take the position of foreman at the Elmwood colliery, Mahanoy City, 
where he continued for five years, being afterwards sent to the Indian' Ridge 
colliery, where he was outside foreman for five years. Meantime he had 



644 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

bought a farm of 103 acres in East Union township, and his father-in-law, 
Aaron Van Horn, operated the place for five years, Mr. Horn having stocked 
it after it came into his possession. When he resigned his position at the 
Indian Ridge colliery he moved to the farm, and lived there for three years, 
though he had nothing to do with its cultivation. He still owns eighty-five 
acres of the place (having given the rest to his daughter), and has fifty acres 
of his property cleared, the farm being now rented and operated by John 
Kahley. 

Mr. Horn has been quite closely connected with the administration of 
local affairs. In 1887 he was elected justice of the peace, for East Union 
township, and accordingly opened an office at Sheppton, to which town he 
subsequently removed. By repeated reelections he continued to fill the office 
for a quarter of a century, closing his duties in January, 191 3. He is still 
acting as a notary public, deputy coroner (which office he has held twelve 
years) and register of births and deaths, and has also been school director, 
supervisor and judge of election. In politics he has always been associated 
with the Republican party. For a number of years he has carried on business 
as an insurance broker and real estate dealer, collects rents, and is agent for 
the local sewer. 

Mr. Horn has always kept in touch with social and church enterprises. He 
is a member of Watkin Waters Post, No. 146, G. A. R., of Shenandoah, and 
has been guard of that post; formerly he held membership in General Grant 
Lodge, No. 575, I. O. O. F., of Mahanoy City. He is a zealous member of 
the Evangelical denomination, now connected with the church at Shenandoah, 
and has served as exhorter and class leader at both Shenandoah and Mahanoy 
City. 

In 1863 Mr. Horn was married, at Tamaqua, to Rebecca Margaret Van 
Horn, who was bom March 8, 1842, in Salem township, Luzerne Co., Pa., 
and shortly afterwards they moved to Mahanoy City. They have had four 
children: Ella, born June 14, 1864, died Jan. 30, 1910; she was the wife of 
H. F. Faust, of Camden, N. J., an employe of the Victor Talking Machine 
Company, and the mother of one child, Roy Brenton, born in 1892, who mar- 
ried Sallie Kunkel and has one child. Earl ; they live at Camden. William F., 
born April 14, 1868, is outside foreman at the Oneida colliery in East Union 
township, Schuylkill county: he married Sarah Alvaretta Rich, who died 
Jan. 31, 1908, the mother of these children: Duane. Auber, Retta, Grace, 
Bessie, Florence, and one that died unnamed. Bessie Van Horn, born July 
25, 1873, is the wife of Benjamin F. Van Horn, a carpenter in East Union 
township; they have had children, Guy (deceased), Sylvester (deceased), 
Leslie, Margaret and Althea. Rev. Leo D., born Jan. i, 1882, is a Reformed 
clergyman now stationed at McConnellstown, Huntingdon Co., Pa.; he mar- 
ried Pearl Kahley, and their children are Vernon M., Daisy May and Merl. 

Mrs. Rebecca Margaret (Van Horn) Horn was educated at Tamaqua, to 
which place her parents removed in 1846. She is a member of the Evangelical 
Church, her last association being with the organization at Shenandoah, where 
she still retains' membership. Mrs. Horn is a daughter of Aaron Van Horn 
and a granddaughter of Nicholas Van Horn, who was born near New York 
City and was of Holland-Dutch stock. By trade he was a cooper. Coming 
to Northampton county. Pa., he followed his trade for a time, later bought a 
farm in Salem township, Luzerne county, and moving to that property spent 
the remainder of his life there, engaged in farming. At one time he owned 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 645 

considerable land now included in the site of New York City. He and his 
wife, whose maiden name was Shobert, are buried in Salem township, Luzerne 
county. He was a Democrat politically, and a Presbyterian in religious faith. 
His children were: George, who married Phoebe Titus; Aaron; John, who 
did not marry; Mary, Mrs. Isaac Titus; Anne, Mrs. William Thomas; Eliz- 
abeth, Mrs. George Hughes ; and Catherine, who died unmarried. 

Aaron Van Horn, Mrs. Horn's father, was born in April, 1820, at Pocono 
Mountain, Northampton Co., Pa., and died in June, 1893, on a farm in East 
Union township, Schuylkill county. He learned coopering with his father, 
and later followed the carpenters trade. Moving to Salem township, Luzerne 
county, he operated his father's farm, the property coming to him at the 
latter's death, and thence moved to Tamaqua. For a time he was engaged as 
a carpenter by the Little Schuylkill Railway Company. Then he went out 
to Missouri, where he rented a farm seven miles from Chillicothe, remain- 
ing there nine years, and on his return to Schuylkill county he was a car- 
penter at the Mahanoy City collieries for a while. But he was anxious to get 
on a farm again, so his son-in-law, William Horn, bought the place in East 
Union township previously mentioned, and Mr. Van Horn moved thereon, 
operating the tract for five years. It was there he died. He married Eliz- 
abeth Titus, who was born in January, 1826, in Nescopeck township, Luzerne 
county, and died March 12, 1854, the mother of six children : Rebecca Mar- 
garet, Mrs. William Hom ; Phoebe Ann, who died young; Daniel, unmar- 
ried, who lives in East Union township; George W., who died in infancy; 
Nicholas James, who died in infancy; and !Mary C, Mrs. Morris Marsh, 
living in Connecticut. Mrs. Van Horn was buried in the Methodist cemetery 
at Tamaqua, and Mr. Van Horn in the Union graveyard at Brandonville, in 
East Union township. He was a member of the Presbyterian Church, and a 
Republican in his political views. 

Samuel Titus, father of Mrs. Elizabeth (Titus) Van Horn, was born in 
Nescopeck township, Luzerne county, and was of Scotch-Irish descent. He 
was engaged as a fisherman on the Susquehanna in the days when salmon were 
plentiful there, and was drowned in that river. He is buried in Nescopeck 
township. Mr. Titus belonged to the Presbyterian Church. His children 
were: Isaac, Daniel, George and Albert (who went out west when young), 
Elizabeth (Mrs. Van Hom), Phoebe (who married George Van Hom) and 
Mary (Mrs. Hiram Murray). 

LEVI MILLER, deceased, who was for many years identified with the 
business and financial interests of Schuylkill county, was born at Pine Grove, 
this county, in January, 1853, son of Levi and Mary (Ruth) Miller. 

Levi Miller, the father, was for a long period engaged in business opera- 
tions in Schuylkill county and was a prominent, wealthy and influential citizen. 
He died in August, 1887, his wife about two years before. Their children 
were: Daniel R., who died in 1902; George, who died in 1877; Catherine, 
also deceased ; and Levi. 

After attending the local schools of Pine Grove Levi Miller entered Mer- 
cersburg College and was duly graduated therefrom, and subsequently with 
his father and brother Daniel R. was engaged in coal mining, in the operation 
of the Lincoln and New Lincoln collieries. Their offices were in the brick 
mansion opposite the "Filbert House," now owned by Justice Gregory Achen- 
bach, where the Miller Estate continued to maintain offices for some time. The 



646 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PEi\XSYLVAXL-\ 

firm operating under the name of Miller, Filbert & Company also conducted 
a large business, and was located in the building afterwards occupied by the 
concern of Christ & Rehrer. Mr. Miller was identified with and a director of 
the Pennsylvania Trust Company, of Reading, and the Pennsylvania National 
Bank, of Pottsville, for many years, but had resigned from the latter the 
year before his death. Politically he was a Republican, and fraternally was 
connected with Lodge No. 49, F. & A. M., being also a thirty-second-degree 
Mason ; he was a member of Camp No. 49, Patriotic Order Sons of Artierica. 
He served on the school board and assisted the community in every possible 
way, and was prominently connected with the Methodist Episcopal Church, 
of which he and the other members of his family have always been liberal 
supporters. 

Mr. Miller had a large relationship, his family connections reaching to 
distant points in this and other States, and his sudden death, July 31, 1910, 
was a shock not only to his immediate relations and to the community, but to 
a wide circle of friends. Mr. Miller was laid to rest in the New Lutheran 
Cemetery. 

In 1874 Mr. Miller was united in marriage with Emma Eaton, of Landis- 
burg. Pa., who survives him. Two children were born to this union: Ralph 
E. ; and Mary Ruth, who died in March, 1906. 

Dr. Ralph E. Miller began his education in the public schools of Pine Grove, 
and after graduation from the medical department of the University of Penn- 
sylvania served as an interne at the Wilkes-Barre hospital. In July, 1905, he 
took up his residence at Bloomsburg, Pa., where he has since been in the enjoy- 
ment of a large and representative professional business. Dr. Miller married 
Tanette Nigton, of Pine Grove, and they are the parents of two children: 
Ralph E., Jr., and Mary Ruth. 

ALVIN KISTLER, owner of a large tract of land in \\'est Penn town- 
ship, and one of the progressive young farmers of that section, has many of 
the characteristics which have come to be associated with the name he bears. 
The Kistlers in this part of Schuylkill county are a branch of an old Berks 
county family founded in this country by Johannes or John George Kistler, 
and are people of high character and the sterling qualities pertaining to good 
citizenship and helpful lives. 

On the records of the Jerusalem Church in Albany township, Berks county, 
known in the eighteenth century as the Allemangel Church, there are recorded 
the baptisms ofhundreds of the Kistler children, while in the cemetery under 
the shadow of the church are many graves marked with the same name. Near 
the center of the oldest part of the cemetery lies a slate stone (which is now 
being replaced by the descendants with a marble slab) bearing the inscription 
"I. G. K. 1767.'' This is supposed to be the stone that marked the burial 
place of the progenitor of the American Kistlers. who was legally known as 
Johannes, but was called Joerg or George by Pastor Schumacher in his record 
and Han joerg or John George by his neighbors. 

Johannes Kistler was a native of the Palatinate, in Germany. On Oct. 
5, 1737, he came in the ship "Townshead" from Amsterdam to- Philadelphia, 
and soon after to Falkner Swamp, or Goshenhoppen, in what is now Mont- 
gomery county. Pa. It is supposed he was accompanied by his wife, Anna 
Dorothea, and his oldest children. In 1747 he took out a warrant for land and 
moved to Albany township, Berks county, then wild and barren, where he 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 647 

made his permanent home.- The vicinity was named "Allemangel" or "All 
Wants." Johannes Kistler was taxed in 1756 in Albany township, and was 
naturalized in 1761, on Sept. loth of which year he and his neighbor, Michael 
Brobst, appeared before the Supreme court at Philadelphia, and there received 
the papers which made them citizens of Pennsylvania. He was a Lutheran, 
and served for a number of years as elder of the Allemangel Church, where 
his children were baptized and confirmed. His children were : ( i ) Jacob left 
seven children, Philip, Jacob, Michael, Solomon, Daniel. Catharine and Magda- 
lene. Samuel Kistler Brobst, a teacher of James A. Garfield, was a grand- 
son of Philip; and so was Michael Kistler, the tanner, whose son Stephen 
was at one time the most extensive tanner in eastern Pennsylvania. (2) John 
remained on the homestead after his father's death. The name John runs 
through at least five generations and the trade of blacksmith follows it. John's 
children were: John William, born May 29, 1757; and Abraham, born Dec. 
20, 1761, who is the ancestor of the Perry county Kistlers, for whom Kistler 
post office was named. A descendant, Rev. Dr. John Kistler, has for many 
years been professor at the oldest Lutheran Theological Seminary in America, 
located at Hartwick, N. J. (3) George remained in Berks county. In 1779 
he was the owner of 248 acres of land and a gristmill. In 1778 he was 
elected elder of the Allemangel Church, and as he was referred to as George 
Kistler, 5r., he doubtless had a son George. The archives of Pennsylvania 
show that a George Kistler served in the Continental army during the war 
of the Revolution. (4) Philip, born Oct. 19, 1745, is next in the line we are 
tracing. (5) Michael moved to Ohio, and is the ancestor of the large Kistler 
settlements in Indiana. His family consisted of John, ]Michael, Joseph. Nathan, 
Monroe, Salome and Judith. (6) Samuel, the yoimgest son of his father, 
married Elizabeth Ladich and Catharine Brobst, and had three children by his 
first marriage and twelve by the second. (7) Barbara married (first) a Brobst 
and (second) Michael ]\Iosser, of Lowhill. (8) Dorothea married Michael 
Reinhart. (9) Elizabeth married a Mr. Keller, near Hamburg, Pennsylvania. 

Philip Kistler, son of George, above, was born Oct. 19. i745, and died 
Aug. 28, 1809. He had nine children: Jacob, John, Ferdinand, Philip, 
Jonathan, Barbara, Maria, Catherine and Elizabeth. Of these, Jacob was a 
"lieutenant in the war of 1812. 

Jonathan Kistler, son of Philip, was born Nov. 10, 1799, in Berks county, 
and was raised on the place where his grandson Charles S. Kistler now lives. 
He was reared by Jacob Wehr, worked among farmers while young, and 
after he married started out for himself. In 1829 he built the gristmill which 
still stands and is known as the Kistler mill. He also became the owner of 
about two hundred acres of land, a great deal of which he cleared and culti- 
vated, following milling and farming on this place until his death, which 
occurred when he was about seventy-nine years of age. His wife, Sarah 
(Shellhammer). born .Aug. 4, 1800, daughter of Simon and Catherine (Long) 
Shellhammer, died aged eighty-one years. They were the parents of children 
as follows: Polly married Michael Houser; Rebecca married Jacob Wert- 
man; Hannah married Joseph Shaefifer; Daniel married Rebecca Sechler; 
David, who resides in West 'Penn township, married Mary Hagenbuch, now 
deceased ; John is mentioned below ; \\'illiam, who was a school teacher, never 
married; Nathan never married: Jonathan K. married Lydia Shellhammer; 
Elizabeth married Timothy Zehner. The father retired some years before 
his death. He took an active part in politics as a member of the Democratic 



648 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

party, and was a justice of the peace for forty-four years, and a leader in 
Zion's Lutheran Church, in West Penn township, serving as elder, deacon and 
trustee. He and his wife are buried at that church. 

John Kistler, son of Jonathan, was born March 24, 1832, in West Penn 
township, and was educated there. He assisted with the work on his father's 
farm while young, and later bought the farm of about seventy-five acres where 
Ambrose Lechleitner now resides. He operated that farm for a number of 
years, sold it, and bought the farm of ninety acres which is now owned by his 
son, Albert S. Of this farm, about eighty acres are cleared. Mr. Kistler 
carried on general farming, and for many years also followed the stonemason's 
trade, which he learned when he was a young man. He attended market at 
Tamaqua. Mr. Kistler was an active man up to the time of his death, which 
occurred Nov. 23, 1909. He is buried in the cemetery of Zion's Lutheran 
Cliurch in West Penn township, of which church he was a devout member 
and faithful official, serving as elder and deacon. He held the township 
office of school director, and was a Democrat in politics. 

Mr. Kistler's first wife, Caroline (Hagenbuch), was born March 4, 1836, 
daughter of Amos and Sarah (Bailey) Hagenbuch, and died Jan. 19, 1856, 
the mother of one child, Jonathan, born July 6, 1855. He is married to Alvina 
Mantz, and they reside at Allentown, Pa. Mrs. Kistler is buried at Zion's 
Church in W'est Penn township. For his second wife Mr. Kistler married 
Cordelia Hagenbuch, who was born ]\Iarch 10, 1839, a sister of his first wife, 
and a large family came to this union: William, born July 15, 1858, married 
Ella Meyerhoff, and their children are Rosie, Bert and Raymond ; Mary, born 
Nov. 18, 1859, died Feb. 22, i860; Sarah, born Dec. 27, i860, married Uriah 
Reber, of Neffs (P. O.), Lehigh Co.. Pa., and has children, William, Charles, 
Ralph, Jennie, Francis and Harvey; Amanda, born June i, 1863, died Feb. 4, 
1884, the wife of Mahlon Lutz and mother of one child, Laura, who is deceased ; 
Alice was born April 28, 1865; Ida, born March 26, 1868, married William 
Brobst, of Owl Creek, Schuylkill Co., Pa., and has had three children, Charles, 
Mabel (deceased) and Alice; Oliver was born Jan. 4, 1870; Franklin, born 
Dec. 8, 1871, died aged forty years; Amandus, born Aug. 18, 1873, ''^'^s in 
Missouri; Rosa, born Jan. 9, 1876, is married to John Nester, of Jamaqua, 
and has had two children, Mary (deceased) and Herbert; one son died in 
infancy; Albert S. is a farmer in West Penn township; Alvin is mentioned 
below. The mother of this family is now living at the home of David K. Kist- 
ler, in West Penn township. 

Alvin Kistler was born ISLiy 11. 1881, in West Penn township, and edu- 
cated in the public schools there. LTntil twenty-seven years of age he worked 
for his father on the home farm, this being the place his brother Albert now 
owns, in \^'est Penn township. When he left the home farm he bought the 
tract where he now lives, from Isaac Gerber, having originally 224 acres, 
thirty-eight of which he sold to the Lehigh & New England Railroad Com- 
pany. Of the remainder, 186 acres, there are about one hundred acres under 
cultivation, devoted to general farming and trucking. Mr. Kistler markets 
his produce to Tamaqua, making regular trips there, both winter and summer. 
His affairs have prospered under strict attention, but he also finds time for 
matters of general interest, takes an active part in the workings of the 
Democratic party, and has served as election inspector. He is a member of 
Washington Camp No. 615, P. O. S. of A., at Andreas, Pa., and of Zion's 
Lutheran Church in West Penn township. 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 649 

Mr. Kistler is married to Sadie Agnes Gerber, who was born Sept. 3, 1879, 
in West Penn township, a daughter of Phaon and Harriet (Romig) Gerber, 
and they are the parents of five children, born as follows : Percy Albert, Aug. 
8, 1903; Edward Leroy, Jan. 15, 1906: Myrtle Harriet, July 4, 1908; John 
William, Oct. 24, 1910; Frank Francis. Feb. 28, 1913. The children old 
enough are attaiding school in the township. Mrs. Kistler was educated in 
West Penn township and lived at home until her marriage. She is a member 
of Zion's Reformed Church, in West Penn township, of which Rev. H. D. 
Houtz is pastor, and attends the Sunday school of that organization. 

The Gerbers are a very old and much respected family in West Penn town- 
ship. Reuben Gerber, great-grandfather of ]\Irs. Kistler, was born on a 
small tract which is now the property of Alvin Kistler, and followed farming. 
His wife's maiden name was Houser, and they had the following children : 
Isaac, David, Edwin, John (deceased), Caroline (Mrs. Kistler) and Ellavina 
(widow of Jacob Dietrich, living at Tamaqua). The father was a Democrat 
in politics. His religious connection was with Zion's Reformed Church, and 
both parents are buried at that church. 

Edwin Gerber, the grandfather of Mrs. Alvin Kistler, was born in 1822, 
and died March 13, 1898. He was a native of ^^'est Penn township, where 
he lived and died, and followed farming all his life, cultivating the place now 
owned by his son Frank. He married Sarah Moyer, who was born Dec. 31, 
1834, a daughter of John and Salome (Fiaer) Mover, and survives him, living 
with her son Franklin in West Penn township. They had three children : 
Franklin married Angeline Eckert ; Phaon was the father of Mrs. Kistler; 
Amandus died young. ]\Ir. Gerber is buried in the cemetery of Zion's 
Church in West Penn township, of which he was a Reformed member. 
Politically he was a Democrat. 

Phaon Gerber, Mrs. Kistler's father, was born in West Penn township 
Aug. 2, 1855, and died Sept. 24, 1908. He was educated in his native town- 
ship, and worked for his father until twenty-one years old, after which he was 
employed one year on a farm in Packer township. Carbon county. He mar- 
ried and returned to West Penn township, and then bought a farm of forty- 
eight acres from his father, remaining on it the rest of his life. Besides farm- 
ing he did wood chopping, and marketed his produce to Tamaqua. On Jan. 
17, 1879, he was married at Weatherly, Carbon Co., Pa., by Rev. M. H. 
Mishler, to Harriet Romig, a native of Quakake, Carbon county, daughter of 
John and Rosanna (Faust) Romig, and six children were born to this union: 
Sadie Agnes, wife of Alvin Kistler; Eva Rosanna, born Sept. 24, 1882, mar- 
ried to Claude Steigerwalt: Oscar Frank, born April 20, 1884, who married 
Jennie Knapp; Mahlon John, born Nov. 4, 1889, married to Katie Clause; 
Elmer Edward, twin of Mahlon, married to Lena Behler; and Stella Adeline, 
born July 26, 1896, living at home. The mother is still residing on the home 
farm. Mr. Gerber was a Democrat in political faith. Socially he belonged to 
the Order of Independent .Americans, being a member of Pocahontas Coun- 
cil, No. 406, at Chain, Pa., and he was an active member of the Reformed 
congregation of Zion's Church in West Penn township, which he served faith- 
fully as elder. He is buried at that church. 

Benjamin Romig, grandfather of Mrs. Phaon Gerber, was a farmer, and 
one of the original settlers at Weatherly, Carbon county. At one time he was 
the owner of every foot of land on which the borough of Weatherly nowr 
stands. His children were: Nathan; John; Sarah, who married Daniel 



650 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

Fanst (he is deceased) ; Judith, who was the wife of the late John Lomison ; 
Susan, who was the wife of the late Edwin Young; Mary, wlio died unmar- 
ried; and Matilda, Mrs. Solomon Gerhard. Mrs. Gerhard is now the only 
sur\ivor of the family. Benjamin Romig was a Democrat and a member of 
the Reformed Church. He is buried at Ouakake. 

John Romig, son of Benjamin, was born in February, 1824, passed all his 
life in Packer township, Carbon county, and lived retired for about thirty 
years before his death. He built a house on the ground now occupied by the 
Warner store at Weatherly and a sawmill where the borough building now 
stands. He was a successful farmer, a public-spirited citizen, and a stanch 
supporter of the common schools, a kind-hearted neighbor, a good father, and 
a faithful member of the Reformed Church at Ouakake, in whose work he 
was always active. He served as elder, deacon and trustee of his church, and 
was a popular township official, holding all the local offices. Politically he 
was a Democrat. He married Rosanna Faust, daughter of John Faust, and 
they are buried at Quakake. They had children as follows: Emma married 
Henry Englehart ; Harriet married Phaon Gerber; Frank married Ella Flick- 
inger and they made their home at Williamsport, Pa. ; Alfred married Emma 
Heller, and settled at Freeland, Pa. ; Sophia married J. J. Gerhard ; Adeline 
married Lewis Bender, of Scranton, Pa. ; Elizabeth married George Ulshaefer, 
of Weatherly, Pa. ; Abigail married Edward Kester, of Allentown, Pa. ; Matilda 
married Levi Englehart, of Weatherly ; Rosanna married Charles Gray, of 
Weatherly; John is next in the family; Mary married Henry Hagenbuch, of 
.Nazareth, Pennsylvania. 

GOTTLIEB E. SCHREPPLE is one of the progressive business men of 
Ashland, where he has built up a modern laundry plant, which gives employ- 
ment to several people. 

The Schrepples are of German extraction, Nicholas Schrepple, grand- 
father of Gottlieb E. Schrepple, coming to America at an early age, and 
settling on a farm near Ashland, Schuylkill Co., Pa., where he carried on 
agricultural pursuits until his death. His son, Frederick Schrepple, was 
born in Germany, came with his parents to America, and like his father fol- 
lowed farming until he died, March 14, 1906. He married Loretta Buchpies, 
like himself a native of Germany, daughter of Elias Buchpies, who came to 
America many years ago and settled on land near Ashland, which he took up. 
He cleared this property and farmed there until his death. Mrs. Loretta 
Schrepple died in 1874. Of her two children, the daughter is now deceased. 

Gottlieb E. Schrepple, son of Frederick and Loretta Schrepple, was born 
Oct. 8, 1870, on a farm near Ashland, and received his education in the pub- 
lic schools of that neighborhood. When old enough he began work on the 
home farm, continuing to live there until his thirtieth year, in January, 1900, 
moving to Ashland, where he has since been in business. Upon his removal 
here he bought the laundry business of Mr. Bright, which he carried on for 
about one year, then buying his present business. Under his management it 
has enlarged steadily, and as his capital has increased Mr. Schrepple has 
improved his facilities for carrying on the large trade he has established, his 
plant being now equipped with highly improved machinery and being conducted 
along modern lines. It is known as the Ashland Steam Laundry. The modern 
system in use enables the force employed to accomplish the large amount of 
work with dispatch, and Mr. Schrepple has shown himself competent to take 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PEXXSYLVAXL\ 651 

care of his growing trade and to provide for it as its demands arise. He has 
his business in a two-story house, in which is also the flat where he makes 
his home. His business is recognized as a distinct convenience to the town, 
and under Mr. Schrepple's efficient management is one of its creditable indus- 
trial plants. 

On June 24, lyoi, Mr. Schrepple married Mary E. Kimmel, of Pottsville, 
Schuylkill county, who was born at Ashland, daughter of Cha'rles and Susan 
A. Kimmel, early settlers of Ashland, of German extraction. Mr. Kimmel died 
April 22, 1894, and is survived by his wife. Two children have been born to 
Mr. and Mrs. Schrepple: Mildred A. and Arthur Louis. ]\Ir. Schrepple and 
his wife are members of the German Lutheran Church. 

CHRISTL'KN NEIDLIXGER. a farmer of Porter township. Schuylkill 
county, was born at Tower City. Schuylkill Co., Pa., Dec. 7, 1843, son of 
Jonathan and Anna Maria (Romberger) Neidlinger, and a grandson of Peter 
Neidlinger. 

Peter Neidlinger was born in 1777, in Germany, and when a young man 
emigrated to America and settled as a pioneer in the Mahantongo Valley of 
Pennsylvania. For many years he carried on farming in Dauphin county, 
but in later life went to Fort Wayne, Ind., where his death occurred July 9, 
1857. His wife, Catherine, was born in 1779. and died at the age of eighty- 
three years, in Dauphin county. Pa. They were the parents of the following 
children : George, who died in the West ; Jacob, who also passed away there ; 
Jonathan, the father of Christian; Polly; Elizabeth; Leah; Lydia ; Nathan; 
Judd ; David, and Sallie. 

Jonathan Neidlinger was born May 6, 1805, in Mahantongo, Pa., and there 
was reared to manhood. He early adopted farming as his life work, and for 
some time cultivated a property in Rush township, Dauphin county, but 
later disposed of this and bought a farm at Orwin, Porter township, Schuyl- 
kill county, on which he spent the remaining years of his life, passing away 
Sept. II, 1891, aged eighty-six years, four months, five days. Mr. NeidHnger 
was one of the good farmers and substantial men of Orwin, and in his death 
his community lost one of its most stable and highly respected citizens. He 
married Anna Maria Romberger, who was born Nov. 5, 1805, and who died 
Jan. 4. 1877, aged seventy-one years, nine months, twenty-nine days. Both 
are Iniried in the Orwin cemetery. Mr. and Mrs. Neidlinger were the par- 
ents of the following children besides Christian: Elizabeth, who married 
John :\Lius; Amanda, who married Henry Eichenlaub ; Henry, who died at 
"Orwin ; ALatilda, who married William Shaale ; John, living at Williamstown, 
Dauphin Co.. Pa. ; Jonathan, who died young; Lucy, who is the wife of Thomas 
Fegley; and Eva, whose death occurred in young womanhood. 

"christian Neidlinger was reared on his father's farm and remained at home 
until he was twenty-six years of age. At that time he was married and 
removed to Orwin, where he was employed at the East and West Brookside 
collieries, making his home at Orwin for a period of six years. He then took 
up his residence in Rush township. Dauphin county, where he also resided 
for six years, following which for two years his home was at Tower City. 
Returning at that time to Rush township, he worked five years for his father, 
and after the elder man's death bought the family homestead, which he cul- 
tivated for fifteen vears with a satisfying degree of success. In 1911 he dis- 
posed of his interests there and purchased a small tract of land near Greenwood 



652 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

cemetery, in Porter township, Schuylkill county, where he is now making his 
home. He has a well improved property with good buildings and modern 
equipment and is known as a progressive and industrious farmer. 

On July 26, 1870, Mr. Neidlinger was married to Mary Shadle, daughter 
of John and Hannah (Hain) Shadle, and to this union there have been born 
the following children : John Henry, who in addition to carrying on agri- 
cultural pursuits in Porter township is employed as a hoisting engineer at the 
West Brookside colliery ; Charles \^'illiam, of Beaver Falls, Pa., who is a 
conductor for the Pittsburgh & Lake Erie Railroad Company; George Daniel, 
an electrician by vocation, living at Emporium, Pa. ; Edward N., of Harris- 
burg, Pa., a brakeman in the Reading railroad yards ; Harry Jonathan, who 
resides with his parents and is water boss at the East Brookside colliery ; 
Reuben C, residing at Tower City, who is hoisting engineer at the West Brook- 
side colliery; Emery C. of Reading, employed in the freight department of 
the Reading Company; Milton H., who is employed as a fireman by the Read- 
ing Railway Company at Harrisburg; Elvin Raymond, who is a pipe fitter of 
Emporium, Pa.; Robert N., a graduate of the Keystone State Normal School, 
at Kutztown, Pa., class of 191 5, and now a popular teacher in the public 
schools of Porter township; and Arthur H., who is employed as a pipe fitter 
at Emporium. Mr. and Mrs. Neidlinger, in addition to rearing their eleven 
sons to lives of usefulness, have adopted a daughter, Lydia Bechtel, daughter 
of John and Estelle (Kone) Bechtel. She was seven years old when she entered 
the"ir home and is now thirteen, a bright and promising student in the public 
schools. 

Mr. Neidlinger has always been a friend of education, and has served on 
the school board of Porter township for a number of years, while his other 
public service has taken the form of faithful discharge of the duties of the 
offices of township assessor, supervisor and treasurer. He is steward of the 
United Brethren Church, has been active also in the Greenwood Sunday 
school, and at this time is its treasurer. Fraternally he is affiliated with the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, at Tower City. 

JOHN G. KOPP, Sr., of Tower City, is now living retired after a long 
and industrious career, most of which was spent in a responsible capacity 
with the Philadelphia & Reading Coal & Iron Company. 

Mr Kopp was born July 9, 1841, at Pottsville, Schuylkill Co., Pa., son of 
John Kopp, a native of Prussia, Germany, who came to this country m young 
manhood and settled at Pottsville. He began as a day worker at the mines, 
and after two years was made a foreman at Reed's colliery, near Pottsville 
Later he moved to Tremont, this county, where he was also a mine boss,_ and 
there he died when forty-eight years old. He was one of the pioneer miners 
in this region. Mr. Kopp married Catherine Biltz, a native of Germany, 
who came to America when eleven years old, and died at the age of forty-four 
years Mr and Mrs. Kopp are buried at Tremont. They were the parents ot 
six children: Caroline, wife of William Heckler; John G. ; Lewis, who lives 
at Sharadin, this county; Augustus, deceased; Elizabeth, deceased; and Kate, 
who is married to Peter Krebs and lives in California. 

Tohn G. Kopp, Sr., was but eight years old when he commenced to work 
in the coal breaker as a slate picker. Later he worked with his father as a 
laborer, and by the time he was fourteen he was a skilled miner_^ This was at 
the Major White's colliery, Swatara, near New Town, Pa. From there he 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 653 

went to the Middle Creek colliery, under Theodore Garrison, and worked as 
a miner with his brother Lewis, for several years, and from this place he 
went to work at Colket colliery, Donaldson, Pa. He worked a while there and 
then changed to the Lower Rausch Creek colliery, where he remained several 
years, from there going to the East Franklin colliery, operated under Harry 
Heil, and later by the Philadelphia & Reading Coal & Iron Company. He 
worked there about eight years, when he was taken to the West Brookside 
colliery, Tower City, to become an under boss, under William Elliott, inside 
foreman, and a little later he became inside foreman in Air. Elliott's place. 
The colliery was operated by the P. & R. C. & I. Co., and General Pleasants 
was general manager. He held the position of Inside Foreman for thirty- 
seven years at the aforesaid colliery, retiring therefrom in 1912. Mr. Kopp's 
honorable life won him the esteem of all with whom he came in contact, the 
men in his charge as well as his superiors, and he has many friends among 
his old-time associates. Fraternally he is one of the best known men in his 
part of Schuylkill county. He is one of the oldest members of Lodge No. 267, 
F. & A. M., of Tremont ; has been a member of Tremont Lodge, No. 245, I. 
O. O. F., since Feb. 23, 1866, and is a past officer of that body ; belongs to the 
Odd Fellows Encampment, in which he has passed all the chairs; to the 
Knights of Pythias lodge at Muir, Pa.; and to the P. O. S. of A. camp at 
Tower City, as well as the commandery of that order. 

Mr. Kopp married Elizabeth Hatter, of the Mahantongo \'alley, and they 
have had a large family : William Jerome died when two years old ; Delia 
is the wife of George W. Hatch; John G., Jr., Harry L., Robert E. and Chab- 
bat L., all hve at Tower City; Bessie is married to Edw. Rank, D. D. S. ; 
Blanch is the wife of Peter Klinger ; Flossie is at home; five other children 
died young. The family are Lutherans in religious connection. 

REV. DENNIS J. MELLEY, pastor of St. Mary's Catholic Church at 
Tremont, has been stationed in Schuylkill county the greater part of the time 
since his ordination, and his present charge is one of the most miportant in 
this region. Established in 1853, it has prospered steadily in the sixty and 
more years of its existence, and is now ministering to the religious needs of a 
large number of the faith in and around Tremont. The original church, biiilt 
in 1853 was sufficient for the requirements of the congregation until 1885, 
when it was materially enlarged, the capacity being almost doubled. The 
interior was then completely remodeled and handsomely decorated, the walls 
and ceiling being handsomely frescoed. The paintings in the sanctuary, and 
on the walls and ceiling, are of exceptional merit. At the time the church was 
rebuilt ten memorial windows were donated by various members, and the old 
altar was replaced by a beautiful one of Italian marble, said to be one of the 
finest productions of the famous maker, Stewart, of Philadelphia. On it are 
inscribed the names of those who contributed towards it, about one hundred 
and thirty The church property has been undergoing constant improvement. 
The old parsonage was replaced by a beautiful new priest's home during the 
pastorate of Father McDevitt, under whose energetic administration the church 
had been remodeled and enlarged. The fine grove adjoining the parsonage 
was leased and laid out in drives and walks, providing a delightful surrounding 
for the residence, which has been improved and added to from time to time. 
The grove is stillleased. ^ ,^ , - ., u c 

For the first two years of its existence St. Mary s was under the charge ot 



654 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVAXL\ 

Rev. Sylvester Eagle, and the membership when he came was about one 
hundred. It increased considerably during his pastorate. In 1855 Rev. Wil- 
liam McLaughlin was sent to Tremont and here ended his days in successful 
administration, remaining until his death in the early part of 1867. He becamfe 
very popular, not only with his parishioners but among the townspeople 
generally. His successor. Father Marran, was here until 1869, in May of 
which year Rev. John Cox took charge. At the beginning of 1872 he left and 
for the next two years Rev. Thomas Toner was pastor. Father Cox returning 
at the end of that time and continuing his services until 1876. In May, 1876, 
Rev. Francis X. George was installed in the parish and remained until Decem- 
ber, 1878, when Rev. P. W. Brennan arrived. The next priest was Rev. John 
J. McDevitt, who had a long pastorate, beginning in November, 1880, and 
extending until 1900. He was a zealous worker, and not only did notable 
work for the church but also exerted great influence in the affairs of the 
borough. He had the breadth of view which enabled him to see the importance 
of desirable living conditions in the community and directed much of his labor 
towards that end, making a record for public spirit and foresight which won 
him the name of being one of the most useful citizens of the town. He offered 
td bear a large share of the cost of laying out a small public park in the 
borough. As previously mentioned, the church was remodeled during his 
pastorate, the membership having shown a great increase during his control, 
reaching 1,500 to 2,000. The duties became so heavy that the Archbisho]) 
appointed an assistant. Rev. John Carey, who came in June, 189 1, to lighten 
them somewhat, and besides looking after the congregation of St. Mary's they 
held services at Blackwood. There is now a separate church at Blackwood, 
which is a mission of Branchdale. In 1885 Father McDevitt had commenced 
holding sen-ices at Tower City, now also a separate parish, and as a result a 
congregation was gathered there which in a few years built a handsome church. 

Rev. John J. McDevitt resigned on account of ill health in 1900, and died 
in St. Agnes' hospital, Philadelphia, in 1901. He was succeeded by Rev. 
Francis Ward, of Tower City. During Father Ward's pastorate of ten years 
he remodeled and decorated the interior of the churdi, built an addition to the 
rectory, and built a handsome mission church at Keffer's, on the Broad moun- 
tain (supplied by the priest of Tremont), in which the people of the neigh- 
boring mining villages worship. His assistants at various times were Rev. 
John Burk, now of Philadelphia, Rev. Bernard McKenna, now secretary' to 
Bishop Shahan of the Catholic University of America at Washington, D. C, 
and Rev. Edgar Cook, who had labored for years on the Philippine missions. 
Father Cook's health became impaired by his hard labors in the Philippine 
Islands, and he was obliged to resign his curacy of Tremont ; he died in Phila- 
delphia in 1907. He was the last assistant at Tremont. 

Father Ward was succeeded in Tremont by Rev. D. J. Melley May 11, 
191 1. During Father Melley's pastorate he has beautified the sanctuary of 
the church and completed the marble altar, which had hitherto remained unfin- 
ished, by placing a marble throne or baldachin over the tabernacle of the 
main altar. This throne was made from Carrara marble by Da Prato, of 
New York. It is of a very neat design, and crowned by a cap of Venetian 
mosaics, at a cost of four hundred and fifty dollars. Two hundred and fifty 
dollars of this amount was given for this purpose by Miss Julia Sheehan, of 
Tremont. The interior of the church as it appears to-day is the neatest in 
Schuylkill county. Father Melley renovated the rectory, both the interior and 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 655 

exterior, so that to-day it is without exception the most beautiful rectory in 
this part of the diocese. Nor has he devoted all his time to the material 
upbuilding of the parish, the spiritual side receiving still greater attention. He 
has labored indefatigably for the welfare of his people, administering to their 
spiritual wants at all times. As evidence of this there are to-day attached 
to the church a Holy Name Society, large in proportion to the number of 
parishioners; a Sodality of the Blessed Virgin Mary; a branch of the League 
of the Sacred Heart of Jesus, and an Altar Society — all of which he established ; 
they are now in a prosperous condition. 

Father Melley is a native of Schuylkill county, born at Newkirk, near 
Tamaqua, in 1872. His parents, Dennis and Amia (Campbell) Melley, were 
natives of County Donegal, Ireland, and they came to this country in 1855, 
spending the rest of their lives in Schuylkill county. Pa. After some years' 
residence at Tamaqua they removed to Xewkirk, where they made their home 
for thirty years. Returning to Tamaqua Mr. Melley remained there until his 
death, which occurred on Christmas Day, 1895. He was engaged in mining. 
He was a most respected citizen of his section, and was repeatedly elected 
school director in Schuylkill township, holding the office for sixteen years. 
His widow now lives with a daughter at Atlantic City, N. J. Of the four- 
teen children born to Mr. and Mrs. Dennis Melley, six are deceased. Of the 
eight survivors. Rose is a graduate nurse ; Sister Stanislaus belongs to the Order 
of Notre Dame; Elizabeth, wife of Edward Smith, and Joseph are resi- 
dents of Philadelphia; the remaining members of the family, except Father 
Melley, reside in Atlantic City. 

Dennis J. Melley was reared in Schuylkill county, attending public school 
in Schuylkill township. His higher literary education was received at LaSalle 
College, Philadelphia, and Villanova College, and in 1892 he entered Over- 
brook Seminary for his theological preparation. In 1902 he received ordina- 
tion, and for a short time thereafter was at Mount Airy, Pa. Then for a 
year he was stationed at Ashland, Pa., as assistant; for two years at South 
Bethlehem, Pa. ; at St. Peter's Church, Reading, three months, and for five 
years he was assistant rector of St. Patrick's, at Pottsville, before coming to 
Tremont, in 191 1. Father Melley is proving a worthy successor to the earn- 
est workers who have preceded him at St. Mary's, trying to keep this church, 
as it has been from the beginning, among the potent forces for good in the 
borough and vicinity. 

HENRY CALVIN KEHLER, of Locustdale, is a representative member 
of a family which has been foremost in the development and progress of this 
portion of Schuylkill county. For several generations the Kehlers have had 
extensive and valuable interests in farming in Eldred township, where the 
town of Kehler and Kehler Run Junction perpetuate the name, and at present 
the butchering interests which constitute by far the greater part of tlie business 
wealth of Locustdale, in the adjoining township of Butler, are held principally 
by Kehlers, the brothers H. Cabin and Irv'in M. Kehler being among these. 
Their father, Franklin Kehler, was a drover and live stock dealer for over 
thirty-five years. 

John Kehler, grandfather of Henry Calvin Kehler, was born in what is 
now Eldred (then Mahantongo) township, in Schuylkill county, of German 
ancestry. By trade he was a tailor, but he eventually settled down to farming 
and was one of the prosperous farmers there in the Mahantongo valley for 



656 SCHUYLKILL COUxNTY, PENXSYLVANL\ 

many years. In the pioneer days he secured a large tract of land in its primi- 
tive state, which his son Peter later owned, and the latter in turn was suc- 
ceeded by his son, Felix F. Kehler. It was covered with hardwood timber, 
and years of hard labor were required to bring it into arable condition. John 
Kehler first cleared a spot for a cabin, and before the close of his life made a 
good start in the improvement of the property, though the early results were 
most discouraging. Thus he laid the foundation for the success of those who 
came after him, and also c-ontinued the work he so bravely began in the face 
of hardships and trials of which the present generation knows nothing except 
what the account handed down in history. John Kehler was a devout Christian, 
an earnest member of the Evangelical Church. His home was the stopping 
place of the early preachers who visited the region, and the log barn he erected 
was used for religious assemblages. When the first church building in the com- 
munity was erected he assisted with the work. By his marriage to Elizabeth 
Hepler he had eight children, five sons and three daughters. 

Franklin Kehler, son of John, was born March ii, 1829, in the Mahan- 
tongo valley, and died at Kehler Nov. 9, 1904. His death was quite sudden, 
for although he had reached the age of seventy-five years he was active to the 
last. He farmed, and kept a store at Kehler, in the upper Mahantongo valley, 
but his operations in live stock were his most important interests. In the 
early days he drove cattle from Buft'alo to Ashland, this county. He married 
Lydia Snyder, who was born Nov. 3, 1833, in the Mahantongo valley, daugh- 
ter of an early settler in that region, and she preceded him to the grave, passing 
away Jan. i, 1898. Of the eight children born to them two died in infancy, 
six surviving the parents, namely: Franklin ]., the eldest, is deceased; Henry 
Calvin is mentioned below; Charles Robert is engaged in the butcher business 
at Fremont, this county; Pruella M. is the wife of Henry H. Geist and they 
are living on the old Kehler homestead ; Johanna, deceased, was the wife of 
Dr. J. D. Kiefer, of Mount Carmel, Pa.; Irvin M., of Locustdale, is in the 
wholesale and retail butcher business. The father was a prominent member of 
the L'nited Evangelical Church, which he served thirty-five years as steward. 

Henry Calvin Kehler was bora in 1856 in the Mahantongo valley and was 
brought up there, receiving his education in the local schools. After leaving 
school for a time he went West, and on his return to Pennsylvania started 
business with his brother Frank at Locustdale. Some time later he moved to 
Centralia, a short distance over the line in Columbia county, where he was 
located for three years, at the end of that period coming back to Locustdale, 
where he established his present business thirty-one years ago. During the 
intervening time he has built up a trade of large proportions, apparently hav- 
ing the gift for success in this line so characteristic of the family. He has high 
qualifications for business, combined with a sense of fair dealing which has 
made him recognized as entirely trustworthy in any transaction. Practically 
all his attention has been gi\en to his work, his principal interest aside from 
that being his church association, which is with the denomination supported by 
the family for several generations. He is a leading member of the United 
Evangelical Church, is serving on its board of trustees, and is teacher of the 
Bible class ; for about twenty-five years he was superintendent or assistant 
superintendent of the Sunday school. 

On June 26, 1880, Mr. Kehler was married at Locustdale to Mary A. 
Kepner.who was born Dec. 2, 1862, a native of Deep Creek valley, where her 
parents. Emanuel and Matilda (Updegraf) Kepner. were early settlers; her 




/.<^v: '^ c^^zz^^^^^^^/^^^ 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PEXNSYLVANL\ 657 

father was a soldier in the Civil war. They died in Deep Creek valley and 
are buried there. They had a large family, three sons and eight daughters, 
of whom John T. is in the meat business at Ashland ; George lives at Good- 
spring station, this county ; Addie is the wife of David Jones, of St. Clair, a ' 
mine foreman ; Katherine is the widow of Elmer Haslin ; Louisa is the wife 
of Paul Karns, of Orwigsburg; Flora is married to Frank Ganglof, of 
Orwigsburg. 

Seven children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Kehler: \'ictor Frank, 
born Dec. 29, 1881, now a butcher at Girardville, this county, is married to 
]\Iartha Keller and has two children, Roy R. and Grace A. ; Pruella M., bom 
May 6, 1883, is the wife of Earl Warther, of Locustdale, and has one child, 
George Henry ; Lottie P., born Nov. 6, 1886, is engaged as a nurse in Phila- 
delphia ; Harry C, bom Feb. 23, 1889, is in business at Philadelphia; Winfield, 
born Aug. 30, 1890, is deceased; Lydia Matilda, born March 23, 1892, is at 
home; Robert L., bom July 6, 1895, is at Girardville, working for his brother. 

HARRY D. LATTIMORE, outside foreman and master mechanic at the 
Morea colliery in Mahanoy township, operated by Weston Dodson & Co., is a 
mine worker of long and varied experience and well fitted for the important 
duties which have been intrusted to him. Mr. Lattimore belongs to a very old 
Pennsylvania family, founded in this country in 1736 by one John Lattimer, as 
the earlier generations spelled the name. He was of the Scotch-Irish race which 
has made so notable a contribution to the best citizenship of the State. He 
lived in Northampton county, acquired high reputation for his strong character 
and integrity, and left an excellent family to carry on his name. 

Robert Lattimore, son of John, married Nancy King, and among their 
children was William Lattimore, better known as General Lattimore, who was 
elected to the State Senate from Northampton county in 1805, his district in- 
cluding Wayne, Luzerne and Northampton counties. He was born in what is 
known as the Irish settlement in Northampton county, and lived and died there. 
His wife, Mary (Ralston), was the daughter of John and Christiana (King) 
Ralston, the former of whom took an active part in the Revolutionary war. 

James Lattimore, son of Gen. William Lattimore, was for many years 
connected with the government land offices located at the cities of Lancaster 
and Harrisburg, Pa. He married Catherine Weaver, daughter of Michael 
Weaver, of Weaversville, Northampton county, a prominent farmer and lead- 
ing member of the Lutheran Church. Mr. and Mrs. Lattimore had the fol- 
lowing children : William W. ; Ralston, who died in infancy ; May, who died 
in 1902, unmarried^ Alvida C. who married James Abbott ; John, who mar- 
ried Nancy Chase; Lenora N. S., who married Herman B. Graeff ; and Amelia 
D., Mrs. E. W. Abbott. 

William W. Lattimore was born in 1820, and died in 1889. He is buried 
at Tamaqua, this county. The last twenty years of his life were spent at New 
Boston, Schuylkill county, where he settled in 1869 and worked for the coal 
company until his death. He took a keen interest in local affairs, sen-ing as 
president of the Mahanoy township school board, was a Presbyterian in 
religious connection, and a member of the Masonic fraternity. He married 
Pauline L. Dithmar, of Northampton county, daughter of Henri (Hein) Jaques 
Dithmar, a native of France and of Huguenot ancestry. She still makes her 
home at New Boston. To Mr. and Mrs. Lattimore were born the following 
children: Caroline A. is the widow of Dr. Alonzo Amerman, who died at 

Vol. II— 4 



658 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PEXXSYLVANL\ 

Danville, Pa., Jan. 19, i886 (they had one son, Alonzo, who died in 1912, at 
the age of twenty-seven years) ; William A. holds a position with the Coal 
Company at New Boston ; Harry D. is next in the family ; Walter A., of Nor- 
ristown, Pa., married Nettie Richardson and has one daughter, Joan ; Arthur 
R. married Loretta Cooney, of Canada, and has one son, Arthur William ; 
Catherine A\'., unmarried, lives at home ; Elizabeth D. is unmarried and living 
at home; Pauline S. is the wife of William Douden, of Millersburg, Pa., and 
has three children, William L., Herbert C. and Dorothy. 

Harrj' D. Lattimore was born Nov. 14, 1861, at Tamaqua, Schuylkill Co., 
Pa. Coming to New Boston with his parents in 1S69, he received his educa- 
tion principally in the schools of Mahanoy township. In 1872 he started 
work as a clerk in Mahanoy City. Later he was in the employ of the Mill 
Creek Coal Company for two years, after which he clerked again for a short 
time. When fifteen years old he went back to school, attending for five months, 
during which period he was under the capable instruction of the late John J. 
Dolphin, Esq. He then taught school for one term, clerked in a store at 
Mahanoy City for one year, loaded coal at the New Boston colliery for one 
winter, and for two years was engaged in running a mine fan engine and 
hoisting, until December, 1886, when he was appointed outside foreman, serv- 
ing in that capacity up to 1889 at the New Boston colliery, following which he 
was engaged in public work, the driving of the Jeddo tunnel. His next posi- 
tion was that of master mechanic at the Buck Mountain and \'ulcan collieries, 
operated by the Mill Creek Coal Company, with whom he continued until 1909, 
when those collieries became the property of the Lehigh A'alley Coal Company, 
with whom he remained as master mechanic until 191 1. His skill and readiness 
in emergencies made him a valuable factor in the operations at the mammoth 
Buck Mountain breaker. In February, 191 1, Mr. Lattimore became outside 
foreman and master mechanic at the Morea colliery in Mahanoy township, 
carried on by Weston Dodson & Co., who employ about five hundred men at 
these workings, and here he has remained to the present. A man of dependable 
qualities, thoroughly conversant with all the details of his work, trustworthy 
in all things and of upright character, he has exerted an appreciable influence 
in the successful conduct of the collier>' and in maintaining satisfactory con- 
ditions among its employees. Most of this is due to his strong personality. 

Mr Lattimore married Ann D. Hay, daughter of Robert and Ann ( Douth- 
waite) Hay. They have two children, Harry D., Jr., and Robert, the former 
now associated with his father as chief machinist for the Dodson Coal Com- 
pany at the Morea colliery ; from 1905 to 1907 he served an apprenticeship in 
the Baldwin Locomotive Works, Philadelphia, and in 1910 associated himself 
with the Midvale steel works, first in the engineering department and later 
in the estimation department, and in 191 1 took his present position. Robert 
Lattimore is engineer in charge of the pumping station at Morea colliery. 

The family are Presbyterians in religious association. Socially Mr. Latti- 
more belongs to Mahanoy City Lodge, No. 357, F. & A. M., and to Mahanoy 
City Lodge. No. 695, B. P. O. Elks, and is highly esteemed among his fellow 
members. His eldest son also holds membership in these lodges. 

WILLIAM IVY BACHERT, farmer and fruit grower of Walker tov.'n- 
ship, is operating a modem farm noted especially for its fine orchards to 
whose development and maintenance he devotes most of his energies. Mr. 
Bachert is a representative citizen of his section of Schuylkill county, and a 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENXSYLVANL\ 659 

member of one of its old families, the Bacherts having been settled in East 
Brunswick township for several generations. There he was born July 25, 
1869, son of Elias Bachert, now a prominent farmer and miller of East 
Brunswick township. 

George Bachert, the greaji-grandfather of William I. Bachert, was a farmer 
in East Brunswick township, where he owned 100 acres of land, upon which 
he erected a log barn and stone house. He was a wheelwright as well as 
farmer. He had the following children : Jacob, John, Henry, Simon, Mag- 
dalena and Mrs. John Faust. George Bachert died aged eighty years, and is 
buried with his wife in a private graveyard on the homestead farm. He was 
a Democrat, and a member of the Frieden's German Lutheran Church. 

John Bachert, father of Elias, was reared and educated in East Brunswick 
township, and during his youth assisted his father. Later he bought a farm 
of 100 acres near the old homestead, and carried on farming all his life. 
Politically he was a Democrat, and in religion a Lutheran, he and his wife 
belonging to the Frieden's Church ; they are buried in its cemetery. Mr. 
Bachert married Elizabeth Zettlemoyer, who was born in Berks county. Pa., 
and the following children were born to this union : Jacob married Sarah 
Miller and both are deceased; Emmanuel died unmarried; James, deceased, 
married Flora Steigerwalt, who resides in West Brunswick township, this 
county ; Daniel died young ; Elias is next in the family ; Elizabeth married 
Jacob Houser, and both are deceased ; Laura married Aaron Eckroth ; Mollie 
died unmarried ; Katie died young. The father of this family lived to the 
age of eighty years, the mother dying at the age of sixty-eight. 

Elias Bachert, son of John, was born Aug. 14, 1843, in East Brunswick 
township, where he now owns and operates a valuable farm and mill property. 
He married Hannah Merkle, and they have had a large family, namely : 
Albert Robert, William Ivv, Elizabeth (deceased in infancv). Cordelia, John 
E., Richard E., Howard j'., Luther P., Thomas \\'. an<l (")scar P. A fuller 
account of this family appears in the biogra])hy of Elias Bachert. 

William Ivy Bachert grew up in East Brunswick township and there ob- 
tained a good common school education. His business and agricultural train- 
ing were highly practical, gained in assisting his father with the farm and 
mill work, and he continued thus until he reached the age of thirty years. 
Then he settled on his present property in Walker township, having bought 
the Dennis Leiby farm of fifty-three acres. Four acres are still in timber, 
the rest under cultivation, partly planted in fine orchards, the balance in gen- 
eral crops. Mr. Bachert has made fruit growing his particular care, and 
counts on his orchard products for most of his income, marketing them prin- 
cipally at Tuscarora and New Philadelphia, to which points he makes two or 
three trips weekly during the season. He has identified himself with the \ari- 
ous local movements for the improvement of farms and farming conditions, 
and is an interested worker in the Patrons of Husbandry, being a fourth 
degree member of the Lewistown Grange. Beyond this, however, he has 
taken little part in public matters, though he supports good movements when- 
ever he has the opportunity. He is a Democrat and a Lutheran, being a 
member and deacon of Zion's Church at Lewistown, Walker township. 

When twenty-eight years old Mr. Bachert married Carrie Edith Leiby, 
who was born Oct. 9, 1879, in Walker township, daughter of Dennis Leiby, 
received her education in the local schools there, and remained at home until 
her marriage. She is a member of the Reformed congregation of Zion's 



660 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENXSYLVANL\ 

Church, at Lewistowii. Mr. and Mrs. Bachert have had eight children, born 
as follows: William Dennis, June zj, 1S98; Clarence Harvey, Dec. 10, 1899; 
Mamie Yictoria, June 17, 1902 (died aged two years, eight months); Harry 
Edwin, Feb. 13, 1903; Verna Elizabeth, Sept. 12, 1905; Beulah May, Feb. 17, 
1909; Leon Stanley, Sept. 15, 191 1 ; Elva Margarite, June 9, 1913. 

Daniel Leiby, grandfather of Mrs. Bachert, was born in West Penn town- 
ship, this county, and was a shoemaker and a farmer. He was the owner of 
two farms in West Penn township, and later came to Walker township, where 
he bought a farm of over one hundred acres, much of which he cleared, hav- 
ing about eighty acres under cultivation. There he built a tine barn and 
made other improvements. He died on the farm at the advanced age of almost 
eighty years. His wife's maiden name was Steigerwalt, and they had children 
as follows: Dennis, father of Mrs. Bachert; Sarah, Mrs. John Schaller; 
Emma, Mrs. Adolph Berner; Amanda, Mrs. Mandus Hunsicker; Mary, Mrs. 
Thomas Schock ; Jonathan, who married Sarah Reinhart ; Daniel, who mar- 
ried Flora Miller; Israel, who married Lizzie Reiman ; Alvena, unmarried; 
Elias (his wife was Mamie) ; and Susanna, who died in childhood. The par- 
ents are buried in the cemetery of Zion's Reformed Church in West Penn 
township, to which church they belonged. Mr. Leiby was a Republican in 
politics. 

Dennis Leiby was born in West Penn township, Schuylkill county, July 
25, 1845, ^"d grew up there and in Walker township, receiving his education 
in the public schools of those townships. He worked for his father until 
he was of age, later was stable boss at Reevesdale for a mining company, hold- 
ing that position two years, and then settled down to farming on his own 
account in Walker township, buying land which is the farm his son-in-law. Mr. 
Bachert, now owns. He carried on general farming there until 1906, when 
he sold the farm to Mr. Bachert, and is now living retired practically. Mr. 
Leiby has always taken a leading part in township affairs, having held the 
offices of school director, constable, supervisor and auditor, to the entire satis- 
faction of his fellow citizens. Like his father he is a Republican and a member 
nf the Reformed Church, belonging to the Zion's congregation at Lewistown, 
in which he was formerly very active. Socially he holds membership in 
Washington Camp No. 57, P. O. S. of A., at Tamaqua. 

Mr. Leiby married Emmaline Yost, daughter of Samuel and Elizabeth 
( Merkle ) \'ost, and four children were bom to them, viz. : Carrie Edith, 
Mrs. William L Bachert; Gertrude May, who is married to George Schietman 
and resides at Tamaqua, Pa. ; Harry Preston, who died aged twenty-four 
years; and Mamie Elizabeth, who is married to Milton Merkle, and resides at 
Lewistown, ^\'alker township. 

Mrs. Emmaline (Yost) Leiby was born near Frisbie. in West Brunswick 
township, Schuylkill county, and died at the age of fifty-three years. She is 
buried at tewistown, in Walker township. Mrs. Leiby was a member of 
Christ Church at McKeansburg, but after her marriage to Dennis Leiby con- 
nected herself with Zion's Reformed Church at Lewistown, and was a member 
there until her death. 

Samuel Yost, the maternal grandfather of Mrs. William I. Bachert. was 
a farmer in West Brunswick township, the owner of a large tract of land, and 
also conducted a hotel for many years. He married Elizabeth Merkle, and 
they became the parents of a large family: Kitty married Giarles Lurwick, 
and both are deceased; Eliza married Harry Gerhard; Caroline is the widow 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 661 

of John Shutt; Sarah, deceased, married WilHam Bretz; Susanna is the 
widow of William Leiser; Mary died unmarried; Emmaline was Mrs. Dennis 
Leiby; Phoebe, deceased, married a Mr. Nagle; Samuel married Sarah Ger- 
hard; Frank married Kitty ; Lewis completes the family. The par- 
ents died on the farm and are buried at McKeansburg. Mr. Yost was a 
member of Christ Reformed Church at that place and a Republican in political 
conviction. 

WALTER E. UPDEGROVE, who is engaged in business as a shoe mer- 
chant at Muir. Schuylkill county, was born Nov. 2S, 1875, at Urvvin, Porter 
township, Schuylkill county, son of Theodore G. and Catherine ( Shadle) 
Updegrove, grandson of Solomon Updegrove and great-grandson of Conrad 
Updegrove. 

Conrad Updegrove, who was one of the earliest and best known among the 
pioneers of the Williams Valley, in Dauphin county, Pa., was a great hunter, 
and many stories are still told of his skill and prowess in this direction. Dur- 
ing the days when game of all kinds was plentiful, he had many experiences 
with bears, and at one time would have been killed by one of these beasts had 
it not been for his faithful dogs. As it was he bore the marks of this 
encounter up to the day of his death. He was one of the sturdy, energetic, 
industrious men of his day who laid broad and deep the foundation for ad- 
vancement and progress, and lived a long, active and useful life, passing away 
at the advanced age of ninety-four years, three months, fifteen days. His 
home at that time was on the present site of Williamstown, Dauphin county. 

Solomon Updegrove, the grandfather of Walter E. Updegrove, was born 
in Dauphin county. Pa., and early adopted the trade -of shoemaker, which he 
followed off and on during the greater part of his life, although he also 
engaged in other occupations. He was a local preacher of the Evangelical 
Church, and for some years was engaged in farming in Dauphin county, but 
in later life disposed of his property and moved to a farm in Juniata county, 
remaining there until he retired from active work. He then sold his farm 
and went to live at the home of his daughter, Mrs. William Long, at Forks, 
Porter township, Schuylkill Co., Pa., where he died at the age of seventy-five 
years. He was laid to rest in the cemetery at Williamstown. Mr. Upde- 
grove was a man highly esteemed in the various communities in which he 
resided, being possessed of those sterling qualities which command respect. 
He married Barbara Rickert, who died at Williamstown. Pa., and they became 
the parents of the following children : John ; Jacob ; Conrad ; Solomon, who 
fought in a Pennsylvania regiment of volunteers during the Civil war; 
Charles ; Theodore G. ; Catherine, who married Israel Helt ; Elizabeth, who 
married Edward Hand ; Elmira, who married John Hockenbrocht ; Lucetta, 
who married Isaac Dressier; Sarah, who married Isaac Brooker; and Mary, 
who married William Long. 

Theodore G. LTpdegrove, the father of Walter E. Updegrove, was born at 
Williamstown, Dauphin Co., Pa., and after attaining an ordinary educational 
training in the public schools started to learn tlie trade of shoemaker under the 
instruction of his father. After mastering his vocation, he followed it in 
Juniata and Columbia counties, and at Tower City, Schuylkill county, and 
later came to the community of Reiner City (Muir P. O.), where he began to 
build up a trade. Here, as he prospered, he built a residence and store, in 
which latter he established his place of business as a dealer in boots and shoes, 



662 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 

and continued to be successfully engaged in this line right up to the time of 
his death, which occurred in 1899. He had inherited the qualities of industry, 
honesty and fidelity from his forebears, and in all his business dealings was 
known to be above-board and straightforward. He was a good and public- 
spirited citizen, who took an interest in the advancement of his community 
and who could be counted upon to serve it in any way he was able. Mr. 
Updegrove was buried in the cemetery at Muir. He married Catherine 
Shadle, a daughter of George and -Maria (Guard) Shadle. George Shadle 
was a resident of Porter township, where he was stable boss for the Lincoln 
colliery, and met his death by being killed by a train while in the performance 
of his duty. Mr. and Mrs. Updegrove became the parents of the following 
children: Walter E. ; Charles Howard; Henry O., who is deceased; Ella M.. 
who is the wife of Prof. H. O. Unger, a teacher in the public schools of Muir; 
Laura A., who is the wife of Prof. George D. Nelson, a teacher in the public 
schools of Orwin ; and Theodore G. Jr., who resides at Muir. 

Walter E. Updegrove secured his education in the public schools of Porter 
township, which he attended when not engaged in working to aid in his own 
support. An evidence of his thrift and industry as a lad is found in the fact 
that from the time he was nine until he was sixteen years of age he, assisted 
by his brothers and sisters, carried the mail from Orwin to the people of 
Reiner City, this being before the establishment of the post office at Muir. 
He also gave his services to the farmers of his community and worked at the 
shoemaking trade, accepting whatever honorable employment came his way 
and performing all his tasks in an able, thorough and cheerful manner. When 
he was eighteen years of age he began teaching in the public schools of Porter 
township, and for twelve years continued to be engaged in work as an educator. 
At the time of his father's death. Mr. Updegrove took over the management 
of the business, which he conducted for his mother for seven years, buying 
it on July 5. 1906, since when he has continued to carry it on with much suc- 
cess. "He has a carefully selected stock of the latest footwear, and is enjoy- 
ing an excellent patronage among the people among whom he has lived for so 
long, and whose wishes and needs he well knows. 

Mr. Updegrove was married to Nora M. Gamber, daughter of Henry 
Gamber, who resided in Clark's Valley, Porter township. To this union there 
have been born the following children : Prof. Harry H., a graduate of the 
Keystone State Normal School, Kutztown, Pa., class of 1915, and now teach- 
ing at Reinerton, Schuylkill county: Elsie M., a member of the class of 1916, 
of the Porter township high school; Esther M., who is attending the Porter 
township high school; T. Walter, who is attending school; and James Arthur 
and Norman Henry, at home. 

Always a friend of education, Mr. Updegrove has long been well and 
favorably known in educational circles in this part of the State. ^ During the 
last four years he has been secretary of the School Directors' Association 
of Schuylkill county, and from the time he ceased teaching school has been a 
member' of the school board of Porter township, having served as president 
thereof and now being secretary of that body. Outside of his shoe business 
he has other interests, and for three years has been secretary of the Williams 
Vallev Savings Fund and Building Association. Fraternally, he belongs to the 
Patriotic Order Sons of America, which he joined twenty-four years ago, and 
the Junior Order United American Mechanics, of which he became a mem- 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 663 

ber sixteen years ago, and also holds membership in the local lodge of the 
Knights of Pythias. His good citizenship has never been doubted. 

SAMUEL J. DEIBERT, deputy prothonotary of Schuylkill county, Pa., 
has been engaged at the courthouse for the last twenty years, in various capac- 
ities, and his obliging service and long continuance in public posititjns have 
made him a popular as well as familiar figure in the official circles of Potts- 
ville. He was born March 31, 1858, at Schuylkill Haven, this county, where 
he maintains his home. 

Samuel Deibert, father of Samuel J. Deibert, was the son of John and 
Christina Deibert, and was reared on his father's farm in North Alanheim 
township, Schuylkill Co., Pa. He had such schooling as is common to the 
average country boy. He was born in the year 1818, and remained beneath the 
parental roof up to the age of twenty-five, when he engaged with his brothers 
John and Jacob at Schuylkill Haven in boatbuilding. After a brief period 
in that line he embarked in the mercantile business at the same place, which 
he successfully conducted until the time of his death, in 1867. To his first mar- 
riage, with Mary Essert, were born one son, Thomas, and one daughter, 
Emma, who became the wife of Martin Fisher. No heirs came of this alliance. 
His second wife was Mary A. Sterner, daughter of Jacob and Anna Sterner, 
and to this union were born three children, viz.: Alice, Thomas I. and Sam- 
uel J. It may be justly recorded that Samuel Deibert was a most modest 
man, and though prominent in business and benefactions shrunk from eulogy 
and praise, but he was a man revered, and one whose place cannot well be 
filled. In religious affiliation he was a Lutheran. 

Samuel J. Deibert obtained a public school education at Schuylkill Haven, 
and learned the carpenter's trade, which he followed for about twenty years. 
During Dr. Daniel Dechert's term as county treasurer he came as a clerk to 
his office, serving there one year. After that he became deputy treasurer 
under Elias Davis, holding that position for a period of almost three years, 
until the death of Mr. Davis, which occurred Nov. 11. 1899. The county 
commissioners appointed Mr. Deibert treasurer for the unexpired term, and 
he discharged the duties of the office for six weeks. In August, 1900, he 
became deputy prothonotary under W. S. Leib, and served to the end of his 
term, subsequently serving six years in the same capacity under Samuel H. 
Gore, and continuing under his successor, the present prothonotary, John W. 
Reese. Up to now he has been in the public service for twenty years. His 
courtesy and efficiency have combined to make him a most desirable official 
in the office and sought by those who have business there, his work being 
greatly apprcriatcil by all who have had occasion to call for his services. His 
I)oliticnl association is with the Republican party. Mr. Deibert makes his 
home at Schuylkill Iia\cn, and at one time served as assessor of that borough. 

Mr. Deibert married La\ ina P>itzer, daughter of Conrad and Anna Bitzer, 
and they have had four children, namely: Alice, Ralph, Samuel and Willis. 
Alice is the wife of Rev. William Schlappich. of the Evangelical denomination, 
now stationed at Perkasie. Pa. Ralph Deibert received his early education 
in the schools of Schuylkill Haven and Pottsville, later attending Franklin 
and Marshall College, at Lancaster. Pa., and entering the ministry of the 
Evangelical denomination : he is now pastor of a church at Myerstown. Pa. 
Samuel, who is at home, is an assistant in the Schuylkill Haven Trust Com- 



664 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PEXXSYLVAXL\ 

pany. Willis, also at home, is bookkeeper or clerk at the Schuylkill County 
Hospital for the Insane. 

A. FRANK GEIST, of Hegins, is a business man who has attained honor- 
able standing by giving his patrons the best accommodations to be obtained 
in the local market, and he is equally esteemed for his worth as a man. 

The Geist family to which he belongs is of pioneer stock of Northumber- 
land county, this State, where he and his father were born. His grandfather, 
Peter Geist, lived and died there, following his trade of blacksmith and also 
engaging in farming. The history of the family has been lately traced back 
to the year 1129. From the Official Register of the Holy Roman Empire, we 
find that the family has an official '"Coat of Arms" and is of the nobility of 
Ravensburg, Germany. A copy of this "Coat of Arms" is in the hands of A. 
F.' Geist. of Hegins, Pennsylvania. The word Geist has been spelled in six 
different ways. We find it first Gayst — \'an Wildeneck, A. D. 1129, King. 
In 1300 we find it spelled Geyst, in 1590 Geist, in 1750 Goist in Germany, 
and in the Colonies of America Geist and Gist. In 1S42 and to the present 
time it is spelled Guist in Germany and in the United States Guist and Geist. 

The family to which A. F. Geist belongs and whose biography appears 
later, emigrated from Lorraine, Germany, with the Schwenkfelders' colony 
in or about the year 1725 and settled at Pottstown, Montgomery Co., Pa., 
where A. F. Geist's great-grandfather, Andrew Geist, was born on Jan. 26, 
1755. This great-grandfather of A. F. Geist came to what was then and is 
yet known by some people as Swoven Creek or Green Brier post office, Nor- 
thumberland Co., Pa., in or about the year 1777. He came to this place in his 
young manhood and took up a tract of land from the United States govern- 
ment about the time of the Revolutionary war, consisting of about three hundred 
acres situated half way between the Leek Kill and Green Brier post offices. 
He died Dec. 18, 1849. «it the age of ninety-four years, ten months, twenty-three 
days, on the old homestead which he obtained from the United States govern- 
ment, and is buried at Himmel's Church, Roebuck's post office, or about four 
miles west from the old homestead. This church property consists of a beauti- 
ful church situated on a tract of land given by the United States government 
to the Refomied and Lutheran congregations for church and school purposes ; 
said property is today under the control of these congregations and in its ceme- 
tery are buried some soldiers who fought in the Revolutionary war. 

\\'hile great-grandfather Andrew Geist was working on this homestead in 
Swoven Creek, he had but one cow on these three hundred acres of land, and 
this cow had no tail. During this period the Revolutionary war was in 
progress and Andrew was drafted to sen-e in this great war for freedom, and 
not desiring to serve he sold this tailless cow in order to raise money to buy a 
substitute to serve in his place. It was during this time, from the landing of 
the Schwenkfelders" colony to the close of the Re\X)lutionary war, that the 
word Geist was spelled Gist, appearing this way on official records and papers 
examined by R. P. Geist, justice of the peace. Green Brier, Northumberland 
Co., Pa.. 1915. 

On the homestead of Andrew Geist, the grandfather of A. F. Geist, Peter 
Geist, was born Dec. 21, 1804, and died at this place on Jan. 8, 1875, aged 
seventy years, eighteen days. He is buried at St. John's Reformed and 
Lutheran Church, Leek Kill, Pa. In his boyhood days Peter left the old home- 
stead and went to Washingtonville, Montour Co., Pa. There he learned his 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PEXXSYLVANL\ 665 

trade, that of blacksmith. He also married at this place and soon after moved 
back onto the old homestead in Swoven Creek, where he continued at his trade 
and did farming. Here Jacob, the father of A. F. Geist, was born Feb. ii, 1835. 

Jacob Geist, father of A. Frank Geist, learned the trade of carpenter in 
his youth and followed that calling all his life. In 1S81 he came to Hegins, 
Schuylkill county, where he continued work at his trade and resided to the 
end of his days, dying in the year 1898. His widow, whose maiden name was 
Catherine Schwartz, still lives in Hegins township, near Hegins, on the Geist 
home place. She was born in Hegins township, Schuylkill county, where her 
father, Abraham Schwartz, engaged in farming and made his home until his 
death. Eight children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Jacob Geist, four sons and 
four daughters, namely : Ellen is the widow of Samuel E. Schwalm and lives in 
Hegins township, at what was known as Kessler's gristmill ; S. Calvin resides 
at Hegins; Elizabeth is the wife of S. R. Masser, who has a general store at 
Hegins ; Cora is married to A. C. Kessler, a farmer of Hegins township ; Katie 
is married to Harry Leonard, of Tremont, Schuylkill county, baggagemaster 
in the employ of the Philadelphia & Reading Railway Company; A. Frank is 
next in order of birth ; Thomas J. is a graduate of the Franklin and Marshall 
College, Lancaster, Pa., and now engaged as a teacher at Ephrata, Lancaster 
Co., Pa. ; Nathan Francis is doing a general hauling and teaming business at 
Hegins, where he lives. 

A. Frank Geist was born in 1877 in Northumberland county. Pa., and has 
lived at Hegins from early boyhood. He began his education in the Hegins 
township schools, later attended graded school at Hegins, and supplemented 
his public school training with a course at the Shamokin (Pa.) business college, 
in his native county. In his young manhood he taught eight terms of school 
in Hegins township, during the winter season, finding employment the rest of 
the year at the carpenter's trade, which he learned partly under his father's 
tuition. It was only a step from'that vocation to his present line. In 1907 
he established the lumber trade and planing mill at Hegins which has since 
occupied most of his time. His experience as a carpenter has proved an extra 
qualification for' the business he now follows, assisting him in judging the 
quality of materials and filling mill orders intelligently. No doubt his knowl- 
edge of building materials and requirements has had much to do with the 
prosperity of his enterprise, for it has l)een gratlfyingly successful, and the 
plant is considered one of the most useful industrial establishments in the 
locality. Mr. Geist is looked upon as a trustworthy man in every respect. His 
fellow members in the I. O. O. F. lodge at Hegins have chosen him secretary, 
and he is serving at present as treasurer of the Reformed Church of Hegins, 
to which he and his wife belong. Fidelity to all his obligations is one of the 
most noteworthy characteristics he possesses. 

In 1900 Mr. Geist married Katie Bair, a native of Hegins township, and five 
children have been born to this marriage: Allen H., Guy A., Lloyd W., Tillie 
V. and Earl B. 

Cyrus W. B.\ir, Mrs. deist's father, was born in Perry county. Pa., and 
her grandfather, Joseph Bair. was also a native of that county. The latter was 
a farmer by occupation. The father learned the trade of plasterer, and besides 
following same farmed and taught school, following his profession for more 
than thirty years, in the Mahantongo valley. Schuylkill county, and in Dauphin 
county. He died in njio, and is buried at Fountain, in Hegins township. He 
was twice married, first to Isabella Otto, a native of Hegins township, daughter 



666 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

of David Otto, a farmer of that township. Mrs. Isabella Bair died about 
twenty-tive years ago, and is buried in the cemetery at Fountain. She was the 
mother of two children, Mrs. Geist being the elder; the younger, Jesse A. Bair, 
lives at Ashland, Schuylkill county. For his second wife Mr. Bair married 
Mrs. Sarah Smith, of Barry township, Schuylkill county, and to this union were 
born three children: Lydia is the wife of Robert Eckler, of Hegins; Roy S. 
and Stephen A. also live at Hegins, making their home with their sister, Mrs. 
Eckler. 

EPHRAIM YARNALL owns and occupies a beautiful farm property in 
Barry township which has been developed entirely by the Yarnalls. The fam- 
ily is one of old standing in this section of Schuylkill county and was estab 
lished here by Isaac Yarnall, grandfather of Ephraim, who came from New 
Jersey and settled in the Mahanoy valley. He took up government land and 
followed farming. His family consisted of eight children, viz. : Anna, John, 
Jonathan, Francis, Asa, Elijah, .\.nnie, and one that died young. 

John Yarnall, father of Ephraim, was born in Mahanoy township, this 
county, and lived to the age of eighty-three years. He settled on the farm 
in Barry township where his son Ephraim now lives, cleared the land, and 
made great progress in the work of improvement, which he carried on for 
many years. He is buried in the cemetery near the farm. Mr. Yarnall mar- 
ried Mary Rodenbeier, who was born near Ashland, this county, daughter of 
an old settler in this part of the State, Jacob Rodenbeier. He kept the hotel 
known as the Red Taveni, near Centralia. Mr. Rodenbeier had ten children, 
namely: Jacob, Solomon, Peter, Philip, David, Rebecca, Mary, Lydia, Susan 
and Sarah. Mrs. Yarnall died near Ashland. Of her six children, Mary, 
Martha. John, Ephraim, Reuben and Ezra, Ephraim is the only survivor. 

Ephraim Yarnall was born in 1837 in Barry township and grew up on the 
farm, attending school in an old log building nearljy. During his school years 
he gave his spare hours to assisting with the farm duties at liome, and subse- 
quently devoted all his time to the operation of the home i)lace, working in 
partnership with his father until the latter retired because of advancing age. 
Under his competent management the home tract has undergone steady im- 
provement, Mr. Yarnall sparing neither thought nor labor in the advancement 
of his "work. Modern methods, the intelligent application of various up-to- 
date ideas, have resulted in increased production along different lines, and Mr. 
Yarnall has also taken much pleasure in beautifying his surroundings, as the 
attractive arrangements and comfortable home conditions testify. His opin- 
ions on public questions, as in his chosen calling, are considered practical and 
worthy of attention, and liis neighbors have shown their faith in his views 
and character by electing liim to represent them in various capacities. In the 
offices of township supervisor and member of the school board he has done 
good work for the locality. 

In i860 Mr. Yarnall married Lucy Sigenfuse, who was born in the same 
part of Barry township as himself, her parents, Charles and Susan (Bixler) 
Sigenfuse, having settled there many years ago. Mrs. Sigenfuse was born 
in Mahantongo. She and her husband died when comparatively young. Their 
family con-iisted of six cliildren: Betsy, now the wife of Elias Slopick. of 
Alount C.irniel ; Lydia. wife of Jacob Umlauf, of Mount Carniel ; Susan, Mrs. 
F'eter Bradburv. of 'l",'una(|ua, this county; Charles, a resident of Allentown, 
Pa.; Elias; and Lucy, Mrs. Yarnall. 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PEXXSYLVANL\ 667 

Of the thirteen children born to Mr. and Mrs. Yarnall several are deceased; 
William and Franz live at home; Charles and Irvin are also located in Barry 
township; Sallie is the wife of Sam Kessler, a farmer of Barry township; Cora 
is married to Thomas Hoch, of Barry township; Katie is the wife of Albert 
Moser, of Pottsville. Mr. and Mrs. Yarnall are members of the United 
Brethren Church. 

WILSON R. DINGER, a farmer of Porter txDwnship, was born in Hegins 
township Feb. 26, 1850, son of Jonathan Dinger, and grandson of Peter Dinger. 
The great-grandfather, Frederick Dinger, came from Berks county, Pa., to 
become one of the first settlers of Hegins township, Schuylkill Co., Pa. Sub- 
sequently he moved to Lower Mahanoy township, where he died upon farm- 
ing property owned by him. 

Peter Dinger, the grandfather, was an officer of the war of 1812. He 
was also a farmer of Hegins township, settling on the homestead, his farm 
being located about two and a half miles above the borough of Hegins, and 
comprising 225 acres of land. There he died. The maiden name of his wife 
was Magdalena Hand, and they had these children : Catherine, who married 
Jacob Crone; Elizabeth, who married John Horn; Mrs. Eliza Seitz; Peter; 
Daniel; William, and Jonathan. The latter was a farmer of Hegins township, 
the Dinger family forming a little settlement in this township, and there he 
resided until his death at the age of sixty-nine years. He is buried in Fountain 
cemetery. Jonathan Dinger married Catherine Dinger, a daughter of George 
Dmger, of Hegins township, and their children were : Joel, who was a hotel 
man of Pottsville, Pa., died in 1914; Frank is a resident of Hegins township; 
Wilson R. is mentioned below; Amanda married John Stutzman; Alice mar- 
ried (first) Aaron Heater and (second) Harvey Kline. 

Wilson R. Dinger was reared on the family homestead, and made his home 
there until he was fifty-three years old, for many years having sole charge of 
the property. In 1913, however, he bought the Berger farm at Tower City, 
and has forty acres of land in an excellent state of cultivation. Mr. Dinger 
married Maria Lucas, a daughter of Emanuel Lucas, and they ha\c one daugh- 
ter, Irene Catherine, born Feb. 21, 1915. Independent in his political views, 
Mr. Dinger votes for the man rather than according to party regulations. 
He has served some years as township auditor. He is a member of the 
Lutheran Church, and Mrs. Dinger is a member of the Church of God at 
Weishample. Fraternally he belongs to the K. G. E. 

Mr. Dinger was one of the organizers of the First National Dank of 
Hegins, and served on its directorate for five years, but refused further serv- 
ice, although elected, feeling that he was too far away from the bank. He is 
still a stockholder. The Dinger family is one of the best known and most 
highly respected in this part of the county, and the individual members are 
proving themselves worthy of their name. 

HENRY W. KR.\L^S is one of the leading spirits in agricultural progress 
in Ryon townshi]). where he has a fine farm and dairy, both branches of his 
business exempli fxini; his achancefl ideas, which have had a noticeable efifect 
on raising standards all n\er his section of Schuylkill county. 

Mr. Kraus was born Feb. 17, 1862, at Mahanoy City, this county, son of 
William and Mary (Kraus) Kraus, both of whom were natives of Germany, 
the father born at Seise, the mother at Reigelsdorf , in the same vicinity. Wil- 



668 SCHUYLKILL COUiNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 

liam Kraus came to America when seventeen years old, and first located at 
Tamaqua, Schuylkill Co., Pa., for a time following mining, but later turning 
to the butcher business. Moving to Mahanoy City he carried on business there 
for several years, until he purchased the John Schlear farm in Ryon township, 
a tract of 150 acres which is considered one of the finest properties in the 
valley. Most of the buildings on that place are of his construction, though 
part of the old house built in 1829 is still standing. There Mr. Kraus died in 
1888, at the age of fifty-six years, and he is buried at Tamaqua. To him and 
his wife were born nine children, four of whom survive: Mary, who married 
Mack McMinity and settled in Meadville, Pa. ; Anna, widow of John Lathan ; 
William, of Rush township, this county ; and Henry W. 

Henry \V. Kraus received his education in the public schools of Jonestown, 
Lebanon county, and Mahanoy City, meantime assisting his father in the 
butcher business until he reached the age of fourteen years. He has since been 
occupied with farm work. In 1896 he purchased the homestead place in Ryon 
township, above mentioned, and in the twenty years which have elapsed since 
has made numerous improvements thereon, his place being one of the most 
valuable in the locality. He has taken pleasure in developing the property, 
which shows the intelligent interest with which he has followed modern meth- 
ods, everything about the farm being up-to-date. He has been foremost in en- 
terprise among the farmers of his neighborhood in adopting new ideas for 
economy of labor and assuring good results, and his success has been an encour- 
agement to others in many ways. Mr. Kraus has a fine dairy, operated in 
accordance with modern views on the production of clean, wholesome milk, 
which he ships daily. As a manager he has shown business ability beyond the 
ordinary, and he has not limited his activities to his farm work, supporting 
any movements which hold promise of benefiting the community. He is presi- 
dent of the Lakeside Rural Telephone Company, whose line has been a great 
convenience in the neighborhood. For six years he was a member of the town- 
ship board of school directors, and he has taken an active part in promoting 
the work of the Grange in his locality, whereby many excellent ideas have 
been brought to the attention of the farming population. Socially he is a mem- 
ber of the Loyal Order of Moose, and his religious connection is with the 
German Lutheran Church. His neighbors regard him as one of the most 
valuable citizens in this region. 

In September, 1884, Mr. Kraus married Maude C. Mert, daughter of 
John Ififert, and the three children born to this union are all living at home, 
viz.: Gertrude, widow of Herbert Mengle; John W., who married Hattie 
Matthews (he is a member of the school board of Ryon township at present) ; 
and Maude C. 

ALEXANDER TPIOMP.'^^OX (deceased) was a native of Scotland, and 
came to this country during: hi^ >oung manhood. The rest of his life was 
spent in Schuylkill countw Pa., where he was widely and favorably known 
during his active, useful career. He first settled at Middleport, where he was 
engaged in hauling machinery, timber, etc., and later lived at the York Farm, 
near Potts\ille. which he bought, cultivating that tract for many years. He 
also had small drifts opened on the property and sold coal to the public, this 
being the first coal taken from the workings later developed into the famous 
York Farm colliery. After a long residence there he removed to Porter 
town.ship, in 1854, being one of the early settlers in this section, where he 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 669 

bought a farm of no acres, from which he subsequently sold a number of 
building lots for the town of Sharadin, which was laid out in 1869. This was 
his home until his death, which occurred Dec. 4, 1873 ; he is buried in the 
Greenwood cemetery in Porter township. Besides farming, Mr. Thompson 
also engaged in milling in Porter township, building a gristmill upon his tract 
which was known in his day as Thomps-on's mill. It was sold to Grimm & 
Womer, and later to the Reading Company, the present owners of the land. 
Mr. Thompson was a man of intelligence and strong character, and in his 
day was one of the most influential men in this section. 

By his first marriage, to Isabella Pennman, Mr. Thompson had nine chil- 
dren : George was killed at York Farm ; David P., deceased, was a soldier in 
the Civil war; Elizabeth, deceased, was the wife of Hiram Kimmel; Janette 
inarried Benjamin Houtz ; William died while serving in the Civil war; Alex- 
ander is living at Lykens, Pa. ; Robert is deceased ; Isabella is the widow of 
George Powell; James is living in West Virginia. For his second wife Mr. 
Thompson married Mary Bast, daughter of Isaac Bast, and by this union there 
was also a large family: Isaac B. ; George, who is now living in Alaska; 
Mary, wife of Daniel Stout; John, residing at Sharadin, Pa.; Andrew, a resi- 
dent of Michigan; Charles, deceased; Abraham, deceased; Winfield S., of 
Michigan; William I'. S. (i., deceased; Elmer E., of Sharadin; and Rebecca 
M., wife of Hoplin E\ans. living on the old Thompson homestead in Porter 
township. 

Hon. Alexander Thompson, eldest surviving son of Alexander Thompson, 
has been a very prominent man in his district, a member of the Dauphin 
county bar and at one time a member of the State Senate. During the Civil 
war he served in the Union army. His home is at Lykens, Dauphin county, 
and he is also very well known in Schuylkill county. Since 1912 he has been 
blind, having lost his sight in an explosion on his farm at Lykens. 

Is.x.Ac B. Thompson, eldest son of Alexander and Mary (Bast) Thompson, 
was born Dec. 26. 1S53, at York Farm, and had ordinary school advantages 
during his early boyhood. \Mien twelve years old he began picking slate, and 
he continued to be employed about the mines for a period of twenty-eight 
years. Then he turned to carpenter work, which he has been following ever 
since. His home is at Sharadin. in Porter township, and he is one of the well 
known citizens of the valley, having taken an active interest in local affairs 
for a number of years. He has been a member of the Porter township school 
board, and served the township as tax collector for twelve years. Socially he 
belongs to the Knights of Pythias at Tower City. Mr. Thompson was one of 
the executors of his father's estate, ser\ing with his brothers David P. and A. 
F. Thompson. 

Mr. Thompson married Mary Goodman, daughter of William Goodman, 
and the following children were born to them: Cora, wife of Francis W. 
Shomber; Arthur; Charles; Ralph; Lillie, deceased; Roy; Mary wife of 
Wilbur Kaufman; Carrie, wife of Harry Shomber; Russell; Lester, deceased; 
and Leona, wife of Clarence Lenkert. The family are Methodists in religious 
connection. Mrs. Thompson died in January, 191 1, and is buried in the Green- 
wood cemetery in Porter township. 

GABRIEL B. DERR, an old resident of the borough of Tremont, now 
living retired after many years in the service of the Philadelphia & Reading 
Railway Company, is a native of Schuylkill county and of old Pennsylvania 



670 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 

stock. His grandfather, John Derr, was born in this State, where the family 
has been estabhshed since, the pioneer period, the earher generations living in 
Lehigh county for many years and moving thence to Northumberland county. 
John Derr settled in the Shamokin valley in Northumberland county, remain- 
ing there until his death. He was a shoemaker by trade and also followed 
farming. Besides James, the father of Gabriel B. Derr, his children were : 
Benjamin, the eldest, who lived to be ninety-two years old ; Peter, the second, 
V'ho died at the age of eighty-nine years ; Jacob, who attained the age of ninety ; 
George, who died when fifty years old ; Kate ; Matilda ; Elizabeth, who 
reached the age of ninety-six years ; one that died in infancy ; and Mary. 

James Derr, son of John, was born in the Shamokin valley in Northum- 
berland county in the year 1818, and moved thence to Schuylkill county, set- 
tling in the Mahantongo valley in 1836. Afterwards he moved to Porter town- 
ship, and from there in i860 to Tremont, where he passed the remainder of 
his days, dying May 9, 1890. During his residence in this county James Derr 
engaged in farming, and also followed the lumber business. In Porter town- 
ship he married Catherine Haertter, who was born in Bavaria, Germany, 
daughter of Christ Haerttet. Her father was also born in Bavaria, Germany, 
and when he came to America first located at Reading, Pa., later moving to 
Pine Grove, Schuylkill county, and then to Porter township, this county, 
where he died in 1852. By trade he was a brushmaker, and he followed farm- 
ing as well. His children were : Christ, Jacob, Casper, Mary, Barbara and 
Catherine. Mr. and Mrs. James Derr had the following children : Regina, 
the eldest, now deceased; Gabriel B. ; John, who lives at Tremont; Catherine, 
deceased ; Mary, deceased ; Emma, deceased ; and George, deceased. All but 
Catherine died at Tremont, where, they are buried. 

Gabriel B. Derr was bom, June 13, 1844, in Porter township, this county, 
where he was reared. In his early boyhood he helped with the farm work at 
home, \Mien thirteen years old he came to Tremont, where he worked with 
his father in the timber business until 1868, in which year he .entered the 
employ of the Philadelphia & Reading Railway Company. He began rail- 
road work as a trackman, later became brakeman, and worked up to the posi- 
tion of conductor and baggageman, being so engaged for some time. He was 
retired July i, 19 14, and is now on the pension list. 

Mr. Derr is respected by all his fellow citizens, among whom he had a wide 
acc|uaintance. He is a prominent member of the Grand Army of the Republic, 
being commander of the post at Tremont. In 1864 he enlisted from Tremont, 
joining Company D, i6th Pennsylvania Volunteer Cavalry, with which he 
served until the close of the Civil war, being mustered out at Richmond, Vn., 
in August. 1865. He took part in the actions around Petersburg and in other 
important battles. Mr. Derr also holds membership in the P. O. S. of A. and 
the I. O. O. F.. at Tremont, and is especially interested in the Odd Fellows, 
having passed all the chairs in the local lodge. He is a member of the Lutheran 
Church in the borough. 

On March 27, 1873, Mr. Derr married Sarah Betz, and they have had 
children as follows: Emma and George (twins), Edward, Rutherford. 
Charles, Martha, and William, the last named deceased. George, who is living 
at Tremont, was in the service during the Spanish-American war, having 
enlisted from Philadelphia; Rutherford, who lives at Pottsville. this county, 
also sened in the Spanish-American war; Edward is a resident of Allentown, 
Pa.; Charles lives at Tremont; Martha is the wife of Leo Frille. of Tremont. 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLYANLA 671 

Peter and Esther (Bowen) Betz, Mrs. Derr's parents, settled in Potts- 
ville, Schuylkill county, in 1875, ^nd he followed the trade of painter there 
for many years. The family sulDsequently moved to Berwick, Pa., where Mr. 
and Mrs. Betz ended their days, her death occurring in March, 1905, his in 
July, 1913. He was one of a large family, among his brothers being Daniel 
and Charles. Mrs. Betz was also a member of a large family, her parents hav- 
ing children as follows: James, Henry, William, Charles, Sarah, Katherine, 
Susan, Esther and Emma. We have the following record of the children bom 
to Mr. and Mrs. Betz: Henry the eldest, is deceased; Edward is deceased; 
Howard is a resident of 'Schuylkill Haven; George lives at Pottsville, this 
county; Charles is located at Berwick; Sarah, who was born at Lehighton, 
Carbon Co., Pa., is Mrs. Gabriel B. Derr; Frank is in Philadelphia. The last 
named is a veteran of the Spanish-American war. Peter Betz, the father, 
served three years in the Union army during the Civil war. 

JOHN C. SCHILLING has been engaged in business at Ashland since 1900. 
He bears a name highly respected in this section, being a grandson of Peter 
Schilling, who emigrated to this country from Germany in 1855, settling at 
Ashland when it had but five houses on the present town site. He was em- 
ployed at the mines. During the Civil war he ser\-ed in the Union army, 
and he was a man of solid worth and one of the esteemed citizens of this 
region to the end of his days. At the time of his death he was living in Cen- 
tralia, just over the line in Columbia county. He was the father of three 
children, Philip, John and Peter, all of whom are now deceased. John moved 
out to Minnesota, where he took up government land, became wealthy, and 
remained there until the end of his days. 

Peter Schilling, son of Peter Schilling, was born in Bavaria, Germany, and 
was but a boy when the family came to America. He was soon afterwards 
bound out to a farmer, and continued to follow agricultural work until he 
became a young man, after which he was engaged on the railroad for forty 
years as foreman with the Philadelphia & Reading Company. In this capacity 
he built the Mine Hill railroad, the first railroad in this part of Pennsylvania. 
He was regarded as one of the substantial citizens of Ashland, where _he 
was a member of the Washington Fire Company and interested in all the 
affairs of the locality. He was a member of the Roman Catholic Church, and 
helped to build the first German Catholic Church at Ashland. Politically he 
was a stanch Democrat. ]\Ir. Schilling married Emma Schmidt, who was born 
at Reading, Pa., and died April 12, 1897, at Ashland. Of the children born 
to this union all died in infancy but John C. The father died at Ashland March 
10, 1911. 

Theodore Schmidt, father of Mrs. Peter Schilling, was a native of Ger- 
many, and learned the business of painting and decorating there, acquiring 
considerable reputation before his emigration to America. He settled at Read- 
ing. Pa., and afterwards came to Ashland, and followed his calling very suc- 
cessfully, being one of the finest in his line in this section of Pennsylvania. He 
died at Ashland when sixty-three years old. His wife's maiden name was 
Webber. He was the father of twenty-four children. 

John C. Schilling was born Sept. 27, 1874, at Ashland, where he was reared 
and educated. In 1900 he commenced business on his own account, establish- 
ing himself at his present location at No. 1839 Centre street. He has always 
carried a complete general stock and in 1904 he added a meat market, which 



672 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANLA. 

has been continued ever since. By honorable methods and his accommodat- 
ing disposition Air. SchiUing has succeeded in building up a profitable trade 
which has shown a wholesome increase from the beginning, and he has estab- 
lished himself among the substantial merchants of the borough. His thrift and 
reliability in business have attracted the attention of his fellow citizens, who 
have honored him with election as member of the council, in which body he 
has served two years, 1912-1914. His official duties are discharged with 
characteristic consideration for the best interests of his constituents. He is 
a member of St. Mauritius' Church at Ashland, and is a grand knight of Sarto 
Council, Knights of Columbus. 

On May 26, 1896, Mr. Schilling married Mary Llewellyn, who was born 
in Ashland, daughter of David and Mary ( Rhoades) Llewellyn, the former 
of whom died Nov. 21, 1901. He was an engineer at the mines. Mrs. Llewel- 
lyn, now (1914) sixty-one years of age, makes her home at Ashland. Their 
family consisted of sixteen children, and we have record of : David, who is 
foreman at the Excelsior colliery; Harry, a mason contractor; Mary, Mrs. 
Schilling; Hannah; William, head mechanic of the Excelsior colliery; Charles; 
Abraham, a graduate of Girard College, now engaged as a civil engineer. 

To Mr. and Mrs. John C. Schilling have been born seven children, of whom 
but three survive: Leo (now aged thirteen years), Emma and Catherine. 
The others died in infancy. 

VALENTINE W. QUIGEL, cashier of the First National Bank at Hegins, 
is considered one of the ablest financiers of his section of Schuylkill county. His 
reputation has been built up in years of exemplary service in positions of great 
responsibility, his present connection dating from the establishment of the 
bank, in 1908. 

Mr. Ouigel is a worthy representative of old Pennsylvania stock, the fam- 
ily having been founded here during the Provincial period. The name itself 
has been anglicized, its original form being Quickel. Quigel and its earlier 
variations are mentioned in a work on the "Teutonic Name System," by a Ger- 
man author, who claims that the root of the name is found in the ancient Norse 
language, the original meaning being "sword." The founder of the family was 
evidently a maker of swords or very dexterous in handling them, hence the 
surname. In the year 1736 there arrived at the port of Philadelphia, in ihe 
ship "Fantana," a number of German emigrants, among the passengers over 
sixteen years old being John M. and John P. Quigel, as well as other members 
of the family, including Christian, George and Peter Quigel. The "Fantana" 
sailed from Rotterdam, Holland, and it is probable the Quigels came to that 
port down the Rhine from their home in the Palatinate, in the Grand Duchy 
of Baden, where many bearing the name of Quickel are still to be found. Cnris- 
tian Ouigel was a son of John P. Quigel, "and they settled in Lancaster, the 
others in York county, Pa. (York county, however, was not separated from 
Lancaster until the late forties.) 

Qiristian Quigel, who came to this country in the "Fantana" with his father, 
John P. Ouigel, was the ancestor of \'alentine W. Quigel. He lived in Man- 
heim township, Lancaster Co., Pa., and enlisted from that township for service 
in the Revolutionary war, Aug. 27, 1776. He was a soldier in Colonel Swope's 
battalion, part of the troops of the celebrated "Flying Camp" commanded by 
General Washington on Long Island. Reference to his service may be found 
in the Pennsylvania Archives. Christian Quigel had six children : Peter, who 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 673 

was a soldier in the Revolution ; Balzer, who removed to that part of North- 
umberland county now known as Lycoming, and was the ancestor of the fam- 
ily at Quigelville; Nicholas, ancestor of the McElhattan (Pa.) Ouigels ; Philip, 
a Revolutionary soldier, ancestor of the branch of the family~found at Pine 
Station, Clinton Co., Pa.; Michael, who settled in Northumberland county (he 
was the ancestor of Hon. A. J. Quigley) ; and Catherine, who married John 
Myers. 

The descendants of these six children of Christian Quigel, as well as the 
other Quigels and Quickels who came to this country in the early days, have 
become scattered all over Pennsylvania, Ohio, the West and the South, and 
include a number of persons of dictinction and renown, notably Hon. William 
B. Allison, United States senator from Iowa, and Hon. Hoke Smith, secre- 
tary of the Interior in Cleveland's cabinet. The Maclaurin family of South 
Carolina, and the Montgomery, Allen, Crawford, Crane, Stewart, McCormick, 
White, Williams, Grier, Baird, Welsh, Guise, Mobly, Hess, Simons, Shaw, 
Hanna and other well known families of this section of Pennsylvania, are also 
connected with the Quigels. 

Balzer Quigel, son of Christian, married Rosanna Fink, by whom he had 
children : George, John and Michael. 

George Quigel, son of Balzer, died in 1884, aged ninety-six years. He mar- 
ried Leah Kinley, and their children were : Michael, Jesse, John, Ambrose, 
Mary Ann, Catherine, Lydia and Sophia. 

John Quigel, son of George, was bom July 9, 1838, at Quigelville, Lycom- 
ing Co., Pa., and was reared there. He had the common school advantages 
afforded in the home neighborhood, and followed farming throughout his 
active years. In religion he was a Lutheran, in politics a Democrat. During 
the Civil war he was in the Union service from September, 1862, to August, 
1863, belonging to Captain Dodd's company, of the 77th Pennsylvania Volun- 
teer Infantry. Mr. Quigel married Julia Ann Capple, a native of Germany, 
who came to America when two years old with her parents, George and Mar- 
garet Capple, both now deceased; the Capples resided in Lewis township, 
Lycoming county. Mr. and Mrs. John Quigel had three children, \'alentine 
W., Sylvester and Margaret. 

Valentine W. Quigel was born April i, 1862, at Quigelville, Lycoming Co., 
Pa. His education was acquired in the schools of his native county, and 
included instruction in the normal school at Muncy, Pa. In his early manhood 
he taught for three terms, but bookkeeping was his business profession, and he 
was engaged in that kind of work for years. In 1879 he went to Williams- 
port, Lycoming county, and entered the employ of J. C. Green & Co., with whom 
he remained until 1885. That year he became connected with the railway mail 
service, in which he continued during Cleveland's administration. For four 
years he was with the Gazette & Bulletin Publishing Association at Williams- 
port, served for five years as secretary of the Pennsylvania Beneficial Associa- 
tion, and in 1908 came to Hegins, where he has since been established. His 
comprehensive knowledge and understanding of financial questions was so gen- 
erally recognized that he was called upon to serve the city of Williamsport as 
treasurer and the county of Lycoming as auditor, filling each office for two 
terms to the entire satisfaction of his fellow citizens. 

The First National Bank of Hegins was organized April 23, 1908. with local 
capital, F. P. Barnd of Hegins being the first president and one of the original 
board of directors, his fellow members being : H. William Bressler, R. R. Artz, 
Vol. II— 5 



674 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

Mr. D. E. Kurtz, W. R. Dinger, S. W. Kessler, G. W. Baum, S. A. Buffington, 
H. H. Geist, Dr. W. D. Karterman, Moses Schadel and John W. Heckert. Dr. 
Karternian is now president, and serving with him on the board of directors 
are H. W. Bressler, VV. R. Dinger, H. H. Geist, W. W. Haas, M. W. Kessler, 
S. E. Kessler, H. Fred Lauer (of Ashland, Pa.), V. W. Quigel, Moses Schadel, 
L. L. Snyder and C. F. Otto. Mr. Lauer is secretary of the board. Mr. Quigel 
has filled the position of cashier uninterruptedly since the bank was organized, 
and his ser\'ices and advice have been of inestimable value in the direction of 
its affairs. The capital stock is $50,000, and there is at present a surplus of 
$12,000, the undivided profits amounting to over $2,000. The sound principles 
v.'hich have characterized the operation of the First National Bank of Hegins 
from the beginning have had an appreciably beneficial influence upon business 
activities in the town and adjacent territory in Schuylkill county. Much of 
the credit for the wholesome conditions it has helped to create and maintain 
must be assigned to Mr. Quigel's clear-headedness. 

Mr. Quigel is a Democrat in politics, in which he takes a real interest, a 
member of the Lutheran Church, and socially connected with the Royal 
Arcanum and Modern Woodmen of America. 

On July 8, 1886, Mr. Quigel married Jennie L. Smith, who died Jan. 5, 
1887. On Jan. 3, 1889, he married (second) Caroline Hadtner, and they have 
one child, Beatrice E., now an employee in the First National Bank at Hegins; 
Miss Quigel holds a commission as notary public. 

CHARLES A. SCHROPE, who is engaged in business at Tower City as a 
contracting miner, was born at Valley View, Schuylkill Co., Pa., in 1882, and 
is a son of George W. and Elizabeth (Smith) Schrope, grandson of Amos 
Schrope, great-grandson of John Schrope, and great-great-grandson of 
Andrew Schrope. 

.\ndrew Schrope was born in Germany, and at about the time of the 
war of the Revolution became a pioneer of \'alley Mew, Schuylkill county, 
where he took up a large tract of land. His operations were very extensive 
in scope, as may be judged from the fact that his property, now cut up, con- 
tained what is now six farms, all of great size. There he passed the remain- 
ing years of his life, one of the substantial and reliable men of his community, 
an influential voice in civic affairs and a force for progress and advancement 
along all lines. He died and was buried in the Sacramento community of 
Hubley township. He was the father of two sons, John and Andrew. 

John Schrope, son of the pioneer, followed in his father's footsteps and 
when ready to adopt an occupation of his own took up farming. Through 
thrift, industry and good management his affairs prospered, and he became 
►he owner of 325 acres of valuable land in Hegins township and a man of 
worth and substance in his locality. His life was devoted to the cultivation of 
the soil, and his death occurred near Sacramento, where he was laid to rest. 
Mr. Schrope married Maud Halderman, and they became the parents of four 
children : Amos, Jacob, Maria and Kate. After the death of his first wife 
Mr. Schrope was again married, to Lydia Haas, but there were no children 
born to this union. 

Amos Schrope, the grandfather of Charles A. Schrope, was born on his 
father's homestead in Hegins Township, Schuylkill Co., Pa., and there received 
his education and grew to manhood. \\'hen ready to establish a home of 
his own he secured a part of the homestead place, 105 acres, to the cultivation 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PEXNSYLVAXL\ 675 

and development of which he devoted the entire period of his active hfe. He 
still survives, in comfortable retirement, at his home at \alley Yiew. Mr. 
Schrope has upheld the family name for public-spirited participation in civic 
affairs, and has served capably and faithfully in various offices, including 
those of school director and tax collector. Always a man of the strictest 
integrity, he has well merited the esteem and confidence in which he is held 
by those among whom his life has been passed. Mr. Schrope married Harriet 
Haas, daughter of Isaac Haas, of Mahantongo Valley, and four children were 
born to this union : Monroe, who is deceased ; George W. ; Ellen, who is the 
wife of Emanuel Schnieltz ; and Webster, who resides with his father at \'al- 
ley View. 

George W. Schro]5e, father of Charles A. Schrope. was born at \'alley 
View, Hegins township, Schuylkill Co., Pa., Oct. lo, 1864, and received his 
education in the public schools of that community. He remained at home on 
the farm, assisting his father, until he was seventeen years of age, at which 
time he secured employment as a laborer at the Brookside colliery. Later he 
turned his attention to mining, at which he was engaged for about fifteen 
years, then returning to the homestead and engaging in farming for eight 
years. Then he again went to the P)rookside colliery, where for three years 
he was a miner, and through his efforts won promotion to the position of 
assistant inside foreman, a capacity in which he acted for seven years. In 1912 
he was made foreman at the East Brookside colliery, and this post he continues 
to fill, being one of his company's most trusted men. Mr. Schrope married 
Elizabeth Smith, daughter of John Smith, of Mahantongo Valley, and to this 
union there were born the following children : Charles A. ; John, whose 
death occurred when he was seven years old ; Kate, who is the wife of 
Charles Long; Lillie, who is the wife of Harry Miller; George, who resides 
at Tower City; Robert, also a resident of that community; Minnie, who is 
the wife of A. Hoffler; Jacob, who is a student at HaverfOrd College; Eva, 
wife of Charles Shuey; Mabel, who resides with her parents; and Harriet, 
who died when nine months old. The mother of these children died in April, 
1913, deeply mourned by a wide circle of friends. Mr. Schrope is one of the 
well known men of his community and an influential factor in civic affairs. 
He has served capably as a member of the school board of Tower City. Fra- 
ternally he is affiliated with the local lodges of the Junior Order United Amer- 
ican Mechanics, the Improved Order of Red Men and the Loyal Order of 
Moose. 

Charles A. Schrope was still a lad when brought by his parents to Tower 
City, and here his education was secured in the public schools. He was but a 
boy when he secured employment in the mines, and when only seventeen years 
of age began to cut coal, a business at which he has spent the greater part of 
his life. For three years he was fire boss at the Siher Creek colliery, at the 
end of that time returin"ng to Tower City, and he is now emjilnved at the West 
1!rookside colliery, where he is known as a highly efficient, reliable and faith- 
ful workman nnrl skilled miner. As a citizen he has been a leader in move- 
ments whicli ha\e made for progress and advancement, and has willingly given 
of his ser\ices in behalf of the elevation of educational standards", having 
served for some years as a member of the school board of Porter township. 
He also took the census of that township in igio. Fraternally Mr. Schrope is 
a member of the Junior Order United American Mechanics, Improved Order 



676 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

of Red Men, Knights of Pythias and Loyal Order of Moose, in all of which 
orders he has numerous warm friends. 

Mr. Schrope was united in marriage with Anna May Heartter, daughter of 
David Heartter, of Reinerton, Pa., and to this union there have been born 
live children, namely : Susie, Annie, Charles, Eva and Beatrice, who died 
when seven months old. 

WILLIAM W. KAUP is undoubtedly one of the best known residents of 
Rush township, where he has a good farm which he cultivates, and also acts 
as mail carrier on Rural Route No. 2, out of Tamaqua, covering his home 
township and part of Ryon township. He has filled a number o»f public 
offices in the township, and in the discharge of all his responsibilities has shown 
consistent integrity and fidelity to the interests of his fellow citizens, in whose 
respect he feels well rewarded. Mr. Kaup is a native of the township, born 
July 16, 1851, son of William Kaup and grandson of John Kaup. 

John Kaup was born Dec. 23, 1783, in W'urtemberg, Gemiany, and when 
he came to America settled in Schuylkill county. Pa., first in West Penn town- 
ship, whence he removed to Rush township in the year 1830. He owned a 
farm of forty-seven acres about two miles from Tamaqua, which he cleared, 
and the stable which he built there in 1831 is still standing. He also erected 
a log house on the property. His death occurred Jan. 21, 1S53, in his seven- 
tieth year, and he is buried at Dutch Hill, Tamaqua. His wife, Anna (Ben- 
singer), born in April, 1788, died in January, 1849. Their children were: 
Lucetta, Mrs. William Kramer; William; Levi, who died in Illinois; Solomon, 
who died in Ohio; Priscilla, Mrs. Harry Bischofif; Benjamin, who died in 
Ohio; Maltida, Mrs. Abraham Boocher; Daniel, who died at Williamsport, 
Pa. ; and Sarah Ann, Mrs. Charles Phillips. 

William Kaup, son of John, was born in 181 1, and died at the age of 
seventy-seven years. He was buried in the White Cliurch cemetery in Rush 
township. He followed farming on his father's homestead, in Rush township, 
continuing to engage in agricultural pursuits throughout his life. He was one 
of three men who had charge of the teams that hauled the first engine, from 
Philadelphia, shipped from England for the Little Schuylkill Mining Com- 
pany at Tamaqua. His progressive spirit is shown in his advocacy of the 
public school system, in the establishment of which he took an active part. 
He married Lydia Lindner, daughter of Samuel Lindner, whose wife was a 
Sensensdorfer, member of a Revolutionary family ; the Lindners were of 
German origin. Children as follows were born to this union : Isabella, who 
married Thomas Baker ; Sevilla, who married William Reinhart ; Solomon, 
who died when twenty-two years old; Mary M., who married Lewis Kline; 
Sarah Ann, who died in infancy ; William W. ; and Lydia E. 

William W. Kaup was reared upon the homestead farm, where he now 
makes his home. He has not devoted all his life to agriculture, having for 
several years been associated with the American Ice Company as superintend- 
ent of their Schuylkill county plant. After his parents died he took the home 
property, which he has been improving materially ever since, having built a 
fine dwelling thereon in 1903. In 1904 Mr. Kaup was appointed to his posi- 
tion of rural mail carrier, in which capacity he has served efficiently since. 
Mr. Kaup has been a prominent \\-orker in the Rcjniblican party for many 
vears, and he has been elected to several local offices, having served for a 
long period as township clerk, and for twenty years he was general assessor. 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANLA. 677 

Li February, 1876, Mr. Kaup married Catherine Walter, and the follow- 
ing children have been born to them: John W. ; Claude C, who married 
Annie Harris; Mary Ellen; Charles G., who married Minnie Parry; Eliz- 
abeth May; Bessie B.; and William Walter, who died young. The family 
are Lutherans. 

John Walter, father of Mrs. William W. Kaup, was born June 6, 1829, in 
France, came to the United States in young manhood, and first settled at 
Tamaqua, Schuylkill Co., Pa. Later he removed to Rush township. locatiii,<; 
at Stone Tavern. During the Civil war he enlisted for service in the Uiiiun 
army, and his death, which occurred March 2, 1867, was caused by exposure 
while in the army. He is buried at Tamaqua. His wife, Catherine (Bladel), 
was bom in Germany, came to America when eighteen years old, and sur- 
vived him many years, dying at the age of seventy-three. They had four chil- 
dren: Catherine, Mrs. Kaup; Rachel, Mrs. Charles Morgans; John, who 
died when thirty-seven years old ; and Margaret, who married Francis Job, of 
England. The father of this family was a-Democrat in ix)litical sentiment. 

JAMES DEIBERT, a lifelong resident of North Manheim township, 
Schuylkill county, recently deceased,, was a citizen especially helpful in local 
affairs by his efficient services on the school board. He was probably one of 
the most widely known men in his part of the county, where he was engaged 
in farming for many years on land which has been owned and occupied by 
his family since the middle of the eighteenth century. 

Michael Deiver (as his generation spelled the name), great-grandfather of 
James Deibert, was the founder of this branch of the family in Schuylkill 
county. He was born in Germany, and came with his parents to America, 
the family settling in Bern township, Berks county, in the then Province of 
Pennsylvania, near Michael's Church. There were five children, three sons 
and two daughters: Michael, Christopher, Wilhelm, Mrs. George Hunt- 
zinger and Mrs. John Gevert. When the sons were grown they moved to 
Manheim township, Schuylkill county, and married, Wilhelm to a daughter of 
John Renchler, from Bern township, Berks county, Michael to Elizabeth 
Waver. In the year 1744 the brothers Wilhelm and Michael bought in part- 
nership three hundred acres of land in North Manheim township, at the road 
leading from Schuylkill Haven to Landingville, Wilhelm's ])art being at the 
location occupied by Edward Peale in 1S84, and Michael's where John Filbert 
lived at that time. The third brother, Christopher, went to Virginia in his 
younger years, and the family did not hear from him afterwards. 

In the beginning Wilhelm and Michael Deiver had the Indians for their 
neighbors, and were molested considerably. Deer and bears were plentiful in 
the region at that day, and as they divided the meat with the savages when 
they shot any the Indians became more friendly. In the pamphlet published 
in 18S4 by Daniel Deibert, a grandson of Wilhelm Deibert, we find this para- 
graph : "My grandfather said after the Indians went away, some of them 
came back again to rob them of their planting fruits. My grandfather and his 
brother Michael had to flee over the Blue mountain to their father's home. 
They buried their implements on the other side of the Schuylkill river, in 
tTie woods, that the Indians could not get them ; but when they came back 
they didn't find them any more. And they didn't find them till the Schuylkill 
canal was made, then they dug them out again." 

Michael Deiver (according to the same pamphlet) had five sons and three 



678 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

daughters (only two daughters are named, however), Henry, Andrew, Michael, 
Christian, John, Catharine and Ehzabeth. Henry married Miss Kriner; 
Andrew, Miss Luckenbill; Michael, Miss Luckenbill (they had no children); 
Christian, Miss Miller; Catharine, John Dewald ; Elizabeth, Daniel Repp. The 
father, Michael, died on his property in North Manheim township, and is 
buried at the Red Church in this county. 

John Deibert, son of Michael, was born in North Manheim township, and 
was a farmer by occupation. He is buried in the old cemetery at Schuylkill 
Haven. He was twice married, the maiden name of his first wife being 
Renchler, of his second Wagner. His children were as follows : Daniel, 
who lived in Schuylkill Haven; George; Jacob, who died at Schuylkill Haven; 
John, who died at Schuylkill Haven; Benjamin, who died at Pottsville; Wil- 
liam, who died in the Upper Mahantongo Valley, Schuylkill county; Samuel; 
Hannah, who married John Humel, of Selinsgrove, Pa. ; and Christine, who 
married Henry Shelly and lived at Pottsville. 

George Deibert, son of John and grandson of Michael, born at the old 
homestead of his parents, followed farming all his life. He is buried in the 
Union cemetery. He had many interesting experiences in the early days. His 
father owned a large tract of land where Fishbach is now located (near 
Pottsville), then thickly wooded. When the timber was cut it was floated down 
the Schuylkill. One day, while going past what is now known as Mount 
Carbon, he was followed by a wolf, and hastened to reach the river so that 
the animal might lose his scent when he forded the stream. When somewhat 
older he had another exciting time while plowing on the homestead, on the 
Second mountain. A deer ran out and got into a pond, and Mr. Deibert, 
thinking he could kill it, went into the water after it, but the animal almost 
drowned him. He also had some adventures with panthers. Mr. Deibert 
married Susanna Reed, daughter of James Reed, and she lived to the age of 
seventy-one. The following children were born to them: Charles V. B., of 
Schuylkill Haven; Sarah, who married Abraham Sharadin ; Mahlon, who 
died when nine years old; Amanda, who married Harrison Berger; James, 
who settled on the old homestead in North Manheim township ; Frank ; George, 
living at Landingville ; Hannah, who married Edward Schappell ; Elwin, 
living at Schuylkill Haven ; and William, who died when sixteen years old. 

James Deibert, son of George, above, was born Oct. i8, 1847, on the 
homestead near the Half Way House in North Manheim township, and attended 
the local public schools. When fifteen years old he entered the employ of 
W. D. Kline, at Landingville, for whom he clerked three months, receiving 
six dollars a month. As his father needed his assistance he returned home, 
and thereafter cultivated the Deibert property, after his marriage renting 
the land, and purchasing the homestead upon his father's death. He had 
eighty-nine acres of valuable farming land situated along the State road, near 
Orwigsburg. He continued to reside there after retiring from the active work 
of cultivation, in 1909, but was preparing to remove to Orwigsburg at the 
time of his death, and had leased the property. There was no more highly 
respected citizen in the township. His activity in the promotion of all measures 
intended for the betterment of the locality, his upright life and well balanced 
ideas, were influences for good these many years. During the twelve years he 
was on the school board he showed his sincere desire to secure the best pos- 
sible advantages for his township in the way of educational facilities, and 
si)ared neither time nor efi^ort to fill his office with the highest regard for its 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 679 

responsibilities. He was president of the board several years, and also acted 
as treasurer. Mr. Deibert was a Democrat in politics, and a Lutheran in 
religious connection. His death occurred at his home on the farm Feb. 9, 
1915, after a few days' illness. 

Mr. Deibert's wife, Mary C. (Faust), died in 1908, and is buried in the 
Union cemetery at Schuylkill Haven. She was a daughter of Daniel Faust. 
Of the children born to this union four survive, all married: Newton A., 
who is a shoe manufacturer at Orwigsburg, this county; Elizabeth, wife of 
William H. Brommer, of Harrisburg, Pa.; Lillie B., wife of Milton Rohrer, 
a shoe manufacturer of Orwigsburg; and James R., a draftsman, and also 
engaged in the grocery business at Harrisburg. 

JOSEPH H. LAUDIG, of Ringtown, is doing a thriving business in that 
borough and the neighboring territory as a general carpenter and contractor, 
and has many substantial structures to show for his activity in the quarter 
of a century he has been operating on his own account. For thrift in busi- 
ness and honorable dealings with all, he is considered a worthy representative 
of the Laudig family, which has been established in this region since the time 
of his great-grandfather. 

Peter Laudig, a Re\olutionary soldier, was born Jan. 28, 1760, and died 
Aug. 6, 1837. On May 16, 1780, he married Catherine Lantzer, who was born 
in Philadelphia June 12, 1760, and died Oct. 6, 1835. They are buried at 
the Old White Church near Ringtown, Schuylkill county. 

Jacob Laudig, son of Peter, was born Sept. 28, 1786, and died July 17, 
1863. The greater part of his active life was spent in Union township, 
whither he moved from Middleport, this county, and he was engaged in farm- 
ing and milling, having a tract of about forty-eight acres and a gristmill where 
T. W. Rumbel now lives. This mill and farm he sold to John Maurer and 
then bought the place where W. H. Rumbel is now located, remaining there 
until his death. He was a Democrat in political faith, and his religious con- 
nection was with the German Reformed congregation of the Old White Church 
near Ringtown, in whose cemetery he and his wife are buried. Mr. Laudig 
married Elizabeth Wetstone, who was born Jan. 13, 1794. and died Sept. 26, 
1863. Their children were : Solomon married Susan Zimmerman ; William 
married Rebecca Rumbel ; Frank died in young manhood ; Jacob married a 
Stauffer; Leah married John Zimmerman. 

Jacob Laudig, son of Jacob and Elizabeth (Wetstone) Laudig. was born 
Feb. 15, 1836, in Union township, where he grew to manhood. He assisted 
his father with the farm work and remained with. him until his death, on the 
place now owned by William H. Rumbel, continuing to live at the old home- 
stead until 1880, when he removed to Zion Grove, in North Union township. 
There he purchased a tract of eighty acres (the farm now owned by Edward 
Lindermuth), about three acres of which were in timber, and he followed gen- 
eral farming on that land until his death. Mr. Laudig was an expert butcher, 
and his services as such were in great demand among all the farmers in this 
section. In politics he gave his support to the Democratic party, and in 
religion he clung to the faith of the German Reformed denomination, belong- 
ing to the Old White Church, near Ringtown. He died July 17, 1898, and is 
buried at that church. 

Mr. Laudig married Rachel (or Rebecca) Stauffer, who was bom March 
6, 1837, in Locust Valley, Schuylkill Co., Pa., daughter of George and Catherine 



680 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 

(Swank) Stauffer, and survives him, living in Ringtown. Children as follows 
were born to them: Joseph H.; Benjamin F., born June 15, 1864, who mar- 
ried Elizabeth R. Lessig and lives in Scranton, Pa. ; George, born Dec. 2, 1865, 
of Ringtown, who married Mary A. Horn ; Charles, born Dec. 3, 1867, who 
married Emma Mummey and lives at Zion Grove, this county; Elizabeth C, 
born Jan. 31, 1873, wife of William Deebel, of Ringtown; and Rose, bom Oct. 
28, 1874, wife of Henry Reich, of Ringtown. 

Joseph H. Laudig was born Aug. 8, 1861, in Union township, his birth- 
place being now included in Ringtown borough. He worked with his father 
on the home place until 1880, meantime receiving good educational advantages 
in the public schools of the township, and then became a carpenter's appren- 
tice with J. B. Kester, of Ringtown, with whom he remained for a period of 
eight years. During that time he had obtained a comprehensive knowledge 
of general carpenter work, barn and house building, and he felt competent to 
.start out on his own account as a contractor. His success has fully justified 
the venture. Much of the most creditable construction work in and around 
l^ingtown has been intrusted to him, and he is usually kept busy with his 
contracts in that vicinity. One summer he worked at Shenandoah for Mr. 
O'Hearn, lumber dealer and contractor, and he built a house for his brother 
in Scranton. Personally he is able to perform any kind of carpenter work, 
being very proficient with the tools of the trade and competent to do any of 
the skilled labor necessary in the erection of a building. His familiarity with 
the practical end of the business, combined with executive capacity, makes 
him a shrewd judge of workmen, and no one in the business hereabouts 
stands higher for reliability and responsibility in anything he undertakes. 
Affairs of local interest have always received their due share of his attention. 
He is a member of the Ringtown Fire Company, and was one of its trustees 
for several years. He belongs to Washington Camp No. 265, P. O. S. of A., 
of Ringtown, of which he was formerly recording secretary; and was a 
charter member of Ringtown Lodge, No. 287, I. O. O. F., of which he is a 
])ast grand, and he was its first secretary. Mr. Laudig is independent in 
politics, supporting the candidates and measures he thinks best, regardless of 
party. In his earlier years he was a member of the Old White Church (Re- 
formed) near Ringtown, where he held the office of deacon for nine years, but 
he is now a member of the Reformed Church at Ringtown. For some time he 
taught in the Sunday school at Zion Grove, and he has always been a gener- 
ous contributor to religious enterprises of all kinds. 

Mr. Laudig married Susan Kersteder. who was born Oct. 18, 1861 ; her 
father and mother, Adam Kersteder and Hannah Long, were both natives of 
Schuylkill county, born in Mahanoy Valley. Seven children have been born 
to Mr. and Mrs. Laudig: Mattie May, born July 27, 1884. is married to 
Elmer Kreiger, and has five children, Clarence E., Mary R., Roy A., Emily 
M. and Joseph D. ; Daniel A., born Sept. 21, 1886, married Carrie Laudig and 
has two children. Guy H. and Grace; Sadie E. was born March 30, 1889; 
James A. was born May 31, 1891 ; Jacob W., born Dec. 8, 1893, married 
Eva Home; Allen R. was born July 23, 1896; Perl R. was born Nov. 12, 
1004. Mrs. Kreiger, Daniel, Sadie and James are graduates of the Ringtown 
high school. 

MORRIS UPDEGRAVE, proprietor of the "Tower City House," at 
Tower City, Pa., was born Dec. 13, 1873, in Hubley township, near Sacra- 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL-\ 681 

mento, Schuylkill county, son of Samuel and Lucinda (Undercoffler) Upde- 
grave, and a grandson of Jacob Updegrave. 

Jacob Updegrave was born in Germany, and as a young man came to the 
United States in search of his fortune, settling as a pioneer in Pine Valley, 
Schuylkill Co., Pa. There his affairs prospered, he became the owner of a 
good farm, was known as a substantial and reliable citizen, and passed all 
his life He died there, and was buried at the cemetery at Sacramento. Mr. 
Updegrave married Catherine Kimmel, and they became the parents of the 
following children: Henry K. ; Anetta, who married John Deibler; Cecelia, 
wlu. married Daniel Geist; Catherine, who married John Pritchard ; Elizabeth, 
who married Frank Stutzman ; Jacob ; Samuel ; and Sevilla, who married 
Wilson Geist. Of these children, Henry K. Updegrave was connected with 
the early history of the coal industry in the West End. and was a large con- 
tractor in the supplying of timber for the mines. Later he became proprietor 
of the "Tower City House," which he conducted for a number of years. He 
looked after the land for Mr. Tower at a time when the entire locality was 
little more than a wilderness and later supplied the first timber for the Brook- 
side colliery. His death occurred at Tower City when he was well advanced 
in years. Jacob, son of Jacob, and brother of Henry K. Updegrave, was a 
miner and the victim of one of the early accidents in this locality, in which his 
back was broken. He lived for nine years thereafter, eventually passing away 
at Tower City. 

Samuel Updegrave, father of Morris Updegrave, was in early life em- 
ployed with his brother, Henry K., and Henry Row, in driving team, hauling 
timber. He subsequently turned his attention to farming operations in Pine 
Valley, Hubley township, and in 1874 came to Tower City, where he was 
employed to drive a team at the mines. Later he was advanced to stable boss 
at the Brookside colliery and held that position until his death, which occurred 
June 29, 1909. Mr. Updegrave was well known in this locality and was the 
possessor of a host of friends. He married Lucinda Undercoffler, who died 
in 191 1, and both are buried at Greenwood cemetery, Tower City. They had 
the following children: Elmer; Morris; Clara, deceased, who was the wife 
of Samuel Stephens; Fred; Cora, who is the wife of Edward Artz ; Walter; 
Edith, who is the wife of Allen Schreiner; Harper; and Estella, who is the 
wife of S. Bruggy. 

The education of Morris Updegrave was secured in the public schools of 
Tower City, and his boyhood was passed in much the same manner as that 
of his youthful companions, who early learned the lessons of industry and 
thrift, and who were taught to be self-reliant. He was only nine years of 
age when he began contributing to his own support as a slate picker, and one 
year later went inside to work, gradually becoming experienced in various 
lines. Eventually he became a miner, a vocation which he followed until 
reaching the age of twenty-four years, when, having accumulated some capital, 
he left the mines and entered the draying business by buying out Charles Mas- 
terson, at Tower City. For thirteen years Mr. Updegrave followed this 
business with a full measure of success, and then disposed of his interests to 
Troutman Brothers and removed to Atlantic City, N. J. A short time later 
he went to Philadelphia, where he spent eighteen months and was employed 
as a station agent by the Rapid Transit Company, returning to Tower City, 
where, April 13, 1914, he took charge of the "Tower City House." He has 
continued to conduct this hotel with success, and is very popular with the 



682 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

traveling public. A solicitous host, he is eager to meet the wishes of his 
guests, and as a result this hostelry is gaining much reputation and patronage. 

Mr. Updegrave married Agnes Brown, daughter of Samuel Brown, and 
they have five children : Mae, Allen, Vivian, Hazel and Dorothy. 

Always progressive and enterprising, Mr. Updegrave has contributed to 
the entertainment facilities of this locality by the erection of what is known 
as Palace Hall, a structure 56 by 76 feet, located in the rear of the "Tower 
City House," which has been fitted up with a splendid dance floor, with all 
modern equipment, and accommodations for basket-ball matches and other 
entertainments. It is well lighted and heated, has a large seating capacity, 
and being the only structure of its kind it is largely patronized by the pleasure- 
loving public. It has been frequently the scene of entertainments given by 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows of Tower City, the Knights of 
Pythias of Muir, and the Loyal Order of Moose, of Lykens, of which orders 
Mr. Updegrave is a popular member. 

SHAPPELL FAMILY. In Perry township, Berks Co., Pa., which until 
1853 was a part of Windsor township, is a prominent family bearing the 
name of Shappell, which is sometimes variously spelled Schappelle, Choppelle, 
.Schobbel, Shobel, .Schappel and Schappell. The original home of the family 
was in France, but through religious persecution its members sought refuge 
in Germany, making their home at Wittenberg. Among the 108 passengers 
on the good ship "Patience." which arrived at the port of Philadelphia Sept. 
17- 1753' was a Jeremie Chappelle, and one Jean Pierre Chappelle. The 
kinship of these two emigrants is unknown, but it is doubted that they were 
relatives. What became of Jean Pierre after landing in the New World is 
unknown. Jeremias Schappelle (as it appears on the tombstone) or Schobel, 
and Eberhart Schoppel, brothers, were residents in Windsor township, Berks 
Co., Pa., in 1754 (see Rupp's history). 

According to the tombstone inscription at Zion's Church, in Perry 
(formerly Windsor) township, Jeremias Schappelle was born in 171 5, and 
he died Oct. 13, 1804. His wife, Catherine, born in 1724, passed away June 
8, 1801. The will of Jeremiah Shappel (sic) is on record in the Berks county 
courthouse in Will Book A, page 505. It was made Feb. 11, 1803, and 
probated Jan. 7, 1805. At the time the will was made he was a resident of 
Windsor township. The following children were mentioned in the will: 
Jacob (who was made executor of his father's estate), Matthias, Jeremiah, 
Magdalena and Catherine. In the cemetery at Zion's Church is a tombstone 
bearing the following inscription : "Elizabeth Schappelle, wife of Jeremias, 
formerly of Deutschland, born Feb. 16. 1771, died July 9, 1817, aged forty- 
six years, five months, twenty-three days." This probably refers to the wife 
of Jeremias or Jeremiah, son of Jeremias (i). 

No records of the descendants of Eberhart Schoppel are in evidence at 
Zion's Union Church. He may have left Windsor township after 1744, in 
which year he hewed his name on a stone now in the southeastern wall of the 
old graveyard. Tradition says that the stones upon which these names are 
carved (one bears the name of Jeremias) were once part of the wall of the 
first church. The fourth church was in process of construction in 1908. 

Jacob Schappell, son of Jeremias, was better known as "Jockey," a nick- 
name e\idently taken from the German pronunciation of his name. He was 
born in Wittenberg, Germany, Feb. 2, 1744, and died Sept. 11, 1826. As stated 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 683 

above he was the executor of his father's will in 1805. His wife, Susanna, 
was born Feb. 2, 1751, and died July 24, 1828. They are buried at Zion's 
Church. Jeremias, Eberhart and Jockey Schappell were founders of the orig- 
inal Zion's Church. Tradition says Jacob and Susanna had a large family, 
some of their children, however, dying in infancy and childhood. Of these 
may be mentioned those of whom there is record: Peter, born April 19, 1770; 
Col. Jeremiah, born March 20, 1774; Daniel, mentioned below; and Hannah, 
who married Georg Hoffman, a farmer of Perry township. There is a 
valley in Perry township known as Schappell's Dale, because of the many 
Shappells living there. 

Daniel Shappell was born in Longswamp, Berks county, and followed farm- 
ing all of his active life. He came to Schuylkill county at an early date, set- 
tling between Schuylkill Haven and Orwigsburg, where he purchased 500 acres 
of land. He was a taxable resident of North Manheim township in 1790, 
where he died, and is buried in the old cemetery at Schuylkill Haven. His 
children were : John, Charles, Daniel, Jacob, Mrs. Tobias, Mrs. Dengler, 
Mrs. Potts, Mrs. Koudenbush, Mrs. Miller, Mrs. Krebs and Mrs. Waitman. 

John Shappell was born on the homestead and was reared a farmer. He 
came into possession of 136 acres of the homestead, which he continued to cul- 
tivate until his death. For a short time he followed the occupation of boat- 
builder at Schuylkill Haven, also making several trips down the canal. He died 
at the age of seventy-nine, his wife, Caroline Bowen, passing to rest at the 
age of seventy-two years. They are interred in the Union cemetery at Schuyl- 
kill Haven. Mr. Shappell was a man of high repute throughout the country- 
side and his death was regretted by all with whom he had intercourse in life. 
His children were : Edwin, living in Cressona ; James, of Schuylkill Haven ; 
Hannah, wife of Elijah Boyer; Albert, living in Pottsville ; John, who resides 
in Omaha, Nebr. ; Daniel; Charles, who died in Cressona; Andrew J.; and a 
son who died in infancy. 

Andrew J. Shappell was born on the homestead in North Manheim 
township Feb. 12, 1859, has followed farming all of his life, and is now half 
owner of his father's homestead. He was married to Ella Weaver, daughter 
of Charles Weaver, and to this union were born children as follows : Luther, 
Helen, Florence, Ida, Lester, Claude (deceased), and a daughter who died in 
infancy. 

D.\NiEL Sii.vPPEr.L was born on the homestead in North Manheim town- 
ship Dec. 19, 1854. He is now the possessor of half of his father's homestead 
of 136 acres, and in partnership with his brother Andrew J. carries on a 
general farming and trucking business there, disposing of his produce in the 
Pottsville and Schuylkill Haven markets. He married Anna Bubeck, daughter 
oi John Bubeck, and their children are: Lottie, wife of Morris Becker; 
Clair; Daniel, Jr.; and Howard and Bird D., both deceased. 

TIMOTHY F. BERNEY, postmaster at Tower City, Schuylkill Co., Pa., 
was born at Minersville, this county, Oct. 25, 1879, son of Patrick Berr.ey. 
His father, who resides at Tower City, has for many vears been connected 
with the Brookside colliery, and is adjudged one of the valued and reliable 
foremen in the employ of the Reading Company. 

Timothy F. Eerney was six years of age when brought by his parents to 
Tower City, and here his education was secured in the public schools. He 
was still a lad when he took employment at the West Brookside colliery, and 



684 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

continued to work there for about two years, or until he learned the art of 
telegraphy at the Brookside station of the Reading railroad. This he followed 
as a vocation for one year, and was then promoted to a clerical position in 
the Brookside office of the company, having since that time been advanced 
to a place of importance. He is a Democrat in politics and has been prominent 
in the councils of his party in this locality. As a public servant he has served 
very satisfactorily in the capacities of member of the board of health, a posi- 
tion which he held for five years, and as auditor of Tower City borough, and 
on June 27, 1913, was appointed postmaster at Tower City borough by Presi- 
dent VVoodrow Wilson. He has worked faithfully in an endeavor to better 
the service from his office, and has proved a most popular official with the 
people there. Formerly he was a director and secretary of the Franklin Build- 
ing and Loan Association of Tower City. His religious connection is with the 
Catliolic Church, and at present he is a director of the Knights of Saint George, 
of Tower City, as well as president of the local organization of the A. O. 
H. In business, official and fraternal circles he is one of the most popular 
young men of Tower City. 

Mr. Berney married Cecilia A. McDonald, a daughter of Archibald F. 
McDonald, of St. Clair, Pa., and they have one daughter, Florence Rita. 

IVOR DAVID FENTON, M. D., is one of the younger physicians at 
Mahanoy City, but nevertheless a trustworthy member of the profession, and 
personally he bears the enviable reputation which has become attached to the 
name of Fenton in this part of Schuylkill county. His father, Patrick C. 
Fenton, has attained by his own efforts an honored position in mining circles. 
His grandparents were James and Mary (Phillips) Fenton, natives of Scotland 
and Wales, respectively, who lived and died in the latter country. James 
Fenton passed away in 1871, aged sixty-eight years, his widow in 1904, at 
the age of eighty-six. 

Patrick C. Fenton was born Jan. 3, i860, in Glamorganshire, Wales, and 
was reared in his native country. His early educational opportunities were 
meagre, for he began work in the mines when a boy, but he was ambitious 
and attended night school, both in Wales and after coming to this country. 
In 1878 he turned to America to improve his fortunes. After landing he pro- 
ceeded directly to Shenandoah, Schuylkill Co., Pa., arriving there in Septem- 
ber, and immediately sought work at the mines. He was employed at 
Shenandoah for almost a quarter of a century, during which time he won 
several promotions on his merits. For ten years he was a fire boss, inside fore- 
man six years, and assistant superintendent two years. When he had been in 
this country eighteen years he made a visit to his old home in Wales, spending 
two and a half months on the trip. Returning to Shenandoah he resumed work 
as inside foreman of the Packer colliery. No. 3, where he continued until 
1903, since when he has been engaged as a mine inspector. The duties of the 
mine inspectors are arduous and highly important to operators as well as 
employes. The company is divided into four districts, the Tenth, Eleventh, 
Twelfth and Thirteenth Anthracite districts, each in charge of an inspector, 
and Mr. Fenton has held the position in the Eleventh district (known as 
the Mahanoy district) continuously since first chosen, now serving his fifth 
term. Though there has been official mine inspection since 1870, the Act of 
Assembly under which the Department of Mines, as at present constituted, 
was established was not approved until April 14, 1903. The office of mine 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 685 

inspector is elective, the term three years, the responsibility great, the require- 
ments very exacting. Supplementing his practical experience, Mr. Fenton in 
order to qualify thoroughly took the full correspondence course in mining of 
the International Correspondence Schools, Scranton, Pa., familiarizing him- 
self with the theory of many details. At the general election in 1903 he was 
the successful candidate in the Eleventh district, where his ability was well 
known, and so well satisfied were the people with his performance of the 
duties intrusted to him that he was reelected without opposition in 1906. He 
has been the choice of the voters at each election since. There are nine 
collieries in the district, with about ten thousand employes, whose safety to a 
large extent is dependent upon the thoroughness of the inspector. He keeps 
a record of the ventilation — the condition of the mines with relation to the 
presence of gas and the methods employed to obviate its effects, the number 
of cubic feet of air supplied to each man, and the means employed to supply 
it; the extension of tunnels; abandonment of workings; installation of each 
new machine, and the reason for ever)' change. All new workings are prose- 
cuted under his direct supervision, and he must keep track of all the details 
of the working of every mine in his district, above and below ground. The 
information must all be embodied in his annual report to the chief of the De- 
partment of Mines of Pennsyhania. When we state that Mr. Fenton has 
passed several examinations with high marks, it is only doing justice to his 
comprehensive knowledge of mines and mining in the anthracite region and 
his conscientious interpretation of duty. His genial nature has made him 
many friends. He has his official headquarters on East Centre street, Mahanoy 
City, at his handsome home. He is also president of the Mahanoy-Mecholin 
Coal Company, whose mines are in Harrison county, Ohio. 

On April 20, 1882, Mr. Fenton married Elizabeth Thomas, daughter of 
John T. and Mary Ann Thomas, then living at Shenandoah. Mr. and Mrs. 
Thomas are natives of Glamorganshire, Wales. Mr. and Mrs. Fenton have 
had five children : Mary graduated from high school and taught school in 
Mahanoy City before her marriage to Charles Richards, now division super- 
intendent of the mines at Mahanoy City ; Ivor David is next in the family ; 
Edith, a graduate of the Mahanoy City high school, lives at home ; Caroline is 
attending high school ; John is also at school. The family are members of 
the Welsh Congregational Church. Politically he is a Republican, and has 
always been active in party affairs and a leader in the locality. He is on 
the library committee which selects the public school books. Fraternally he 
is connected with the horites, B. P. O. Elks and Fraternal Order of Eagles. 
Mr. Fenton is fond of music and a good singer, and has been active in musical 
circles for many years. His numerous and various associations have brought 
him into contact with a large number of his fellow citizens, and he commands 
their respectful esteem by his many admirable qualities. He is a self-made 
man, and has gained his high standing by the most commendable methods. 

h-or David Fenton was born Aug. 3. 1889, at Buck Mountain, Schuyl- 
kill county. He received his literary education in the public schools of 
Mahanoy City and Bucknell LTniversity. Lewisburg, Pa., graduating from the 
academy there and spending one year in the college. He then matriculated 
at Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia, and after his graduation in 1912 
was stationed for eighteen months in the Fountain Springs hospital at Ash- 
land, Pa., where he had many advantages for supplementing his college work 
with actual experience. Since entering upon independent practice he has been 



686 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PEXXSYLVAXIA 

established at Mahanoy City, where he is building up a creditable patronage. 
His success is the reward of devoted labor, and well deserved. Dr. Fenton is 
a Mason, belonging to Mahanoy City Lodge, No. 357, F. & A. M., and a 
member of the B. P. O. Elks and Improved Order of Red Men. His religious 
connection is with the Welsh Congregational Church. 

JAMES M. SHELLHAMMER, of Pottsville, at present a member of the 
city council, was engaged in the confectionery trade there throughout his 
business career. He attained a substantial position entirely through his own 
efforts, having begun life a poor boy, but he had the ambition and determination 
necessary to make headway against obstacles, and his success was well earned. 
Thus he merits the confidence which his fellow citizens have placed in him, 
and which he has never betrayed either in his performance of public duties 
or discharge of any of the obligations of daily life. 

The Shellhammers are of German origin, Isaac Shellhammer, grandfather 
of James M., having been born in Germany. When he came to America he 
established his home in Schuylkill, where he lived and died. His children were 
Benneville, Jared, Samuel H. and Mary (Mrs. Jonas Rerig). 

Samuel H. Shellhammer was born at West Penn, Schuylkill county, and 
spent all his life in the county. In early life he did farm work, and after- 
wards became a mine worker, acting as inside and outside boss at the Myers- 
ville colliery (owned by Henry j\Iyers), near Mahanoy City, where he was 
employed for a period of seventeen years. For about four years after giving 
up this work he was on a farm in the same vicinity, at Locust Valley, from 
there moving to the Daniel Hummel farm, near Orwigsburg. He remained 
on that property until his death, which occurred there in 1887. Mr. Shell- 
hammer is buried at McKeansburg, this county, near Orwigsburg. He married 
Priscilla Correll, of West Penn, this county, who survived him, dying in 1889. 
They had the following family : Charles, who is living at Bowmansville, Pa. ; 
Mary, Mrs. William Mills; James M. ; Clara and Elizabeth, both of whom died 
young; Joseph, living at Port Carbon, Pa.; Samuel, a resident of Schuylkill 
county; and Elizabeth (2), who married Emerson Trout and (second) Joseph 
Mangle. 

James I\I. Shellhammer was born Oct. 31, i860, in Schuylkill county, near 
the Berks county line. He was reared on a farm. His educational advantages 
were limited, as he was only a boy of eight years when he commenced picking 
slate at a breaker. He was employed about the mines at that and other work 
until si.xteen years old, after which he farmed with his father for two years. 
He then came to Pottsville, where he learned the candy business with Henry 
Loechel, with whom he continued for about nine years, until ready to go into 
the business for himself. He was located at No. 15 North Centre street, and 
worked up a profitable trade by honest methods and satisfactory goods. Dur- 
ing the fifteen years he carried on the business Mr. Shellhammer made a 
reputation for reliability which has evidently gained him a permanent place 
in the regard of his townsmen. He retired in 1905, and has enjoyed thor- 
oughly the leisure which his release from business allows, taking a leading 
part in the social organizations of the city and devoting some of his time to 
the public service. In 1910 he was elected to the city council, and in Novem- 
ber, 1913, was reelected, with the largest vote given to any candidate for the 
office on that occasion. As there was a hard contest in 1913, this indorsement 
of his good work was especially creditalile. Though a Republican in principle, 




0.00^/^.^^^^^^^^^^ 



^ Ct^^ ^?<^^^2- 



M^ 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 687 

Mr. Shellhammer votes independently, supporting the men he deems best 
fitted for the places to be filled. 

Socially Mr. Shellhammer holds membership in the I. O. O. F. (Lily of 
the \'alley Lodge), P. O. S. of A. (Washington Camp No. 36), K. G. E., 
Red Men, Heptasophs and B. P. O. Elks (Lodge No. 207), all of Pottsville ; 
in the Ridgley Protective Association and Preferred Accidental. His religious 
connection is with the English Lutheran Church. 

On Sept. I, 1887, Mr. Shellhammer married Minnie H. Lord, daughter of 
Henry Lord. They have no children. Mr. and Mrs. Shellhammer occupy the 
handsome residence at the corner of Jackson and Greenwood avenues, on 
Greenwood Hill, which he built at the time of his retirement from business. 
The lot is 110 by 160 feet in dimensions, and beautifully situated, affording a 
fine view which adds greatly to the attractions of this beautiful home. 

Elijah Lord, Airs. Shellhammer's grandfather, was a pioneer settler in 
Pottsville, and died in the borough. He is buried in the Presbyterian ceme- 
tery. His children were: Seth, Charles, Peggin, Henry, Jeremiah, Isaac, 
William and Frank, all of whom lived and died at Pottsville. 

Henry Lord, father of Mrs. Shellhammer, was born Dec. 23, 1819, at 
Pottsville, and passed all his life there, dying Feb. 7, 1889, as the result of 
injuries received in an accident. He was a carpenter, and followed contract- 
ing to the end of his days. His first wife, Ann (Williams), born Dec. 7, 1822, 
died Nov. 7, 1855, leaving four children: William, who was killed at the 
battle of Gettysburg ; Susan, who married Charles Seaman, a veteran of the 
Civil war; Ellen, wife of Joseph R. Sowers; and Albert, now living at Shamo- 
kin. Pa. Mr. Lord subsequently married (second) Lucretia Hagar, of Orwigs- 
burg. Pa., born Jan. 15, 1834, daughter of Peter Hagar: She survived him a 
year, dying March 19, 1890. To this union also were born four children: 
Minnie H., Mrs. James M. Shellhammer; Carrie, wife of Edward Boyer; 
Lulu, Mrs. Charles Hummel; and Hagar, who married Emma Brennaman. 

WILLIAM G. STITZER, proprietor of Stitzer's Cafe at Schuylkill Haven, 
was born in that borough May 27, 1866, and is a son of William F. Stitzer. 
The family is of German ancestry. 

David Stitzer, the first of the family on record in America, was born 
March 12, 1750, in Nova Scotia, whence he came to Philadelphia. He served 
in the Revolutionary war and at its close moved to Reading, Berks Co., Pa. 
His. wife, Barbara Ann Ehzabeth (Pafenhouser), was a native of Nova 
Scotia, born Alarch .10, 1754, and came to Philadelphia in 1757. Among the 
children of this couple was John D., the grandfather of William G. Stitzer. 

John D. Stitzer was born at Reading, April 18, 1799, and learned the trade 
of shoemaker. I'or a time he lived at Rehrersburg, Berks county, removing 
thence in 1844 to Schuylkill Haven, where he followed his trade for a num- 
ber of years. He died at Alahanoy City, June 27, 1879, aged eighty years. 
He was originally a Whig, but became a Republican after the formation of 
that party, although he took no active part in politics. He was a member of 
the Lutheran Church. On Sept. 22, 1822, Mr. Stitzer was married by Rev. 
Mr. Muhlenberg, of Reading, to Sarah Ilockaman, who was born Jan. 29, 
1806, in Tulpehocken, Berks county, and died Sept. 18, 1884, at Minersville, 
Schuylkill county. Her father, Henry Hockaman, of Stouchsburg, Berks 
county, was a soldier in the war of 1812, and died in 1833 at the age of 
seventy-eight. Mr. and Mrs. Stitzer were the parents of thirteen children: 



688 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

George W., born Nov. 17, 1823, at Reamstown, Lancaster county, died Oct. 
28, 1901 ; Amelia E., bom Nov. 19, 1825, married Morton Swartz, and died 
Jan. 6, 1906; Mary, born Feb. 28, 1827, married Anthony Lerch, and died in 
Ohio, June 14, 1904; Harriet S., bom Oct. 31, 1828, died unmarried, April 
6, 1847; Sarah Frances, bom Jan. 21, 1831, married Engelbert Geiger, and 
died Oct. 14, 1902; John Andrew, born Feb. i, 1833, died June 14, i860; 
William Foster was born Jan. 2, 1835; a daughter, born Feb. 6, 1837, died in 
infancy; Ann Delilah, born April 19, 1838, lives in the South; Francis A., 
bom Aug. 29, 1840, at Rehrersburg, became a private in the Union army 
April 17, 1861, and served throughout the war, being mustered out as a major 
July 27, 1865 (he served as deputy collector of internal revenue at Easton, Pa., 
for fifteen years, and Feb. 20, 1886, removed to Cheyenne, Wyo., becoming 
active in business and military circles in that State, and is at present serving 
as mayor of Laramie) ; David Henry, born June 7, 1843, served throughout the 
Civil war, afterwards had charge of the Gordon Plane in Schuylkill county 
for a time, and then removed to Kansas and engaged in farming, dying in 
that State Sept. 17, 191 1 ; Catherine E., born Sept. 25, 1845, rnarried Solomon 
Hoffas and is living in the South; Samuel, born Dec. 21, 1847, died Dec. 
6, 1900. 

William Foster Stitzer was bom at Rehrersburg, Berks county, and 
attended the common schools there. When he was but nine years of age he 
became driver of a towing team on the Schuylkill canal, following that line 
of work for the next twenty-three years, becoming a captain in 1855. His 
boats plied between Schuylkill Haven and New York City. In 1868 Mr. 
Stitzer was elected constable of Schuylkill Haven, and served thereafter for 
twenty-four consecutive years, until he resigned. In 1869 he became 
borough tax collector, discharging his duties with such ability as to be chosen 
tax collector of North Manheim township three times and of Port Clinton 
once. In 1878 he collected $10,000 in Shenandoah, and he attained the repu- 
tation of an expert collector of public money. He also followed auctioneer- 
ing and real estate selling, for eighteen years being special officer for the 
Reading Railway Company, part of the time being active in the prosecution 
of the "Molly Maguires," a dangerous business in those times. On Feb. 9, 
1892, Mr. Stitzer became proprietor of a hotel and restaurant — Stitzer's 
Cafe — which soon developed into a popular place under his management. 
In 1904 he sold out to his son William G. and retired. 

In 1858 William F. Stitzer was married to Emma Hammas, daughter of 
the late John Hammas, of Oley, Berks Co., Pa., afterwards of Pottsville, 
where he died. To this marriage have been bom eleven children, viz.: 
Charles A., born Jan. 11, 1859, a druggist, living in Nebraska, married Grace 
Traver: Horace E., born June i. i860, a saddler, is residing in Nebraska; 
Sarah, bom March 7, 1869, died at the age of fourteen ; Annie E., born Sept. 
21, 1863, married Benjamin Kline, of Philadelphia; a daughter, born June 
23, 1865, died in infancy; William G. is mentioned below; Katie M., born 
Oct. 24, 1867, married Lewis A. Graefif, of Pottsville; Emma R., born 
April 14, 1870, died in infancy; Mrs. Frank Heiser, born Nov. 14, 1871, 
died at Schuylkill Haven, leaving three children; Ella L., born July 8. 1874, 
is a deaconess at the Lutheran Mother House at Baltimore, Md. ; Carrie, 
born Tan. 18, 1876, is at home; Garfield J. A. was born March 4, 1881. 

William F. Stitzer has long been a member of the Lutheran Church. He 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 689 

has been a lifelong Republican, and has taken much interest in local politics. 
He enlisted for the Union cause July 4, 1863, in Company L Thirty-ninth 
Regiment, was honorably discharged in August of that year, and is a member 
of Helms Post, No. 26, G. A. R., of Schuylkill Haven. 

William G. Stitzer attended public school in Schuylkill Haven, and began 
his business career by clerking in the hardware store of J. F. Thompson of 
that town. At the age of sixteen he went to Long Tree or Central City, 
Nebr., where he spent five years as a drug clerk and five years as a clerk in 
a hardware store. Returning to Schuylkill Haven he worked with his father 
for three and a half years, going then to Pottsville to work for Benjamin 
Zimmerman for a time, and subsequently for si.x years with Joseph Klitch. 
In 1904 he bought the cafe in Schuylkill Haven established by his father 
and conducted it at the old stand for three and a half years. He next pur- 
chased the "Union House," which he operated for a year, and then in 
November, 1912, bought the Huntzinger property on Main street, which is a 
fine location for his business. Here he has developed a large and lucrative 
trade. Mr. Stitzer is a member of the Retail Liquor Dealers' Association 
of the State and county, and is also a member of the Schuylkill Haven Hose 
Company. 

William G. Stitzer was married Nov. 3, 1897, to Sarah A. Leitzel, daugh- 
ter of M. E. and Elizabeth (Weiser) Leitzel, the latter a direct descendant 
of Conrad Weiser, one of the early settlers of the State of Pennsylvania. 
To this couple has been born one daughter, Marion Leitzel, born at Pottsville 
May 23, 1901. 

CAPT. HANS C. CHRISTESON, deceased, who was for many years one 
of the leading men of his part of Schuylkill county, was born in Denmark 
March 13, 1825. He came of a sea-faring family, and was brought up on a 
vessel, so that he was familiar with his calling from, childhood. For many 
years he followed the sea, rising to be captain, and became the owner of a ves- 
sel that carried merchandise between San Francisco and China ports, and 
between New York and South American ports, and also made several voyages 
round the world. When the gold excitement was at its height, in 1849, Cap- 
tain Christeson went to California, and for several years thereafter was en- 
gaged in prospecting. Until after his marriage he followed the sea, and then 
spent some time in New York City. Subsequently he came to Pennsylvania, 
and with Charles E. Molly embarked in general merchandising at Pine Grove. 
He was also interested in a furnace at tliis point, and became a man of large 
affairs. After disposing of his mercantile interests Captain Christeson went 
to Mifflin, now Suedberg, where he bought a large tract of land, and opened 
a general store. He also conducted a hotel, and took an active part in hav- 
ing the Lebanon & Tremont branch of the Pennsylvania railroad built through 
this section of the county. Not only did he secure a post office for the station, 
but served as postmaster until his death, on Jan. 26, 1878. The name of the 
post office was changed from Mifflin, as it was originally known, to Suedberg 
in 1882. 

Captain Christeson was married to Louisa Wies, of New York City, who 

was born in Alsace-Lorraine, France, Nov. 24, 1836. and died at Suedberg, 

Pa., Feb. 3, 1912. She succeeded her husband in the post office, and continued 

to operate his other lines of business, being a woman of unusual capability. 

Vol. II— 6 



690 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

The following children were born to this couple : Charles, who is a traveling 
salesman living at Annville, Lebanon Co., Pa., was at one time postmaster at 
Suedberg; George lives at St. Louis; Louisa, who spends a portion of her time 
in the •old homestead at Suedberg, was appointed postmistress of the post 
office at this point April i, 1915; six other children are deceased. 

Captain Christeson was a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows. In religious faith he was a Lutheran, and he and his wife are buried in 
the Lutheran cemetery at Pine Grove. Few people of their day stood any 
higher in public esteem than these two, and they are remembered with alfec- 
tionate reverence by those who had the honor of their acquaintance. 

SAMUEL OHI- ranks among the progressive farmers in Rush township, 
where he is operating a valuable farm of 150 acres. He was born in West 
Penn township, Schuylkill county, and the family has long been established 
in this section, his grandfather, Samuel Ohl, having lived at Lizard Creek, near 
the border line of Schuylkill and Carbon counties. He followed farming, and 
died there. 

John Ohl, son of Samuel Ohl, lived for a number of years in West Penn 
township, Schuylkill county, where he was engaged at farming and carpenter 
work. He afterwards moved to Ohio, where he died. To his marriage with 
Sarah Behler were born the following children : Qiristina, who lives in Ohio ; 
Moses, living in Berks county. Pa. ; Samuel ; Charles ; Rosie ; and Elizabeth, 
wife of William Balliett, living in Ohio. 

Samuel Ohl, son of John and Sarah (Behler) Ohl, was born in 1857, and 
grew to manhood in his native township, becoming familiar with agricultural 
work as his father's assistant on the home place. When twenty years old he 
married and went out to Ohio, where he remained for a time, returning to 
Schuylkill county and locating in Tamaqua, in which borough he resided for 
eight years. At the end of that time he moved to Rush township, where he 
had bought a farm of 150 acres from Schmit & Campion, and he has since 
been engaged in general farming. He is favorably known among his neighbors, 
who appreciate his substantial qualities and the enterprise he has shown in 
developing his own property, which reflects credit upon the entire locality. 

Mr. Ohl married Sarah Dietrich, daughter of Jacob Dietrich, and seven 
children have been born to them, namely : Cora, who is living in the South ; 
Gertrude, who is now the wife of Charles Rank, of Mahanoy City; Earl, Roy, 
Emma, Dewey and Carrie, all living at home. The family attend the Reformed 
Church. 

ALBERT BALDINGER, proprietor of a general store and confectionery 
at Cressona, in North Manheim township, Schuylkill county, was born Jan. 
16, 1862, in Albany township, Berks Co., Pa., son of Frederick Baldinger, a 
native of Germany. 

Frederick Baldinger, the father of Albert Baldinger, came to America 
when a young man and settled at Jacksonville, Lehigh Co., Pa. He was a 
tailor by trade, and conducted an establishment in Jacksonville until his death. 
He married Polly Bolmer, who died in Albany township, Berks county. To 
this marriage was born but one child, Albert. 

Albert Baldinger was reared to farm work, and was employed by neighbor- 
ing farmers throughout his childhood. Until six years old he lived with 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL^ 691 

George Greenawald, and he was employed in Albany township until twelve 
years old. He then came to Auburn, Schuylkill county, and followed carpet 
weaving for one year, and was with Dr. Quail for a year. He next turned to 
railroad work, being in the employ of the Philadelphia & Reading Railway 
Company from Jan. lo, 1881, until July 28, 1913. He came to Cressona 
April 25, 1896, and opened his present store on Railroad street in 191 1. Mr. 
Baldinger carries a complete line of goods such as are usually found in a gen- 
eral store, besides handling ice cream and confectionery. 

Mr. Baldinger was married at Jefferson, Schuylkill Co., Pa., to Alice Wike, 
of this county, and to them have been born five children: Charles, Irvin, 
Foster, William and Frederick; the two last named are deceased. Mr. Bald- 
inger is a Republican in politics. He was elected councilman of Cressona in 
1913, by a large majority, and takes a keen interest in local politics. He is a 
popular man in his borough and is known as an enterprising and progressive 
citizen. He is a member of the Reformed Church, of the Philadelphia & Read- 
ing Relief Association, and of the Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen. 

J. F. MINOGUE, attorney at law, Ashland, Pennsylvania. 

JOSEPH E. BOE, of Tower City, who has recently taken the position of 
inside foreman at the West Brookside colliery, has had a thorough experience 
in that capacity in the course of his long employment at local operations. He 
is very well known in fraternal circles, and highly esteemed among all his 
acquaintances. 

Daniel Boe, father of Joseph E. Boe, was bom in the Lebanon valley, in 
this State, whence he removed to Schuylkill county. He had followed the 
blacksmith's trade for some time, and was here employed as engineer at vari- 
ous collieries, first at the Lorberry, later at Rausch Creek and the Lincoln 
colliery. He died at Joliett, in Porter township, this county. To his marriage 
with Mary Fessler were born the following children: Ida, who married Henrv 
Harvey: Thopolius, deceased; Annie, wife of John Minnig; Joseph F. ; and 
Ellen Amanda, wife of Frank Schell. 

Joseph E. Boe was born Jan. 3, 1870, in Tremont township, Schuylkill 
county, and attended public school there and also in Porter township. He 
began mine work at the age of eleven years, picking slate at the breaker, and 
was advanced to more responsible jobs as he became competent until he reached 
the grade of regular miner, being so engaged for about ten years. He was 
then made assistant inside foreman at the Lincoln colliery, serving as such 
until 1902, when he was promoted to inside foreman there, holding that posi- 
tion to the entire satisfaction of all concerned until July, 1915, when transferred 
to a similar post at the West Brookside colliery. Mr. Boe has attended to 
his duties intelligently and conscientiously, adding constantly to his good repu- 
tation by his strict adherence to the highest standards of efficiency in the work 
carried on under his direction. He has won his way forward entirely on his 
own merit, and deserves all the credit for his steady advancement. Socially 
he has numerous connections, belonging to the P. O. S. of A., the Knights of 
the Golden Eagle, Knights of Malta, Red Men and Royal Arcanum. 

Mr. Boe married Daisy Shellenberger, daughter of Alonzo Shellenberger, 
of Shenandoah, this county, and they are the parents of four children : Daniel, 



692 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

William, Jennie and Grace. Their home is at Tower City. The family are 
members of the Enghsh Lutheran Church. 

E. C. MALARKEY, Girardville, Pennsylvania, district manager for the 
Cunningham Piano Company. 

HARRY D. REED, of Schuylkill Haven, belongs to a family which has 
been resident in Schuylkill county for several generations and at all times repre- 
sented among the best citizenship of this region. He himself has made a sub- 
stantial success as a contractor and builder, for though he has been in business 
on his own account only a few years he has established a reputation for 
reliable work and conscientious attention to his obligations which inspires the 
confidence necessary to steady patronage. 

John Reed, great-grandfather of Harry D. Reed, lived at Reedsville, Schuyl- 
kill county, and was one of the well known farmers of that section in his day. 
He owned the tract now in the possession of Oscar Mengle. He was twice 
married, his second wife being named Kimmel, and they are buried at Reeds- 
ville. To this marriage were born children as follows : George, William, Daniel 
K., Elias, Hannah (married Peter Reed) and Elizabeth (married William 
Fehr). 

Daniel K. Reed, son of John, above, was born at Reedsville and like his 
father followed farming. He was also an auctioneer, his services being in 
great demand. After his marriage he removed to Wayne township, where 
he had a farm of eighty acres, and he died there at the age of fifty-four years; 
he is buried in the cemetery at Friedensburg. He married Susan Berger, 
daughter of Ludwig Berger, of North Alanheim township, and they became 
the parents of the following children : Lyman G. is mentioned below ; ]\Iendon 
died at Friedensburg, this county; Elizabeth married Lewis J. Brown, who 
lived at Cressona (he was a school teacher for sixteen years, served as steward 
at the county almshouse, was at one time county commissioner, and was a justice 
of the peace) ; Arabella married William W. Berkheiser, and is living in South 
Manheim township; Ida married Lewis E. Brown, of Washington township, 
and both are deceased ; Gordon D., who was also steward at the Almshouse, 
is the father of Frederick B. Reed, present postmaster of Schuylkill Haven; 
Sherman H. is a farmer and auctioneer, living near Cressona (he was jury 
commissioner for six years), Annie married George Emerich. 

Lyman G. Reed was bom at Friedensburg, Schuylkill county, where he con- 
tinues to reside, engaged in farming and as an auctioneer, in the latter line 
having been in partnership with his brother Sherman H. Reed for over thirty 
years ; their services are in great demand. Lyman G. Reed has also had the 
contract as Star route carrier from Friedensburg to Schuylkill Haven for eight 
years. He and his wife, Elizabeth (Werner), have spent all their married 
life on the farm. Eight children have been born to them, namely : ( i ) Harry D. 
is mentioned below. (2) Ida is the wife of Frank Dietrich, who lives on the old 
Neri Dietrich farm near Friedensburg and is a very successful agriculturist. 
They have one son. Claudie. (3) Katie is married to Robert Fenstermaker, 
and has two children, Norman and Elizabeth. They reside on Centre avenue, 
in Schuylkill Haven, and Mr. Fenstermaker is engaged as a carpenter at the 
Pottsvilie Union Traction car barn, Palo Alto, holding a responsible position. 
(4) lames L., who lives with his parents, is engaged as a carpenter for his 
brother, Harry D. Reed, and gives every indication of becoming a successful 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 693 

mechanic. (5) Estella is the wife of Samuel L. Weidner, who holds a lucrative 
position in an iron foundry at Reading, and they reside there, at No. 1654 North 
Tenth street. They have two children, Williard and Elizabeth. (6) George L., 
who is living at home on the farm, first attended the schools of Wayne town- 
ship, graduated from Cressona high school, subsequently studied at the Key- 
stone State Normal School (Kutztown, Pa.), and took a course at Conway 
Hall, one of the departments of Dickinson College, Carlisle, Pa., graduating 
therefrom. For three terms he taught school, being engaged at the Reed's 
school at Friedensburg, the Drehersville school and the grammar school at 
Quakake, and is now a law student, reading in the office of Charles E. Berger, 
Esq., one of the best lawyers at the Schuylkill county bar. For a brief period 
he was employed by the Rakestraw Pyle Company, of Kennett Square, Pa., as 
salesman, and had splendid success. During the existence of the Pennsyl- 
vania Chestnut Blight Commission he was appointed as field agent and located 
in western Pennsylvania, where he served with credit. (7j Robert R., the 
youngest son, living at home, helps on the farm, serves as assistant mail driver, 
and has also put in considerable time at carpenter work under his brother's 
direction. (8j Edna M., the youngest of the family, also lives at home, helping 
her mother and following dressmaking. She is a pianist of great promise. All 
of the family but Airs. Reed and Edna have affiliated with the Reformed 
Church, the others being Lutherans. 

Harry D. Reed was born Aug. i, 1877, at Friedensburg, Schuylkill county, 
was reared upon the home farm, and attended the public schools of the locality. 
When twenty-one years old he began to learn the trade of carpenter, at which 
occupation he has since been engaged, following it in the employ of others 
until 1910, the year he commenced business on his own responsibility. He has 
had a number of contracts for houses and barns, having done considerable 
work in Schuylkill Haven, which stands as a credit to his workmanship and 
intelligent understanding of up-to-date methods and ideas in his calling. He 
keeps several men regularly employed. Mr. Reed has his residence and shop 
on the same property, at Union street and Avenue'A. He has every promise 
of a prosperous career. 

Air. Reed is married to Estella Hughes, daughter of Isaac Hughes, and 
they have three children : Melvin, Gertrude and Frederick. He is a member 
of the Lutheran Church, and fraternally belongs to Washington Camp, No. 
264, P. O. S. of A., at Friedensburg; to Page Lodge, No. 270, F. & A. M.; and 
to the Owls and Heptasophs at Schuylkill Haven. 

IRVIN L. LAUTENBACHER, member of the firm of Schwenk & Co., 
whose underwear mill at Schuylkill Haven is one of the growing industrial 
plants of the borough, is at present giving all his time to the direction of its 
operation, though until recently he was carrying other business responsibilities 
as well. Mr. Lautenbacher is a native of Schuylkill Haven and of German 
descent, being the youngest son of the late Charles Lautenbacher. 

Charles Lautenbacher was born July 15, 1832, in Germany, being a native 
of Ballafengen, in the grand duchy of Baden. Coming to America when nine- 
teen years old, he first located at Philadelphia, Pa., living there for some time, 
and he was employed in the construction of the stone work of the well known 
"Continental Hotel" in that city. Thence he removed to Baltimore, Md., and 
subsequently to Alexandria, Va., and Camden, N. J., his next location being at 
Kutztown, Pa., where he remained some time and married. From there he 



694 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

came to Schuylkill Haven, Schuylkill county, where he made a permanent 
home, engaging in his calling of marble and stone cutter until his death, which 
occurred Aug. 9, 1881. At Kutztown he met and married Sarah Ann Graeff, 
who was born Dec. 17, 1831, daughter of John and Mary (Kutz) Graeff, and 
died Aug. 17, 1904. To Mr. and Mrs. Lautenbacher were born three children: 
Jeremiah C, Irvin L. and Flora. 

Mrs. Lautenbacher was a native of Kutztown, Berks county, which place 
was so named in honor of her maternal ancestors, who were early pioneers of 
that county. They experienced the usual hardships and dangers of the days 
when the Indians were numerous and hostile, and there is a well established 
tradition in the family that her great-grandfather had a secret cave to which 
he could retire with his family in emergency, and that the Indians never suc- 
ceeded in locating this hiding place. George Kutz bought a tract of 130 acres 
from Peter Wentz in 1755, and there in 1779 laid out the town which has 
developed into one of the important boroughs of Berks county and still bears 
his name. The first tax list of the borough, made in 1817, records the follow- 
ing Kutzes: Peter, tinsmith; Adam, carpenter; Jacob, mason; John, tailor; 
Peter (who was a Revolutionary soldier) ; Daniel ; and Solomon, butcher. 

Solomon Kutz, the last named, was the grandfather of Mrs. Lautenbacher. 
He was long engaged as a butcher at Kutztown, and lived to the age of ninety- 
two years. Among his children were the following : Mary, Mrs. John Graeff, 
died at Kutztown when seventy-nine years old ; her children were Daniel, John, 
Catherine (Mrs. John Stickman) and Sarah Ann (Mrs. Charles Lautenbacher). 
Lydia, who died at West Penn, Pa., was the wife of Oscar Sheetz and mother 
of Oscar, Buchanan, Tillie and Sara. Reuben lived and died at Kutztown. 
Louisa married Daniel Kutz, son of Benjamin, and lived at Kutztown, now 
(1914) aged eighty-six years. Susanna married Harry Shide and lives at 
Kutztown, now aged eighty-four years. 

Irvin L. Lautenbacher was born at Schuylkill Haven Feb. 21, 1862, and 
received his preparatory education in the public schools of the borough, attend- 
ing high school. He then took a course at the Philadelphia College of Phar- 
macy, graduating in 1885, and followed his calling at Schuylkill Haven for the 
three years succeeding. Removing to Williamstown, Dauphin county, this 
State, he engaged in the drug business on his own account, and was estab- 
lished there for a period of seventeen years. At the end of that time he re- 
turned to his native place, where he went into business as a confectioner and 
ice cream manufacturer, continuing in this line until the fall of 1913, when he 
sold out to give all his attention to the knitting mill in which he had become 
interested in the meantime. It was in 1910 that he took up the manufacture 
of underwear in partnership with M. G. Schwenk, and they have since been 
doing business as Schwenk & Co., having a well equipped plant at Schuylkill 
Haven. Their building is 40 by 75 feet in dimensions, and from thirty to forty 
people are given steady employment in the production of ladies' .Swiss ribbed 
underwear, for which the firm has found a steady demand. Mr. Lautenbacher 
and his partner are men of high business principle, and their conscientious en- 
deavors to put a high-grade product on the market have met with substantial 
approval in the form of wide patronage. Mr. Lautenbacher has proved his 
executive qualities and versatility in the success he has made of his various 
ventures, differing so widely in nature, and in all his associations he has shown 
the spirit of accommodation to patrons and efforts to meet their wants which 
cannot fail to attract trade. He is a man of commendable personal character, 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 695 

a credit to a name which has always been synonymous in the community with 
honesty of purpose and dignified labor. 

Mr. Lautenbacher married Kate E. Schwenk, daughter of Jacob R. and 
Mary A. (Crebsj Schwenk and member of an old family of Schuylkill Haven. 
They have had three children : Ivan L., now a clerk in the railway mail 
service and located at Tyrone, Pa. ; Ruth A. and Kathryn, both at home. The 
family reside on Main street. They are members of the United Evangelical 
Church. 

JAMES H. FISTER, late of Pottsville, passed most of his life in that 
borough, having moved here in boyhood. He was a native of Bloomsburg, 
Columbia Co., Pa., bom in 1831, and finished his schooling at Pottsville. For 
several years he was in the employ of his uncle, Mr. Silliman, who was a large 
coal operator, acting for some time as superintendent of his mines. He then 
became a mail agent, between Pottsville and Philadelphia, on the railroad, 
leaving Pottsville at eight in the morning and returning at eight in the even- 
ing. He was so engaged for many years. At one time he was agent for the 
old Howard Express Company, when its offices were on South Centre street, 
Pottsville, where the Miller automobile store is now located. The business 
of this company was eventually taken over by the Adams Express Company. 
However, he was best known as justice of the peace, to which office he was 
first elected in 1890, succeeding Charles G. Reed, who had been appointed 
by Governor Beaver to succeed his father upon the latter's death. ]\Ir. Fister 
continued to serve as justice of the peace until that office was abolished several 
years ago, by a new charter which Pottsville received, at the time of the 
annexation of Yorkville. He then took out a commission as notary pubhc, 
and continued to act as such until his death, which occurred April 3, 1914, at 
his home. No. 300 Mahantongo street. Mr. Fister also maintained his office 
at that location, where he had been established for many years, and he was 
widely acquainted in Pottsville, his upright, unassuming life gaining him the 
esteem of all who knew him. 

Mr. Fister was an Odd Fellow, and a Republican on political questions. 
He never married. He had several brothers and sisters who lived in Schuylkill 
county, but all predeceased him. 

CHARLES K. BOWEN, engaged in the coal washing business at Adams- 
dale, Schuylkill Co., Pa., was born in North Manheim township, that county, 
Sept. 16, 1884, and is a son of Charles K. Bowen, grandson of Martin Bowen, 
and great-grandson of John Bowen, the latter a forgeman and pioneer farmer 
of Port Clinton, Schuylkill county. 

Martin Bowen was a farmer during all of his active years. At the death of 
his father he inherited a third of the homestead (sixty-five acres), which he 
cultivated, later buying the old Kershner farm of fifty-four acres. Both of 
these properties were in North Manheim township. He died at the age of 
eighty-four years, and is buried in the cemetery of the Jerusalem Union Church 
at Schuylkill Haven, of which he was an active Lutheran member and one of 
the building committee which supervised its erection. Mr. Bowen was wedded 
to ]\Iary Kershner, and to them these children were born : Charles K. ; 
Amanda, deceased, who was married to Jacob Kirk : Matilda, who died at the 
age of sixty-nine years ; Louis, unmarried, living in North Manheim town- 



696 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 

ship ; John A., Hving in Schuylkill Haven ; and Morris W., a prominent farmer 
of North Manheim township. 

Charles K. Bowen, father of Charles K. Bowen, was born on the home- 
stead in North Manheim township, and was an agriculturist all of his days. 
He married Mary Staller, by whom he had ten children, viz. : Harry, Gussie, 
Edward, William, Howard, Samuel, Elsie, Charles K., and two who died young. 
Charles K. Bowen died in his forty-fifth year, and after his death the widow 
married Morris W. Bowen, his brother. To this latter union two children were 
born, Warren and Lister. 

Charles K. Bowen, son of Charles K., attended the schools of North Man- 
heim township and worked upon the home farm for a time. He then went to 
Mount Carbon and worked in the Pennsylvania Railroad car shops for four 
years, after which he took up the occupation of coal washing, which he has 
followed ever since. He has his washery at Landingville, fitted with all the 
latest machinery, and is doing a large business, selling his coal both wholesale 
and retail. He was formerly associated in business with Irvin Alsbach. 

Mr. Bowen is a public-spirited man and is popular with all classes of people 
in his vicinity. He resides in a beautiful home at Adamsdale. He is fond 
of automobiling and owns a fine seven-passenger touring car, from which 
he and his wife obtain a great deal of pleasure and recreation. Mr. Bowen 
was married to Anna Aulenbach, daughter of Pierce and Mary (]\Ioyer) Aulen- 
bach. They have no children. He is a member of Christ's Lutheran Church 
of Schuylkill Haven, is a Democrat in politics, and a member of the Patriotic 
Order Sons of America at Schuylkill Haven. 

Pierce Aulenbach, father of Airs. Bowen, resided at Adamsdale and was a 
carpenter by occupation. He married Alary Moyer, of Bernville, Berks Co., 
Pa., and they had children: Samuel, of Schuylkill Haven; Anna, wife of 
Charles K. Bowen ; Cora, wife of Irvin Alsbach; Sadie; Robert; Hartie; Ray- 
mond, and Hannah. Mr. Aulenbach died May 5, 1906, at Adamsdale, and is 
buried in the cemetery of Zion's (Red) Church. 

CHARLES QUANDEL, at present serving as fire chief of Alinersville, is 
also one of the respected business men of that borough, where he has built 
up a profitable contracting business. Formerly he was also engaged in the 
burning of lime. He was born at Minersville, April 3, 1875, son of Emil Quan- 
del. The father was a native of Berlin, Germany, came to America when a 
young man, and first settled at Ashland, Schuylkill Co., Pa. Later he removed 
to Minersville, where he became engaged in lime burning, following this busi- 
ness for many years. His death occurred suddenly at Shenandoah, this county, 
and he is buried at Minersville. By his marriage to Wilhelmina \'onder-Heiden 
he had three children: F. J. R., who is now a resident of Philadelphia, Pa.; 
William, of New Jersey; and Charles. 

Charles Ouandel grew up to manhood at Minersville and attended the 
public schools in his boyhood. In his early life he became employed at lime 
burning for a time, and also in the cement and concrete business, and in 1912 
engaged in the lumber business, to which he has since added contracting and 
building. His combined interests ofl:"er him steady employment, and he is well 
known in his line for reliable dealings and uprightness in all his transactions. 
Since 1912 Mr. Ouandel has been fire chief at Minersville, an honor- which 
indicates unquestionably the confidence which his fellow citizens repose in him. 
He is well known in the local fraternal bodies, being a member of Minersville 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 697 

Lodge, No. 222, F. & A. M. ; of the chapter at Minersville ; commandery at 
Pottsville, and Philadelphia Consistory, having attained the thirty-second 
degree; he also belongs to Rajah Temple, A. A. O. N. M. S., at Reading, Pa. 
Besides his Masonic connections he holds membership in the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows, the Royal Arcanum and the P. O. S. of A. 

Mr. Quandel married Bessie Noble, of Pottsville, daughter of William 
Noble, of Pottsville, Pa., and granddaughter of the late John T. and Sarah 
Noble; John T. Noble was the proprietor of the iron woVks which bore his 
name. The children born to ]\Ir. and Mrs. Quandel are : Adda M., Doris May 
and C. Nobel. 

MAJ. JOHN F. OWENS, of Pottsville, has the distinction of being the 
oldest member of the National Guard in the State of Pennsylvania. He has 
been on the retired list of that body since 1909, but he is still connected with 
the service, being at present caretaker of the new State Armory at Pottsville. 
Major Owens was born in this city Aug. 16, 1851, son of Thomas Owens, a 
native of Wales, who came to the United States in young manhood and settled 
in Pottsville, Schuylkill county, where he followed mining. He died at Potts- 
ville, and is buried in the Odd Fellows cemetery there. His wife was Hannah 
Mitchel. 

Major Owens received a common school education, and in his youth did 
day's work until he entered the employ of Mr. Spark, with whom he learned the 
trade of boilermaker. Subsequently he entered the shops of the Philadelphia 
& Reading Company, where he was employed at boilermaking until 191 1 — a 
long period of service with the same concern. Then for a few years he was 
tipstaif at the courthouse, and in January, 1914, he became caretaker at the 
new State Armory in Pottsville, which position he now holds. Major Owens 
is particularly well known in his long association with the Pennsylvania National 
Guard, in which he enlisted Oct. i, 1870, as a member of Company G. 7th Regi- 
ment, Light Infantry of Pottsville. His record is as follows : "Corporal, Com- 
pany G. 7th Regiment, N. G. of Pa., Feb. 10, 1877 ; Corporal, Company F, 
1st Regiment, Inf. \'ol., Aug. 23, 1877; Sergeant, Company G, 7th Regiment, 
N. G. of Pa., Dec. 8, 1877; First Sergeant, Company H, 8th Regiment. N. G. 
of Pa., June 5, 1882; second lieutenant, Company H, 8th Regiment, N. G. of 
Pa., July 2, 1889 ; first lieutenant. Company H, 8th Regiment, N. G. of Pa., July 
19, 1889: captain. Company H, 8th Regiment, N. G. of Pa., April 23, 1894; 
Major, 8th Regiment, Oct. 18, 1892." On Aug. 12, 1909, Major Owens was 
placed on the retired list. He has a fine medal, presented to him in recognition 
of his extended service. His association with Good Intent Fire Company has 
covered almost as long a period, he having joined that organization forty years 
ago. 

On Dec. 16. 1875, Major Owens married Mary McGinley. by which union 
he had three children : Frances, John and Anna (deceased). His second mar- 
riage was to Emma Heffner, daughter of the late Edward Hefl^ner, who at one 
time served as burgess of Pottsville. and to them were born two children: 
Harry, a civil and mining engineer, now located at W' ilkes-Barre, Pa. ; and 
Arthur, a machinist, in the employ of the Philadelphia & Reading Coal and 
Iron Company at Pottsville. For his third wife Major Owens married Mary 
Flummer, and four children were born to this marriage : William, Anna, 
Thomas and Elizabeth. 

The Major is a member of the ^ilethodist Church. He does not identify 



698 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENXSYLVANL\ 

himself with any political party, voting independently on all questions. He is 
a citizen who holds the unqualified respect of his fellow men wherever known, 
and has made a record of faithful service in every capacity of which he may 
well be proud and which entitles him to high regard. 

ELVIN W. KEITH, M. D., of Minersville, though just at the outset of 
his professional career has every promise of success in his chosen calling, for 
which he has had the good fortune to be thoroughly prepared. He is a native 
of Luzerne county. Pa., born Aug. 26, 1886, at Stockton. His father, George 
Keith, came to America from Germany when a child and made his home in 
Luzerne county. Pa., for many years. By trade he was a carpenter, and for 
many years was engaged in contracting in that line where he now resides. 
He is carpenter foreman at the Pine Hill colliery. He married Martha Schnei- 
der, and they have the following children : Orthia, Mrs. George Pettit ; Anna, 
Mrs. Eilus Saylor ; George, of Nazareth, Pa. ; Regina, wife of Frank Snyder, 
postmaster of Minersville; Harry, of Minersville; Elvin W. ; Stanley, of South 
Bethlehem, Pa. ; and Hilda, Mrs. Fred German, of Paterson, New Jersey. 

Elvin W. Keith attended public school and was graduated from the Miners- 
ville high school in the class of 1907. He then took his professional course, 
at the Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia, from which institution he was 
graduated in 1913. During the year following he was stationed at the Potts- 
ville Hospital, on June i, 1914, locating at Minersville, where he has since been 
engaged in general practice. He is a member of the Schuylkill County Medical 
Society and the American jMedical Association. Dr. Keith has made an 
excellent start and is gaining steadily in the confidence and esteem of the resi- 
dents of Minersville and vicinity. He is married to Helen C. Dougherty. The 
Keith family are Methodists in religious faith. 

MANUEL W. BROMMER, of Landingville, Schuylkill county, seems to 
have found the solution of being "pleasantly and profitably employed" for him- 
self, at any rate, and his beautifully kept little property is one of the features 
of the neighborhood, where enterprises similar to his are rare. For a number 
of years Mr. Brommer was an employee of the Philadelphia & Reading Rail- 
road Company, and in that capacity and as hotelkeeper at Landingville, he has 
a very wide acquaintance. Born Nov. 6, 1857, in South Manheim township, 
Schuylkill county, he is a son of Lewis Brommer and grandson of Henry 
Brommer. The latter came to this country from Germany with his wife and 
one child, and settled at Schuylkill Haven, Schuylkill Co., Pa. By trade he 
was a carpenter, and as such was employed at the locks when the Schuylkill 
canal was under construction. 

Lewis Brommer, father of Manuel W. Brommer, was born in Wayne 
township. While living in Schuylkill county he followed farming, andin 1879 
he moved out to Missouri, settling at Boonville, where he continued agricultural 
pursuits, also making a specialtv of hog raising. He prospered and continued 
to reside there until his death. His wife was Eliza Reber, daughter of Samuel 
Reber, and they had children as follows : Manuel W., Morris, Harry, Robert, 
Francis, Fulton, Carrie, Jennie and Pearl. 

Manuel W. Brommer attended public school during his boyhood, and later, 
in 1874-75, was a student of the Keystone State Normal School at Kutztown, 
Pa. In his young manhood he taught six terms of school in Schuylkill county, 
after which he entered the service of the Philadelphia & Reading Railroad 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 699 

Company. Following a short experience as brakeman he became conductor of 
a freight train, and soon afterwards a passenger train, for eight years being 
so engaged on the best train on his division, the "Cannon Ball," running 
between Pottsville and Philadelphia. His employment with the railroad com- 
pany extended over a period of twenty years, and he retired in 1899, at which 
time he bought the hotel at Landingville. He conducted it as proprietor for 
seven years, leasing the property, and made a thorough success of his business, 
but gave it up to enter his present line, the raising of high-grade chickens. 

Mr. Brommer has bought the small piece of ground on the road running 
west from Landingville, a short distance from the railroad station, two and a 
quarter acres, which was all woodland when it came into his possession. He 
put up a little two-story house, where he has since resided, and during the inter- 
vening years has improved the place with the idea of making it an ideal poultry 
establishment. Most of his land is on a hillside, and at the foot of the hill is 
a fine stream of clear water, a great advantage for his purpose. He has eight 
pens, 8 by 10 feet in size, with wire inclosures 10 by 100 feet for each, the 
latter extending down the slope of the hill to the creek at the bottom. The 
houses are of the open front variety, protected in the winter by muslin curtains. 
After considerable study of the various breeds of poultry, Mr. Brommer 
decided on the White Leghorns, which he keeps exclusively, and after import- 
ing a pen of Tom Barron Single Comb White Leghorns from Preston. England, 
he had such favorable results that he has tried no other kind since. At present 
he has about one hundred and fifty chickens, old and young, and the efifect 
of scientific feeding and unremitting care is very well demonstrated, for often, 
even during the winter season, he gathers as many eggs daily as there are hens 
in the pens. The eggs are always very large, averaging nearly two pounds to 
the dozen, and he has been unable to supply the demand for hatching purposes. 
In one season from his small flock he has disposed of more than one hundred 
and fifty dollars worth in eggs for hatching purposes. Mr. Brommer has made 
a thorough study of feed, housing and the ideal conditions for his stock, and 
though he has taken infinite pains and neglected no precautions to keep the 
chickens in the best condition, his arrangements have been so perfected that he 
is able to accomplish all the necessary work with the minimum of labor. 
Cleanliness is the prime consideration, whitewash is used plentifully wherever 
needed, and all of the property is kept in a most attractive state, neatness and 
true economy being the most conspicuous characteristics. The feed house is one 
of the best arranged in the country. Mr. Brommer erected it especially for his 
purpose and it is admirably equipped, about 20 feet square and three stories 
high. The lower floor is used for the mixing of the feed and provided with 
two large mixing troughs, a grinder and a gasoline engine. After being mixed 
in the trough the feed is ground, and then placed in the hopper and fed. The 
hoppers are large enough to hold a week's supply of grain, thus eliminating 
much of the work of feeding. The second floor is so arranged that a team can 
back up against the front from the road and deliver the bags of feed right on 
the floor. The bins, six in number, with a capacity of 400 bushels, are on this 
floor, three on either side of the aisle. These bins are equipped on the bottom 
with chutes, leading into and operated from the basement, and when Mr. 
Brommer wants a certain kind of grain, he simply taps it from the bin. The 
third floor is used for storage purposes. Here he keeps his incubators when 
not in use, and various other articles. 

Alono- with the raising of poultry Mr. Brommer has continued the clearing 



700 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PEi\XSYLVANL\ 

of his land and its improvement in other Hnes. He plants a fair sized garden, 
raising enough vegetables for his own use, and he has set out fifty peach trees, 
principally to supply shade for the chickens when the brush and trees originally 
on the land have all been cleared away. Last year he set out a strawberry bed, 
20 by 100 feet in size. His little establishment is a model of its kind, and 
though he has expended much time and means on its development the venture 
is paying him well. Combining study with intelligent labor he has worked out 
many problems of the business to which he now devotes his time, making experi- 
ments which assist his neighbors as well as himself, and showing the possibili- 
ties of the industry in this section he has accomplished at least one thing of 
distinct value to his neighborhood. 

Mr. Brommer is a skillful watchmaker and jeweler, and while on the rail- 
road he was well known as a reliable repairman, many of his fellow trainmen 
bringing their watches to him for care and adjustment. He continues to follow 
this trade as occasion demands. Mr. Brommer is a meinber of the Improved 
Order of Red Men. 

lOHN F. SCHNEIDER, late of Pottsville, was a typical member of the 
thrifty German stock from which he came, a skillful tradesman, industrious, 
honorable in all his dealings and prosperous in business as a result of trust- 
worthy methods and steady service to his patrons. He was one of a family of 
five children, of whom August died at Minersville, Pa. ; Lena married a Mr. 
Burkhart ; Sophia married Carl Spaulding ; Catherine married August Orf . _ 

j\Ir. Schneider was born in Saxony, Germany, in 1840. He grew up in his 
native country and was a young man when he came to America. From the 
time of his settlement in this country he lived in Schuylkill county, Pa., first 
at Minersville and later at Pottsville, where he resided until his death. A shoe- 
maker by trade, he followed that occupation throughout his active years, and 
by frugality and good management he became the owner of several valuable 
pieces of property. Mr. Schneider was a man of fine qualities and became well 
and favorably known in this region, for whose interest he always had close 
concern. His death occurred Jan. 22. 1914, at his residence in Pottsville. No. 
214 North Third street, and he"is buried in the Odd Fellows cemetery. He was 
a zealous member of Trinity Lutheran Church, and in his wilLbequeathed one 
hundred dollars to that church and a like amount to the Third Brigade Band 
of Pottsville. 

Mr. Schneider married Elizabeth Klein, who was born June 17, 1855, m the 
northwestern part of Germany, daughter of Joseph and Margaret (Barnhart) 
Klein, both of whom died in Germany; they had six children, Mrs. Schneider's 
brothers and sisters being: Frederick, John, Bernhart, Josephine and Catherine. 
:\Irs. Schneider came to America when fourteen years old. and lived in New 
York City for five years, at the end of that time coming to Pottsville. where 
she has since made her home. She continues to occupy the old residence on 
North Third street. Five children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Schneider : John 
Frederick, who lives at Pottsville ; August F., who died when twenty-two years 
old • Charles, who died young : Mary Elizabeth, who married John W. Brown, 
and' has two children: Elma^E. and'Robert P. : and Charles F., living at home. 
The family are members of Trinity Lutheran Church at Pottsville. 

CHARLES H. KRAMMES, proprietor of the "Auburn Hotel," was bom 
in Wayne township, Schuylkill Co., Pa., Feb. 12, 1851, son of Benjamin B. 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 701 

Krammes and grandson of Andrew Krammes. The family is one of the oldest 
of Gemian ancestry in the State. Andrew Krammes lived in Wayne township 
and followed farming until the end of his days. He is buried at Summer Hill 
cemetery. His children were: Moses, Daniel, Benjamin B., Sarah, Elizabeth, 
Louisa and Matilda. 

Benjamin B. Krammes was born in Wayne township, and followed boating 
on the Schuylkill canal during all of his active life. He died in Wayne town- 
ship, and is buried near the old Summer Hill Church there. By his marriage 
to Lucy Ann, daughter of Daniel Krammes, he had these children: Benjamin 
L., W. W., Frank S., Levi (deceased), Charles H., James, David, Milton and 
Polly Ann (who married Levi Ditzler, of Washington township). After the 
death of Mr. Krammes Mrs. Krammes married Benjamin Heimbach. She is 
now deceased. 

Charles H. Krammes obtained his education in the public schools. He 
followed boating on the canal for eight years, after which he took up the 
occupation of carpenter, which he continued for ten years. He then went 
into the hotel business, which he has carried on for the past nineteen years at 
the following places : Summit Station ; "Red Lion Hotel," Washington town- 
ship; Rock Station; Friedensburg ; "Half- Way House," North Manheim town- 
ship; "Springer Hotel," Cressona ; and the "Auburn House," which he bought 
of John H. Fahl Feb. i, 1911. He is conducting the most popular house in the 
borough of Auburn and caters to the best trade of the county. Mr. Krammes 
is a member of the Board of Trade of Auburn and in every way is a citizen 
of public spirit and enterprise. He is a member of the I. O. O. F. lodge at 
Summit Station, and also of the P. O. S. of A. camp at the same place. In 
religious affiliation he is a Lutheran. Fraternally he is a Mason, with member- 
ship at Pottsville. 

Mr. Krammes was married to Sarah Jane Roeder, daughter of Anthony 
Roeder, of Wayne township, and they have had twelve children, as follows : 
(I) Carrie V*. is the wife of Jacob W. Clauser, of Auburn, Pa. (2) Mabel A., 
wife of Frank Wilson, is living in Reading, Pa. (3) Clora M., wife of J. D. 
Kantner, died at the age of twenty-five years. (4) Sallie A. married Henry 
H. Emerich, of Summit Station. (5) Fronie J. is the wife of Alvin Maiden- 
ford, of Washington township, this county. (6) Richard E. lives at Frack- 
ville. Pa. (7) Rufus V. lives at Schuylkill Haven and is the proprietor of the 
"Columbus Hotel." (8) Mary L. is the wife of Edward Moyer, of Pine 
Grove. (9) Elerttie E. married Walter Fegley, of Palo Alto, Pa. (10) Brua 
C. lives at Pottsville, Pa. (11) Curtis E. lives at Schuylkill Haven. (12) 
Hattie F. died at the age of four years. 

HENRY YERGER, retired resident of Palo Alto, was in the employ of 
the Philadelphia & Reading Railway Company for about forty-eight years. 
Mr. Yerger was born April i, 1844, at Leesport. Berks Co., Pa., son of George 
B. Yerger, and his grandfather lived and died at Reading, Berks county. The 
latter had a family of six children, namely: John, Benjamin, George B., Mary, 
Lydia and Elizabeth. 

George B. Yerger, father of Henry Yerger, was born March 15, 1820, at 
Reading, Berks Co., Pa., where he followed butchering. In 1845 he came to 
Pottsville. Schuylkill county, where he found employment with Mr. Spohn, who 
had a meat market here for many years. Mr. Yerger finally entered the busi- 
ness on his own account, and continued it until his death, in 1893. He married 



702 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

Esther Shuck, and their family consisted of twelve children: Henry is the 
eldest; Ellen, born May 26, 1845, married a Mr. Marshall; Annie, born' April 
30, 1846, married Philip Smith, and is deceased; Frank, born Feb. i, 1848, is 
living at Norristown, Pa.; Charles, born Oct. 17, 1849, died in Iowa; Mary, 
born Feb. 7, 1853, married Edw. Taylor, of Ilhnois ; Alice, born Jan. 16, 1855, 
married a Air. Applegate, and is living in Iowa ; Agnes, twin of Alice, is un- 
married and makes her home at Pottsville; William B., born Nov. 24, 1857, 
lives near Reading, Pa. ; George, born Feb. 2, i860, is living in Iowa ; Sallie 
married Thomas C. Williams, of Pottsville; John, born June 5, 1866, died 
in 1913 in Iowa. 

Henry Yerger was but one year old when his parents came to Pottsville, 
and he grew up here, attending the public school during his boyhood. He found 
his first regular employment in the Snyder foundry, and did that kind of 
work for about three years. He then spent one year in the rolling mill at 
Palo Alto, was at the car shop in the employ of the Reading Company one 
year, and for another year held the position of brakeman. He afterwards 
served successfully as conductor and fireman, and in 1874 began running an 
engine, continuing with that company in that capacity until his retirement, 
April I, 1914. He is now on the pension list. For about twenty years he ran 
an engine on the Frackville and Mahanoy division, and he was one of the 
oldest engineers on the road at the time of his retirement. His trustworthiness 
and his intelligent attention to his important work were properly valued by his 
employers. He is a member of Anthracite Lodge, No. 285, F. & A. M.,' and 
of Mountain City Chapter, No. 196, R. A. M., of Pottsville, Pa. By reason of 
his service in the Civil war Mr. Yerger is entitled to membership in the 
G. A. R., belonging to Gowen Post, No. 23, of that body, as well as to Union 
Veteran Legion, No. 19, of which he is a past colonel. He has also been prom- 
inent in the "First Defenders" Association, serving as president in 1900. and 
as vice president from 1909 to 1914. 

On April 18, 1861, Mr. Yerger enlisted in Company D, 25th Regiment, 
National Light Infantry, for three months, under Captain McDowell, being 
one of the "first defenders." He was discharged July 27, 1861, at the expiration 
of this term, and reenlisted Oct. ist, following, for three years, becoming a 
member of Company G, 48th Pennsylvania Regiment, from which he received 
his discharge Oct. i, 1864. From Sept. i, 1861, to Oct. i, 1864, it was attached 
to Batteries L and M, 3d Artillery, U. S. A. Mr. Yerger received one slight 
wound while in the service, being wounded at Charleston, W. Va., in the right 
ankle. In 1866 Mr. Yerger was married to Sarah Jane Lashorn, daughter of 
Daniel Lashorn, who was a native of Virginia. Five children have been born 
to this marriage : William D. is an engineer in the employ of the Philadelphia 
& Reading Company, and resides at Reading, Pa. : Morris E. is a member of 
the well known firm of Yerger & Jones, clothiers at Pottsville ; George H., who 
lives at home, is a machinist in the employ of the Philadelphia & Reading Com- 
pany : Frank H. is a telegrapher in the employ of the Pennsylvania Railroad 
Company ; Mary E. is the widow of Harry G. Miller, and resides at home. Mr. 
Yerger has served as a member of the council of Palo Alto. 

ELWOOD T. EILER has been a recognized influence in the musical circles 
in Schuylkill Haven for a number of years, devoting practically all of his life 
to such interests, for he is not only a musician, but also engaged in business 
as a dealer in musical instruments and such merchandise. Mr. Eiler is the 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 703 

leader of the Schuylkill Haven Band and also plays cornet in the Third Brigade 
Band of Pottsville. 

The Eiler family, to which Elwood T. Eiler belongs, traces its ancestry 
to Johannes Eyler, who was born Dec. 6, 1772, and died Dec. 21, 1843. He 
settled at what became known as Eyler's Hollow (in Pennsylvania German as 
"Noosadaul"), in North Manheim township, Schuylkill county, followed farm- 
ing, and died upon his farm, and is buried in the old cemetery at Schuylkill 
Haven. His children were: John; Daniel (1811-1869) ; Henry; Betsy, wife of 
Frank Mellon; and Kate, wife of Peter Strause. His children changed the 
name to its present form. 

John Eiler, grandfather of Elwood T. Eiler, and son of John, above, was 
a large landowner in what is now known as Schuylkill Haven, and also at Eiler's 
Hollow. He was born on the homestead in North Manheim township, and died 
in that township at the advanced age of eighty-three years. He learned the 
trade of carpet weaver and followed it throughout his active life. His wife, 
Hannah (Schappell), daughter of Jacob Schappell, died at the age of forty-six 
years, and they are buried in the old cemetery at Schuylkill Haven. They had 
the following family : Mary married John Bubeck ; Maria married Levi Reich' 
ert ; Hannah married John Krietzel, who was killed during the Civil war, while 
serving as a member of the 48th Pennsylvania Regiment, and she afterwards 
married Samuel Bonberger, who was also a soldier in the Civil war; Emaline 
married Joseph Freeman ; Susan married William Killian, a soldier of the Civil 
war; Israel died while serving as a soldier in the Civil war; Frank is the father 
of Elwood T. Eiler. Three children died young. 

Frank Eiler, son of John and Hannah Eiler, was born April 13, 1840, in 
North Manheim township, and is now living retired at Schuylkill Haven, after 
a long service in the employ of the Philadelphia & Reading Railroad Company. 
He began work for that company as a switchman, later becoming brakeman, 
and three years afterwards was promoted to fireman, finally becoming an 
engineer. He was thus engaged for thirty-five years, most of the time on the 
Mine Hill road, and he brought the old yellow cars then in use to the Mine 
Hill crossing, where they were loaded on the canalboats. Thus he has seen 
the development of the railroads from the complicated but inferior methods of 
the early days to the splendid system now in operation. Mr. Eiler was retired 
by the company April 13, igio. He has been a member of the Philadelphia 
& Reading Veterans since the organization of that body, and has also belonged 
to the Relief Association since its organization. Mr. Eiler married Leah 
Baker, daughter of John Baker, and the following children were born to their 
union : Elvvood T. Eiler is mentioned below ; Harry and Clayton are barbers 
at Schuylkill Haven : George died young ; Frank is a barber and music dealer 
at Spring City, Pa. ; Robert, also a barber, is located at Landingville, Pa. ; j\Iay 
is married to Arthur Rich, of Pottsville, Pa. The mother died Dec. 11, 1909, 
and is buried in the Union cemetery at Schuylkill Haven. 

Elwood T. Eiler was born Nov. 24, 1861, and obtained his education in 
the public schools. When a youth he learned the trade of barber, which he 
followed until 1903. He has since been in business at Schuylkill Haven as a 
dealer in musical instruments and music, selling pianos, player pianos, organs 
and other such instruments, phonographs and records. Mr. Eiler has made 
a thorough success in his mercantile venture, his understanding of the require- 
ments of his customers and his familiarity with music fitting him to accommo- 
date his trade to the best advantage. His store on Main street is up-to-date 



704 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

and well stocked. Mr. Eiler began taking violin lessons when twelve years old, 
and later had instruction on other instruments, and has become an accomplished 
performer. He organized Eiler's Band, of Schuylkill Haven, which had an 
existence of about eighteen years, and was its leader during that time. Later 
he became the leader of the Schuylkill Haven Band, which he is still conduct- 
ing, and he plays the cornet in the Third Brigade Band, of Pottsville, which 
was led by the late Frederic Gerhard until his death ; Mr. Braun is the present 
leader. For the last twenty-seven years Mr. Eiler has been a member of the 
choir of the Second Reformed Church, to which he belongs, and has taken part 
in all the local enterprises of this nature. He has a high reputation, his work 
being of the best quality. Socially he is a member of Page Lodge, No. 270, 
F. & A. M., of the I. O. O. F. and of the Sons of America. 

Mr. Eiler married z\nnie Rupp, daughter of John Rupp. They have no 
children. 

Mrs. Eiler's grandfather brought his family to this country from Germany, 
settling at Schuylkill Haven, where he died. His children were: Joseph, 
Thomas, jMary, Barbara and John. 

John Rupp, the father of Mrs. Eiler, was born in Wurtemberg, Germany, 
and" came to America with his parents. He learned blacksmithing, which he 
followed throughout his active life at Schuylkill Haven, and his death occurred 
there. By his marriage to Charity Reed, daughter of Thomas Reed, he had the 
following children : Margaret, who married Frank Heiser ; Joseph ; and Emma, 
Mrs. Frank Sterner. For his second wife he married Catherine Himmel, and 
the children of this union were: Sarah. Annie (Mrs. Eiler), Barbara (de- 
ceased), Elizabeth (deceased), Charles, Thomas. Frank and George. 

DA\'ID VETTER, one of the best known citizens of New Ringgold, 
Schuylkill county, is now living retired after a lifetime of useful labor in 
business and public service, assisting his fellow citizens in the upbuilding of 
the town and county, to whose interests he has become deeply attached in long 
years of intimate association. Mr. Yetter was born at Pottsville, Schuylkill 
county, Feb. 22, 1843, and is of German lineage, his grandfather, John Vetter, 
having spent the whole of his life in GeiTnany. 

John \'etter, father of David \'etter, was born in the Grand Duchy of 
Baden Feb. 26, 1815, and with his wife, Mary (Hetzel), who was also a native 
of Germany, emigrated to America in the year 1828. He first settled in the 
State of New York, and in 1840 removed to Pottsville, where he carried on 
the occupations of brickmaking and farming until 1864. In the latter year he 
moved to New Ringgold, where both he and his wife died, the fomier on Aug. 
8, 1885, and the latter on April 20, 1883. In religious association Mr. \'etter 
was a member of the Lutheran Church. He had a family of six children, three 
sons and three daughters, all of whom grew to maturity. 

David Vetter attended school at Pottsville and soon after leaving school 
became employed on the Schuylkill and Erie canal as boatman. When the 
Civil war began he became enthused with the prospect of fighting for his coun- 
try' and enlisted on Aug. 22, 1862. in Company H, 120th Regiment, New York 
\'olunteers, at Kingston. N. Y. This regiment was assigned to the 2d Brigade, 
2d Division, 3d Corps, Army of the Potomac, with which he served untd the 
close of the war, participating in the battles of Chancellorsville, Fredericksburg, 
Cold Harbor, \\'ilderness. Spottsvlvania. Gettysburg, and others of minor im- 
portance. After the war Mr. \'etter returned to New Ringgold and learned 




iSM^^^^^^ 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 705 

telegraphy, in 1870 entering the employ of the Reading Company, and serving 
for over twenty-one years as night operator. In 1891 he was promoted to the 
position of station agent at New Ringgold, which he held until he was retired, 
in 1913, with a pension, after a continuous service of over forty-three years 
with the company at that pomt. He was also agent for the United States 
Express Company at New Ringgold. Mr. Vetter was formerly a Republican, 
but soon after its organization joined the Washington Progressive party, and 
was its candidate for sheriff of Schuylkill county in 1913, being defeated by a 
small margin. He was also the Washington party candidate for General As- 
semblyman in 1914, but was again defeated by a small majority. 

Mr. Vetter was elected to the office of justice of the peace in 1878, and has 
served continuously in that position ever since. He was a member of the 
borough school board for thirty-hve years, being secretary during this entire 
period of service, and was a member of the borough council for five years. He 
has been a member of Washington Camp No. 100, P. O. S. of A., for forty- 
seven years, is a past president, has been recording secretary for many years, 
and has been representative to the State camp a number of times. He has 
also been a member of East Brunswick Lodge No. 802, L O. O. F., for the last 
forty-three years, is a past grand, and has held all the offices within the gift of 
the lodge. By virtue of his Civil war service he is a member of the G. A. R., 
having been connected with Doubleday Post, No. 189, of Tamaqua, for over 
thirty years. He is a member of the General Council branch of the Evangelical 
Lutheran Church, has held all the church offices, and is also interested in the 
Sunday school, having been superintendent of the same for many years, and 
a teacher as well. 

On June 15, 1863, Air. \'etter married Mary C. Hetzel, a daughter of John 
and Christina Hetzel, of Ulster county, N. Y., and to them were born these 
children: (i) Sarah Esther, bom Aug. 19, 1870, married Christian Miller, 
formerly of Mahanoy City, now an employee at the Bethlehem Steel Works, 
and they have six children, Lottie, Carrie, Gertrude, Ella, Edward and Barbara. 
(2) Mary Rebecca, born April 27, 1873, married George Sassaman, at one 
time a farmer of Bamesville, this county, now engaged as a carpenter at 
Tamaqua, Pa. They have two children, Goldie and Gladys. (3) Flora Louisa, 
born April 27, 1873 (twin of Mary), married Alvin Fussleman, a carpenter, for 
a time a resident of Slatington, Lehigh Co., Pa., now of Tamaqua, Pa. They 
have two children, David and Clarence. (4) John Howard, born Oct. 2, 1875, 
a shoemaker of Lititz, Pa., married Carrie E. Miller, and they have two chil- 
dren, William and Mar}' Ellen. (3) George William, born Aug. 14, 1878, a 
telegraph operator at Connellsville, Pa., is married to Emma Schwender, and 
they have one child, Helen. (6) Katie Magdalena, born Jan. 22, 1880, married 
E. R. Neiswender, station agent of the Philadelphia & Reading Railway Com- 
pany at New Ringgold, Pa., and they have one child, Florence. (7) Carrie 
Emma, born May 10, 1884, married George F. Knittle. State health officer and 
telegraph operator, and they have three children, Robert, Miriam and Alma. 
(8) Lottie Pearl Altie, born April 27, 1889, married Walter Neiswender, a lum- 
berman of New Ringgold, and they have two children, Marj' and Dorothy. All 
of Mr. \'etter's children were boni at New Ringgold and all of them are mem- 
bers of the Lutheran Church. 

Mrs. Mary C. (Hetzel) \"etter, wife of David Vetter, was born Nov. 3, 
1842, at Rondout, near Kingston, Ulster Co., N. Y., was educated in that part 
Vol. II— 7 



706 SCHUYLKILL COUiNTY, PENNSYLVANLA. 

of the Empire State, and resided at home mitil her marriage. She died Sept. 
15, 1912, and is buried at the P'rieden's Church, New Ringgold, Pennsylvania. 
John Hetzel, father of Mrs. David Vetter, was born in Germany, and by 
occupation was a quarryman, employed at the Rosendale Cement Quarries in 
Ulster County, N. Y. He married Christina Steigmire, and they had the 
following children: John, the only survivor of the family, is a boatman on the 
North river for the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad Company (he 
has two children) ; George, Mary C. and William are deceased. Mr. and Mrs. 
Hetzel were members of the Lutheran Church. Both are buried at Rondout, 
New York. 

THEODORE D. SCHNEIDER, proprietor of what is known as the 
Schneider Pharmacy, in Pottsville, has been operating on his own account only 
a short time, but his varied experiences with responsible drug houses covering 
a long period of his business life should be a sufficient guaranty that he is well 
qualihed for his chosen line. He has recently taken over the old established 
trade of George G. Hinterleitner. 

The Schneiders are of German extraction. Theodore D. Schneider, the 
grandfather of Theodore D. Schneider, was born in Hanover, Germany, and 
when a young man left his country to escape the military service, taking refuge 
in France, whence he sailed for America. Locating at Ashland, in Schuylkill 
county. Pa., he became engaged as a butcher and drover, established a large 
business, and remained there until his death. 

Lewis Schneider, father of Theodore D. Schneider, was born in Schuylkill 
county. Pa., and passed his entire life here, dying in September, 1913. From 
boyhood he was associated with his father in business as a butcher and 
drover, continuing to follow that line successfully at Ashland all his life. 
Politically he was a Democrat, and active in party and political affairs in his 
locality, serving ten years as a member of the borough council. He belonged 
to the German Reformed Church. He married Clara Hetherington, whose 
father, Jonathan Hetherington, was an Englishman, who was engaged in the 
mule and mine timber business at St. Clair, Schuylkill county, later moving 
to Ringtown, this county, where he followed farming. Mrs. Schneider is still 
living, at Ashland, Pa. Two children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Schneider, 
namely : Theodore D. and Lottie, the latter dying when six years old. 

Theodore D. Schneider was born at Ashland in 1880, and received an 
excellent education in the public schools of that place, graduating from the 
high school in 1898. He received his first training in the drug business under 
L. C. Voshage, of Ashland, where he remained for eighteen months. His next 
position was at Sunbury, where he was in the employ of a Mr. Kelley for 
three years, after which he spent four months at Bellefonte, Pa., and five 
months at Harrisburg. In January, 1904, Mr. Schneider came to Pottsville, 
where he spent seven years in the employ of William S. Cowen. His next 
change was to Hazleton, Pa., where he was connected with the Eble Pharmacy, 
as manager, for two years and three months. Returning to Pottsville, he 
purchased the well known drug store of George G. Hinterleitner, at No. 300 
North Centre street, which he has since been conducting. Mr. Schneider has 
a thorough grasp of modern business methods, has kept up with the best ideas 
in his particular line, and has a high sense of responsibility attaching to his 
chosen calling, an important point which has gained him the absolute confidence 
of his townsmen in Pottsville. The wide acquaintance and high reputation he 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 707 

gained during his association with Mr. Cowen, at Pottsville, has aided him 
greatly in establishing himself since he started business on his own account. 
Personally he is regarded as an excellent citizen in every respect, and is highly 
thought of by his fellow members in Ashland Lodge, No. 384, B. P. O. Elks. 
He belongs to the Reformed Church. Mr. Schneider is an independent voter, 
supporting the candidates he thinks best fitted for the ofhce and the measures 
which in his opinion will confer the greatest benefit on the community. 

On Sept. 16, 1913. Mr. Schneider married Elsie L. Kline, daughter of Wil- 
liam H. Kline. Her father formerly conducted the well known Kline's cafe, on 
Centre street, Pottsville ; he is now residing at Yellow House, Berks Co., Pa. 
Mrs. Schneider was born at Farmersville, in Lancaster county, this State. 

WALTER WINFIELD SCOTT, a prosperous farmer, owning the only 
farm between Pottsville and Schuylkill Haven, was born Oct. i, 1868, at 
Wadesville, Schuylkill Co., Pa., son of John Alexander Scott. The family is 
an old and honored one in England. 

John Alexander Scott, father of Walter W. Scott, was born at Greatbridge, 
Staffordshire, England, and came to America when he was thirty-one years 
of age. He settled at Summer Hill, Schuylkill Co., Pa., and was employed by 
a man named Brown in a small mine near there. He then went to Wadesville, 
where he sank the first mining shaft in this section, by contract, the superin- 
tendent of the mine being a Mr. Althouse. After a time Mr. Scott became 
mine boss, having at one period four hundred men under his direct super- 
vision. He took a trip to his old home in England after a number of years 
of labor in the mines, and upon his return went to Wilkes-Barre, Pa., where 
he followed mining for a time, but eventually returned to the Wadesville shaft, 
remaining there until 1875. Mr. Scott then bought the old Minnich homestead 
of seventy-three acres at St. Clair, a mile above Schuylkill Haven, on the main 
road, and there followed farming until his death, which occurred Aug. 30, 
1880, at Cape Horn, on the Reading railroad, through an accident. He is 
buried in the borough cemetery at St. Clair. 

John A. Scott was married to Matilda Reid, daughter of Joseph Reid. She 
was born half a mile from her husband's birthplace, and died June 30, 1912, 
and is buried in the Charles Baber cemetery at Pottsville, Pa. The following 
children were born to John A. Scott and his wife: John A., of Schuylkill 
Haven; Mary, wife of William Yeager, of Reading, Pa.; Walter W. ; Ella; 
Frank ; Edward ; and two who died in infancy. 

Walter W. Scott was born at Wadesville, Schuylkill Co., Pa., and lived upon 
his father's farm until he was twenty-seven years old. He then obtained a 
position with the Atlantic Refining Company at Mount Carbon, where he 
remained for two years. Returning to the home farm he spent nine m.onths 
there, after which he accepted the position of assistant farmer at the county 
almshouse farm, continuing there for one year. Again he returned home, for 
one year, next working on the local trolley road as motorman, for seven years, 
and then after five years' residence on the home farm he reentered the service 
of the Atlantic Refining Company, for eight and a half months. Having ac- 
cumulated a competency, he invested in land, buying first the family homestead 
of sixty-eight and a half acres in 191 3, and also thirteen acres of the old Mellet 
farm, and ten acres of the John Womer tract, adjoining. Mr. Scott now has 
one of the finest farms in the county, all good land, and the only one on the 
road between Pottsville and Schuylkill Haven. His farm and buildings are 



708 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENi\SYLYANL\ 

kept in up-to-date condition, and he has adopted modern methods of cultivating 
the soil. 

On Jan. ii, 1898, Mr. Scott was married to Anna Doretta Kear, daughter 
of William Kear, and they have had children as follows : Camilla May, Walter 
W., Elmer N., Luther R. and Mary Matilda. Mr. Scott is a Republican, and 
has served upon the school board of North Manheim township, and as commit- 
teeman and delegate to the county conventions. He and his family attend 
the Lutheran Church. 

JEREMLAH FESSLER, one of the most respected residents of Cressona 
borough, now living retired, was born Jan. 28, 1845, in Panther valley, Wayne 
township, Schuylkill county. He belongs to an old family of German origin 
which has been in this county for several generations, his grandfather having 
been a pioneer in Long Run valley, Schuylkill county, where he followed 
farming and lived until his death. He was twice married, by the first union 
having two children, Joseph and John, and his second wife, whose maiden name 
was Confer, was the mother of the following: Andrew died in Schuylkill 
county ; Michael died in Berks county ; Abraham died in Shamokin, Pa. ; Wil- 
liam and George died in Schuylkill county ; Molly married Solomon Luckenbill ; 
Rebecca married Daniel Minich. 

Of the above family, William Fessler, well known in his day as "Old Bill 
Fessler," was the father of Jeremiah Fessler. He was born in Long Run valley. 
Living in this section in the pioneer era he was a typical man of his day, a 
great hunter and fisherman, and shot several deer and bear in the Second Moun- 
tain district in Pennsylvania. He did railroad work during the early days of 
the railroad in this region, being one of the first men employed on the Mine 
Hill road, helping to lay the track, later hauling coal, and still later acting as 
roadmaster, which position he held until 1866. At that time he retired to his 
land, owning two farms in this section, and continued to live there until his 
death, which occurred when he was eighty-five years old ; he is buried in the 
Union cemetery at Friedensburg, this county. Few men m this part of 
Schuylkill county were better or more favorably known. He and William Lark 
built the Union Church at Friedensburg, and he never lost his interest in church 
work, in which he tookan active part. Politically he was a Republican. In his 
early days Cressona was known as West Haven. By his marriage to Elizabeth 
Luckenbill, daughter of Solomon Luckenbill, he had a large family, namely : 
William, who died in Wayne township, Schuylkill county ; Catherine, who died 
young; four who died in infancy; Esther, deceased, wife of George Lark; 
George, who died at Cressona ; Elias, who was a soldier in the Civil war ; Jere- 
miah, now one of the oldest residents of Cressona ; Elizabeth, widow of William 
Breininger; Henry and James, who live in Wisconsin; Josiah, a resident of 
Cressona ; and Amanda, who married John Lengle, and lives at Cressona. The 
mother of this family lived to the age of eighty years. 

Jeremiah Fessler began work for the Mine Hill Railroad Company m 1858, 
and when the Reading Railway Company took over the ownership of the road 
continued in the same employ. In 1864 he became fireman on the engine of 
a passenger train on the Mine Hill road, and in 1873 was promoted to engineer, 
in which capacity he was engaged until igog. In 191 1 he was pensioned, and 
has since lived retired at Cressona. Mr. Fessler was a charter member of the 
Reading Relief Association, and well known in that organization. In the 
course of his industrious life he has made many friends in the borough, and is 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PEx\NSYLVANL-\ 709 

highly esteemed by all who know him, as he deserves to be. J\Ir. Fessler is a 
member of the United Evangelical Church, and has always been an active 
and interested worker in that direction. For over fifteen years he served as 
superintendent of its Sunday school. 

By his first marriage, to Louisa Kantner, daughter of Jacob and Elizabeth 
(Snyder) Kantner, Air. Fessler had one child, Ida May, who married Dr. 
Frank Alerkle; he died in Bucks county, and Airs. Merkle now resides at 
Cressona and is engaged as a public school teacher. Mrs. Louisa Fessler died 
when twenty-seven years old, and Mr. Fessler subsequently married her sister, 
Caroline E. Kantner, by whom he has had three children : Charles, who died 
when seven months old; Thomas W., a merchant, of Minersville, Pa.; and 
Beulah, wife of Willard Weaver, of Cressona. 

WILLIAM MARDIS, a venerable citizen of Pottsville, now living in 
retirement, has been a resident of Schuylkill county since 1845. He was born 
Oct. 10, 1822, in Cambria county. Pa., son of Samuel Mardis, a native of the 
State of Maryland and of Scotch descent. Samuel Mardis followed farming 
in Cambria county, and died in Indiana county, Pa. To his marriage with 
Abbie Yost were born the following children : Joseph died in Cambria county ; 
John died in California; Jacob died in Cambria county; James is a resident of 
Iowa ; George was killed by a robber in California ; William is next in the order 
of birth; Samuel died young; Mary and Catherine complete the family. 

William Mardis obtained his education in the public schools of Cambria 
county, where he was reared upon a farm. Coming to Schuylkill county in 
June, 1845, he settled in Mahanoy township. His first mine work was in the 
soft coal fields of the Alleghenies. For one year he was in the employ of the 
State, engaged at railroad building over the Allegheny mountains. Besides 
mining in Schuylkill county, he assisted in building the Tremont railroad, and 
was also engaged on the work of widening the old Schuylkill canal. For 
twenty years he carried on farming on his own account, and for several years 
conducted a dairy business at Pottsville. He moved to that borough about 
twenty-eight years ago, and for a few years was an employee at the Philadelphia 
& Reading shops, since which time he has been variously engaged. Though over 
ninety years old Mr. Mardis is remarkably active, and he is able to read without 
the aid of glasses. He is a member of the Methodist Church, and he has 
always been among the most respected residents of the borough. His home is 
at No. 710 West Market street. 

Mr. Mardis married Margaret Hudson, who died in 1886, and is buried in 
the Odd Fellows cemetery at Pottsville. They had one daughter, Catherine, 
who is the wife of John Alertz, and resides on East Market street, Pottsville. 
Mr. and Mrs. Mertz have one son, William Mertz, now a resident of Phila- 
delphia, Pa., who married a Miss Reikert ; they have one daughter, Margaret. 

JOHN W. FREEMAN, of Schuylkill Haven, who has been in the grocery 
business at Centre and Garfield avenues since 1907, is one of the live young 
business men of the borough, and has shown commendable enterprise in the 
development of his trade. The Freeman family is an old and honored one 
in Pennsylvania. 

Jurig (George) Freeman, the American ancestor of the family, was born 
in Germany in 1706, and came to this country in his thirty-third year, in the 



710 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 

ship "Samuel," commanded by Hugh Percy, landing at Philadelphia Aug. 27, 
1739. It appears that he settled in Cumru township some time after 1750. 

George Freeman, a descendant of Jurig, above, was born Jan. 10, 1783, and 
died in 1825. He married Elizabeth Gerhard, bom in 1786, and they became 
the parents of children as follows: George, born Dec. 5, 1808; John; Catherine, 
born May 7, 181 1 ; Jacob, born Oct. 17, 1813; Elizabeth, born May 28, 1815; 
Benjamin, born June i, 1817; Cornelius, born Nov. 29, 1819; Peter; and 
Samuel. (It seems possible the son John of this family was the great-grand- 
father of John W. Freeman.) 

Johannes (or John) Freeman, great-grandfather of John W. Freeman, was 
born in Berks county, and settled in Wayne township, Schuylkill Co., Pa., where 
he followed farming. He died there, and is buried at the Summer Mountain 
church. His wife was Sarah Fehr, and they had children as follows: Joseph, 
William, Jonathan, Benjamin, Mrs. John Reichert and Mrs. Wert. 

Joseph Freeman, son of John, was born March 16, 1830, in Wayne town- 
ship, Schuylkill county, learned the trade of blacksmith, and followed that 
calling at Schuylkill Haven. He died on Centre avenue, in that borough, and 
is buried in the Union cemetery. By his marriage to Emma Filer, daughter 
of George Eiler, he had the following children : Sarah married Charles Hoff- 
man ; Emma married Adam Moyer ; Henry is living at Pottsville, this county ; 
John is mentioned below; Joseph (2) is a resident of Philadelphia, Pa.; George 
and Joseph ( i ) are deceased. 

John Freeman, son of Joseph, was born Nov. 27, i860, at Schuylkill Haven, 
where he is still living. For several years he was engaged in boating on the 
Schuylkill canal, afterwards entering the car shops in the borough, where he is 
still employed. On Dec. 29, 1884, he married Clara Shappell, daughter of 
William and Sarah (Ochenbach) Shappell, and granddaughter of John Shap- 
pell. Three children have been born to this union : John W. : INIamie S., wife of 
John Mengle, living at Schuylkill Haven ; and Sarah A., who died when nine 
days old. 

John W. Freeman was born June 10, 1886, at Schuylkill Haven, and obtained 
the principal part of his education in the public schools there. He has also 
taken a course at the Pottsville business college. For a time he was employed 
by the Walkover Shoe Company at Schuylkill Haven, and on Dec. 15, 1907, 
engaged in business for himself, dealing in groceries, dry goods and notions. 
His store is at the corner of Centre and Garfield avenues, and he has a very 
creditable stock, carrying a large assortment of well selected goods, which 
supply the needs of a large patronage. Mr. Freeman deserves his prosperity, 
having built up his trade by unremitting attention to the wants of his customers, 
accommodating service and reliable goods. His circle of patrons is widening 
steadily. 

Socially Mr. Freeman belongs to the Patriotic Order Sons of America and 
the Improved Order of Heptasophs. Politically he gives his support to the 
Democratic party. He married Grace \'iolet May Donmoyer. daughter of 
jMorris W. Donmoyer. 

G. EDG.'KR KLINE has proved his possession of stable business qualities 
in the management of the hotel and cafe at Pottsville which receives a liberal 
share of the local patronage. His father, who operated this place for seven 
years, had a long and successful career in the hotel business in different parts 
of Pennsylvania", and the son had the benefit of first hand e.xperience from 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 711 

early boyhood. Its value may well be inferred from his intelligent comprehen- 
sion of the requirements of the business. 

The Kline family are of old Lancaster stock. Hiram Kline, grandfather 
of G. Edgar Kline, was born in Lancaster county. Pa., and lived and died 
there, his death occurring at Lancaster Dec. 26, 1885. He was a well-to-do 
farmer. Hiram Kline married Barbara Beck, who still survives. Five chil- 
dren were born to this marriage : William H. ; Emma, born Jan. i, 1858, the wife 
of Samuel Miller, a farmer in Lancaster county ; Ezra, who was born Oct. 10, 
i860, a farmer on the old homestead in Warwick township, Lancaster county ; 
Hiram, born Nov. 3, 1862, also a farmer in Warwick township; and Kate, born 
Jan. 21, 1865, who married Horace Sturgis and lives in the town of Lititz. 

William H. Kline was born Jan. 14, 1854, at Lititz, Lancaster county, and 
received a public school education, attending in the home locality and at nearby 
town schools. He was reared to farming and followed that calling during his 
early manhood, until three years' after his marriage. His next venture was as 
a merchant, and from merchandising he turned to hotel keeping, being so 
engaged at Farmersville and Lancaster in his native county for six years. 
Moving thence to the vicinity of Pottsville, he conducted the "Tumbling Run 
Hotel" for a period of about seven years, from 1892 to 1898. and was the first 
proprietor there to have a license. Mr. Kline was next located at Reading. Pa., 
where he remained for three years, successfully conducting the Spears Cafe, at 
No. 503 Penn street, which attained a high popularity, during his ownership. 
In 1902 Mr. Kline came to Pottsville, where he opened a hotel and cafe which 
he and his son, in turn, have since kept up. Mr. Kline had contemplated remov- 
ing to Pottsville during his residence at Tumbling Run, which gave him a 
chance to observe the business in the borough, and his experience was sufficient 
to make the enterprise a success as long as he handled it. Kline's Cafe under 
his management became the most popular cafe of the kind in the town, the 
quality of the food served there and the service itself attracting many who 
demand the best. He equipped the place thoroughly and conveniently, and 
during the seven years he carried it on kept up the high standard which he 
established at the beginning. Several years ago he gave up the business, and has 
since been living at Yellow Llouse, Berks Co., Pa., where he has a farm of 
seventy-five acres. 

Mr. Kline was married Oct. 14, 1879, to Maggie Bowman, of Ephrata, 
Lancaster county, daughter of George L. and Fannie (Steinmets) Bowman. 
Mr. Bowman is deceased. Of the three children born to Mr. and Mrs. Kline 
George Edgar is the eldest; Elsie, who graduated from the Reading high school, 
is now the wife of Dr. Theodore D. Schneider, a well known druggist of Potts- 
ville; William McKinley, who lives at home, was born in 1897, two days after 
the inauguration of President McKinley. Mr. Kline is a Lutheran in religious 
faith, while his wife is a member of the Reformed Church. Socially he belongs 
to the I. O. O. F., Knights of Pythias, Dramatic Order of Knights of Khor- 
assan, Pottsville Gun Club and the Liederkranz. 

G. Edgar Kline was born Oct. 29, 1880, in Ephrata, Lancaster county, and 
received his education in the public schools of the various localities where the 
family resided during his youth, graduating from the Pottsville high school 
when sixteen years old. He assisted his father from boyhood, thus becoming 
familiar with the details of the hotel business from an early age, and in May, 
1910, he became proprietor of Kline's Cafe, at No. 18 South Centre street, 
Pottsville, which his father conducted successfully for a number of years. He 



712 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 

succeeded his father directly in the ownership of this place. The hotel con- 
tains thirty rooms, including several dining rooms, the restaurant business being 
still the specialty. All the guest rooms are very desirable and well kept up, 
and ;Mr. Kline has the faculty of making the traveling public feel comfortably 
at home in his house. He has kept thoroughly abreast of the times in providing 
modern conveniences for his guests, and his unflagging zeal in catering to their 
wants has made him many friends among his patrons, local and otherwise. 
Aside from his hotel business Mr. Kline has been interested in the raising of 
fine chickens, and has been highly successful in this field, having taken many 
prizes in his own and other cities with his Black Orpington stock. Though he 
has done so well in this respect and has become widely known among chicken 
fanciers, he has followed the line for pleasure only. 

Mr. Kline is very well known among local social organizations, belonging 
to the Elks Lodge at Pottsville, No. 207 ; to the Fraternal Order of Eagles ; to 
the Liquor Dealers' Association of Pennsylvania ; and to the Central Republican 
Club, Baxter Club, Turtle Club and Pottsville Game and Fish Protective .Asso- 
ciation. 

J. FRANKLIN GEHRIG, assistant postmaster at Schuylkill Haven, was 
born in that borough Feb. 17, 1891, son of George E. Gehrig. He belongs to a 
family of German origin which has long been estabhshed in Pennsylvania, 
having settled in Berks county at an early date. 

John Gehrig, his great-great-grandfather, lived at Leesport, Berks Co., Pa., 
and kept hotel at that point while the turnpike was under construction in that 
section. He died there in 1824. His children were: John, George E., Mrs. 
Beard and Mrs. Sallie Baker. 

George E. Gehrig, son of John Gehrig, was bom at Leesport, Berks Co., 
Pa., Jan. 17, 1801, and spent his early life in Berks county. In 1829 he removed 
to Milton, Pa., where he kept the "United States Hotel" for some time and 
later engaged in the milling business, which he continued to follow for a number 
of years. His death occurred in 1854. His wife, Elizabeth (Huey), died in 
1883. They had these children : Jacob, George, B. Frank, Nice, James, Sophia, 
Joseph, Isaac, Albert, Elizabeth, Harrison and William. 

B. Frank Gehrig was born Oct. 25, 1832, at Milton, Pa., and attended the 
public schools there. When a young man he learned the distilling trade. He 
came to Schuylkill Haven in 1852 and clerked for three and a half years, after 
which he engaged in the clothing and notion business, continuing same with 
success for seven years. For a year afterwards he shipped coal, and was then 
employed in the shops at Schuylkill Haven for one year. Then, in company 
with David Dreibelbis, he built a factory and engaged in the manufacture of 
soap, Mr. Gehrig selling out to his partner after conducting the business for 
one year. He next engaged in droving, traveling through central Pennsylvania 
buying and selling stock, and was so occupied for several years. For fifteen 
years following he carried on farming in North Manheim township, and he 
has since lived retired except for his duties as assessor of the North ward of 
Schuylkill Haven, which office he has filled for the last sixteen years. For 
eighteen years he was a member of the borough council, his long continuance 
in that position being a most substantial evidence of the estimate placed upon 
his services by his fellow citizens and their confidence in his trustworthiness 
and ability to handle the affairs of the borough. Politically he is a Republican. 
He is a member of the Lutheran Church. 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PEXXSYL\AXL\ 713 

Mr. Gehrig owns the old John Mackey hotel stand at Schuylkill Haven, 
which was well known in the days of the stagecoach. It is still a fine old 
building, and the Gehrigs have a comfortable home there. He married Isabella 
Barr, a daughter of John Barr, formerly of Kutztown, Berks Co., Pa., later 
of Schuylkill Haven, and she died June 2, 1913. They had a family of six sons : 
John is deceased ; George E. is mentioned below ; William is deceased ; Harry 
is at home ; Robert is a resident of Schuylkill Haven ; Edward is at home. 

George E. Gehrig, father of J. Franklin Gehrig, was born in Schuylkill 
Haven Nov. i, 1861, and was educated in the public schools there. He worked 
for a time as a woodchopper with the Schuylkill Navigation Company, later 
was made foreman in the coal storage department of the Philadelphia & Reading 
Coal & Iron Company, holding that position for a considerable period, and then 
became car inspector for the Philadelphia & Reading Railway Company at the 
Mine Hill Crossing, Schuylkill Haven ; he is now a foreman in the Reading 
car shops at that place. Air. Gehrig was married to Leonora Gehrig, who was 
bom Oct. 10, 1 871, a daughter of J. Brown Gehrig, a coal and coke dealer of 
Milton, Pa. They have one child, J. Franklin. Mr. Gehrig is a Republican 
politically, and socially a member of Webster Council, No. 23, Jr. O. LT. A. M., 
of Schuylkill Haven, of which he is a past councillor. He is a member of Christ 
Evangelical Lutheran Church, member of the church council, financial secre- 
tary of the church, and has also been active in the work of its Sunday school. 

J. Franklin Gehrig was educated in the grammar and high schools of Schuyl- 
kill Haven, and Pottsville business college, after which he spent about three 
years as a knitter in the underwear mills of the borough of Schuylkill Haven, 
first with D. D. Coldren and lastly with Jere Lautenbacher. On March i, 
1910, he entered the post office at Schuylkill Haven as assistant postmaster, 
which position he has since filled with satisfaction to all. On Sept. 28, 1913, he 
was appointed a member of the board of civil service examiners. 

Mr. Gehrig was married to Sarah M. Cripple, who was boni June 28, 
1894, daughter of George W. and Araminta (Sierer) Cripple, natives of West 
Fairview, Pa. They have one child, Earl A. Mr. Gehrig is an adherent of 
the Republican party. He holds membership in Page Lodge, No. 270, F. & 
A. M. ; Mountain City Royal Arch Chapter, No. 196: Webster Council, No. 23, 
Jr. O. U. A. M. ; Washington Camp No. 47, P. O. S. of A.; and Conclave No. 
1087, I- O- of H. He belongs to Christ Evangelical Lutheran Church of 
Schuylkill Haven, and is pianist of the Sunday School. 

THOMAS B. GOLDEN, the present proprietor of the "New Park Hotel," 
is a well known citizen of Pottsville and of Schuylkill county as well, having 
been associated as player and manager with local baseball teams for a number 
of years. He is a son of William D. Golden, a native of England. 

William D. Golden came to America when twenty-two years of age. He 
first settled at Pottsville, Pa., being engaged as a mining engineer. Removing 
to Canada he lived there for a time, but returned to Pennsylvania in 1874, 
locating at Stockton. In 1877 he went to Springfield, 111., where he remained 
until his death. Before coming to America, he married Sarah Wilkinson, and 
to them were born seven children, of which the youngest is Thomas B. 

Thomas B. Golden attended the public schools and. while still a boy, began 
work at a breaker, as a slate picker. He worked about the mines for several 
years, later learning the trade of watchmaker. In 1887 he began playing ball 
as a professional, a contract with one of the major league teams bringing him 



714 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANLA. 

East. In 1894 he came to Pottsville to play, and has managed teams for both 
Pottsville and Reading during the existence of the Atlantic League. In 
September, 1910, Mr. Golden bought the "Park Hotel," which he has renovated 
and improved. It comprises sixty rooms, equipped for comfortable service to 
patrons. Mr. Golden's sociable nature and obliging disposition have won him 
many friends wherever he has gone. Fraternally he is a member of the local 
lodge of the B. P. O. Elks. He is a citizen of unquestioned worth and thor- 
oughly esteemed in his home city. 

Mr. Golden married Emiua, daughter of Henry and Margaret D. Schwartz- 
hans, of Aurora, 111. They have had the following children: Sarah (a teacher 
in the public schools of Pottsville), Thomas, William, Harry and Norman. 

IRVIN W. EMERICH, of Schuylkill Haven, is a native of South Manheim 
township, Schuylkill county, and a descendant of one of the old settled families 
of this region. His grandfather, Jacob Emerich, lived in South Manheim town- 
ship, where he was a pioneer, and followed farming on the place where he con- 
tinued to reside until his death. He is buried in the Summer Hill cemetery. 
His children were Morgan, Jacob, Jonathan and Joshua. 

Joshua Emerich, father of Irvin W. Emerich, was born in South Manheim 
township, Schuylkill county, and died in that township Oct. 5, 1895. He did 
day's work and was a man of industrious habits, respected by all his neighbors. 
By his marriage to Pietta Gruber he had children as follows: Nathan, who is 
deceased ; Nathaniel, deceased ; Filmore, who died when seventeen years old ; 
Reuben, a resident of Pottstown, Pa. ; Alvin, living at Schuylkill Haven, Pa. ; 
Irvin W. ; Lyman, who died in 1898; Sydney, living in Reading, Pa.; Kate, of 
Schuylkill Haven; Deborah, who died young; and Alida, of Schuylkill Haven. 

Irvin W. Emerich was bom Jan. 19, 1870, and was reared in his native 
township, where he attended public school. Until nineteen years old he was 
employed among the farmers of the district, in 1890 starting the business of 
painting and paperhanging which he has followed ever since. He is estab- 
lished in Schuylkill Haven, and has built up an excellent business, having a 
steady patronage which requires the services of several men. ]\Ir. Emerich has 
kept up-to-date in his work, and has made every effort to give his patrons desir- 
able service, and they, in turn, have shown substantial appreciation of his 
enterprise. Personally he has the respect of all his associates. He is a member 
of Page Lodge, No. 270, F. & A. M., of Schuylkill Haven ; of the I. O. O. F., 
and the P. O. S. of A. In religious connection he is a member of the Reformed 
Church. In politics he is independent, supporting the men and measures he 
considers the most desirable regardless of party lines. 

Mr. Emerich married Emma Moyer, daughter of William J. Moyer, of 
South Manheim township, Schuyjkill county, and they have two children: 
Edith, a graduate of the SchuylkiU Haven high school, and of the Keystone 
State Normal School of Kutztown, Pa., is now a public school teacher at 
Schuylkill Haven; Sallie, also a graduate of the Schuylkill Haven high school, 
lives at home and is engaged in sewing. The family reside on Canal street. 

NEWTON M. WONDERS, of Pottsville, has been one of the most popular 
photographers in this part of Schuylkill county for over twenty-five years. 
Photography has been his life work, and as he has gone in for all the different 
branches of the art he has been able to keep in touch with the advances of the 
business, besides acquiring a varied experience of the greatest value. Though 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENxXSYLVANIA 715 

he has done well from the commercial standpoint, his success has meant more 
than mere material prosperity, for he has natural taste for his chosen calling 
which has developed along with his proficiency, and he finds keen enjoyment in 
his vocation and the great progress which has culminated in recent years in un- 
dreamed of accomplishments. 

Mr. Wonders was born in New Franklin, Stark Co., Ohio, Oct. 17, 1S62. 
His father, Peter D. Wonders, was a native of Berks county. Pa., and settled 
in Stark county, Ohio, dying at Alliance, that county, in 1877. By occupation 
he was a carpenter and cabinetmaker. He married Fredericka Bammerlin, who 
was born in Berlin, Gemiany, and is still living, at the age of over ninety years, 
making her home in Cleveland, Ohio. Of the twelve children bom to them 
five are deceased, namely: j\Irs. Lucy L. McGlone, who died in 1898 at Los 
Angeles, Cal. ; Allen, who died of fever while serving in the Union army during 
the Civil war, in his twenty-first year; Emma J., who died when eighteen 
years old ; and Florence and Louise, who died in infancy ; Lafayette is a resident 
of Alliance, Ohio ; Benton AL lives in Cleveland ; Mrs. Marietta Thomas, in 
Cleveland; Frances M. lives at F"rankfort, Ind. ; Mrs. Laura P. Teeters is a 
resident of Cleveland; Solon L. is at Baltimore, Md.; Newton M. completes the 
family. 

Newton M. Wonders had common school advantages, attending at AUiance, 
Ohio. His school days over he commenced work for his brother, who was in 
the photographic business, becoming well grounded in the details of the work 
during this association. Subsequently for a time he was located at Cleveland, 
Ohio, and he afterwards spent three years in Chicago, 111., and three years at 
Lebanon, Pa., before coming to Pottsville. He has been established here since 
1891, in which year he purchased his studio, the location being at No. 10 West 
Market street until he removed to his present quarters. No. 7 South Centre 
street. Mr. Wonders has built up a large business by strict attention to the 
wants of his customers, and by giving them the best that photography, as it is 
now understood, ofl:'ers. He has probably the largest clientele in this section, 
and deservedly. Mr. W'onders is a member of the National Photographers' 
Association of America. 

In 1889 Mr. Wonders was united in marriage with Anna E. Weitzel, of 
Lebanon, Pa., daughter of H. P. and Emma E. Weitzel, both of whom are 
deceased. Three children have been born to this union : Dorothy, who died 
when eight years old; and Jettie L. and Henry P., surviving. Mr. and Mrs. 
Wonders are members of the English Lutheran Church. 

JOHN H. LENGEL, who is now serving as president of the school board 
of the borough of Cressona, has given his fellow citizens excellent service in 
that capacity. He is a man of estimable character, a member of a family which 
has been well and favorably known in Schuylkill county for several generations, 
his grandfather, John Lengel, living and dying in Washington township, this 
county, near Hetzel's Church, where he is buried. By occupation he was a 
farmer, one of the prosperous men of his day, owning three large farms. His 
children were : John, Reuben, Adam, David, Daniel, Mrs. Catherine Zimmer- 
man, Mrs. Rebecca Zimmerman and Mrs. Sarah Hein. 

Daniel Lengel, son of John, was born in Washington township, and learned 
the trade of wheelwright. He was also a farmer for many years, in his later 
life settling at Friedensburg, this county, where he conducted a shop, following 
his trade while living there. He died at Friedensburg when seventy-two years 



716 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 

old, and is buried at Cressona, where his wife also rests. She too passed away 
at the age of seventy-two years. Her maiden name was Catherine Berkheiser, 
daughter of William Berkheiser. Mr. and Mrs. Lengel had a family of seven 
children: Mary, deceased, who was the wife of Peter C. Bittle; John H.; 
Daniel, Kate and Sallie, all three of whom died young; Charles, deceased; and 
Carrie, who married John Heffner and (second) Oscar Bernheisel. 

John H. Lengel was born Dec. 29, 1861, in Washington township, this 
county, and acquired his education in the public schools of Cressona. He was 
reared upon the farm, where he remained until twenty years old, in 1882 
entering the employ of the Philadelphia & Reading Railway Company, as a 
track repairman. By efficient work he was promoted from time to time, and 
is now an engineer, which position he has held for over twenty years. Since 
1892 he has been running between St. Clair and Philadelphia. His home is 
at Cressona. Mr. Lengel has always been interested in local activities, being 
a member of Phoenix Lodge, No. 75, F. & A. AL, of Phoenixville, and of the 
Independent Order of Americans, and in politics he is associated with the 
Washington party. His principal work in public affairs has been along the line 
of improvements in the school system, and he has been faithful to his duties as 
member of the school board, on which body he has been serving since 191 1. 

In 1884 Mr. Lengel married Amanda Fessler, daughter of William Fessler, 
of Cressona, and member of a pioneer family of this locality. They have 
three children : Florence, James and Daniel, all of whom are at home with their 
parents. ^ 

CHARLES F. LONG was engaged during his earlier years at mining, a 
vocation which occupies a large proportion of the workers in Schuylkill county, 
but for a number of years past he has been a hotel proprietor, now success- 
fully conducting the "United States Hotel" at Minersville. Under his capable 
management it has become one of the leading hotels in the borough. 

Mr. Long is of German parentage, his father, Charles Long, having been 
bom in Prussia, about forty miles from Berlin. He served in the German 
army in 1848, and was shot in the leg while marching through Poland. After 
his discharge from the service he came to America, in 1848, and settled at 
Wiconisco, Dauphin Co., Pa., where he passed the remainder of his life. After 
coming to this country he followed mining, and he died in Dauphin county, 
where he is buried, at Lykens. His wife, Christian (Seifert), was a native of 
the same place as her husband, died at Wiconisco, and is also buried at Lykens. 
Of the six children bom to J\Ir. and Mrs. Charles Long, Otto and one sister 
continue to reside on the old homestead at Wiconisco. 

Charles F. Long was born July 6, 1862, at Lykens, Dauphin county. His 
early advantages were meager, for though he attended the common schools 
he was only eight years old when he commenced to pick slate at the Big Lick 
colliery, at Williamstown, Dauphin county. As he grew up he was given 
dift'erent kinds of work at the mines, advancing himself steadily by applica- 
tion to his duties, and he subsequently took a course on mining at the Scranton 
Correspondence Schools, which assisted him greatly in his work. For several 
years Mr. Long was inside foreman at the Silberton colliery, and was later 
similarly employed at the Buck Run colliery, where he did his last work as 
a miner. In 1902, having decided to change his calling, he purchased the 
"Decort Hotel" at Pottsville, Schuylkill county, which he conducted for two 
years, in Febraary, 1904, buying the "United States Hotel" at Minersville, to 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 717 

which he has since given all his time. Mr. Long has proved himself well 
adapted for this business, and the hotel has continued to draw a profitable 
patronage since he took charge. He has become very favorably known in the 
borough as a straightforward business man, and personally has the good will 
of a wide circle of acquaintances. Mr. Long was made a Mason Sept. 28, 
1890, belonging to Ashlar Lodge, No. 570, F. & A. M., of Lykens, Pennsyl- 
vania. 

- Mr. Long married Amelia Kendter, daughter of George Kendter, of Tre- 
mont, Schuylkill county, and they are the parents of six children, namely: 
Edward, now of Pottsville, this county; and Arthur, John, Otto, Matilda and 
Alma, at home. 

WILLIAM FRANCIS GERHARD, of Orwigsburg, is one of the best 
known residents of the lower end of Schuylkill county. As an agriculturist he 
has been thoroughly successful in cultivating a very valuable piece of property 
in North Manheim township and he has also undertaken other work, as oppor- 
tunity offered, his industrious nature and proved reliability being appreciated 
wherever he has been employed. 

Mr. Gerhard was born March 11, 1855, in West Brunswick township, son 
of Henry Gerhard and grandson of Henry Gerhard. His great-grandfather, 
Jacob Gerhard, was born in Germany, and on coming to America when a 
young man settled at Rehrersburg, in Tulpehocken township, Berks Co., Pa., 
where he followed farming and his trade, that of wheelwright. He lived there 
until his death. His children were: Peter, Heinrich (Henry), John, Jacob, 
William, Catherine, Lydia, Polly, Sarah, Elizabeth and Lavina. 

Heinrich (Henry) Gerhard, grandfather of William Francis Gerhard, born 
May I, 1798, at Rehrersburg, died Nov. 22, 1871. Like his father he was a 
farmer and wheelwright. Coming to Schuylkill county in 1828, he bought a 
farm in West Brunswick township April 5th of that year, the old Abraham 
Werner property, comprising 263 acres, 155 perches. He continued to farm 
there the rest of his life, dying at that place, and is buried in the Reformed 
cemetery at Orwigsburg. His wife, ilaria Sarah, daughter of Philip and 
Maria (Gilbert) Hoy, was born in 1800, and died in 1863, at the age of sixty- 
three years, nine months, twenty-three days. They were the parents of six 
children: Maria, who married Daniel Alspach; Sarah, Mrs. Samuel Yost; 
Henry; Priscilla, who married James Anderson and (second) Edward Mengel ; 
William ; and Edward, the last named dying young. 

Henry Gerhard, father of William F. Gerhard, was born Aug. 25, 1829, in 
West Brunswick township, in the house where he still resides. Part of this 
house was standing when his parents moved here, his father adding to it subse- 
quently. Mr. Gerhard has been living retired since 1912. He attended school 
in the neighborhood, ajid farmed throughout his active years. After the death 
of his father he bought 148 acres of the home property, his brother William 
taking eighty-three acres, and their brother-in-law, Daniel Alspach, also owning 
a tract. The latter engaged in the undertaking business. While the cultivation 
of the property was under Mr. Gerhard's direct management he was one of the 
prominent farmers in his vicinity and attended the markets of Schuylkill Haven, 
Pottsville and Orwigsburg, where he was known as a thoroughly reliable dealer, 
all his transactions being above reproach. He is a Democrat, serving many 
years as school director of his township, and was one of the prominent members 



718 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

of the Reformed Church, in which he held the offices of elder and deacon for 
many years. 

On June 19, 1852, Mr. Gerhard married Diana Mengel, who died Jan. 3, 
1857. She was the mother of three children: Charles, born July 16, 1853, 
died Oct. 8, 1854; William Francis ; and Diana, born Nov. 5. 1856, died Nov. 10, 
1857. On Nov. 5, 1859, Mr. Gerhard married (second) Eliza Yost, daughter 
of Samuel and Betsy (Merkel) Yost. Eleven children have been born to this 
union, as follows: Elwood P., born May 31, i860, is living in Port Carbon; 
Mary E., born Aug. 2, 1862, is married to Joel Degler, and lives at Orwigsburg; 
Henry Y., born Oct. 5, 1864, is a shoe manufacturer of Orwigsburg; Samuel, 
born April 6, 1867, died aged nine years; Frank, born Feb. 5, 1869, is a farmer 
of West Brunswick township; Emma M., born Feb. 22, 1871, married Jacob 
Zuber, and is living at Allentown, Pa. ; George A., bom April 11, 1873, is a shoe 
manufacturer at Orwigsburg, with his brother; John, born March 11, 1875, is 
farming at Orwigsburg; Calvin L., born July 2, 1876, is farming in the borough 
of Orwigsburg; Hannah S., born June 20, 1881, married George Seltzer, and is 
living at iNIcKeansburg, Schuylkill county; and Edwin R., born Oct. 20, 1884, 
is farming the homestead place in West Brunswick township. 

William Francis Gerhard attended the public schools of the township and 
remained at home until twenty-one years old. At that time he located in 
Orwigsburg and undertook the cultivation of his father-in-law's farm, carrying 
it on until JMr. Moyer's death. He now has fifty acres of the place and thirty- 
six acres purchased from Daniel Aloyer, and he operates the place very profit- 
ably, his up-to-date methods of cultivation having brought it to a most desirable 
state. ]\Ir. Gerhard is also engaged in hauling coal, doing considerable in this 
line, and he is a busy, prosperous man, well liked and respected in the com- 
munity where he has had so creditable a career. He is a member of the Evan- 
gelical Church, and has always taken an active part in its work, at present serv- 
ing as trustee and class leader. Socially he holds membership in the P. O. 
S. of A. 

Mr. Gerhard married Susanna IMoyer, daughter of George K. and Susanna 
(Hoy) ]\Ioyer, and they reside at the old homestead of her parents. Two chil- 
dren have been born to them : Laura died when two years old ; Sadie married 
Ralph Kauffman, and has two children, Marie and Leroy. Mr. and Mrs. 
Kauffman reside with her parents. 

PAUL R. NAFFIN, one of the rising young business men of Schuylkill 
Haven, where he is engaged in general contracting and is proprietor of the 
roller skating rink, was born Jan. 24, 1886, at Colwalk, Pommern, North Ger- 
many, and is a son of Albert Naffin. 

Albert Naffin, the father, was born May 20, 1844, in Germany, where he was 
a contractor and builder. He came to America with his family, landing at 
Pier No. 53, Philadelphia, July 27, 1896, and soon thereafter located in Reading, 
Pa. Remaining in Reading until July 4, 1897, he then returned to Germany, 
where he remained until November, 1912. Coming back to America at that 
time he staved in this country only until Sept. 27, 191 3, when he again went 
back to his Fatherland, dying there Dec. 12, 191 3, at the age of sixty-nine. He 
is buried at Belgard, Germany. Mr. Naffin was married to Wilhelmina, daugh- 
ter of Frederick Rabe, and a native of the same county as her husband, born 
Dec. 3, 1848. She is now residing at Schuylkill Haven. To Albert and Wil- 
helmina Naffin were born five children : Theodore, living at Riverside, N. J. : 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL'\ 719 

William, living at Camden, N. J.; Paul R. ; Gustave, residing in Schuylkill 
Haven ; and Frieda, residing at home. 

Paul R. Naffin was but ten years old when his father came to America. He 
had obtained some schooling in Germany, to which he has since added by study 
and observation. His first work was in the Mohns' hat factory, at Reading, 
Pa., where he remained for about five years. He then went to the Reading 
Hardware Company for a time, afterwards working at various places and 
learning the trade of carpenter, which he commenced July i8, 1904. He came 
to Schuylkill Haven July 20, 1907, and worked at his trade until October, when 
he began in partnership with his brother William to build the roller skating 
rink, completing it April 28, 1908. The rink is two stories in height and 67 by 
140 feet in size, having one of the largest floors in this part of the State. Mr. 
Naffin'also conducted a rink at Minersville, Pa., for two seasons with success, 
and ran a portable rink for two seasons. The firm was known as Paul R. Naffin 
& Bro. until March, 1913, when Gustave, the other partner, withdrew, leaving 
Paul R. Naffin as the sole owner. Mr. Naffin also does considerable contracting 
and building in Schuylkill Haven and vicinity. He resides at Schuylkill Haven, 
where he attends Christ Lutheran Church. He is a member of the Carpenters' 
Union of Pottsville. 

On Oct. I, 1914, Mr. Naffin was married to Helen Louisa Mulldore, 
who was born in Philadelphia, Pa., June 23, 1891. They have one child, 
Richard Spindler, born July 27, 191 5. 

SOLOMON A. BARKET, of Pottsville, has exemplified in his prosperous 
business career that the era of opportunities for willing workers is not over. 
Coming to this county in 1893, he has without the aid of friends or advan- 
tages, made his way to a substantial position in local business circles, conduct- 
ing a useful industry, which has been valuable to the town as well as profitable 
to him. 

Mr. Barket was born in Tripoli, Syria, in 1876, and came to America when 
seventeen years old, landing at New York City in 1893. Proceeding thence 
to Pottsville, Pa., he began to work as a peddler in Schuylkill county, being 
so engaged for two years and ten months. By that time he felt that he could 
take the responsibility of a store, and he engaged in the wholesale dry goods 
and notion business at No. 401 West Minersville street, where he has since 
been located. He continued his original line for twelve years, and in 1910 
commenced the manufacture of hosiery, which he started June 27th. He 
has an up-to-date knitting mill and is engaged in the production of men's half- 
hose, the eightv-four-needle hose, known as the miner's sock, and the one 
hundred and seventy-six-needle hose, a fine grade. Beginning with five 
machines Mr. Barket has so increased his trade that he now has over sixty 
and employs from fifteen to twenty people steadily, 'the growing demand for 
his goods being a sure evidence of the satisfaction they have given to con- 
stmiers. The product is disposed of mostly through jobbers. Mr. Barket has 
acquired the ownership of the property where his factory is located, and also 
of No. 405 West Minersville street. 

On Tune 19, 1909, Mr. Barket married Matilda Ashwood, like himself a 
native of Syria, daughter of Faress Ashwood, the ceremony being performed 
at Pottsville by Fathers McGovem, Malley and Fiatt. _ Mrs. Barket was 
taken to Brazil when nine years old, and came to America two years later. 
Three children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Barket: Elias, April 18, 



720 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENiNSYLVANIA 

191 1 ; Gertrude, June 27, 1913, and Alfred Peter, April 29, 1915. Mr. and 
Mrs. Barket are members of the Roman Catholic Church. 

BRLfTON W. SATERLEE (deceased) was stationed at Cressona, Schuyl- 
kill county, from 1903 until his recent death, acting as assistant trainmaster 
for the Philadelphia & Reading Railway Company at that point, to which he 
was transferred from Allentown. He was in the service of the company from 
1890, and his various promotions during the quarter of a century he remained 
in its employ attested the value placed upon his ability and trustworthiness. 

Mr. Saterlee's grandparents, Edward N. and Lucy (Falkner) Saterlee, 
were natives of northeast New York and northern Pennsylvania, respectively. 
His father, Britton \V. Saterlee, Sr., was a soldier in the Civil war, enlisting 
in March, 1864, in Company L, 7th Pennsylvania Cavalry. The following 
month he died of typhoid fever. He married Lucy Fenderson, daughter of 
John and Lucy (Clemens) Fenderson, the former born in Bangor, Maine, 
and the latter in Massachusetts; Mrs. Fenderson was a first cousin of Edward 
Everett, the historian. After Mr. Saterlee's death his widow became the 
wife of John C. East, who was a member of the 146th Virginia Confederate 
Infantry in the Civil war, but who took the oath of allegiance prior to the 
cessation of hostilities. By this union she had three sons and three daughters: 
Martha M., Mildred E. (deceased), John L., William T., Carrie S. and 
James E. 

Britton W. Saterlee was born Sept. 4, 1864, at Karthaus, Clearfield Co., 
Pa. He attended public school in New York State from 1869 to 1875, and 
was at the soldiers" orphans' school at White Hill, Cumberland Co., Pa., from 
1875 to 1880. His first employment was as a mechanic with the Lycoming 
Rubber Company, of Williamsport. where he remained for eight years. For 
one year he was with the Perkins & Miller Lumber Company, of Westlake, 
La., and in 1890 entered the employ of the Philadelphia & Reading Company 
as clerk at Williamsport. In 1893 he was made freight agent at Shippens- 
burg, Pa., and six years later was promoted to the position of assistant train- 
master, at Palo Alto. The ne.xt year he went to Allentown, in the same 
capacity, and in 1903 was assigned to Cressona, where he was first assistant 
trainmaster. He died suddenly at his home in Cressona, March 5, 1915. 

Mr. Saterlee proved a desirable citizen of the community, where he gained 
respect and esteem by his strict attention to duty and integrity in all his rela- 
tions with his fellow townsmen. He was a Mason, belonging to Cressona 
Lodge, No. 426, F. & A. M., and a member of the Royal Arcanum (Potts- 
ville^ Council, No. 965). Politically he did not pledge himself to the support 
of any particular party, voting as his conscience dictated. 

On Sept. 10, 1882, Mr. Saterlee was married to Eda L. :\Ianagan, daughter 
of Thomas and Harriet (Bixbv) Managan, of Tioga, Pa. Of the nine chil- 
dren born to this marriage four are deceased; Arietta, the eldest, is married 
to William H. Hansford, of Philadelphia, formerly of Richmond, Va. ; Har- 
riet B. is the wife of Rev. R. E. \'ellines, of Minersville; Ida M. is at home; 
Gerald B. lives at Reading: Eda Hilma has received her higher education at 
the Wilson College for Women. The Saterlees are members of the First 
Methodist Episcopal Church of Cressona, to which Mr. Saterlee also belonged. 

CARL FREDERICK HOLDERMAN, late of Shenandoah, held an 
estimable place among his associates in every relation of life. His worth 
might be measured by the respect they showed in recognition of his substan- 





ty^^-^^-^-^^^^^t^^i^-^^ 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 721 

tial qualities, and no less by the friends he made through his admirable personal 
traits, which endeared him to many in social ties. 

Mr. Holderman was a native of Baden, Germany, born Sept. 7, 1854, at 
Mosbach, son of Karl Frederick and Marie Holderman and grandson of 
George and Anna Holderman. George Holderman owned a large bakery at 
Mosbach, following that business all his life. He and his wife are buried at 
that place. Their children were : Henry, George, Karl Frederick. Anna, and 
Marie. The parents were members of the German Evangelical Lutheran 
Church, and active in its work. 

Karl Frederick Holderman, son of George, was born at Mosbach, and 
died when about thirty-six years old. He was well educated, graduating with 
honors from the Gymnasium at Karlsruhe, Baden, where his picture was hung 
in tribute to his scholarship. He became a civil engineer. His wife, whose 
maiden name was Marie Mueller, lived in Mosbach until ten years before 
her death, then removing to Karlsruhe, where she passed away at the age 
of sixty-three years. She is buried at Karlsruhe, Mr. Holderman at Mosbach. 
They were members of the German Evangelical Lutheran Church at Mosbach. 
The following children were born to them: Carl Frederick; Marie, Mrs. 
Wieland, whose husband was overseer for the Duke of Baden ; Helena, who 
was married to the late Albert Mueller, Chancellor to the Duchess of Baden ; 
and Frederick L., who was Private Secretary to Baron von Rothschild. 

Carl Frederick Holderman was reared at Alosbach, receiving his educa- 
tion there and at Karlsruhe, where he learned his trade of watchmaker. He 
followed it in his home town for some time, and later in Vienna, Austria, 
where he remained until after his marriage, which took place in 1876. In 
November of that year he came with his wife to this country, where he first 
found employment in the Hitchcock jewelry establishment on Broadway, New 
York City. Later he worked for Bailey, Banks & Biddle, in Philadelphia, 
and in the year 1879 he arrived at Shenandoah, Schuylkill Co., Pa., where 
he made a permanent home. He began work at his trade with T. Cassidy, 
at No. 40 North Main street, remaining with him until he bought the estab- 
lishment, in 1880, to continue it on his own account. Subsequently he removed 
the jewelry business to No. 131 North ]\Iain street, and a few years later 
purchased the site at No. 112 North Main street, where it has since been 
conducted. His home was also at that location. Mr. Holderman, though 
interested in the business until his death, had been in poor health for six 
months previously, and in the latter part of 1914 underwent an operation at 
the State Hospital at Fountain Springs, Pa. Though his condition seemed 
hopeful at times he never really rallied, and he passed away at his home on 
Jan. II, 1915. Mr. Holderman traveled and read extensively and was a 
most interesting conversationalist, his active mind and keen powers of obser- 
vation betokening unusual intelligence. In disposition he was genial and 
kindly, and his friendly attitude attracted many to him who will cherish his 
memory among their delightful experiences. Mr. Holderman is buried in the 
Odd Fellows' cemetery at Shenandoah. He was a member of the Evangelical 
- Lutheran Church, and in politics was identified with the Republican party. 

On April 12, 1876, Mr. Holderman was married in Vienna, Austria, by a 
Lutheran clergyman, to Anna Louise Holderman, who was born in that city 
June I, 1857, and received her education there. Children as follows were 
born to this marriage: Charles Frederick, born March 15, 1877, in Phila- 
delphia, now engaged as traveling auditor for the S. & S. Packing Co., of 
Chicago, 111. ; Frederica Louise, born Nov. r7, 1878, in Philadelphia, who 

Vol. 11—8 



722 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 

died when seventeen days old; Frederick William, born Oct. 17, 1879, in 
Philadelphia, now a resident of Hazleton, Pa., engaged as a mining engineer 
for the Lehigh Valley Coal Company ; Emil Otto, born Sept. 25, 1883, a min- 
ing engineer in the employ of the Lehigh Valley Coal Company at Centralia, 
living at home; Bertha Anna Marie, born Feb. 9, 1882, who graduated from 
the State Normal School at Bloomsbnrg, Pa., from the Hazleton (Pa.) Busi- 
ness College, and from the Rochester (N. Y.) Business Institute, and now the 
commercial teacher in the Shenandoah High School; Henry Otto, born Jan. 
5, 1886, who died when four months old; and Herbert Helmuth, born April 
I, 1893, a student in the Jefferson jMedical College, Philadelphia, class of 
1916. All of this family hold membership in the Reformed Church. 

There are four grandchildren, all children of Charles F. and Jennie Holder- 
man, as follows : Anna Louise, born at Pottsville, Pa., June 28, 1901 ; Marie 
Bertha, born April 3, 1903, at Shenandoah, Pa. ; Karl Frederick, born at 
Chicago, 111., Oct. 8, 1905 ; Frances Marguerite, born at Chicago, 111., Jan. 28, 
1914. 

Mrs. Holderman now lives at 116 North Jardin street, Shenandoah, Penn- 
sylvania. 

ALFRED HEHN, a merchant and assessor of Pine Grove township, was 
born in Wayne township, Schuylkill Co., Pa., Oct. 13, 1849, son of William 
and Esther (Scheaffer) Hehn, and grandson of Jacob Hehn. The American 
founder of the Hehn family (also spelled Hain in the early days), was a 
native of France, and leaving that land reached the New World after a long 
and stormy voyage. He located near Hain's Church, in Berks county, Pa., 
where he spent the remainder of his life. 

Jacob Hehn was born in Berks county. Pa., and in young manhood moved 
to Schuylkill county, locating in Wayne township on a fann known as the 
Farrabee property. There he carried on farming for many years, becoming 
one of the well known men of his community. When Schuylkill county was 
taken from Berks county, Jacob Hehn was made one of the first county com- 
missioners, and he always took a deep interest in its growth. 

William Hehn, a son of Jacob Hehn, was born in Wayne township, and 
like his father was a farmer. His farm was located in Washington township, 
where he died at the age of fifty-eight years. He and his wife had these 
children: Mary AL, Angeline. Alfred, Matilda, Susan, Lucinda, John, Peter 
and Sallie. 

After completing his studies in the schools of his district, Alfred Hehn 
became a farmer, but within a few years began working in the Lincoln col- 
liery, where he continued for twenty-two years. He then saw an opening for 
a general store at Pleasant \'alley, in Pine Grove township, and embarked 
in this line, in which he has since continued very profitably. Not only is Mr. 
Hehn serving in his second term as assessor of his township, but he was a 
constable of the township for four years, and is one of the well known men 
of his part of the county. 

By his first wife, Annie, Mr. Hehn had one daughter, Annie. He married 
(second) Elizabeth Satticaln, daughter of Peter Satticaln, and they became the 
parents of four children : Matilda, Sallie, William A., and Paul S. A^r. Hehn 
belongs to the Reformed Church, in which he is held in high esteem. Frater- 
nally he is affiliated with the Order of Odd Fellows, and enjoys his connection 
in this direction. An earnest, steadfast, hardworking man, he has earned all 
his possessions, and can well be proud of what he has accomplished. 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 723 

EDWIN R. NEISWENDER, of New Ringgold, has become well known 
to the residents of the borough and vicinity in his long service at that point 
in the employ of the Philadelphia & Reading Railway Company. He has 
been located there since 1900, as station agent since March i, 1913. Mr. 
Neiswender is a native of Ohio, but the family is of old Schuylkill county 
stock. 

George Neiswender, his grandfather, was born about the year 1794, near 
Orwigsburg, Schuylkill Co., Pa. He was a farmer all his life, and the 
owner of a large tract in West Brunswick township. His wife, Mary 
(Keim), bom in 1800, died in 1878, was a daughter of Peter Keim. To Mr. 
and Mrs . Neiswender were born children as follows : George married 
Hannah Riegel ; Daniel married Eliza Tyson ; Samuel is the father of Edwin 
R. Neiswender; Polly married John Bensinger ; Lydia married John Weaver; 
Sallie married Nathan Zimmerman : Hannah married Henry Geiger ; I.evina 
married Samuel Hillibish. The father was a Republican on political cjues- 
tions. His religious connection was with the Lutheran Church at Orwigs- 
burg. 

Samuel Neiswender was born at Tumbling Run, near Pottsville, April 
28, 1834, was educated at Orwigsburg, and assisted his father on the home 
farm. After his father's death he bought the home place, a tract of 100 
acres, and later came to own another farm, of fifty acres. After farming 
successfully in that section for a number of years, he lost all he had accumu- 
lated through a bank failure. Moving to Bowling Green, Ohio, he tenanted 
a number of farms there, returning to Schuylkill county in 1886. There- 
after he tenanted farms for several years, and also did work on the neigh- 
boring farms, but for the last ten years he has been living retired in his home 
at New Ringgold. ]\Ir. Neiswender dealt in horses for some time and was 
an excellent judge, having been a jockey in his early days. On Oct. 27, 1862, 
he enlisted from Schuylkill county, and was mustered in at Reading, Pa., in 
Company I, 167th Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, to serve nine months. 
He was under Capts. J. M. Shollenberger and Charles Knoder, and Col. J. D. 
Davis. The regiment was assigned to the ist Brigade, ist Division, and 
attached to the ist and 6th Army Corps of the Army of the Potomac. The 
command went to Harrisburg and then to Baltimore, later to Washington, 
D. C, and to Suffolk, and was engaged in guard duty at the fortifications 
there. In the expedition to the Black Water his regiment engaged the enemy 
at Deserted Farm, Jan. 30, 1863 ; was in the siege of Suffolk, April 12 to 
May 4, 1863; and joined in the pursuit of Lee on his retreat from Gettys- 
burg. Mr. Neiswender shared in all its movements and fortunes, and was 
honorably discharged at Reading, Pa., Aug. 12. 1863. He reenlisted Feb. 23, 
1864, for three years or during the war, in Company I, 48th Pennsylvania 
Volunteer Infantr>', serving under Capts. B. B. Schuck and N. B. Koch, 
and Cols G W. Gowen and I. N. Brannon. Under this enlistment he was 
in the engagements of the Wilderness, May 5, 1864; Spottsylvania, May 
8-18 1864- North Anna River, May 23-27, 1864: Cold Harbor, June 1-12, 
1864- Petersburg, June 15-30, 1864; Mine Explosion, July 30, 1864; Poplar 
Spring Church, Sept. 30, 1864; Fort Sedgwick, Nov. 5, 1864: fall of Peters- 
burg -"and was' discharged at Petersburg July 17, 1865. 

Mr Neiswender was first married to Priscilla Halderman, who was born 
in West Penn township, this county, April 23, 183-, a daughter of Abra- 
ham Halderman. She died aged thirty-three years, the mother of the fol- 



724 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANLA. 

lowing children: Moses, born Sept. 24, 1856, who married Rate Dreher; 
Jonas, born July 17, 1859; Mary, born Aug. 24, 1861, wife of Jacob Frantz; 
Rena, born July i, 1866, who married a Mr. Henderson and is deceased; 
Rosie, born May 11, 1868, widow of Nicholas Yocum ; Eli, born in 1869; and 
Ida, bom Aug. 18, 1870. For his second wife Mr. Neiswender married 
Katie Elizabeth Smith, who was born April 15, 1858, in the State of New 
Hampshire, a daughter of John and Elizabeth (Smith) Smith. Children 
as follows were born to this marriage: Edwin R. ; William H., born Nov. 3, 
1878, who died Sept. 18, 1904: Minnie F., born Feb. 22, 1880, wife of Wil- 
liam M. Koch; Lewis R., born Aug. 15, 1883, who- married Gertrude Sel- 
grath: and Agnes M., born Aug. 6, 1894, wife of Charles Hepler. ]\Ir. Neis- 
wender is a member of the Frieden's Lutheran Church at New Ringgold. 
He is a Republican in politics. 

Edwin R. Neiswender was born March 20, 1875, at Bowling Green, Ohio, 
was educated in the public schools there and at Jacksonville, Lehigh Co., Pa., 
and Hecla. in East Brunswick township, Schuylkill county. He spent six 
years at farm work, assisting on the farms of Daniel Schroeder, at Lynnport, 
Lehigh Co., Pa. : John Fetherolf, Jacksonville, Lehigh Co., Pa. ; James 
Braucher, near ^Vessnersville, Lehigh Co., Pa. ; Jacob Frantz, of New Ring- 
gold, Schuylkill county; George Stamm, of East Brunswick township; and 
Alvin Frantz, of East Brunswick township. On Nov. 5, 1894, he entered the 
station of the Philadelphia & Reading Railway Company at N'ew Ringgold to 
learn telegraphy with George W. Yetter. At the end of eleven months he 
was appointed e.xtra operator and again agent for the company and served 
two years Ijetween Port Clinton and Mahanoy City, also on the Catawissa 
division as far north as Lofty, Schuylkill county. On Nov. 14, 1897, he went 
on duty as regular night operator in the Q. X. office at the Tamaqua yard, 
remaining there until April i, 1899. O" that date he changed to Tunnel Scale, 
where he was stationed until April 6, 1900, when he went on duty as regular 
night operator at Z. office, Tamaqua. He was there until transferred, June 
I, igoo, as regular night man at New Ringgold, holding that position until 
April I, 1905, when he was appointed regular day operator at New Ringgold. 
He was retained in that capacity until March i, 1913, when he was appointed 
station agent at New Ringgold, succeeding David Vetter, retired. He also acts 
as agent for the American Express Company. 

Mr. Neiswender has identified himself with the best interests of New 
Ringgold, and in recognition of his activity has been honored with various 
offices. He has been councilman of New Ringgold for si.x years, and State 
health officer for the townships of West Penn and East Brunswick for three 
years. He has been a zealous Republican, has acted as judge, inspector 
and clerk of elections, and he has been a delegate to county conven- 
tions a number of times. He is a prominent member of Washing- 
ton Camp, No. 100, P. O. S. of A., at New Ringgold, is a past pres- 
ident and at present trustee; and has been delegate from his camp to the 
State convention. Mr. Neiswender also belongs to the Philadelphia & Reading 
Relief Association. A Lutheran in religious faith, he is one of the most 
valued members of the Frieden's Church at New Ringgold, and has been 
honored with its most important offices. Formerly he was a deacon, and he 
is now serving his sixth year as elder, and is also church treasurer. He was 
secretary of the church council for a number of years, and superintendent of 
the Sunday school for a long period. His varied experience in church work 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 725 

has qualified him for effective service and he is conscientious in the perform- 
ance of all his duties. 

Mr. Neiswender married Catherine Magdalena \'etter, born Jan. 22, 1880, 
a daughter of David and Alary C. (Hetzel) Vetter, and they have had two 
children: (i) Florence May, born Dec. 20, 1895, began her education in the 
schools of Nev^r Ringgold and is a graduate of the Keystone State Normal 
School, class of 1913. She is now teaching the primary grade in the New Ring- 
gold schools. (2) Luther Edwin, born Dec. 9, 1900, died Alarch 28, 1902. 

Mrs. Neiswender obtained her literary education in the schools of New 
Ringgold, and spent seven years as a private pupil of Gilbert R. Coombs, 
principal of the South Broad Street Conservatory of Music, Philadelphia, 
graduating from the conservatory in piano, theory, harmony, history and 
ensemble, analysis, sight reading, and the nomial training course. Subse- 
quently she started a class of piano students in Tamaqua, Pa., which she 
continued for four months, until because of illness she was obliged to discon- 
tinue it, having contracted blood poisoning. After a lapse of one year she 
resumed teaching, at New Ringgold. She is now organist and chorister of 
Frieden's Lutheran and Reformed Church. 

Mrs. Neiswender is of German lineage on both sides, being a daughter of 
David and Mary C. (Hetzel) Vetter, granddaughter of John and Mary 
(Hetzel) Vetter and great-granddaughter of John Vetter. Her father was 
station agent at New Ringgold for over twenty years, and is now living retired 
in that borough. An account of the Vetter and Hetzel families appears in his 
biography in this work. 

JOHN O. J. BOYER, a popular engineer in the employ of the Phila- 
delphia & Reading Railway Company, located at Schuylkill Haven, was born 
Jan. 7, 1877, in that borough, son of Edward Boyer and grandson of Philip 
Isaac Boyer, all natives of Schuylkill county, Pennsylvania. 

Philip Isaac Boyer, the grandfather, was bom May 2, 1805, in Manheim 
township, this county, and was a farmer by occupation, residing in South Man- 
heim township for a number of years. He then removed to Schuylkill Haven, 
where he died May 16, 1863, and is interred in the Union cemetery there. He 
was twice married, his first wife, Maria, born in South Manheim 
township Jan. 22, 181 1, dying in Schuylkill Haven Nov. 15, 1829; she is buried 
in the Union cemetery at Schuylkill Haven. Edward Boyer was born to this 
union. For his second wife Philip Isaac Boyer married Catharine Heffner, 
and she was the mother of a daughter, Maria, who married Daniel Moyer. 

Edward Boyer was born May 16, 1828, in South Manheim township, 
Schuylkill county, and followed farming during the earlier years of his work- 
inf life. He spent some years in railroading, but most of his work was 
agricultural in character. His death occurred on the street in Pottsville, 
while he was waiting for a car to go on a visit, and before he could be con- 
veyed to the hospital for treatment he passed away. His remains lie in the 
Union cemetery at Schuylkill Haven. Mr. Boyer was married to Sarah Ann 
DeLong, a daughter of Isaac DeLong, of Cressona, blacksmith and wheel- 
wright."' Nine children were bom to this union : Celia, Philip, Catherine, Ed- 
ward, Calvin, Mary, Luther, Mabel and John O. J. 

John O. T- Boyer attended the public schools of Schuylkill Haven, and as 
soon as he was permitted to go to work selected the occupation of railroading. 
At the age of eighteen years he began to fire an engine, and in 1904 was given 



726 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

• charge of his first engine, on the run between Pottsville and Philadelphia. All 
of his railroad experience has been with the same company, and he has gained 
the respect of his employers and the friendship of his fellow employes and the 
traveling public. After running a passenger train on the Reading division 
of the Philadelphia & Reading road successfully he was promoted to the posi- 
tion of road foreman of engines on the Reading division, and is so engaged at 
the present time. Mr. Boyer resides on Dock street, in Schuylkill Haven, and 
is one of the respected citizens of the borough. 

Mr. Boyer was united in marriage to Lillie I. Brownmiller, a daughter of 
Thomas Daniel Brownmiller, of Lebanon county, Pa., a sketch of whose 
family follows. Mrs. Boyer was born in Lebanon county, June 7, 1877. Mr. 
and Mrs. Boyer have two children, Paul and Edward. Mr. Boyer is a mem- 
ber of the Reformed Church, while his wife is an attendant of the Lutheran 
Church. Socially Mr. Boyer is a member of Page Lodge, No. 270, F. & 
A. M. ; a charter member of Reading Lodge of Perfection ( fourteenth degree) ; 
belongs to Philadelphia Consistory (thirty-second degree), and to Rajah 
Temple, A. A. O. N. M. S. He is also a member of the Jr. O. U. A. M. and 
the P. O. S. of A. 

The Brownmiller family, of which Mrs. J. O. J. Boyer is a member, was 
founded in America by Johannes Braunmiller who was born about 1712 in 
Germany, and emigrated to this country on the ship "Samuel," from Rotter- 
dam, landing in Philadelphia Aug. 2y, 1739. He is supposed to have settled 
in New Jersey, where he raised a large family. 

Luttwick Braunmiller (Ludwig Brownmiller), son of the emigrant 
Johannes, located in Northampton county, Pa., before the Revolution, and 
from that place many of his family moved to Lenhartsville, Berks county, Pa. 
Luttwick Braunmiller served in the Revolutionary war, in Capt. Frederick 
Kern's company, and since that time the family has been represented in every 
war in which this country has been involved. 

Nicholas Brownmiller, M. D., son of Luttwick, lived near Lenhartsville, 
Berks county, and owned what is now called the Yenser farm. On this farm 
is a private burial ground where many of the family are interred. His chil- 
dren were: Moses and Josiah, of Hamburg, and Nicholas, of Pottsville. Penn- 
sylvania. 

Frederick Brownmiller, son of Luttwick, lived m earlier life near Bath, 
Northampton county, and from there moved to Hokendauqua, Lehigh county, 
and then to Lenhartsville. He was married to Barbara Nolf, and their chil- 
dren were- George, Joseph, Daniel, Reuben, Samuel (died in the Civil war), 
Teremiah and Benneville (a Methodist minister). All of the earlier members 
of the family were Lutherans. 

Joseph Brownmiller, son of Frederick, was born Oct. 23, 1807, at Hoken- 
dauqua Lehigh county, and was a shoemaker. He was organist and chorister 
of Klopp's Church, in Lebanon county, Pa., for more than forty years. He 
died \pril 7 189s. He married Hannah Stein, of Greenwich, Berks county, 
who died May i,' 1877. aged sixty-four years, six months twenty-six davs, 
and they had ten children: Helena : Maria, wife of Gideon Botz : Esther, wife 
of Eli Wolever: Amelia, wife of Samuel F. Steiner ; Joel; Susanna, married 
to Jonathan Miller; Amanda, married to Isaac K. Wolf; Emma wife of John 
H Kreiser; Ephraim S. ; and Thomas Daniel, father of Mrs Boyer 

■ Thomas Daniel Brownmiller was born May 14. 1856, at Hamlm, Lebanon 
Co Pa and his death occurred Aug. 14, 191 5- He was a graduate of Palat- 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 727 

inate College, Alyerstown, Lebanon county, was a professor of music, and for 
forty-six years was organist and chorister in the Lutheran Church. He mar- 
ried Fianna Gerhart, of Hamlin, and their union was blessed with tive chil- 
dren: Lillie, wife of John O. J. Boyer; J. Harry, of New York City, at present 
a salesman in the Wanamaker store ; Charles, of Cape May City, Cape May, 
N. J. ; Roy and Annetta, living at home in Schuylkill Haven. 

JOHN M. OREN, of Port Carbon, has been deputy recorder of Schuyl- 
kill county for several years, and his intelligent performance of the duties 
of that position has given much satisfaction to his fellow citizens. The pains- 
taking attention he has given to his work and obliging courtesy to all who have 
had occasion to seek his services have made him deservedly popular at the 
county seat, and his long service has given him a familiarity with the records 
which is of the highest value in the correct transaction of the business of the 
office. Mr. Oren was born at Palo Alto, Schuylkill Co., Pa., Feb. 5, 1856, son 
of James Oren. His grandfather, James Oren, was a native of Ireland, and 
on coming to America settled at New Cumberland, in Cumberland county, 
Pa., where he followed farming. 

James Oren, father of John M. Oren, was born in New Cumberland. He 
was only a boy when he came to Palo Alto, where he was in the employ of the 
Navigation Company for many years, being with them when the canal was 
first opened until it was discontinued in 1871. He rose to the position of 
harbonnaster. After the canal was abandoned he was engaged as a railroad 
foreman for several years, and he died at Palo Alto at the age of sixty-seven 
years. By his first marriage, to Rosa Krause, of Lebanon, Pa., Mr. Oren had 
four children, Jennie, Elizabeth, John M. and Cora. By his second wife, 
Luthena (Chillson), daughter of Squire Walter S. Chillson, of Palo Alto, he 
had a family of six children : Jessie, Elsie, Edith, Olive, 'Mary and George. 

John M. Oren had common school privileges during his youth, but was 
only twelve years old when he began work, loading canalboats. At the age of 
fifteen he began to learn the trade of machinist, with Robert Allison, in whose 
employ he continued for a period of twenty-eight years. In 1901 he took 
a position with the Reading Coal & Iron Company, and he was also employed 
at his trade in Virginia, Ohio and various places in Pennsylvania, being so 
occupied until January, 1909, when he assumed the duties of his present 
position, to which he was appointed. Mr. Oren has proved himself worthy 
of the confidence of his fellow citizens, and is looking after their interests 
well. He is a Republican on political questions, and socially holds member- 
ship in the local lodge of Elks, No. 207, and in the Sons of America. 

On May 13, 1880, Mr. Oren married Annie E. Bailey, sister of Samuel S. 
Bailey, recorder of Schuylkill county. No children have been born to this 
marriage. Mr. and Mrs. Oren reside at Port Carbon. 

DANIEL LOCH is the owner of valuable farm property in West Penn 
township, and is busily engaged in its cultivation and in lumbering, which he 
has carried on successfully for a number of years. He is a native of the 
township, born Tan. 22, 1858, on the place now owned by Daniel L. Miller, 
and is a grandson of George Loch, who founded the family here._ 

George Loch, the grandfather, came to this section from Lehigh county, 
and settled in West Penn township, where he worked at his trade of weaver 
all his life. He and his wife were members of Zion's Lutheran Church in 



728 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 

West Penn township, and they are buried at that church. He was a Repubh- 
can in politics. His children, all now deceased, were: Samuel, Jonas (who 
married a Holshoe), George, Mary (wife of Daniel L. Miller, of West Penn 
township), Maria (who married George Schmidt, both dying in Philadelphia) 
and Amos. 

George Loch, father of Daniel Loch, was born and grew up in West Penn 
township, receiving his education in the public schools. Farming was his 
life work. About the time he reached his majority Jie married, and after 
working around among farmers he bought thirty acres from John Hartung, 
where he followed general agriculture all his active years, retiring some five 
years before his death, which occurred at Mantz, in West Penn township, 
when he was fifty-nine years of age. He was a veteran of the Civil war, a 
stanch Republican in politics, and a sincere Christian, one of the valued mem- 
bers and workers of the Evangelical Church in his township, which he served 
as elder, deacon and in all the other ofiices. He was also superintendent of 
the Sunday school. Mr. Loch married Kate Beibleheimer, daughter of George 
and Kate (Yeager) Beibleheimer, natives of West Penn township, and chil- 
dren as follows were born to them : Joseph, who lives in West Penn township, 
married Sarah Lutz, and their children are George, Eva, Clinton, Pierce, 
Howard, Mamie and Sadie; Daniel is next in the family; Noah, a farmer 
and lumberman, residing at Sittler (Andreas), this county, married Mary A. 
Staudt, and they have had two children, Charles Edwin (deceased) and William 
A.; George A., who lives at Nesquehoning, Carbon Co., Pa., and is engaged 
as a section foreman on the Central railroad of New Jersey, married Emma 
Bachert, and their children are Edward and Mabel; Fred B., proprietor of 
the "Lansford House," at Lansford, Pa., married .\nnie Kemmerer, and they 
have one child, Gertrude; Kate, wife of William Freeman, of Allentown, 
Pa., fireman at a brewery, has children, Mazie, Erma, Robert, Allen and 
Herbert; Sallie is married to Edward Kem, of Lehighton, and their children 
are Harry, Florence, Edward, Guy, Leroy, Arline and Paul. The parents 
are buried at the Evangelical Church in West Penn township. 

Daniel Loch was reared and educated in West Penn township, attending 
Bolich's school, and was trained to farming, working for his father until he 
left home, at the age of eighteen years. He was employed by various farmers 
until twenty-one years old, when he went to Shamokin, Pa., where he worked 
at the coal breaker for the Philadelphia & Reading Coal & Iron Company for 
four months, following which he spent over a year at Audenried, Carbon 
county, with Weaver & Dick, contractors, stripping coal. His next removal 
was to Wilkes-Barre, Pa., where he learned the carpenter's trade, serving an 
apprenticeship with George D. Silvis, under whom he became quite proficient 
at house building and similar work. Returning to West Penn township in 
the year 1882, he followed his trade at Sittler, his first job being on the erec- 
tion of the store of the late T. E. Sittler. He remained at that location until 
May, 1883, when he married, thereafter continuing his trade for a number of 
years. For about three years he lived with his brother Noah at Sittler. In 
1887 he built the house he has since occupied, in West Penn township in the 
vicinity of Sittler, and a few years later bought the old Rubrecht farm, adjoin- 
ing his dwelling site, from Francis K. Mantz. a tract of one hundred acres, 
of which seventy-five are cleared. He bought another tract in West Penn 
township, containing fifty acres, and cut the timber from twenty acres of that 
property, all of which is now clear, Mr. Loch farming both his tracts and 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 729 

finding profitable occupation in general agriculture. For a number of years 
he has also carried on lumbering, buying timber tracts, cutting the wood and 
hiring saw-mills for its manufacture, and then marketing the finished product. 
His operations in this line are all in West Penn township. 

Mr. Loch is recognized as a thoroughly progressive character wherever 
his interests take him. He has long been a leading member of Washington 
Camp No. 615, P. O. S. of A., of Sittler, Pa., which he served eight years in 
the capacity of financial secretary, and he is at present treasurer of the organ- 
ization. As a member of Blue Ridge Lodge, No. 1153, L O. O. F., of Sittler, 
he is one of the best known Odd Fell6ws in this part of Pennsylvania, being 
a past grand of his own lodge and its present secretary, and he was a delegate 
to the State convention held at Harrisburg in May, 1909; he had the past 
grand degree conferred upon him at Harrisburg. In political principle he is 
a Republican, and he has been associated with the local activities of the party, 
having served as election inspector ; though not an office seeker he is interested 
in the proper administration of township afl^airs, and he is serving as registry 
assessor of the Southeast district of West Penn. His religious connection is 
with Zion's Reformed Church in his home township. 

Mr. Loch was married at Lehighton, Pa., by Rev. Abraham Bartholomew, 
to Fianna Rebecca Staudt, who was born April 13, 1865, at Bernville, Berks 
Co., Pa., daughter of John Fisher and Sarah (Snyder) Staudt, and obtained 
her schooling in West Penn township. She remained at home until her mar- 
riage. Mrs. Loch is a member of Zion's Reformed Church. By this union 
there is one child, Charles Calvin, who was born Sept. 8, 1884, received his 
education at Sittler, and has always worked with his father, whom he assists 
at both farming and lumbering. He is married to Amanda Hoppes, who was 
bom April 28, 1890, in West Penn township, daughter of Solomon and Caro- 
line (Eberts) Hoppes, farming people of that township, now living retired. 
They have one child, Hattie Caroline, born Feb. 2, 191 1. Mr. and Mrs. Loch 
also have an adopted child, her niece, the datighter of Frank Leiby and grand- 
daughter of John F. Staudt. She has lived with them from the age of six 
years, and is now nineteen. 

The Staudts are an old Berks county family, and Airs. Loch is a daughter 
of John Fisher Staudt, granddaughter of Daniel Staudt, and great-grand- 
daughter of Johannes Staudt who married a Christ. Daniel Staudt mar- 
ried Mary Ann Fisher, and their children were : Mary Ann, Adam, Joshua, 
Eliza Ann, Fayetta, Alfred, Johannes Fisher, Emilie Sara Ann, Daniel Jared 
and Aaron. 

John (Johannes) Fisher Staudt was born Feb. 18, 1841, in Penn town- 
ship, Berks county, and spent his early life in that county. When he settled 
in Schuylkill county he carried on a feed and grocery business at Pottsville 
for one year, and has since been a resident of West Penn township, owning 
and operating what is probably the oldest mill property in the county. He 
has been county surveyor, postmaster at Staudtsville, and member of the 
township school board, and has been long regarded as one of the most useful 
members of his community. He is now living retired, but retains the over- 
sight of all his affairs. All his children were bom to his first marriage, with 
Sarah Snyder, viz.: Mary Ann (Mrs. Noah Loch), Sarah A. V. (Mrs. Frank 
Leiby). Hiram Henry, Alvin, Milton, Fianna R. (Mrs. Daniel Loch), Ellen 
(Mrs. Tames Muth), John, Charles William, Daniel Jacob and Clara (Mrs. 
William Stabler). For his second wife Mr. Staudt married Mrs. Carolina 



730 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANLA. 

(Osenbach) Schrack, widow of Aaron Schrack, and daughter of Daniel 
Osenbach. A full account of the Staudt family appears elsewhere in this 
work. 

FRANK L. BENSINGER is farming the old Bensinger homestead in 
East Brunswick township, and is known as an estimable representative of a 
family whose members in every generation have been respected for intelligent 
citizenship and substantial character. He is one of the fourth generation of 
Bensingers in East Brunswick township, Schuylkill county, being a great- 
grandson of Frederick Bensinger, the progenitor of many of the name in this 
locality, who was bom in Montgomery county, Pa., and settled in East Bruns- 
wick township before the Revolution. When the war broke out he was 
engaged in farming there, and he left his private affairs to go to the assistance 
of the Colonies. In his later years he received a pension for his services. 
He married Mary Weiman, and had a family of eight children, one of whom, 
Jacob, married Hannah Dreher, and was the ancestor of another branch of 
the family in East Brunswick township. 

Michael Bensinger, son of Frederick, was a farmer in East Brunswick 
township, where he owned about seventy-five acres of land. He cleared that 
tract, erected a log house and barn, and carried on general farming the greater 
part of his life. He had the following children: Edward married Sarah 
Heiser, and both are deceased; William, deceased, married a Miss Fister; 
Franklin B. is next in the family; Benneville married Caroline Fahl, and both 
are deceased ; Fred married a Aliss Bock, and they reside at McKeansburg ; 
Priscilla married Thomas Hartung, and both are deceased. Mr. and Mrs. 
Bensinger are buried in the Steigerwalt cemetery in East Brunswick town- 
ship. He was a Whig in politics. 

Franklin B. Bensinger was born in East Brunswick township in March, 
1822, was educated in the schools of the local district, and spent his youth 
and early manhood assisting his father on the fami. After his father's death 
he bought out the' other heirs to the homestead farm, which he operated all 
his life. His wife, Catherine (Shuster), who was born in September, 1821, 
and died in March, 1899, was a daughter of Martin Shuster, whose wife was 
a Koons. Mr. Bensinger died in March, 1898. He and his wife had the fol- 
lowing children: John went West, and is now deceased; Howard, a farmer 
in West Brunswick township, married Emma Leiby ; Charles S. married Ida 
Baer; Frank L. is mentionecl below; Harry, who is a foreman in a silk mill at 
Tamaqua, married Cora Albright ; Thomas, deceased, married Elmira Horn, 
who resides in McKeansburg ; Dora married W. S. Miller, of East Brunswick 
township; Mary married W. H. Yost, of Reading; Susan is the widow 
of James Shoener, and lives at Hamburg, Pa.; Lizzie is the wi'ldw of Oscar 
Kimmel, and makes her home at Port Carbon; Kate married J. A. Shellham- 
mer, of Port Carbon; Carrie married J. A. Yost, of Ringtown, this county. 
Politically Mr. Bensinger was a Republican. He was an earnest member of 
the Church of God and very active in its work, serving as trustee and in other 
capacities. His wife was also a member. They are buried in the Steigerwalt 
cemetery in East Brunswick township. 

Frank L. Bensinger was born Dec. 5, i860, on the place where he now 
lives, the old Bensinger homestead. His education was acquired in the East 
Brunswick schools, and he worked for his father on the homestead farm until 
1883, when he went to Ohio. After doing farm work there for one year he 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 731 

returned home and entered the employ of the Philadelphia & Reading Rail- 
way Company, as coal flagman on the main line from Palo Alto to Port Rich- 
mond, Philadelphia, remaining with that company for two years, when he 
moved to McKeansburg. He worked for his father another three years, and 
then rented the Steigerwalt farm, near the Steigerwalt church (now owned 
by E. H. Kunkel), being tenant on that farm for nine years. At the end 
of that time he bought the homestead tract, where he has resided ever since, 
engaged in general farming and trucking. He makes two trips a week to the 
markets of New Philadelphia and St. Clair. Mr. Bensinger has found time 
to take part in the township government, has been elected school director and 
auditor, and has been associated with politics as a Republican. Socially he 
belongs to Washington Camp No. lOO, P. O. S. of A., of New Ringgold, and 
to Protection Council, No. 935, Order of Independent Americans, of Mc- 
Keansburg; at one time he was very active in the work of the latter organiza- 
tion, but never held any elective oftice. In religion he leans toward the teach- 
ings of the Evangelical Association. 

Mr. Bensinger married Ida Albright, a daughter of Thomas and Catherine 
(Kershner) Albright, and they have had one child, Eva May; she was edu- 
cated in the East Brunswick schools and the Keystone State Normal School, 
graduating with the class of 1913, and was married to Leon Kimmel in 191 5. 
Previously she taught school at Rauschs and Kepners, in East Brunswick 
township. 

Airs. Ida (Albright) Bensinger was born and educated in West Brunswick 
township, and lived at home until married. Her grandfather, Joseph Albright, 
was a farmer in West Brunswick township, owning 120 acres, nearly all of 
which he had under cultivation. He married Esther Sharadin, and they had 
children : Thomas ; Susanna, widow of Solomon Moyer ; Morgan, who mar- 
ried a Deibert; Benneville, who married Mary Hicks (both are deceased); 
Lucian, deceased, who married Isabella Hoy; and William, who married a 
Miss Bodey. The father died when over seventy years old, the mother when 
over sixty, and they are buried at St. John's Reformed Church, Orwigsburg, 
of which Mr. Albright was a member. He was a Democrat politically. 

Thomas Albright, son of Joseph, was educated in West Brunswick town- 
ship and at the Keystone State Normal School at Kutztown, where he spent 
one year. He worked for his father on the farm until after his marriage. 
He operated his grandfather Kershner's farm at Drehersville for about eight 
years, and then moved to Orwigsburg and lived retired for one year. His 
next removal was to the homestead farm, which he had bought from his 
father, and he operated it for eleven years, at the end of that time removing 
to Allentown, where he is now employed by Dr. Albright. Mr. Albright is 
now (1915) seventy-seven years old. He married Catherine Kershner. daugh- 
ter of Daniel and Judith (Fegley) Kershner, and they had five children: 
Thomas and Lewis died young; Calvin married Ella Shoener, of Tamaqua; 
Ida is Mrs. Bensinger; Cora married Harry Bensinger. Mrs. Albright died 
in March, 1895, and is buried at Orwigsburg. Mr. Albright is a member of 
St. John's Reformed Church, of Orwigsburg, Pa. Lie is a Democrat in 
politics. 

ALEXANDER KAUFMAN, who is now living in the borough of Gor- 
don, was born March 23, 1850, at Schuylkill Haven, this county, where his 
grandfather, George Kaufman, settled about 1825, The latter was born Nov. 



732 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENxXSYLVANIA 

6, 17S8, in Upper Bern township, then in Montgomery county. Pa., and on 
coming to Schuylkill Haven engaged in the flour and feed business, remaining 
there until his death, April 3, 1838. He had but one child, George. 

George Kaufman, father of Alexander Kaufman, was born in Upper Bern 
township, Montgomery Co., Pa., March 25, iSii, and spent most of his hfe 
at Schuylkill Haven, Schuylkill county, where he was a business man for over 
fifty years, engaged in merchandising. He served as county poor director one 
term, as school director at Schuylkill Haven, and held other offices. His 
death occurred at Schuylkill Haven Oct. 16, 1883. Mr. Kaufman married 
Elmire Boyer, who was born Nov. 25, 1818, in Norwegian township, Schuyl- 
kill county, of which township her father, George Boyer, was also a native. 
He was a farmer there, owning what was called the Boyer tract, between 
Gordon and Pottsville. Selling this property he moved to Jefierson county, 
where he died. Of his seven children, four sons and three daughters, three 
survive: Benjamin, George and Hannah, all residents of Jefferson county, 
Pa. Mrs. Kaufman passed away Sept. 28, 1892. She was the mother of eleven 
children, namely: John G., the eldest, born Jan. 19, 1838, is deceased; 
Charles F., bom Jan. 10, 1840, died Sept. 19, 190S; Elmira, born Feb. 22, 1842, 
died July 3, 1844; Emma L., born Oct. 13," 1844, died April 29, 1846; George 
B., born Oct. 3, 1846, died March 14, 1913; William L., born Feb. 16, 1849, 
died Jtily 25, 1876; Alexander is next in the family; Alice R., born June 5, 
1853, li'^'ss at Schuylkill Haven; Lewis, born Sept. 7, 1855, died May i, 1910; 
Edward, born Oct. 5, 1857, is a resident of Philadelphia; Samuel L., born 
Feb. 25, 1861, lives at Schuylkill Haven. 

Alexander Kaufman received his education at Schuylkill Haven, where 
his early life was spent. For a few years during his young manhood he 
clerked in a store at Raven Run, for E. H. Heaton, and then engaged in busi- 
ness at that place on his own account for about three years, at the end of 
which period he sold out. Coming to Girardville he again embarked in busi- 
ness, remaining at that point until his removal to Gordon, in 1890. He had 
come to the borough previously, in 1866, remaining until 1881, and had great 
faith in its possibilities as a business location, and he was not disappointed 
in his expectations, for he had a successful career as a merchant up to the time 
of his retirement. He has always been considered one of the substantial citi- 
zens of the place. In 1890 he was elected to the office of supervisor of Butler 
township, and reelected the next year. For thirteen years he has ser\'ed as 
assessor of the borough of Gordon, discharging the duties of that office to the 
eminent satisfaction of all concerned. He is a member of the Lutheran Church 
of Gordon. 

On Dec. 25, 1875, Mr. Kaufman was married to Josephine Kleber, who 
was bom at Pottsville March 5, 1855, and died Jan. 15, 1915. The following 
children were born to this union, viz.: William died Oct. 13, 1891 ; Lewis, 
who lives at Gordon, is an employee of the Philadelphia & Reading Railway 
Company; Raymond, who lives at Gordon, is in the same employ; Carrie is 
the wife of Samuel Rubright, of Mount Carmel ; Anna is the wife of Charles 
Rinehart, of Mount Carmel: Alexander died Dec. 2, 1881. ]\Ir. Kaufman 
owns the home at Gordon which he occupies with his family. 

Louis and Phoebe (\\'iken Kleber, I\Irs. Kaufman's parents, were natives 
of Gemiany, the father born Dec. 28, 1828, the mother May 4, 1832. They 
were married in that country, and on coming to America first settled at Potts- 
ville, Schuylkill Co., Pa., thence moving to Cressona and later to Gordon. 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PEXXSYLVANL\ 733 

Mr. Kleber was a coppersmith, and for many years was in the employ of the 
Philadelphia & Reading Railway Company. He died Nov. lo, 1899, and his 
wife survived him a number of years, passing away Feb. 20, 1914. Their 
family consisted of seven children : Josephine, Mrs. Kaufman ; Lewis, who 
lives at Easton, Pa.; Charles, a retired butcher, of Gordon, Pa.; Anna, wife 
of Fred Dreher, a retired merchant of Gordon ; \^^illiam, a machinist, of New 
York; Ida, wife of John F. Dreher, a merchant of Gordon; and Harry, 
deceased. 

BENJAMIN SHAPPELL is making a reputation for himself as a pro- 
gressive agriculturist in North Manheim township, this county, where he owns 
over 200 acres of valuable land. He is giving all his time to farming operations, 
making a specialty of fruit growing and dairying, in both of which lines he has 
done particularly well. The branch of the Shappell family to which he belongs 
was established in Schuylkill county by Jacob Shappell, his grandfather, who 
moved hither from Berks county, where the name is of record from the days 
of its settlement. 

In Perry township, Berks county, which until 1853 was a part of Windsor 
township, Berks county, is a prominent family bearing the name of Schap- 
pelle, Qioppelle, Schobbel, Shobel, but now more commonly found spelled 
Shappell, Schappel and Schappell. The original home of the family was in 
France, but through religious persecution its members sought refuge in Ger- 
many, making their home at Wittenberg. Among the loS passengers on the 
good ship "Patience," which landed at the port of Philadelphia Sept. 17, 1753, 
was a Jeremie Chappelle and one Jean Pierre Chappelle. The kinship of these 
two emigrants is unknown, but it is not doubted that they were relatives. What 
became of Jean Pierre after landing in the New W'orld is not known. Jere- 
mias Schappelle (as it appears on the tombstone) (or Schobel) and Eberhart 
Schoppel, brothers, were residents in Windsor township, Berks Co., Pa., in 
1754 (see Rupp's History). 

According to the tombstone inscription at Zion's Church, in Perry (formerly 
Windsor) township, Jcremias Schappelle was born in 1715, and he died Oct. 

15, 1804. His wife Catharine, born in 1724, passed away June 8, 1801. The 
will of Jeremiah Shappel (sic) is on record in Berks county courthouse in Will 
Book A, page 505. It was made Feb. 11, 1803, and probated Jan. 7, 1805. At 
the time the will was made he was a resident of Windsor township. The fol- 
lowing children were mentioned in the will: Jacob (who was made executor of 
his father's estate) ; Matthias, Jeremiah, Magdalena and Catharine. In the 
cemetery at Zion's (Church is a tombstone bearing the following inscription: 
"Elizabeth Schappelle, wife of Jeremias, formerly of Deutschland, bom Feb. 

16, 1 77 1, died July 9, 1817, aged forty-six years, five months, twenty-three 
days." This probably refers to the wife of Jeremias or Jeremiah, son of Jere- 
mias (I). 

No records of the descendants of Eberhart Schoppel are in evidence at 
Zion's Union Church. He may have left Windsor township after 1744, in 
which year he hewed his name on a stone now in the southeastern wall of the 
old graveyard. Tradition says that the stones upon which these names were 
carved (one bears the name of Jeremias), were once a part of the wall of the 
first church. The fourth church was in course of construction in 1908. 

Jacob Schappell, son of Jeremias, was better known as "Jockey," a nick- 
name evidently taken from the German pronunciation of his name. He was 



734 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 

born in Wittenberg, Germany, Feb. 2, 1744, and died Sept. 11, 1826. As 
stated above he was the executor of his father's will in 1805. His wife Su- 
sanna \yas born Feb. 2, 1751, and died July 24, 1828. They are both buried 
at Zion's Cliurch. Jeremias, Eberhart and Jockey Schappell were founders 
of the original Zion's Church. Tradition says Jacob and Susanna had a large 
family, some of their children, however, dying in infancy and childhood. Of 
those of whom there is record may be mentioned: Peter, born April 19, 1770; 
Col. Jeremiah, born March 20, 1774; Daniel, who was a taxable resident in 
Manheim township, Schuylkill county, in 1790, where he reared a family and 
where his descendants still live; and Hannah, married to Georg Hoffman, a 
farmer of Perry township. 

There is a valley in Perry township known to the local residents as Schap- 
pell's Dale, because of the many Shappells living there. 

Peter Schappell, son of Jacob and Susanna, was born April 19, 1770, and 
died Nov. 18, 185 1. He was a farmer in Windsor township, and he and his 
family all belonged to Zion's Church, and are buried in the cemeterj' there. 
His first wife was Elizabeth ,(Lenhart) (1768-1790), and his second Annie 
(Kosch) (1778-1841). His children were: Jacob, who located in Schuylkill 
county; Benjamin, who died young; Daniel, who settled in Schuylkill county; 
Samuel, who settled in Windsor township; John, who settled in Richmond 
township, Berks county; Mary, married to William Miller; Kate, married to 
Martin Eisenhaur; Elizabeth, married to Jacob Boyer; a daughter married to 
Anthony Adam; and Solomon. 

Jacob Shappell lived at Shartlesville, in Berks county, until his removal 
to Schuylkill county, where he settled in North Manheim township with his 
family. Purchasing a tract of land, he followed farming successfully during 
the remainder of his days, dying here, and is buried in the old cemetery at 
Schuylkill Haven. His children were as follows : Jacob, who died in North- 
umberland county. Pa. ; Samuel : David, who died in Schuylkill county ; Mary, 
who married John Wonier ; and Lydia, Mrs. Long. 

Samuel Shappell, son of Jacob, was born in 1825 at Shartlesville, Berks 
county, accompanied his father to Schuylkill county, and passed the remainder 
of his life here. After working several years as a boatbuilder he bought the 
J. Womer farm, in North Manheim township, comprising twenty acres, and 
later increased his holdings by the purchase of part of his father's homestead, 
as well as part of the Pryor estate. He also acquired part of the Osewald farm 
and some land from Fred Hinckle, having a total of 108 acres. He carried on 
general farming and was also in the timber business for many years, becom- 
ing a well known man in his day. He was a Democrat, and in religion a mem- 
ber of the Reformed Church, in which he was active, holding the position of 
deacon. Mr. Shappell married Sarah Oswald, who was born in 1823, daugh- 
ter of Daniel Oswald, and li\ed to the age of eighty-two years, dying in 1906. 
His death occurred many years before, in 1884, when he was fifty-nine years 
old. Mr. and Mrs. Shappell are buried in the Union cemetery at Schuylkill 
Haven. They had a large family, namely : George W., an engineer, now liv- 
ing at Palo Alto, this county ; Henry, who is a resident of Philadelphia ; Sarah, 
deceased ; Maria, Mrs. Frank Luckenbill, living in North Manheim township ; 
Samuel, who went West; Benjamin; Hettie, wife of Jonathan Achey, of Allen- 
town, Pa. ; Mahlon and Galen, twins, the former deceased, the latter in the 
West; and Isaac, of Schuylkill Haven, who is in the employ of the Reading 
Company. 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PEXXSYL\AXL\ 735 

Benjamin Shappell was born Jan. 30, 1859, on the place in North Manheim 
township which he now owns and occupies. He was reared there, attending 
public school in the neighborhood, and lived at home until twenty-seven years 
old, assisting in the cultivation of the home farm. Then for six years he was 
in the employ of the Philadelphia & Reading Railroad Company, as a brake- 
man on the Mine Hill division. During this period he bought the homestead 
and the stock, and upon giving up railroad work returned to the property, 
where he has since remained, giving all his time to agricultural work. To the 
original 108 acres which his father owned he has added by various purchases, 
first buying sixty-two acres of the Charles Dealer estate and later sixty-four 
acres from Joel Fisher's estate, having sold ten acres to the borough of Schuyl- 
kill Haven for the waterworks. He has at present 215 acres, all excellent land, 
of which eighty-five acres are cleared and under high cultivation. Mr. Shap- 
pell has set out over five hundred peach trees, which have produced very profit- 
ably. He has also given considerable attention to dairying, keeping twelve 
milch cows, and retails the product himself, having a milk route at Schuylkill 
Haven. The intelligent system which he has followed in the improvement and 
development of his farm has brought him excellent results, his thorough busi- 
ness methods having been quite as important in his success as his careful agri- 
cultural work. He has served as school director of his township, but aside 
from that has given little attention to afl:'airs outside of his business. Politically 
he is a Democrat, in religious connection a member of the Reformed Church. 

Mr. Shappell married Susan Honickell, daughter of Philip Honickell, a 
native of Germany, who came to America when forty years old, and settled in 
Schuylkill county. Six children have been born to this marriage : Bertha is 
the wife of D. Fisher, of Schuylkill Haven ; Philip died young ; Alexander is 
at home; Frederick was accidentally killed when sixteen years old while haul- 
ing stone, the team running away ; Amelia and John are at home. 

JOEL A. DINGER, late of Pottsville, was a business man of Schuylkill 
county throughout his active years, and from the time of his removal to Potts- 
ville was engaged in hotelkeeping. His widow is still conducting the "City 
Hotel," of which he was proprietor at the time of his death. Mr. Dinger be- 
longed to a well known family of Hegins township, Schuylkill county, and 
he was born there April 8, 1851, son of Jonathan Dinger, a prosperous farmer 
of that section. 

During his boyhood Joel A. Dinger had the advantages of the local public 
schools in Hegins township, and then, being ambitious for a higher education, 
attended Selinsgrove Academy and later the Keystone State Normal School, 
at Kutztown, Pa. When a young man he taught school in Schuylkill county 
for several years, and was afterwards employed in the office of the Bright 
lumber yard, at Ashland, Pa., where he remained until 1S87. That year he 
rame to Pottsville and took charge of the "Eagle Hotel," which he conducted 
for nine years, after which for eleven years he carried on the ''Exchange Ho- 
tel" in this city. He disposed of his interest there to take the "City Hotel," 
at No. 440 North Centre street, continuing his connection therewith until his 
death, which occurred Oct. 22, 1914. Mr. Dinger had many natural qualifica- 
tions for the hotel business, and in his long experience became thoroughly fa- 
miliar with its requirements. His obliging disposition manifested itself in sin- 
cere efforts to please his guests, and their appreciation was shown in continu- 
ous patronage. He made many friends in the course of his long career in the 



736 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 

hotel business, and was equally popular wherever known, among his fellow 
members of the local lodge of Elks and in the Lutheran Church, of which he 
was a member. He is buried in the Charles Baber cemetery at Pottsville. 

Mr. Dinger married Kate Long, who was born in Cameron township, 
i\'orthumberland Co., Pa., daughter of Daniel Long, who is still residing on 
the old homestead there. Mrs. Dinger has carried on the "City Hotel" very 
successfully since her husband's death. Two children were born to them: 
Neva O., who is the wife of Edwin E. Merrick, of Pottsville ; and Sadie R., 
who is the wife of Prof. Walter F. Hertzog (they reside in California). 

Edwin E. Merrick is widely known in Pottsville in his capacity as super- 
intendent at the plant of the Eastern Steel Company. A Scotchman by birth, 
he was bom in Glasgow Sept. i6, 1864, son of Noah Merrick, who upon com- 
ing to America settled at Troy, N. Y., where he was engaged as a roller in the 
steel mill. He now resides at Paterson, N. J. Edwin E. Merrick received a 
public school education, and in his youth began to learn the steel business at 
Paterson, N. J. After several years' employment there he worked in Chicago 
for a time, in May, 1906, coming to Pottsville, Schuylkill Co., Pa., where he 
took a position as roller with the Eastern Steel Compaiiy. Before long he was 
promoted to the position of superintendent of his department, and has since 
been serving as such, his competency and intelligent devotion to his duties rec- 
ommending him to the confidence of the executive heads of the concern. Per- 
sonally he is a man of high character, and has proved himself in various ways 
a desirable citizen in the town of his adoption. He is a member of the B. P. 
O. Elks Lodge at Pottsville. 

On Feb. 4, 1910, Mr. Merrick married Neva O. Dinger, daughter of the 
late Joel A. Dinger, and they have a fine home at No. 2015 West Market street, 
Pottsville. 

BENJAMIN FRANK JAMES was born Aug. 19, 1873, i" Schuylkill 
county, and received such common school advantages as Shenandoah, his home 
town, afforded. After reaching his majority he attended business college at 
Elmira, New York. 

The \\'^elsh have been represented by many successful operators and capable 
miners in the Pennsylvania fields, and several of the James family have con- 
tributed to their reputation in the industry of leading importance in this 
State. Reared in the very heart and center of the Pennsylvania anthracite 
coal regions, and with his father interested in coal operations. Mr. James had 
the opportunity to follow his inclinations, and by the time he reached maturity 
had a familiar knowledge of the mineral deposits of the State and their 
development. At the time of the death of his father. Mr. James, with his 
three brothers, David R., John R., and William J. James, received the operation 
from their father which he had been conducting under the name of the 
Cambridge Coal Company. At the present writing they are still profitably 
working at that collier}-. In 1906 Mr. James, with his three brothers before 
named, leased from the Gilbert and Sheafer Estates the Girard Mammoth 
colliery, located at Raven Run, and worked this collier}' very successfully. 
Previous to their having taken over this operation it had been operated by 
the Philadelphia & Reading Coal & Iron Company for a number of years. 

Encouraged by what he considered the favorable outlook in the slate 
regions, he was one of a party who organized a company for the production 
and manufacture of all kinds of slate, his associates in the organization being 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 737 

his three brothers, and J. C. McGinnis, of Frackville, Pa., and William 
Wilhelm, of Pottsville. They incorporated under the name of the Cambridge 
Slate Company, of Slatington, and are still carrying on extensive and profitable 
operations. The officers of the company are : David R. James, president ; 
William J. James, secretary, and Benjamin F. James, treasurer and general 
manager. 

In the year 1914 Mr. James made a venture in the Gilberton valley which 
has developed into a very promising operation. He was accompanied in the 
enterprise by his two brothers, David R. and William J. They leased from 
the Girard Estate, at Gilberton, Schuylkill county, the East Bear Ridge colliery. 
By the fall of 1915 they had completed preparations for its operation, and 
began same at once. Mr. James is giving his closest attention to its compre- 
hensive development, as the vast workings reopened or newly opened show. 
He has entered into this big task fully aware of the responsibilities attaching 
to it, but with no doubt as to the outcome. He has the pluck and tenacity 
necessary to hold him to his duties until the realization of his ambitions is 
attained, and has the experience upon which much of his success must depend. 
The profitable management of the colliery will be an achievement of highest 
importance and will mean much to the prosperity of the district, where 
thousands look to the coal workings for their means of earning a livelihood. 
With the enterprising methods now in practice in the East Bear Ridge work- 
ings, and conditions as they now are, great promise is given of a large pro- 
duction. 

In 1896 Mr. James married Mary A. Troutman, daughter of Emanuel and 
Sarah Troutman, and their children are : Mary, a cultured musician, who 
received her training in the schools at Oak Lane, Philadelphia, and Dayton, 
Va. ; Viola, a student of the Pottsville high school ; Elva May ; Elsie, and 
Benjamin F., Jr. Mr. James and his family are associated with the Baptist 
Church. Fraternally he is a Mason, holding membership in the Blue Lodge at 
Shenandoah, Chapter and Commandery at Ashland, and Rajah Temple, A. A. 
O. N. M. S.. of Reading, Pennsylvania. 

William R. James, the father of Benjamin Frank James, was a native of 
Wales, born Dec. 2, 1838, in Glamorganshire. He was reared and educated 
there, being nineteen years old when he left that land for America. Immedi- 
ately upon his arrival in this country he settled in Schuylkill county. Pa., where 
he found employment in the mines and continued to engage in that line of 
work to the end of his days. For many years he was an operator on his own 
account, in 1875 leasing coal lands at Shenandoah from the Philadelphia & 
Reading Company, and conducting business under the name of the Cambridge 
Coal Company until his death, in the spring of 1892. Mr. James married 
Elizabeth Thomas, nee Harris, who preceded him to the grave, dying in 1890, 
and they are interred in the burial plot in Shenandoah. His home was at 
Shenandoah for seventeen years, until his death. Their family consisted of five 
children: David R., John R., William J., Benjamin Frank (the subject of this 
sketch), and Mary, the last named being deceased. 

JOHN HENRY SHOEMAKER has spent the greater part of his life on 
the farm in West Penn township where he is now residing, and which he 
has been operating successfully on his own account for a number of years. 
He was born in that township Nov. 10, 1869, son of Joel Shoemaker, and he 
is a great-grandson of Johannes Shoemaker, who established the family in 
Vol.11— 9' 



738 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 

this country, coming from Germany and passing the rest of his days as a 
farmer in Lehigh county, Pa. He is buried in that county. 

Jonas Shoematcer, son of Johannes, was born in Lehigh county, in what 
was then the township of Lehigh, and settled in Schuylkill county, where he 
became a very prosperous farmer and landowner. His holdings included five 
very good farms, comprising between 500 and 600 acres of land, and he lived 
on a 200-acre tract, most of which latter he cleared. When he retired he 
went to live with his son Joel, giving up active work about seven years before 
his death. He was a man of energetic nature, and interested in all things which 
concerned the community, taking an active part in the work of the Demo- 
cratic party in his locality. He was a Lutheran member of Zion's Church . 
in West Penn township, where he and his second wife are buried. He lived 
to the age of ninety-three years. He was twice married. By his iirst wife, 
whose maiden name was Bachert, and who lived to be over eighty, he had the 
following children: Polly, bom Nov. 3, 1819; Priscilla, born Jan. 4, 1822, 
who was married to Jacob Loch and had one son, Noah; one child, born Feb. 
22, 1824, who died unnamed ; Joel, born Nov. 8, 1825 ; Sallie, born Jan. 7, 
1828, who died young; Mary Ann, who married William Schaffer; her twin 
sister, Barbara, who married Ephraim Snyder; Johannes, born Jan. 24, 1830; 
Sallie, born Sept. 13, 1833; Giedon, born March 28, 1836, who married Levina 
Neifert; Samuel, born Aug. 26, 1838, who married Mary Moyer; a child, 
born July 21, 1841, who died unnamed; Leah, born April 14, 1843, married 
to Xoah Houser; Elavina, born Jan. 15, 1847, who married Nathan Miller; 
Benjamin; and Susanna, Mrs. Simon Shellhammer. For his second wife 
Jonas Shoemaker married Mrs. Lavina (Kistler) Kemp, widow of Isaac 
Kemp, and to this union came one child, Adam, born Oct. 16, 1870, who died 
at the age of twenty-four years. 

Joel Shoemaker, son of Jonas, was born Nov. 8, 1825. in Lehigh township, 
and received his education in his native county. He worked for his father 
until after his marriage, and his father then gave him the farm now occupied 
by Gottfried Knoedler, a tract of eighty acres in W'est Penn township, which 
he improved greatly during the seven years he resided thereon. He cleared 
most of the land, put up a number of outbuildings and a new house, and by 
his thrifty management increased the value of the place very materially. 
Then he removed to the place in West Penn township now occupied by his 
son John, the old Christian Grouse farm, comprising eighty acres of valuable 
land, all of which was cleared and under cultivation. He followed general 
farming there until 1901, and stayed with his son John until his death, in 
1904. Mr. Shoemaker took some part in the administration of local affairs, 
serving as school director and collector of the school tax. He was a Demo- 
crat in politics and a Lutheran in religion, belonging to Zion's Church, where 
he and his wife were buried. He married Mary Ann Neifert, who was born 
June 4, 1835, daughter of Peter Neifert, and died at the age of sixty-seven 
years. We have the following record of their family: Amanda ]\Iatilda, 
born May 13, 1857, is the wife of Charles Johnson; James A. was born Oct. 
15, 1858; Lavina Rebecca, born Oct. 8, i860, died July 22. 1873; George Mc- 
Clellan, bom Dec. 9, 1862, is now living in Kansas; John Henry was born Nov. 
10, 1869; Rosie Cecilia, born Sept. 7, 1871, died Sept. 22, 1877; Clara Mary, 
born Aug. 12, 1878, married Theodore Gerber and (second) Mihon Boyer. 

[ohn H. Shoemaker was reared and educated in West Penn township. 
He received his early training assisting his father, for whom he worked on 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 7;J9 

the home place until twenty-four years old. For a few months afterwards 
he was in the employ of the Philadelphia & Reading Railway Company, at 
the Palo Alto car shops, was next engaged as a wood-chopper in West Penn 
township for a couple of months, and then rented the Gideon Zehner farm 
for two years. At the end of that period he returned to the old homestead 
in West Penn township, which he rented for one year before buying it, and 
he is still residing there and carrying on general farming. He markets his 
products at Tamaqua. The farm originally contained eighty-two acres, fifty- 
six perches, but a small part was sold to the railroad company, the tract now 
consisting of seventy-eight acres; about seven acres are in timber. Mr. Shoe- 
maker devotes practically all his time to his agricultural work, taking no part 
in public affairs, though he is public-spirited m his support of all good meas- 
ures. He is a Democrat, and a Lutheran, belonging to Zion's Church in West 
Penn township. 

At the age of twenty-three years Mr. Shoemaker was married to Caroline 
Zehner, who was born Aug. 9, 1871, in West Penn township, received her 
education in the public schools there, and remained at home until her marriage. 
Like her husband she is a member of Zion's Lutheran Church in West Penn 
township, in whose work she has taken considerable interest, having served 
as Sunday school teacher. Mr. and Mrs. Shoemaker have had four chil- 
dren: Cora Ellen, born Aug. 8, 1893, is the wife of Lee Yarbrough, of 
Tamaqua, Pa., and they have two children. Vera Leoda (born Dec. 25. 1912) 
and Elda Caroline (born Dec. i, 1914) ; Carrie Irene, born Ian. 18, 1893, 
married James Houser, of Tamaqua, Pa., and they have one child, John 
Amandus (born Dec. 9, 1914) ; Harold Adam, born March 11, i8i)6, is attend- 
ing the Keystone State Normal School at Kutztown. Pa., a member of the 
class of 1915; Nora Amelia was born Sept. 5, 1907. 

Johannes Zehner, grandfather of Mrs. John H. Shoemaker, was born in 
West Penn township, Schuylkill county, where he died when over eighty- 
four years old. During the summer season he engaged in farming, operating 
and owning the place where Mr. George B. Adam now resides, and in the 
winter time followed his trade of cooper, making barrels, etc., continuing 
both lines throughout his active years. He was a Democrat and served as 
supervisor of his township. His religious connection was with the Lutheran 
congregation of Zion's Church, but he was not specially active in its work. 
He and his wife, Christina (Steigerwalt), daughter of Joseph Steigerwalt, 
are buried at Zion's Church. They had the following children : William, who 
married Polly Houser; Moses, who married a Miss Schwartz; Hettie, wife 
of David Halderman ; Gideon, who married Sarah Houser; and John S., who 
married Rebecca Bennighoff. 

Gideon Zehner, son of Johannes, was born April 20, 1832, in West Penn 
township, where he was reared and educated. He was trained to farming, 
working for his father until after his marriage, but he also learned the trades of 
stonemason and plasterer and later butchering, always doing his own work in 
that line. Immediately after his marriage he bought the farm now owned by 
his son Lewis A. Zehner, in West Penn township, and did most of the clearing 
of that tract, put up new buildings th^re, and for many years carried on both 
farming and butchering, his children operating the farm, while he gave most 
of his attention to the" latter line. He carried his meats to Tamaqua, Coal- 
dale and Lansford to market. During the latter part of his life he devoted 
himself entirely to agricultural work. In the pursuit of his various interests 



740 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

he became very well known in his section of Schuylkill county. For a number 
of years he taught singing school, and he was an esteemed member of Zion's 
Lutheran Church in West Penn township. He and his wife are buried at that 
church. In politics he was a Democrat. Mr. Zehner married Sarah Houser, 
who was born Sept. i6, 1832, daughter of Daniel and Elizabeth (Wertman) 
Houser, and died Jan. 11, 1892. Mr. Zehner survived her a number of years, 
passing away May 20, 1905. They were the parents of the following children : 
Lewis Albert, who now occupies the home farm in West Penn township, mar- 
ried Amelia Tyson ; Mary Elizabeth is the wife of David Steigerwalt, of West 
Penn township ; Louisa died young ; Elias died young ; Emma Jeannetta is the 
wife of Charles Stout, of Summit Hill, Carbon Co., Pa. ; Charles, deceased, 
married Emma Gerber, who resides in West Penn township; Caroline is the 
wife of John Henry Shoemaker. 

Daniel Houser, father of Mrs. Sarah (Houser) Zehner, was a blacksmith 
by trade and also followed farming. He first owned a farm in West Penn 
township, now the property of Henry Baer, and after selling this place lived 
on the tract now occupied by Fred Schaeffer. Later he bought the farm now 
owned by Frank Steigerwalt, and besides looking after its cultivation had a 
blacksmith shop and followed his trade there. He died on that place. His 
wife. Elizabeth (Wertman), passed away at the age of eighty-one years, and 
they are buried at Zion's Church in West Penn township. Mr. Houser was a 
member of the Reformed congregation there, and a Democrat in political sen- 
timent. Mr. and Mrs. Houser had the following children : Aaron, who mar- 
ried Amanda Kramer, lives in West Penn township; William, now deceased, 
was a soldier in the Civil war ; Gideon died young ; Sarah married Gideon Zeh- 
ner ; Priscilla is the widow of Stephen Steigerwalt, and now resides at Andreas, 
this county; Esther married Jacob Christman, and both are deceased; Betsy, 
widow of Levi Zehner, lives at Tamaqua, Schuylkill county; Kate, deceased, 
was the wife of Charles Woomer, of Summit Hill, Carbon Co., Pa. ; one son 
died young. 

LEWIS ALBERT ZEHNER is cultivating the old Zehner homestead in 
West Penn township, and by his thrift and up-to-date management of that 
property is showing himself a worthy member of a family whose name has 
long been synonymous with industry and the other substantial qualities which 
constitute good citizenship. He was born on his present farm June 30, i860, 
son of Gideon Zehner and grandson of Johannes Zehner. 

Johannes Zehner was born in West Penn township, Schuylkill county, where 
he died when over eighty-four years old. During the summer season he en- 
gaged in farming, operating and owning the place where George B. Adam now 
resides, and in the winter time followed his trade of cooper, making barrels, 
etc., continuing both lines throughout his active years. He was a Democrat 
and served as supervisor of his township. His religious connection was with 
the Lutheran congregation of Zion's Church, but he was not specially active 
in its work. He and his wife, Christina (Steigerwalt), daughter of Joseph 
Steigerwalt, are buried at Zion's Church. They had the following children : 
William, who married Polly Houser; Moses, who married a Miss Schwartz; 
Hettie. wife of Daniel Halderman ; Gideon, who married Sarah Houser; and 
John S., who married Rebecca BennighofF. 

Gideon Zehner, son of Johannes, was born April 20. 1832. in West Penn 
township, where he was reared and educated. He was trained to farming, 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 741 

\vorl-:ing for his father until after his marriage, but he also learned the trades 
of stonemason and plasterer and later butchering, always doing his own work 
in that line. Immediately after his marriage he bought the farm now owned 
by his son Lewis A. in West Penn township, and did most of the clearing of 
that tract, put up new buildings there, and for many years carried on both 
farming and butchering, his children operating the farm, while he gave most 
of his attention to the latter line. He carried his meats to Tamaqua, Coaldale 
and Lansford to market. During the latter part of his life he devoted himself 
entirely to agricultural work. In the pursuit of his various interests he became 
very well known in his section of Schuylkill county. For a number of years 
he taught singing school, and he was an esteemed member of Zion's Lutheran 
Church in West Penn township. He and his wife are both buried at that 
church. In politics he was a Democrat. Mr. Zehner married Sarah Houser, 
who was born Sept. i6, 1832. daughter ■oi Daniel and Elizabeth (Wertman) 
Houser, and died Jan. 11, 1892. Mr. Zehner survived her a number of years, 
passing away May 20, 1905. They were the parents of the following children : 
Lewis Albert ; Mary Elizabeth, wife of David Steigerwalt, of West Penn town- 
ship; Louisa, who died young'; Elias, deceased when young; Emma Jeannetta, 
the wife of Charles Stout, of Summit Hill, Carbon Co., Pa. ; Charles, deceased, 
who married Emma Gerber ( she resides in West Penn township) ; and Caro- 
line, wife of John Henry Shoemaker. 

Daniel Houser, father of Mrs. Sarah (Houser) Zehner, was a blacksmith 
Ijy trade and also followed farming. He first owned a farm in West Penn 
township, now the property of Henry Baer^ and after selling this place lived 
on the tract now occupied by Fred Schaeffer. Later he bought the farm now 
owned by Frank Steigerwalt, and besides looking after its cultivation had a 
blacksmith shop and followed his trade there. He died on that place in 1887. 
His wife, Elizabeth (Wertman), passed away at the age of eighty-one years, 
and they are buried at Zion's Church in West Penn township. Mr. Houser 
was a member of the Reformed congregation there, and a Democrat in political 
sentiment. Mr. and Mrs. Houser had the following children: Aaron, who 
married Amanda Kramer, lives in West Penn township; William, now de- 
ceased, was a soldier in the Civil war; Gideon died young; Sarah married 
Gideon Zehner; Priscilla is the widow of Stephen Steigerwalt, and now resides 
at Andreas, this county; Esther married Jacob Christman, and both are de- 
ceased; Betsy, widow of Levi Zehner, lives at Tamaqua, Schuylkill county; 
Kate, deceased, was the wife of Charles Woomer, of Summit Hill, Carbon 
Co., Pa. ; one son died young. 

Lewis A. Zehner was trained to farm work under the able direction of his 
father, with whom he worked until he reached the age of twenty-eight years. 
After leaving the home place he worked four years for his father on the other 
farm which the latter owned, and then returned to the homestead, which he 
bought, and where he has since been engaged in general agriculture. His 
parents continued to reside there until they died. Mr. Zehner markets his 
farm products at Tamaqua and Coaldale. He supports the Democratic party 
and is a Lutheran in religion, belinging to Zion's Church in West Penn town- 
ship. Socially he is a member of Washington Camp No. 132, at Moyers (for- 
merly Schwartz's), in the same township. He was married, at the age of 
twenty-seven years, to Amelia R. Tyson, who was bom Sept. 15, 1865. at 
Tamaqua, this county, where she first attended school, living there until ten 
years old. She then removed with her parents to West Penn township and 



742 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

remained home up to the time of her marriage. She is a member of Zion's 
Lutheran Church and has always been interested in its welfare, formerly 
taking an active part in its work as a teacher in the Sunday school. Mr. and 
Mrs. Zehner have one child, Ellen Irene, born Aug. i, 1888, now the wife 
of Elmer Zehner, who was born Nov. 3, 1888, son of Thomas Zehner. He now 
cultivates his father's farm. Three children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. 
Elmer Zehner: Harry Elmer, Nov. 12, 1909; Cora Ellen, Sept. 24, 1913; and 
Mary Amelia, Jan. 25, 1915. 

Jesse Tyson, grandfather of Mrs. Lewis A. Zehner, was born in Lehigh 
county and lived to the age of eighty years, dying in West Penn township, 
Schuylkill county. From his native county he first moved to the neighborhood 
of Ailemaengel in Albany township, Berks county, later settling in West Penn 
township, Schuylkill county, where he spent the remainder of his days. By 
occupation, he was a farmer. Politically he was a Republican, and in religion 
a Lutheran, belonging to the Windsor Castle Church in Berks county, where 
he and his wife, Maria (Rothermel), are buried. They had the following 
children: Jesse, who married Anna Kleckner; Joseph; Henry; Hannah, wife 
of William Miller; Maria, wife of Frank Heisler; Sarah, wife of Nathan 
Weissner; and Rebecca, wife of Francis Akerman. 

Henry Tyson, son of Jesse, was born May 29, 1826, in Ailemaengel, Berks 
county, and there spent his early life, receiving his education in the local schools. 
In his youth he worked around among farmers and learned the blacksmith's 
trade with Mr. Franklin in West Brunswick township, Schuylkill county. He 
followed his trade at different places until his removal to Tamaqua, where he 
worked for several employers until he obtained a position with Carter & Allen, 
with whom he remained for a period of twenty-three years. He then settled 
in West Penn township, on a farm of eighty acres which he purchased, and 
though he sold the farm after he had been living on it for fifteen years he 
continued to reside upon it as caretaker for some time afterwards. Meantime 
he worked for other farmers also. Eventually he removed to the Elsie Zehner 
farm, where he died June 22, 1909. He is buried at Zion's Church in West 
Penn township. Mr. Tyson was a prominent member of the Lutheran con- 
gregation of that church, which he served officially as deacon and he was also 
deeply interested in the' Sunday school, in which he acted as teacher. Politi- 
cally he was identified with the Republican party, and he held membership 
in Tamaqua Council of the Jr. O. U. A. M. 

In West Brunswick to\vnship Mr. Tyson married Maria Elizabeth Mohl, 
and she survives him, now living with her daughter Mrs. Lewis A. Zehner. 
The following children were born to their marriage: George W., now a resi- 
dent of Newark, N. J., married Amanda Seiberling; Frank L., of Weatherly, 
Pa., married Rose Holtshafer, and they have children, Harry Elmer, Minnie 
May, Morris Frederick, Helen Catherine, Dora Alice, Claude Irwin, George 
Alfred. Roy Franklin, Charles and Ada Maria; Harry F., of Chicago, 111., is 
married to Emma Bums; Amelia R. is Mrs. Lewis A. Zehner; William A., 
of Normal, married Agnes Hartung, and their children are Edgar William, 
Mamie Katie, Lula Maria, Claude Irwin, Hilda Anna and Earl David (twins) 
and Arline ; Charles I., who is unmarried, lives with his sister Mrs. Zehner. 

Alichael Mohl, grandfather of Mrs. Tyson, was a lifelong farmer, living in 
W'esl Brunswick township, where he owned a large and valuable property. 
He was a Reformed member of Zion's Church (the old Red Church) in that 
township, and he and his wife are both buried there. Politically he was a 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PEXXSYLVANL\ 743 

Democrat. His children were: Henry, Benjamin, John, Michael, Hannah, 
Sarah and Rebecca. 

Michael Mohl, son of Michael, was born in West Brunswick township, and 
died at the age of seventy-three years. He was a farmer all his life, owning 
ninety acres of good land. Like his father he belonged to the Lutheran con- 
gregation of the old Red Church in West Brunswick township, and he was a 
Republican in his political conviction. He married Hannah Eveland, daughter 
of Daniel and Catherine (Medlar) Eveland. and she, too, passed away at the 
age of seventy-three years. They are buried at the old Red Church. They 
were the parents of eight children, namely: Daniel married Rebecca Walborn; 
Michael married Annie Ketner; Henry died young; Hannah married Washing- 
ton Gross ; Sarah married William Grief ; Catherine married John Fraunf elder ; 
Maria Elizabeth is Mrs. Tyson ; Amelia married Peter Walborn. 

JOSEPH SHOENER, who now lives retired at McKeansburg, spent his 
active years as a prosperous farmer in East r.runswiclK township. Industrious 
and successful, able in the management of business affairs and trustworthy in 
all his transactions, he enjoys the high standing characteristic of the Shoeners, 
than whom no family in southern Schuylkill county is more respected. 

Born Jan. 14, 1842, in West Brunswick township, this county, he is a son 
of Henry Shoener and grandson of John Shoener, who was a farmer in what 
is now West Brunswick township, at that time a part of Berks county. Pa. 
He was born about 1767. settled on a large farm that had been cleared by' his 
wife's father, built a log house and barn, and carried on farming the greater 
part of his life. He was a highly respected man in his neighborhood, died 
upon his farm, and is buried with his wife in the Reformed cemetery at Orwigs- 
burg. He had a family of about twelve children, and we have record of George, 
Henry, John, Daniel. Solomon, William, Jacob, Anna and Susanna. Politically 
he was a Democrat, and his religious connection was with the Reformed 
Church. 

Henry Shoener, son of John, above, 'was born in West Brunswick town- 
ship June 23, 181 3. was educated in the public schools of that township, and 
stayed on his father's farm until he moved to Orwigsburg, about 1874. He 
had a farm of over two hundred acres, part of which he cleared, and was a 
well known man in his day. His wife, Christiana (Sheip). was born Dec. 
31. 1818. and died Oct. 6, 1893. Her father, Peter Sheip, born in 1784, died 
Nov. 25, 1845, aged sixty-one years. Mr. Shoener died Jan. 20, i8qo, and 
he and his wife are buried in the. Reformed cemetery at Orwigsburg. He was 
a member of the Reformed Church and was a Democrat in politics. Mr. 
and Mrs. Shoener had the following children : Lewis married Sarah Koch, and 
both are deceased ; Joseph is mentioned below ; Caroline, deceased, married 
IMorgan Koch, who resides in McKeansburg. Pa. ; Edward is a resident of 
Orwigsburg; William married Diana Sheip; John is deceased; Charles, de- 
ceased, married Anna Hunnuel, who resides at Orwigsburg; Clara married 
Charles Cook ; Mary married James Dreher ; Daniel married Alice Dieffen- 
derfer; Albert, who married Anna Jenkins, lives at Orwigsburg; Thomas 
married Emma Faust. 

Joseph Shoener began his education in the pay schools conducted in West 
Brunswick township during his boyhood, and later attended public school in 
the home district. From an early age he assisted his father with the work 
on the home farm. When eighteen years old he commenced to learn the trade 



744 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

of shoemaker, but after serving nine months found he did not hke the work 
well enough to follow it, and gave it up. Early in the Civil war he entered the 
Union Army, enlisting Oct. 25, 1862, at Orwigsburg, in the Pennsylvania mili- 
tia, Company A, 173d Regiment, under Capt. Cyrus Sheetz, for nine months. 
He was discharged Aug. 17, 1863, at Camp Curtin, Harrisburg, and on Feb. 
23, 1864, reenlisted, for three years or during the war, joining Company I, 
48th Pennsylvania Veteran Volunteer Infantry, in which he served under three 
captains, John R. Porter, Benjamin Shook and Francis D. Koch. Mr. Shoener 
was discharged July 17, 1865, near Alexandria, Va., and was mustered out at 
Harrisburg, with a fine record, having participated in the engagements of 
Newbem, Bull Run (second), Chantilly, South Mountain, Antietam, Fred- 
ericksburg, Blue Springs, Campbell Station, Knoxville (siege). Wilderness, 
Spottsylvania, North Anna River, Tolopotomy, Bethesda Church, Cold Har- 
bor, Petersburg, Weldon Railroad, Poplar Spring Church, Boydton Plank 
Road and the assault on Petersburg. 

Returning from the army Mr. Shoener spent the next year working in the 
coal mines of Lost Creek, and then went to farming in East Brunswick town- 
ship on a 130-acre tract which he bought in 1867 and on which he remained 
thirty years. That farm is now the property of his son John. Joseph Shoener 
then bought the farm now owned by his son Charles, a tract of forty acres in 
East Brunswick township, remaining there until April 28, 1904. He improved 
both properties, putting up new buildings and developing the land intelligently, 
and retired in 1910, after a useful life, moving to McKeansburg. He still owns 
400 acres of timberland on the Second mountain. 

Mr. Shoener married Mary Paul, who was born Feb. 7, 1845, a daughter 
of Daniel and Kate (Yeager) Paul, and they had the following children: 
George, Maggie, Lizzie and Robert died young; John married Bessie Aker; 
Charles married Cora Bachman ; Fred married Kate Wagner. The mother 
died June 13, 1901, and is buried in the Steigerwalt cemetery. On Aug. i, 
1903, Mr. Shoener married (second) Emma Kunkel, who was born Dec. 31, 
1864, daughter of John and Mary (Long) Kunkel, and three children have 
been born to this union: Mary Christiann, July 7, 1904; Naomi Pearl, Dec. 11, 
1906; Joseph Edward, April 30, 1909. They are all attending school. Mr. 
Shoener has been interested in local politics as a Republican, and has served 
his fellow citizens in the offices of school director and supervisor. He is a 
zealous member of the Church of God at Steigerwalt. Mrs. Shoener belongs 
to the Frieden's Church at New Ringgold. 

Georg Kunkel, the founder of a pioneer family of Albany township, Berks 
county, lived near Wessnersville, on land now occupied by one of his descend- 
ants, Nathan Kunkel. Georg Kunkel (also spelled Kunckell and Kungel), 
a native of Germany, located in Albany township some time prior to 1754, 
and it appears that he reared a large family. In Rupp's History of Berks 
county (1886), his name appears on the list of taxables of 1756 as "George 
Kunckell." In 1759, according to Montgomery's History of Berks County 
(1886), his name is listed as George Kungel; in the latter year he paid a tax 
of six pounds. At the Kunkel homestead is an old grandfather's clock that 
bears the date of 1772. It was brought into this house at the same time the 
house was being built, and is the workmanship of George Miller, of German- 
town. It has kept good time all these years. On the brass face appear the 
letters "1. G. K." The Kunkel tract has been in the family name since 1754. 
Georg Kunkel was a farmer, and his farm has been divided and sub-divided 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 745 

since his time. His land at one time included all the upper end of Stony Run. 
He is buried at Wessnersville. His children were George and Peter. 

Peter Kunkel, son of Georg, born Dec. 20, 1774, in Albany township, 
died Oct. 28, 1830. After his marriage he moved to Lynn township, Lehigh 
county, where he engaged in farming, and also operated a distillery on his 
farm. Later he lived near Wessnersville, where he owned a tract of 275 
acres, which is now owned by a descendant, Charles Kunkel. In 1797 Peter 
Kunkel married Maria Magdalena Rausch, born Nov. 10, 1778, died April 
12, 1846. They had fourteen children, eleven of whom survived their parents 
(sixteen grandchildren also surviving). Among these were: Daniel, David, 
Andraes, Benjamin, Joseph (married Catharine Snyder and had twelve chil- 
dren), Peter, Polly (married Jacob Elbert), Catharine (married John Diet- 
rich) and Sophia. 

Daniel Kunkel, son of Peter, was born in Albany township, Berks county, 
March 2, 1798, and died Oct. 26, 1863. He was a farmer, owning two tracts, 
one of two hundred acres, the other of sixty. He owned and lived on the 
farm which later became the property of his son Jacob, who sold it to Henry 
Bauscher, his brother-in-law, in 1870, for $10,000. It comprises 127 acres 
of excellent land, situated in the potato belt, and is now tenanted and culti- 
vated by Daniel Bauscher, son of Henry. The present barn on the place was 
built by Daniel Kunkel. He married in 1821 Maria Magdalena Zimmerman, 
born Feb. 27, 1797, died July 14, 1859, and they are both buried in the 
Frieden's Church at Wessnersville. They had a large family, thirteen chil- 
dren, among whom were: A daughter who married Daniel Brobst; Catharine, 
who married Reuben A. Dietrich; Mary, who married a Mr. Derr; Benjamin, 
who married Sarah Hartman ; John, who lived and died at McKeansburg, 
Pa.; Jacob, bom in 1841, died in 1900; and Sarah, who married Henry 
Bauscher. 

John Kunkel, son of Daniel, was born in 1823 in Albany township, Berks 
county, and received his education there. He worked on his father's farm 
until 1850. when he left Albany township and removed to Bensinger's Valley, 
in East Brunswick township, Schuylkill county, locating at what is known 
locally as Schmaltzdale, in the vicinity of McKeansburg. There he bought 
120 acres of land, upon which he remained the rest of his days, engaged in 
general farming and raising of truck, which he sold himself, having a route 
to Middleport, this county. He married Mary Long, daughter of Christopher 
Long, a native of Albany township, Berks county, and she survived him many 
years, his death occurring Feb. 27, 1875, when he was fifty-two years old, 
hers on April 15, igoi, at the age of seventy-seven years. They are buried 
in the cemetery of the Frieden's German Lutheran Church at New Ringgold, 
to which both belonged. Mr. Kunkel was one of its prominent members, fill- 
ing all the church offices. Politically he was a Democrat. The following chil- 
dren were born to him and his' wife: Sarah married Samuel Bolich, who is 
deceased, and she lives in Albany township ; Jonas married Lavina Trexler ; 
William married Mary Nester; Mandus married Lena Neiswender and they 
reside in Nebraska ; Mary died young ; Levina died young ; Lewis married 
Caroline Leiby, and both are deceased; Henry (deceased) married Ella Dun- 
dore, who survives him and is living at Springmont, Berks county: John, 
deceased, married Lena Merkel, of Orwigsburg, Pa. ; Daniel died unmarried ; 
Emma married Joseph Shoener, of McKeansburg. 



746 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

NATHAN EVANS, late of Pottsville, was one of the most progressive 
men of the borough in his generation. The various enterprises to which he 
devoted his energies were typical of the man, whose alert mind and keen 
foresight were substantial factors in the development of his adopted town. 
He contributed his full share towards the work of progress in his day, and 
the history of his career forms part of the history of the locality. 

The Evans family has been established in eastern Pennsylvania for over 
a century. John Evans, a native of Wales, came to America when a young 
man, and settled in the Conestoga valley, in Lancaster county, Pa., where he 
owned a large tract of land and followed agricultural pursuits. He died Aug. 
12, 1813, when comparatively a young man. On April 9, 1799, he. married 
Margaret Jones, who was born June 28, 1776, and survived him a number of 
years, dying Sept. 24, 1826. She was a member of the Jones family, well 
known in the city of Reading and elsewhere in Berks' county. She remarried 
after Mr. Evans's death, becoming the wife of John T. Bechtel. Six children 
were born to her union with Mr. Evans, namely: Reese, John C, Nathan, 
George, David, and Ann (who died young). 

Nathan Evans, son of John, was born in 1807 in Conestoga Valley, Lan- 
caster Co., Pa. When a young man he became employed as a clerk at the 
Joanna Furnace in Berks county, and when about twenty-one years old he 
came to Pottsville, Schuylkill county, with which place he was identified the 
remainder of his life. Here he was engaged in the shipping of coal, in which 
line he was a pioneer in this section, and he had a line of canalboats occupied 
with his trade. Later he and Samuel Silliman were associated in coal opera- 
tions, having a colliery at what was known as Crow Hollow, in Schuylkill 
county. They did a successful business, and Mr. Evans continued his con- 
nection therewith for several years. In company with John Ruch he built 
a mill at what is now the comer of Norwegian and Railroad streets, Potts- 
ville, the first steam flourmill to be constructed in. this locality. They were 
engaged in its operation for many years, Mr. Evans retiring when he with- 
drew from this business. He passed his last years in the enjoyment of well 
earned leisure, dying in 1884, and is buried in the Charles Baber cemetery. 
He was a member of Bloomsburg Lodge, F. & A. M., of Pottsville, and highly 
respected among his brother Masons, as he was wherever known. 

Mr. Evans married Ann B. Barde, daughter of Samuel Barde, of Birds- 
boro, Berks Co., Pa., and she lived to her ninety-fourth year, passing away 
in 1S94. Nine children were born to this union: Sarah, who died young; 
Louisa B. ; George ; Anna, deceased : Charles B. ; Mary, deceased, who was the 
wife of Lewis P. Garrigus : Clement, deceased ; Annie S. ; and Howard, of 
Colorado. The daughters Louise and Annie, and son Charles B., continue 
to occupy the old home at No. 13 13 West Norwegian street, Pottsville. The 
family are members of the Episcopal Church. 

Ch.-xrles B. Evans, son of Nathan, was born at Pottsville March 17, 1830. 
He ser\'ed in the Union army throughout the Civil war, enlisting April 17, 
1861, with the "First Defenders," and received his honorable discharge in 
July, 1865. He became a private in the Washington Artillerists, April 18, 
1861 ; was made corporal of Company G, 48th Pennsylvania Veteran Volun- 
teer Infantry, Aug. 20, 1861 ; sergeant of same command, 1862, serving as 
such until 1865. At the second battle of Bull Run he was wounded, the bullet 
passing through the calf of his left leg. He is an honored member of Gowen 
Post, No. 23, "G. a. R., and of the Union Veteran Legion. After the war Mr. 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 747 

Evans returned to Pottsville, where he was engaged in the lumber business 
for many years, at present leading a retired life. He and his sisters are among 
the most highly esteemed residents of Pottsville. [Charles B. Evans died in 
December, 191 5.] 

ALLEN JOSEPH DEI BERT is engaged in the cultivation of valuable 
farm land at Orwigsburg which has been owned in his family for three gen- 
erations, during which time the Deiberts have filled a place among the most 
substantial and respected citizens of this section of Schuylkill county. Honest, 
industrious and capable, they have won the esteem of their neighbors in every 
relation of life by sincere effort, and deserve the high standing they enjoy. 
Allen J. Deibert is a son of Nathan Deibert and grandson of Joseph Deibert. 

Joseph Deibert, the grandfather, born Nov. 5, 1810, was a prosperous 
farmer in the vicinity of Orwigsburg, owning two tracts of land, about two 
hundred acres in all, much of which was cleared by his own labor. He lived 
on the place now owned by Jacob Moyer, and diecl there Feb. 22, 1895. His 
wife, Elizabeth Sheipe, born April 7, 1S16, died May 31, 1896, and they are 
buried in the cemetery of St. Paul's Lutheran Church at Orwigsburg. Joseph 
Deibert was a faithful member of that church, which many of his descendants 
have also attended and supported. Politically he was a Democrat. To Joseph 
and Elizabeth (Sheipe) Deibert were born the following children: Diana, 
\vho married William Freed, of Orwigsburg, Pa. ; Henry ; Charles, who mar- 
ried Mary Riegel ; William, who was twice married, his second wife being 
Susan Riegel; Daniel; Joseph; Nathan; Elizabeth, wife of William Yeager; 
Rebecca, who married Joseph Boyer; and Sarah, wife of Joseph Swalm. 

Nathan Deibert, father of Allen Joseph Deibert, was born Dec. 29, 1845, 
on the homestead farm, and obtained his education at Orwigsburg, attending 
the pay schools. He worked for his father until he attained his majority, 
and continued to assist him for four years afterwards, though in the mean- 
time he went to live on a tract of twelve acres which he owned, the place 
where his son Allen now resides. Then he bought some land from the home- 
stead 'tract, increasing the area of his property to forty-one acres, all of which 
was cleared and under cultivation. Mr. Deibert continued to operate this 
tract until his death, which occurred ]\Iarch 31, 191 1. He did general farming, 
and marketed at Pottsville. Diligent, and honorable in all his transactions, he 
was a creditable member of a family generally known for solid worth, and 
like his father was a Democrat and a Lutheran, belonging to St. Paul's Church 
at Orwigsburg. Mr. Deibert married Susanna Gerber, who was born June 
22, 1848, daughter of John and Louisa (Bock) Gerber, natives of East Bruns- 
wick township, this county. Mrs. Deibert died a few months before her hus- 
band, on Sept. 27, 1910, and they are buried in the cemetery of St. Paul's 
Church. They had the following children: John Franklin, born Sept. 9, 
1871, married Kate Heine; Annie Elizabeth, born Aug. 20, 1872, married 
Wellington Lengle ; Allen Joseph is next in the family; Edwin Lewis, born 
Oct. 12, 1874. married Sallie ]\Ieck ; Sallie Louisa, born Nov. 25, 1875, mar- 
ried Harvey Fisher; Gertrude May, born Jan. 5, 1877, married Paul Lengle; 
Ada Rebecca, born Jan. 25, 1878, is unmarried; Charles Walter, born Nov. 
13, 1879, married Maude Milton; Mary Alice, bom Feb. 7, 1881, is unmar- 
ried; Howard Nathan, born Nov. 16, 1882, married Jennie Fessler; George 
-Abner, born May 20, 1884, married Gertrude Horton ; Oscar Luther, bom 
June 13, 1885, married Sadie Sechler; Florence Llannah, born Jan. 8, 1887, 
is unmarried; Elmer Robert, born March 31, 1889, is unmarried; Alice Mabel, 



748 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANLA. 

bom June 20, 1891, died Oct. 15, 1896; Clayton Gerber, born April 13, 1892, 
married Mabel Frantz; Richard Ellsworth, born March 11, 1894, died Sept. 
30, 1900. 

Allen Joseph Deibert, bom July 26, 1873, in the borough of Orwigsburg, 
was reared and educated there, and received his agricultural training prin- 
cipally at home, working for his father until eighteen years old. After that 
he hired out to other farmers for several years, and then turned to railroad 
work, entering the employ of the Lehigh Valley Railway Company, by whom 
he was engaged as section hand for a period of fifteen years. L: 1913 he 
bought his father's farm from the estate, and there he has since carried on 
general agriculture with steady success. He sells some of his produce in his 
own borough and some at Pottsville, and finds a ready market for all his crops. 
Mr. Deibert devotes practically all his time to his own business, but he is 
always found on the side of progress and local improvement in movements 
aflfecting his section. His political support is given to the Democratic party, 
and his religious connection is with St. Paul's Lutheran Church, the religious 
home of his family for several generations. Socially he belongs to Industrial 
Council, No. 437, Order of Independent Americans, of Orwigsburg. 

Mr. Deibert married Amanda Heim, who was bom Feb. 19, 1871, in 
Pickaway county, Ohio, where she began her schooling. Then the family 
moved to Chase county, Kans., where she also attended school four years, 
receiving the rest of her education in West Bnmswick township, Schuylkill 
Co., Pa. She was sixteen years old when she left home, thereafter working 
out until her marriage. With her husband she belongs to St. Paul's Lutheran 
Church of Orwigsburg. Four children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. 
Deibert: Nathan Allen, born Feb. 15, 1902; Lillian Amanda, Oct. 22, 1903; 
Stella Levira, Dec. 12, 1905; Mahlon Edwin, Jan. 6, 1909. All have attended 
school in Orwigsburg. 

Benjamin Heim, father of Mrs. Allen J. Deibert, was born on Sculp's 
Hill, in West Brunswick township, Schuylkill county, and lived to the age of 
seventy-five years. By trade he was a carpenter, and he also followed agri- 
cultural pursuits, he and his brother Jonathan owning in partnership a farm 
of 103 acres, of which about eighty acres were cleared. After farming on 
that place for a number of years Benjamin Heim sold his interest therein to his 
brother, and subsequently worked as a boatbuilder at Landing-ville, this county, 
until his death. He was a member of Zion's (Red) Church in West Bruns- 
wick township. Politically he was a Democrat. Mr. Heim's first wife, Sarah 
(Heckman), was bora May 4, 1840, in East Ringgold, Ohio, and died Sept. 
30, 1881, in Chase county, Kans., where she is buried. Subsequently he mar- 
ried Susanna Miller, who died at the age of sixty-one years, and is buried with 
him at Zion's Church. All his children were by the first union, viz. : Amanda 
is Mrs. Allen Joseph Deibert, of Orwigsburg; Sarah Alice is married to John 
Flammer; William Ellsworth died when sixteen years old; Eliza Henrietta 
married Morris Faust; Benjamin Herlin is deceased; Lucy Ellen married 
John Moyer; Jacob Franklin married Gertrude Follweiler; Jonathan IMonroe 
married Lizzie Wilshire. 

WILLIAM H. SIEFERT, one of the leading manufacturers in his line 
at Cressona, Pa., is proprietor of the Cressona Wagon Works, which he 
established in 1905. He was bom in the city of Lancaster, Pa., March 30, 
1865, and is a son of William Siefert, the family being of German descent. 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 749 

many of the name coming from the Fatherland and locating in various parts 
of the United States. 

William Siefert, the father, was a resident of Lancaster, Pa., where he 
ran a blacksmith shop for many years, also building wagons for his patrons in 
the surrounding country. His children were as follows : William H. ; Peter ; 
Jacob; Annie, wife of Lee Albert; Charles; Joseph; George; Leonard; and 
Elizabeth, who is married and lives in England. 

William H. Siefert received his education in Lancaster, Pa., where he 
learned the trade of wagonmaker with Jacob Norbeck. At the age of nineteen 
years he left Lancaster, and thereafter worked at different places, following 
his trade until he settled at York, Pa., where he remained for fourteen years. 
In 1905 he came to Cressona and established his present business. He now 
has a large number of men in his employ and commands a fine patronage, 
carrying a line of carriages and wagons at all times, besides building them to 
order. 

On Jan. 30, 1896, Mr. Siefert was married to Emma Jacobs, of York 
county. Pa. Mr. and Mrs. Siefert have had no children, ,but they have reared 
a son, Albert Louis Tomes, who is employed with his foster father in the wagon 
works. Mr. Siefert and his family are members of the Roman Catholic 
Church. He is a man of prominence in the community where he resides and 
is respected by all with whom he comes in contact. 

JACOB WILLIAM CLAUSER, painter, decorator and paperhanger, of 
Auburn, Schuylkill county, was bom Oct. 5, 1867, in Upper Bern (now 
Tilden) township, Berks Co., Pa., son of Simon Clauser and grandson of 
Wilhelm Clauser, all natives of Pennsylvania and of German descent. The 
name of Clauser (or Klauser) is well known in the eastern part of Pennsyl- 
vania, many of the prominent families of that section being in some way 
connected with it by ties of blood. It is not known who was the founder of 
the branch of the family to which Jacob William Clauser belongs. 

Wilhelm Clauser, the grandfather, was a farmer in Upper Bern town- 
ship, where he cleared and cultivated a farm of seventy acres. He was a 
Democrat politically, and he and his wife were active members of St. Michael's 
Church in Upper Bern township. Both lived to beyond threescore and ten, 
and are laid at rest near the church which they so faithfully attended in life. 
By his wife Elizabeth (Kauffman) Wilhelm Clauser had seven children, as 
follows: William married a Sauser; Daniel married Catherine Lindermuth ; 
Simon is mentioned below ; Kate married Joseph Savage ; Harrison married 
Rebecca Snyder; Adam married a Nunnemacher; Jacob married Sarah Long. 

Simon Clauser was bom in Upper Bern township, Berks county, and fol- 
lowed farming all of his life. He had a tract of twenty acres which he brought 
to a high state of cultivation and thereby supported a large family. He was 
a Democrat and a zealous member of St. Michael's Reformed Church in 
Upper Bern township, having served in all of the offices within its gift. He 
and his wife are both buried in the cemetery adjoining the church. I\Ir. 
Clauser married Mary Kline, a daughter of John Kline, and they had these 
children : Kate married Jacob Haas and lives in Reading, Pa. ; Amelia mar- 
ried Nathaniel Kalbach, and both are deceased ; Emma married Henry Weid- 
man and resides at Bern Station, Pa.; Simon J. married Sarah Kramer, and 
is living at Summit Station, Pa. ; Frank married Amelia Knoll and lives in 
Tulpehocken township, Berks Co., Pa. ; Alice married William Kirst, of Ham- 



750 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

burg, Pa. ; Joanna married Frank Dunkelberger and died at the age of twenty- 
four, of diphtheria; Agnes died when three months old; Mary married a Mr. 
Bowers, of Reading, and is deceased ; Salhe married Howard Nunnemacher, 
and is deceased ; Jacob W. is mentioned below ; Lillie married Claude Reber, 
of Hamburg. Simon Clauser died at the age of eighty-one years, and his 
wife at the age of sixty-seven. 

Jacob William Clauser was educated in the township schools and assisted 
his father on the farm until he was fifteen years of age. Then he went to 
Wayne township, Schuylkill county, where he became apprenticed to his 
brother Simon J., learning paperhanging, decorating and painting. After the 
end of his apprenticeship he remained with his brother for three years more, 
and then went to Pottsville and entered the employ of Spehrley & Shappell, 
with whom he continued in the same line of work for eight ye.irs. He then 
went into business' for himself at Summit Station, Wayne township, continu- 
ing there for seven years, but as the greater portion of his business engage- 
ments were in Auburn he decided to settle there. Since his removal to Auburn 
twelve years ago he has built up a business of about three hundred rooms 
a year (decorating and papering), and employs on an average six painters 
all the year round. 

Mr. Clauser married Carrie V. Krammes, who was born near Summit 
Station July 2, 1869, daughter of C. H. Krammes, of Auburn. By this mar- 
riage there have been born five children: Alberta Agnes, born Oct. 13, 1887, 
married to Wilson Reed, of Auburn, Pa. ; Earlin Francis, born July 8, 1891 ; 
Clarence Clayton, born July 17, i8<:>9; Reynold Ray, born March 30, 1905; 
and Arthur Jacob, born June 26, 1908. Mr. Clauser is a Democrat, has held 
the office of auditor of Wayne township for two terms of three years each, 
and is now serving his third three-year term as councilman of the borough 
of Auburn. He is a member and past president of Washington Camp No. 
507, P. O. S. of A., of Summit Station, was financial and recording secretary 
of his home camp for thirteen years, and has been delegate to the State camp. 
Formerly a member of the Summit Reformed Church, he is now a member of 
the Reformed Church at Auburn. 

John Kline, maternal grandfather of Jacob W. Clauser, was a farmer of 
Upper Bern township, Berks county, where he cultivated a piece of ground 
comprising thirty acres. He married a Nunnemacher, and they had three 
children, only one daughter surviving at this writing. Both parents died in 
extreme old age, and are buried in St. Michael's cemetery, Tilden township, 
Berks county. 

The Krammes family, of which Mrs. J. W. Clauser is a member, is of 
German origin and is one of prominence in this section of the State. A detailed 
sketch of the family will be found in the personal sketch of C. H. Krammes, 
of Auburn, elsewhere. 

ERNEST GRUBE is one of the notably progressive farmer citizens of 
East Bnmswick township, enterprising in the management of his business 
undertakings and public-spirited in all matters involving the general welfare. 
His praiseworthy attention to public affairs and to the religious activities of 
the locality has won the approval and gratitude of the best element, and he 
has surely had his reward in the good results which have marked the wake 
of his efforts. 

Mr. Grube belongs to a substantial German family which was founded 111 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 751 

the township over fifty years ago. His grandfather, Christian Grube, hved in 
the province of Hanover, Germany, and was a silver miner by occupation. 
He died at the comparatively early age of thirty-six, leaving a wife and five 
children, namely: Charles, the father of Ernest Grube; Charlotte; Louisa, 
Mrs. Charles Heberling; Dorothy, Mrs. John Weist; and William, who was 
one year old when his father died. The mother, whose maiden name was 
Hannah Shear, was a native of Hanover, Germany, and died at the age of 
seventy-seven in East Brunswick township, Schuylkill Co., Pa., at the home 
of her son-in-law, Charles Heberling. She was a member of the German 
Lutheran Church, and is buried in the Frieden's Church cemetery. Mrs. 
Grube came to America with her children eighteen years after her husband's 
death, the family settling in Baltimore, Md., for two years, and removing 
thence to Schuylkill county, Pennsylvania. 

Charles Grube. son of Christian, was born in Klausthal, Province of Han- 
over, Germany, and he was reared and educated there. Like his father he 
became a silver miner, and continued to follow that occupation until twenty- 
five years old, when he came to America with his brother William, landing 
at Baltimore, Md. After some residence there the brothers came to Schuyl- 
kill county, Pa., locating at Lewistown, in Walker township, and for a time 
worked out among the farmers of that section. Subsequently they settled 
in East Brunswick township, this county, where they bought a tract of about 
sixty-six acres, which they cleared and settled on, each brother putting up his 
own farm buildings, though the land was operated in partnership. They con- 
tinued to live there for a period of about thirty years, and at the end of that 
time Charles Grube sold his share of the tract to his son-in-law, Henry Weast. 
Then he returned to Baltimore, where he had a dairy and milk route for a 
few years, giving it up to take employment in the William Wilkens bristle 
works, as a jointer. There he remained as long as he was able to work, 
retiring about four years before his death, which occurred about 1909, when 
he was seventy-seven years old. While a resident of Schuylkill county Mr. 
Grube belonged to the Frieden's Lutheran Church of New Ringgold. Polit- 
ically he was identified with the Democratic party. All of his children were 
born to his first marriage, to Melsena Depmeier, who died aged forty-eight 
years and is buried in the Frieden's Cluirch cemetery. His second marriage 
was to Mrs. Julia Smith, who is .iKo (krciscd, and is buried with Mr. Grube 
at Baltimore. We have the follnwini; ncdrd of his family: Malinda is the 
wife of Frank Kroll, of Philadelphia, I'a. ; Hannah married Daniel S. Bock, 
of Lehighton, Pa.; Louisa married Henry Weast (deceased) and (second) 
Henry Keft'er, and is a resident of Leesport. Pa. ; Ernest is next in the family ; 
Fohn,' of Scranton, Pa., married Hannah Dillinger; Christian, who lives in 
East Brunswick township, married Clara Dennis. 

Ernest Grube was born Aug. 17, 1862, in East Brunswick township, where 
he grew to manhood and received a common school education. He worked 
for his father until he attained his majority. \\'hen he commenced life on 
his own account he went to Philadelphia, where he was employed as a driver 
by the Knickerbocker Ice Company, and assisted in unloading vessels. Going 
West, for a time he was located at Janesville, Wis., where he was employed 
as a telegraph operator, and from there went to Chicago, where he remained 
for two years as operator in the employ of the Western Union Company. His 
next change was to Hamilton (now Savage), Minn., where he was employed as 
a telegraph operator by the Chicago, St. Paul,, Minneapolis & Omaha Railroad 



752 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

Company, and he subsequently worked at Windom and Le Sueur, that State, 
remaining two years at the latter place, where he was married. Returning 
to Savage, he was again stationed there for a considerable period, working 
for the railroad company mentioned ten years in all, and on leaving that 
employ returned to his old home in East Brunswick township, Schuylkill 
county. Here he bought the Frank McGorvin farm of 148 acres, forty of 
which are under cultivation, devoted to general crops. Mr. Grube has had 
excellent returns for his labor, and markets his produce at Tamaqua. He 
has taken an active part in local affairs, was formerly auditor of the township, 
and is at present a member of the board of school directors, of which body 
he served seven years as secretary. He is independent in politics, giving his 
support to the men and measures he likes best, regardless of party. Mr. 
Grube is a Lutheran in religious faith, belonging to the Frieden's Church at 
New Ringgold, in which he holds the office of trustee at present. 

Mr. Grube married Minnie Catherine Ipsen, who was bom at Elmshom, 
Holstein, Germany, Oct. 24, 1867, and received her education there, being 
twelve years old when she came to America with her parents. She is also a 
member of the Frieden's Lutheran Church at New Ringgold. Mr. and Mrs. 
Grube have had the following children : Melsena, born Feb. 22, 1893, attended 
the Keystone State Normal School at Kutztown, Pa., class of 191 5 ; Lucy, born 
Feb. 12, 1895, died in infancy, and is buried at Le Sueur, Minn. ; Harriet, bom 
Feb. 17, 1896, is teaching at the Bachert school in East Brunswick township; 
Erna was born Jan. 26, 1900 ; Doris, June 26, 1902; Jessie, Oct. 20, 1904; 
Ernest, March 15, 1907; Marian, July 26, 1910; Marvin, June 2, 1913. 

Mrs. Grube's grandfather was a native of Elmshom, Holstein, Germany, 
and passed all his life at that place, where he was engaged as a mail clerk. 
He and his wife died and are buried in Germany. They were faithful mem- 
bers of the German Lutheran Church. Their children were: August, Carl, 
Ferdinand, Herman, Edward, Adolph, Minnie and Louisa. 

Adolph Ipsen, father of Mrs. Grube, was born Dec. 18, 1842, at Elms- 
hom, was reared there, and received an excellent common school education. 
When twenty years old he became a mail clerk in the post office with his father. 
About thirty-five years ago he came to America with his family, landing at 
New York City, whence they proceeded to Le Sueur, Minn., where he still 
makes his home. He was in the employ of the same railroad company as his 
son-in-law, Mr. Grube, retiring after a service of twenty years. His wife, 
whose maiden name was Anna Catherine Schumacher, was also a native of 
Germany, born Aug. 14, 1844, daughter of Peter and Lucy (Kelting) Schu- 
macher, and the following children were bom to this union : Augusta, now 
the wife of John Buckland, of Crookston, Minn. ; Minnie Catherine, Mrs. 
Ernest Grube ; Carl : Margaret, who died in Germany ; Ferdinand, who died 
in Germany ; Celia, who died when twenty-two years old ; Julius and Jessie, 
at home; Lucy, Mrs. Henry Brocker, of Mankato, Minn.; and Adolph, who 
lives at home. The parents are members of the German Lutheran Church, 
and Mr. Ipsen is a Democrat in his political views. 

FRANK J. HUMMEL, of Minersville, is a son of a worthy resident 
of that borough, Engelhart Hummel, who established the name there in 
1850, and father and son have been associated with the same line of business 
in the sixty-five years which have elapsed since. The father was a cabinet- 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 753 

maker and Frank J- Hummel is the leading undertaker at Minersville, and 
also engaged as a furniture dealer. 

Engelhart Hummel was born at Hofheim, Germany, July 21, 1824, and 
there grew to manhood, meantime learning cabinetmaking. Coming to America 
in 1849, he landed at Baltimore, Md., where he found employment for a short 
time in a piano factory. The same year he removed to Pennsylvania, locat- 
ing at Pottsville, Schuylkill county, whence in 1850 he removed to Miners- 
ville, at which place he made his permanent home. For about the first two 
years, until 1852, he was in the employ of M. Weiser, was afterwards with 
Ambrose McGee until 1853, and then returned to Mr. Weiser for a brief 
period. In 1854 he formed a partnership with John Brock, and though they 
were burned out the same year, they kept up the business, remaining in part- 
nership until 1856. In 1857 Mr. Hummel embarked in business on his own 
account, and was so occupied until 1884. He was a skilled workman and a 
typical German artisan, and he made the first walnut casket ever produced in 
Minersville. He was a substantial citizen and took an intelligent interest in 
the general affairs of the town, serving as a member of its council from 1861 
to 1864, and as a member of the school board from 1864 to 1901. His death 
occurred Dec. 13, 1902, when he was aged seventy-eight years, four months, 
twenty-two days, and he is buried in the German Catholic cemetery at Miners- 
ville. Mr. Hummel's first wife, Barbara, whom he married in Baltimore Nov. 
25, 1849, was born in 1822 and died in 1865. His second marriage was to 
Gertrude Gehn and took place June 27, 1869. To them were born two sons, 
Frank J., on March 15, 1870, and Engelhart, on May 15, 1871. The mother 
died in 1872, and in October, 1874, Mr. Hummel married (third) Mrs. Bar- 
bara Ritzel. 

Frank J. Hummel was born at Minersville, where he passed his boyhood 
in attendance at the public schools. As his father's assistant he became thor- 
oughly grounded in the details of the furniture business, and in 1890 went to 
New York City, where he clerked in a hardware store, meantime also taking 
a course at a school of embalming, from which he was graduated in 1898. 
Returning to Minersville, he established his present business on Feb. 15, 1901, 
and he has had a steadily increasing trade ever since. His location is at the 
comer of Fourth and Sunbury streets. He has coaches for hire, deals exten- 
sively in fine furniture and conducts the leading undertaking business in this 
section, having had charge of 2,600 funerals. Mr. Hummel has been thor- 
oughly progressive about keeping abreast with the modern ideas and methods 
in his line, and he is untiring in his efforts to give the utmost satisfaction to 
all his patrons, his reputation in this respect being proverbial. He has gained 
a substantial position in the business world, and is also regarded as a trust- 
worthy public official, having given three years of efficient service on the 
school board. 

Mr. Hummel married Margaret Connelly, and they have five children, 
Engelhart P., Gertrude and Regina (twins), Helen and Jack. 

REV. HENRY HEPLER has been a minister of the United Evangelical 
Church for over twenty-five years, and though now retired to some extent 
from active duties still retains his interest and connection with the work, giv- 
ing useful service to the denomination in his own locality or wherever he is 
called. 

The Hepler family has been in Schuykill county from pioneer days, and 



754 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

Jacob M. Hepler, father of Rev. Henry Hepler, was born here, in the Ma- 
hantongo valley. He learned blacksmithing and followed his trade entirely 
during his earlier years, devoting the later part -oi his life to preaching as a 
minister of the Church of God. At the time of his death, which occurred in 
1894, he was making his home with his son Henry. He married Elizabeth 
Haupt, who was born in the Mahanoy valley, this county, and was also of 
pioneer stock. She died in 1892. We have the following record of the ten 
children born to them : Catherine, the eldest, now deceased, was the wife of 
Joseph Kehler, of this county; Elizabeth, deceased, was the wife of William 
"Stitzer; Sarah, deceased, \yas the wife of George Krause, of this county; 
Polly, deceased, was the wife of Daniel Snyder; liettie, the widow of Louis 
Lybolt, lives at Tamaqua, this county; Henry is next in the family; Samuel, 
deceased, was in the Union service during the Civil war ; Lydia, deceased, was 
the wife of John Phillips ; Harriet married Isaac Christ and both are deceased, 
his death occurring first; Elmira is the wife of Michael Sickinger, of Johns- 
town, Pennsylvania. 

Henry Hepler was born Nov. 2, 1838, in the Mahantongo valley, this 
county, where he was reared, receiving his education in the public schools of 
the neighborhood. In his boyhood he started to learn the trade of carpenter, 
which he has followed practically all his life, although for many years much 
of his time was given to the work of the ministry, upon which he entered in 
the year 1888. He has been one of the efficient servants of the United Evan- 
gelical denomination in his section, doing valuable work for the church and 
Sunday school, and still continues his activities, although not to the same 
extent as fonnerly. Meantime he has also followed the occupation of carpen- 
ter very successfully. Mr. Hepler has not been associated with public aft'airs 
directly, but he has always been a public-spirited citizen, and during the Civil 
war gave almost four years of service to the Union cause, enlisting in Sep- 
tember, 1861, in Company E, 55th Pennsylvania Infantry. He became sergeant 
of his company. Considerable field service fell to the lot of his command, and 
he took part in sixteen battles, including: Edisto Island, Pocotahgo, Old Town 
Creek, Proctor's Creek, Derry Creek, Cold Harbor, Correctory Hill, Signal 
Hill, Hatcher's Run, Chapin Farm, capture of Petersburg and Appomattox. 
Mr. Hepler was mustered out in August, 1865, at Petersburg, Ya., and received 
an honorable discharge. Returning to his home after the war was over, Mr. 
Hepler resumed work at his trade. In 1879 he moved to Ashland, where he 
has since resided, and he has owned his present home at No. 1219 Arch street 
for several years. 

In 1866 he was married to Fietta Schwalm, who was born in Schuylkill 
county, daughter of Jacob and Christana (Klinger) Schwalm, who lived and 
died at their birthplace in Schuylkill county. Mr. Schwalm was a carpenter 
and farmer all his life. Mrs. Hepler was the eldest of his thirteen children, 
the others being: Samuel, now deceased; Catherine, deceased, who was the 
wife of Abram Carr, of this county; Hannah, who is the widow of Gerald 
Faust, of Reading, Pa. ; Chestina, wife of Charles Hoftman, of Schuylkill 
county; Nathaniel, a resident of Williamstown, Pa.; Henrj', who lives on the 
old homestead in Schuylkill county; Mary, the wife of Samuel Herb, of this 
countv; Monroe, a fanner in Schuylkill county; Ellen, the wife of Victor 
Blyler, of this county; George, deceased; Polly, deceased; and Victoria, 
deceased. 

Eight children have been born to the union of Mr. and Mrs. Hepler: Eliza- 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANLA 755 

beth is married to Thomas Hughes, of Ashland ; Oscar is a resident of Ash- 
land; Catherine is the wife of David Grove, of Northampton, Pa.; the other 
five are deceased. Mrs. Hepler, like her husband, is a faithful member of the 
United Evangelical Church. 

JACKSON M. SHELLHAMER has recently established himself in busi- 
ness at Orwigsburg, where he acquired his early experience in tlie furniture 
trade and undertaking with Mr. Greenawald, one of the old merchants of that 
place. 

The Shellhamer family is of German origin, and former generations spelled 
the name Schellhammer. They were among the early settlers of Berks county, 
this State. Jared Shellhamer, grandfather of Jackson M. Shellhamer, was a 
native of Strausstown, Berks county, and came to Schuylkill county when a 
young man, settling at McKeansburg. He was a tailor by trade and followed 
that calling at McKeansburg during his active years. He died there at the 
age of seventy-seven years. His children were: Albert, Willoughby, James, 
Louisa and Geonous. 

Geonous Shellhamer, father of Jackson M. Shellhamer, was a carpenter, 
and followed his trade at McKeansburg and throughout the adjoining terri- 
tory. His death occurred in 1885. His wife, Josephine, was a daughter of 
Charles Shellhamer, and they were the parents of four children : Rosa, Cora, 
Harrison and Jackson M. 

Jackson M. Shellhamer was born Nov. 3, 1882, at McKeansburg, Schuylkill 
county, where he was reared and educated, attending the public schools. He 
remained on the farm until the age of sixteen years, when he came to Orwigs- 
burg and entered the employ of Mr. Greenawald, with whom he remained 
seven years, learning the details of the undertaking business thoroughly under 
his efficient tutelage. Having decided to embark in the business on his own 
account, Mr. Shellhamer established himself at Pine Grove, where he had a 
successful trade. After several years, however, he concluded that Orwigs- 
burg offered a wider field and better promise for expansion of trade, and he 
entered business in that borough April i, 1914. Both as a dealer in furniture 
and as an undertaker he has a large trade, with every prospect of becoming 
one of the leading men in his line in Schuylkill county. He is ambitious and 
willing to work to further his enterprises, and he has the substantial qualities 
which win and hold confidence. 

In June, 1914, Mr. Shellhamer married Beulah Martin, of Pine Grove, 
daughter of John Martin. Fraternally Mr. Shellhamer is a member of the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Improved Order of Red Men. 
While at Pine Grove he became a member of St. John's Lutheran Church 
there. 

EDWARD KLASE, a prosperous and prominent farmer and dairyman of 
Butler township, Schuylkill Co., Pa., was born in Germany, in the kingdom 
of Saxony, son of Ferdinand and Amelia Klase, both also natives of that 
country. 

Edward Klase was educated in the schools of Germany and for a time 
worked in the mines there. At the age of fourteen years he came to America, 
in the year 1861, settling at Ashland, where he found work in the mines, 
continuing to be so employed until 1 88 1. He then bought a tract of twenty- 
eight acres, the beginning of his present farm of ninety-eight acres, and has 



756 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

since developed all its possibilities agriculturally until it is one of the best in 
the county. He also runs a dairy in connection, selling his milk to residents 
of Girardville. 

On June 2, 1872, Mr. Klase was married, at Girardville, to Barbara Wick- 
line, who was born in Germany July 15, 1848, and died April 2, 1914; she is 
buried in the Island cemetery, near her home. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Klase were born six children, as follows : Edward, who 
is in Nebraska ; August, who is at home on the farm ; William C, a shoe mer- 
chant, of Ashland; Frederick, at home on the farm; Anna, wife of Louis 
Schlee, of Girardville; and Eva, wife of Charles Trunmetter, of Gordon, this 
county. Mr. Klase and his family are members of the German Lutheran 
Church. He is one of the directors of the Island cemetery. 

HENRY LEONHARDT, proprietor of a bakery and confectionery at 
Girardville, Schuylkill county, was born in Fountain Springs, this county, 
July 30, 1867, son of Peter and Louise (Uhl) Leonhardt. 

The family is of German descent. Peter Leonhardt was born in Germany, 
and came to America at an early date, settling in Schuylkill county. Pa., where 
he worked in the mines all the remainder of his life, dying in April, 1904. 
For a time he lived at Fountain Springs. His wife was a daughter of George 
Uhl, who came to America in the early forties and settled in Schuylkill county, 
where he farmed until his death. Mrs. Leonhardt died in 1907. Mr. and 
Mrs. Leonhardt had these children: Henry; Barbara, wife of Frank Weiss, 
of Philadelphia; George, who is a baker of Mahanoy City; John, deceased; 
and one child that died in infancy. 

Henry Leonhardt was educated in the schools of Girardville, his parents 
having come here in 1868. He worked for a short time in the mines, and then 
at the age of seventeen began to learn the trade of baker. After he com- 
pleted his apprenticeship he was employed at Shenandoah and Hazleton, and 
twenty-two years ago came to Girardville, where he went into business for 
himself. He has made a success of his chosen work, now owning the build- 
ing in which he has his store. Mr. Leonhardt was married Feb. 16, 1892, to 
Annie Gillespie, a native of Carbon county, daughter of Peter and Anna 
Gillespie, early settlers of that county. To this union five children were born : 
Marie, Anna, Raymond, Louise and Clara, the two last named being deceased. 
The mother died Jan. 15, 1904, and on April 17, 1906, Mr. Leonhardt was 
married to Katie, the daughter of Thomas and Mary Durkin, deceased, of 
Girardville. Mr. Leonhardt is a member of Fort Sheridan Council, Knights 
of Columbus, of which he is treasurer, and of the Order of Foresters. He 
and his family are members of St. Joseph's Roman Catholic Church, of 
Girardville. 

AMOS R. LAMBERSON, of Tremont, settled in Schuylkill county shortly 
after the close of the Civil war and has been a resident of the borough for 
over thirty years. He has been a highly useful citizen, doing his share in 
the maintenance of social and religious activities, and taking a helpful part 
in all local affairs of general interest. His birth took place in Luzerne county, 
Pa., and the family is of Welsh extraction, the ancestor who came to this 
section from Wales first settling in Maryland. Jacob Lamberson, grandfather 
of .\mos R., came thence to Columbia county, Pa., making his home near 
Catawissa, where he engaged in farming and remained until his death. His 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 757 

family consisted of six children : Nicholas, John, Samuel, Aaron, Esther and 
Elizabeth. 

Samuel Lamberson, father of Amos R. Lamberson, was a native of Co- 
lumbia county, Pa., and passed all his early life there. Moving to Luzerne 
county, he lived a number of years in the Black Creek valley, from which 
region he eventually removed to Schuylkill county, where he spent his remain- 
ing years. He died in this county. Mr. Lamberson was a shoemaker by 
occupation, and took an active part in politics during his residence in Luzerne 
county, his fellow citizens honoring him frequently with election to town- 
ship offices. He sen'ed faithfully and intelligently in every trust. Samuel 
Lamberson married Elizabeth Fenstermacher, like himself a native of Columbia 
county, where her father was a pioneer settler ; he followed farming, and died 
in Columbia county. Mr. Fenstermacher had children as follows : Eli, John, 
Peter, Franklin, Deborah, Rebecca and Elizabeth (Mrs. Lamberson). The 
last named died in Schuylkill county. She was the mother of five children, 
namely: Jacob (the eldest) and EH are deceased; Aaron died in the Soldiers' 
Home at Hot Springs, S. Dak. ; Amos R. is the youngest son ; Rebecca is the 
wife of William Zimmerman, a farmer of Schuylkill county. All the sons 
were Union soldiers during the Civil war, Aaron serving in the 129th and 52d 
Regiments, Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, and remaining in the arm>' until 
the war closed. 

Amos R. Lamberson was born Oct. 31, 1842, in Luzerne county. Pa., and 
grew up in Black Creek township, receiving his education in the common 
schools there. After leaving school he took up telegraphy, learning the work 
in Lehigh county. Pa., and he followed it until he entered the service durnig 
the Civtl war. He enlisted twice, the first time from Whitehall to\vnshi]3, 
Lehigh countv, as a member of Company E, 27th Pennsylvania \'ohintcer 
Infantry, with which he served about two months. Reenlisting m Company G, 
S^d Penn'iylvania \'olunteer Infantry, he continued in the service until the 
wlr ended' principally engaged in guard duty along the Atlantic coast. His 
command was attached to Sherman's army. Mr. Lamberson was mustered 
out at Salisbury, N. C, and received his discharge at Harnsburg, Pennsyl- 

For about two years after his return from the army Mr. Lamberson was 
in the service of the Lehigh Company in Lehigh county, was subsequently 
in Luzerne county for a time, and soon came to Schuylkill county, where he has 
since made his home. After six years' service as chief of police at Tamaqua 
he located at Tremont, and here for thirty years he has been special officer 
for the Philadelphia & Reading Coal cSi Iron Company. His long retention 
in their ser^'ice is the best comment on his fidelity to duty and reliable 

*^^^M?^r'amberson is a prominent member of the G. A. R. post at Tremont 
has filled all the offices, and is serving at present as adjutant. He is a local 
leader in the Improved Order of Red Men, in which he has passed all the 
chairs, and he has also ser%ed in all the official positions in the Methodist 
Church of which he is an active member. . , . t . ^ 

On Nov "6 1867 Mr. Lamberson was married, in Luzerne county, to 
Marv E Hape daughter of William and Catherine Hape natives of Germany 
who came to America many years ago, and settled ■" Luzenie county. Pa., 
where Mrs Lamberson was born, in Conyngham township. Mr. Hape was a 
farmer by occupation. He and his wife died in Luzerne county. Mrs. Lam- 



758 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

berson died Aug. 30, 1906, the mother of six children, viz. : Eugene, the eldest, 
is now a resident of Clifton, N. J.; Carrie is the wife of Clarence E. Bierce 
and lives at Oak Lane, near Philadelphia; Martha, widow of J. Newton Kauf- 
man, lives in Philadelphia; Dora is the wife of Frank H. Kaufman, of Tower 
City, Pa.; Minerva is the wife of Dr. Fegley, of Tremont; Harvey, of Clifton, 
N. J., is manager of an asphalt plant. 

On Aug. 28, 1910, Mr. Lamberson married (second) Mrs. Mary E. (Hess) 
McElwee, of Adams county, Pennsylvania. 

JOHN A. STIEF, of Ashland, who has recently assumed the duties of 
postmaster at that borough, has been one of its hfelong residents, and his 
father was one of the most respected business men there for a period of forty 
years. 

The family is of German extraction. Michael Stief, father of John A. 
Stief, was born in Bavaria, Germany, and coming to America in 1855 first 
located at Pottsville, Schuylkill Co., Pa. The' same year he removed to 
Ashland, where he engaged in business as a grocer, continuing this until his 
death, which occurred in 1894; he is buried at Ashland. He was married to 
Mary Tretter at Pottsville, who, like himself, was a native of Bavaria, and 
came to Schuylkill county when young, with brothers. She survives her 
husband, and though now (1914) eighty-one years of age is in good health. 
Eleven children were born to her and her husband of whom Elizabeth, Mrs. 
Knoblach, lives in Mount Carmel, Pa.; John A. is mentioned below; Herman 
J., a resident of Ashland, is engaged in the hardware business ; Michael lives at 
Shamokin, Pa. ; Peter lives at Mount Carmel, Pa. ; Mary is the wife of 
Theodore Lentas, of Philadelphia, Pa. ; Joseph G. is a business man at Ashland; 
Josephine is living at home; Lena is the wife of John Felker, of Mount 
Carmel. The father was a Democrat in political sentiment. 

John A. Stief was born in May, 1857, at Ashland, where he received his 
early education in the public schools. Later he attended St. Vincent's Col- 
lege, at Latrobe, Pa., and after leaving school was in the store with his father 
for a time. In 1873 he commenced to learn the trade of stonecutter under 
Frank Grantz, at one time county conxmissioner of Schuylkill county, and he 
continued in his employ after completing his apprenticeship, eventually buying 
him out, in 1894. He has since conducted the business in his own name, and 
has been very successful, his thorough workmanship and reliable character 
gaining and holding the confidence of his patrons. His high reputation in 
business has been supplemented by a most desirable record in public service. 
In 1900 he was elected burgess, holding that position until 1903, and was re- 
elected in 1906, his work during both terms showing commendable public 
spirit, and strengthening the confidence of his fellow citizens in his ability 
and trustworthiness. For about four years he was deputy coroner at Ash- 
land, and for five years he filled the position of health officer, in both capacities 
discharging his duties with intelligence and the utmost fidelity. In 1913 he 
was appointed postmaster, in which position it may reasonably be expected he 
will acquit himself with characteristic efficiency. He has always been a 
Democrat in political connection. The Stiefs are Catholics, and he belongs 
to St. Mauritius' Church at Ashland, of which his family are also members. 

In August, 1877, Mr. Stief was married to Mary Pelstring. a native of 
Schuylkill county, daughter of Anthony and Lena (Killhower) Pelstring, who 
were born in Bavaria, Germany, and came to Schuylkill county many years 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 759 

ago. They settled at Ashland, where Mr. Pelstring died in 1905, and where 
his widow is still living at the age of seventy-seven years. He was a soap 
and candle maker by trade. Mr. and Mrs. Pelstring had a family of five 
children, some of whom are living in Philadelphia. Three children have 
been born to Mr. and Mrs. Stief : Louis, who is assistant to his father in 
business, married Olla Fulton, of Girardville ; Frank, who is also in his father's 
employ, married Minnie Leverentz, of Ashland, and three children have been 
bom to them, Louis, Frank and John; Joseph, who lives at Mount Carmel, 
following the profession of music teacher, married Ellen Young, of that place, 
and they have one child, Helen. 

GREGORY ACHENBACH, of Pine Grove, has displayed versatile abil- 
ity in the prosecution of his various activities, which have included professional, 
business and official occupation. At present he gives all his time to his duties 
as justice of the peace, which office he has held since 1896. 

The Achenbach family is of German origin, and of old standing in Schuyl- 
kill county, William Achenbach, grandfather of Gregory, having been bom 
in this section. By calling he was a farmer. Removing to Pine Grove, he 
made his permanent home there. His children were : Reuben, who is de- 
ceased ; William ; Henry, a resident of Nebraska ; Emanuel, of Kansas ; Israel, 
of Lebanon, Pa.; I^ouis, who lives at Iowa; Jacob, deceased; Angeline; Cath- 
erine, wife of Charles Brommer, of Philadelphia; and Cecilia, wife of Solomon 
Gottschall, of Elizabeth, Dauphin Co., Pennsylvania. 

Reuben Achenbach was born near Pine Grove, and having learned the trade 
of blacksmith established himself in business in the borough, being so engaged 
until his death, June 24, 1905. He held a creditable place as a trustworthy 
citizen, his diligence, honesty and straightforward character winning him the 
good will of all his fellow men. He married Rebecca Sotzin, who was born 
in Pine Grove, daughter of Henry Sotzin, a native of Switzerland, who came 
to America many years ago and settled in this vicinity, where he carried on 
farming until his death. His children were: Matthias, Henry, Samuel, 
Susanna, Mary. Elizabeth and Rebecca (Mrs. Achenbach), all now deceased. 
Mrs. Achenbach died Dec. i, 1884. She was the mother of nine children, 
namely: Isaac, a wheelwright, who lives at Pine Grove; Mary Ann, wife of 
F. F. Brommer, tDf Pine Grove; Reuben, of Pine Grove, a retired blacksmith; 
Daniel, of Schuylkill Haven, employed as a blacksmith by the Philadelphia & 
Reading Railway Company; Gregory; Andrew, who died young; and others 
who died in infancy. 

Gregory Achenbach was born in 1871 in Pine Grove township, was reared 
near the borough, and began his literary training in the public schools there. 
After graduating from high school in 1888, he entered the Keystone State 
Normal School, at Kutztown, which he attended in 1892, obtaining an excellent 
education. In his young manhood he taught school for eleven terms in Pine 
Grove township, later turning his attention to business. He had a bakery 
at Pine Grove for eighteen years, building up. a wide trade by courteous 
treatment of his patrons and solicitude for their wants. He continued the 
business until 1913, when he gave it up in order to devote all his time to offi- 
cial responsibilities. Mr. Achenbach was first elected justice of the peace in 
1896, before he gave up teaching, and has filled that position continuously 
since. He has also given three years' service on the board of school directors. 



760 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

and in every trust to which he has been called has proved his fitness and 
shown himself worthy of the confidence of the community. 

Mr. Achenbach has numerous fraternal affiliations, belonging to Lodge 
No. 148, I. O. O. F., of which he is a past grand; to the Knights of the Golden 
Eagle, of which he is a past chief; to the Independent Americans; and to the 
Royal Arcanum, of which he is a past regent. 

On May 25, 1889, Mr. Achenbach married Mary E. Lehman, a native of 
Pine Grove, daughter of Isaac and Angelina (Huber) Lehman, both now 
deceased, who were residents of Pine Grove in pioneer days. Nine children 
have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Achenbach, viz.: Laura R., deceased; Mae 
E. ; Alma A., deceased; Harvena M. ; Arthur A.; Stanley E. ; Lyman I.; 
Grace E.; and Ruth F., deceased. The family home is an attractive residence 
on the main street of the borough. 

ELISHA FILER, Jr., of Mahanoy City, has made a wide circle of ac- 
quaintances among officials and lawyers in Schuylkill county during his sev- 
eral years' experience as court crier and law librarian. He has been serving 
as such, by appointment, since 1909. Mr. Filer is a native of Mahanoy City 
and his early life was quite typical of Schuylkill county, having been spent 
in work at the anthracite mines. 

Born July 13, 1870, he is a son of Elisha Filer, who was born in Wales 
and came to this country when a young man. Settling at Mahanoy City, 
Schuylkill Co., Pa., he followed mining for a number of years, later obtain- 
ing employment with the Lehigh Valley Railroad Company. He was given 
charge of the local work train, and still fills that position. 

Elisha Filer, Jr., received his education in the public schools of Mahanoy 
City. When a boy of nine years he began work as a slate picker at the 
breaker of what is now the Tunnel Ridge colliery, under John Shipman, who 
was the outside foreman. He continued mine work until the year 1905, filling 
various positions, for thirteen years in the capacity of coal inspector for the 
Lehigh Valley Coal Company. Becoming a clerk for Harrison Ball, lumber 
and hardware dealer, he remained with him three years, after which he was a 
clerk in the employ of the Lehigh Valley Coal Company at Centralia, Columbia 
Co., Pa., for a time. Meantime he had been in the insurance business for 
eighteen months. In 1909 he was appointed, by Judge Brumm and ex-Judge 
Shay, as court crier and librarian at the courthouse of Schuylkill county, and 
has served creditably in that capacity ever since. He also maintains his office 
at No. 334 East Centre street. Mahanoy City, doing considerable business 
as a fire insurance agent and in the handling of real estate; he represents 
several of the old-line insurance companies. Mr. Filer has served one term 
as school director of the borough, and has also been borough auditor, and "in 
all the public service he has undertaken has made a most creditable record. 
In political activities he has always been associated with the Republican party, 
and one of its most reliable workers in his section of the county. He holds 
membership in several fraternal bodies— Mahanoy City Lodge, No. 357, F. & 
A M • the Jr. O. U. A. M. ; the P. O. S. of A., and the local lodge of B. P. O. 
Elks. He a"lso belongs to the Schuylkill County Historical Society. In religious 
connection he is a Baptist, and in all his associations, business, official, social 
and purely personal, he has the unqualified respect of his fellows as an all- 
around good citizen. . , ^ , ■ ^ • -^u -c-r t 1 • 

Mr. Filer has been twice married. By his first union, with Ehza Jenkins, 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 761 

he had three children, Earle, Myrtle and Wilbur. After their mother's death 
he was united to Lottie Webb, by whom he has one son, Paul W. 

^ CHARLES H. MAY, one of the oldest native-born residents of Port 
Carbon, is now living retired. In former years he was associated with various 
activities in the borough of a public nature or common interest, but except 
for his work in the United Evangelical Church he has withdrawn from par- 
ticipation in such matters. He was born Feb. i6, 1845, son of Philip H. May, 
a native of Germany who came to America in young manhood and was an 
early settler at Port Carbon, Schuylkill Co., Pa., where he died at the age 
of seventy-four years. He is buried there, in the Lutheran cemetery. Mr. 
May followed the trade of carpenter. He had six children: Charles H., 
Sallie, Rosie, Mary, Wesley and John. 

Charles H. May received his education in Port Carbon, and when yet 
a boy began work in a sawmill. He learned the trade of machinist in the 
Boyer establishment at Port Carbon, and followed it for about forty-nine 
years in all, for many years in the shops of the Philadelphia & Reading Coal 
& Iron Company at Pottsville, this county^ A few years ago he retired to 
enjoy well earned leisure. Mr. May is independent on political questions, 
supporting the policies he likes best regardless of their origin. He has served 
three years as borough councilman. During the Civil war his sympathies were 
with the Union, and in 1862 he enlisted in. the 129th Pennsylvania Volunteer 
Infantry for nine months' service (during which the regiment was part of the 
State militia), participating in the battles of Fredericksburg and Chancellors- 
ville. The regiment was organized in August, 1862, and five companies were 
recruited in Schuylkill county. He reenlisted in the 48th Pennsylvania Regi- 
ment, and served to the close of the war; in front of Petersburg he was 
wounded in the left shoulder. Mr. May was a charter member of the old 
Grand Army post at Port Carbon, and he is now a member of Allison Brothers 
Post, No. 144, of his borough, of which he has been commander. He was an 
early member of the United Evangelical Church at Port Carbon, and he has 
been a class leader for many years, still serving in that capacity, and also as 
trustee. For many years he took an active part in the work of the Sunday 
school. 

Mr. May married Emma L. Krecker, who is deceased. They became the 
parents of the following children : Fred, Charles, Raymond, Harold, Florence, 
Elsie, Beulah and Olive, the last named deceased. 

DAVID STARR, of Branch township, is a member of the fourth gener- 
ation of his family in Schuylkill county, and in intelligence, good citizenship 
and other worthy cjualities a typical representative of the name he bears. 
From the time of his great-grandfather, who settled in Schuylkill county 
when he came to this country from Germany, the Starrs have been counted 
among its most useful, substantial residents, thrifty in business and alive to 
the general welfare, showing their interest in public-spirited service to their 
fellow citizens at every opportunity. 

Peter Starr, Sr., grandfather of David Starr, was born in Schuylkill county. 
He learned the trade of tailor, at which he worked in Branch and Reilly town- 
ships, and was a well known man in that section in his day. He lived to the 
great' age of ninety-eight years, seven months, fifteen days, and is buried in the 
old Frieden's Church cemetery near Llewellyn, in Branch township. His 



762 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

children were: Abraham, Peter, Jr., John, Jacob, Elizabeth, Susan, Maria 
and Catherine. 

Abraham Starr, father of David Starr, was born and reared in Schuylkill 
county, and passed all his life here, dying when sixty-eight years old. He is 
buried in the cemetery of Frieden's Church. He always worked by the day. 
By his marriage to Rebecca Zechman he had a large family, five of whom 
still survive: Charles, William, Jacob, Abraham and David. 

David Starr, son of Abraham, was born Feb. 28, 1845, at Llewellyn, in 
Branch township. When but six years old he came to the place where he has 
since made his home, the farm of his uncle, Peter Starr, Jr., who reared and 
educated him, having no children of his own. David Starr remained with his 
uncle until the latter's death. He assisted with the farm work, and is still 
engaged in cultivating what he retains of the tract, having sold the part upon 
which the famous Black Diamond colliery is situated. In his uncle's day it 
was worked by independent operators, but it is now owned by the Philadelphia 
& Reading Coal & Iron Company. 

Mr. Starr is orte of the best known men in his locality. The efficient man- 
agement he gave to his own affairs attracted the attention of his neighbors and 
business associates generally, and he was picked as a desirable candidate for 
the office of township treasurer, was elected, and gave great satisfaction in the 
performance of its duties. He succeeded his uncle Peter as supervisor of 
Branch township, holding that office six months. Mr. Starr has been a prom- 
inent member of the Reformed Church, and has filled the position of elder. 

By his marriage to Mary M. Henry, Mr. Starr has had nine children : 
Sarah R. is unmarried ; William A. is in the hotel business ; Catherine is the 
wife of Fred A. Barras and lives in Boston, Mass. ; Jane G., wife of Milton 
Starr, lives in Branch township; Samuel O. is at home; four died young. 

Peter Starr, Jr., the uncle by whom David Starr was reared, was a prom- 
inent resident of Branch township, well known in and around the town of 
Llewellyn. He kept store, carried on a huckster business, and owned a farm 
of one hundred acres, much of which proved to be valuable coal land. He 
was also in the timber business, and was successful in all his undertakings. 
He and his wife are both deceased. 

PETER J. SCHNEIDER, of Locustdale, has been a resident of Schuylkill 
county for thirty years and has become one of the substantial business men 
of his section. As postmaster he comes into contact with most of the members 
of the community, and the universal respect in which he is held is a fair indica- 
tion of the honorable methods which have characterized all his dealings with 
his fellow citizens. 

A native of Germany. Mr. Schneider was born Aug. 24, 1864, son of Frank 
W. and Catherine (Utterbaugh) Schneider. The mother died in Gemiany, 
and the father subsequently caine to America with three sons and one daugh- 
ter. They located at Ashland, Schuylkill Co., Pa., and the father died in 
March, 1901. 

Peter T. Schneider was reared and educated in Germany, where he lived 
until twenty years old, coming to this country with his father in the year 1884. 
Previous to this time he had begun work in the mines, and he followed mine 
work during the first fifteen years of his residence here also. He had accom- 
panied his father to Ashland"^, but remained there only a short time, and has 
since been at Locustdale. Some fifteen years ago he embarked in business as 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 763 

a general merchant, and has been so engaged until the present time, having 
estabhshed a profitable trade by obliging attention to the wants of his custom- 
ers. In 1913 he was appointed postmaster, in which office he has been giving 
highly satisfactory service. Mr. Schneider has proved himself a man of 
thoroughly reliable character, and is trusted unreservedly by his fellow men. 
In 1891 Mr. Schneider married Elizabeth Mellon, of Schuylkill county, 
daughter of Joseph and Theresa Mellon, who are residents of this county, and 
six children have been born to this union : Frank, Anthony, Marie, Veronica, 
Elizabeth and Retta. Mr. Schneider's religious connection is with the German 
Catholic Church. 

SIMON HARTMAN, a merchant of Valley View, has been in business 
since he settled there, in 1906, and has built up a profitable trade and creditable 
reputation by dealings which stamp him as being worthy of the confidence of 
his fellow citizens. He is a native of Dauphin county, Pa., where the family 
has been known and respected from the early days. His grandfather, Simon 
Hartman, was born at Gratz, that county, and followed farming in Dauphin 
county. 

Amos Hartman, father of Simon Hartman, was born at Gratz, where he 
farmed throughout his active years, now living retired. He married Sallie 
Paul, a native of Northumberland county, daughter of George Paul, who 
resided near Herndon, that county, until his death ; he was a mason by trade. 
Mr. and Mrs. Hartman have had six children, namely : Jennie, the eldest, is 
the wife of Maurice Zerfing, of Gratz. Pa. ; Allen is a farmer at Gratz; Wilson 
is deceased ; Simon is next in the family ; Sallie and Lloyd are at home. 

Simon Hartman was born at Gratz, Dauphin county, where he was reared 
and educated, attending the public schools. After he undertook his own sup- 
port he lived for a time at Philadelphia, Pa., and for six years was at Chicago, 
111., in the service of the Pullman Company, settling at X'alley \'iew, Schuylkill 
Co., Pa., in the year 1906. Here he has been engaged in business on his own 
account, having the largest and best assorted stock of the kind in the town 
and vicinity. He carries a well selected line of general hardware and builders' 
supplies, and is always willing to give customers the benefit of his advice as 
well as good service, his accommodating disposition and familiarity with his 
chosen line bringing customers from all over this part of the county. He has 
become identified with other interests in the town, being a member of the Val- 
ley View Odd Fellows lodge, and has earned a name for himself among the 
substantial citizens of his adopted place. 

In 1910 Mr. Hartman married Sallie Klinger, a native of Gratz, Dauphin 
county, daughter of Tobias and Emma (Shaffer) Klinger, the former now 
deceased, the latter still a resident of Gratz. Mr. and Mrs. Hartman have 
two children, Florence and Mae. 

GEORGE BOND, late of Tamaqua, was a pioneer blacksmith of that place 
and one of the successful business men of his day there, founding many years 
ago the establishment which is still conducted by his son. A proficient mechanic 
and man of practical executive ability, Mr. Bond combined with good business 
qualities an admirable personal character which made him worthy of the 
esteem of his fellow citizens, among whom he occupied for many years an 
honorable position. 

Mr. Bond was born in England in 1826, and his father, John Bond, was 



764 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

also a native of that country. The latter brought his family to America, and 
first settled at Pottsville, Schuylkill Co., Pa., later removing to Port Clinton, 
same county. He was twice married, and by his first wife had one son, George. 
To his second marriage was born a daughter, Angelia, who became the wife 
of Dr. George Nice, of Port Clinton. 

During his boyhood George Bond attended public school at Tamaqua, 
making his home there with his cousin, John Bond. For a time he lived at 
Port Clinton, returning to Tamaqua in 1847 and here serving his apprentice- 
ship to the blacksmith's trade, which was his life work. Starting in business 
on his own account when yet a young man, he built up a wide patronage by 
reliable work and honesty in all his transactions, and in time had a large plant 
with all conveniences for first-class work, of which he always had plenty. 
He carried on the establishment until his death, in 1900, and it has since been 
operated by his son George. George Bond is buried at Tamaqua. He was a 
member of the local Masonic lodge. No. 238, and of the Knights of Pythias, 
and was a Presbyterian in religious connection. 

On March 24, 1851, Mr. Bond married Miranda Boughner, who died in 
1905. The following children were born to this union: John C. is now a 
resident of Montana; Catherine, deceased, was the wife of John Masterson; 
Emily C. lives at the old home in Tamaqua ; William, Albert and George live at 
Tamaqua, the last named continuing the business his father established. 

Abraham Boughner, father of Mrs. George Bond, lived for a time in Rush 
township, this county, later settling at Tamaqua, where he died. He served 
as county commissioner in the later thirties, when the courthouse was located 
at Orwigsburg. Mr. Boughner married Catherine Fetter, and their children 
were: Mary married John Brady, who was a contractor, of Philadelphia, 
Pa. ; Catherine married Gideon Wetstone ; Caroline married Albert Dewel, of 
New York State ; Aliranda was the wife of George Bond. 

JOHN HERMAN KEILAIAN is considered one of the most valuable 
citizens of Rush township, where his helpful activity in all good works has 
furthered many a cause for the general welfare. Public-spirited, intelligent 
and unselfish in devoting his eft'orts to conserving the best interests of the 
community, he well deserves the influential position he enjoys among his 
neighbors and fellow townsmen generally. 

The Keilman family is of German descent. John Herman Keilman. Sr., 
father of John Herman Keilman, Jr., was born at Hoenebach, Germany, and 
came to America in young manhood, in 1855. Locating at Mahanoy City, 
Schuylkill Co., Pa., he followed mining for a number of years, and in 1871 
settled in Rush township, where he had purchased a farm. It was all bush 
land then, but he cleared it and devoted the remainder of his life to its 
cultivation, dying Feb. 20, 1888. He is buried at Mahanoy City. His wife, 
whose maiden name was Susanna Young, was a native of Suess, Germany, 
and came to America on the same ship as Mr. Keilman, whom she afterwards 
married. She is now living at Allentown, Pa., with her daughter Mrs. Weil. 
Children as follows were born to Mr. and Mrs. John Hennan Keilman, Sr. : 
Margaret, who is now the wife of Rev. J. G. Steinert, a Reformed minister; 
Mary, married to John A. Weil, of Allentown ; Susan, wife of William Moeller, 
of Philadelphia, Pa.; Dora, who married Alphinous Gouldner, and died in 
Detroit, Mich, (she is buried at Mahanoy City) ; and John Herman. 

John Herman Keilman was born Dec. 31, 1870, at Mahonoy City, Schuyl- 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 765 

kill Co., Pa., and was a young child when the family settled on the farm in 
Rush township. There he spent his boyhood, received his education in the 
public school at Barnesville, and was early trained to farming, which he has 
followed most of his life. However, during his young manhood he held the 
position of assistant postmaster at Barnesville, was assistant station agent 
there, and also clerked in a store, spending four years thus. He married in 
i8g8 and then took upon himself the operation of his father's farm, renting it 
first and buying the property Feb. 22, 1907. It consists of fifty-two acres 
located near Bamesville, and under his systematic care has increased steadily 
in value, being now one of the best cultivated tracts in the vicinity. Mr. Keil- 
man has given his work the strict attention necessary to make it prosper, but 
he has also found time for other interests, and he is one of the men who have 
assisted in bettering local conditions and endeavored to put township affairs 
upon a solid basis. He has served four years as member of the school board, 
of which he was vice president for six months and is now secretary ; for three 
years he was a clerk on the election board, chosen by the Democratic party ; 
for twelve years he has been a deacon of Christ Reformed congregation, and 
he is secretary of both the Reformed and Evangelical Lutheran congregations 
which worship at Christ Church. He has always taken an active part in its 
enterprises, and for many years was one of the energetic workers in the 
Sunday school. Socially he belongs to the Patrons of Husbandry, having been 
a charter member of Lakeside Grange, No. 1418, which he helped to organize. 
His cooperation is always sought in any cause which has for its object the 
promotion of local interests. 

On March 16, 1898, Mr. Keilman was married, in Iowa, to Anna L. 
Scherer, daughter of Calvin and Tillie (Merely) Scherer, and six children 
have been born to them : Mabel E. ; Roy H. ; Ruth D. and Mildred C, twins ; 
John Harold, and Elmer L. 

JOHN R. DOLBIN, of Minersville, is a descendant of an old Schuylkill 
county family, founded here by his grandfather, Goodman Dolbin, who came 
fi-om Wales. 

Goodman Dolbin lived at Minersville,^ Pa., for a short time after his arrival 
in Pennsylvania. He then removed to what is now known as Forestville, a 
small village in Cass township, and was a pioneer at that place. He was a man 
of energetic character, well fitted for leadership in promoting the development 
of a young community, having a progressive disposition and plenty of initiative. 
He was one of the pioneer independent coal operators there, and in that busi- 
ness was in partnership for a time with David Rodgers, under the firm name 
of Dolbin & Rodgers. Some of their contemporaries who had small operations 
in the locality were Robert Patten, Thomas Lloyd, William Britton and a 
Mr. Bristow. Mr. Dolbin took an interest in all the aft'airs of the locality, and 
was one of the organizers of St. Stephen's Episcopal Church of Forestville. 
Before its establishment the people of that faith walked to Pottsville to divine 
services. Mr. Dolbin died at his home in Forestville, and is buried in the 
Union cemetery at Minersville. He married Mary Thomas, and they reared 
a large family, having become the parents of nine children, namely: John, 
who married Elizabeth Robertson ; Robert, who married Caroline Groom ; 
David, who married Harriet Groom; Margaret, Mrs. Samuel Taylor; Annie, 
Mrs. William Moore ; Elizabeth, Mrs. Edward Griffith ; Jennie, who married 



766 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

John Woolcock, of Pottsville; Mary, Airs. Richard Brennan; and Sarah, who 
Hves with her sister Mrs. Woolcock. 

John Dolbin, son of Goodman Dolbin, was born in 1835 at Minersville, 
Schuylkill county. He lived at Forestville from the early days of that town, 
and in 1876 engaged in the mercantile business at that place. For many years 
he was also a mining contractor, afterwards becoming an engineer at the col- 
lieries. He retired about six years before his death, which occurred in 1903, 
and he is buried beside his father in the Union cemetery, at Minersville. Like 
his father John Dolbin was one of the foremost citizens of Cass township, 
highly respected for his useful life and his public spirit in furthering the 
interests of the community. In 1857 he married Elizabeth Robertson, a native 
of Scotland, daughter of John Robertson, who was an uncle of the late 
Andrew Robertson, a prominent coal operator in the anthracite fields. Mrs. 
Dolbin, now past eighty years of age, continues to reside in the old homestead 
at Forestville. She is known to all the residents of that district, and held in 
affectionate esteem by her many friends. Seven children were born to Mr. and 
Mrs. Dolbin, namely: Mary, the wife of Archie Dunlop, of Forestville, who 
has three children, John R., Nelson R. and William R. ; John R., who is men- 
tioned below; Andrew R., born April 28, 1871 ; William, deceased; Goodman, 
deceased ; James, living at home ; and George, of Minersville, who married 
Mary Jenkins and has had three children, Elizabeth, George, and one deceased. 
Of this family Andrew R. Dolbin was employed at the mines until twenty-one 
years old, and then for four years followed the trade of blacksmith. He has 
since been carr>'ing on a wholesale liquor business at Forestville, and makes 
his home there, living with his aged mother. He has never married. Mr. Dol- 
bin is a vestryman of the Episcopal Church, of Forestville, and one of the 
prominent citizens of that town. 

John R. Dolbin was born Nov. 29, i860, at Forestville, Cass township, and 
had such educational advantages as the local public schools afforded. Like 
most boys of the coal region he began work when very young, being only 
eight years old when he started to work at the mines, where he was employed 
until he reached his majority. He then went to Mount Carmel, Northumber- 
land Co., Pa., where he became engaged in the grocery business, meeting with 
success in this line, in which he continued for twenty-two years. Returning 
to his old home at Forestville some time ago, he became interested with his 
brother Andrew in the wholesale liquor business, and they are engaged as 
bottlers as well as dealers. Mr. Dolbin is an able business man and his various 
ventures have prospered under his careful management. Like all representa- 
tives of his family he is a citizen of recognized worth, and holds a substantial 
position in his home town. 

Mr. Dolbin married Amelia Hoffman, by whom he had a family of seven 
children, namely: Elizabeth, deceased; William, deceased; Clyde, at home; 
Andrew, deceased ; Florence, deceased ; Donald, who is a student at the State 
College, Pa. ; and Mary, deceased. For his second wife Mr. Dolbin married 
Ida Morgans, and to this union also have been bom seven children, namely: 
Delroy, who is at home ; Margaret; George, deceased; James, at home; Ken- 
neth, deceased ; and Elizabeth and Florence L., both at home. 

HENRY C. KREIS, of Middleport, Schuylkill county, is a man of solid 
standing in business circles and held in the highest respect for his personal 
qualities, which have gained him the favor and good will of his associates in 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 767 

all the relations of life. He is a native of Schuylkill county, born Jan. 23, 
1863, at Brockton, son of Henry C. and Qiarlotte (Schlimmer) Kreis. 

The parents were both natives of Germany, the father born in Kreissau- 
briicken, Prussia. He was a youth of about eighteen years when he came to 
America, and first settled in the Tumbling Run valley, in Schuylkill county. 
Pa., where he did farm work. Later he went to Coal Hill and followed mining 
for a time, thence removing to Patterson, Schuylkill county, where he was 
engaged in the hotel business for three years. From there he came to Middle- 
port, where he also had a" hotel, carrying it on for twenty years. His death 
occurred at Middleport when he was forty-seven years old, and he is buried 
in the Lutheran cemetery there. To his marriage with Charlotte Schhmmer 
were born the following children : Peter, Charlotte, Dorothy, Sophia, Henry 
C, William and Mary. 

Henry C. Kreis acquired his education in the public schools of Middleport. 
His early years were spent in mine work. He began picking slate at the Palmer 
vein colliery, and later did different kinds of work about collieries, until he 
received the appointment of health officer of the 713 district, which includes 
Blythe township, Schuylkill county. After filling this position capably for 
five years he determined to start in business on his own account, and in 1910 
he opened the store at Middleport which he has since carried on, having a 
good stock of general merchandise and commanding his full share of the local 
patronage. His store is up-to-date in every particular and his customers receive 
prompt attention and first-class service, of which they have shown their appre- 
ciation in a very substantial manner. 

Aside from business Mr. Kreis has been interested in a number of local 
enterprises. He is serving as president of the Citizens' Fire Company, No. i, 
of Middleport; for the last twenty years he has been secretary of the P. O. S. 
of A. camp in the borough ; for the last ten years secretary of the Odd Fellows 
lodge there ; and he also holds membership in the B. P. O. Elks at Tamaqua. 
Politically he has been associated with the Republican party, and for six years 
he held the oftice of tax collector at Aliddleport. Every good movement there 
receives his hearty support. 

Mr. Kreis married Emma Singley, daughter of John and Sarah (Yost) 
Singley. They have no children. Mr. and Mrs. Kreis are members of the 
Lutheran Church. 

AARON STRUBHAR is occupying the place at Suedberg, in Pine Grove 
township, where he was bom, and he belongs to an old family of Swiss origin 
which was planted in Pennsylvania in the early days. 

John George Strephauer, the first of his ancestors to come to America, 
was born in Switzerland. On his arrival in this country he first lived in Berks 
county, Pa., thence moving to what is now Suedberg, Schuylkill county, where 
he bought a farm upon which he resided for many years. It was the property 
where his great-grandson. Aaron Strubhar. now lives, and his son George, 
grandfather of Aaron, built the house which the latter occupies. The great- 
grandfather and grandfather were both lifelong farmers, and they died at 
Suedberg, where they are buried. They were the parents of two children. 
George Strephauer was born in Berks county. 

John Strubhar, son of George, was born in the house on the farm which 
his father built July 31. 1819. and lived to the age of eighty-one years, dying 
Feb. 9, 1901. Throughout his life he was engaged in farming and prospered 



768 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

in his work. Mr. Strubhar married Mary Reed, who was born March 2, 1820, 
in Berks county. Pa., died Feb. 18, 1886, and is buried in the cemetery at 
Suedberg. She was one of the large family born to Jacob Reed, a farmer, at 
one time living in Berks county, whence he removed to Schuylkill county in an 
early day, settling in Pine Grove township. He died at Suedberg. Mr. Reed 
belonged to a large family. Of the three children born to Mr. and Mrs. John 
Strubhar Aaron is the only one now living. 

Aaron Strubhar was born Dec. 10, 1842, was reared at his birthplace, and 
has been engaged in farming there ever since he began work. He has been 
highly successful, and the thrifty condition of his property shows that he has 
spared neither thought nor effort to achieve results. Wherever his interests 
ha\e called him among his fellow men his worthy character has called forth 
expressions of respect and confidence from his associates. He has been elected 
school director and tax collector of his district, and discharged the duties of 
both offices acceptably. He is a prominent member of the Church of God, and 
is serving the congregation as trustee and elder. He was a charter member 
of the P. O. S. of A. camp at Suedberg, held the position of treasurer for 
eleven years, and has been chaplain and senior vice commander of Wolf Post, 
G. A. R., of Pine Grove, where he is very popular with his Civil war comrades. 
He enlisted from Suedberg during 1865 in Company F, 93d Pennsylvania 
Volunteer Infantry, under Colonel Heckman, and remained in the service to 
the close of the war, being mustered out at Washington, D. C, in June, 1865. 
He was wounded at Petersburg, March 25, 1865. 

In 1862 Mr. Strubhar married Anna R. Reed, and the following children 
have been bom to them: Mary D., the eldest, is now the wife of Charles 
Christenson, of Annville, Lebanon Co., Pa. ; Iva E. is the wife of Alorris 
Krickbaum, of Pine Grove township ; Lyman E. is a resident of Palmyra, Pa. ; 
Harvey lives at home; George, the youngest, is at Pottstown, Montgomery 
Co., Pennsylvania. 

Mrs. Strubhar was bom near Orwigsburg in Schuylkill county, daughter of 
Daniel and Esther (Faust) Reed, both natives of this county, the former bora 
near Orwigsburg, the latter at Llewellyn. They had three children, Thomas F. 
still living on the old homestead of his parents ; Phoebe Ann is the wife of 
Joseph Conard, of Kansas. Thomas Reed, Mrs. Strubhar's grandfather, 
settled near Orwigsburg, and died at Friedensburg, this county. He was a 
farmer by occupation. His wife also died at Friedensburg, where they are 
buried. 

ROBERT CHARLES BRAUN, of Pottsville, has exercised an appreciable 
influence upon musical culture in this part of Pennsylvania in bringing possi- 
bilities of musical enjoyment into the lives of local communities and first-class 
instruction to ambitious students. 

Born in Port Carbon, Pa., Feb. 18, 1886, he is a son of Charles T. Brown, 
cashier of the Pennsylvania National Bank of Pottsville, and a descendant 
of Johannes Braun, of Wurtemberg, Germany, who came to America and 
settled in Pennsylvania, near McKeansburg. The great-grandfather's son, 
Charles Maul Braun, came to Pottsville, and he changed the spelling of the 
name to Brown, as C. T. Brown writes it. Robert Charles takes the original 
form Braun. Charles T. Brown married Sarah Frances Pugh, who was of 
Welsh descent and a fine contralto singer. Robert Braun was brought to 
Pottsville when one year old. His mother died when he was five years old, 







v^At-oi^^^ 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 769 

leaving him with a brother, Edgar D., one year old. The father and two 
sons then lived with Frederic Gerhard, an uncle by marriage, from 1891 until 
the father married again, in 1904. 

It is to Frederic Gerhard that JVIr. Braun owes all of his early teaching and 
inspiration. Under Gerhard he studied violin at the age of six; took up piano 
in his seventh year, and continued with Mr. Gerhard until sixteen, receiving 
a thorough grounding in technic and ensemble playing. The Beethoven piano 
and violin sonatas were daily bread. He made a tour through Pennsylvania 
at the age of eleven as a "boy wonder." In his fourteenth year he played piano 
in theatre orchestra, later double bass, and became a member of the Third 
Brigade Band. He learned a number of orchestral and military band instru- 
ments, studying saxophone with Fredinand Paul, of Sousa's Band, and oboe 
with Max Lachmuth, of Philadelphia, and Doucet of the Paris Conservatoire. 
In the summer of 1912 he was oboe soloist with the Allentown Band. 

Mr. Braun was a graduate in the honor division, class of 1904, Pottsville 
high school, class prophet, organized the High School Glee Club in 1902, and 
composed the high school marches for 1901, 1902, 1903, 1904. He also com- 
posed the march accepted for the Pottsville Old Home Week Centennial, 1908, 
and arranged all of these for military band and orchestra. 

In \(jo2 Mr. Braun went to Philadelphia weekly to study piano under 
Constantin von Sternberg, technic under Mattie B. Moulton, and theory under 
G. A. A. West, also boy choir training. He studied pipe organ with S. H. 
Unger, and occupied an organ position with the English Lutheran Church, 
Pottsville, from 1903 until 1905. He was then appointed organist and choir- 
master of Trinity Episcopal Church, Pottsville, which had a boy choir of 
sixty-five. Under his direction they gave the St. Cecilia Mass by Gounod. 
In 1905 he taught private pupils in Pottsville; played Beethoven and Schumann 
Concertos in Witherspoon Hall, Philadelphia, in 1905-06. In 1907 he opened 
the Reading branch of the Sternberg School of Music. 

In the spring of 1909 Mr. Braun sailed for Europe, traveling through Italy, 
Switzerland and Germany with his teacher and friend — Constantin von Stern- 
berg, in the summer. Then he entered the Royal Conservatory of Music in 
Leipzig, exempt from technic, under Teichmuller, piano (finishing class), and 
Schreck, theory, received his certificate the following Easter, and left for 
Vienna to study with Godowsky, but arrived too late in the year. Besides 
studying with Pugno, while he was concertizing in Leipzig, Mr. Braun made 
weekly trips to Berlin to study systematic memorizing with Vernon Spencer. 
After touring through France and England he returned to America in the fall 
of 1910. He remained in Philadelphia until the spring of 191 1, going on 
short concert tours through the State ; received an appointment as organist 
and choirmaster of St. Philip's Episcopal Church, Forty-second street and 
Baltimore avenue. West Philadelphia ; and shortly after began to make weekly 
visits to Pottsville to teach a few private pupils. This was the beginning 
of the Braun School of Pianoforte Playing first conducted in his home, at No. 
805 West Market street. It was not long before the school grew to such 
[iroportions as to warrant an assistant. In June, 1912, the school was moved 
to the old Whitney building, formerly occupied by the Pottsville Club, Nos. 
223-223 South Centre street. Its name was changed to "The Braun School 
of Music," and violin and vocal departments were added. This was the first 
school of its kind organized in this section, and at present has a faculty of 
twelve instructors. 
Vol. 11—11 



770 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

At this time Mr. Braun opened a studio in the Greble building at Philadel- 
phia, and later moved to the Estey building, at Seventeenth and Walnut 
streets, where a branch of his school was established. In June, 1913, a 
thrifty branch was opened in Minersville and in November of the same year 
a branch was opened in Reading. At the death of Professor Gerhard, Oct. 7, 
1913, he was appointed conductor of the Gerhard Symphony Orchestra. He 
has been conductor of the Pottsville Liederkranz since 1912, and of the 
Tamaqua Maennerchor since 1914. 

On Monday, June 16, 1913, IMr. Braun married Miss Frances Zerbey, 
daughter of J. H. Zerbey, proprietor and editor of the Pottsville Republican. 
Mrs. Braun is a talented violinist, and she was the first woman to be admitted 
to the bar of Pennsylvania as a full-fledged lawyer. Mr. and Mrs. Braun 
reside at Fifteenth street and Howard avenue, Pottsville. He is a member 
of the Outdoor Club, Pottsville Club and Rotary Club, of Pottsville ; of the 
Musical Art Club and Philadelphia Sketch Club, both of Philadelphia; and of 
the English Lutheran Church, Pottsville. 

JONATHAN BULL, Sr., bears a name which has been respected in Port 
Carbon for three quarters of a century and more. His father, Ross Bull, was 
one of the leading citizens of the borough in his day. Mr. Bull's grandfather 
lived near Springfield, Chester Co., Pa., where he died. By occupation he 
was a blacksmith. 

Ross Bull came to Port Carbon at an early day and here followed his trade 
of shoemaker. He was one of the most effective workers at the time of the 
organization of the borough, in 1852, was honored with election as its first 
chief burgess, and later was elected justice of the peace, filling that office for 
many years. He was also major of the State militia at Port Carbon. He 
assisted in founding the Methodist Church here and was one of its most 
faithful officials, serving as choir leader and for many years was superintend- 
ent of the Sunday school. His death, which occurred Dec. 10, 1892, was 
regarded as a loss to the entire cominunity. He is buried in the Presbyterian 
cemetery at Port Carbon. Mr. Bull married Maria Garis, a native of Berks 
county, Pa., who was the mother of a large family, namely : Thomas G., who 
was one of the "First Defenders" during the Civil war; Sarah, wife of Charles 
Morgan ; Jonathan ; Maria, who died young ; William ; Martha, who married 
James Hess and (second) Ed. Seddon ; Philip; Margaret, who married William 
Fry and (second) Ed. Thomas; James; George; Charles; Lillie, who married 
Thomas Nichols; and Mary, who married Harry DeHaven. 

Jonathan Bull, Sr., was bom Oct. 21, 1839, at Port Carbon, where he was 
reared and educated. During his boyhood he worked for a short time at the 
coal breaker. In 1855 he started to learn the trade of molder at Port Carbon 
and ser\'ed twenty-one months, after which he went to work for his father 
at shoemaking. In 1859 he entered the employ of the Lehigh Valley Railroad 
Company in Easton, Pa., as a blacksmith, remaining there about eighteen 
months, and enlisted at that town in Company C, ist Pennsylvania Regiment, 
upon the first call for troops at the breaking out of the Civil war. Under this 
enlistment he served three months. In 1862, on the emergency call, he enlisted 
in the 4th Pennsylvania Regiment, under Colonel Litzinger and Capt. B. L. 
Eshelman, and served as second sergeant. On his third enlistment he became 
a member of Company A, 39th Pennsylvania Regiment, in which he was third 
sergeant. Later he enlisted in the 7th Pennsylvania Cavaln,- of the Twenty- 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 771 

fourth ward, Philadelphia, and he received his last discharge Aug. 2^, 1865. 
Returning home after the war, Mr. Bull in 1866 entered the employ of the 
Philadelphia & Reading Railway Company at St. Clair, Schuylkill county, and 
he remained in its service for the long period of forty-three years, six months, 
being retired in 1909 with a pension. Lie has since been spending his days in 
leisure at Port Carbon. Mr. Bull has never taken any active part in public 
affairs, but he has been an interested worker in Allison Brothers Post, No. 144, 
G. A. R., of Port Carbon, and is a past official of that organization. 

On June 6, 1863, Mr. Bull married Amanda Maria Kailey, daughter of 
Seteriah Kailey. of Schuylkill county. On June 6, 1913, Mr. and Mrs. Bull 
had the pleasure of celebrating the golden anniversary of their wedding, and 
on that occasion entertained ninety-six relatives at their home in Port Carbon. 
Their children are all living, namely: Margaret, Mrs. William Major; Thomas 
W., who is a resident of Huntington, W. Va. ; Ross, of Port Carbon ; Jonathan, 
Jr., of Port Carbon ; James, of Port Carbon; Elizabeth, Mrs. Robert Hamilton; 
Ida, Mrs. A. L. Fletcher; Carrie, Mrs. Samuel Reeber; Frederick, Howard 
and Amanda, the last three at home. The family are Methodists in religious 
connection. 

PAUL WOLFGANG has been a lifelong resident of Hegins township ana 
is operating a well established business at Valley View, where he has carried 
on a prosperous trade in the manufacture and repair of wagons for a period 
of forty years. His grandfather, Jonas Wolfgang, was a farmer in the Alahan- 
tongo valley, in this section of Schuylkill county, many years ago, and there 
John Wolfgang, father of Paul, was born. 

John Wolfgang also followed farming most of his life. He moved eventu- 
ally into the town of Valley View, where he purchased the home which he 
occupied until his death. He was in the Union army during the latter part of 
the Civil war, serving from Hegins township. He married Sophia Upde- 
grave, who was born in Hubley township, this county, where her father, Henry 
Updegrave, passed all his life. He was a farmer and shoemaker by occupa- 
tion. Mrs. Wolfgang died at Valley View, in the house where her son Paul 
now lives. 

Paul Wolfgang was born in Hegins township, where he was reared and 
educated, attending the public schools. During his boyhood and early youth 
he did farm work, and he learned his trade with Jacob Wolfgang. For a short 
time after completing his apprenticeship he remained working for Mr. Wolf- 
gang, but he commenced working on his own account over forty years ago, 
and during all that time has been engaged principally in the manufacture of 
wagons. He has become known as an all-around reliable mechanic in his line, 
and the long continued patronage of many of his customers is sufficient to 
show their appreciation of his thorough workmanship. Personally, he enjoys 
the same high standing in all his associations. He is a trustee of the LTnited 
Brethren Church, of which he and his wife are devoted members. 

When twenty-one years old Mr. Wolfgang married Catherine Schwalm, a 
native of Hegins township, this county, where her parents, Samuel and Eliza- 
beth (Klinger) Schwalm, were also born. Mr. Schwalm was a farmer. He 
was a Civil war veteran, having been a captain in the 50th Regiment, Penn- 
sylvania Volunteer Infantry. He is survived by Mrs. Schwalm, who is now 
(1915) eighty-six years old. Four children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. 
Wolfgang: Isabella, the eldest, is now the wife of William Troutman, of 



772 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

Hegins township; Amelia is married to J. G. Romberger, a miller, of Hegins 
township; Mary is the wife of John Rickert, of Valley View; Clara is the 
wife of Charles M. Underkoffler, of Valley View. 

Charles M. Underkoffler, son-in-law of Paul Wolfgang, was reared 
and educated in Valley \'iew, and is now doing business there in association 
with his father-in-law, Mr. Wolfgang, being a wheelwright by calling. He 
learned the trade at Valley \'iew. He is well and favorably known in this 
section, a leading member of the P. O. S. of A. camp of the town, which he 
is at present serving in the capacity of treasurer. 

SAMUEL QUICK, of Butler township, bought the farm he now occupies 
thirty years ago, and has been devoting his time to its cultivation with very 
satisfactory results. With the exception of five years in California, during 
his early manhood, he has passed his life in Schuylkill county, and by wisely 
directed energy he has become one of the well-to-do agriculturists of his 
section. 

Born March 13, 1842, at Pottsville, Mr. Quick is a son of Samuel and 
Maria (Stephens) Quick, natives of England, who came to this country in 
1837. At that time they had one child. Locating first in Philadelphia, Pa., 
they subsequently removed to Pottsville, Pa., Mr. Quick being a miner by 
occupation. Thence they removed to Ashland, this county, where Mr. Quick 
remained until his death. His wife died in California while visiting her 
son Samuel. Of the children born to Samuel and Maria Quick, fourteen in all, 
only two sur\'ive, James and Samuel, the former a resident of Columbia county. 

In 1856 Samuel Quick accompanied his father to Ashland, where he spent 
the next few years. Reared and educated at Pottsville, he began work in the 
mines when a boy, and was thus engaged for some time. In i860 he went out 
to California, where he spent about five years, returning to Schuylkill county 
in 1865. Becoming engaged in teaming in Girardville, this county, he contin- 
ued to follow that occupation until 1882. In 1884 he bought his present farm 
in Butler township, which he has operated continuously since. His industry 
and systematic attention to its cultivation have been well rewarded, and his 
useful life has earned him the regard of all who know him. 

In 1867 Mr. Quick was married to Ann Harlan, who was born at Centralia, 
Columbia county, where her parents resided. Thirteen children have been 
born to Mr. and Mrs. Quick, of whom eight survive, five sons and three 
daughters: Samuel, living at home; William, of Mahanoy City, this county; 
Aaron, of Ashland; Hannibal, of Mahanoy City; John, located at Harrisburg; 
Maria, of Pottsville, wife of John Trout ; Anna Jane, married to R. Seitzinger ; 
and Sallie, wife of Gustav Klase. 

JOHN IFFERT, late of Rush township, was in his day one of the foremost 
citizens in that part of Schuylkill county. His high character made him uni- 
versally respected, and his industrious 'life brought him prosperity, the sub- 
stantial reward of thrift and energy well directed. 

Mr. Iffert was a German by birth and grew to manhood in his native land, 
coming to America at the age of nineteen years. During most of his residence 
in this country he was a citizen of Schuylkill county, Pa., first settling at 
Tamaqua. While there he followed mining, at which he was also employed 
after his removal to Wilkes- Barre, Pa. Later he was engaged in farming at 
Wilkes-Barre, whence he removed to Locust \'alley, in Ryon township, Schuyl- 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 773 

kill county, remaining there one year. He then bought the Neifert homestead 
in Rush township, this county, a tract of about sixty-five acres, where he passed 
the rest of his hfe, dying there April 13. 1905. Mr. Iffert was buried in the 
cemetery of the White Church, in which con^Tcgation he had been an active 
worker, having served as deacon for thirty years. 

In Taniaqua Mr. liifert married Martha Vurburg, who was born in Ger- 
many and came to America when twenty-one years old, and she survived her 
husband, passing away Sept. 9, 1914, at the age of eighty-one years. She is 
also buried at the White Church, in Rush township. The following children 
were born to this worthy couple: ( i ) William, who is engaged in business 
as a merchant at Tamanend, this count}', married Louisa Zimmerman, and they 
have three children, Jacob, Susan and Annie. (2) Mary married Henry 
Hauck, and is living at Tamanend. They have had two children, Frederick 
and Clarence, both deceased. (3) Henry, now a resident of Hazleton. Pa., 
married Elizabeth Bauchman, and their children are Adam, Harry, Florence, 
Clayton, Irene. Walter and Helen. (4) Christine is the wife of Henry Krouse, 
of Ryon township, and has children. Gertrude, John and Martha. (5) John 
F. P. is proprietor of the "Stone Tavern" in Rush township. He married 
Ella Gearhart. and their children are Bessie and Elmer. (6) Conrad is a fore- 
man in the Bethlehem steel plant. He married Emma Herring, but they have 
no children. (7) .Annie is the wife of Martin Fritz. (8) Martha married 
Thomas Kearns and has three children. Earl, Harold and Mildred. They live 
in Philadelphia. 

M.^RTiN Fritz, who now owns and occupies the old homestead of his father- 
in-law, John Ififert, in Rush township, was born Sept. 22, 1876. His father, 
Henry Fritz, lived and died at Locust \'alley, in Ryon township, and worked 
by the day. He married Angeline Bankes, who also died there, and they were 
the parents of a large family : Malinda, Henry, Frank, Joseph. Jane. Lucy, 
Annie, Martin, Alvin and Gabriel. 

Martin Fritz had ordinary common school advantages in his boyhood and 
was trained to farm work from his youth. At an early age he began to work 
for John Iffert, by whom he was employed for seventeen years, a fact which 
speaks well for his capability and diligence, which were much appreciated by 
Mr. Ififert. He and his wife now own the Ififert homestead, which they occupy, 
and he gives all his time to farming, in which he has met with unusual success. 
He is held in high esteem by his neighbors and friends everywhere. Air. Fritz 
is a member of the P. O. S. of A., but he pays little attention to alifairs outside 
of his home interests. 

Mr. Fritz married Annie Iffert, daughter of John Iffert, and three children 
have been born to them : Clarence, Arthur and H. Russell. 

ALBERT L. MOSER has an up-to-date farm and home in Union town- 
ship and is considered one of the most enterprising agriculturists of that sec- 
tion. He belongs to an old family of Berks county. Pa., and his ancestors for 
generations have been prosperous farmers. 

William Moser, grandfather of Albert L. Moser. was bom in Albany 
township, Berks county, where he spent all his life. He farmed a tract of 
150 acres. The Mosers are Lutherans, and he belonged to St. Jacob's Church 
at Jacksonville, which is just across the line in Lehigh county. He took an 
active part in its work, and he and his wife are buried there. In politics he 
became a Republican when the tum in national affairs drew him into sympathy 



774 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

with the principles of that party. His wife's maiden name was Kuntz, and 
they had the following children : James, deceased, a farmer and miller in 
North Union township, Schuylkill county, who married Cordelia Wanamaker 
(she lived at Allentown, Pa.) ; Thomas, deceased ; Charles ; William K. ; Albert, 
who died when about twenty years old ; Ellen ; Mary ; Kate ; Sarah ; Amanda ; 
and Lucy. 

W'illiam K. Moser, father of Albert L. Moser, was born in Albany town- 
ship, Berks county, near the Lehigh county line, and attended school in Lehigh 
county. He followed agriculture and sawmilling, having two farms in Albany 
township, and lived to be about sixty-seven years old. Like his father he was 
a very zealous member of St. Jacob's Lutheran Church at Jacksonville, and a 
Republican in his political convictions. He married Sarah Lutz, who was 
also born in Albany township, where her family were farming people, and 
she died in 1913, when about seventy-one years old. Mr. and Mrs. Moser are 
buried at St. Jacob's Church. They had children as follows : William, who 
married Carrie Stroup, lives at Chester, Pa. ; Edward married Mabel Christ 
and lives at Steinsville, Pa. ; Robert, married to Anna Colver, is living at Read- 
ing, Pa. ; Albert L. is next in the family ; Lena is the wife of Francis Keller, 
of Reading ; Clara is married to Lewis Lenhart, of Reading ; Nellie and Daisy 
also live in Reading. 

Albert L. Moser was born May 12, 1874, in Albany township, Berks county, 
and obtained his schooling at the neighboring town of Steinsville, across the 
line in Lehigh county. Up to the age of twenty years he gave his services 
to his father at home, and after that worked one year on the home place for 
wages. Then for nearly a year he was in the employ of his uncle, James Moser, 
at Zion Grove, in North Union towniship, Schuylkill county, and for the three 
years following was a tenant on his uncle's farm, which he operated on shares. 
Buying a farm from Fred Hosier, he settled at Zion Grove and followed gen- 
eral farming on his own account, having a tract of 102 acres, of which all 
but twenty were cleared. For eleven years he continued to operate that place, 
which he then rented for two years, on shares, at the end of that tiine selling 
it to Cyrus Moyer. In March, 191 1, Mr. Moser bought his present farm in 
Union township' from Nathan Fitzgibbons, and he has been living there since 
and devoting his time to its cultivation. At the time he purchased the place 
it comprised 213 acres, of which 113 acres were cleared, the balance covered 
with sprouts, and he has sold fifty-four acres of the sprout land to the Girard 
Estate Water Company. His cleared land is planted in general crops, and he 
has been especially successful in growing potatoes, cabbages and other vege- 
tables. He attends market at Shenandoah. Mr. Moser has made remarkable 
progress in the improvement of the property during the few years it has been 
in his possession. He has remodeled the dwelling, and eqtiipped it with all the 
modern conveniences, running water, hot water heat, gaslight, etc., and he has 
been equally enterprising about putting the other buildings into excellent shape, 
everything about the place being kept in the good condition which he has found 
to be profitable economy. His fellow citizens availed thernselves of his serv- 
ices for different purposes, and he served them very efiliciently as road com- 
missioner. He is a Republican and was much interested in politics, taking 
an active part in local elections, at which he served as judge and inspector. He 
belongs to the Mount Zion Lutheran Church at Zion Grove, in North Union 
township, and was one of the deacons. 

When twenty years old Mr. Moser was married to Millie Geneva Oswald, 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 775 

who was born Sept. 3, 1877, at Lyiinport, Lehigh county, where she was brought 
up and educated. She lived at home until her marriage. Like her husband 
she is a member of the Mount Zion Lutheran Church. They are the parents of 
five children: George Raymond, born March 28, 1895; Pearl Cleo, May 26, 
1900; Ralph Lewis, Oct. 22, 1902; May Ella, Jan. 10, 1910; and Ohve Oswald, 
Dec. 22, 191 1. They are all still at home. George was educated in the John- 
son school at Zion Grove, and the others have attended in Union township. 

Samuel Oswald, grandfather of Mrs. Moser, was born at Lynnport, Lehigh 
Co., Pa., where he farmed all his life, living to seventy-four years of age. 
His wife, whose maiden name was Catherine Fetherolf, died when seventy- 
one years old, and they were the parents of four children : Edward, who is 
deceased; Lewis; Kate, wife of Charles Kressley, of Jacksonville, Lehigh 
Co., Pa. ; and Mary, living at Jacksonville. The parents are buried at 
St. Jacob's Reformed Church, and Mr. Oswald was an active member of that 
organization. Politically he was a Republican. 

Lewis Oswald was born Sept. 12, 1842, at Lynnport, where he grew to 
manhood and received his education. He worked on the farm for his father 
until twenty years of age, was married two years later, and became a well 
known farmer and merchant of that locality, buying a farm of over one hun- 
dred acres at Lynnport, where he also had a general store and served for many 
years as postmaster. After conducting his farm and store for a number of 
years he sold out, and though he is now doing a little huckstering is prac- 
tically retired. He is a stanch Republican in politics, and a member of St. 
Jacob's Reformed Church at Jacksonville, where he and his wife attend serv- 
ices. Mr. Oswald married Mary Ann Faust, who was born April 12, 1843, 
in Albany township, Berks Co., Pa., and they have a family of five children: 
Charles Samuel, who is now carrying on his father's old business at Lynn- 
port, married Messina Smith ; Ellen Jane is the wife of Wilson Werley, of 
Bernville, Berks county; Lena Alice is married to Nathaniel Shearer, of 
Lynnport; Millie Geneva is the wife of Albert L. Moser; Cora Mamie is the 
wife of William Mader, of Roscoe, South Dakota. 

Charles Faust, Mrs. Oswald's father, was a farmer in Albany township, 
owning a large tract of land, and spent all his life in that section. He and 
his wife are buried at the New Bethel Church in that township, and he was 
one of the leading workers in the Reformed congregation of that church. In 
political faith he was a Republican. He married Mary Ann Zettlemoyer, and 
their children were : Amandus, who married Eliza Trexler ; Albert, who 
married MaHnda Sechler; James, who married Kate Christ; Sarah, Mrs. EHas 
Fetherolf; Cordelia, Mrs. Isaac Deisher; Ellen, Mrs. Obediah Shuler; Malinda, 
Mrs. John Hunsicker; Jeanetta, Mrs. Samuel Loy ; Mary Ann, Mrs. Lewis 
Oswald; and Mrs. Isaac Smith. 

THOMAS A. FARRELL is one of the popular residents of Middleport, 
where he is serving his fellow citizens at present in the capacities of post- 
master and justice of the peace. Mr. Farrell belongs to the third generation 
of his family resident at that place, his grandfather, James Farrell, having 
settled there in 1845. 

Tames Farrell was a native of County Carlow, Ireland, and in 1832 landed 
at Quebec, Canada. From there he went to Steuben county, N. Y., and in 
1844 settled at Pottsville, Schuylkill Co., Pa., where he did not remain long, 
removing thence to Middleport, where he made his permanent home. By 



776 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

trade he was a butcher, but he did not follow that calling long, working at the 
mines after locating at Middleport. He died there in 1878, at the age of 
seventy years. His children were ; Matthew, James T., Andrew, John and 
William. Of these, James T. Farrell became a member of Company E, of 
the famous 48th Regiment of Pennsylvania, and was wounded in the second 
battle of Bull Run, dying in the Eighth Street hospital, at Washington, D. C, 
Sept. 25, 1862. He is buried at Port Carbon, this county. His nephew, Thomas 
A. Farrell, has in his possession several letters that he wrote home during his 
service in the army. 

Andrew Farrell, son of James Farrell, was born in Steuben county, N. Y., 
and came to Schuylkill county with his parents. He was a mine worker all 
his life, employed at the Big Vein, and made his home at Middleport, where 
he died June 16, 1910. His brother William died June i8th, and they were 
buried at New Philadelphia, in one grave. Andrew Farrell married Catherine 
Muldowney, who survived him nearly five years, passing away Feb. 21, 1915, 
and is buried at New Philadelphia. Nine children were born to this marriage: 
James, Mary, Thomas A., William, Ellen, Sarah, Lucy C. (deceased), Andrew 
and Matthew. 

Thomas A. Farrell was born Nov. 28, 1876, at Middleport, and attended 
the public schools of Blythe township. V\'hen a boy he began picking slate 
at the Big Vein breaker, where he was employed for twenty-six years in all, 
during sixteen years of that time having charge of the lamps. He also ran 
a pump and hoisting engine there. In 1914 he made a change, taking his pres- 
ent position at the Maryd colliery. Mr. Farrell has always maintained an 
interest in local affairs, working zealously in the furtherance of good move- 
ments, and he has been active in the Democratic party, in whose councils he 
has served as committeeman. In 191 1 he was elected justice of the peace, and 
on Oct. 13, 1913, he was appointed postmaster at Middleport. continuing to 
fill both positions, in which he has given general satisfaction by his conscientious 
attention to their duties. In his various associations he has made numerous 
friends in his section of Schuylkill county. 

Mr. Farrell married Rose E. Gallagher, daughter of Daniel and Mary 
(Tolan) Gallagher, and they have had two children, Andrew and Thomas; 
Andrew died Nov. 4, 1915. 

ANDREW W. HUBER, of Pine Grove, is one of a numerous family whose 
members have shown themselves worthy of the high regard in which they are 
held in that borough. He is a native of Pine Grove, born July 4, 1844, son 
of Isaac and Elizabeth (Minnick) Huber and grandson of John Huber, one 
of the pioneers of this section. By occupation John Huber was a farmer. 
Washington Huber, a resident of Harrisburg, Pa., is now the only sur^'ivor 
of his family of ten children, viz.: John, Jacob, Isaac, William, Jefferson, 
Washington, David, Mary, Rachel and Sarah. 

Isaac Huber was born in 181 7 in Pine Valley, Schuylkill county, and died 
Oct 24, 1896, in Pine Grove, at the age of seventy-nine years. He was en- 
gaged at mine work near that borough. His wife, Elizabeth (Minnick), was 
born Feb 15, 1820, in Schuylkill county, and reached the age of ninety-two 
years, dying July 9. 1912. She was a daughter of John Minnick, also a native 
of Schuylkill county, a wheelwright and farmer, who was the father of eight 
children Mrs. Huber's brothers and sisters being: John, Jonathan, Henry (a 
half brother), Dena, Barbara, Kate and Mary (a half sister) ; Henry, Barbara 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 777 

and Mary are still living. To Mr. and Mrs. Isaac Huber were born the fol- 
lowing children : Andrew W. ; William A., who died Nov. 1 1, 191 1 ; Isaac A., 
a resident of Tremont, Schuylkill county ; Mary, deceased, who was the wife 
of William Heimbach ; Lilla, widow of George W. Stuckey, of Harrisburg; 
Ellen, wife of Walter Miller, of Omaha, Nebr. ; and Laura, widow of Edward 
Zimmerman, of Bristol, Pennsylvania. 

Andrew W. Huber was reared and educated at Pine Grove, and upon leav- 
ing school began work at the mines. For a number of years he was employed 
by the Philadelphia & Reading Company in different capacities, for several 
years before his retirement being engaged as engineer at one of the collieries. 
For thirteen years he held the position of loader boss at the Lincoln colliery. 
During the last few years he has been living in comparative retirement, enjoy- 
ing well earned rest after a life of steady industry and conscientious attention 
to duty. He is serving as janitor of the Pine Grove borough annex school. 

In June, 1863, Mr. Huber enlisted from Pine Grove in Company H, 30th 
Pennsylvania \^olunteer Infantry, under Col. James Nagle, and after serv- 
ing that term reenlisted, in August, 1864, joining Company G, 7th Pennsyl- 
vania Cavalry, with which he served to the close of the war. His command 
was attached to the Army of the Cumberland, and he participated in eight 
important battles: Vinnings Station, Ga. ; Columbia, Oct. i, 1864; Rome, Ga. ; 
Leeds Cross Roads, Nov. i, 1864; Bardstown, Ky., Dec. 29, 1864; Selma, Ala.; 
Columbia, Ga., April 16, 1865 ; and Macon, Ga., May 5, 1865. He was dis"- 
charged at Nashville, Tenn., June 23, 1865, by reason of the close of the war, 
and returned to his home and his work, proving his good citizenship as much 
in his private life as in his military service. He is the present commander of 
Wolf Post, No. 203, G. A. R., of Pine Grove ; has been a member of the 
P. O. S. of A. since 1869 ; and belongs to the Independent Order of Ameri- 
cans. He has served his fellow citizens at Pine Grove on the board of health, 
of which he is still a member. For fourteen years Mr. Huber was a member 
of the famous Huber Band of Pine Grove, which had fourteen Hubers in its 
membership. He has been quite prominent in the local Evangelical Church, 
which he has served as trustee, and his wife also belongs to that congregation. 

On Nov. 3, 1866, Mr. Huber married Lizzie A. Berger, a native of Wayne 
township, this county, daughter of Daniel and Eva (Auman) Berger and 
granddaughter of Henry and Elizabeth (Mumbeck) Berger, who lived in 
Williamsport, Pa. Henry Berger died there, his wife passing away near 
Reading, Pa. They had two children, Daniel and Mary, both now deceased. 
Daniel Berger was born in this section, possibly in Wayne township, and died 
Oct. 24, 1907, when eighty-t\vo years old. He was a plasterer, and also owned 
a farm. His wife, Eva (Auman), was born in this section of Schuylkill county, 
and died Feb. 11, 1859. She was a daughter of Daniel and Elizabeth ( Goliff ) 
Auman, who had a family of eight children: Eva, Mrs. Berger; Jacob; Solo- 
mon; Gabriel; Hannah; Kate; Julia, and Harriet. To Mr. and Mrs. Daniel 
Berger were born six children: Mrs. Huber; Levi, of Pottsville, Pa.; Henry, 
of Lisbon, Iowa; Rebecca, the wife of Samuel Mangle, of Auburn, Pa.; Ella, 
wife of Henry Zweizig; and Mary, widow of Frank Burkhiser, living in the 
State of Indiana. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Huber have been born two children: (i) Agnes, the 
eldest, is the wife of Frank Harvey, of Pine Grove, and they have two children, 
Myrtle and Olive ; Myrtle is the wife of Howard Hughes, of Pine Grove, and 
they have one son, Luther; Olive is the widow of Harry Christ. (2) Gertrude 



778 . SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

is the widow of Peter Hehn, wlio was a hotelkeeper of Landingville, this 
county, and has two children, Agnes (wife of John Peiffer, of Auburn) and 
Robert. Mr. and Mrs. Hubert have also raised an adopted son, Benjamin H., 
who still lives at Pine Grove ; he married Lillie Stahler, of Cressona, and they 
have two children, Ruth M. and Paul A. 

SAMUEL MOORE has been a lifelong resident of Schuylkill couiity, and 
since September, 1909, has been stationed at Port Carbon as superintendent 
of the mines of the Port Carbon Coal Company, independent operators. He 
has been a mine worker from boyhood, is thoroughly familiar with the busi- 
ness, and is widely and favorably known in that connection all over the 
county. 

Mr. Moore was born Aug. 14, 1873, '^^ Tremont, Schuylkill county, son of 
Richard Moore, a native of England, who has lived in this country since two 
years old. Mr. Moore began picking slate at the North Franklin colliery in 
boyhood, and eventually became a full-fledged miner, following this work for a 
period of twenty-eight years. He then gave up mine work, moving to Philadel- 
phia, Pa., where he is now employed at the Midvale Steel works. He married 
Harriet Faust, daughter of the well known Samuel Faust, and member of a 
family which has long been prominent in the southern part of Schuylkill county, 
and they became the parents of the following children : Samuel, Mary, Emma, 
Sadie, Elizabeth, Minnie, William and Edward (who died in infancy). 

Samuel Moore received his education in the public schools of Tremont and 
Minersville, this county. His first work was picking slate at the Lincoln 
colliery. After a time he became pumpman and engineer, and when com- 
petent was promoted to foreman, his first position of that kind being at the 
Crystal Run colliery, where he remained for nine years. In September, 1907, 
he came to Port Carbon, where he took charge of the mines of the Port Car- 
bon Coal Company, operated by Slattery Brothers. They ship a very fine 
grade of coal, and the works are ranked among the most successful in this 
district. The development of the workings has gone forward steadily under 
Mr. Moore's efficient management, and the highly satisfactory conditions which 
prevail at the mines are credited to his good judgment and superior executive 
ability. Since assuming his present duties Mr. Moore has made his home at 
Port Carbon, where he has many friends. Formerly he resided at Frack- 
ville, this county, and he was considered one of the most valuable citizens of 
that borough, where he served his fellow citizens as councilman for nine 
years, and had the honor of being president of the council. Fraternally he 
holds membership in the Jr. O. U. A. M. and the Royal Arcanum. The family 
are Lutherans in religious connection. 

Mr. Moore married Carrie Reber, daughter of William Reber, of Schuyl- 
kill county, and children as follows have been bom to this marriage : Harriet, 
George, Clair, Olive, Mary, Ruth, and Harvey. 

JOHN F. HANNEY has been a prosperous blacksmith of Pottsville, Pa., 
for over twenty years, having combined skillful workmanship with excellent 
business methods in acquiring a profitable patronage. He and his brother are 
doing business together under the style of Hanney Brothers, and their estab- 
lishment, at No. 551 North Centre street, is wfell equipped for prompt atten- 
tion to all customers. 

The Hanney brothers are sons of John Hanney, a native of County Galway, 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 779 

Ireland, who was a young man when he came to America and settled in Nor- 
wegian township, Schuylkill Co., Pa., near Pottsville. The father followed 
mining throughout his active years. He became very well known in this part 
of Schuylkill county, having served his township for thirty years as tax col- 
lector, and he also lield the county office of jury commissioner, giving the 
public good service in both capacities. Politically he was a Democrat. He 
and his wife, Mary (Cumings), died at their home in Norwegian township. 
They had the following children : Catherine, Patrick, Sarah, Thomas, Martin, 
Edward J., John F. and Mary. 

Edward J. Hanney, son of John, above, was born at the homestead in 
Norwegian township in 1863, and worked at the mines for several years before 
learning the blacksmith's trade, beginning as a slate picker. He learned his 
trade wnth Joseph Schablein, with whom he remained two and a half years, 
and in 1892 he engaged in business with his brother, John F. Mr. Hanney 
has been prominent in local affairs, particularly as a member of the township 
school board, on which he has served for twenty-five years, part of the time 
acting as president and also as secretary. Politically he is a Democrat. Mr. 
Hanney is unmarried and makes his home with his brother John. 

John F. Hanney was born March 3, 1867, in Norwegian township, Schuyl- 
kill county, near Pottsville, and obtained his education in the local public 
schools. When a boy he began picking slate at the Wadesville colliery in New 
Castle township, continuing at this work for about four years. Subsequently 
he drove mules at the colliery for a time, till he began to learn the trade of 
horseshoer with Thomas Brennan, of Pottsville. After four years in Mr. 
Brennan's employ he spent a short time in Philadelphia, was later employed 
for about one year in a lumber camp in Potter county, Pa., at his trade, and 
then returned to Pottsville, where he and his brother started their present 
business in 1892. Thoroughly conversant with all the needs of their business, 
they have given solicitous attention to all their patrons, who have showed 
due appreciation of the high-class service which may be obtained at their estab- 
lishment. Mr. Hanney has taken considerable interest in keeping abreast of 
the times in his line, and he is a prominent member of the Master Horseshoers' 
Association of Pottsville, of which he is at present financial secretary. Move- 
ments for development in any line have also had his hearty support, but he has 
never cared for public office, preferring to do his share by choosing reliable 
officials and supporting good causes with his influence. Politically he is a 
Democrat. He and his family belong to St. Patrick's Roman Catholic Church. 

In 1904 Mr. Hanney married Florence V. Carr, daughter of John Carr, of 
Schuylkill Haven, and they are the parents of five children, namely : Esther 
and Edward, who are attending school ; John ; Thomas ; and Martin, who died 
March 10, 1914, when he was one year, six months old. 

Jx\MES CURRAN, of Gordon, Schuylkill Co., Pa., now living retired 
after" fifty years' service in the employ of the Philadelphia & Reading Rail- 
way Company, was born in Ireland in October, 1830. His parents, Edward 
and Catherine (Cowan) Curran, were natives of King's County, Ireland, where 
they died. John Curran. the paternal grandfather of James, lived to the age 
of 105, while his wife reached the still greater age of 108 years. 

James Curran came from Ireland to America in 1849, landing at New 
York City on April 8th of that year. He remained there but a short time, 
before the end of the year going to Port Carbon, Schuylkill county, and from 



780 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

there to Carlisle, Pa. In 1854, when the Indians of the West became trouble- 
some, Mr. Curran enlisted in the United States army, serving until the end 
of the disturbances. He then came to St. Clair, Schuylkill county, where 
he went to work for the Philadelphia & Reading Railway Company, during 
the next four years assisting in the construction of the road, being foreman 
of a construction crew. After the completion of the work he came to Gordon, 
where he continued work for the same company until he had rounded out a 
service of fifty years, when he was pensioned. 

In i860 James Curran was married to Anna Riley, daughter of Bartlett 
and Anna (Murphy) Riley, natives of Ireland, who emigrated to America in 
an early day. The father returned to Ireland, where he died, but the mother 
passed away in this country. Mrs. James Curran died in November, 1904. 
She was the mother of children as follows : Katherine, deceased ; Mary, 
widow of Michael Conway, who has two children, James and Margaret (Mrs. 
Conway is housekeeper for her father) ; James, postmaster at Gordon ; Edward, 
Julia and James, all deceased. Mr. Curran is now the only member of his 
parents' family alive, and coming of a remarkably long-lived race, he bids fair 
to hold their record for age and vitahty. He and his family have always been 
devout members of the Roman Catholic Church. 

EDW'ARD SHOENER, at present an official of Orwigsburg, is a native 
of West Brunswick township, this county, and a member of one of the old 
families of that section. The family is of German extraction, and his first 
ancestors in America settled in Berks county, Pa., the branch here under con- 
sideration moving to southern Schuylkill county, where its members have 
been prominent for many years. 

John Shoener, grandfather of Edward Shoener, followed farming in West 
Brunswick township, and was a highly respected man ih his neighborhood. 
He died upon his farm, and is buried in the Reformed cemetery at Orwigs- 
burg. His children were : Henry, John, Daniel, \\'illiam, Jacob, Anna and 
Susanna. 

Henry Shoener, son of John, was born July 23, 1813, in West Brunswick 
township, and died Jan. 20, 1890. He is buried with his wife in the Reformed 
cemetery at Orwigsburg. He followed farming in his native township, clear- 
ing part of his land, and was a well known man of his day. His wife, Christiana 
(Schipe), daughter of Henry Schipe, was bom Dec. 31, 1818, and died Oct. 
6, 1891. Her father died Nov. 25, 1879. Mr. and Mrs. Shoener had a large 
family, viz. : Lewis, Caroline, Joseph, Edward, William, John, Charles, Albert, 
Daniel, Thomas, Clara and Mary. 

Edward Shoener was born April i, 1844, in West Brunswick township, 
and obtained his education there in the public schools. He was a youth of 
nineteen when he enlisted for service in the Civil war, joining Company I, 
48th Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, with which he served eighteen 
months, being in the army until the close of the war. Among the battles in 
which he took part were those of the Wilderness, Spottsylvania Court House, 
North Anna River, Cold Harbor, Shady Grove, Poplar Road Church, and the 
actions around Petersburg, including the mine explosion. After the war he 
returned home and for a short time was engaged in agricultural work, subse- 
quently spending two years as an employe in the coal mines. Then he engaged 
in the contracting and building business at Orwigsburg, where he put up many 
residences and also the first factory of the H. S. Albright Shoe Company. 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYL\^'\NL\ 781 

There are many barns of his construction in southern Schuylkill county. He 
retired from the contracting business in 1907, but he has not withdrawn 
entirely from acti\e life, still holding the office of tax collector for the borough, 
which office he has filled for the last twenty-five years. He has had other con- 
nections with the administration of the municipal government, having served 
one year as chief burgess, one year as assessor and eight years as special police- 
man, to which position he was appointed. Politically he is a Republican, and 
prominent in the local activities of the party. He is a member of the Reformed 
Church, of the Independent Americans, and of Jere Helms Post, No. 26, G. 
A. R., of Schuylkill Haven. There are few citizens in Orwigsburg or that 
vicinity more generally known. 

Mr. Shoener married Carrie E. Porter, daughter of Plini Porter, and they 
have had two children : Plini, deceased ; and Elizabeth, wife of Morton Zulick, 
an electrician, of New York City. 

FRANKLIN WAGNER, a resident of Pine Grove since 1891, is now 
enjoying his leisure years after an industrious early career. He has spent all 
his life in Schuylkill county, having been bom June 6, 1843, ■" Washington 
township, where he lived until his removal to Pine Grove, with the exception 
of the period of his absence while in the army during the Civil war. He is 
a son of Philip Wagner and grandson of a pioneer of the county, a substantial 
agriculturist of his day. 

Philip Wagner was born in Washington township, where he followed 
farming, as well as his trade of plasterer, all his life. His wife, Susan (Har- 
ring), was also a native of Washington township, where her father was an 
early settler and farmer. Mr. and Mrs. Wagner had a family of eleven chil- 
dren : Lydia, now deceased ; Louis, deceased ; Mary, deceased ; Franklin ; 
John, deceased ; Eliza, wife of George Moyer, of Washington township ; Jona- 
than, who lives on the old homestead in that township ; Susan, wife of Fred- 
erick Theil, of Lebanon. Pa. ; Henry, living in Washington township ; Tillie, 
wife of Jacob Knausz, of Lebanon; and Emma, wife of Reuben Keefer, of 
Pine Gro\e township. 

Franklin W^agner was reared on the home farm in Washington township 
and attended the local schools in his boyhood. When he took up the business 
of earning a livelihood on his own account he did farm work for one year, and 
then learned his father's trade, plastering, at which he was profitably engaged 
until his retirement, meantime, in 1891, settling at Pine Grove, where he has 
had his home since. High class work and dependable service were at the 
foundation of his success and drew a patronage which kept him busy as long 
as he continued at his calling. He has had a thoroughly domestic life, his only 
association outside of his business being hi-- nunilicr>hip in Wolf Post, No. 203, 
G. A. R. (which he is serving as officer of the day I, and in Salem Lutheran 
Church in Washington township. He is entitled to connection with the Grand 
Army by reason of his two terms of ser^'ice during the Civil war. During the 
emergency of 1863 he enlisted in Company F, 26th Pennsylvania Regiment, 
and on Feb. i, 1864. he joined Company F, ii6th Pennsylvania \'olunteer 
Infantry, with which he served until the close of the war. He was mustered 
out at W'ashington July 14, 1865, with the rank of corporal, to which he had 
been promoted June i, 1865, and was honorably discharged at Washington 
July 24. 1865. His command was attached to the 2d Corps, Army of the 
Potomac, and he saw service in a number of important engagements, including 



782 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

the Wilderness, Spottsylvania, Po River, Todd's Tavern, North Anna River, 
Pamunkey River, Tolopotomy, Cold Harbor, Williams Farm, Deep Bottom, 
Strawberry Plains, Hatcher's Run, Dabney's Mill, Sunderland Station, Amelia 
Court House, Sailor's Creek, Farmville and Appomattox. 

Returning home at the end of his military service, Mr. Wagner was mar- 
ried shortly afterwards, in 1866, to Elizabeth Kemmerling, who was born in 
Washington township, daughter of Jonathan and Salome (Fenstermacher) 
Kemmerling. She died May 14, 1882, the mother of four children: Louisa 
A.; Mary, wife of Charles Schwambach, of Reading; Alice, wife of George 
Schneck, of Washington township; and Eva Savannah, deceased. 

ROBERT W. C. HOOPER, late of Pottsville, was one of the most 
respected citizens of that borough throughout his residence there. A native 
of Cornwall, England, he was a son of Robert Hooper, who lived and died in 
Cornwall. 

Mr. Hooper learned the trade of blacksmith, and after settling at Pottsville, 
Schuylkill Co., Pa., was engaged as such in the Reading shops, where his skill 
as a mechanic and admirable personal character made him valued as a reliable 
employe. For twenty years he served as a local preacher of the Methodist 
Church in Pottsville, and was specially well known in that capacity, having 
been an earnest Bible student and a forceful speaker. Local public affairs also 
came in for a share of his attention, and at the time of his death he was serving 
as a member of the borough council, in which position he acquitted himself 
honorably and to the thorough satisfaction of his fellow citizens. Politically 
he was a Republican. He died at his home in Pottsville, No. 1 107 West Market 
street, Feb. 9, 1898, aged fifty-eight years. 

Mr. Hooper was married in England to Alary J. Spry, daughter of Richard 
and Ann (Job) Spry. Like her husband she was born in Cornwall, England, 
and three of her children were born in that country, the family coming to 
America in September, 1868. They landed at Castle Garden, N. Y., and lived 
at various locations for a number of years before coming to Pottsville. Mrs. 
Hooper continues to reside in her home there with her daughter, Mrs. Miller. 
Five children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Hooper, namely: (i) William 
John Spry, born Nov. 6, 1859, is now employed as a foreman in the Baldwin 
Locomotive Works at Philadelphia. He married Mary Casper, and they 
reside in Philadelphia. They have two children. May and Susanna, who are 
married respectively to Harry Snyder and John Snyder, brothers. (2) Ann 
Job, born Oct. 16, i860, is the wife of Edwin Miller, of Pottsville, Pa., wire 
clerk for the Western Union Telegraph Company at this point. They live 
with her mother, Mrs. Hooper. (3) Josephine, born Jan. 8, 1863, is the widow 
of James Buddell, and resides at Pottsville. She has a family of six children: 
Robert Hooper, Annie Laverne (Mrs. Roy Hartranft), Beatrice Josepha 
(Mrs. Julian Schwartzwald), Clair, Winifred and Evelyn. (4) Robert, born 
Jan. 22, 1S74, is a linotype operator at Jersey City. He married Martha 
Gutzell. (5) Mary Winifred, born Nov. 20, 1876, died Oct. 10, 1901. She 
was the wife of Charles Alter. 



Ananias and Ann Job had the following children, all bom in England: 
Ananias, Feb. 28, 1784"; Mary, Sept. 26, 1785: Ann, May 8, 1788; John. June 
II, 1790; Thomas, March 13, 1793 (died in infancy); Thomas (2), May 3, 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL-\ 783 

1795; Zephaniah, Sept. 14, iSoo; Ann (2), April 16, 1802; James, Dec. 7, 
1804. 

JEREML\H SEITZINGER, the oldest living resident of Port Carbon, 
now retired from active pursuits, is a worthy representative of an old family 
founded here by Col. Nicholas Seitzinger, his grandfather. 

The Seitzingers are one of the families descended from Hessian soldiers 
who remained in America following their services in the American Revolu- 
tionary war, and no family in this section of Schuylkill county is more deserv- 
edly honored. Col. Nicholas Seitzinger was a German by birth. He was sent 
to this country as one of the Hessian soldiers hired by England, and thus 
came to take part in the Revolution, but his sympathies were with the Colonies, 
and after the war, in which he served as a colonel, he did not return to the 
old country. For a time he lived in Bucks county. Pa., removing thence to 
what is now Schuylkill county, where he took up 1,600 acres of land. The 
region was then a wilderness, but he set bravely about the task of making a 
home for himself and family, and it was he who established the town of 
Fountain Springs (near Ashland), which was really named in his honor. He 
is buried in the cemetery there. His family consisted of children as follows: 
Catherine, who married Samuel Scott and (second) Henry Fisher; George; 
Peter; Samuel; Harry; Nicholas; Edward; John; and Jacob W. Jacob built 
the "Exchange Hotel" at Pottsville. 

Samuel Seitzinger, father of Jeremiah, was born at Reading, Pa., in 1800, 
and came to Port Carbon in young manhood. He was a blacksmith by trade, 
and did canal work in that line, and later built the "Port Carbon House." On 
April I, 1834, he removed to Fountain Springs, where he followed his trade for 
two years. On April i, 18^6, he returned to Port Carbon, where he continued 
to work at blacksmithing until his death, which occurred-March 25, 1871. He 
is buried in the Presbyterian cemetery in that borough. His wife, Hannah 
(Reed)., was born in 1807 at Minersville, Pa., daughter of Thomas Reed, and 
died July 25, 1886. She is buried at Port Carbon. Children as follows were 
born to this marriage : Augustus, who is deceased ; Charity, deceased ; Jona- 
than ; Lucinda, deceased ; Eliza, deceased ; Samuel, who was killed at the 
battle of the Wilderness May 6, 1864, while serving with the g6th Pennsylvania 
Regiment; Matilda, deceased; Ellen, Mrs. James Teasdale, now living at 
Reading, Pa. ; Thomas, who sened during the Civil war in the 7th Pennsyl- 
vania Cavalry ; and Jeremiah. 

Jeremiah Seitzinger. son of Samuel, was born Nov. 22, 1828, at Pottsville, 
Pa. When a boy he worked with his father, and he was iDUt eleven years old 
when he commenced boating on the canal, in which work he was engaged 
for four summers, meantime attending school in the winter season. He then 
learned the trade of blacksmith with Tobias Wintersteen, with whom he 
remained until 1850. He continued to follow that calling until he retired, for 
over thirty years in the employ of the Philadelphia & Reading Company, for 
whom he worked from 1855 until December, 1887. For a few years afterwards 
he was employed in the Franklin Iron Works at Port Carbon, retiring when 
he gave up his position there. Mr. Seitzinger has always led a quiet life, and 
to this fact he attributes his old age and good health. However, he never failed 
to do his duty in any of the positions he held, having an excellent reputation 
for industry and faithfulness to every obligation. He is an Odd Fellow of 



784 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PEXXSYL\-ANL\ 

long standing, having joined Schuylkill Lodge, No. 27, of Port Carbon, Dec. 
6, 1849; he is a past grand of that body. 

Mr. Seitzinger married Mary Martin, who was bom Aug. 15, 1824, daugh- 
ter of Peter Martin, a native of Ireland. She died Jan. 5, 1896, and is buried 
at Port Carbon. Children as follows were born to this marriage: George, 
who lives in Philadelphia, Pa., married Rose Martin; Margaret, deceased, was 
the wife of James Rowe ; Elizabeth, deceased, was the wife of James Burke; 
Samuel, of Philadelphia, married Catherine Gilmartin ; Peter is deceased ; 
Thomas resides at Port Carbon and is married to Mary Flannery ; John died 
when two years old ; Jeremiah is a resident of Philadelphia ; Mary F. is the 
wife of Robert Harron. 

ROBERT HARRON was born in Blythe township, Schuylkill county, 
June 22, 1865. His parents, John and Elizabeth (Steen) Harron, were natives 
of Ireland and Scotland, respectively, came to the United States when young, 
and settled in Blythe township, Schuylkill Co., Pa. John Harron was a mine 
superintendent for many years, and one of the early coal operators in Schuyl- 
kill county. He died at Palo Alto, this county, and is buried at Port Carbon. 
His children were: Alexander, William, James, Isabella (wife of Bernard 
Murray), Samuel, Robert, and Mary (who died in infancy). 

Robert Harron has spent his entire working life in the employ of the 
Philadelphia & Reading Railway Company, and is at present employed as 
flagman from Pottsville to Silver Creek. He makes his home at Port Carbon, 
where he is well known and a member in good standing of the I. O. O. F., 
P. O. S. of A. and P. O. of A. lodges. On Aug. 28, 1889, he married Mary 
F. Seitzinger, daughter of Jeremiah Seitzinger, and they have three children : 
Robert L., Ruth E. and Anna C. The family are Presbyterians in religious 
connection. 

JOSEPH F. MOLOXY (deceased) was known personally to many of the 
residents of Palo Alto, his long service in the ticket office of the Philadelphia 
& Reading Railway Company, his experience in the hotel business and as tax 
collector at Palo Alto, having brought him into touch with many of his fellow 
citizens. 

Mr. Molony was born at Palo Alto Feb. 22, i860, son of William Molony, 
a native of Ireland, who came to this country in 1847. He soon located at 
Pottsville, Schuylkill Co., Pa., and for a number of years was an employe of 
the Philadelphia & Reading Railway Company, with whom he continued until 
his death, at the age of sixty years. In his native country he had married 
Catherine McDerniott, who was also born in Ireland, and the young couple 
emigrated to America shortly afterwards. Ten children were born to them, 
several of whom died young. Of those who reached maturity Christopher was 
well known as a train dispatcher for the Philadeljihia & Reading Railway 
Company ; Edward W., deceased, is mentioned farther on in this article ; Frank 
died when twenty years old : Catherine is the wife of Frank I'h.illips, and they 
occupy the old homestead at Palo Alto. 

Joseph F. Molony obtained his education in the local puljlic schools. At 
an early age he entered the employ of the Philadelphia & Reading Railway 
Company, with whom he remained for a period of twenty years, during much 
of this time as ticket man at the local office. He sold the last ticket issued 
by the company at the old station. In 1897 Air. Molony engaged in the 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 785 

hotel business at Palo Alto, which he carried on continuously thereafter until 
his sudden death, on May i, 1915. His friendly disposition was as much 
of a factor in his success here as his methodical business ways. In 1899 
Mr. Molony was elected to the position of tax collector at Palo Alto, in which 
he continued to serve to the end of his life, though he was independent politi- 
cally, giving his support to the men and measures he favored most, regardless 
of party ties. He was a member of St. Patrick's Catholic Church at Pottsville. 
Mr. Molony married Catherine C. Lee, a daughter of the late Ralph Lee, of 
Pottsville, who was well known as superintendent of the Philadelphia & Read- 
ing shops there. Mr. and Mrs. Molony had no children. 

Edward W. Molony, brother of Joseph F. Molony, was for many years 
a representative of the newspapers of Schuylkill county. Pa. He died March 
20, 1902. His arduous and exacting labors as a telegraph operator and news- 
paper reporter for years had undermined his health, and when he was stricken 
with a severe attack of pneumonia his greatly weakened system gave way 
under the strain. Mr. Molony was born in Palo Alto, Pa., Aug. 15, 1851, 
and after a few years of school took up the study of telegraphy. He was 
employed as operator in Philadelphia for a time and later entered the service 
of the Philadelphia & Reading Railway Company, for whom he worked until 
1890. During the "Molly Maguire" troubles and subsequent pursuit he was 
intrusted with many secret messages, the knowledge alone of which was a 
dangerous thing to have. He had many an exciting experience, and in all 
of the incidents in which he had a part displayed the tact and courage for 
which he came to be noted. The last years of his telegraph service were under 
Superintendent Ohlhausen in Jersey City. 

When he came to Schuylkill county Mr. Molony took up the work of 
receiving the Associated Press reports for the Miinvs' Journal, holding the 
place for two years. After that time he became a local correspondent, writing 
up the suburban news for the newspapers of Pottsville. Next he was offered 
the position of "general utility" man on the Chronicle, and later he filled the 
same position on the Republican. After a time he was made court reporter, 
gathering the news from the courthouse with a fidelity to detail and broadness 
of comprehension that was gratifying alike to his employers and to the officials. 
This position he held at the time of his death. 

Mr. Molony was a favorite with all who came in contact with him, and his 
genial smile was never dimmed by personal feelings or the illness from which 
he suffered at the last. His wit was proverbial and never carried with it the 
sting of malice. Even among his rivals in newspaper work he was remarkably 
popular, and few there were who did not miss his ready reply and kindly 
influence. He was always ready to unite in progressive movements for the 
benefit of his fellow men, and he was a prominent member of the old Schuylkill 
County Pen and Pencil Club, ^^'ith the successive members of the borough 
council he was always popular, having reported the proceedings of that body 
for mjmy years. 

Mr. Molony was a brother-in-law of the late William A. Duffy, the lamented 
rector of St. Patrick's Catholic parish, and his wife, Catherine C. (Duffy) 
Molony, was left to mourn his early death with several children, William, 
Walter, Edward, Leroy and Vivian. 

HENRY LANDEMANN, formerly a mine foreman, now living retired at 
Minersville. is a citizen of German extraction whose industrious and upright 
Vol. 11—12 



786 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENXSYLVANL\ 

life is a credit to his nationality and also to the community of his adoption. 
Mr. Landemann was born in Bavaria Nov. 15, 1841, son of Philip and Louisa 
(Meyers) Landemann. The mother died in Germany and the father came to 
America alone, settling at Minersville, Schuylkill Co., Pa., where he died. He 
followed railroad work and was employed at the mines a short time, living 
retired for three years before his death. 

Henry Landemann was twelve years old when he came to America, and he 
has since had his home at Alinersville. He began work as a slate picker at the 
breaker for Kear & Company, in whose employ he continued from 1858 to 
1870, for a number of years acting as boss for this concern. For forty years 
afterwards he was with the Reading Coal & Iron Company, first as foreman 
at the Mine Hill Gap colliery and later at the Beechwood and Richardson 
collieries, at the Oakdale washery, at Phoenix Park, and at the Thompson 
colliery, where he continued until his retirement in November, 191 1. He has 
since been living retired at Minersville. Mr. Landemann's long and faithful 
service with the Reading Company gained him a wide acquaintance in his field 
of work and he made many friends among his associates, his high character 
and conscientious attention to duty winning him the esteem of all with whom he 
came in contact. During the Civil war Mr. Landemann served nine months 
as a member of Company A, 129th Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, 
and he is a prominent member of George J. Lawrence Post. No. 17, G. A. R., 
which he is at present serving as commander. In religion he is a member of 
the Refonned Church. 

Air. Landemann married Caroline Gable, of Columbia county, Pa., and 
they have had a large family, viz.: Hannah, now the wife of George Diereft'; 
Charles, deceased ; Matilda, wife of W. Jenkins ; William A., living at home ; 
Bertie, who married Harry Prescot ; George; Caroline, wife of William Wil- 
liams ; and three children who died young. 



STEPHEN REESE has been a lifelong resident of Schuylkill county, 
having been born at Pottsville Oct. 13, 1839, and resided there until his 
removal to Ashland. He is of Welsh extraction, his parents, Stephen and 
Johanna (Lloyd) Reese, having been natives of Wales, where they were 
reared and remained until after their marriage. On coming to this country, 
in the early fifties, they settled at Pottsville, Schuylkill county, where Mr. 
Reese soon established himself as an enterprising business man. He carried 
on a flour and feed store, and for several years operated a breaker at the 
mines, and also owned and carried on a general store at Pottsville. He con- 
tinued to reside at that place until just before his death, passing away in 1859 
at New Berlin, where he had gone to live. His wife had died in 1845. They 
were the parents of sixteen children, of whom but three survive: Stephen, 
John and Isaiah, the two last named living at Harrisburg. 

Stephen Reese received a good common school education, and when a 
boy began to learn the trade of shoemaker, which he followed throughout his 
active years, in early manhood coming to Ashland, where he has ever since 
made his home. For some time past he has been living in retirement, enjoying 
the ease which he deserves after an industrious life. He built the home on 
Centre street he now occupies. " 

As a veteran of the Civil war, Mr. Reese naturally took great interest 
in the organization of the Grand Army of the Republic, he himself assist- 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVAXL\ 787 

ing in the organization of Joseph Hooker post, of which he was a charter 
member, and one of the earliest commanders. He served in the Civil war 
under three enlistments. When the war broke out he was living at Ashland, 
and he was the first man to enlist from that place, becoming a member of 
Company I, 5th Pa. Vol. Inf., on April 12, 1861. At that time he entered 
the service for a period of three months, subsequently enlisting for nine 
months in Company G. 129th Pennsylvania A'olunteer Infantry, under Cap- 
tain Leib, and the third time joined the emergency service for the defense 
of the State. He took part in many engagements, and at the battle of Chancel- 
lorsville was wounded in the ear. He was mustered out at Harrisburg. Mr. 
Reese has always been a Republican in his political views, and has been quite 
an active worker for the success of his party in the borough. His religious 
connection is with the Methodist Church. 

On June 15, 1863, Mr. Reese married Regina Ebert, a native of Schuyl- 
kill county, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. William Ebert, who were early set- 
tlers at Ashland. They died there, and are buried at Fountain Springs. 

Mrs. Reese passed away April 30, 1910, the mother of eight children: 
David, who is a resident of Ashland: Ella, deceased; William, deceased; 
Martha, deceased; Harry, deceased; Maude, wife of Joseph Merther, of 
Chester, Pa. ; Edward, who lives at Ashland ; and Lillie, wife of Edward 
Blank, of Ashland. 

REV. HOWARD H. KRAUSS, A. B., A. M., was born near East Green- 
ville, Pa., March 7, 1876. When he was quite young his parents, Henry 
Schultz and Amanda (Hoffman) Krauss, moved to Kraussdale, Lehigh Co., 
Pa., and he received his early education in the public school of the village. 
His teachers during his public school days were Beneville X. Schell, Michael 
N. Weidner, Rev. C. D. Zweier, Rev. E. E. Schantz, Prof. C. E. Dietz (A. B. 
Princeton), Prof. Preston B. Rothenberger (A. B. of Muhlenberg College). 
In the years 1894-95 he attended Perkiomen Seminary, at Pennsburg, Pa., 
and prepared for the profession of teaching. From 1896 to 1899 he taught 
the public school at Corning, in Lower ]\Iilford township, Lehigh county, 
the same school at one time taught by Rev. C. S. Kriebek, D. D., now prin- 
cipal of Perkiomen Seminary at Pennsburg, Pa. From 1899 to 1902 he 
taught the public school at Kraussdale, his home school, formerly taught by 
Rev. Dr. E. F. Krauss, now president of the Lutheran Theological Seminary 
at Chicago. During his last year of public school teaching he also finished 
his preparatory studies at Perkiomen Seminary and entered Muhlenberg Col- 
lege, at Allentown, Pa. During his freshman year he was president of his 
class and became a member of various literary organizations. During his 
sophomore year he was elected librarian of the Euterpean Literary Society 
and had charge of the library, and was also appointed assistant librarian of 
Muhlenberg College. He was tutor in Mathematics during his junior and 
senior years. Mr. Krauss was elected Proctor of the college during his 
senior year, and graduated in 1906 with the A. B. degree in the first honor 
group, delivering the German oration on commencement day. In the fall of 
the same year he entered Mount Airy Seminary of the Lutheran Church, at 
Philadelphia, Pa. In addition to pursuing his course in theology he taught 
at Perkiomen Seminary, Pennsburg, during the spring and summer terms of 
1907 and 1908, having charge of the teachers' classes, and over one hun- 
dred of the public school teachers of Pennsylvania were instructed by him. 



788 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENXSYLVANL\ 

During the summer term of 1908 he taught Ancient and Roman History and 
Psychology and Pedagogy. His graduation thesis at Mount Airy Theological 
Seminary was "The Doctrine of Predestination." He graduated in icpg, and 
at the commencement exercises of Muhlenberg College in the same year he 
received the A. M. degree, having submitted in addition to the regular 
required studies a thesis on "The Strength and Weakness of Pietism." On 
June 7, 1909, he was ordained to the office of the holy ministry in Holy Com- 
munion Church, Philadelphia, Pa., at the i62d annual convention of the 
Ministerium of Pennsylvania of the Lutheran Church of the General Coun- 
cil. He accepted his first parish, on being unanimously elected, at St. John's 
Lutheran Church, Berrysburg, Pa., where he rendered excellent service in 
reorganizing the work of the congregation and bringing the constitution into 
harmony with Synod, graded the Sunday school, organized the Luther League, 
and largely raised the benevolent contributions ; all this besides improving 
the church proj^erty, adding many to the church, and establishing a healthy 
religious atmosphere. In the summer of 1912, having twice declined calls, 
he accepted the urgent call to the newly formed Auburn parish in Schuylkill 
county, and entered upon his duties Oct. i6th. This parish consists of St. 
John, Auburn, organized 1845; Zion, West Brunswick, organized 1755; St. 
Paul, South Manheim, organized 1784, and St. John, Friedensburg, organ- 
ized 1 791. In the three years he has served in this field he has baptized 104, 
buried sixty, married twenty-seven couples, confirmed 142, received twenty- 
five by letter or otherwise, and raised for benevolent purposes over five 
thousand dollars. 

Mr. Krauss has served on various committees of Synod and Conference, 
serving at the present time as statistician of Conference; is \isitor to the 
Topton Orphans' Home in Berks County ; is a member of the Church Effi- 
ciency committee, Sunday School committee. Executive committee of the 
Luther League, and of the committee "to investigate the apportionment sys- 
tem and report a plan for adoption to Synod ;" besides acting as correspond- 
ent and contributor to the "Lutheran." the official church paper of the Synod, 
and other periodicals. In local aflfairs he is a member of the borough coun- 
cil, having at the last election been reelected for the full term of four years. 
He takes a very prominent part in the educational affairs of the community, 
and is also a member of the Board of Trade. 

In 1905 Mr. Krauss was united in marriage to Miss Susan W. Kriebel, 
daughter of Henry S. Kriebel and his wife, nee Catharine Wiegner, Rev. Wil- 
liam \\'ackernagel, D. D., professor of German in Muhlenberg College, per- 
forming the ceremony. The following children have been born to this union : 
Frances, Winifred, Frederick and Alberta (twins), and Ida May. 

The ancestors of the Krausses, Hoft'mans, Schultzes, Kriebels and Wieg- 
ners came from the Palatinate, Germany, and located in the upper end of 
Montgomery county. Pa., and in what is now lower Lehigh and lower Berks 
counties. The Krausses are descendants of Balthasar Krauss, who with his 
mother, Anna Krauss, a widow, in September, 1733, came with some of the 
first Schwenkfelders to this country. He married Jan. 16, 1736, Susanna 
Hofifman (who followed him from the old country in September, 1734), and 
settled in the most southern part of the present township of Lower Milford, 
Lehigh Co., Pa. ( Kraussdale). in the year 1749. He purchased a farm of 
two hundred acres, which was surveyed Sept. 29, 1734, to a George Schu- 
macher. Krauss obtained a patent on this land Dec. 16, 1749, for thirty-one 




ZION'S (OLD RED) CHURCH 
Original church built 1755, burned by the Indians 1756; next church completed 1770; rebuilt of 
completed 1803; stone church razed and replaced with present building 1883 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENx\SYLVANL\ 789 

pounds. He sold the same to his son, Balthasar Krauss, Jr., for seven hun- 
dred pounds, and died two years later, Feb. 25, 1774, aged over sixty-eight 
years, leaving one son, Balthasar, and four daughters : Rosina, married to 
George Heydrick ; Susanna, married to Baltzer Yeakel ; Barbara, married to 
George Urffer; and Maria, married to Mathias Gerhard. 

Balthasar Krauss, Jr., had three sons and four daughters : John, Andrew, 
George, Helena, Susanna, Regina and Lydia. John Krauss was a well edu- 
cated man, having attended the well conducted schools of the Schwenk- 
felders. He became a prominent surveyor, and also a machinist. Andrew, 
with his brother, John, became an organ builder, and when he was nineteen 
years old made the first pipe organ in Pennsylvania, in the year 1790. They 
made a number of pipe organs for the churches in the community. Later 
George and Joel, sons of Andrew, made a bass viol. In 1828 George and 
Samuel made a melodeon, which is believed to have been the first one ever 
made. Later still George and Samuel made an ingenious globe, turned by 
a clock which they also made ; the painting and printing were put on by 
George, his copy being a map of the world which was printed in London. 
This globe turned by the clock works once in twenty-four hours. The clock 
is still in existence. 



Zion's Evangelic.vl Luther.\n Church (Red Church), of West Bruns- 
wick Township, Schuylkill Co., Pa. About the year 1750 a few German 
Lutherans left their homes in Berks county. Pa., to prospect the country 
beyond the Blue Mountains, at the same time having in view the planting 
of a new settlement, if their expectations would be realized. Being pleased 
with the general appearance of the country, and the apparent fertility of the 
soil — for it is related that they witnessed in the valleys through which flow 
small streams of pure water an indescribably luxuriant growth of grass — 
they concluded to make the newly explored region their future home. How 
they acquired the large tract of land comprising nearly half of the district 
known at present as Brunswick township, Schuylkill county, cannot be 
accurately ascertained. From the language used in the old indentures, it is 
probable that it was granted to them by the proprietors of Pennsylvania, or 
their deputies, for a mere consideration, namely, that it be occupied and 
improved. The principal movers in this new enterprise were Peter Weyman 
and Peter Schmelgert, who subsequently became very prominent in the history 
of Zion's church. The way having been made clear, others soon followed. 
Some of these settled on the tract held by Weyman ; others penetrated still 
further into the interior and received new tracts not as yet taken up. Thus 
by the year 1754 a considerable number of German families had settled in 
this new territory, designated at that time as the land beyond the Blue Moun- 
tain. 

These Germans, like many others of our forefathers, were a brave, noble- 
minded and enterprising people, and withal a people imbued with right relig- 
ious principles. Their object, therefore, was not simply to take possession of 
so much new territory, and clear and cultivate it to advance their temporal 
interests, but likewise to establish a community with whom should be asso- 
ciated certain lofty and precious principles. Hence they commenced at an 
early period of their settlement to agitate the subject of organizing a church 
on the basis of the principles they had learned and lived in the Fatherland. 
In this undertaking they were greatly aided and encouraged by Rev. Daniel 



790 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 

Schumaker, at that time laboring as a missionary in the counties of Lehigh 
and Berks, who occasionally visited them, sometimes crossing the mountain 
on foot, and preached to them, baptized their little ones, and instructed and 
confirmed their sons and daughters. His self-denying labors among them com- 
menced as early as the year 1755 and continued to the year 1781, inclusive. 

Ten years after Rev. Mr. Schumaker commenced to visit this people, i. e., 
in the year 1765. they began the erection of a house of worship, and completed 
it in 1770, at which lime they reorganized the congregation under the name 
and title Zion's Evangelical Lutheran Church, and adopted a constitution. But 
for the exceedingly formidable obstacle in the way, they evidently would have 
begun at an earlier period this much desired object of their heart, namely, 
the presence of numerous Indians, who seemed at that time to have been more 
bent upon committing outrages than in former periods in the history of the 
Province. Being much exposed to their depredations, and not knowing how 
soon they would be obliged to flee for safety beyond the mountains and yield 
the soil to the savage sons of the forest, they did not feel secure enough in their 
abodes to attempt such an enterprise. That they were actually driven from 
their homes by the Indians may be inferred from the following allusion to their 
trials in a memorial found in the old Church Record: "Inasmuch as we felt 
it a duty resting on us to erect a church, after having suffered almost unen- 
durable calamities from the savage and heathenish people, the so-called Indians, 
1756, etc., but afterwards succeeded by the grace of God to re-establish peace 
and quiet once more to live in our former abodes, we, therefore resolved to 
build a new church; which was finally completed in 1770." 

From the above it appears then that the first settlers in these parts were 
very much annoyed and disturbed by the savages. Indeed, many terrible 
stories of Indian horrors and cruelties are related by their descendants. From 
the fact that there are no baptisms recorded in Schumaker's record ( at present 
in the hands of Dr. Schumaker), between 1760 and 1765, this seems to have 
been the period of greatest suflfering. They were in consequence forced to flee 
for safety. 

As already stated, the first church erected was commenced in 1765 and 
completed in 1770. It was solemnly dedicated to the- service of the Triune 
God on the First Sunday in Advent by Rev. Mr. Schumaker in the presence 
of a large concourse of people, who had come from near and far to attend the 
services. The joy felt and expressed by these people on this happy occasion 
must have been great. And they had reasons to be joyful in the Lord. The 
thought that they were happily delivered from the atrocities of savage men, 
and that after having endured innumerable hardships they had now a church 
of their own, could well fill their hearts with joy and gratitude to Almighty 
God. That the erection of the church was effected through much self denial may 
be imagined when we remember that it was five years in building. The men 
most prominent in this work, as evidenced in the record, were Peter .Schme!- 
gert, Peter Weyman, Jacob Schaeft'er, Michael Deibert, Gottfried Rerger, Paul 
Heim, Phillip Pausman, Christopher Schaber, Casper Prag, and George Hun- 
singer. The numerical strength of the congregation at this time cannot be 
definitely stated, as the list of the membership as well as of the communicants 
is wanting in the record. It may, however, be estimated as not less than one 
hundred, if the number of those who were confirmed in a single year may be 
taken as correct data to go by. These were of course scattered over a large 
territory, as this was the only church in this section of the country, so that 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 791 

this is in fact, the oldest congregation in Schuylkill county. The ministers 
who served this congregation, after Schumaker, were: Frederick De Milter, 
1782-83; Abraham Gottlieb Deschler, 1784-88; Daniel Lehman, 1789-91, and 
John Frederick Obenhausen, 1792- 1803. 

The membership having considerably increased since the erection of the 
first church, so that it was impossible to suitably accommodate all who desired 
to worship there, the members determined, in the year 1799, to erect a new 
house of worship, larger and more commodious than the old one. The corner- 
stone of the new building was laid on the 14th day of October, in the same 
year, by the Rev. J. F. Obenhausen, who preached from Isaiah xxviii:i6. The 
memorial placed in the cornerstone, a copy of which was preserved, exhibits 
the lofty principles which governed our Lutheran forefathers in their actions, 
as well as their strong conviction of the correctness of the doctrines they be- 
lieved and maintained, as the following extracts will plainly show : 

"Since it has pleased Almighty God to prosper this State, so that it has 
become a blooming and delightful garden, and this largely through the instru- 
mentality of the Germans, a few of this nation, living in this country and in 
this vicinity, cherished the sincere desire not only to confess until death the 
Christian religion which they had learned in Germany and accepted and kept 
as a perfect confession of the truth of God's Word which is able to make wise 
unto salvation, and to publicly serve God in their adopted country, but also 
to see to it that in years to come the same be confessed, loved and lived by 
their children. They, therefore, erected in this place, a house of prayer, in 
which should be taught the pure Word of God, and the sacraments admin- 
istered according to the explicit command of our dear Lord, Jesus Christ. 
After many trials and hardships their object was finally attained. The church 
erected to the God of their fathers was solemnly dedicated, and publicly con- 
fessed and declared to be and remain an exclusively Lutheran church to the 
end of time. Inasmuch, however, as this church, built by the fathers under 
many trying circumstances, has been occupied for twenty-nine years, and in 
the meantime has greatly prospered and increased in numbers, and has there- 
fore become too small for our present purpose, the congregation has, there- 
fore, resolved by the blessing of God to build a new and more commodious 
house of prayer to His honor and to the glory of our Saviour, Jesus Christ, 
in order that in future we may have a more convenient place to vrorship God 
and thereby be prepared for eternal salvation." The following solemn invo- 
cation of blessings is the conclusion of this paper: "And Thou, my faithful 
God and Father, have mercy upon the whole Christian Church, but especially 
on this, thy cnneret^ation ! l'reser\e among them peace and brotherly love, and 
bless and ker]. finiii danger ami accident those who labor at this house! Be 
and remain, < > Lord, their God and Saviour, who are now and will hereafter 
be connected w ilh the church ! Bless the parents and guide them by Thy Holy 
Spirit, that they may train their children to walk in the right way, and teach 
them the true doctrine of Jesus Christ, in order that after their departure 
hence, they may belong to the true jjeople of God, who have faith in the Lord 
Jesus (lin'si ' \\'e commit this house of prayer into thy gracious keeping, so 
that it will inily be the house of God and the gate of heaven." This second 
church, commenced in 1799 and completed in 1803, was dedicated to God's 
service on the 29th and 30th of May, 1803, the dedicatory services being per- 
formed by Rev. Daniel Lehman, J. F. Obenhausen and David Schaeflfer. 

Contrar}' to the wishes of its founders, this church is at present occupied 



792 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 

by both the Lutheran and Reformed congregations and hence no longer 
exclusively Lutheran. The Refonned church, situated a few rods from the 
site of the Lutheran, having been started in 1795, becoming dilapidated, its 
members made application to the members of the Lutheran church to unite 
with them in the formation of a union church. Their application was favorably 
received by the Lutherans, acted upon, and finally articles of agreement made 
to sell half of their rights and claims to the Reformed. This unhappy state of 
things was brought about in the year 1833, at the time when the Lutheran 
church here was passing through strange experiences and losing members on all 
sides. Some left and connected themselves with other Lutheran congregations 
then beginning to spring up in the surrounding neighborhood; others left and 
joined the sects who were at that time manifesting considerable power in 
deceiving and drawing away the unwary. 

In the year 1803 this congregation, which had been until then supplied, 
united with four others to build a charge. This charge called as its pastor 
Rev. John Knoske, who served it from 1803 to 181 1, eight years. In the year 
181 1, Rev. George Mennig received and accepted a call to this pastorate, and 
labored in it until 1833, when he was followed by Rev. William G. Mennig, 
whose labor here extended to the year 1845. The following are the ministers 
who served this congregation after William Mennig: Nathan Yeager, 
1845-51; G. W. Scheide, 1852; Julius Ehrhardt, 1853-64; J. Leonberger, 
1865-69; G. F. Woerner, 1870; D. K. Kepner, 1871-72; I. X. S. Erb, 1873- 
1888; H. A. Weller, 1889-1911; H. H. Krauss, 1912. 

Early in the year 1883 plans were undertaken for the building of a new 
church, and the present church building resulted. On Aug. 19th of this year 
the cornerstone of the new building was laid, sermons being preached by the 
Revs. R. S. Appel, Reformed, and D. K. Kepner, Lutheran. On Jan. 6, 1884, 
the first sermon in the new church building was preached in the basement by 
the Lutheran pastor, Rev. I. N. S. Erb; text, Luke ii, 36-37. The Reformed 
pastor, Henry Leisse, preached his first sermon also in the basement, on the 
following Sunday, Jan. 13th. The new church building was formally dedi- 
cated on the 27th and 28th days of September, 1884. 

Early in the year 1905 a movement was set on foot to observe the 150th 
anniversary of the founding of the congregation of the Lutheran church in 
West Brunswick. William B. Ketner, Joseph A. Walborn, Henry J. Wagner, 
Francis L. Matz, Jonathan H. Walborn and Mandon S. Fegley were duly 
appointed a committee of arrangements. Oct. 7 and 8 were the days appointed 
for the celebration, and printed invitations were issued to all known descend- 
ants of the congregation. The Historical Society of Schuylkill County was 
invited to participate in a body and have charge of one of the sessions. When 
the appointed days had come the results of the devotion of the committee 
became visible in the great concourse of several thousand people from near 
and from far. Descendants of the fathers, now scattered over the wide land, 
came to spend the days and participate in the notable services which were pre- 
pared. On this occasion sermons were delivered by Rev. F. J. F. Schantz, 
D. D., Rev. R. S. Apple, Rev. W. D. Stoyer, and addresses by Rev. H. A. 
Weller, pastor, Mr. John N. Heim, Hon. D. C. Henning, Rev. J. H. Umbenhen, 
Ph. D., Rev. J. H. Eastman, D. D., Rev. S. L. Whitmore, D. D., Rev. W. F. 
Rentz. Rev. Carl G. Karsch, Rev. Henry Leisse. 

The pipe-organ originally dedicated Oct. 16, 1808, and which has served 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANLA 793 

the congregation all these years, is still in active service each Lord's Day, and 
has as sweet and melodious a tone as any of modern make. 

The Sunday school rooms are at the present time being improved and gas- 
lights are being installed. There are active Ladies' Aid and Missionary Socie- 
ties connected with the congregation. The congregation has just approved 
and adopted the "duplex envelope," has a graded Sunday school, and is in a 
prosperous condition. The congregation is old in years but young in activity. 

GEORGE W. WALTER, of Tamaqua, is a business man of good stand- 
ing and also respected for his personal character, in which he shows the traits 
which have been typical of his family in all the time it has been identified with 
the borough. Its members have always ranked with the substantial element, 
doing their duty as citizens and proving themselves reliable in all the rela- 
tions of life. 

John C. Walter, grandfather of George W. Walter, was born in Stutt- 
gart, Germany, and spent his early life there. Coming to America when a 
young man he settled at Tamaqua, Schuylkill Co., Pa., where he engaged in 
the butcher business, carrying it on successfully until his untimely death, 
in 1856, when he was but forty-two years old. He was killed by a cannon 
used at the celebration in honor of President Buchanan's election, and is 
buried at Tamaqua. His wife, whose maiden name was Fredericka Gephart, 
was also born in Germany, and came to America when a child. Their fam- 
ily consisted of the following children : John C. ; Rosie, who married John E. 
Tiley ; Emma, who married Levi Stagerwalt ; Mary, who married Michael 
Bonshoff ; and Gottlieb, who died when six years old. 

John C. Walter, son of John C. and Fredericka (Gephart) Walter, was 
born Dec. 18, 1849. at Port Carbon. Schuylkill Co., Pa., and was one year 
old when brought to Tamaqua, where he has since resided. In his youth he 
clerked for a time in a store for Mr. Lutz, and was afterwards a freight 
conductor on the Philadelphia & Reading road, remaining in the employ of 
the railway company for five years. In 1874 he embarked in the freight and 
express business on his own account in Tamaqua, and he has continued the 
same successfully since, having a profitable patronage in and around the 
borough. In 1890 he purchased the livery business of Shiverstine & Glass- 
moyer, which he has carried on up to the present in connection with his orig- 
inal line. His place of business is at the rear of the "United States Hotel." 
Mr. Walter has mingled in local politics and government to a considerable 
extent, being well known as an effective worker in the Republican party. He 
has been elected to several offices, having served as a member of the Tamaqua 
school board and as high constable of Tamaqua, having filled the latter office 
for the last seventeen years. In 191 2 he was a candidate for the lower house 
of the State Legislature, but was defeated, losing by only ninety-six votes. 
In the social orders he is well known, belonging to the Improved Order of 
Red Men, Independent Americans and Citizens' Fire Company, of which 
latter he was a charter member. The family are Methodists in religious 
connection. 

Mr. \\'alter married Lavina Wagner, daughter of Michael Wagner, who 
was the first to engage in the express and freight business at Tamaqua ; he 
died when eighty-two years old. ^Ir. and Mrs. Walter have had a large fam- 
ily : William, who lives at Tamaqua ; John, deceased : George W. ; Sarah, 
who married Olive Fohveiller, of Tamaqua ; Harry, of Philadelphia, Pa. ; 



794 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

Mary, who married Harold Yost and is living in Reading, Pa. ; Harold, 
deceased; Clara B., wife of Irvin Rex, living at Mauch Chunk, Pa.; twins 
who died when six months old ; Samuel, of Tamaqua ; and Curtis, of Tamaqua. 

George W. Walter, son of John C. and Lavina (Wagner) Walter, was 
born at Tamaqua in 1877 and has spent all his life there. His education was 
acquired in the public schools, and he began business life as a clerk, being so 
engaged for ten years. He has since been with his father in the livery busi- 
ness, in which he has become thoroughly experienced, and much of the pres- 
ent prosperity of the enterprise may be attributed to his energetic methods 
and prompt attention to patrons, who appreciate the obliging and efficient 
service which the Walters have always endeavored to render to their cus- 
tomers. Like his father jNIr. Walter is a stanch Republican and has taken 
some active part in local politics. He served three years as borough auditor. 
He is a member of the B. P. O. Elks, of the I. O. O. F. and Encampment, 
and of the P. O. S. of A. 

Mr. Walter married Annie Brodbeck, of Tamaqua. daughter of George 
Brodbeck. They have two children, Donald and Ethyl. 

JARED HAFER owns the large farm in East Brunswick township on 
which he resides, but he is not now actively engaged in its operation, having 
practically retired. Most of his mature life has been spent in this portion of 
Schuylkill county, but he is a native of Berks county. Pa., born March 11, 
1842, in Upper Bern township. The name Hafer is an old one in that county. 
One Matthias Hafer settled there, a mile east of Reading, in Alsace town- 
ship, upon his emigration to this country from the Province of Alsace, on 
the borders of the Rhine. He carried on farming until his decease. His 
wife was Julia Schmid, and they had eight children, seven sons and one 
daughter, namely : John, Matthias, George, Benjamin, Isaac, Daniel, Henry 
and Maria (Mrs. Jacob Hill). We do not know whether the son Daniel 
was the grandfather of Jared Hafer or not. 

Daniel Hafer. grandfather of Jared, was born in Oley township, Berks 
county, was a farmer by occupation all his life, and died when over seventy- 
seven years old. His children were : Nathan married Rebecca Blatt : Daniel 
married Polly Spatz ; Samuel married a Miss Reeser ; Jacob is mentioned 
below ; Julia married Jacob Hoak ; Polly married Samuel Dunkelberger. The 
parents are buried at Bellman's Church in Berks county. Daniel Hafer was 
a member of Spiess's German Reformed Church in that county, and highly 
respected as a good Christian man. Politically he supported the Democratic 
jiarty. 

Jacob Hafer, son of Daniel, was born in Oley township, Berks Co.. Pa., 
in April, 1806, and died in February, 1879. He worked for his father until 
he was twenty-four years of age, and learned the weaver's trade, but though 
he followed it- for many years he also continued farm work. He owned a 
tract of twenty acres in Center township, Berks county, which he operated 
while working- at his trade, and on selling this tract removed to Bern town- 
ship, Berks county, where he tenanted different farms until his death. He 
also taught German in the schools of that township. He served his fellow 
citizens in the township offices of supervisor and assessor, and also as elec- 
tion inspector, taking a close interest in politics as an ardent member of 
the Democratic party. His religious connection was with Bellman's German Re- 
formed Church, where he and his wife, Catherine (Koch), are buried. She 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 795 

was a native of Center township, Berks county, daughter of Jacob Koch. 
Mr. and Mrs. Hafer were the parents of these children: Levi married Kate 
Ludwig, and both are deceased ; Jacob married Mary Matz, ami both are 
deceased ; Daniel married Anna Weinholt, and both are deceased ; Abraham 
died young; Levina married Eli Daubert, and both are deceased; Jared is 
mentioned below ; Catherine, deceased, married Charles Baltser. 

Jared Hafer was educated in the public schools of Berks county and 
was reared to agricultural life, working out among farmers until he was fif- 
teen years old. He also assisted his father, to whom he gave all his earnings 
until he was twenty-four years of age. When he married he located at New 
Ringgold. Schuylkill county, and was engaged at the washery near by for 
about si.x months. Then he removed to West Penn township, this county, and 
bought a tract of fifty-four acres and the mill now owned by John F. Staudt. 
He developed this property, remodeled the mill, built a sawmill, and operated 
that place for about eleven years, until he removed to his present tract in 
East Brunswick township, having bought the same, 260 acres, from Lewis 
Audenried. Of this 100 acres are under cultivation. Mr. Hafer has made 
numerous improvements on the place, remodeled the dwelling house, and 
erected many outbuildings, all the surroundings bearing witness to his suc- 
cess and thrift. He carried on general farming, and though now practically 
retired still markets his products once a week to Tamaqua. His progressive 
disposition and public spirit have been manifested chiefly in his interest in 
school aiifairs, for which he worked zealously during his term of three years 
as school director. In politics he adheres to the Democratic party. Mr. Hafer 
was formerly a member of Washington Camp No. 100, P. O. S. of A., of 
New Ringgold, and of the Odd Fellows lodge in West Penn township. He 
belongs to Zion's Reformed Qiurch in West Penn township, at one time held 
the office of deacon, and was committeeman of Weaver's Sunday school in 
East Brunswick township. 

Mr. Hafer married Catherine Osenbach, a daughter of Daniel and Kate 
(Dreisbach) Osenbach, and we have the following record of their large fam- 
ily: (i) Daniel Jacob, born Oct. 16, 1866, married Annie Trexel, and they 
reside at Reading. Pa. Their children are Edith, Ruth, Mary, Erma and 
Grace. (2) Kate Isabella, born Feb. 4, 1S68, had one child (now deceased), 
by her first husband, Charles D. Rapp. After his death she married (second) 
Elmer Diener. and they live in East Brunswick township. (3) Jared Milton, 
born Nov. 18, 1869. lives in Rush township, Schuylkill county. He married 
Rosie Hoppes, and they have had children as follows : One that died in 
infancy, Elma (deceased). Bertha, Cora, Raymond, Nathan, Calvin, Oliver, 
Mary, Eva. Abner and Mildred. (4) Anna l\e1)ecca, l;)orn July 13, 1871, 
married Lewis Gerber, and they have had two children, one that died young 
and Mary. They reside in West Penn township. ( 5 ) A son born Jan. 14. 
1873, is deceased. (6) Sarah Alice, born Dec. 24, 1873, is the wife of Charles 
Hoppes, of West Penn township. Their children are Alvin, Jennie, one 
deceased, Leon and Raymond. (7) Freddie Edwin, born Feb. 21, 1875, mar- 
ried Mary Zellner. and has one child. Elsie May. Their home is m East 
Brunswick township. (8) Moses William, born May 13. 1876. is deceased. 
(9) Calvin, born Sept. 28, 1877, is unmarried. (10) Caroline, born May 16, 
1879, married Henry Weaver, of East Brunswick township. (11) A son 
born Dec. 6, 1881, is deceased. (12) Samuel Aaron, born May ig, 1883, is 
unmarried. (13) Frank Howard, born Aug. 28, 1884, married Katie Baer, 



796 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 

and their children are Florence, Leroy, Stella and Dorothy. They live in 
Reading, Pa. (14) Clara Agnes, born July 5, 1886, is deceased. (15) Mary 
Levina, born Sept. 15, 1888, is unmarried. (16) Jennie May, born March 22, 
1890, is deceased. (17) Eva Minerva, born July 2j, 1893, i* unmarried. 

Mrs. Catherine (Osenbach) Hafer was born Feb. 17, 1850, in East 
Brunswick township, was educated there, and lived at home until her mar- 
riage. She is a daughter of Daniel Osenbach and granddaughter of Christian 
Osenbach, of East Brunswick township. He followed farming and charcoal 
burning all his life, dying when about sixty years old. His wife, Catherine 
(Gottshall), died in May, 1874, aged ninety-seven years, and they are buried 
at the Frieden's Church in New Ringgold. He was a member of the Lutheran 
congregation there, and served faithfully as deacon. On political questions 
he was a Democrat. Mr. and Mrs. Osenbach had a large family, but the 
names of several of their children are not obtainable. We have record of 
the following: Daniel was the father of Mrs. Hafer; Christian married 
Sarah Gottshall, and both are deceased ; William married Brigetta Kemmerer, 
who is deceased; John married a Miss Halderman, and both are deceased; 
Joseph married Mary Beableheimer, who is deceased ; Kate married Daniel 
Bankes, and after his death a Mr. Snyder, and they are now deceased ; Mary 
married John Baer, and both are deceased; Sarah married John Kemmerer, 
who is deceased ; Susanna married Charles Beableheimer. 

Daniel Osenbach, father of Mrs. Jared Hafer, was born Feb. 5, 1819, in 
East Brunswick township, and died in that township in November, 1882. 
He was reared and educated in East Brunswick township, learned the wheel- 
wright's trade, and farmed for many years. He and his son-in-law, Jared 
Hafer, owned farms together in West Penn township, and came to East 
Brunswick township together. Mr. Osenbach owned forty-three acres of 
the original 260 acres in the Hafer farm, which he later traded for another 
piece of land ; this tract of forty-three acres is now owned by Mr. Elmer 
Diener. Mr. Osenbach had a shop on his farm and followed his trade along 
with farming. He was a Democrat, and kept in touch with local politics 
and public matters, was elected to the offices of school director and super- 
visor, and served his fellow citizens capably in both. Church work was 
always one of his chief interests, and he was very active as a member of 
the Frieden's Lutheran Church at New Ringgold, which he served as deacon. 
Mr. Osenbach married Catherine Dreisbach, who was born Oct. 31, 1817, 
and died when over seventy years of age. She is buried with her husband 
in West Penn township, Schuylkill county. Children as follows were born 
to them: Carolina married Aaron Schrack (deceased) and (second) John F. 
Staudt; Rebecca died when nine years old; Catherine is Mrs. Jared Hafer; 
two childred died unnamed. 

FREDERICK W. BRACHMAN, of Tuscarora, has spent all his life 
in that section of Schuylkill county and is deservedly held in esteem as one 
of its most creditable citizens. By diligence and the most honorable methods 
he has made his way up until he is now one of the notably successful busi- 
ness men of his locality. The large wholesale and retail meat trade which 
he commands has been developed through his judgment and foresight, which 
have never been at fault in estimating the opportunities of the region in which 
his operations have been carried on. His faith in local possibilities has not 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 797 

only given him the courage to branch out in his own enterprise, but has been 
a factor in encouraging other activities. 

Mr. Brachman is a native of llrockton, Schuylkill county, born April 6, 
1866, son of the late Frederick \V. and Margaret (Gross) Brachman. The 
father was born in Germany July 13, 1823, and spent his early years in that 
country, coming to the United States when a young man of nineteen. He was 
one of the first settlers at Patterson (now Brockton post office), in Schuyl- 
kill township, Schuylkill Co., Pa., where he spent the rest of his life, at first 
doing mine work there, uivtil 1864. Then he engaged in the hotel business, 
which he continued until his death, Sept. 18, 1888. He is buried in the 
Lutheran cemetery at Middleport. A man of intelligence and progressive 
ideas, he took a genuine interest in the welfare of the community and the 
proper administration of local government, and himself served as tax col- 
lector and school director, holding the latter office for many years. He was a 
Lutheran in religious doctrine. Airs. Brachman died March 20. 1910, and is 
buried at Brockton. They were the parents of the following children : Caro- 
line died in infancy ; Kate married Richard McBreen ; John is a resident of 
Middleport, this county; Mary is married to Frank Wadlinger : Sophia mar- 
ried Fred Krantz ; Peter is a resident of Tamaqua, this county; Lena (de- 
ceased) was the wife of the late Peter L. Hoflfman ; Frederick \V. is next in 
the family; Margaret (deceased) was the wife of Lewis Lawrence, district 
superintendent for the Philadelphia & Reading Coal & Iron Company, at 
Shenandoah, Pa. ; Matilda married Michael J. Hoffman ; Emma married 
Michael Bonenberger; Harry J. is a business man of Brockton. 

Frederick W. Brachman received a ptiblic school education at Brockton. 
Until he was twenty years old he was employed about the collieries, beginning 
as a slate picker at the Boston Run breaker. Then he went to work for 
Charles Miller, a butcher at Tuscarora, with whom he had been engaged 
but one year when he and his brother Peter bought out Mr. Miller, conduct- 
ing the business under the name of Brachman lirothers. They carried it on 
in partnership until 1907, when Frederick W. Brachman purchased his broth- 
er's interest, and he has continued it since as sole proprietor. LTnder his 
management it has been increasing steadily, his trade now extending all over 
the territory adjacent to Brockton. Mr. Brachman has forged ahead by strict 
appHcation to the building up of his business, but he has found time also to 
serve his fellow citizens in public trusts, having been a member of the board 
of school directors in Schuylkill township for nine years ; he was president 
of that body, and also treasurer for four years. On political questions he 
has stood with the Republican party. At one time Mr. Brachman was a 
member of the Elks lodge at Tamaqua. 

Mr. Brachman married Sarah Schroner, daughter of Daniel Schroner, of 
Lewistown, Schuylkill county, and children as follows ha\'e been born to 
them: Ida, now the wife of William DeLay; Margaret; Fredericka, who 
died when three and a half years old; Harry; Herbert; Lloyd; Norman; 
Beatrice, and Ruth. Mr. Brachman and his family have their religious con- 
nection with the Reformed denomination. 

BENJAMIN J. YOST, who is now holding the honorable position of 
chief burgess in Tamaqua borough, is an official of proved fidelity and trust- 
worthiness, favorably known in the several sections of Schuylkill county 
where he has resided. He is himself a native of Pottsville. tliis county, a 



798 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

son of Benjamin K. Yost, and belongs to a family whose members have long 
been respected for their adherence to high principles and upright lives. 

The Yost family is of old standing in Pennsylvania. Daniel Yost, great- 
grandfather of Benjamin J. Yost, was born in Montgomery county, Pa., in 
1759, and removed at an early day to what is now McKeansburg, Schuylkill 
county, where he died in 1839. He was an active, enterprising man in his 
day. A Whig in political faith, he always interested himself in public affairs, 
believing it the duty of every good citizen to protect and foster the common 
good, and he stood deservedly high in the community, not only because of 
his honorable character but also for his intelligence and good judgment. He 
was called to various positions of trust, being justice of the peace for a 
number of years in his township, and discharged the duties of the office with 
such marked ability and signal impartiality to all concerned that he was called 
up higher, being elected associate judge of the county. Judge Yost married 
Barbara Hillogus, and they had a family of ten children. 

Jonathan Yost, son of Daniel, was born in Montgomery county. Pa., in 
1797, and died in East Brunswick township, Schuylkill county, in 1866. He 
came to this county with his father, learned the blacksmith's trade, and fol- 
lowed it a number of years, but gave it up to go farming, which was his 
work during the last twenty years of his life. He was an active and ardent 
member of the German Reformed Church at McKeansburg, serving in nearly 
all the official positions in the church organization. He married Mary Kleck- 
ner, a daughter of Andrew Kleckner, one of the earlier emigrants from Ger- 
many into East Brunswick township, this county, where he followed farming 
and where he died. To this union were born twelve children, six sons and six 
daughters. 

Benjamin K. Yost, son of Jonathan, was born in Schuylkill county. He 
learned the trade of shoemaker, and later operated the "Rising Sun Hotel" 
at Pottsville. For a time he was located near New Philadelphia, this county, 
lived for three years at McKeansburg, and in 1861 went to Mahanoy City, 
removing thence to Lofty, where he resided for three years. He then spent 
six months at Reading before he settled at Shenandoah, Schuylkill county, 
where he carried on the hotel business, and later the shoe business, until his 
death. He is buried at McKeansburg, this county. Mr. Yost was a member 
of the Masonic fraternity. Five children were born to his marriage with 
Mary Wagner, namely: Jonatlian : S. W., who died in June, 1914 (he was 
cashier of the Shenandoah National Bank) ; Oscar, who died in 1915; Mary, 
who is living with her mother in Pennsylvania; and Benjamin J. 

Benjamin J. Yost was born Aug. 20, 1853. He received his education in 
the public schools, principally at Shenandoah, and during his youth clerked 
for some time in a store there, also learning the trade of barber. Soon after 
this he turned his attention to the work of organizing camps for the Patriotic 
Order Sons of America, in Schuylkill, Union, Centre, Snyder, Clinton, Clear- 
field and Columbia counties, and was so engaged for a period of eighteen 
months, meeting with notable success. Returning to his trade he followed it 
for a few years, until appointed deputy clerk of the Schuylkill county courts, 
in which position he served one term. After that he resumed his trade at 
Shenandoah for two years, until he took charge of the "Lakeside Hotel'' at 
Lakeside, Pa., which he carried on for eleven years. For another year he 
was in the restaurant business at Lansford, Pa., in September, 191 1, coming 
to Tamaqua and going back to his trade. In June, 1914, he was appointed 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 799 

chief burgess of the borough, by the Schuylkill county courts, and he is 
giving faithful attention to the duties of this responsible office, striving earn- 
estly to promote the best interests of his town and fellow townsmen. Mr. 
Yost made an excellent record in his previous public service, having acted 
as health officer of Rush and Ryon townships, this county; as deputy coroner; 
and for seven years as a member of the council in Shenandoah. 

Mr. Yost has always kept up his active connection with the P. O. S. of A. 
He holds membership in Washington Camp No. 112, of Shenandoah, has 
served as State marshal, and has attended twenty State and National con- 
ventions. 

Mr. Yost was united in marriage with Martha R. Kohler, who died in 
June, 1914, and by whom he had the following children : Robert, Gertrude, 
Martha, Emma and Edgar. 

WILLIAM R. BUCKLEY. M. D., one of the younger physicians in prac- 
tice at Schuylkill county, is now acting as first assistant surgeon in the State 
hospital at Fountain Springs, with which institution he has been associated 
since his graduation, in 1913. Dr. Buckley was born at Girardville, this county, 
March 10, 1886, son of William and Mary (Horan) Buckley. 

William Buckley, the father, was born in the Alill Creek district, near 
Pottsville, Schuylkill county. His father, Peter Buckley, a native of Ireland, 
had settled there upon coming to this country. He remained there until his 
death, working as an engineer at the mines. William Buckley came to 
Girardville when nineteen years old, and has been a resident of that place 
ever since. He has been engaged in mine work all his life, for years serving 
as superintendent and outside foreman at the Otto colliery, near Girard- 
ville, one of the large coal workings in Schuylkill county. His wife was born 
at Minersville, this county, daughter of Thomas Horan, who was born in 
Ireland and came to the United States at an early date, living for a time at 
Minersville and later moving to Girardville, where he conducted a hotel. He 
also served as tax collector of the latter place, and died there. Mr. and Mrs. 
William Buckley have had a family of nine children : Catherine, who is the 
wife of B. J. Duffy, an attorney, of Coaldale, Schuylkill county ; Thomas V., 
a physician and surgeon, located at Lansford, Carbon Co., Pa. ; William R. ; 
John, deceased ; Mary, who is engaged in teaching school at Branchdale, this 
county; Ella, also a teacher, at present engaged at Bridgeton, N. J.; Florence, 
Walter and Edwin, at home. 

William R. Buckley obtained his preparatory education at' Girardville. In 
1909 he entered the Medico-Chirurgical College, at Philadelphia, and com- 
pleted the course in 1912, graduating with the degree of M. D. Shortly after- 
wards he was appointed a member of the staff of the State hospital at Fountain 
Springs, in his native county, and he has since been appointed first assistant 
surgeon at that institution, which position he now holds. It affords exceptional 
facilities for experience, and Dr. Buckley's training has been such as to enable 
him to take advantage of this. Though he is just at the outset of his career 
he has already gained the reputation off being a thoroughly reliable surgeon, 
and his personal qualities as well as his professional attainments are such that 
he has every promise of a useful and successful future. He is a member of 
the Schuylkill County Medical Society, the State Medical Society and the 
American Medical Association. Socially he belongs to Sheridan Council, 



800 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 

Knights of Columbus, for which organization he is medical examiner. In 
religious faith he is a Catholic, belonging to St. Joseph's Church. 

JOHN GREGORY (deceased), of Shenandoah, son of Simon and Han- 
nah (Webb) Gregory, was born Nov. 30, 1861, at Wadesville, Schuylkill 
county. He attended schools at Wadesville and Shenandoah, but his oppor- 
tunities were limited, for at the age of nine years he began picking slate at 
Shenandoah, working at this for one year, when he left to take a position as 
clerk in the hardware store of Mr. Leuburg, at Shenandoah. In that store 
he remained until the year 1894, when he finally decided to enter business him- 
self. Not having sufficient capital he succeeded in interesting H. W. Titman to 
venture with him into the business world as a partner, and on June 4, 1894, 
they deposited in the Merchants' National Bank an ecjual sum of money for 
the purpose of transacting business as above stated, the earnings of said com- 
pany to be equally divided, John Gregory serving as manager for the con- 
cern, which was known as "The City Supply Co." On July 3, 1906, H. W. 
Titman sold his interest to John Gregory, wiping out the firm of the City 
Supply Co. and leaving John Gregory the sole owner. Under his capable 
management he built up a large wholesale and retail hardware business, and 
contributed his share towards establishing the high modern standards of busi- 
ness now characteristic of commercial life in the borough of Shenandoah, 
where all of his active years were spent. Though he started out without 
means, Mr. Gregory won his way steadily forward to a prominent position 
among local merchants, and by his sterling personal traits came to hold an 
equally high place in social relations. His business operations have left a 
permanent impression of improved conditions in mercantile interests in the 
community. On Sept. i, 1913, while out automobiling, he had an accident, 
receiving injuries which resulted in his death Oct. 17. 1913. 

Mr. Gregory was beloved as well as respected. It has been said that he 
never had any enemies. High-minded, just and sensible, he displayed most 
excellent qualities in all his associations, was esteemed for his goodness and 
kindness, and admired for his notable accomplishments in business. With his 
wife he belonged to the Methodist Episcopal Church in Shenandoah, and took 
a genuine interest in its work, serving as librarian of the Sunday school. 
Fraternally he belonged to the Odd Fellows, holding membership in the lodge 
at Shenandoah. He was one of the directors of the Merchants' National 
Rank of Shenandoah and took an active part in its development. 

On Sept. 22, 1885, ]\Ir. Gregory married Eliza R. Evans, and of the 
children born to this marriage four reached maturity; Dollie E., who is actively 
engaged in managing her father's hardware business; Lillie M., who is attend- 
ing the Peirce Business College in Philadcljihia ; Harold J., who is in the mili- 
tary school at Wenonah, N. J.; and Ruth M., in school at home. 

Mr. Gregory's parents were natives of England and his father was a mine 
foreman in the local anthracite fields. He met his death, on the evening of 
Sept. T, 1880, through the agency of an explosion of a quantity of an unknown 
explosive gas. while on duty at the Kehley Run colliery, Shenandoah, Pa. He 
had three brothers and one sister, all born in England, John, Richard, Mary 
and Elsia. 

Mr. Gregory's mother. Hannah (Webb) Gregory, born in September, 
1836, was the daughter of John Webb, who came to this country from Eng- 
land. He worked as a laborer and driver at the colliery, serving also as 




£>4^^t^^^>p/ 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 801 

stable boss, and died at the age of eighty-two years. He married in England 
Elizabeth Miles, and they had five children, the eldest, Charles Webb, born 
in 1834; Hannah was born in 1836; William, born in 1839, was killed at Raven 
Run; George, bom in 1841, died at Wadesville; Henry John was born in 
1854. The only surviving member of this family is Mrs. Hannah (Webb) 
Gregory, mother of John Gregory. She has had six children: Lillie (de- 
ceased), William, George, Emma, John (deceased) and Alfred S. 

Lot Franklin and Phoebe Evans, grandparents of Mrs. John Gregory, were 
both of Quaker stock. They had children as follows : Thomas, how a clerk 
in his son's store in St. Clair, Schuylkill county ; Baldwin, who clerks in a 
store at Glen Carbon, and is a shipper at the Pine Forest colliery; Frank, 
now deceased, who was mine boss at Pine Forest ; Elizabeth, who married 
John Bowen, superintendent of one of the mine districts of the Philadelphia 
& Reading Coal & Iron Company; Sarah, who married Austin Darrah (they 
are deceased) ; and Lot Franklin. All had families. 

Lot Franklin Evans, father of Mrs. Gregory, was bom in Chester county. 
Pa., and was engaged as a stationary engineer at colliery No. 2, Lost Creek, 
near Shenandoah. He married Elizabeth Hammer, and they had a family of 
ten children, viz.: (i) Clara married Ambrose Titus, a mine engineer, of 
St. Clair, and they had children, Edward and Benjamin. The parents are 
deceased. (2) Albert, a carpet weaver, of Shenandoah, never married. 

(3) Phoebe, unmarried, lives at Shenandoah with her sister, Mrs. Gregory. 

(4) Isabella died unmarried. (5) Alonzo died at the age of fourteen years. 
(6) Lot F., employed as an engineer at the mines at St. Clair, married 
Sarah Pearson. They have no children. (7) Sarah is the wife of David 
Phillips, who is employed at outside work at the Scranton (Pa.) mines, and 
they have eight children, Roy, Jennie, Claud, Harry, Albert, Elizabeth, Thelma 
and Dolly. (8) Eliza R. is the widow of John Gregory. (9) Dolly died at 
the age of twenty-three years. (10) Sanford, deceased, married Saphronia 
Roth, who resides at Shenandoah. They had children: Elizabeth, who mar- 
ried Will Davis, of Stamford, Conn. ; Myrtle, unmarried ; Ethel, and Florence, 
the three last named living with their aunt Mrs. Gregory. All the members 
of this family attend the Methodist Episcopal Church at Shenandoah. 

HENRY SACHS, of Nuremberg, Schuylkill county, is one of the best 
known residents of North Union township, his duties as postmaster and mer- 
chant bringing him into daily contact with most of his fellow citizens. He 
was born July 18, 1871, at Eckley, in Luzerne county. Pa., and is of German 
descent, his grandfather, John Sachs, having lived and died in Germany. He 
was a blacksmith at Eba, and is buried there. His wife came to America, 
and is buried at Nuremberg, Schuylkill Co., Pa. They were the parents of 
the following children : Daniel Martin ; Elizabeth, widow of Henry Hill, liv- 
ing at Hazleton, Pa. ; Adam, a retired miner and hotel-keeper of Freeland, 
Pa., who married Barbara Wiegand ; Gertrude, wife of John Benner, watch- 
man at the Hazleton National Bank; and Jacob, a miner, of Hazleton, who 
married Mary Heimbach. The parents adhered to the German Reformed 
faith. 

Daniel Martin Sachs, son of John, was born_Oct. 26, 1842, at Eba, Ger- 
many, and grew up in his native land, receiving ordinary educational advan- 
tages. When sixteen years old he made the journey to America alone, land- 
ing at New York and proceeding thence to Lofty, Schuylkill Co., Pa., whence 

Vol. 11—13 



/ 



802 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

he walked to Eckley, Luzerne county. There he found work in the coal 
mines, first for Leisering & Co., later for Wentz & Co., and in time became 
foreman for the company. When he had been in this country about one year 
he sent to Germany for his mother, who joined him at Eckley. He removed 
from that place Aug. 15, 1881, to Deringer, Luzerne county, where he was 
mine foreman for Coxe Bros. & Co., and later was promoted to general mine 
foreman, holding that position until his death, which occurred at Deringer 
March 7, 1909. He and his wife, Anna Elizabeth (Wiegand), are buried 
at Nuremberg, Pa. He was a member of the German Reformed Church, a 
Republican in political sentiment, and at one time belonged to the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows. He was elected to the office of school director, and 
was one of the highly respected members of the community in which he resided. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Daniel M. Sachs were born the following children: Eliz- 
abeth resides at Nuremberg, Pa.; William, of Hazleton, Pa., a surveyor, mar- 
ried Mary Spiece; Henry is next in the family; Anna Catherine is the wife of 
John Rabuck, draughtsman for the L. & N. Railroad Company, at Louisville, 
Ky. ; Daniel Martin, of Oil City, Pa., vice president of the Northern Pipe 
Line Company, married Olive Lobach ; Anna Donatas is a public school teacher 
at Weston, Pa., and lives at Nuremberg. 

Mrs. Anna Elizabeth (Wiegand) Sachs was born in 1848 in Germany, 
and came to America with her parents when two years old, the family set- 
tling at Stockton, Luzerne Co., Pa. Her father, Christopher Wiegand, was a 
blacksmith, and after following his trade for a time turned to hotelkeeping, 
conducting the "Wiegand Hotel" at Freeland, Pa., up to the time of his 
death. He and his wife are both buried at Freeland. He belonged to the 
Reformed Church at that place, and in politics was associated with the 
Republican party. His children were: Gertrude, widow of William Sipple, 
living in Philadelphia ; Anna Elizabeth, Mrs. Sachs ; and Barbara, who is 
married to Adam Sachs, of Freeland. 

Henry Sachs attended public school at Eckley and Gowen. Pa., and the 
Orangeville Academy in Columbia county, this State. When but eleven years 
old he commenced work at the Deringer breaker, picking slate, and was 
employed there for three months. Later he was in the office of the mine 
boss, as errand boy, in time was promoted to clerk, and held that position 
until he reached the age of twenty years. Then, being ambitious to better 
his condition, he took a commercial course at the Wyoming Seminary, in 
Luzerne county, and upon its completion returned to Deringer and took the 
position of warehouse man at Fern Glen for the Pennsylvania Railroad 
Company. While so engaged he learned telegraphy, and he remained there 
for a year, until June 2, 1893. On June 2, 1894, he was appointed telegraph 
operator at Gum Run tower, for the same company, being stationed there 
two years ; was next employed at the Deringer colliery of Coxe Bros. & Co., 
for a few years, shipping coal ; and was transferred thence to the company 
store at Fern Glen, as bookkeeper, holding that position a few years. Resum- 
ing telegraphy, he became operator for the Lehigh \'alley Railroad Company 
at Park Place until October, 1898, when he entered the employ of Lentz & 
Co., in their company store at Park Place, being retained there until Jan. 
I, 1905. Mr. Sachs had to give up his work there on account of illness, and 
when he went back to work it was as station agent at Sheppton, Schuylkill 
county, for the D. S. & S. Railroad Company, now the Lehigh Valley Railroad 
Company. He continued to discharge his duties as such until May, 1907, 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 803 

when he became extra telegrapher for the Pennsylvania Railroad Company, 
and was so engaged until 191 1. On July 17th of that year he bought the 
store of M. Griffith at Nuremberg, and has since conducted that establish- 
ment very successfully, dealing in shoes and clothing. The store has gained 
steadily in popularity under his management, and he has made a place for 
himself among the reliable merchants of the town, where he is held in high 
regard for his sterling personal qualities, shown in all the relations of life. 
On Nov. 16, igii, Mr. Sachs received the appointment of postmaster at Nurem- 
berg, and has filled the office since to the thorough satisfaction of his fellow 
citizens. His ability as an accountant is well known, and since May, 1906, 
he has been private auditor for the Central Pennsylvania Quarry Stripping & 
Construction Company and for the Benjamin Iron & Steel Company, both of 
Hazleton. He is secretary and treasurer, as well as a director, of the Conyng- 
hani \'alley Telephone Company ; is a past president and trustee of Washington 
Camp No. 96, P. O. S. of A., of Nuremberg; has been director of the Nurem- 
berg Cornet Band since 191 1, and plays the cornet with that organization; 
is affiliated with Camp No. 226, Woodmen of the World, at Rock Glen, Pa. ; 
and is a leading member of Emanuel Reformed Church at Nuremberg, which 
he is now serving as deacon, trustee and secretary of the Sunday school. On 
political questions Mr. Sachs is a Republican. He has served as school director 
of North Union township. 

On Feb. 22, 1896, llr. Sachs was united in marriage with Edna Estella 
Breisch, who was bom July 6, 1879, 3t Nuremberg, where she began her ' 
education in the public schools. Later she attended the public schools of 
Bloomsburg, Pa. She is a member of Emanuel Lutheran Church at Nurem- 
berg, and a Sunday school teacher there at present. Mr. and Mrs. Sachs have 
had a family of four children: Larue A., born July i, 1897, ^^'^s educated 
at Nuremberg, graduating from the high school in 191 5, and is a helpful 
worker in the Lutheran Church, singing in the choir and teaching in the Sun- 
day school; Edgar Theodore, born Jan. 22, 1899, died March 16. 1899; Daniel 
Ray, born May 3, 1902, at Park Place, is attending school at Nuremberg; 
Walter Henry, born Aug. 13, 1908, is attending school at Nuremberg. 

George Breisch, great-great-grandfather of Mrs. Sachs, moved from Bucks 
county. Pa., to Columbia county, and was one of the pioneer settlers in that 
region. 

John Breisch, great-grandfather of Mrs. Sachs, died Oct. 29, 1873, aged 
seventy-seven years, one month, twelve days. He was a pioneer in the Cata- 
wissa valley, in Schuylkill county, farming in Union township, his property 
there belonging at present to the heirs of Henry Breisch. His wife, Elizabeth 
(Shuman), died Aug. 22, 1869, aged sixty-nine years, two months, twenty- 
nine days, and they are buried at the old White Church in Union township. 
Mr. Breisch held to the principles of the Republican party. His children were: 
Washington, who died when about twenty years old ; Rudolph ; Jacob, who 
married Fayette Zimmerman; Adam, who married Mary Rarig; Henry, who 
married Rebecca Reich: Josiah, who married Susanna Zimmerman; and 
Susanna, wife of John ]\Iaurer. 

Rudolph Breisch, son of John, was born Jan. 5, 1826, was reared in Schuyl- 
kill county, and died Sept. 10, 1906. He and his wife are buried in the ceme- 
tery of the Old White Church, and he was one of the very active members of 
the Evangelical Lutheran congregation there, serving as elder, deacon, and in 
other important positions. In early life he was a Republican, but later he 



804 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 

\oted independently. He served as a school director while living in Black 
Creek township, Luzerne county. For a time Mr. Breisch kept hotel at Mid- 
dleport, Schuylkill county, later farmed in Black Creek township, and was 
subsequently engaged in merchandising at Brandonville. Schuylkill county, 
also lumbering near that place. On Jan. 26, 1847, he married Missouri Ann Zim- 
merman, who was born July 5, 1827, daughter of Roland and Elizabeth ( Focht) 
Zimmerman, of Catawissa Valley, and died Feb. 19, 1913. They had the fol- 
lowing family : Barbara E. married Benjamin Seltzer, and both are deceased ; 
Theodore A. is mentioned below ; John B., who lives at Mahanoy City, mar- 
ried Mary Boyer (deceased) and (second) Sallie Fisher; Montgomery R. 
died aged four years, nine months ; Jeffrey A. married Hattie Miller and 
lives at Orwigsburg, Pa. ; Minerva C. is the wife of Frank Davenport, of St. 
Clair, Pa.; Jacob W., deceased, married Carrie M. Stauffer, who lives at 
Nuremberg ; Oliver A. is deceased ; Oscar C. married Elma Fish, and they 
live at Kansas City, Kans. ; Cyrus E. married Mayme Hagenbuch, and their 
home is at Mahanoy City. 

Theodore A. Breisch was born Aug. 31, 1850, at Middleport, Schuylkill 
county, was reared in this county, and received his education in the public 
schools of Union township and at Wyoming Seminary, in Luzerne county. 
He began life as a clerk in the general store of Jacob Breisch at Zion Grove, 
in North Union township, where he remained for three years. In 1871, in 
partnership with J. M. Stout, he embarked in the general mercantile busi- 
ness at Nuremberg, and four years later bought out his partner, after that 
conducting the store alone until 1881. Then he became associated with 
his brother. Jacob William Breisch, and they did business together until the 
latter's death, April 26, 191 5. Mr. Breisch is now carrying on the store on 
his own account. He also owns and operates a private water supply, having a 
large storage tank on his property, from which he supplies water to the 
inhabitants of the town. There is a water tower to produce pressure, and 
a full pumping outfit, and the service is very satisfactory, thirty-eight fam- 
ilies patronizing this plant. It is typical of Mr. Breisch's progressive dis- 
position. He has served North Union township as school director and tax 
collector, was auditor of Black Creek township, Luzerne county, and has 
twice been elected justice of the peace, but has never qualified. He is a 
Republican and a Lutheran, belonging to Emanuel Church at Nuremberg, of 
which he has been treasurer for several years. 

On Sept. I, 1872, Mr. Breisch married Mary C. Stauffer, who was bom 
April 27, 1854, daughter of David and IMaria Anne (Andreas) Stauffer, and 
an account of her parents and earlier ancestors appears elsewhere in this 
work. Mrs. Breisch is a native of Ringtown, where she was reared and 
educated. During her girlhood, until her marriage, she sang in the choir of 
the ( )1(1 \\'hite Church near that borough. She is now a member of Emanuel 
k'vanL^elical Lutheran Church at Nuremberg and has been a teacher in the 
Sunday school for many years, having been superintendent of the primary 
department and now teaching a young people's Bible class. Mrs. Breisch has 
also been active in the choir, having led the singing in church for a number 
of years. Five children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Breisch: Erdie 
B., born Tune 10, 1873, is now the wife of Josiah Singley, who is engaged 
as a traveling salesman and resides at Wilkinsburg, Pa. ; their children are 
Mary L. and Walter H. Gertrude M., born June 5, 1875, died Dec. 6, 1877. 
Lottie L., born Aug. 4, 1877, died March 24, 1881. Edna E. is the wife of 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 805 

Henry Sachs. Willard E., born Nov. 13, 1881, assists his father in the store; 
he married Mayme King, and they have a family of four children, Harold A., 
Theodore W., Elva AL and Viola May. 

OLIVER MILLER, of McAdoo, Schuylkill county, has been a resident 
of that borough from young manhood, and after a varied experience is now 
doing business there on his own account, having recently bought the interest 
of W. F. Miller in the only ice plant in the vicinity. He had been in Mr. 
Miller's employ for several years before he acquired the ownership of the 
business, which he is well qualified to continue successfully. 

Daniel Miller, father of Oliver Miller, was born in West Penn township, 
Schuylkill county, and followed farming there until his death. His wife, 
whose maiden name was Susanna Runkel, is also deceased, and they are 
buried at the White Church in West Penn township. Mr. and Mrs. Daniel 
Miller had two children, Oliver and Alice, the latter now married to Pierce 
Bear and living in Berks county, Pennsylvania. 

Oliver Miller was born July 22, 1868, in West Penn township, this county, 
where he grew to manhood, obtaining his education in the public schools of 
the home locality. He was reared to farming, and after leaving home was 
engaged at such work in Rush township for about four years, at the end of 
that time settling at McAdoo. During the first four years of his residence 
in the town he drove team for Mr. Spangler, and was afterwards employed 
in dififerent positions about the collieries. Then for six months he operated 
the electric light plant at McAdoo, and for the next seven years was in the 
employ of W. F. Miller, who conducted the ice business which Oliver Miller 
bought from him in the spring of 191 5. In the winter season Mr. Miller 
does considerable hauling, and with both branches of his business is kept 
constantly busy. He is a man of recognized ability and trustworthiness, and 
has exercised a good influence in the public affairs of the borough, in which 
he has taken an active part for some time. In 1913 he was elected by a 
large majority as a member of the local school board, and is treasurer of 
that body. His political support has been given to the Republican party. 
Socially he affiliates with the P. O. S. of A. and the Order of Independent 
Americans. 

Mr. Miller married Dora Frank, and two of the children born to this 
marriage died young, the survivors being: Edna, Harry, Mabel, Florence 
and Helen. The family are Lutherans in religious faith. 

GEORGE B. :\IcCLELLAN HORN, late of East Brunswick township, 
was a prosperous farmer and substantial citizen of that township until his 
death, which occurred when he was in his prime. His widow, who now 
resides at McKeansburg, is a member of the Albright and Fegley families, 
both highly respected in this section, where they have long been associated 
with good citizenship and progress. 

Mr. Horn was born in Lehigh county. Pa., Oct. 8, 1862, son of Jonathan 
Horn and grandson of Christian Horn. The father was also a native of 
Lehigh county, born Jan. 7, 1827, in Heidelberg township. At the age of 
twelve years he was apprenticed to learn the blacksmith's trade, at which he 
continued to work until forty years old. and he was considered one of the 
best blacksmiths in Lehigh county. In 1866 he purchased a fine farm in 
East Brunswick township, Schuylkill county, from William Albright, for 



806 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

$9,000. He was a good manager, and soon bought another farm, from Wil- 
liam Bolich, for $10,000, which later became the property, of his son George 
and is now owned by the latter's widow, Mrs. Hattie Horn. The first farm 
is now owned by George K. Zimmerman. Air. Horn also bought a farm 
from Reuben Jones, for $2,700, which property is now owned by his son 
Jonathan P. Jonathan Horn married Sophia Louisa Bock, who was born 
Aug. 20, 1833, in Albany township, Berks Co., Pa., daughter of George and 
Rebecca (Henninger) Bock, also natives of Albany township. Children as 
follows were born to this marriage: Hannah Louise, born April 3, 1850, 
died June 3, 1850; Lucetta Rebecca, born June 9, 1851, married Dr. P. C. 
Detwiler, a dentist, of Schuylkill Haven, Pa. ; Josiah Franklin, born June 4, 
1853, married Agnes Koch; Thomas Henry, born March 20, 1855, died July 
7, 1861, aged six years, three months, seventeen days; Elmira Missouri, born 
June 16, 1857, is the widow of Thomas Bensinger, and lives in McKeans- 
burg, Pa. ; Jonathan Peter, born Aug. 26, 1859, married Rebecca Rarick ; 
George B. McClellan, born Oct. 8. 1862, married Hattie Albright; Priscilla 
June, born Sept. 7, 1864, died July 12, 1896; Sophia Louisa, born March 
27, 1867, died April 9, 1886; Sarah Maria, born April 10, 1869, died Jan. 21, 
1890; Howard Walter married Alvina Gottshall; Agnes Victoria married 
Oliver Mimm. Before the death of Jonathan Horn his sons George and 
Jonathan P. bought the two farms remaining. He died Aug. 27, 1905, his 
wife on July 15, 1910. They are buried at McKeansburg. 

George I?. McClellan Horn was educated in the schools of East Brunswick 
township, where he grew to manhood, meantime assisting his father on the 
home farm. Before the death of his father he bought the property of 100 
acres, all cleared, which originally had been the William Bolich farm, and 
carried on general farming until his death, which occurred Feb. 23, 1906. 
He was a progressive worker, an interested member of McKeansburg Grange, 
No. 1256, Patrons of Husbandry, and also belonged to Washington Camp No. 
100, P. O. S. of A., of New Ringgold. His political allegiance was given to 
the Democratic party. He held the esteem of all his fellow citizens, and was 
a valued member of the Christ Lutheran Church at ]\IcKeansburg, where he 
is buried. 

Mr. Horn married Hattie Albright, a daughter of Charles and Rebecca 
(Fegley) Albright, and they had Uvo children: Clarence Albright, born 
June 16, 1891, attended school in East Brunswick township, graduated from 
"Schuylkill Seminary, Reading, Pa., in the class of 1912, and is now a student 
in the Pennsylvania State College; he taught school one year in Lilesville, N. 
C. Harry Franklin, born Aug. 31, 1894, began his education in the East 
Bnuiswick township schools, and was a member of the class of 191 5 at Schuyl- 
kill Seminary, Reading, Pa., taking a preparatory course. 

Mrs. Hattie (Albright) Horn was born June 23, 1870, in West Brunswick 
township, and received her education in the schools of East Brunswick town- 
ship. After the death of her husband she continued to reside on the farm, 
managing it for seven years. When her children went away to school she 
rented the place to Frank Kriner, and moved to McKeansburg, where she 
had bought a fine residence from Simon Mengle, and is still residing there. 
She is an active member of the Church of God (Steigerwalts). 

Peter Albright, Mrs. Horn's grandfather, was a farmer in West Bruns- 
wick township, owning a tract which he operated for a number of years, 
when he rented it out. Then he went into the general store business at 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 807 

Drehersville, this county, which he conducted until he sold out and returned 
to his farm, where he died when over ninety years of age. His wife, Polly 
(Fusselman), lived to be over seventy. They had six children: Isabelle 
married John Kimmel, who is deceased; Catherine married Nathan Saltzer, 
and both are deceased ; Elizabeth married Henry Hoy, and both are deceased ; 
James, deceased, married Caroline Heisler; Charles is the father of Mrs. Horn; 
Francisca is deceased. The parents are buried in the Reformed cemetery at 
Orwigsburg. Mr. Albright was a Democrat, and a member of the Reformed 
Church at Orwigsburg. 

Charles Albright, Mrs. Horn's father, was a farmer throughout his active 
years, always working for his father until the latter's death. He married 
Rebecca Fegley, who was born Jan. 29, 1847, in Pinedale, West Brunswick 
township, daughter of Nathan and Phoebe (Knittle) Fegley, and their chil- 
dren are : James married Phoebe Kimmel ; Lizzie married Albert G. Koch ; 
Agnes married Howard G. Kimmel, who is deceased ; Hattie is the widow of 
George B. McClellan Horn. Mr. Albright is now living retired with his 
daughter, Mrs. Albert Koch, in East Brunswick township. Like his father 
he is a stanch Democrat, and he united with the Reformed Church at Orwigs- 
burg. 

Abraham Fegley, Mrs. Horn's great-grandfather in the maternal line, 
was born in Berks county. Pa., and was a farmer by occupation all his life. 
He was the owner of a large tract. He married twice, and had the follow- 
ing children by his first wife : Nathan ; Charles, who married Lavina Hoff- 
man ; and Elizabeth, Mrs. William Dreher. Five children were born to his 
second marriage: Catherine, Sallie, Amanda (Mrs. Andrew Haupt), Reuben 
(who married Maria Boyer) and Daniel. Mr. Fegley and both his wives are 
buried at Orwigsburg. He was a member of the Reformed Church there, 
and a Democrat on political questions. 

Nathan Fegley, son of Abraham, was born in Longswamp township, 
Berks Co., Pa., settled in West Brunswick township, Schuylkill county, and 
was a farmer for John Matz at Pinedale. Later he bought a farm of sixty- 
five acres in West Brunswick which he operated until his death. By his 
marriage to Phoebe Knittle, daughter of Daniel and Rebecca (Paul) Knittle. 
he had children as follows : Daniel married Mary Zimmerman ;' Sarah is the 
widow of Benjamin Zimmerman ; Rebecca is the mother of Mrs. Horn ; 
Joanna married Jack Kramer ; William married Sarah Bachman ; Kate mar- 
ried George Moyer ; Susanna married Charles Kramer. Nathan Fegley was 
a prominent member of the Church of God at Steigerwalt, active in all its 
affairs, and zealous in the promotion of religious interests generally. He held 
to the principles of the Democratic party. 

SALEM BENJAMIN SCHAFFER, of East Brunswick township, is a 
son of Benjamin Schaffer and grandson of the late Jacob Schaft'er, both of 
whom lived and worked in that township. All of the name have been respected 
citizens and held a worthy place in the community, aiding in the development 
of her agricultural resources specially and doing their share in furthering 
local progress. 

Jacob" Schaft'er, the grandfather, was a farmer and stonemason in East 
Brunswick township. He learned his trade early in life, and later he bought 
a farm of forty-five acres, part of which he cleared. He operated his farm 
in connection with work at his trade, and when his children became old 



808 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

enough they took care of the land while he gave all his time to his trade. 
He died on the farm. His wife, Priscilla (Sassaman), died in October, 1912, 
aged ninety-one years. Children as follows were born to them: Jacob, de- 
ceased, married Emma Yoxhammer, who now lives in Chicago, lU. ; Henry, 
deceased, married Sarah Bachert, who resides in East Brunswick township; 
Benjamin is next in the order of birth ; Priscilla married Jacob Marbach, 
and they reside at Middleport, Pa. ; Amanda married Harry McMullin, and 
they reside at Reading, Pa. ; Mary married Solomon Bachert, and they are 
residents of East Brunswick township; Lizzie married a Mr. Reed, and both 
are deceased; Emma married Frank Halderman, and resides at New Haven, 
Conn. Mr. and Mrs. Schaffer are buried at the Frieden's Church, New Ring- 
gold. He was a leading member of the Lutheran congregation of that church, 
which he served as elder, deacon, and in other capacities. His political sym- 
pathies were with the Democratic party, and he held the office of supervisor. 

Benjamin Schafifer, son of Jacob, was born in East Brunswick township, 
June 3, 185 1, was reared and educated in that township, and assisted his 
"father on the farm until twenty-one years of age. Then he married and 
bought a few acres in East Bnmswick township, on which he settled. He 
learned the trades of plasterer and stonemason, which he followed for a few 
years, when he sold his little place and bought a tract of fifty acres in West 
Penn township, this county, and cultivated it in addition to working at his 
trades. Later he sold this tract and came to East Brunswick township, first 
purchasing a tract of fifty acres and later a tract of 153 acres, for his son 
Salem. Up to 1914 he had about eighty acres. He then bought a house and 
small lot and is now living retired, his son Norman Edward having one of 
his farms, and his son Salem another tract, now having 108 acres. Benjamin 
Schaffer has always followed plastering and stone-masonry as well as agricul- 
tural work. His wife, Savina (Halderman), now about sixty-seven years 
old, is a daughter of Abraham and Priscilla (Zimmerman) Halderman, and 
children as follows have been bom to them: Amanda, who died in infancy; 
Harvey Franklin, who died young; Salem Benjamin; Claude, who died young; 
Elizabeth, wife of Howard W. Hessinger; Samuel, who married Maude De- 
Long; Maude, living at home; and Norman Edward, who married Annie 
Heise'r. Mr. Schafifer is a Democrat, has been elected school director, and is 
a devout member of the United Evangelical Church at New Ringgold. At 
one time he was a teacher in the Sunday school. 

Salem B. Schafifer was born Nov. i, 1877, in East Brunswick township, 
where he spent his early years attending the public schools. He worked for 
his father until twenty-one years old, when he was married and moved to 
his present place, which he operated for his father for seven years, until he 
bought it. He has occupied this fami since March 29, 1900, and has almost 
sixty-five acres under cultivation, the balance in timber. During the summer 
months Mr. Schafifer "hucksters" to Middleport and New Philadelphia twice 
a week His industrious character and sterling personal qualities hold the 
esteem of all who have dealings with him. He is a member in good standing 
of the Reformed congregation at the Frieden's Church, New Ringgold, and 
socially is united with Protection Council, No. 935. Order of Independent 
Americans, at McKeansburg. Politically he is a Democrat. 

Mr. Schafifer is married to Katie Rebecca Houser, who was born May 22, 
1876, at Tamaqua, this county, received a public school education in West 
Penn township, and at Nesquehoning, Carbon county, and remained at home 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 809 

until her marriage. Mr. and Mrs. Schafifer have had four children, born as 
follows: William Edward, May 23, 1900; Ethel May, July 6, 1902; Ida Ehz- 
abeth, Oct. 14, 1907; Harriet Arline, Dec. 28, 1910 (died Feb. 5, 1911). The 
latter is buried at Frieden's Church. The surviving children attend school in 
the township. 

Abraham Houser, Mrs. Schaffer's grandfather, was a farmer in East Bruns- 
wick township, where he died. He and his wife are buried at Zion's Church 
in West Penn township. They had the following children, all now deceased: 
Mrs. William Bachert; Frank and Abraham, both of whom died in the West; 
Sarah, who married John L. Eckert (he is deceased) ; Diana, who married a 
Johnson (he is deceased) ; Jonathan, the father of Mrs. Schaffer; Eli, who 
married Rebecca Houser, who is deceased ; and Nathan. 

Jonathan Houser was born in Kleckner's valley, in East Brunswick town- 
ship, Nov. 18, 1845, and died Jan. 18, 1912. He was educated in his native 
township, worked at home on the farm until his marriage, and also handled 
timber. Later he was employed by the Philadelphia & Reading Railway Com- 
pany, on the run from Tamaqua to Port Richmond, Philadelphia, and during 
his fourteen years' service on the railroad resided in Tamaqua. After leav- 
ing the railroad he rented a farm for two years, then removing to Nesquehon- 
ing, Carbon Co., Pa., where he drove teams for John T. Miller, lumber dealer. 
He continued at this occupation until within a year of his death, being obliged 
to retire because of illness. He is buried at Nesquehoning. Mrs. Houser is 
now living with her children. Her maiden name was Mary DeFrehn, and she 
was born Dec. 3, 1848, a daughter of Henry and Rebecca (Miller) DeFrehn, 
natives of Berks county. Pa. Mr. and Mrs. Houser had children as follows: 
Rosie Alice married William Hile, and resides at Nesquehoning, Pa. ; John 
Francis, also of Nesquehoning, married Mary Gettes, who is deceased ; Jere 
Henry was killed on the railroad when twenty-six years old ; Katie Rebecca 
is the wife of Salem B. Schaffer; Mary Elizabeth married John Lubert, and 
after his death (second) Edward J. Peters, and they reside at Allentown, 
Pa.; Annie Amanda married Adam Bechtel, and lives at Nesquehoning; 
Samuel Eli married Hattie Davis, and lives at Nesquehoning; Dora Jane 
married Charles Staudt, of Nesquehoning; Oliver Franklin died in infancy; 
William Harrison is a resident of Nesquehoning; Stella May is now in Allen- 
town, Pa. ; Amelia Irene died when fourteen months old. Mr. Houser attended 
Zion's Church in West Penn township. He was a Republican in his political 
views. 

HENRY DANNER, of Rush township, is one of the remarkably success- 
ful agriculturists of his section of Schuylkill county. Few men in that region 
have worked as hard for advancement, and few have had as satisfactory 
results. His fine property, as he has developed it, is considered an asset to 
the locality, for it is a practical demonstration of the possibilities of the neigh- 
borhood and an encouragement to others who have interests there. He makes 
a specialty of truck and fruit raising, and manufactures and deals in ice. 

Mr. Danner is a native of Bavaria, Germany, born Sept. 7, 1856, son of 
Henry Jacob Danner, who was extensively engaged in farming and was 
also a merchant. The father made two trips to America, but never took up 
his residence in this country, and he died in Germany when seventy-one years 
old. His wife, Caroline (Grund), died in Germany at the age of fifty-six 



810 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

years. They had children as follows : Frederick, Jacob, Peter, Henry, Eliz- 
abeth and Caroline. 

Henry Banner spent his early life in Germany, assisting his father. When 
ten years old he came to America with his father, and for six weeks was at 
St. Clair, Schuylkill Co., Pa. Returning with his father to Germany, he 
remained there until sixteen years old, when he again came to this country. 
For a time he was at Girardville, Schuylkill Co., Pa., employed at lime burn- 
ing, living at that place about fifteen months. He then went West to Iowa, and 
did railroad work for three years, and returning East located at Cressona, this 
county, where he assisted in the building of a limekiln, being so occupied for 
six months. Again he was in Iowa for a few months, removing thence to 
Nebraska, where he bought i6o acres of railroad land in Hamilton county, 
upon which, however, he remained only a short time. He next went to 
Kansas, where he was employed in a quarry for five months, after which he 
made a trip to New York City, from which place he came to Tamaqua. Here 
he was engaged at lime burning for six months, and then married, taking his 
wife out to his farm in Nebraska, where they lived a little while. Selling 
this place he went up to Minneapolis, Minn., but after fifteen months' resi- 
dence there went back to Nebraska, where they had their home for the next 
twenty-one months. Coming to Tamaqua, Pa., they were here but a short 
time when they returned to Minneapolis, living there two years, since when 
they have resided in Pennsylvania. On coming from Minneapolis they spent 
six months at Tamaqua, and then bought a tract of seventy acres in Rush 
township, Schuylkill county, part of which is included in Mr. Banner's pres- 
ent property there. He sold it and went to Shamokin, Pa., for a time, but 
having decided to devote himself to farming bought his place back, and he 
has since added to it until he now .has three hundred acres, all valuable land. 
Of this large tract 175 acres are under excellent cultivation. It has all been 
cleared and improved by hard work, and ]\Ir. Banner and his wife have lab- 
ored very efl:'ectively to get all the details of their work in systematic shape, 
by which means they are able to accomplish much more than would be pos- 
sible under average conditions. Besides ordinary crops Mr. Banner raises 
large quantities of truck and fruit, having over fifteen hundred fruit trees, 
apples, peaches and pears. He has made his way by diligent, intelligent 
application to his work, and deserves to be called a self-made man, for all 
his progress and prosperity is due to his own exertions. From time to time 
he has turned his hand to' other work, as opportunity has offered. For sev- 
eral years he was engaged in dairying, having thirty cows, but he gave up 
this branch of farming in 1908. He is also interested in the ice business, 
having built three dams on his land to facilitate the production of ice, which 
he disposes of in Tamaqua, Lansford and Coaldale. 

On Mav 4. 1881. Mr. Banner married Mary Louisa Schwalm, a native 
of Tamaqua, daughter of Jacob and Elizabeth (May) Schwalm. Fourteen 
children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Banner, but nine died young, the 
survivors being: Rebecca married Henry Hugle; Jacob married Annie 
Waters ; Frederick married Elizabeth Aikens ; Ruth married Charles Eberts ; 
Edgar married Lucv Erode. 

"^Mr. Banner is an Odd Fellow in good standing, belongmg to Lodge No. 
'86, of Tamaqua. His religious connection is with the Evangelical denomma- 
tion. 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 811 

JOHN J. HEDE (deceased) was established in the general merchandise 
business at Ashland for almost a quarter of a century, having a well-stocked 
store on Walnut street. Mr. Hede was a native of Schuylkill county, born near 
Ashland in July, i860, son of Michael Hede and grandson of John and Mary 
(Kilcline) Hede. The grandparents came to America in 1852, following 
the emigration of their son Michael, and settled at Ashland, Schuylkill Co., 
Pa., in 1856, building the home there occupied by their grandson, the late 
John J. Hede. They continued to reside in the borough the remainder of 
"their lives, Mr. Hede dying in 1871, Mrs. Hede in 1870. Both reached the 
advanced age of eighty ; they are buried at Ashland. John Hede was employed 
in the mines in the vicinity from the time of his settlement here. His family 
consisted of four children, Catherine, Michael, John and Winnie. 

Michael Hede, the father of John J. Hede, was born in County Roscom- 
mon, Ireland, where he was reared to mining. He came to this country alone 
in 1842, and at once located in Ashland, Schuylkill Co., Pa., later moving to 
the vicinity of Pottsville. In 1876 he returned to Ashland, where he passed 
the remainder of his days, dying in March, 1892. He always followed mining 
after coming to the county. At Port Carbon, this county, Mr. Hede mar- 
ried Bridget Kennedy, who was born in County Kilkenny, Ireland, daughter 
of Michael and Mary (Caton) Kennedy, who came to the United States with 
their family in the year 1830, and made their home near Pottsville, contin- 
uing to reside there the rest of their lives. Mrs. Kennedy died in 1870. They 
had a family of four children, namely: Olivia, Fannie, Bridget and Julia. 
Mr. and Mrs. ^ilichael Hede became the parents of eight children, viz. : 
Anna, who is deceased: John J.; Dennis, deceased; Mary, deceased; Michael, 
a resident of Ashland; Kate, deceased; William, who lives at Ashland, mar- 
ried to Jane Ross of that place; and Joseph, deceased. Of the daughters, 
Mary married Michael Hennessy, who is also deceased, and to them were born 
three children. Anna, Agatha and Catherine; of these, Anna married Thomas 
Flannagan, of Port Carbon, this county. The other two made their home 
with their uncle, John J. Hede, assisting him in the conduct of the general 
store. 

John |. Hede was educated in the schools of Blythe township, this county. 
When only nine years old he commenced to work in the mines, continuing to 
follow this occupation until 1890. That year he established the business at 
Ashland, where he conducted a general store the rest of his life, having a 
thriving trade. He established himself among the prosperous business men of 
the borough as a progressive and reliable merchant and his reputation and 
obliging service to all his customers attracted a large share of the local 
l>atronage. Mr. Hede was a member of St. Joseph's Catholic Church at 
Ashland. He died in 1914. 

GEORGE K. ZIMMERMAN owns and operates a valuable farm in East 
r.runswick townshijj. acquired by persevering industry and thrifty manage- 
ment. He settled there about fifteen years ago and began modestly, renting 
the property for five vears before he purchased it. and he has made his way 
by honest labor which has won him respect as well as prosperity. Mr. Zim- 
merman is up-to-date in his agricultural operations, is an all-around mechanic 
of practical ability, and is typically German in his thoroughness and regard 
for details. . ^ ^ . „ . 

John D. Zimmerman, his father, was a native of Prussia, Germany, born 



812 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

July 2.2, 1823, and emigrated to this country when a young man. Here he 
learned the wheelwright's trade. Making a return visit to Germany, the ship 
he sailed in was wrecked and he lost everything he had with the exception 
of the clothes he wore. He married in the old country and came back to 
America, settling at Leesport, Berks Co., Pa., where he followed his trade. 
When his son George was about eight years old he left Leesport for South 
Manheim township ( Jefiferson ) , Schuylkill Co., Pa., and there worked at his 
trade for John M. Kaufifman, iron master, for many years. He also owned 
a fann of thirty-seven and a half acres which he operated in connection with 
work at his trade, until his children were able to look after it. He cleared 
quite a portion of that tract. When he became too old to work he sold his 
farm and bought the house and small patch of ground where he spent his few 
remaining years in retirement. Mr. Zimmerman m-irried Anna Julianna 
Knieream, who died in 1870, aged forty-seven years, the mother of the fol- 
lowing children: William K. married Devilla Dry; George K. is next in the 
family; Christianna married James Zulick and after his death (second) How- 
ard Klahr; John married Mary Shotts ; Levi died when fourteen years old; 
Clara married Harry Peifer; several died in infancy. The father survived 
the mother many years, passing away Dec. 4, 1904. He is buried at Aubum, 
she at Summer Hill. Politically he was a Democrat, and he served his town- 
ship as supervisor. His religious connection was with St. Paul's Reformed 
Church at Summer Hill, in South Manheim township, which he served as 
deacon. 

George K. Zimmerman was born June tq, 1856, at Leesport, Berks Co., 
Pa. He attended school in South Manheim township and worked for his 
father until sixteen years old, when he learned shoemaking with John S. Heim, 
in that township, working for him seven years. Going to Miami county. 
Ind., he did farm work for Joseph Fisher and a Mr. Dewalt, and also fol- 
lowed his trade at Peru, same county, during the year he remained there. In 
the fall of 1879 he came back to South Manheim township, and followed 
his trade until his marriage in the spring of 1880. Thereafter he worked at 
his trade in Browerstown, South Manheim township, for sixteen years, having 
a house and one and a quarter acres of land, his shop in the basement of the 
dwelling. For one year he then worked as a farm laborer for Mrs. Sarah 
Heim. until he moved to Drehersville, in East Brunswick township, and rented 
the Nathan Kindt farm for four years. Then he removed to his present place, 
and tenanted it for five years, for Jonathan Horn, before he bought the farm, 
which he is still operating. Mr. Zimmerman has almost two hundred acres, 
of which 150 acres are cleared, and he has made many improvements on the 
place during his ownership. Most of the land is devoted to general farming, 
with about four acres in garden truck for which Mr. Zimmerman finds a 
profitable sale, marketing to Palo Alto and Port Carbon once a week \\\ 
winter and twice a week in the summer season. He built a story to his spring- 
house, where he still carries on shoemaking at odd times, and as he is pro- 
ficient at other trades also he is busily occupied. He has a working knowledge 
of several useful callings. He learned the carpenter's trade with Percival 
Henne, serving a three years' apprenticeship, and still follows it occasionally. 
He learned the painting trade with his brother John, and has found all these 
serviceable in the various channels into which his energy has gone. He has 
a threshing outfit and goes out among the farmers to thresh; has a fodder 
cutter which he uses the same way ; owns and operates a circular saw, cutting 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 813 

firewood for the farmers ; and for twenty-five years butchered among the 
neighboring farmers, until three years ago. The work of improving his own 
place has gone forward steadily, and he has erected a number of convenient 
out-buildings. Mr. Zimmemian has also exerted himself in local public 
improvements. He held the office of supervisor six years and was school 
director two terms, during one term serving as secretary of the board. Though 
now independent in politics he was a Democrat in his earlier years and quite 
active in the party, acting as delegate for South Alanheim township to county 
conventions held at Pottsville and Minersville. 

At one time Mr. Zimmerman was a member of Washington Camp No. 45, 
P. O. S. of A., at Auburn, is a past president, and has been representative to 
the State Camp; he belonged to Protection Council, No. 935, Order of Inde- 
pendent Americans, McKeansburg, and was councilor three terms ; is a member 
and past councilor of Pilgrim Council, No. 18, Daughters of America, at 
McKeansburg, and secretary of that lodge at present ; a member of McKeans- 
burg Grange, No. 1256, Patrons of Husbandry, and was at one time chaplain; 
and for two years he was a member of the Pittsburgh Pension Life Associa- 
tion. He started the Sunday school at Browerstown, in South Manheim town- 
ship, acted as superintendent, and assisted in the purchase of the organ. His 
church connection is with Christ Reformed congregation at McKeansburg, 
which he served as deacon for two years. His wife is a member of Christ 
Lutheran Church, McKeansburg. 

At Schuylkill Haven Mr. Zimmerman married Katie Ann Fichthorn, who 
was bom in Upper Bern township, Berks Co., Pa., July 28, 1861, and was 
educated in the district schools. Children as follows have been born to them: 
Mary Eva married Edward Seaman ; Lucy Ann married Harvey Kimmel ; 
Katie Ann married Fred Seaman ; John Adam married Rosie Kunkle ; George 
Franklin is unmarried; William Henry is unmarried; Lillie May married 
John G. Reber; Albert Nathaniel is next in the family; three died in infancy 
unnamed; Edward Levi, Ida ]\Iay, Wesley, Sarah Matilda, Bertha and Walter 
Roosevelt complete the family. 

Jacob Fichthorn, father of Mrs. Zimmerman, was born in Upper Bern 
township, Berks county, and was a farmer all his life, having a tract of sixty- 
four acres. He married Eva Hollenbach, a native of Berks county, and they 
had children: Franklin; Matilda, Mrs. Charles Berger ; Sarah; Nathaniel, 
who married Kate Baltzer; Katie Ann; and one that died in infancy. The 
father died when eighty-six years old, the mother at the age of sixty-five, and 
they are buried at St. Michael's Church in Tilden township, Berks county. He 
was a member of that church, and a Democrat in politics. 

PETER L. HOFFMAN, late of Brockton, was for many years one of 
the most popular residents of his part of Schuylkill county. Though esteemed 
for his honorable and successful business career, it was not that alone which 
made him so valued a citizen, but the qualities of heart and intellect which 
endeared him to an unusually wide circle of friends and acquaintances. With 
intelligence and progressive ideas beyond the average, he used his powers and 
influence in behalf of the general good so freely that his unselfish public spirit 
came to be regarded as one of the strongest assets of the enterprising element 
in the community, and his recent death was mourned as a personal loss by a 
large number of his fellow townsmen. 

Mr. Hofifman was born at Brockton, Nov. 9, i860, and was of German 



814 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL-^ 

extraction, his father, Nicholas Hoffman, having been a native of Germany, 
whence he came to America in young manhood. Setthng at what was then 
known as Patterson (now Brockton), Schuylkill Co., Pa., when the town was 
in its infancy, he engaged in the manufacture of cigars and also conducted a 
hotel, following both branches of business throughout his active years. He 
died at the age of fifty-three years. Mr. Hoffman was the father of a large 
family : William, John, Jacob and Frank are all deceased ; Michael lives at 
Newkirk, Schuylkill county; Peter L. is deceased; Mary is the wife of Albert 
Fritz ; Elizabeth married Peter Post ; Gertrude is the widow of Harry Focht. 
who was superintendent of the Pencoyd Iron Works at Manayunk, near 
Philadelphia ; Catherine married Joseph Bosler ; Lena married Jacob Hartz ; 
Matilda married Willis Parnell, an attorney, who is a member of the Schuylkill 
county bar and resides at Brockton. 

Peter L. Hoffman grew up at Brockton, attending the local public schools 
in his boyhood. He had very good educational advantages, going to school 
until he was twenty-one years old. and his studies included a course at the 
Eastman Business College, Poughkeepsie, N. Y. Then he became interested 
with his father in the manufacture of cigars at Brockton, and after his father's 
death he and his brother William continued the business for a time, Peter L. 
Hoffman subsequently carrying it on alone. He also operated the hotel which 
his father had established, and which is still owned in the family, and under 
his management it gained added prestige, his conformity to modern ideas and 
faculty for pleasing his guests drawing many new patrons and giving increased 
satisfaction to the old ones. Mr. Hoff'man was always a student, and his 
library included a number of rare books as well as standard works of recog- 
nized worth. He had a reflective turn of mind and a gift for writing, and 
contributed a number of articles to the local press, which were always accept- 
able and sure of interested readers. His interest in education led him to 
take an active part in securing the best possible advantages for his community, 
and for sixteen years he was on the school board of Schuylkill township, 
filling all the offices of that body with characteristic ability. He built the finst 
schoolhouse at Maryd. For several years Air. iloft'man also served as town- 
ship tax collector, in fact, he was never defeated as a candidate for local oftice. 
But in his later years he refused all such honors, though he never relinquished 
his support and encouragement to all good movements. Politically he was a 
Democrat in opinion. His place in the community can never be filled, and 
his death, which occurred June 3, 191 5, was considered a public bereavement. 
Fie is buried at Brockton. 

Mr. Hoffman was married to Lena Brachman, daughter of Frederick W. 
Brachman, late of Brockton, and she passed away March 5. 1896. They are 
survived by two daughters : Maud E. and Ruth M. They reside at the old 
homestead and continue to conduct the hotel, for which Miss Maud E. Hoff- 
man now holds the license. There are thirty acres of land in connection with 
the hotel property. 

HARRY M. MICHAEL, of Ouakake, Schuylkill county, is a prosperous 
merchant, commanding a good share of the patronage in his town and adjacent 
territory. His business has been built up by conscientious attention to the 
wants of his customers, and has grown steadily from the beginning, his store 
being now one of the most popular trading places in that section. 

Mr. Michael was born Sept. 23, 1875, at Beaver Valley, in Columbia 



SCHUYLPCILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 815 

county, Pa., and belongs to an old family of that section, where it is traced 
back for several generations. Ulrich Michael was born in Columbia county, 
where he spent his honorable life engaged in agricultural pursuits, and there 
he died. 

Adam Michael, son of Ulrich Michael, was born at Beaver Valley, Columbia 
Co., Pa. In addition to operating a farm of 350 acres in Beaver township 
he conducted a hotel at Summerhill, same county, for s. number of years, until 
his death. He married a Miss Hotz, and their children were: Manasseh; 
Charles, who married twice, both his wives being members of the Hosier 
family; George Washington, who married a Miss Beaver; Andrew, who 
married Rebecca Gensel; John, who died at the age of twelve years; Stephen, 
who married Sarah Gensel; Mrs. Peter Houck ; Mrs. Benjamin Houck (one 
of these two daughters was named Sallie) ; Elizabeth, now deceased, who 
married Elias Miller ; and Caroline, who married Michael Hunts. Adam 
Michael was a Democrat and held a number of the township offices. He was 
a consistent member of the German Lutheran Church. He died in 1841, when 
about fifty-seven years old, and with his wife, who passed away several years 
later, is buried in a private graveyard on the edge of the farm he owned in 
Heaver valley. 

Manasseh Michael, son of Adam Michael, was born in Beaver township, 
Columbia county, and lived with his parents until he reached manhood. Then 
he moved to Berks county. Pa., where he married. He was a boatman on 
the Schuylkill canal, having his own boat, and was engaged in carrying coal 
from the vicinity of Pottsville to Philadelphia until he met with an accident, 
a piece of timber falling on him. He lingered for nine years, dying in Decem- 
ber, 1838, at the early age of thirty-seven, in Berks county, and he is buried 
there, at Strausstown, in the Michael Church cemetery in Bern township. 
He married Susanna Hossler (or Hosier), member of a well known family 
of Berks county who had extensive farming interests, and they had ^children 
as follows: Levi; William, a miller, who died near Allentown, Pa. (he was 
in the Civil war for three years) ; Manassah, who was in the hotel business 
and died at Pottsville, Pa. ; Ebezine, widow of Josiah Johnson, residing on 
Penn street in Reading, Pa. ; Lucy Ann, who married Thomas Shuman, a 
merchant at Beaver \^alley ; and Angeline, Mrs. Franklin L. Shuman, of 
Catawissa, Columbia Co., Pa. About 1850 the widowed mother removed with 
her family to Columbia county, settling in Beaver township, where she died 
P>b. 16, 1884. She is buried in St. Peter's Church yard (Harger cemetery), 
in that section. 

Levi Michael, son of Manasseh, was born in Berks county, where he spent 
his early years, but most of his life was passed in Columbia county. He was 
a merchant in Beaver township and well known in that vicinity, where he died 
in 1914, at the age of eighty-two years. He is buried in Beaver township. 
He was a veteran of the Civil war, in which he served three years, having 
enlisted from Pottsville in Company H, 17th Pennsylvania Cavalry. He 
married Annie Jane Gearhart, who died when sixty-one years old. The 
following children were born to them: Harry M., Alfred L., Gertrude, 
George, Lottie, Norman, Robert, Jennie and Russell. 

Harry M. Alichael received his education in the public schools and was 
only a boy when he mastered telegraphy, taking the night turn at the Ouakake 
station when he was but fourteen years old. He held it for four years, at 
the end of which time he was transferred to the Beaver Valley station, 



816 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENXSYLYANL^ 

remaining there three years. He was next at Hazleton Junction, for two 
and a half years, until appointed station agent at Brandonville, where he was 
located for two years. Thence he changed to Ashland, where he was ticket 
agent for three years, until his removal to Quakake, in 1903. Here he opened 
the general store which he has since carried on, and which is well stocked 
with the lines in demand, Mr. Michael taking great pains to fill the wants of 
all his customers. Honorable and reliable in all his transactions, and possessing 
good executive ability, he has handled the business well and deserves the 
prosperity which has rewarded him. He stands high in the regard of his 
fellow citizens, who have chosen him to the ofiice of road treasurer, which he 
filled for five years. He is a member of the Brotherhood and the Improved 
Order of Heptasophs, and takes an active part in the work of the latter 
organization. 

Mr. Michael married Effie Eveland, daughter of Edw. Eveland, a black- 
smith, of Quakake, and five children have been born to them : Helen ; Gladys ; 
Charles; Dorothy, who died when four years old; and a son that died in 
infancy. The family attend the Evangelical Church. 

CHARLES W. EISINGER has been a lifelong resident of Schuylkill 
county, having been born near Pottsville Sept. 19, 1863. and most of his life 
has been spent at Ashland. He commenced his present line of business in 
1880, and after ten years' experience at Port Carbon established himself at 
Ashland. 

Mr. Eisinger is of German extraction. His grand-parents lived and died 
in Germany, and his father. Christian Eisinger, was born in the Kingdom of 
W'urtemberg, where he passed his early years. When a youth of sixteen he 
emigrated to America, and first located at Minersville, Schuylkill Co., Pa., 
later removing to Pottsville, where he was married. From there he came to 
Ashland, where he engaged in the grocery business up to 1898, that year 
taking up his residence in Philadelphia, where he passed the remainder of his 
life. His death occurred there in 1906. Mr. Eisinger married Christiana 
Aliller, a native of Hessen-Darmstadt, Germany, whose parents died in that 
country. She came to the United States when a young girl and lived first at 
Minersville, Schuylkill county, later removing to Pottsville. She died in 
Philadelphia in 1904. Eight children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Christian 
Eisinger, of whom Charles W. is the eldest; Gussie is deceased; Henrietta is 
the wife of Edmund Silber. of Philadelphia; Edward resides in that city; 
Anna is the wife of Otto Parodat, of Philadelphia; Emma M. is the wife of 
Aaron Motter, of Philadelphia; Louise died young; another child died in 
infancy. 

Charles W. Eisinger was an infant when his parents settled at Ashland, 
in 1864. His education was received in the public schools there, and as he 
had to commence work rather early he attended night school for some time. 
Starting at the age of fourteen years he was employed at the collieries near 
Ashland until 1880, in which year he entered his present line, which he started 
in the employ of Hebner & Paul, of Port Carbon. He first handled sewing 
machines. After ten years with the firm mentioned he commenced business 
on his own account at Ashland, and when he considered there was sufficient 
inducement sold pianos, as well as sewing machines. He first dealt in old 
square pianos, selling uprights after the others became unpopular, and also 
put in a stock of smaller musical instnunents. handling graphophones, phono- 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 817 

graphs, etc. Since dealing in musical instruments he has also sold a number 
of organs. Mr. Eisinger's first location at Ashland was across the street from 
his present place, which property he bought in 190 1. It is at No. 1609 Centre 
street. Mr. Eisinger has found a profitable field of employment in and around 
Ashland, and has a large number of well satisfied patrons in his territory. 
He has not only been devoted to business, but has also interested himself in 
the social and other activities of the borough, being a member of the Royal 
Arcanum and the P. O. S. of A., and he has served as a trustee of the local 
camp of the latter organization. With his wife he holds membership in the 
Evangelical Church at Ashland. 

On Nov. 25, 1886, Mr. Eisinger married Marie Christian Bachman, daugh- 
ter of Christian and Dorothy (Friedenberger) Bachman, natives of Germany. 
Mr. Bachman came to this country at an early day, settling in Tamaqua, this 
county, and died in May, 1914. His wife died in April, 1903. Mrs. Eisinger 
was born at Tamaqua, the second of a family of five children, namely : Eliza- 
beth, the wife of John Wittig, of Ashland; Marie C, Mrs. Eisinger; John, 
of Pottstown : William, of Tamaqua : and Louis, of Tamaqua. 

Three children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Eisinger: Amy, the eldest, 
is deceased ; Charles William is a clerk in the Citizens' National Bank of Ash- 
land ; Leah is at home. 

LEWIS JOHN GRUBE, of East Brunswick township, has led an indus- 
trious life always, and is deservedly respected by his neighbors for the thrifty 
management which has made him one of the prosperous men of the locality. 
His various interests keep him well occupied. Mr. Grube is a typical repre- 
sentative of a family whose members have maintained a high reputation 
through several generations. 

Christian Grube, his grandfather, lived in the Province of Handver, 
Germany, and was a silver miner by occupation. He died at the comparatively 
early age of thirty-six, leaving a wife and five children, namely: Charles, 
who died in Baltimore about 1909, aged seventy-seven years; Charlotte; 
Louisa, Mrs. Charles Heberling; Dorothy, Mrs. John Weist ; and William, 
who was one year old when his father died. The mother, whose maiden name 
was Hannah Shear, was a native of Hanover, Germany, and died at the age 
of seventy-seven years in East Brunswick township, Schuylkill county, at the 
home of her son-in-law, Charles Heberling. She was a member of the German 
Lutheran Church, and is buried in the Frieden's Church cemetery. Mrs. Grube 
came to America with her children eighteen years after her husband's death, 
the family settling in Baltimore, Md., for two years, and removing thence to 
Schuylkill county, Pennsylvania. 

William Grube, son of Christian, was born July 8. 1834. in Klausthal, 
Hanover, Germany, was educated in his native country, and came to America 
with his mother. They first settled at Baltimore, and later at Lewistown,_ in 
Walker township. Schuylkill Co.. Pa., and he was engaged at wood chopping 
for some time. Thence he removed to East Bnmswick township, where he 
bought a farm of thirty acres, cleared most of it. and subsequently bought 
several tracts aggregating seventy-five acres. These he cultivated to the endof 
his days, carrv'ing (3n general farming. He died Oct. 31, 1906, and is buried 
in the cemetery at Frieden's Church. New Ringgold, of which church he was 
a Lutheran member. In political sentiment he was a Democrat. ]\Trs. Grube 
still resides in East Brunswick township. Her maiden name was Sophia 

Vol. 11—14 



818 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

Reidler. and she was born in Germany Nov. 3, 1841, daughter of Conrad and 
Maria (Knoblauch) Reidler. They had children as follows: Caroline married 
George Schaffer ; Charlotte married Charles Eckroth ; William married Cather- 
ine Shellhammer; Minnie married Adam Schofield, who is deceased; Lewis 
John married Cordelia Bachert; Louisa is next in the family; Charles W. 
married Emma L. Shellhammer; Katie married Harvey Houser; Henry is 
next ; Walter married Elsie Frantz. 

Lewis John Grube was born Nov. 13, i86g. in East Brunswick township, 
and was educated there in the local schools. He continued to work on his 
father's farm until twenty-one years of age, when he left home and entered 
the employ of Wertman & Fletcher, as a wood chopper, in Rush township, 
Schuylkill county, for three years. His next position w^is with the Lehigh 
\'alley Railroad Company, as brakeman between Delano and Packerton, and 
he was so engaged for three months, living in Quakake during that time. He 
was obliged to give up this work on account of illness, returning to his parents' 
home in East Brunswick township, and was ill for six months. His brother 
William bought from Stephen Greenawalt a tract of ninety-eight acres, lying 
in East Brunswick township, and he sold his brother Lewis forty-eight acres 
and 103 perches of this purchase. Thirty acres of this are under cultivation, 
Mr. Grube following general farming very profitably. Part of his time is 
given to the sawmill he owns, and which he has been operating for nineteen 
years. Though he learned the business himself, acquiring all his experience 
practically, he is very proficient, and saws considerable timber for the farmers 
in the surrounding territory. He also hauls produce to the town of New 
Philadelphia twice a week in the summertime, and once a week in the winter 
season. 

Mr. Grube married Cordelia Bachert, who was born Jan. 10, 1871, daugh- 
ter of Elias and Hannah (Merkle) Bachert, and their first child died in 
infancy; Hannah Sophia was born Sept. 19, 1904; John Elias, Dec. 16, 1906; 
George, June 16, 1909; Peter, Nov. 6, 1910. The children of school age are 
attending the Reigel school in East Brunswick township. Mr. Grube and his 
wife are members of the Frieden's Lutheran Church at New Ringgold. He 
votes the Democratic ticket. 

Mrs. Cordelia (Bachert) Grube was educated in what .was at that period 
the Middle District school of East Brunswick township, and remained at home 
until her marriage. She is a great-granddaughter of George Bachert, an early 
farmer and wheelwright of East Brunswick township, who lived to be about 
eighty years old. His children were: Jacob, John, Henry, Simon, Magdalena 
and Mrs. lohn Faust. 

John Bachert, Mrs. Grube's grandfather, was also a farmer m East 
Brunswick township. He married Elizabeth Zettlemoyer, and they had 
children as follows: Jacob, Emmanuel. James, Daniel, Elias. Elizabeth. Laura, 
Mollie and Katie. 

Elias Bachert, father of Mrs. Grube, was born Aug. 14, 1843, i" East 
Brunswick township, where he is now a prosperous miller and farmer, one of 
the substantial business men in his section of Schuylkill county. Ten chddren 
have been born to his marriage with Hannah Merkle : Albert Robert, Wdliam 
I., Elizabeth, Cordelia. John E., Richard E., Howard J., Luther P., Thomas 
W., and Oscar P. A fuller account of the family may be found elsewhere in 
this work. 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 819 

ALFRED A. YEAGER, of East Brunswick township, is now giving all 
his attention to farming, and has excellent prospects in that line. The ability 
and confidence which won him success in his earlier ventures are just as 
valuable in his present business, and combined with his practical early training 
on the farm should prove sufficient to insure prosperity. So far he has met 
with gratifying results, and he is sparing no pains to introduce the best 
methods and most approved systems into his work. He is a son of William 
Yeager and grandson of George Yeager, and belongs to an old family of 
Schuylkill county. 

George Yeager, the grandfather, was a native of Schuylkill county, and 
for many years conducted a blacksmith shop at Orwigsburg. He married a 
Miss Weiss, and they had the following children: Thomas, who married 
Maria Yeager, resides in Orwigsburg; George, deceased, married Emma 
Edwards, who resides at Orwigsburg; William is the father of Alfred .\. 
Yeager. The parents of this family are buried in the Lutheran cemetery at 
Orwigsburg. The father was a Democrat, and his religious connection was 
with the Evangelical Lutheran Church of Orwigsburg, of which he was an 
active member. 

William Yeager, father of Alfred A. Yeager, was educated in the schools 
of Orwigsburg, and served a thorough apprenticeship at the blacksmith's trade 
in his father's shop. After conducting a shop of his own in Orwigsburg for 
about ten years he entered the enijjloy of the Philadelphia & Reading Railway 
Company, in the blacksmith department of the Pottsville shop, where he 
remained for the long period of twenty-nine years. He is now leading a 
retired life in Pottsville, Pa. He is a very skillful mechanic, and in his work- 
ing days was much thought of by his superiors. Mr. Yeager married Elizabeth 
Deibert, a daughter of Joseph Deibert, whose wife's maiden name was Sheep. 
They have had the following children : Alfred A. is mentioned below ; William, 
who is a blacksmith in the Pennsylvania & Reading shops, at Pottsville, 
married Laura Fenstermacher ; Mamie married Henry Long, of Pottsville; 
Ann married a Mr. Hughes, of Pottsville; Frederick married May Smith, of 
Pottsville ; Roy is unmarried and lives with his parents ; Maggie is next in the 
family; Katie married Jacob Boss, of Pottsville; Joseph is deceased. Mr. 
Yeager is now (1915) about sixty-seven years of age, his wife about sixty-six. 
They are members of the Evangelical Lutheran Church, of Pottsville. Mr. 
Yeager supports the Democratic party. 

Alfred A. Yeager was born April 24, 1868, in Orwigsburg, where he 
began his education in the public schools. When nine years oW he left home 
and went to his uncle, Daniel Deibert, with whom he lived for one year, 
after which he lived with Joseph Deibert. at Orwigsburg, for two years. Then 
he entered the employ of" William Shoener. to work on his farm, remaining 
with him five years, at the end of which period he made a change, working 
on the farm of" Lewis Shoener for two years. His next place was with James 
Shoener, as farm laborer, continuing with him in that capacity for about one 
year, when they formed a partnership in the timber business. They would 
buy the timber by the acre, and sell it to the Reading collieries, the Dodson 
Coal Company and individual collieries, in fact they dealt with all the col- 
lieries between St. Clair and Tuscarora, the timber being for use m the 
mines. After an association of four years Mr. Shoener died, and Mr. 
Yeager took over his share in the business, and conducted it alone during the 
rest of his connection with that line, which extended to twenty-seven ye?-.s. 



820 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

After that he bought his present farm of sixty acres in East Brunswick town- 
ship, about half of which is under cultivation. He has made numerous 
improvements on the property, now having a very fine home there. Since set- 
thng at this place he has bought two other tracts adjoining the original pur- 
chase, one containing sixty acres, of which forty acres are cleared, the other 
comprising 113 acres, of which seventy-five are cleared. Mr. Yeager culti- 
vates these three tracts and has been very successful in his agricultural work, 
being considered one of the leading farmers of his section. He is interested 
in everything afi^ecting the welfare and social conditions of his locality, has 
joined a number of his neighbors as a member of Protection Council, No. 935, 
Independent Order of Americans, at McKeansburg, and belongs to Wash- 
ington Camp No. 100, P. O. S. of A., at New Ringgold. He attends the 
Evangelical Lutheran Church at Orwigsburg and contributes regularly to its 
support. On political questions he is a Republican. 

By his marriage to Laura E. Wertman Mr. Yeager has had six children : 
Edward William, born Sept. 7, 1902, died when ten months old; Samuel 
Lewis, born May 25, 1904, died when four days less than fifteen months old ; 
Bertell Marie was born Dec. 11, 1905; Evelyn Emma, Dec. 10, 1907; Lu Verne 
Estella, July 24, 191 1; Madeline Laura, Jan. 29, 1914. 

Mrs. Laura E. (Wertman) Yeager was born in West Penn township, 
Schuylkill county, Aug. 26, 1871, daughter of Samuel D. Wertman, and grand- 
daughter of Samuel Wertman. The grandfather was a successful farmer 
in West Penn township, where he owned a large tract of land and con- 
ducted a farming business the greater portion of his life. He married Eliz- 
abeth Daubenspeck, and they had children as follows: Samuel D. is the 
father of Mrs. Yeager; David married Catherine Fritz; Jonas married Mary 
Roth ; Elias married Kate Boyer, and both are deceased ; Elizabeth, deceased, 
was the wife of Henry ]\]imm; Sarah married Joseph Wertman, of Walnut- 
port; Mary, deceased, married George Alspach ; Polly married Hiram Gobel. 
The parents were associated with the Methodist Church. The father is buried 
near Allentown, Pa., the mother in Zion's cemetery, in West Penn township. 

Samuel D. Wertman, father of Mrs. Yeager, was educated in the schools 
of West Penn township, and worked on his father's farm until he was twenty- 
five years of age, after which he hired out as a farm laborer for a few years. 
Then he bought a tract of seventy-five acres near West Penn station, and m 
connection w'ith farming he formerly had charcoal ovens on his property, 
cutting the timber from his trees and burning charcoal, which he haiilcd 
from "West Penn station to the powder mills, the Muir mills at St. Clair 
and the Weldy powder mills at Mintzers. He also bought charcoal from 
his neighbors and hauled it to the mills, carrying on that business for 
about ten vears. Besides, he cut timber on his land and shipped the same 
to the collieries of the Lehigh Valley Railroad Company, and hauled railroad 
ties for the Slatington & Lehigh Railroad Company: He now owns about 
four hundred acres of land, a great portion of which is m timber. Mr. Wert- 
man is a veteran of the Civil war, having joined the 48th Pennsylvania Regi- 
ment for nine months' ser^-ice; he received an honorable discharge at Har- 
risburg. Mr. Wertman has been a leading member of Zion's Evangelical 
Lutheran Church, of West Penn township, and has held the offices of elder 
and deacon. Politically he works with the Democratic party, and has served 
as judge of election. 

Mrs. Wertman was Maria Bebleheimer, daughter of George and Elizabeth 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 821 

(Yeager) Bebleheimer, natives of Orwigsburg. Mrs. Wertman died when 
sixty-two years old, and is buried in Zion's churchyard. Children as follows 
were born to Mr. and Mrs. Wertman: Ellen died aged three years; Dr. Sam- 
uel E. married Lizzie Fox, and they reside in Mahanoy City; Clinton died 
aged three years; Laura E. is Mrs. Yeager; Mary married Oliver K. Mantz, " 
who is proprietor of the West Penn Hotel ; Emma is a school teacher in West 
Penn township; Dr. Mahlon married Lizzie FoUweiler, and they reside at 
Palmerton, Pa. ; Sarah and George are at home ; Stella is a school teacher in 
West Brunswick township; Clarence and Christie Belle are at home; Minnie 
C. is the widow of Irwin Lotz, and is living at home. 

GEORGE YOUNG, a retired merchant of Ashland, Schuylkill Co., Pa., 
was born in Germany April 27, 1831, son of Peter and Mary Young. The 
parents died in Germany. 

Mr. Young was educated in the German schools and came to America in 
1852, landing at New York on June 27th. That year he was married to Mary 
Ripplinger, who came from the same part of Germany, and they started for 
America immediately after the wedding. Going to Patterson, Schuylkill Co., 
Pa., Mr. Young remained there until 1855, when he removed to St. Clair, and 
thence to Ashland. At the latter place he entered the mines, and remained at 
that work for forty years. About 1886 he engaged in business on his own 
account at Ashland. 

Mr. and Mrs. Young have had children as follows: Lena, the widow of 
George Steinfeldt, residing in Ashland ; John, also residing in Ashland ; 
Charles and Elizabeth, twins (he resides at Oakland, and she is deceased); 
Peter, who resides in Ashland ; Mary, deceased ; and Joseph, a resident of 
Ashland, where he is engaged in business. Mr. Young and his family are 
members of St. Mauritius' Roman Catholic Church, of Ashland. 

EARL D. BALTM, of Middleport, has the only manufacturing business con- 
ducted in that borough, and as it gives employment to a considerable number 
of hands its success will augment the resources of the town appreciably. The 
proprietor is one of the youngest business men there, and he has the good 
wishes of the community in his enterprise, which promises well. 

Mr. Baum is a son of William Baum and a grandson of Benneville Baum, 
who lived in the Mahanoy valley in Schuylkill county, where he followed 
farming. Later he removed to Valley View, this county, at which place he 
died. 

William Baum, father of Earl D. Baum, was engaged in farming during 
his early life, but for many years he has been a mine worker, having followed 
that occupation at Brookside and Goodspring, this county. His home is at 
Hegins. He married Agnes Shirey, daughter of the late Daniel C. Shirey, 
who represented Schuylkill county in the State House of Representatives, 
was a veteran of the Civil war, and died in Deep Creek valley, this county. 
To Mr. and Mrs. William Baum have been born five children : Vernie, Earl 
D.. Agnes, Charles and Bertram. 

Earl D. Baum was born Oct. i. 1895, at Hegins. Schuylkill county, where 
he obtained his education in the public schools. From boyhood he has been 
employed in the shirt manufacturing business, gaining his first experience in 
that line in the shirt factory at Hegins, where he remained for three years. 
Then he went to Pillow, Pa., there establishing a shirt factory for Dochey & 



822 SCHUYLKILL COUxNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

Reipe, with whom he continued for a few years, changing to the employ of 
Fox & Moore, at Pine Grove, Schuylkill county, for a short period, until 
ready to start on his own account. He chose Middleport as a desirable loca- 
tion, and obtaining quarters in the P. O. S. of A. building opened his factory 
Sept. 26. 1915. The equipment is entirely modern and the space laid out 
according to the most advanced ideas on convenience in making and handling 
the product, which consists of men's shirts. Mr. Baum has found a market 
for the output, having given close attention to the commercial as well as the 
manufacturing necessities of the business. He employs between seventy-five 
and one hundred hands. The factory has been welcomed in the borough and 
under judicious management should be one of its valuable industrial assets. 
Mr. Baum makes his home at Middleport. 

I 

P. PHILIP KRELL had until recently a well patronized blacksmith and 
wagon shop at Tamaqua, Schuylkill county, where he did business on his own 
account for over twenty years. The Krell family is of German descent and 
one of the most respected in the borough, where George Krell, father of P. 
Philip Krell, lived from the time of his settlement in America. 

Peter Philip Krell, the grandfather, lived and died in Germany. His son, 
George Krell, was born in that country and lived there until seventeen years 
old, at which time he came to the United States, making his home at Tamaqua, 
Schuylkill Co., Pa., thereafter. Throughout his active years he was engaged 
in mining. Then, when sixty-eight years old, he obtained a position with 
the Tamaqua Manufacturing Company, whose foundry and machine works 
are one of the largest industrial plants in this section of Pennsylvania, and 
the second day of his employment there met his death in a machinery acci- 
dent. Mr. Krell was not only an industrious man, diligent in attending to 
the responsibilities of his work, but also took an intelligent and public-spirited 
interest in the affairs of the community, was active in local politics, and was 
elected tax collector, in which ofifice he served faithfully. He married Sophia 
Zilgenbein, like himself a native of Germany, who died at the comparatively 
early age of thirty-four years. A family of eight children was born to this 
union: P. Philip, Annie, Susan, George, Catherine, Elizabeth, Mary and 
George, Jr. 

P. Philip Krell was born at Tamaqua in 1863 and obtained his education in 
the public schools of the borough. \\'hen old enough to work he began an 
apprenticeship to the trade of machinist, which he followed as a journeyman 
for six years before he engaged in business for himself. In 1893 he bought 
the old established shop of William Haber. at Tamaqua, and operated it suc- 
cessfully until 1914, when he sold out. Mr. Krell is a reliable workman, and 
by competent execution of orders and close attention to the wants of all his 
customers retained the old patronage of the shop and increased it. He is a 
well and favorably known citizen of the borough, a past officer of the Amer- 
ican Hose Company, and a valued member of the Lutheran Church, in whose 
activities he has been very helpful, both with his means and personal assistance. 

Mr. Krell married Catherine Kniese, of Tamaqua, and they have two chil- 
dren : \'erna L. and Clair F. L. 

WILLIAM J. DALEY, a native of Schuylkill county, for the last twenty 
vears a resident of Ashland, has been representing the Prudential Insurance 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 823 

Company at that point since 1896, and is now assistant superintendent of the 
Mahanoy City district, which includes ten towns and boroughs. 

Dominick Daley, grandfather of William J. Daley, brought his family 
to America and settled in Pottsville, Schuylkill Co., Pa., whence the family 
later removed to Centralia, Columbia Co., Pa. Mr. Daley died there in 1898. 
He followed work during his active years. 

Owen Daley, son of Dominick Daley, was born in County Kilkenny, Ire- 
land, and like his father followed mining in this country, continuing to 
engage in such work all his Hfe. He died at Centralia in 1899. He is sur- 
vived by his wife, Sarah (Long), who was born in Cape Breton, Canada, 
daughter of William Long, who came from that country to Schuylkill county, 
and settled at Silver Creek, following mining for many years. He died at 
Port Carbon, this county, where he is buried. Mrs. Daley now makes her 
home with one of her sons at Ashland. She had a family of nine children, of 
whom Ellen, the eldest, is deceased ; Dominick is deceased ; Alice is deceased ; 
William J. is mentioned below ; James G. is engaged in the wholesale tea and 
coffee business with offices at Ashland ; Ellen is the wife of Anthony Gaughan, 
of Centralia, Pa. ; Alice is the wife of Charles Meehan, of Centralia, Pa. ; 
Joseph lives at Ashland. 

William J. Daley was born July 16, 1867, at Port Carbon, Schuylkill county, 
and was only a boy when the family moved to Centralia, where he attended 
school. As he began work at the age of ten years, he continued his studies 
whenever opportunity oft'ered thereafter. During the seventeen years that 
he was employed at the mines he lived at Centralia. removing to Ashland 
in March. 1894. On June 15, 1896, he became agent for the Prudential Life 
Insurance Company, with which he has since been connected, at present hold- 
ing the responsible position of assistant superintendent in the Mahanoy City 
district. By conscientious attention to his duties he has succeeded in strength- 
ening the position of his company in this territory very materially, and at the 
same time has made an enviable reputation for himself as an insurance sales- 
man. He has many substantial qualities, and commands the respect of all 
with whom he is associated. 

On Sept. 9, 1891. Mr. Daley married Anastatia Hendricks, a native of 
Centralia, Pa., daughter of Patrick and Mary (Quinn) Hendricks, who were 
borii in Ireland. On coming to America Mr. and Mrs. Hendricks first set- 
tled in Lancaster county. Pa., later moving to Shenandoah, Schuylkill county, 
and subsequently to Centralia, where they passed the remainder of their 
lives. Mr. and Mrs. Daley are the parents of three children: Sarah E., who 
is now engaged in teaching music ; Mary A., at present a student in the State 
normal school at West Chester, Pa.; and Alice A., at home. The family have 
a comfortable residence on Centre street, which property Mr. Daley pur- 
chased from the late Congressman Patterson, and he has his office at that 
location also. He is a member of St. Joseph's Catholic Church at Ashland, 
and of Sarto Council, Knights of Columbus. 

PHILIP WAGNER, farmer of Blythe township, is one of the oldest 
residents of the Tumbling Run valley, where he is well known and respected, 
his industrious life commanding the unqualified esteem of his neighbors and 
all others who have had dealings with him. Born Sept. 6, 1839, in Prussia, 
Germany, he is a son of Nicholas and Caroline (Baker) Wagner, who brought 
their family to America in 1845. 



824 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

Nicholas Wagner was also a native of Prussia, where he was employed in 
limestone quarries. Some time after his marriage he decided to leave his 
old home for America, where he arrived with his wife and children in July, 
1845, landing at New York after a voyage of thirty-nine days, made in a sail- 
ing vessel. They proceeded at once to Pottsville, Schuylkill Co., Pa., where 
they lived for a year, thence removing to Kaskawilliam, in Blythe township, 
where Mr. Wagner worked as a day laborer about the mines. He died at 
the age of sixty-seven years, at his home on the Second mountain in Blythe 
township, and is buried at Middleport; his wife, Caroline (Baker), who lived 
to the age of seventy-seven, is buried in the Tumbling Run cemetery. They 
were the parents of the following children: William, who died in Germany; 
Simon, who died in Germany ; Jacob, who died in Wisconsin ; Dorothy, wife 
of Peter Mader; Louisa, who married Valentine Mader; Caroline, who died 
unmarried; Sophia, who married Qiristian Schlemmer; and Philip. All of 
this family adhered to the Lutheran Church, the faith of their parents. 

Philip Wagner was five years old when brought to x\merica. His educa- 
tion was acquired at Kaskawilliam, but his advantages were limited by the 
necessities of the times, and he was still a young boy when he began picking 
slate at the Kaskawilliam colliery, where he rose through the various grades 
of employment until he became a regular miner. For twenty-two years he 
made his home on the Second mountain, on a farm of forty-three acres which 
he bought, and which was all brush land when it came into his possession. 
He cleared thirty-five acres of this tract, devoting his time to its cultivation 
during the summer season and during the winter cutting coal. When he sold 
that property he removed to Kaskawilliam, where he resided for eighteen 
months, and then bought his present home place, twenty acres, of Eli Miller 
(known as the "Cabbage" Miller), which lies in Blythe township, over the 
mountain near the Walker township line. Since settling there he has given 
his attention entirely to farming, and though long past threescore and ten is 
still active, the arduous work on the place, however, being looked after by 
his son Daniel, who lives there with his parents. They attend the markets at 
Middleport and New Philadelphia. Mr. Wagner deserves the prosperity he is 
now enjoying, for he worked indefatigably to establish a good home for his 
family and provide for his later years. Besides attending to his fann labors 
he had employment at different collieries in the county, from four to six miles 
distant from his home, and was obliged to walk back and forth. He has often 
worked two shifts at the mines and then walked home, a distance of sixteen 
miles. 

On Dec. 10. 1863, Air. Wagner married Mary Guers, and in 1913 they 
had the pleasure of celebrating the golden anniversary of their wedding at 
their home in Blythe township, where all the members of the family assembled 
to do them honor. Five children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Wagner: 
Caroline married Maberry Trout, and they live at East Mauch Chunk, Pa.; 
Peter is living in the borough of Middleport; Charles is at Pottsville, this 
countv ; Daniel lives at home ; Christian is located in the Tumbling Run valley. 
Daniel married Katherine E. Keller, daughter of James Keller, and they 
have a daughter, Arlene Mary. The family are Lutherans in religious con- 
nection, and Mr. Wagner has been active in the church, which he served for 
many years as deacon and elder. During his earlier days he also took con- 
siderable interest in local affairs, and he held the office of school director m 
Blythe township for twenty-four years. 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 825 

Mrs. Wagner is a daughter of Daniel and Mary (Bartle) Guers. Her 
father was a pioneer settler in the Tumbling Run valley, and was employed 
on the construction of the old wooden railroad in this section. 

CHARLES RUBRIGHT fills the position of outside foreman at the 
Eagle Hill colliery, in Blythe township, one of the important mines in that 
section of Schuylkill county, and in the able discharge of his responsibilities 
has fully maintained the reputation which gained him promotion and the 
confidence of his superiors. In various capacities he has worked at the mines 
all his fife. 

Mr. Rubright is a native of Northumberland county. Pa., born in 1868 
near Mount Carmel, but he belongs to an old family of Berks county, this 
State. His grandfather, George Rubright, was bom in that county, in the 
vicinity of Hamburg, lived for some time at Schuylkill Haven, in Schuylkill 
county, where he followed boating on the canal as well as farming, and even- 
tually removed to Reading, Pa., where he died. 

Aaron Rubright, father of Charles Rubright. was bom at Schuylkill 
Haven, and spent most of his life in Schuylkill county. He learned the trade 
of wheelwright, and followed that calling for a time in the Hegins section of 
Schuylkill county, later becoming a carpenter in the employ of the Reading 
Company, at the Marion colliery. There he died when sixty-eight years old, 
and his wife, Sarah (Oyster), of Deep Creek valley, Schuylkill county, also 
passed away at Marion. They had the following family : Jeremiah ; Josiah, 
deceased, who was inside foreman at the Wadesville colliery, in this county ; 
Nora; Adley; Mahalia; Charles; William; Sarah, and Ellsworth. The father 
of this family was a veteran of the Civil war, in which he served for three 
years, being a member of the 17th Pennsylvania Cavalry under Capt. Heber 
Thompson. He was twice wounded. He was a Grand Army man, belonging 
to Joe Hooker Post at Ashland, this county. 

Charles Rubright acquired his education in the public schools. He started 
work as a slate picker at the Marion breaker, changing from there to the 
Reliance colliery, at Mount Carmel, Pa., for a time, and on returning to the 
Marion colliery was employed as inside driver. He then took up carpenter 
work, and locating at Shamokin, Northumberland county, followed his trade 
at the Buck Ridge colliery for two years, after which he was similarly engaged 
at the Wadesville colliery, in Schuylkill county. In igo8 he came to the 
Eagle Hill colliery in Blythe township, where he has since held the position 
of outside foreman. Some idea of his duties may be gained from the fact 
that about eight hundred men are employed at these workings. 

Mr. Rubright was married to Emma Mench, daughter of Adam and Mary 
Mench, and their children are : Alfred, Sarah, Raymond, George, Mary and 
Ida. The family are Lutherans in religious connection. Mr. Rubright is a 
Mason, belonging to Anthracite Lodge, No. 285, of St. Clair, this county, and 
he also holds membership in the P. O. S. of A. camp at Lavelle, this county. 

ADAM HESS, of Tamaqua, has passed the greater part of his life in 
that borough, where he was born in the year 1875, son of George Hess. His 
father, a native of Germany, came to America in young manhood, and settled 
at Tamaqua, Schuylkill Co.. Pa. He was employed at the mines until his 
untimely death, in 1879. 

Adam Hess received a good public school education, attending first at 



826 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

Tamaqua and later in Philadelphia, to which city he was taken when eight 
years old. While there he was employed at a brass works. Returning to 
Tamaqua he became engaged in general merchandising, which he followed for 
a period of ten years, in 1910 turning to his present business, the manufacture 
of sour kraut and various condiments, pepper sauce, mustard, catsup, pickled 
herring, etc. The high quality of all his products has made them very favor- 
ably received, and Mr. Hess finds a ready market for them in Tamaqua and 
the vicinity. His factory and office are at No. 217 Schuylkill avenue. The 
business is both wholesale and retail. Personally Mr. Hess has high standing, 
for he has won his success honorably, retaining the good will of all his asso- 
ciates, in any of the relations of life. 

Mr. Hess was married to Annie Kirigi, of Hazleton, Pa., and two chil- 
dren have been bom to them, namely : Adam A. and Rowine Elizabeth. The 
family belong to St. John's Reformed Church. 

PETER FETTEROLF, a venerable citizen of Schuylkill county, but still 
active and attending daily to his duties as gatekeeper of the State hospital at 
Fountain Springs, Schuylkill county, was born Sept. 15, 1833, son of John 
and Kate (Maurer) Fetterolf. Peter Fetterolf, his grandfather, was a native 
of Bucks county, this State, and came to Schuylkill county in the early days, 
settling in the Mahantongo valley, where he remained until his death. By 
occupation he was a farmer. 

John Fetterolf was born in the Mahantongo valley, this county, and fol-' 
lowed farming. In 1852 he located at the town of Taylorsville, this county, 
where he owned a farm which he cultivated, living there to the end of his 
days. He served at one time as supervisor of the township. Mr. Fetterolf 
married Catherine (Kate) Maurer. who was born in the Mahantongo valley, 
daughter of Daniel Maurer, who farmed and operated a gristmill in Schuyl- 
kill "county, and was a prominent man in his day. He remained at his old 
home there until his death. Six children were born to Mr. and Mrs. John 
Fetterolf, namely : Elizabeth, the eldest, is deceased ; Peter is mentioned 
below ; Daniel is deceased ; Jessie is deceased ; Catherine is deceased : Sarah 
is the wife of Joseph Long, of Mount Carmel, Pa. Frank, a half-brother 
of the foregoing children, lives at Mount Cannel ; John is deceased. 

Peter Fetterolf was engaged at mine work from early boyhood until 
appointed to his present position some sixteen years ago. In 1862 he enlisted 
for the support of the Union cause, becoming a member of Company H, 17th 
Pennsylvania Cavalry, and he was in the army for three years, during which 
time he saw considerable active service and took part in many battles. He 
was wounded, and at the time of his muster out was in Lincoln hospital, at 
Washington, D. C. This was after the close of the war. Having received his 
discharge at Washington in 1865, he returned home, resuming work at the 
colliery where he had been employed before he went to the war, at Big Mine 
Run. He continued at such work for over thirty years thereafter, until he 
received his appointment as gatekeeper at the State hospital at Fountain 
Springs. Though advanced in years he enjoys excellent health. By virtue 
of his services in the Union army he has become a member of the G. A. R. 
post at Ashland. His religious connection is with the Lutheran Church. By 
a life of industrious and exemplary habits Mr. Fetterolf has won and retained 
the esteem of his fellow citizens, who appreciate the substantial qualities 
which make him a desirable citizen of the community. 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 827 

Mr. Fetterolf was married to Tillie Snyder, of this county, who also 
survives, and they have had a family of seven children, namely: Tillie is 
the widow of Henry Walters, of Philadelphia; Daniel, M. D., is a physician 
and surgeon residing in New Jersey, where he is in the government service; 
John lives in Philadelphia ; Henry is a machinist in Philadelphia ; Herbert also 
makes his home in that city; Clarence is engaged as a wholesale druggist in 
Philadelphia; Calvin lives at Pittsburg, Pa. Mrs. Fetterolf is a daughter of 
John and Catherine Snyder, who were farming people in the Mahantongo 
valley, settling on land near Taylorsville, where Mr. Snyder resided until his 
death. 

WILLIAM T. TAYLOR is a respected resident of Blythe township, 
where he has been engaged for several years in the responsible position of 
outside foreman at the Silver Creek colliery. As a miner of long and varied 
experience he is well fitted for his duties, in which he has acquitted himself 
creditably, and the high personal reputation he bears is based on the many evi- 
dences he has given of reliable character and dependable habits. His father, 
the late Samuel Taylor, was also a trusted employee of the Reading Company. 
Born in Philadelphia, Pa., Samuel Taylor spent most of his mature life in 
Schuylkill county in work at the mines. His service with the Reading Com- 
pany covered a period of twenty-seven years, during which time he was out- 
side foreman at the Phoenix Park colliery and later had charge of the lum- 
beryard at East Mines. His death occurred at St. Clair, this county. 

William T. Taylor was born Jan. 27, 1880, at Phoenix Park, Schuylkill 
county, and received a good education in the public schools at Minersville and 
Forestville. W'hen a boy he picked slate at the Phoeni.x Park colliery, was 
subsequently employed in the Heckscherville valley, and thence went to Wades- 
ville, this county, where he clerked for a period of six months. Then he 
took the position of breaker boss at that point, and in October, 191 1, he came 
to the Silver Creek colliery to assume his present work. These workings are 
the property of the Philadelphia & Reading Coal & Iron Company and are very 
extensive, about one thousand men finding employment at this colliery. The 
foremen are necessarily men of proved worth and fidelity. 

Mr. Taylor resides at the settlement known as Tucker Hill, in Blythe 
township. He married Annie Ornie. a daughter of Piolat Ornie. of St. Clair, 
Schuylkill county, and they have one child, Margaret. Mr. Taylor is an 
Episcopalian in religion, a member of the church of that denomination at 
St. Clair. 

WILLIA-M BILLIG was for many years engaged in farming in Rush 
township, where he is now living in retirement. As a local official he became 
very well known in that section and made an excellent reputation for ability 
and trustworthiness, his fidelity to the responsibilities of public service gaining 
him the good will of all his fellow citizens. He is a native of Lehigh county, 
Pa., born in 1842, son of David Billig. The father was also born in Lehigh 
county, where he spent all his life, following farming. He married Kate 
Rausch, who also died in that county, and their children were Daniel, Mary 
and William. 

William Billig grew up near Jacksonville, Lehigh county, spending his 
early life on the home farm. Coming to Schuylkill county he lived at Lewis- 
town for a time, was subsequently at Patterson, and then settled in Rush 



828 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

township, where he bought a farm of sixty-three acres which he cultivated 
for thirty-five years. He then sold out, and has since been living retired. Mr. 
Billig was associated with public affairs in the township for a number of 
years, having served nine years as a member of the school board and for the 
same length of time as supervisor. He did effective work in both offices. He 
is a member of the Lutheran Church, and belongs to the Patriotic Order Sons 
of America. 

Mr. Billig was married to Susan Breinert, daughter of Peter Breinert, of 
West Penn township, and the following children were born to this union : 
Frank is deceased; Mary Jane married Frank Neifert; Caroline married Wil- 
liam Kemerling ; Elizabeth married Joseph Stewart, of Tamaqua ; William, 
Jr., lives at Summer Hill, Pa.; Harry is living in Rush township; Katie mar- 
ried Harry Boughner; Louis W. is a resident of Hazleton, Pa. The mother 
of this family died May 9, 1905, and is buried at the White Church in Rush 
township. 

ANTHONY BEHLER was born in Tulpehocken, Berks Co., Pa., and 
settled in West Penn township, Schuylkill county, where he owned three hun- 
dred acres and engaged in agricultural pursuits. He died there. To his mar- 
riage with Rebecca Bankus, were born three children : Gideon, George and 
John. 

John Behler, son of Anthony and Rebecca Behler, was born in West Penn 
township, Schuylkill county, where he spent his life on the old homestead, 
which came into his possession. Besides farming he followed contracting, 
building dwellings, barns and several schoolhouses. He married Elizabeth 
Moyer, and they became the parents of the following children : Isaac, now a 
resident of Alahanoy City, this county : Carrie, wife of William Fisselman, 
of Kansas; William, of Rush township, who married Sarah Haas; Gideon, 
who went out to Kansas, where he died; Rebecca, wife of Jacob Moyer; 
Savina, who died unmarried; and Sarah, widow of Charles Nester. Mr. and 
]\Irs. Nester had one son, Howard, who now owns his great-grandfather's 
farm in West Penn township and is giving all his attention to the cultivation 
of that property. He graduated from the Keystone State Normal School at 
Kutztown, Pa., and taught school in Schuylkill county for six years before he 
turned to farming. He married Jennie Alentz, and they have one daughter, 
Marion. 

ROBERT E. KLINE was at the time of his death serving as night fore- 
man at the Park Place collierv, and in that capacity as well as in private life 
was well and favorably known in Rush township, where he had resided for a 
number of vears. 

Mr Kline was born in 18^2 in Germany, of which country his father. 
Philip Jacob Kline, was also a native. The latter brought his family to Amer- 
ica and settled at Hazleton, Pa., where he followed his trade, that of baker, 
and was also engaged in distilling. He died in Wyoming. His children were : 
Philip J., Christopher, Wilhelmina, Christian, Gusta and Robert E. 

Robert E. Kline learned the trade of blacksmith, but never followed it to 
any extent For some time he was foreman for J. C. Hayden. a coal operator, 
with the Spring Mountain Coal Company, and later turned to railroad work, 
being a conductor on the Lehigh Valley road for fifteen years. Then he 
resumed mine work, holding the position of night foreman at the Park Place 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 829 

colliery, where he was found dead at eleven o'clock on the night of March 
2, 191 5. He is buried at the White Church in Rush township. Mr. Kline 
proved himself a man of reliable character and trustworthy in every position, 
and he was respected wherever known. For many years he served as con- 
stable of Rush township. His religious connection was with the Reformed 
Church. 

Mr. Kline was united in marriage with Caroline D. Schaffer, daughter of 
Henry Schaffer, a native of Germany, born in Hessen, who came to America 
and settled in Carbon county, Pa. The following children were born to this 
union: Edythe is the wife of Harry Schaeft'er; Emma is a graduate of the 
Keystone State Normal School, of Kutztown, Pa., and is now teaching in 
Hazleton, Pa. ; Mary W. is married to Earl Rickstine, and they are living in 
Philadelphia, Pa. ; Florence, also a graduate of the Keystone State Normal 
School, is now teaching at Delano, Schuylkill county ; Caroline is attending 
the State Normal School at Kutztown ; Philip is also in school ; Harry died 
when twenty-one years old; Annie died when thirteen months old. Mrs. 
Kline makes her home at Tamanend. 

AUGUST CORBE has been a resident of Schuylkill county since 1869. 
He is a German by birth, bom in Bavaria in 1859, ^"d his father, Joseph 
Corbe, lived and died in Germany, his death occurring in 1862. By occupation 
he was a farmer. He married Catherine Grosse and they became the parents 
of seven children, of whom the eldest, Elizabeth, is deceased ; Marie is the 
wife of Louis Fritz, of Port Carbon, Schuylkill Co., Pa. ; Katie resides in 
Germany ; Charles is deceased ; Joseph lives at Fountain Springs ; August is 
mentioned below ; Peter is deceased. 

The family remained in Germany for several years after the father's 
death, coming to this country in 1869. Landing at New York, they proceeded 
at once to Schuylkill county, Pa., and August Corbe was but twelve years old 
when he began work at the mines here. He continued to follow mine work 
until fifty-two years of age, and when he gave it up, a few years ago, started 
the business on Center street, Ashland, to which he has since given his atten- 
tion. He carries a stock of groceries, cigars, tobacco, etc., and though he 
has had his store but a few years has established a profitable trade, which shows 
a steady increase. He is a man of reliable character, industrious and accom- 
modating to his patrons, and deserves the success which has come to him. He 
is a substantial and respected citizen of the borough and a devout member of 
the St. Mauritius' Roman Catholic Church at Ashland, also belonging to the 
various church societies. 

In 1888 Mr. Corbe was married to Mary Young, a native of Ashland, 
daughter of George and Mary Young, who are still living in that borough; 
they were born in Bavaria, Germany. Two children have been born to Mr. 
and Mrs. August Corbe, the daughter, Mary, living at home. The son, Peter, 
is now located at Cleveland, Ohio. 

MICHAEL TOOMEY, hoisting engineer at the Silver Creek colliery, in 
Blythe township, is a native of that township and has spent most of his work- 
ing days at his present place of employment, where faithful service has gained 
him confulence and respect. 

John Toomey, his father, was born near Danville, Montour Co., Pa., and 
for a number of years has resided at Tucker Hill, in Blythe township, where 



830 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

he located about the time the Silver Creek colliery was opened. Throughout 
his active years he has been engaged in teaming. He is an honored veteran 
of the Civil war, in which he served as a member of the 7th Pennsylvania 
Cavalry Regiment, remaining in the service three years and taking part in 
many battles. He is now (1915) in his seventy-fourth year, but active and 
interested in local events, and he fills the office of supervisor, discharging his 
duties to the satisfaction of all concerned. Mr. Toomey married Margaret 
O'Neill, who was born in Blythe township, daughter of Michael O'Neill, and 
they have had the following children: Annie (wife of Frank Reiger), John, 
Michael, Martin and Vincent. 

Michael Toomey was born Aug. 16, 1886, at New Philadelphia, and 
obtained his education in the Blythe township public schools. When a boy 
he began picking slate at the Silver Creek breaker, and as he grew older 
found other employment about the mines. For eight months he was in the 
city of Philadelphia, where he held a position in the Baldwin Locomotive 
Works. Returning to Schuylkill county he worked at diamond drilling for 
eight months, and then resumed employment at the Silver Creek colliery, 
where he was variously occupied until appointed to his present duties, in 
1914. As hoisting engineer he is intrusted with work which requires close 
attention and vigilance, and he has never failed in its performance. 

Mr. Toomey resides with his parents at Tucker Hill. He is a member of 
the Catholic Church and the Ancient Order of Hibernians, which fraternity 
he joined in Philadelphia. 

CHARLES T. SCHAEFER has recently established himself in business 
at his birthplace and old home, the borough of Tamaqua. and as proprietor of 
the Keystone Garage has a profitable automobile agency and repair trade. 
Born at Tamaqua May 23, 1888, he is a son of Henry J. Schaefer and grand- 
son of Hustus Schaefer. the latter a native of Berlin. Germany. Commg to 
America, he made his home at Tamaqua, in Schuylkill county. Pa., followed 
farming and also mining, and died at Tamaqua. His children were : William, 
Frederick, Emma. Julia, Henry ]. and Christene. 

Henry T- Schaefer, son of Hustus Schaefer, was born at Tamaqua, and 
there received his education. For some time he followed railroad work in 
the employ of the Philadelphia & Reading Railway Company, and for seven 
years was a policeman in the service of the Philadelphia & Readmg Coal & 
Iron Company. Now he has charge of the Lansford shops. No. 6. of the 
Lehigh Coal & Navigation Company, and makes his home at Lansford. He 
married Mary B. Thomas, who was born in Tamaqua, and whose father and 
mother were natives of Wales and England, respectively. Mr. and Mrs. 
Henry J. Schaefer had two children, Charles T. and Harry, the latter a 
machinist employed at Lansford. 

Charles T. Schaefer was reared and educated at Tamaqua, attendmg the 
public schools. He learned the trade of machinist at Lansford. m the shops 
of the Lehigh Coal & Navigation Company, in whose employ he remamed for 
a period of ten years, and then for several years was in the United States 
government employ, as a machinist. In this connection he was stationed in 
Panama, Central America, Cuba, and various places all over the South. 
Returning home, he began the construction of the Keystone Garage at Tamaqua 
in November, 1914, had it completed three months later, and now conducts a 
storao-e and repair plant for automobiles, having storage room for fourteen 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 831 

cars. He handles the well known Chandler car as local agent, and has every 
prospect of a prosperous future in the various branches of his business. His 
garage is at No. 98 Centre street. Being a skilled mechanic, he is prepared 
to give proper attention to all the work intrusted to him, and has been kept 
busy from the first. He is a member of the Machinists' Union, and of the 
P. O. S. of A. 

Mr. Schaefer married Mary A. Miller, daughter of Richard E, Miller, 
of Tamaqua. 

WILLIAM T. PATTEN, now a prosperous farmer of Barry township, 
Schuylkill county, was at one time one of the principal lumbermen in this 
county, during the period when that occupation was one of the leading indus- 
tries followed by residents of this section. He was born in Cass township, this 
county, in 1852, and is a son of Thomas Patten, Jr., and grandson of Thomas 
Patten, Sr. The ancestry of the family is English and Irish. 

Thomas Patten, Sr., was a native of England. Coming to America he set- 
tled in Minersville, Schuylkill Co., Pa., later moving to another location in 
Cass township, he and his family residing in what became known as Patten's 
valley. The chief industry in those primitive days was lumbering, and Air. 
Patten engaged in it, following that line of work until his death, and thus lay- 
ing the foundations of the business which his son and grandson later devel- 
oped. His wife's name was Elsie. 

Thomas Patten, Jr., father of William T. Patten, was born in England, 
and came to America with his parents. He followed the occupation of his 
father, lumbering, and hauled timber for the Schuylkill Haven railroad, from 
Schuylkill Haven to Minersville. Later he went to Barry township and pur- 
chased large tracts of land for the sake of the timber upon it, lumbering these 
tracts and operating a sawmill, his operations being extensive and profitable. 
He bought the place where his son William lives and devoted the balance of 
his life to farming. He died in 1896. Mr. Patten married Sarah Bradley, 
a native of Ireland, where her parents died. She was brought to America by 
her brother, who settled in Minersville, and there she was married to Thomas 
Patten. She died in 1910, at Minersville, where she had resided after the 
death of her husband. They had four children: William T. ; Emma, wife 
of B. Boker, of Philadelphia; J. Frank, of Barry township; and Elsie, wife 
of Rev. Mr. Darby, of Cincinnati. 

William T. Patten attended school in Cass township and also at Pottsville. 
After his schooldays were over he went to the woods to work at lumbering 
with his father, and after his marriage was made foreman by his father and 
operated several sawmills in this section of the county. He bought his pres- 
ent farm and has since engaged in general farming exclusively. Mr. Patten 
was married in 1876 to Delia Betz, daughter of Isaac Betz, of Barry township, 
who was a merchant at Mabel. He was a school teacher in that township 
in the early days, later removing to Philadelphia, where he died. The mother, 
whose maiden name was Bolich, died in Barry township. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Patten were born two children: Maude I., wife of Allen Bolich, resides in 
Ohio; Harry is assisting his father on the farm. Mrs. Patten died in 1903. 
Mr. Patten is a member of the school board of Barry township, having held 
the office since he was twenty-one years of age. He is a member of the Epis- 
copal Church. 



832 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

LEWIS F. REMALY, of Tamaqua, president and manager of the Remaly 
Manufacturing Company, Incorporated, has been associated with the fortunes 
of that concern for over forty years, in fact throughout the period of his resi- 
dence in the borough. Always a live unit in the industrial resources of the 
place, it has increased in importance yearly, providing profitable employment 
to a number of skilled mechanics, and represents one of the best local invest- 
ments. Mr. Remaly having been connected with the business as owner since 
1883, most of the credit of its development along modern lines and steady 
expansion belongs to him, and bears substantial testimony to his ambition and 
ability, for he has guided it to its present standing among the principal enter- 
prises of Tamaqua. 

Mr. Remaly came to Tamaqua in the year 1873. He was born Sept. 20, 
1851, at Lehighton, Carbon Co., Pa., son of Henry Remaly, the latter a native 
of Lehigh county. The father followed the trade of wheelwright, and lived 
in Lehigh and Carbon counties, dying at Lehighton. Lewis F. Remaly was 
reared and educated at Lehighton, having public school advantages. For 
several years he was engaged in railroad work, but when he came to Tamaqua 
entered the employ of G. L. Boyd, who had established the wire and screen 
manufacturing business which was the nucleus of what is now the Remaly 
Manufacturing Company, Incorporated. Mr. Remaly began at the bottom and 
acquired a thorough knowledge of screenmaking at the plant, working for 
Mr. Boyd from 1873 to 1883, and meantime rising to the position of foreman. 
Then he formed a partnership with Frank Swartz and took over Mr. Boyd's 
entire interest, three years later, in 1886, buying out Mr. Swartz and becoming 
sole owner. He continued the business as such until the year 1905, when it was 
incorporated under the present style, and Lewis F. Remaly is now president 
and manager, with Martin Fry as vice president and L. S. Follweiler as secre- 
tary and treasurer. On June 15, 1913, the plant was destroyed by fire, but 
operations were resumed a month later and continued during the construction 
of the new building, which is of brick, iron and concrete, modern in construc- 
tion and equipped with all ordinary conveniences, besides the special facilities 
for the business. It is considered absolutely fireproof, having heavy iron 
doors and window frames, a substantial safety vault, is steam heated and 
electric lighted throughout, and has up-to-date toilet facilities and ventilating 
devices, everything in fact for the comfort of the employees as well as for 
convenience in dispatching the work. The company owns considerable ground 
space around the plant, available as the expansion of the business demands. 
It is located on Cedar street, near Centre, one of the oldest manufacturing 
sites in Tamaqua, the industry having been one of the first of the kind started 
there. The product of the company, wire coal and sand screens, perforated 
sheet iron screens, elevator buckets, cellar doors and coal chutes, is sold mostly 
to the numerous coal companies operating in Pennsylvania, and the value of 
the annual output is estimated at $i25,cxx). Twenty skilled mechanics are 
employed regularly, and altogether considerable money is circulated in 
Tamaqua through this industry alone. It is counted among the valuable 
assets of the town and surrounding territory. Though primarily a business 
man, Mr. Remaly has not neglected his duties as a citizen, and he served three 
years as a member of the council, during that time acting as chairman of the 
street committee. 

Mr. Remaly was united in marriage with Sallie Leffler, daughter of Andrew 
Leffler, of Leliigh county. Pa. They have no children. He is a very active 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 833 

member of Trinity Reformed Church, which he is serving as deacon, is a 
member of the choir, and a teacher in the Sunday school. All good move- 
ments in the borough and county have his hearty support. 

ABRAM CLARENCE MESSERSMITH, of Pottsville, has had so many 
important building contracts in Schuylkill county that it is no exaggeration to 
say his operations have had a very perceptible influence on the character of 
construction work in this part of the State. The reputation he has maintained 
in over twenty years of successful business has been established upon a basis 
of absolute integrity, and none of his patrons has ever had cause to regret 
placing confidence in his ability or his reliability. Mr. Messersmith is a native 
of Montour county. Pa., born Aug. 19, 1868, in Liberty township, and his 
parents, William James and Elizabeth (Hendrickson) Messersmith, live at 
Washingtonville, that county, where the father carries on a furniture and un- 
dertaking business, and is also interested in contracting and building, being 
a carpenter by trade. He and his wife were both born in Pennsylvania, and 
Mrs. Messersmith's father, Abram Hendrickson, was also a native of this 
State and a member of an honored old pioneer family. Until his death he was 
a farmer in Montour county, a prominent and influential citizen of his section. 

Abram Clarence Messersmith grew to manhood in the county of his birth, 
meantime attending the public schools. He began work in his present line in 
1885, when he became an employe of the Wilkes-Barre & West Railroad Com- 
pany, being engaged in the erection of bridges, depots, etc. He remained with 
that company for about eighteen months, for the next few years following 
his trade in difterent sections of Pennsylvania, in 1892 locating at Pottsville, 
where he has since resided. In 1894 he began contracting and building on his 
own account, and the high grade of work intrusted to him shows how thor- 
oughly he has mastered the details of his business and how he has developed 
his responsibilities. Pottsville has many examples of his workmanship, notably 
the new Y. M. C. A. building. Hummel Brothers' building, the Hippodrome 
theatre and the new Synagogue. He also rebuilt the Mountain City building 
there for J. Miehle & Son. Outside of the borough his important contracts 
include the First National Bank building at Minersville, the First National 
Bank building at Frackville, the First National Bank building at Coaldale, 
and the Polish Catholic church at New Philadelphia, as well as many school- 
houses in various sections of the county, including the Fishbach school and 
the annex of the Jallapa school, at Pottsville. Many fine residences in the 
Ijorough attest the wide range of his ability. From time to time he builds 
houses for sale, and in his various activities employs forty mechanics reg- 
ularly. For several years Mr. Messersmith has been in partnership with his 
brother under the name of Messersmith & Brother, conducting the furniture 
and carpet store at Lansford, Pa. Wherever known Mr. Messersmith has 
gained the unlimited respect of his associates. 

Mr. Messersmith married Margaret Evans, a native of Wales, who was 
three years old when she came to America with her parents, George and 
Fanny Evans, the family settling at Lansford, Carbon Co., Pa. Mrs. Messer- 
smith died in 1900, leaving two children: Leroy, who died in 1910, and Leah, 
who lives at home. For his second wife Mr. Messersmith married Caroline 
Miller, daughter of Levi P. and Rebecca Miller, of Pottsville. There are no 
children by this union. The family reside at No. 526 West Arch street, 
Pottsville. Mr. and Mrs. Messersmith are members of the Methodist Epis- 
Vol. 11—15 



834 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANLA. 

copal Church, and socially he belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows, P. O. S. of A., and Lodge No. 207, B. P. O. Elks. On political ques- 
tions he is a Democrat. 

CHARLES V. B. DEIBERT, now one of the oldest citizens of Schuylkill 
Haven, was born Dec. 10, 1836, in North Manheim township, Schuylkill 
county. He is the oldest living member of his branch of the family. 

Michael Deiver (as his generation spelled the name), his greatgrandfather, 
was the founder of this branch of the family in Schuylkill county. He was 
bom in Germany, and came with his parents to America, the family settling 
in Bern township, Berks county, in the then Province of Pennsylvania, near 
Michael's Church. There were five children, three sons and two daughters : 
Michael, Christopher, Wilhelm, Mrs. George Huntzinger and Mrs. John 
Gevert. When the sons were grown they moved to Manheim township, Schuyl- 
kill county, and married, Wilhelm to a daughter of John Renchler, from Bern 
township, Berks county, Michael to Elizabeth Waver. In the year 1744 the 
brothers Wilhelm and Michael bought in partnership three hundred acres of 
land in North Manheim township, at the road leading from Schuylkill Haven 
to Landingville, Wilhelm's part being at the location occupied by Edward 
Peale in 1884, and Michael's where John Filbert lived at that time. The third 
brother, Christopher, it was claimed went to Virginia in his younger years, 
but in the spring of 1915 Mr. C. \'. B. Deibert was visited by Humphrey 
C. Dibert (as this branch of the family spells the name), who is a great- 
grandson of Christopher. He said his great-grandfather had two brothers, 
Wilhelm and Michael. According to him, Christopher settled down in Bed- 
ford county, Pa., near Bedford Springs, married and reared a large family, 
and his oldest living descendant is Sharron Dibert. 

In the beginning Wilhelm and Alichael Deiver had the Indians for their 
neighbors, and were molested considerably. Deer and bears were plentiful 
in the region at that day, but as they divided the meat with the savages when 
they shot any the Indians became more friendly. A long account of the fam- 
ily appears elsewhere in this work. 

Michael Deiver had five sons and two daughters, Henry, Andrew, Michael, 
Christian, John, Catharine and Elizabeth. (The Daniel Deibert pamphlet 
says three daughters, but only two names are given.) Henry married Miss 
Kriner; Andrew, Miss Luckenbill ; Michael, Miss Luckenbill (they had no 
children) ; Christian, Miss Miller; Catharine, John Dewald; Elizabeth, Daniel 
Repp. The father, Michael, died on his property in North Manheim township, 
and is buried at the Red Church in this county. 

John Deibert, son of Michael, was born in North Manheim township, and 
was a farmer by occupation. He is buried in the old cemetery at Schuylkill 
Haven. He was twice married, the maiden name of his first wife being 
Renchler, of his second Wagner. His children were as follows : Daniel, 
who lived in Schuylkill Haven ; George ; Jacob, who died at Schuylkill Haven ; 
John, who died at Schuylkill Haven; Benjamin, who died at Pottsville; Wil- 
liam, who died in the upper Mahantongo valley, Schuylkill county ; Samuel ; 
Hannah, wife of John Hummel, of Selinsgrove, Pa. ; and Christine, who mar- 
ried Henry Shelly and lived at Pottsville. 

George Deibert, son of John and grandson of Michael, was born at the old 
homestead of his parents, and followed farming until a few years before his 
death, when he retired to Schuylkill Haven. He died when about seventy 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 835 

years old, and is buried in the Union cemetery at Schuylkill Haven, as is also 
his wife. He had many interesting experiences in the early days. His father 
owned a large tract of land where Fishbach is now located (near Pottsville), 
then thickly wooded. When the timber was cut it was floated down the Schuyl- 
kill. One day, while going past what is now known as Mount Carbon, he was 
followed by a wolf, and hastened to reach the river so that the animal might 
lose his scent when he forded the stream. When somewhat older he had 
another exciting time while plowing on the homestead, on the Second moun- 
tain. A deer ran out and got into a pond, and Air. Deibert, thinking he could 
kill it, went into the water after it, but the animal almost drowned him. He 
also had some adventures with panthers. Mr. Deibert was a Democrat, and 
a German Lutheran in religion, belonging to the W^hite Church in North 
Manheim township. He married Susanna Reed, daughter of James Reed, 
and she survived him, living to the age of seventy-one. The following chil- 
dren were born to them: Charles V. B.; Sarah, wife of Abraham Sharadin; 
Mahlon, deceased when nine years old; Amanda, who married Harrison Ber- 
ger, both now deceased ; James, who lived on the old homestead in North 
Manheim township until his recent death (he married Mary Faust, who is 
also deceased); Frank, mentioned elsewhere in this work; George R., living 
at Landingville, who married Mary Deibert; Hannah, who married Edw. 
Schappell; Elwin, living at Schuylkill Haven; and William, who died when 
sixteen years old. 

Charles V. B. Deibert was reared upon the farm, remaining there until 
he reached the age of nineteen years. Coming to Schuylkill Haven at that 
time, he became clerk for his uncle, Samuel Deibert, continuing in his em- 
ploy about four years. In i860 he took the census of his district, and on 
Aug. 6th of that year entered the Philadelphia & Reading railroad shops at 
Schuylkill Haven, forming a connection which continued over a period of 
forty-seven years, until he was retired, in 1907. He has since been enjoying 
well-earned leisure, having given up all business except his connection with 
the Schuylkill Haven Building & Loan Association, of which he has been 
president since 1902. 

Mr. Deibert married Emma Sterner, daughter of Jacob Sterner, who mar- 
ried a Luckenbill. They have become the parents of the following named 
children: Annie, now the wife of George Witman, living at Pottstown, Pa.; 
Milton, living at Schuylkill Haven; Catherine, of Schuylkill Haven; John 
Joseph, living at Schuylkill Haven ; and Walter, Robert, Charles and Minnie, 
all deceased. 

During the Civil war Mr. Deibert served in the Union army, enlisting in 
September, 1862, in the Pennsylvania militia, and remaining in the army a 
short time. He is a member of Jere Helms Post, No. 27, G. A. R., at Schuyl- 
kill Haven, and is serving as quartermaster of that organization. Mr. Deibert 
is one of the oldest members of Page Lodge, F. & A. M., of Schuylkill Haven, 
which he joined in June, 1873, and has been tiler of the lodge since 1898. He 
is also a member of I. O. O. F. Lodge No. 120, and of the Improved Order of 
Red Men, Lodge No. 327. 

RAYMOND H. STUTZMAN, M. D., of Tower City, is taking his place 
among the most useful members of that progressive community, both in his 
private capacity and as a public servant. His professional duties naturally 
bring him into contact with many phases of life in the community, and he is 



836 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PEXNSYLVANLA. 

in a position to judge well of its needs, to which he has devoted considerable 
of his time. 

Dr. Stutzman belongs to an old Pennsylvania family, founded in this coun- 
try by three brothers who came from Switzerland and settled in the Province, 
one at lona, one in Jefferson county and the other in what is now Schuylkill 
county. In the fall of 1826 Christian Stutzman, the Doctor's great-great- 
grandfather, moved with his son Peter from Lebanon county to Schuylkill 
county, settling in Hegins township. Peter Stutzman married Elizabeth 
Bonarty, and they had a family of eight children: Christian, David, Michael, 
Elizabeth, Peter. Catherine, Israel and William A. 

William A. Stutzman, son of Peter, grew up on the home farm in Hegins 
township, and received his education in the local subscription schools. In 
1850 he built the "Fountain Hotel" at Fountain, in that township, and con- 
ducted it for twenty-five years. He was also active in public affairs, holding 
the offices of poor director of Schuylkill county, township treasurer, tax col- 
lector and supervisor, and he was one of the leading members of the Demo- 
cratic party in the county in his day. His religious connection was with the 
Reformed Church. Mr. Stutzman was twice married, his first wife being 
Catherine Zerby, a native of Schuylkill county, by whom he had six children : 
Henry, who was murdered in 1877, in Iowa, where he had settled and taken 
up land (he is buried in Hegins township, Schuylkill county) ; Frederick E. ; 
Isaac, deceased ; Mar>-, deceased ; John W. ; and Andrew J. To his second 
union, with Helen Roebuck, of Northumberland county, were born three 
children, Celia (deceased, who married P. M. Artz), Carrie, and Emma L. 
(Mrs. R. A. Bressler). William A. Stutzman died July 7, 1905, on his farm 
in Hegins township, and is buried at the Frieden's Church. 

Andrew J. Stutzman. the Doctor's father, was born in Hegins township. 
He received a good education, graduating from the Millersville State Normal 
School, and taught for some years, finally settling down to farm life at Foun- 
tain, in Hegins township, where he is still so engaged. He has always done a 
good citizen's share in promoting good government in his locality and adminis- 
tering township affairs, has ser\'ed many years as school director, held the 
office of assessor, and acted as judge of election. Mr. Stutzman married 
Alice Schnell, and they have had three children : Fred, of Philadelphia, super- 
intendent of the Fox Gun Works; Allen, at home; and Raymond H. 

Raymond H. Stutzman was born Dec. 13, 1885, at Fountain, Hegins town- 
ship, and received his elementary education there, later attending school in 
Philadelphia. He then entered the Medico-Chirurgical College in that city, 
first taking the course in pharmacy, and after graduating in that department 
took the medical course, graduating in 1912. For the next six months he was 
stationed at the hospital there, and then started independent practice at Pillow, 
Dauphin county, where he also remained six months, on April 29, 1913, com- 
ing to Tower City, where he took up the practice of the late Dr. Stutzman, his 
cousin. Dr. Stutzman has gained steadily in the confidence of the community 
during his comparatively short residence there, and has every prospect of a 
busy, helpful career. He is serving as president of the board of health of 
Tower City, and attends conscientiously to his duties. 

Dr. Stutzman married Sarah Jane Graber, of Hegins, and they have three 
children : Howard G., Harry A. and Herman M. Socially the Doctor holds 
membership in the Knights of Pythias, belonging to the lodge at Tower City. 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 837 

FREDERICK CARL, of Shenandoah, now Hving retired, is undoubtedly 
one of the best known mine workers in this region, having been employed in 
the local anthracite fields for sixty years, from 1854 to 1914. During the last 
forty-six years of that period, from 1868 until his retirement, he was at the 
Shenandoah City colliery, where he held the responsible position of inside 
foreman. As miner, engineer, repairman and foreman Mr. Carl proved well 
adapted to his occupation, being naturally of a mechanical turn, and he gave 
his undivided attention and care to his work. He was considered a master 
in his line and eminently trustworthy, and personally he is liked as well as 
esteemed. 

Mr. Carl is a native of Germany, born March 7, 1841, in Dieffenbach, 
Prussia. His father, Henry Carl, was born at the same place, and was a 
linen weaver by calling. He and his wife Catherine became the parents of 
seven children, five sons and two daughters, all born in Germany. This entire 
family came to the United States in August, 1853, crossing from Antwerp 
in the sailing vessel "Columbus," and they were on board forty-seven days, 
having been obliged to lie in the English Channel fourteen days waiting for 
favorable weather. After landing at New York City they came on to Potts- 
ville, Schuylkill Co., Pa., and the father found his mechanical skill very use- 
ful, being given outside work at the mines. We have the following record 
of the family: (i) Philopina married Philip Bauer, and in 1855 they moved to 
Belleville, St. Clair Co., 111. Mr. Bauer was a bricklayer by trade. He and 
his wife are both deceased, her death having occurred in 1913. They had one 
son and six daughters. (2) John, who became an inside superintendent at the 
mines, died in 1899. He married Lizzie Klein, who now lives in Mount Carmel, 
Northumberland Co.. Pa., and they had five sons and three daughters. (3) 
Frederick is next in the family. (4) Annie is the widow of Adam Bommers- 
bach, a stationary engineer. They had two sons and three daughters. (5) 
Conrad, who was a miner, died in 1914. His widow, Sarah, lives at Mount 
Carmel, Pa. They had three sons and two daughters. (6) Peter, who lives 
at St. Clair, this county, is a stationary engineer. He married Sarah Bom- 
mersbach, and they have a family of seven, three sons and four daughters. (7) 
Henry, who formerly worked as a mechanic in Schuylkill county collieries, 
resides near Tower City, this county. He married Mary Winch, who died 
in about 1906, and they had one son and two daughters. 

Frederick Carl received his education in Germany. Soon after coming to 
this country he began work at the mines, first driving- mules, and he was vari- 
ously employed until he attained the position of inside foreman. After work- 
ing for a time at the Hickory colliery he went to the Eagle workings, at the 
upper end of St. Clair, this county, where he remained for nine months or a 
year, employed as miner, engineer and repairman. Then for eight years he was 
similarly engaged at the Pine Forest colliery, St. Clair, then owned by George 
W. Snyder, on March 17, 1868, taking a position at the Shenandoah City 
colliery, where he remained continuously until his retirement, in August, 1914. 
He became inside foreman there in 1870. 

On May 14, 1863. Mr. Carl married Marguerite Weber, at St. Clair. She 
was born in Saxony, Germany, daughter of George Weber, and died in 1872, 
aged twenty-nine years, the mother of children as follows: George H., a 
machinist and pipe fitter at the chemical works in West Philadelphia, Pa., 
married Martha Evans (they have no children) ; John W.. deceased, who was 
a carriage painter, married Mary Scanlan, and "they had one son and one 



838 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PEXXSYLVANIA 

daughter. John and Annie (Mrs. Edward Price) ; Harry G., a cigar manu- 
facturer of Shenandoah, who died Aug. 29, 191 5, married Annie Townley, 
and they had one son and two daughters, Clarence, Mabel and Kate, the last 
named deceased in infancy. The mother was a member of the Lutheran 
Church ; she is buried at St. Clair. 

In November, 1872, Mr. Carl married (second) Elizabeth Bernhardt, who 
was born at Dieffenbach, Prussia, Germany, daughter of Frederick and Wil- 
helmina (Neu) Bernhardt, and died Sept. 10, 1901. Six children were born 
to this union : Henrietta died at the age of nineteen years ; Minnie is the wife 
of Hesser H. Zulick, cashier of the First National Bank of Ringtown (they 
have no children) ; William, who did mechanical work at the mines, died at 
the age of twenty-five years, from injuries received at the mines, leaving a 
■wife, whose maiden name was Emily Smith (they had one child, Dora, who 
is deceased) ; Frederick, who is engaged as a mechanic at the mines, married 
Jane Hagenbuch, and they have two children, Dorothy and Robert ; Charles 
died when eight years old ; Matilda married Harold Breisch, a merchant of 
Ringtown, and they have two children, Catherine and William. 

Mr. Carl's third marriage was to Mrs. Henrietta Katz, sister of his sec- 
ond wife. She was the widow of George Katz, a native of Ashland, this 
county, son of George and Catherine (Stipe) Katz, and by her first marriage 
had five children : Charles F.. a bricklayer, living in Philadelphia, married 
Carrie Haynes, and they have two children, Emily and Charles; William L. 
is a student at Mount Airy Theological Seminary; Henrietta is the wife of 
Harry Reisch, and they reside at Culp, Pa. (they have no children) ; George 
is taking a course in architecture at the University of Pennsylvania and en- 
gaged as a night clerk in Philadelphia ; Frederick died in infancy. Mr. Katz, 
who died in December, 1899, was a member of the German Lutheran Church. 

Mr. and Mrs. Carl are members of the German Lutheran Church, and he 
is an Odd Fellow in social connection, belonging to Lodge No. 285, of St. 
Clair, which he joined in 1863. They have a pleasant home at No. 30 South 
Jardin street. Mr. Carl has always been a stanch Republican. During the 
Civil war he enlisted, at Pottsville, in Company D, 39th Infantry Reserves, in 
which lie ser\ecl three months, under Col. Daniel Nagle. 

NEIL CROSBY, one of the oldest residents of the borough of New Phila- 
delphia, Schuylkill county, is entitled to the respect he commands as the re- 
ward of a useful life. As a citizen he has never failed in his duty, his record 
of service in the Civil war and in official capacities in his home town proving 
that he has always been ready to do his part, whatever it might be. In busi- 
ness and domestic relations he has been equally faithful. 

Mr. Crosby has been a resident of Schuylkill county practically all the 
time since 1851, when he accompanied his parents to this country. He is a 
native of Ireland, bom Jan. 10, 1839, son of Patrick Crosby, who first 
came to America when a young man and spent eleven years here, living in 
Chester county. Pa., where he was engaged in farming. Returning to Ireland, 
he remained there for twenty-two years before he brought his family to the 
United States, in 1851. They settled in the Schuylkill valley, and the father 
found employment at Huebner's mines, doing outside work. He died in March. 
1865, at New Philadelphia, and is buried at Port Carbon, this county. His 
wife, Mary (Cathlee), also died at New Philadelphia, and is buried at Port 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 839 

Carbon. They had children as follows : Mary, Margaret, Elizabeth, Neil, 
Owen, Sallie, Hannah, Bridget and Catherine, the last named born at sea. 

Neil Crosby was first employed at Huebner's mines, and later did outside 
mine work at Patterson, this county. Then he worked inside at the East mine 
shaft, making the first timber for this working. He was at Patterson for four 
years in all, in 1856 removing to New Philadelphia, which then had but a 
scanty population. Here he worked for the Sillimans until May, 1857, drove 
team for John J. Tucker for a short time, and the same month entered the 
employ of the late Andrew Robertson, with whom he continued at that point 
until 1865, after which he lived some years at Shamokin, Pa. After thirteen 
years and eight months in Mr. Robertson's service he returned to New Philadel- 
phia, where he held the position of stable boss for a short time, also doing 
other work about the collieries. In 1908 he retired, and he has continued to 
make his home at New Philadelphia. In his earlier years Mr. Crosby took 
an active part in the administration of municipal affairs, serving as member 
of the council and on the board of school directors, and discharged his respon- 
sibilities conscientiously and intelligently. During the Civil war he enlisted 
in Company K, 137th Pennsylvania Volunteers, and served ten months in 
the army, taking part in the engagements at South Mountain and Antietam. 
He was in General Burnside's command. For three months the company was 
stationed at Belle Plain, Va. Mr. Crosby is a member of John Ennis Post, 
No. 47, of St. Clair, Schuylkill county, and has a wide acquaintance among 
the veterans. He and his wife have many friends at New Philadelphia. 

On Oct. 2, 1864, Mr. Crosby married Catherine Duft'y, a native of Mount 
Carmel, Pa., daughter of Anthony Duft'y. They are the parents of the fol- 
lowing named children: Sophia is living at home; Mary is the wife of James 
P. Flemingham. an attorney, of Welch, W. Va. ; Ellen is at home ; John is a 
member of the firm of Rishel & Crosby, wholesale and retail grocers, of Potts- 
ville ; James is at home ; Owen is clerking for his brother at Pottsville ; Cath- 
erine is the wife of Thomas P. Butler, of Pottsville ; Cornell and Sarah are 
deceased. The family are Catholics in religious faith. 

JOHN PEIFER is busily engaged in farming and lumbering, the latter 
under contract with different coal companies in his section of Schuylkill county. 
He lives in East Union township, where the family has been located since his 
grandfather's day. 

Solomon Peiter, the grandfather, was a wood chopper and lumberman near 
Mountain Grove, Luzerne Co., Pa., before his removal to Schuylkill county. 
He owned a timber tract and farm, but lost this property, and moved to Union 
township, Schuylkill county, where he tenanted what is now known as No. 3 
farm, owned by the Girard Estate. When he retired he went to live with his 
son Levi, at Brandonville, this county, and he died at the age of seventy-one 
years. He was a member of the Lutheran Church, and is buried at the Old 
White Church near Ringtown. Politically he was a Democrat. By his first 
wife, whose maiden name was Remaly, Mr. Peifer had the following children: 
(i) Daniel. (2) George married Mary Long, who survived him and is buried 
at Bloomsburg. They had children, Austin B., Alice (wife of Nathan Chromis, 
policeman at Bloomsburg), Annie (wife of L. D. Kahler) and Clara (wife of 
Frank Chromis). The son, Austin B. Peifer, was engaged as freight agent for 
the Pennsylvania Railroad Company for many years, and was for many years 
an elder of the Reformed Churcl; of Catawissa, Pa. (3) Levi married Eliz- 



840 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

abeth Shaeffer, and their children were Sarah, George, Rebecca, Mary, Albert, 
Amanda, Elizabeth and Ida. (4) Elias is mentioned below. (5) Hester mar- 
ried Jacob Hartley. Three others died young. For his second wife Mr. Peifer 
married Maria Moyer, and to them were born two children : Jacob married 
Amanda Rupert and had three sons and two daughters, Charlotte, Hannah, 
Charles, Benjamin and Herbert; Solomon, Jr., married Sarah Applegate, and 
had two children, Samuel (now deceased) and Susan (who lives in Con- 
necticut). 

Elias Peifer, father of John Peifer, was born April 17, 1831, near Moun- 
tain Grove, Luzerne Co., Pa., and died Nov. 27, 1912, aged eighty-one years, 
seven months, ten days. He received his education in his native county, and 
worked for his father on the farm and in the woods, until he reached legal age. 
He gained considerable experience as a sawyer. The first farm he bought (the 
place later owned by Samuel Deebel) consisted of 120 acres, sixty of which 
he had under cultivation, and he operated it for seventeen years, eventually trad- 
ing it for a farm owned by Sheep & Co., now the property of his son John 
Peifer. It was a tract of one hundred acres, sixty cleared, and he lived on it and 
followed general farming there very successfully, building the dwelling which 
is still standing on the property, occupied by his son John. He also owned 
a sixty-acre tract adjoining. Elias Peifer continued to carry on the lumber 
business along with farming, and he was the owner of a hotel property at 
Ringtown which he rented out, later selling it to Daniel Ellis, of Shenandoah ; 
it is now one of the principal hotels at Ringtown. Mr. Peifer served his town- 
ship many years as supervisor and tax collector. He was a Democrat in 
political faith, and during the Civil war a Union sympathizer, enlisting at 
Tamaqua in October, 1864, as a member of Company A, 173d Pennsylvania 
Regiment, for nine months, or during the war. He was mustered in at 
Harrisburg, and was engaged principally in guard duty. In religion he held 
to the Reformed faith, belonging to St. John's Church in East Union town- 
ship, at which church he and his wife are buried. 

Mr. Peifer married Emaline Charlotte Nungesser, who was born Sept. 
13, 1840, in Mifflin township, Columbia Co., Pa., daughter of Jacob and Anna 
(Reinbold) Nungesser, who moved thence to East Union township, Schuyl- 
kill county. Mr. Nungesser followed farming and lumbering there the best 
part of his life, dying at the age of forty-nine. He was a native of Mifflin 
township, Columbia county, and his wife was born near Easton, Northamp- 
ton Co., Pa. She lived to be over eighty, and is buried at Unityville, Lycom- 
ing Co., Pa. Their children were: Benjamin, deceased, married Elizabeth 
Applegate, who now lives at Strawbridge, Lycoming Co., Pa. ; Isaac married 
Susanna Hoffman, and they live at Berwick, Columbia county; Emaline Char- 
lotte married Elias Peifer; George died unmarried, after his return from the 
army; Hannah, widow of John Schucker, lives at Taylorsville, Schuylkill 
county. Mr. Nungesser is buried at the Old White Church near Ringtown. 
He had no church connections. He was a Democrat in political opinion. 

Airs. Ehas Peifer died in March, 1905, several years before her husband. 
They had the following family: John is the eldest. Isaac, born July 28, 1862, 
died aged forty years, ten months, and his widow, Emma (Fritz), lives in 
Tamaqua; they had children, Robert, Frank, Irwin, Maurice, Monroe, Ralph, 
Clarence, Clara, deceased, and Cora. Hiram, bom June 7, 1865, married Mary 
E. Borlace, and they live at Sheppton, Schuylkill county. Joanna died when 
three months old. Mary Elizabeth, born May 28, 1872, died Dec. 17, 1915, 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 841 

and is buried at Unityville, Lycoming Co., Pa.; she married Harry McClin- 
tock, of Muncy Valley, Sullivan Co., Pa., and had children: Ezra, Ruth, 
Joanna, Margaret, Elias, Mary, Leah, Orpha and Seth. 

John Peifer, eldest son of Elias Peifer, was bom Oct. 22, 1857, near Bran- 
donville, in Union township, that part now known as East Union. He attended 
the Upper Valley school, and also the Peifer or Lorah school in East Union 
township, receiving the first of his instruction during the first year the public 
school system was in operation in his township. Until he reached his major- 
ity he assisted his father with the farm work and lumbering, and then worked 
the home place on his own account, buying the property before his father's 
death. He still gives much of his attention to the cultivation of the farm, 
and continues his lumber operations also, filling contracts for various coal 
companies. Mr. Peifer takes a lively interest in all the afifairs of his neigh- 
borhood, public, religious and social. He is a Democrat, and has held several 
offices, having served three years as school director, two terms as auditor 
and for some time as registry assessor. A prominent member of the Re- 
formed congregation of St. John's Church in East LTnion township, he is one 
of the deacons at present, having filled that office since the building of the 
new church, in 1896. He was a member of the building committee at that 
time. Formerly he was a teacher in the Sunday school, of which he was also 
secretary and later treasurer. In fraternal connection he is an Odd Fellow, 
belonging to Ringtown Lodge, No. 287. 

Mr. Peifer married Agnes Cook, who was born Feb. 10, 1858, at Tusca- 
rora, Schuylkill Co., Pa., daughter of Michael and Hannah (Teft) Cook, 
and died Feb. 28, 1913. She is buried in the cemetery of St. John's Church, 
of which she was a Reformed member, and she took great interest in its 
work and sang in the choir. Mrs. Peifer was a capable, industrious. Chris- 
tian woman, and a great help to her husband. She worked out from the 
time she was eleven years old until her marriage. Five children were bom 
to Mr. and Mrs. Peifer: Henry Paul died when two months old; Emaline 
Charlotte, born Aug. 24, 1895, received her education in the public schools 
and is now living at home; Ira Edward died when two months old; Adam 
Elias, born Oct. 24, 1898, was educated in the public schools and is now 
living at home; Hannah died at birth. 

Michael Cook, father of Mrs. Agnes (Cook) Peifer, was bom in Ireland, 
and came to America when seven years old. He worked for one of the 
Reagan family at Tuscarora, Schuylkill Co., Pa., and later became a foreman 
round the mines at Audenried. Then he was at Lost Creek for some time, 
and he lived retired for a while before his death, which occurred at Lost 
Creek when he was eighty-four years old. He married Hannah Teft, who 
was born at Mount Laffee, Schuylkill county, and was reared by the grand- 
father of the present Judge Bechtel of the Schuylkill county courts. Mrs. 
Cook is also deceased, and is buried with her husband at Girardville, this 
county. He was a Democrat in his political convictions. They had the 
following children : John, deceased, married Julia Welsch, who now lives 
at McAdoo, Schuylkill county; Martin died unmarried; Agnes was the wife 
of John Peifer; Annie resides at Lost Creek; Michael died unmarried; Ed- 
ward, who lives at Lost Creek, this county, is unmarried. 

JOHN LEBO, of Tower City, a well known farmer of Porter town- 
ship, was born Feb. 14, 1844, in Dauphin county. Pa., son of Daniel and 



842 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVAXL\ 

Sarah (Schoffstall) Lebo, and grandson of Michael Lebo. The latter spent 
his early life in Berks county, Pa., later moving to Dauphin county, where 
he died. 

Daniel Lebo was born in the Lykens valley, in Dauphin county. Pa., and 
there his life was passed, his activities being devoted to the carpenter's trade. 
He died in 187 1, after an industrious and well-spent career. Mr. Lebo's 
first wife was Sarah Rowe, and they were the parents of four children: 
Joseph, Sarah, Caroline and Adeline. His second wife, who prior to her 
marriage was Sarah Schoffstall, was a daughter of Emanuel Schoffstall, a 
farmer in the vicinity of Gratz, and there were eleven children born to this 
union : John ; Isabella ; Dr. William, a physician of Valley \'iew. Pa. ; Edward ; 
Catherine ; Emmanuel ; Amos : Emma Jane ; Frank ; Alice, and Henry. 

Reared on a farm in Dauphin county, John Lebo secured the educa- 
tional advantages usually granted to the country youths of his day and local- 
ity, and when still a young man learned the butcher business, which he fol- 
lowed, in connection with farming, for a period of twenty years. After that 
he devoted all his time to farming. His operations in a business and agri- 
cultural way were interrupted by the Civil war when he enlisted at Harris- 
burg, in 1864, for one year, in Company H, 210th Pennsylvania Volunteer 
Infantry, under Captain Miller. He was not called upon to serve the com- 
plete term of his enlistment, for the war closed, and he was mustered out after 
nine months' service. However, during that period, he had seen some very 
active ser\'ice, and when he received his honorable discharge had a record for 
fidelity that had won him the thorough respect of his comrades and officers. 
He has never lost interest in his fellow-soldiers, and at the present time is 
serving as treasurer of William Thompson Post, Grand Army of the Repub- 
lic, of Tower City. 

On his return to the pursuits of civil life Mr. Lebo resumed his butcher- 
ing and agricultural operations. He removed from Dauphin county to 
Schuylkill county in 1888. Here his industry, perseverance and good manage- 
ment have been well rewarded, for at this time he is the possessor of two 
fine farms in Porter township, one of 165 acres and the other of forty-eight 
acres. Advancing years find Mr. Lebo still strong, hearty and energetic, 
but he has gained his competency and does not need to exert himself as in 
former years, so that he is now living on the smaller property, allowing his 
son. John E. Lebo. to cultivate the larger farm. 

In 1867 Mr. Lebo was married to Sarah A. Row, daughter of Jacob 
and Susanna (Motter) Row, of Dauphin county. Pa. Fifteen children were 
born to this union : Maggie, deceased ; Charles, now a resident of Lancaster, 
Pa. ; William and Sallie, deceased ; Oliver, living in Porter township ; John 
E., on his father's i6s-acre farm ; Annie, deceased, who was the wife of 
George Keilman ; Kate, the wife of John Schwalm ; Frank, deceased ; Corde- 
lia, the wife of Har\^ey Snyder; Joseph, a resident of Philadelphia. Pa.; 
Lottie, of Tower City. Pa. ; Mabel and Harry, who are deceased ; and a 
daughter who died in infancy. Mr. and ]\Irs. Lebo are consistent members 
of the Lutheran Church. Mr. Lebo has faithfully performed the duties of 
citizenship, having for seven years served his township as a member of the 
board of supervisors, and having, in every way, lent his aid to movements 
for the advancement of morality, religion, education and good citizenship. He 
holds the esteem and confidence of his fellow-citizens by reason of a life 
characterized by straightforward dealing. 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 843 

GEORGE CLARENCE LINDENMUTH, who is profitably engaged in 
fruit growing and general farming in Union township, Schuylkill county, 
was born April 21, 1881, on the place he now owns and occupies. 

The Lindenmuth family has been in this county for considerably more 
than a century, Daniel Lindenmuth, the great-grandfather of George Clar- 
ence Lindenmuth, having come hither from Berks county, Pa., in 1792. He 
was a native of Berks county. His father, Michael Lindenmuth, received a 
grant of four hundred acres from the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania in 
reward for his services as colonel and lieutenant in the Revolutionary war, 
and the property was divided among his four sons, Daniel, George. Henry 
and Martin ; the last named moved to Indiana. They came into what was 
then dense woods and set about clearing their land, meantime living in a 
shanty and putting up with many privations. The soil was put under culti- 
vation as fast as it could be prepared, and though the work was toilsome 
they accomplished much with the facilities at hand. They had to go to Read- 
ing on horseback with their grain in order to get flour, and had all the other 
experiences typical of the times. Daniel Lindenmuth settled in Union town- 
ship, where Mrs. William Boyer now lives. He was married four times, and 
his children were : Daniel was killed in the woods by a falling tree ; Molly 
married John Kline : Benjamin married Rachel Metz ; Jacob married Salome 
Gilbert; Andrew married Sallie Dornback ; George is next in the family; 
Joseph was twice married, his second wife being Rebecca Heisler; Michael 
married Mina Miller ; Esther married David Kline. The father died aged 
eighty-two years, nine months, one day, and is buried with three of his wives 
in the family cemetery at Lindenmuth's Corner, in Union township. The 
fourth wife moved from this section. He was a Democrat and a Lutheran, 
belonging to the Old White Church. 

George Lindenmuth, son of Daniel, above, was born on the old home- 
stead in Union township Feb. 7, 1815, farmed all his life, and died July 21, 
1885. He took an active part in local affairs, served as auditor of his town- 
ship, and was interested in politics as a worker in the Democratic parly ; 
he acted as judge of election. Mr. Lindenmuth married Polly Durnbach, 
who was bom June 27, 1814, daughter of William and Mary (Buzzard) 
Durnbach, and "died March 20, 1893. They are buried at the Old White 
Church, of which Mr. Lindenmuth was a Lutheran member. Six children 
were born to this worthy couple: Charles Daniel died in infancy; Sallie Ann 
married William Lindenmuth, and both are deceased ; William D. is the father 
of George Clarence Lindenmuth ; Jeremiah married Catherine Brobst, and 
both are deceased ; Polly is deceased ; Amanda Elizabeth lives at Ringtown. 

William D. Lindenmuth was bom May 9, 1841, on the old home place 
in Union township, now owned by the William Boyer estate. His education 
was obtained in the pay schools of the locality. He worked at home for his 
father until twenty-three years old, when he found employment at Seit- 
zinger's colliery, Colorado, this county, helping to put up the sawmill now 
owned by the Lehigh Valley Railroad Company, known as Packer No. 5. 
Then he took another position in the same neighborhood, working at Lost 
Creek for Frank Karcher and Colonel Cake, and he also worked at William 
Penn and Raven Run, at the latter place sawing timber and acting as manager 
on the platform ; he was there for three years and three months. In 1872 
Mr. Lindenmuth bought from Adam Lindenmuth the farm now owned by 
his son George Clarence, which was then all covered with brush, and he has 



844 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

made all the improvements in the way of buildings which the place now 
boasts, though he had only his evenings for the work at home, putting in 
twelve hours daily at the coal mines. Nevertheless he made great progress 
with the development of his farm, started the fine orchard which is now 
yielding so well, and also followed general farming successfully. He now 
lives near there, in Union township. Agriculture has been very interesting 
to him, and he was one of the organizers of the Ringtown Fair Association. 
For five years he was supervisor of his township, elected on the Democratic 
ticket, to which he has always given loyal support. He is a member of the 
Lutheran Church at Ringtown. 

Mr. Lindenmuth married Hannah Frey, who was born Aug. 9, 1845, i" 
Union township, daughter of Levi and Sallie (Rumbel) Frey, and died July 
10, 1910; she is buried at the Old White Church. Four children were born 
to this marriage : Mary Sabina married W. E. Staufi^er, who keeps a hotel 
in Union township ; Sallie Savilla is the widow of William Boyer and lives 
on the old Lindenmuth homestead ; Dr. Eli Oscar, now superintendent of 
the X-ray department in the State University of Indiana, at Indianapolis, 
married Elnora Breisch ; George Clarence is the youngest of the family. 

George Clarence Lindenmuth attended the Home school in Union town- 
ship, and worked at home with his father until twenty years old. Then he 
learned the carpenter's trade under Joseph Laudig, of Ringtown, remaining 
with him for three years, since when he has been farming again, having 
bought his father's farm of eighty acres, of which sixty-five are cleared. He 
studied fruit growing and insects and insecticides, as a correspondent stu- 
dent of Pennsylvania State College, and makes a specialty of fruit growing, 
principally apples, his leading varieties being the Northern Spy, King and 
Follawater, which have proved very satisfactory. Mr. Lindenmuth has one 
of the finest orchards in his section of Schuylkill county, and he follows up- 
to-date methods in its care, as he does in all his other work. He attends 
market at Girardville, and ships all over the State. Mr. Lindenmuth has 
not been negligent of his responsibilities of citizenship, any more than he has 
of his private interests. Anything that afl^ects the general welfare he con- 
siders worthy of his attention, and he has always used his influence in the 
most public-spirited manner. He was one of the organizers of the Farmers' 
Independent Telephone & Telegraph Company, and since June, 191 1, has 
been a director of the First National Bank of Ringtown. At present he is 
holding the office of tax collector of Union township, and is a member of 
the Schuylkill County Farm Bureau. Like his immediate ancestors, he is a 
Democrat in political opinion. He and his wife are members of St. John's 
Lutheran Church of Ringtown, of which he is a deacon. At one 'time he 
was superintendent of Home's Sunday school, and Mrs. Lindenmuth formerly 
taught in the Lindner Sunday school. Fraternally he is a member of Cata- 
wissa Lodge, No. 349, F. & A. M., and of Maple Leaf Camp, No. 246, Wood- 
men of the World, at Ringtown. 

Mr. Lindenmuth was married to Edith Priscilla Stauflfer, who was born 
April 23, 1877, in Union township, where she received her education. Six 
children have been born to this marriage, as follows: Edna Alberta, Oct. 
29, 1901 (died Feb. 17, 1904); Mary Emma, June 27, 1903; Helen Grace, 
March 4, 1905; Ralph Lester, Jan. 19, 1907; Earl James, May i, 1910; Wood- 
row Wilson, Jan. 16, 1913. Mary is now a pupil at the Ringtown high 
school. 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 845 

John Stauffer, Mrs. Lindenmuth's great-grandfather, was born Dec. 24, 
1758, in New Hanover township, Alontgomery Co., Pa., the second child and 
only son of his parents, Mr. and Mrs. Christian Stauffer. He lived in his 
native county until 1809, when he settled in Ryon township, Berks (now 
Schuylkill) county, and on May 10, 1839, he moved with his son David to 
the Catawissa valley. He died March 5, 1845, while on a visit to his son 
Jacob at Broad MtDuntain, Schuylkill county. Mr. Stauffer was always a 
farmer. His father was a Mennonite, like his ancestors, and John Stauffer 
always adhered to that faith, but under the influence of Rev. Mr. Schaeffer, 
a Lutheran missionary who came into their district, all his children became 
Lutherans. Politically he was a Democrat. He married Elizabeth Yerger 
Dec. 18, 1782, and they are buried in Locust Valley, near Mahanoy City, 
Schuylkill county. They had children as follows: Jacob, Rebecca (Mrs. 
Peifer), John, Elizabeth (Mrs. Drase), Catherine (Mrs. Puhl), George, 
Isaac, Henry, Magdalene (Mrs. Bittler), Sarah (Mrs. Shell), David (mar- 
ried JMaria Anne Andreas), Joseph and Amos. 

Joseph Stauffer, son of John, was born in December, 1806, in Mont- 
gomery county. Pa., farmed in Union township, Schuylkill county, where 
Joseph J. Stauft'er now lives, and died there at the age of eighty-one years. 
His wife, Mary Magdalena (Huntz), lived to the age of seventy-three 
years, and they are buried in the cemetery of the Old White Church, of which 
he was a Lutheran member. In politics he supported the Democratic party. 
Seven children were born to him and his wife, of whom John married Matilda 
Eisenhauer; Rachel became Mrs. John Eisenhauer; Jacob married Caroline 
Long; Joseph married Catherine Trexler; Amos married Caroline Trexler; 
one daughter died in infancy. 

Edmond Stauft'er, son of Joseph, was born March 12, 1846, in Union 
township, where he was reared and educated. He learned the trade of 
wheelwright with Stephen Yohe, of Slabtown, Columbia Co., Pa., and followed 
it all his life. For some time he worked at the carpenter's trade in Shenandoah, 
Schuylkill county. He bought an acre of ground in LInion township from 
John and Benjamin Seltzer, of Ringtown, and erected a fine shop there, 
doing blacksmithing and wheelwrighting, wagon building and general repair 
work. His patrons come from a wide radius. Later he bought six acres 
located across the road, from P. J. Ferguson, and there built a fine home, 
which he has ever since occupied. In addition to his shop he has a cider 
press, and he has done very well in his various enterprises. Mr. Stauffer 
has been active in township and church affairs, having served two terms as 
school director and held a number of offices in St. John's Lutheran Church 
of Ringtown — elder, deacon and trustee. Politically he is a Democrat. 

Mr. Stauffer married Carolina Bitting, daughter of Charles and Priscilla 
Bitting, and six children have been born to their union : Mrs. George Clarence 
Lindenmuth ; Milton Joseph, who follows blacksmithing with his father (he 
married Emma Mensinger) ; Emma Catherine, who married C. C. Breisch, 
an attorney at law, and died April 4, 1906; Richard Edmond, who died when 
one year old; Ellen Alvaretta, who died when eight years old; and Monroe 
Daniel, who is principal of public schools at New Market, New Jersey. 

HENRY Z. KUEBLER, now living retired, spent many years of his 
honorable and useful career in educational work in Schuylkill county, and as 
a successful and popular instructor enjoyed an influence among his young 



846 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PEXXSYL\'AXL\ 

diarges which has surely borne good fruit. He is a native of the county 
and of German descent. 

Christian Kuebler, father of Henry Z. Kuebler, was born and reared 
in Wurtemberg, Germany, and learned the trade of butcher in that country. 
When a young man of twenty years he came to America and settled in Schuyl- 
kill county. Pa., locating tirst at Pottsville and later at Minersville, where 
he carried on a butchering business. Later he moved to the Mahantongo 
Valley in this county, and thence to Lancaster, Pa., where he died. He mar- 
ried Hannah Zimmerman, who was born in the Mahantongo Valley, in this 
county, where her father, Solomon Zimmerman, settled upon his removal 
from Berks county. Pa. Mr. Zimmerman was a carpenter, and followed 
farming as well as his trade. Eventually he moved to Tremont, where he 
resided until his death. Mrs. Kuebler died in December, 1854, in Tremont. 
Henry Z. was the only child born to his parents, but he had four half brothers 
and sisters, all of whom are now deceased. 

Henry Z. Kuebler was born Dec. 5, 1835, at his father's home in the 
Mahantongo Valley, where he grew to maturity. Li his boyhood he attended 
the local township schools, and after his school days learned the car- 
penter's trade. At the age of twenty-two years he began teaching school, 
and he continued to follow the profession for thirty years, being engaged in 
Eldred township, this county, for three terms ; Porter township, one term ; 
Tremont township, seven terms ; Tremont borough, one term ; and in Butler 
township, one term. For several years Mr. Kuebler followed the nursery 
business, in which he was very successful, but he has been living retired for 
some time. At one time he studied law. Until recently he resided in the 
borough of Tremont, now making his home with his son at Llewellyn, 
this county. 

During the Civil war Mr. Kuebler joined Company H, 6th Pennsyl- 
vania \'olunteer Infantry, at Tremont, and served three months under that 
enlistment. Later, during the emergency, he reenlisted, in a cavalry company 
from Morristown, N. J., served about seven weeks, and was mustered out 
at Harrisburg, Pa., returning to Tremont at the close of his period of service. 
He holds membership in the Grand Army of the Republic, and has been a 
worker in that and other similar organizations, belonging to the I. O. O. F., 
Knights of Pythias and Masonic fraternity ; he has been especially interested 
in the latter, affiliating with the blue lodge at Ashland and the chapter (No. 
221) at Tremont, in which he has passed all the chairs and attained the 
dignity of high priest. His religious connection is with the United Evan- 
gelical Church. 

On April 18, 1875, ^^r. Kuebler married Emma R. Kohr, who was bom 
at what is now Fredericksburg, in Lebanon county. Pa., daughter of John H. 
and Hannah (Shirk) Kohr, of that county. Five children have been born 
to this union: Kohr L. and Sallie R. are deceased; Hannah, widow of Adolph 
O. Fleisch. lives in Westchester, Pa. ; Harr>' Emile lives in Branch town- 
ship, Schuylkill county; Viva L. Virgil is a resident of Atlantic City. 

PROF. PATRICK S. CANFIELD, of New Philadelphia, has been 
occupied in educational work from youth and is probably best known in that 
connection in this county. But he has also given considerable time success- 
fully to business, and is the present postmaster at Silver Creek (the post office 
of New Philadelphia). He has never withheld his services or influence in 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENXSYL\AXL\ 847 

promoting the general welfare, and his high qualifications have made his 
cooperation very acceptable, his good judgment and energy being employed 
to advantage in whatever claims his attention. 

Mr. Canfield is of Pennsylvania birth and Irish extraction, his grand- 
father, Edward Canfield, having been a native of Ireland, from which coun- 
try he brought his family to America, and many years ago settled at Windy 
Harbor, in Blythe township, Schuylkill Co., Pa. His son John, the father 
of Patrick S. Canfield, was born in Ireland, and accompanied his parents to 
the United States. He became a stationary engineer, and was employed in 
that capacity by the Philadelphia & Reading Coal & Iron Company at Eagle 
Hill, this county, for the long period of thirty-five years, making a high record 
for efficiency and fidelity. He never had any accidents nor injured anyone 
at his post. When sixty-five years old he was intrusted with the sinking of 
a shaft for the company, in whose employ he continued until the strike of 
1902. Personally he bore the highest reputation, his excellent habits gaining 
him deserved respect among his associates. Few men in the region were 
any better or more favorably known. His death occurred Oct. 9, 1909, and 
he is buried at New Philadelphia. Mr. Canfield married Mary Bums, who 
now resides at New Philadelphia with her daughter Mrs. Gannon. The fol- 
lowing children were born to this union : Mary is the wife of Joseph Gannon, 
of New Philadelphia; Edward 'J. is engaged in the hotel business at New 
Philadelphia; James F. lives at Pottsville, this county, where he has been 
assistant superintendent for the Prudential Life Insurance Company for 
the last twenty years ; John W. has held the same position at Tamaqua, this 
county, for fifteen years ; Annie is the wife of W. R. Lawrence, of Brooklyn, 
N. Y. ; Robert V. has been assistant superintendent for the Prudential Life 
Insurance Company at Lansford, Pa., for the last thirteen years ; Patrick S. 
completes the family. 

Patrick S. Canfield was born July 25, 1881. at Windy Harbor, in Blythe 
township, and acquired his early education ia the local public schools, under 
County Superintendent Livingston Seltzer. So well did he apply himself to 
his studies that he was given a school to teach when but sixteen years old, 
being engaged at. Silver Creek, in Blythe township, where he remained for 
three years. He has followed the profession continuously since. For three 
years after leaving Silver Creek he was at Middleport, this county, and the 
next year had a school in North Manheim township. For the last five years 
he has been stationed at New Philadelphia, where he now has charge as 
principal of the public schools, in which capacity he has given eminent satis- 
faction. Professor Canfield is earnest and conscientious in the performance 
of his duties, having a keen sense of the responsibilities they involve, espe- 
cially in shaping and directing the ideas of the young minds in his charge. 
Their confidence and esteem are his most cherished reward. 

For a few years ]\Ir. Canfield had a general store at Cumbola, Schuylkill 
county, but discontinued the business in 1910. On April i, 1915, he received 
the appointment of postmaster at Silver Creek (New Philadelphia), and he 
has been handling the business of the office with characteristic ability. He 
also acts as registrar of births and deaths in Blythe township and New Phil- 
adelphia borough, doing his work with the accuracy and intelligence which 
render such records very valuable. In religion he is a Catholic. Socially he 
affihates with the Ancient Order of Hibernians, and for the last fourteen 
years has been secretary of its local lodge. 



848 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PEXXSYLVAXL\ 

Professor Canfield was united in marriage with Mary Devlin, daughter 
of the late Thomas Devlin, who died April i8, 1915. Mr. and Mrs. Canfield 
have two children, John (now, 1915, aged four years) and Thomas (one 
year old). 

MORRIS \V. HIKES is a native-born citizen of Pine Grove who has 
taken his share of municipal responsibilities in an active life, doing his part 
in maintaining good business and living conditions in the progressive borough 
where his life has been spent. His connection with movements which 
stimulate good citizenship or are the expression of public spirit shows how 
thoroughly he has the general welfare at heart, and his own career stamps 
him as well fitted to assist in its defense. 

There are on record several of the name of Hikes among the immigrants 
to Pennsylvania during the Provincial period. One John Henry Hyckes 
arrived Sept. 16, 1738, on the ship "Queen Elizabeth," from Rotterdam, land- 
ing at Philadelphia. In 1751 a John Peter Heygies sailed on the ship "Duke 
of Bedford," carrying 160 passengers, from Rotterdam, and landed at Phil- 
adelphia. John George Heiges, who landed at Philadelphia, shipped Oct. 22, 
1754, on the "Henrietta," from Rotterdam, whose passengers were from 
Hesse and Wurtemberg. George Hikes, great-grandfather of Morris W. 
Hikes, was born March 8, 1725, supposedly near Wurtemberg, in the south- 
ern part of Germany. He was among the very earliest settlers in Adams 
county, where he remained until his death, engaged in farming, passing away 
Jan. 3, 1800, and is buried at the Bermudian Church, at York Springs, Adams 
county. He was a soldier in the Revolution, and spent the winter of 1777-7S 
with Washington at A'alley Forge. He was married to Margaret Albert, 
daughter of Lorentz Albert, and their three children were Charlotte C, Fred- 
erick (who died unmarried) and Henry. The daughter was married about 
1794 to John Albert, a clockmaker, and about 1812 they emigrated to Perry 
county, Pa., where they settled and reared their large family — thirteen chil- 
dren. It was with this family that Singleton Hikes, father of Morris W. 
Hikes, spent most of his youth. 

Henry Hikes, grandfather of Morris W., was born Feb. 14, 1790, in 
Adams county. Pa., and died Nov. 10, 1871. His entire life was passed in his 
native county, where he was a prosperous farmer and extensive landowner. 
He married Mary Erb, and they became the parents of eleven children, 
eight sons and three daughters, all now deceased, viz. : Henry, Moses, Fred- 
erick, George, John, Singleton, Howard, Eli. Christina, Mary and Catherine. 

Singleton Hikes was born in May, 1823, near York Springs. When a 
young man, in 1846, he moved to Pine Grove, Schuylkill county, from Landis- 
burg. Perry county, and here he spent the remainder of his long life, dying 
Aug. 26, 1904. Though he did some farming he was occupied principally at 
his trade, that of carpenter, which he followed until his death. No man in 
the community was more sincerely respected. He was a member of the 
United Brethren Church and a devoted religious worker, one of the oldest 
Sunday school superintendents in this locality, and always used his influence 
for the promotion of good works. Having taught school for some time 
in his earlier life (he was so engaged in Pine Grove township), he was well 
fitted for his efforts to provide proper training for the young, both as a Sun- 
day school worker and a member of the township board of school directors. 
In 1849 he married Catherine Harvey, and they made their home at North 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 849 

Pine Grove, where they reared their family, viz. : Sarah, the wife of Jeremiah 
KHngler, residing at Fredericksburg, Lebanon Co., Pa. ; John C, hving on 
the old homestead in Pine Grove ; Isaac, deceased ; Morris W. ; Howard and 
Walter H., both deceased. The mother was born in Reading, Pa., and died 
July 24, 1894. 

Isaac Harvey, Sr., grandfather of Mrs. Hikes, was of EngHsh ancestry. 
He was at Reading, Pa., among the early settlers. He married Margaret 
Ruppert, and they had a large family. Isaac Harvey, Jr., son of Isaac, was 
born Nov. 16, iSor. at Reading, Pa., and died at Pine Grove April 27, 1875. 
'He moved to Pine Grove in its earlier days, and was engaged in transport- 
ing coal from the mines for the Union Canal Co. His wife, Mary (Wunder), 
was born May 29, 1803, and died July 11, 1854. They had a numerous 
family: Daniel, Esther, Henry, George, John, Isaac, Franklin (a resident of 
Missouri), Mary, Sarah (widow of John Fuller, of Boulder, Colo.), Annie, 
Tamson (deceased), Rebecca, Catherine, and three who died in infancy. 

Morris W. Hikes was born Jan. 26, 1862, in Pine Grove township, where 
he spent his youth and received the principal part of his education, attend- 
ing the State Normal School at Millersville for a short time. For eight 
years he was engaged in teaching in this county, in Pine Grove, East Union 
and Porter townships. In 1890 he commenced the business he has since 
followed, painting and paperhanging, and he has been notably successful as 
an interior decorator, in which line he commands a wide patronage. With 
skill and taste developed by experience, and by scrupulous care in the fulfill- 
ment of contracts, he has obtained solid standing among local craftsmen. 

Mr. Hikes has been associated with the administration of local affairs for 
over twenty years. In 1893 he was elected a justice of the peace, and 
held the office continuously until 1914. In December, 1903, he received a 
commission as notary public, and still acts in that capacity. He was one of 
the organizers of the Pine Grove Fire Company, founded in 1894, has served 
as president, and is now secretary of the company; he is a member of the 
State Firemen's Association. Mr. Hikes has various social connections, be- 
longing to the Knights of the Golden Eagle, of which he has been recording 
secretary since 1898; to Tremont Lodge, I. O. O. F., of which he has been 
a member since 1893 ; and to the Pine Grove Blue Lodge, F. & A. M., of which 
he is a past master. 

On Dec. 25, 1884, Mr. Hikes married Kate L. Drine. who is a native of 
Pine Grove, one of the six children born to Owen and Mary (Mease) Drine. 
Mr. Drine was born in 1822 in Orwigsburg, and coming to Pine Grove in 
1842 followed the shoe business here for many years, being a shoe maker and 
dealer. He was a devoted member of St. Paul's United Evangelical Church 
and highly respected as a model Christian. He died in Pine Grove at the 
home of his daughter, Mrs. Hikes, Dec. 16, 1898. His wife, who died Jan. 
31, 1872, was a native of Lebanon county. Pa., and was a descendant of one 
of the earliest families of this part of Pennsylvania, being a daughter of 
Daniel Mease. The Meases became established at an early day in the 
northern part of Lebanon county, near Lickdale. Mr. and Mrs. Drine had 
the following family : Sarah, widow of E. J. Haak, living at Pine Grove ; 
Emma, wife of FrankHn Maurer, of Pine Grove; Kate L., Mrs. Morris W. 
Hikes ; London, who is deceased ; and Louisa and Irene, who died in infancy. 

Four children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Hikes : Lloyd D., who is Sr 
graduate of Albright College, is now engaged in the laundry business at Tre- 

Vol. 11—16 



850 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

mont, Schuylkill county (he is a musician of considerable local reputation, 
has been a member of the Pine Grove band, and Tremont band) ; V. La Rue, 
Ina B. and Mary Catherine are at home. 

J. J. McKNIGHT has for several years been in charge of various public 
utilities of vital importance to the boroughs of Pottsville and Schuylkill 
Haven. He has been a resident of the former borough since 1902, when he 
came to take the position of foreman of the Pottsville Gas Company. He has 
been with that concern ever since, and meantime has become general man- 
ager, with the added responsibility of manager of the Schuylkill Haven Gas 
& Water Company. Mr. McKnight is a native of Durham, Bucks Co., Pa., 
born Dec. 28, 1876, son of Michael McKnight. also a native of Bucks county. 
The father was a steel worker, employed at the Durham Steel Mills. He 
died in January, 1913, at Easton, Pennsylvania. 

J. J. McKnight received a public school education at Durham and also 
attended the academy at Riegelsville, in his native county. For ten years, 
from 1892, he was employed in the steel mills at Bethlehem, first as a machin- 
ist, later as a bricklayer, and then, for three years, in charge' of all the 
steel that went out of the mill, holding the position of annealer. For a year 
after leaving the mills he was with the Bethlehem South Gas & Water Com- 
pany as a gas fitter. Then in October. igo2, he came to Pottsville to take 
the position of foreman and inspector of the gas plant, acting in that capac- 
ity for three years, since when he has been general manager of the Potts- 
ville Gas Company, the Schuylkill Haven Gas & Water Company and the 
Schuylkill County Light & Fuel Company. Mr. McKnight is thoroughly 
familiar with the operation of these plants according to up-to-date ideas, 
and he is trusted and respected for his intelligence and reliability. 

The Pottsville Gas Company was incorporated Feb. 25, 1850, by Samuel 
Sillyman, John H. Adams, Joseph S. Silver, James Hoy, Simon Cameron, 
Lewis Audenried, Charles W. Clemens, Joseph W. Cape, Alexander Small, 
Adam Glassbrenner, Joseph C. Potts, John P. Kennedy. Francis W. Hughes 
and Eli Morris. The plant is now owned by C. P. King and F. H. Treat, 
who purchased it in 1902. Mr. Treat is president of the company, and W. 
H. Lawton, secretary' and treasurer. The office is at No. no South Centre 
street, Pottsville, and the plant on Centre and Coal streets. About three 
thousand meters have been installed and the capacity is fifty million cubic 
feet, Schuylkill Haven as well as Pottsville being supplied from this point. 
The equipment is entirely modern. 

Mr. McKnight married Laura Louise Meiswinkel, daughter of Frederick 
Meiswinkel, of Pottsville. They have had two children born to them, Laura 
Louise and Mildred Josephine. Mr. McKnight is a Catholic in religious 
faith, belonging to St. "Patrick's Church, at Pottsville, and he also holds mem- 
bership in Pottsville Lodge, No. 207, B. P. O. Elks; in the Knights of Colum- 
bus ; and the Y. M. C. A. 

SAMUEL M. FESIG, of Tower City, justice of the peace, one of the 
well known men of Schuylkill county, was born in Pine Grove township 
March 16, i860, a son of John and Angeline (Schwartz) Fesig. John Fesig 
carried on the hotel business in Schuylkill county, and in 1874 located at 
Tower City, where he conducted a small store. His death occurred in 1883, 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 851 

and he is buried at Tower City. His children were : Emma, Elizabeth, John 
(deceased), Samuel M., William and Edward. 

While still a lad Samuel M. Fesig worked in the mines of his neighbor- 
hood, first at day work, and then as door tender. In 1889 he began mining, 
and so continued until 1913, at the West Brookside colliery. In the fall of 
1913 he was elected justice of the peace at Tower City, and has been serving 
as such to the present time. He has also been a member of the council (three 
years) and borough clerk (two years), and upon a number of occasions has 
been sent as delegate to county conventions. In addition to other interests, 
Mr. Fesig was one of the organizers and charter members of the Moun- 
taineer Hose Company of Tower City. He gives to all his duties a careful, 
conscientious attention that displays the character of the man and his realiza- 
tion of the responsibilities which rest upon him. 

Mr. Fesig was married to Alice Shower and their nine children have 
been: John, who married Merda Brown; Charles, who is deceased; Henry; 
Edna;" Bella; Rebecca; Millie, who married Solomon Kline; Martha; and 
George. Not only is Mr. Fesig prominent in local politics, but he takes an 
intelligent interest in the welfare of Local Union No. 1261, U. M. W. of A., 
of which he is a member, and he represented it at Harrisburg. He also 
belongs to Camp No. 52, Patriotic Order Sons of America, and in its behalf 
has attended conventions at Williamsport and Uniontown, Pa. ; he holds mem- 
bership in Washington Commandery No. 22. When it is remembered that 
Mr. Fesig has risen to his present position from very humble beginnings, 
and all through his own efforts, it is easy to see that he is a man of much 
more than ordinary ability who has known how to make excellent use of 
opportunities as they presented themselves. 

LOUIS C. BOLICH has been a resident of Ashland practically all his 
life, having been born at Minersville, Schuylkill county, May 22, 1854, and 
brought hither in his youth by his parents, Albert and Augusta (Clouse) 
Bolich. 

Albert Bolich was a native of Germany, born in Saxony. His parents 
died in that country, and he continued to live there until 1852, following his 
marriage. Mr. and Mrs. Bolich settled at Minersville, Schuylkill Co., Pa., 
and he engaged in mine work, also following his trade, that of tinsmith, 
which he learned in Germany. In 1855 he moved with his family to Ashland, 
where he engaged in business, continuing it until, because of his father's 
death, he returned to Germany, where he settled up the estate. Coming 
back to America, he settled at Sayre, in Bradford county. Pa., and agafn went 
into business, remaining at that place until his death, in 1904. His wife was 
like himself a native of Germany. They became the parents of seven children, 
of whom Louis C. is the eldest ; Clara is the wife of Ernest Thompson, of 
Sayre ; Alfred is engaged in the hardware business at that place, where he is 
a leading merchant ; Herman L.. also of Sayre. is in partnership with his 
brother Alfred; Louisa is next in the family; Rosie and Minnie are deceased. 

Louis C. Bolich received his education in the public schools at Ashland. 
When only a boy he entered his father's employ, learning the trade of tin- 
smith, and he continued with him until the father went to Europe, when he 
engaged in the livery business on his own account. This was in 1876, and 
he conducted the business for over thirty-five years, eventually turning it 
over to his son Herman, who had been assisting him for some time. Mr. 



852 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PEXNSYLVANL\ 

Bolich always kept an excellent stock of horses and vehicles, and by obliging 
attention to the wants of his customers he succeeded in establishing a profit- 
able trade. He has turned the business over entirely to his son Herman. 

On June 12. 1881, Mr. Bolich was married to Catherine Brixius, who 
was born at Minersville, Schuylkill county, daughter of Peter and Susanna 
(Scholles) Brixius, both natives of Germany (the father born at Better), 
where they were reared and married. Coming to America in 1842, they first 
located near Williamsport, Pa., later settling at Minersville, this county, in 
1850. Here they made a permanent home, Mr. Brixius -following the trade 
of stonemason and builder to the end of his life. He died Oct. 23, 1892, and 
his widow on April 18, 1906. They had the following children: Theodore, 
the eldest, is deceased; Catherine is the wife of Louis C. Bolich; Christine 
is the wife of H. C. Madlinger, of Mahanoy City, Pa. ; Anna M. is the wife 
of Joseph O'Neill, of Minersville, this county; John hves at Minersville; 
Theodore (2) is also a resident of that place. 

Four children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Louis C. Bolich: (i) Mary 
A. died April 27, 1885. (2) Harry P., born March 21, 1886, received his 
early education in the public schools of Ashland, and later entered the Uni- 
versity of Pennsylvania, where he took a course in veterinary surgery, gradu- 
ating in 1908. He began practice at Ashland, where he still maintains an 
office, also practicing at Mount Carmel, Pa., where he makes his home. He is a 
member of the Knights of Columbus, and of St. Mauritius Church of Ash- 
land. (3) J. Louis, born May 18, 1887, had public school advantages at Ash- 
land, and has since taken a course at the Eckels School of Embalming, Phil- 
adelphia, from which he was graduated in 1910. He is now located at South 
Bethlehem, Pa. He is a member of the Knights of Columbus. 

(4) Herm.an a. Bolich, born Aug. 18, 1889, at Ashland, was reared and 
educated there, and is now one of the prosperous young business men of 
the place. He is carrying on the livery and transfer trade established by 
his father, and has already proved himself a trustworthy and reliable busi- 
ness man, thoroughly progressive in the manner in which he has conducted 
the stables since they came into his hands. He is a young man of com- 
mendable habits and good character, a member of Sarto Council, Knights of 
Columbus, and of St. Mauritius Catholic Church, at Ashland. 

JOHN M. COOMBE, notary public, insurance and real estate, Mahanoy 
City, Schuylkill county, Pennsylvania. 

WILLIAM H. RYLAND, of Wayne township, Schuylkill county, bears 
a name which has been associated with honorable purpose and a high order 
of citizenship since his grandparents settled there in 1838. His father, 
Albanus S. Riland, has been living there continuously since, and now over 
ninety years old, with faculties keen and alert, has the pleasure of seeing 
his descendants in the enjoyment of the benefits for which he labored so 
earnestly during his more active days. Though a man of broad sympathies 
and ready with encouragement for every good movement, his deepest interest 
was always along the line of religious work, and his best efforts were given 
to the strengthening of the churches and their allied enterprises, upon which 
he has always felt that the true advancement of humanity depends. 

This name was originally spelled Riland, William H. being the first 
to adopt the form Ryland. The family has been in Pennsylvania since pre- 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 853 

Revolutionary days. Tradition has it that Lord Riland, of London, England, 
had three sons who came to America, one settling in New Jersey, one in Vir- 
ginia, and the other it is supposed in Pennsylvania, the latter likely the founder 
of the branch of the family to which William H. Ryland belongs. Andrew 
Riland, the earliest ancestor of his line of whom we have any positive knowl- 
edge, was a miller, operating a mill on the Tulpehocken creek, in Berks county, 
Pa. Thence he removed to Whitemarsh, then in Philadelphia (now Mont- 
gomery) county, near Chestnut Hill, later purchasing a farm in the upper 
end of Philadelphia county, near the Montgomery county line. He died there, 
and he and his wife Phoebe (Burkheart) are buried in the Barren Hill ceme- 
tery in ^Montgomery county. 

Samuel B. Riland, son of Andrew and Phoebe Riland, was born in Berks 
county in 1795. He and his brother William served as soldiers in the war of 
1812. Though principally engaged in farming, he was a cooper by trade, and 
made many flour barrels for the millers in and about Philadelphia. For some 
years he farmed in Montgomery county, being located at Norristown, in 1838 
removing to Schuylkill county and settling in Wayne township, where he 
bought the farm upon which he resided thereafter to the close of his long 
life. His death occurred at the home of Albanus S. Riland, who had always 
been a devoted, affectionate son, the father passing away in his arms Jan. 24, 
1877, aged eighty-one years, ten months, nine days. His religious connec- 
tion was with the Evangelical Church. Samuel B. Riland was twice married, 
his first wife being Sarah Schoch, who was born in the latter part of 
the eighteenth century at what was then called Robinhood, Philadelphia 
county, now included in Philadelphia, daughter of Jacob and Rachel (Edle- 
man) Schoch. The latter died at the remarkable age of ninety-nine years, 
and is buried in the Barren Hill cemetery. Her father was living in German- 
town when the Revolutionary battle was fought at that place, and the family 
took refuge in the cellar, placing bedding at the windows as a protection 
against the British bullets. After the battle the British looted the house, 
carrying off everything they wanted, even the clothing and the bedticks, 
which they first ripped open and emptied of straw. Mrs. Sarah (Schoch) 
Riland died Sept. 15, 1S25, the mother of two children, Albanus S. and 
Arabella; the daughter married Charles Krecker, of Friedensburg, Schuyl- 
kill county, and both are now deceased. For his second wife Samuel B. 
Riland married Elizabeth Mullin, by whom he had six children, three sons 
and three daughters, namely : Samuel B., Jr. ; Peter ; Charles ; Mary, who mar- 
ried Thomas Morgan, of Montgomery county, later of Schuylkill county; 
Catherine, who married Daniel Kemmerling, of Schuylkill Haven ; and Sarah, 
who married Daniel Snyder, of Schuylkill county. 

Albanus S. Riland was born Dec. 22, 1824, at Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, 
and received common school advantages at the various localities in eastern 
Pennsylvania where the family lived. Though the scope of the early schools 
was limited he made the most of his opportunities, and has always been a 
reader, becoming well informed by his own efforts. His mind is still active, 
and he takes great pleasure in keeping in touch with current events, of national 
as well as local interest. Besides farming during his active years he acted 
as traveling salesman for a time for the Oliver Chilled Plow Company, in 
New Jersey, Maryland, Virginia, Delaware and eastern Pennsylvania, and by 
application and good judgment managed his business affairs very successfully. 
On May 16, 1850, Mr. Riland married Anna Nunemaker, daughter of John 



854 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PEXNSYLVANLA 

Nunemaker, of Wayne township, and granddaughter of Jacob Nunemaker, 
who came to this country from Germany ; her maternal grandfather, Peter 
Smith, was a native of Berks county. Pa. To Mr. and Mrs. Riland were 
born four children, three sons and one daughter: John N.. Daniel S. (de- 
ceased), William H. and Mary E. (deceased). 

Mr. Riland began attending Sunday school in 1832, and when a young 
man became a Sunday school teacher. In 1852 he was elected superintendent 
of the Sunday school of the Friedensburg Church, and served in that capacity 
for fifty-si.x consecutive years. The first Sunday school he organized was 
called together in an old springhouse. In 1913, at the jubilee convention held 
in Philadelphia, Mr. Riland was awarded a medal as the oldest Sunday 
school worker in the State. His membership with the Friedensburg Church 
dates back to 1848. When the United Brethren and Evangelical congregations 
of Friedensburg erected the English Protestant Union Church in 1859 Mr. 
Riland assisted faithfully in the work as a member of the building com- 
mittee, and he has been one of the church trustees for a number of years. 
He covered a large field in soliciting funds for the Lebanon \^alley College, 
and served as a trustee of that institution for some twenty years. 

William H. Ryland, son of Albanus S. Riland, was born in October, 1857, 
and was given excellent educational advantages, taking a course in the Lebanon 
Valley College. At the age of twenty-two years he settled on the farm in 
Wayne township where he has since made his home, and all his business inter- 
ests have centered in agricultural work and allied lines. Besides operating 
his land he has been the local representative of several firms dealing in agri- 
cultural implements and fertilizers. Like his father he is a dex-oted church 
worker, a valued member and official of the United Brethren Church and 
active in the Sunday school. Politically a Republican, he has been identified 
with party work to a considerable extent, acting as delegate to several con- 
ventions, and socially he belongs to Schuylkill Haven Lodge, F. & A. M., the 
Knights of ^Nlalta and the Patriotic Order Sons of America. 

On Nov. 22, 1878, Mr. Ryland married Emma Straub, who was born Sept. 
5, 1856, daughter of John and Mary (Steib) Straub, of Wayne township, 
natives of Germany. Mrs. Ryland died Oct. 24, 1914, the mother of six 
children: (i) Albanus S., born Aug. 18, 1880, graduated from the Millers- 
ville State Normal School and taught during his early manhood, being engaged 
for a time in the high school at Shoemakersville. He also took a course at 
the Lebanon \'alley College, and prepared for the medical profession at the 
Medico-Chirurgical School of Philadelphia, from which he was graduated. 
After a year's experience as interne at the Wilkes-Barre hospital he located at 
AUentown, Pa., where he practiced one year, and he has since been in medical 
and surgical practice at \'alley \'iew, Schuylkill county, where he has a wide 
circle of patrons and is held in great esteem personally. He is a Mason, and 
also belongs to the P. O. S. of A. Dr. Ryland married Katherine Bittle. 
(2) John G., born Dec. 20, 1881, also graduated from the Millersville Normal 
School, taught for a time at Auburn, Schuylkill county, and is now engaged 
as a traveling salesman for the Oliver Chilled Plow Company. He is a 
Mason fraternally. His wife, Helen (]\Iengle), died leaving one child, Helen 
E. (3) Harry E., born May 5, 1883, worked at one time "in Buft'alo, N. Y., 
traveled for some years, and is now farming in Wayne township. He mar- 
ried Laura Zettlemoyer, and they have one child, Glenn A. Mr. Ryland 
belongs to the F. & A. M. and the P. O. S. of A. (4) Robert S., bom Oct. 5. 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL/\ 855 

1885, is a machinist by calling, was formerly employed at Reading, Pa., and 
now lives at home. He is a member of the P. O. S. of A. (5) Anna M., 
born May 14, 1889, is at home. (6) Dora R., born April 20, 1893, is the 
wife of Rev. Harrison Heffner, of Pequea, Lancaster Co., Pa., pastor of the 
Evangelical Church. 

THOMAS J. CUMMINGS has been one of the controlling spirits in the 
government of Mount Carbon borough during the most progressive stage of 
its existence. As borough auditor since 1903 he has been taking a direct part 
in the management of public affairs, and his work has extended into other 
departments also. His efforts have been employed principally in obtaining 
for his borough the benefits of modern methods. Mr. Cummings is a worthy 
representative of a family which has long been settled in Schuylkill county. 

The earliest known ancestors of the Cummings family were natives of 
Scotland, and the forefather of the branch here under consideration went 
across and settled in Ireland. Pierce Cummings, father of Thomas J. Cum- 
mings, was born in Ireland and spent his early life in that country. Coming 
to America in 1844, he settled at Mount Carbon, in North Manheim township, 
Schuylkill Co., Pa., and in 1845 began railroad work with the Reading Com- 
pany, in whose employ he remained until his death, which occurred in April, 
1880. He is buried at Pottsville. Mr. Cummings was not only a reliable and 
thrifty workman, but he became well known to his' fellow citizens in North 
Manheim township for his intelligent stand on public questions, and he 
gave efficient service in the positions of school director and tax collector. In 
1864, when the borough of Mount Carbon was erected, he was one of the 
organizers. His wife, Mary (Dobbins), like himself a native of Ireland, 
died Nov. 28, 1910, and is also buried at Pottsville. ' They had a large family, 
namely: James, John, Nicholas, Edward, Bridget (who has a grocery and 
notion store at Mount Carbon), Thomas J., Edmund, George, EHzabeth, Cath- 
erine, Mary, Margaret, Anna and Matthew. 

Thomas J. Cummings was born in 1859 near Mount Carbon in North 
Manheim township, and there received a public school education. He was 
but ten years old when he commenced work, boating on the canal, being so 
employed from 1869 until December, 1880, when he entered the employ of 
the Philadelphia & Reading Railway Company as brakeman. However, he 
soon returned to his old occupation, in 1881 becoming a boatman on Long 
Island sound, where he was employed for over fifteen years. He also spent 
three years at Philadelphia, employed in the Baldwin locomotive shops, before 
returning to Schuylkill county, in 1901, in which year he located at Potts- 
ville. He has since been employed on the Philadelphia & Reading road, being 
now engaged as a conductor and flagman. 

Mr. Cummings makes his home at Mount Carbon, and like his father 
has been one of the most favorably known citizens of the community. For 
several years he was a zealous member of the school board, and since 1903 
he has held the position of auditor of the borough. At present he is vice 
president of the Mount Carbon Fire Company, which he has also served as 
trustee, having taken an active part in the direction of its affairs ever since 
it was organized in 1909. The coin]3any has every reason to be proud of its 
up-to-date equipment, and Mr. Cummings and his fellow members have spared 
neither time nor pains to bring the cx)mpany up to a high standard of efficiency. 
He is also a member of the Foresters and of the Order of Railway Conductors. 



856 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 

Mr. Cummings married Luticia Gelespie, who died in October, 1901, and 
is buried at Pottsville. The only child of this union, Anna, is unmarried 
and lives at home with her father. 

JAMES MONROE HAND is one of the oldest residents of the borough of 
Tremont, Schuylkill county, and has long been employed at the Lincoln col- 
liery. He has filled a useful place in the administration of the local govern- 
ment, having served faithfully in important positions of trust, and his honor- 
able and intelligent discharge of every duty has recommended him to the 
favor and confidence of his associates in all the relations of life. 

The Hand family has been in Pennsylvania for several generations, 
founded here by John Hand, an Orangeman from the North of Ireland, who 
came to America with his brother William. The latter settled in New Jersey, 
John Hand coming to this State, where he made a settlement in the Lykens 
valley, taking up a farm. He lived and died there. His children were : Wil- 
liam, Abraham, John, and two daughters. 

William Hand, son of John, above, also followed farming in the Lykens 
valley, later removing to Clearfield county, Pa., where he purchased a farm 
and engaged in the timber business as well as agriculture. He died at the 
age of eighty-eight years, and is buried there. His wife's maiden name was 
Zimmerman, and their children were: John, William, Elias, Henry, Joseph, 
George, James, Kate (Mrs. Daubert), Mrs. Young, and a daughter who died 
in Pittsburgh. 

John Hand, son of William, was born in what was then Upper Mahan- 
tongo (now Hegins) township, on the old John Reed farm about three quar- 
ters of a mile northeast of Hegins. He learned shoemaking, but did not 
follow the trade long. Later he learned stonemasonry, which he also fol- 
lowed but a short time, eventually going to work at the mines, where he was 
engaged for about forty-five years. In 1844 he settled at Tremont, where he 
was one of the pioneers, and he continued to make his home there until his 
death, Feb. 18, 1902, at the age of eighty-one years. He is buried in the 
Methodist Episcopal cemetery at Tremont. Five children were born to his 
marriage with Elizabeth Shuckert, daughter of Henry Shuckert : Daniel, 
James Monroe, William F., Mary and Margaret. 

James Monroe Hand was born at Tremont in 1849, and had rather 
limited advantages, being only a young boy when he began to pick slate 
at the mines. With the exception of about eighteen months during which he 
was employed in a foundry at Tremont he has been engaged at the mines 
continuously since, and he is now one of the reliable hands at the Lincoln 
colliery. He has many interesting stories of the early days at Tremont, and 
he has taken a good citizen's part in assisting in the improvement of condi- 
tions in the town. For about seventeen years he served as a member of the 
town council, and he was the second health officer of the borough, filling that 
office for three years. Socially he affiliates with the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows and the Patriotic Order Sons of America. 

Mr. Hand was united in marriage with Elizabeth Carl, daughter of Elias 
Carl, and the following children have been bom to them : .Amelia ; Susanna ; 
John F., who is inside foreman at the Lincoln colliery; William Elias, a con- 
tracting miner at the Goodspring colliery, living at home with his parents ; 
Eleanor, twin of William E., deceased in infancy ; and James Monroe, Jr., 
contracting miner at the Lincoln colliery, who makes his home at Tremont. 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 857 

JOHN P. ;\LA.HER, late of Shenandoah, was for many years one of the 
substantial citizens of that place, where he made his home for over forty years. 
By diligent attention to business he gained a comfortable competence, and in 
its acquisition dealt so honorably with everyone that he held the respect of 
all his associates. His widow and several children are still living in the bor- 
ough and among its most esteemed residents. 

Mr. Maher was of Irish birth and extraction, a son of Philip Maher and 
a grandson of John Maher, the latter an innkeeper in Tipperary, Ireland, 
where he and his wife are buried. In religion they were Roman Catholics. 
Their children were: Philip, John, Michael, Patrick, William, Dr. James 
(who lived in Elmira, N. Y.), Mary (who married a Mr. Kingsley), Mar- 
garet (a school teacher) and Catherine. 

Philip Maher was bora in County Tipperary, Ireland, and lived to the 
age of eighty-seven years. He learned shoemaking and followed the trade 
while living in his native country, whence he removed in 1851 to Coniston, 
England, at which place he died. For sen-ices rendered the crown he was 
appointed royal mail carrier. He and his wife Alice (Dundon), who died at 
the age of seventy-eight years, are buried at Coniston. They were members 
of the Catholic Qiurch. To them were born the following children : Patrick 
came to America and was killed in 1873 at Jackson Patch, Schuylkill county; 
John P. was next in the family; Andrew married and died in England, leav- 
ing four children, Alice, Alfonso, David and another; Michael died in Shenan- 
doah, unmarried; Ellen married John Murphy, who died in England, and ^she 
died in New York (she is buried at Shenandoah). The mother was born in 
County Tipperary, daughter of John Dundon. 

John P. Maher was born March 25, 1845, in County Tipperary, Ireland, 
and grew up in that country, receiving common school advantages. He was a 
rocksman in the mines and also worked in the copper mines in England, 
whither he had moved with his parents when six years old. Coming to this 
country about 1868, he landed at New York, and for a few years remained in 
the East, at various locations. He spent some time in Massachusetts, and 
was later at Elmira, N. Y., following his trade. In the year 1871 he came to 
Shenandoah, Schuylkill Co., Pa., where he passed the rest of his life. Here, 
too, he was engaged at mining, working as a miner in the Turkey Run colliery 
for Charles Atkins, also at Davis's shaft, sinking the first shaft at that point, 
and elsewhere. His careful operations soon brought him a reputation as a 
reliable mine contractor, and he was so occupied successfully with the Phila- 
delphia & Reading Coal & Iron Company until his retirement in 1905, driving 
gangways, breasts, etc. ; for many years he was at the Kohinoor colliery. 
From March, 1883, until April, 1900, he conducted the "National Hotel" at 
Shenandoah, and retained ownership of the property after quitting the busi- 
ness. Mr. Maher was thoroughly familiar with his business and conscientious 
in the performance of any work he undertook, and his intelligence and good 
management won him the prosperity he well deserved. He took a keen inter- 
est in local politics as a member of the Democratic party and served as judge 
of election. In religion he adhered to the faith of his ancestors, belonging to 
the Church of the Annunciation at Shenandoah, as well as to St. Patrick's 
Society. He was also a member of the Columbia Fire Company. He died 
at Shenandoah Dec. 2, 1912, and is buried at that place. 

In 1872 Mr. Maher was married to Mary Ann Delaney, the ceremony being 
performed by Father O'Reilly, who christened all their children, gave them 



858 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PEXXSYLVANL\ 

first communion, confirmed and married them, and christened most of the 
grandchildren. We have the following record of the family of Mr. and Mrs. 
Maher: Philip J., born Jan. 5, 1873, is now engaged as a printer on the 
Anthracite Labor Nczi's, at Shenandoah, where he is a well known citizen; he 
married Agnes McManus, and they have children, Mary, John, Catherine, 
Alice, Tessie and Agnes. Martin F., born Nov. 13, 1874, a hotel proprietor in 
Shenandoah, was auditor of the Third ward for four years; he married Cath- 
erine McDermott, and their children are Mary, Catherine, John, Michael, 
Martin, Philip and Margaret. Bridget Florence Maher, born Nov. 7, 1876, is 
the wife of Andrew J. Flynn, and lives in New York City, where he is em- 
ployed as a supervisor on the Third avenue elevated road ; their children are 
John, Rosemary, Joseph, Francis, Thomas. James and Mar}'. Patrick J., born 
Dec. 4, 1877, is proprietor and owner of Maher's Hall, Shenandoah, the larg- 
est dancing hall in Schuylkill county ; he married Annie Quinn, who died 
June 21, 1914, and has two children, Thomas and John. Alice Claire, born 
Sept. 18. 1884, married Edward J. Tobin, of New York City, by whom she had 
one child, -James; after his death she became the wife of Joseph Ploppert, who 
is employed as a bar clerk, and they have two children, John and Joseph. 
John Mahur, born July 10, 1879, died in August, 1880. Alalachi, born March 
"17. 1882, died luly'4, 1882. Mary, born Sept. 28, 1893, is the wife of Harry 
Whittaker, and has one child, Mary. All of this family were educated in the 
schools of Shenandoah. 

Mrs. Mary Ann ( Delaney) Maher, who continues to make her home in the 
old family residence at No. 228 South Main street, Shenandoah, was born Oct. 
I, 1854, at \alley Furnace, near New Philadelphia, Schuylkill county, and was 
seven years old When the family moved to Shenandoah. She first attended 
the Dunn's Hill school, where she had for teacher Richard Wright, who is 
now a practicing physician in Shamokin, Pa. ; at Shenandoah her teachers were 
Miss Patrick and Miss McCarty. She remained at home until her marriage. 
Mrs. Maher has long been one of the active supporters of the Church of the 
Annunciation, belonging to the Sodality of the Blessed Virgin IMary and to 
the Sacred Heart Society ; she was formerly a leading worker in the ladies' 
auxiliary of the Ancient Order of Hibernians. 

Martin Delaney, father of Mrs. Maher, was born in Queen's County, Ire- 
land, son of Lawrence (Lag.) Delaney, who farmed in that county and also 
had a coal mine in operation on his farm. He married Mary Brennan, and 
they became the parents of the following children : Alartin ; Matthew, who 
died at Salt Lake City, Utah; Margaret, who married Dennis Brennan (both 
now deceased; she is buried in Chicago, III); Patrick, who was killed while 
serving in the Civil war; and Mary, wife of John D. LeGrange. both deceased. 
The parents were Catholics in religious faith". The father is buried in Queen's 
County, Ireland ; the mother was buried at sea, having died on her way to this 
country. 

Martin Delanev came to America when eighteen years old and settled in 
Schuylkill county.'Pa.. first at New Philadelphia (^'alley Furnace) and later 
at Shenandoah. By occupation he was a miner, and one of the first employees 
of Miller & Rhoads. When he gave up that work he entered the under- 
taker and livery business and also had a furniture store, in time taking his 
son Martin into partnership under the firm name of Delaney & Son. He 
took a trip back to Ireland some time before his death, which occurred in 
1884 at Shenandoah, when he was sixty-five years of age. He and his wife 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 859 

Bridget are buried in the cemetery of the Church of the Annunciation at 
Shenandoah. Mr. Delaney was a Democrat and took considerable interest 
in poHtics and other pubHc affairs, and he was elected to several local offices 
which he filled very creditably, having been school director, councilman and 
constable. 

At Port Carbon, this county, Mr. Delaney was married, by Father McGorey. 
to Mrs. Bridget (Higgins) Watson, who was born in County Roscommon, 
Ireland, came to America in the year 1844, and died at Shenandoah in 
March, 1905, at the remarkable age of ninety-four years. By her first hus- 
band, Michael Watson, she had two children : Malachi, who married Nancy 
Monahan and (second) Anne Costello (he and both his wives are deceased) ; 
and James, who was killed on the railroad at Glen Carbon and is buried at 
Minersville, this county. Mr. Watson is buried at Shenandoah. 

Five children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Delaney, viz. : Patrick, a tin- 
smith, now living retired, married Bridget Boner; Martin, who married Mar- 
garet Cavanaugh, lives in Philadelphia, Pa.; Mary Ann is Mrs. John P. 
Maher; Bridget is the wife of Michael Doyle, proprietor of the Anthracite 
Labor Nczvs; John married Ellen Dowd (now deceased) and lives in Phil- 
adelphia. 

Peter Higgins, father of Mrs. Bridget (Higgins) Delaney, was born in 
County Roscommon, Ireland, where he did farm work. In that country he 
married Mary Donnelly, also a native of County Roscommon, and they came 
to America at an early day and settled in Schuylkill county, Pa., Mrs. Higgins 
dying at Pottsville in 1841 ; she is buried there. After coming to the 
United States Mr. Higgins followed mining. He remarried, in Savannah, 
Ga., where he is buried. His children by the first union were: Bridget (Mrs. 
Delaney) : Patrick, who died in New York; Maria (Mrs. James Fox), who 
died in Chicago (her husband is buried at Wilkes-Barre. Pa.), and Michael, 
who married Mary Keogh (they are buried at Port Carbon). 

AARON OSSMAN has been a resident of Tremont for the last thirty 
years and one of the highly respected citizens of the borough, still taking an 
active interest in matters of importance to the community, though now lead- 
ing a practically retired life so far as business is concerned. Bom in the 
Lykens valley in Schuylkill county, Dec. g, 1838, on the old place which was 
the homestead of his grandfather, he is of English ancestry. Robert Ossman. 
the grandfather, came to this country from England and settled in Schuylkill 
county. Pa., dying on the farm where his grandson, Aaron Ossman, was 
born. By occupation he was a farmer. His children were: Philip, Edward, 
Robert, Joseph, Sarah, Catherine and Grace. All are now deceased. 

Philip Ossman was born in the Lykens valley, and like his father fol- 
lowed agricultural pursuits all his life. Few men of his day were more widely 
and popularly known. xA-ctive in politics, he was closely connected with 
public affairs, serving as county commissioner, to which office he was elected 
in 1838. and for many years as a justice of the peace. He was also prom- 
inent in the State militia, at one time major of a Schuylkill county regiment. 
His wife, Barbara (Friedline), was also born in the Lykens valley, daughter 
of Conrad Friedline, a pioneer in that section ; he had several children. The 
following were born to Mr. and ^Irs. Ossman: Lucetta. the eldest daughter; 
Kate, who married Pete Zerbe ; Maria, who married William Yohe ; Lydia, 
wife of Michael Kutzelman; Anna, wife of William Yohe; Israel, the eldest 



860 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PEXXSYLVANL\ 

son; Edward; Eli; William; Levi; and Aaron, who is the only survivor of 
this large family. Levi served three years in the Civil war as a member of 
Company A, 50th Pennsylvania \'olunteer Infantry. 

Aaron Ossman was brought up on the farm in the Lykens valley, and 
went to public school there. In his youth he learned the trade of carpenter, 
at which he was engaged throughout his active years. He is now enjoying 
comparative leisure, though for a number of years he has been in the employ 
of the Philadelphia & Reading Company, looking after their timberland. 

When the Civil war came on Mr. Ossman entered the Union service, 
enlisting Sept. 9, 1861, from Hegins, Schuylkill county, in Company A, 50th 
Pennsylvania \'olunteer Infantr)', under Col. D. C. Christ, of Minersville, 
this county. Under this enlistment he served two years and four months, 
at the end of that period reenlisting, in the same company and regiment, with 
which he served until the end of the war. He took part in the actions at 
the following places: Hilton Head; Port Royal; Brownsville Island; Fortress 
Monroe ; Freeman's Ford ; Bull Run ; Chantilly ; Wilderness ; Fredericksburg ; 
etc. He was wounded in the right arm at the battle of Spottsylvania Court 
House and was confined for some time in the hospital at Alexandria, Va., 
where he was mustered out. Returning to Schuylkill county, Pa., he lived 
in Hegins township for some years thereafter, moving to Tremont about 
thirty years ago. He has long been a member of the Grand Army of the 
Republic and of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, having joined the 
latter organization in 1866; he is affiliated with the lodge at Hegins, this 
county, and has been very active in its work, having passed all the chairs twice. 
Religiously he belongs to the English Lutheran Church. Mrs. Ossman has 
participated in public affairs to the extent of serving as school director, 
which office he filled very acceptably. 

In 1861 Mr. Ossman married Harriet Header, a native of Schuylkill 
county, who died in 1877, the mother of four children: Harrison, who is a 
resident of Tremont; Alfred H., now of Mount Carmel, Pa.; Charles E., of 
Dubois, Pa.; and Joseph, of Easton, Pa. In 1877 Mr. Ossman married (sec- 
ond) Maggie L. Bone, of Schuylkill county. There are no children by this 
union. 

WESTON DODSON & CO., of Bethlehem, Pa., miners and shippers 
of anthracite coal, have collieries at Beaver Brook, Morea, and Locust Moun- 
tain, this State, the Morea and Locust Mountain operations being in Schuyl- 
kill county. 

MoRE.v Colliery, in Mahanoy township, was opened in 1888, and the 
first coal run through the breaker on March 7, 1889. It has been in con- 
tinuous operation since that date. The following men have been in charge: 
D. J. Thomas, 1889-1896; Elmer E. Evans, 1896-1899; WilHam J. Hayes, 
1899-1902; Howard Dugan, 1902-1906; Trtmian M. Dodson, Second, 1906 to 
the present date. Under the present management Morea colliery has under- 
gone many and wonderful changes for its advancement. That Mr. Dodson 
is the most successful manager of this work in its history has been many 
times shown. After graduating from Lehigh University, at Bethlehem, Pa., 
his home, he came to Morea as manager of the colliery. Since Mr. Dodson 
has taken over the superintendency and management, through his ability to 
reconcile the dift'erences which naturally arise in a large business, and by his 
wise counsel and discretion, entire peace and harmony have come, and the 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 861 

same is- fully enjoyed by both company and men. Mr. Dodson is altogether 
a man of the people, democratic in his inclinations, uniting with his people, 
giving ear to their complaints, and looking to their interest and benefit at all 
times. He has been foremost in striving for the betterment and improvement 
of conditions in the large plant and its{ auxiliaries, giving his time and con- 
sideration to the humblest as well as the most influential of his employes, 
and the result is that there is none but gives him praise. To-day the colliery 
is one of the most profitable in the coal business. Electric haulage is used. 
The breaker capacity is approximately 1,500 tons a day. Mr. Dodson is a 
thorough business man, believing in the square deal for every one. He takes 
an active interest in everything pertaining to the interest or advancement of 
Morea. All of the athletic events taking place in Morea are supported by 
him. He is a member of the Mahanoy City and Morea Gun Clubs. 

Morea is one of the most model towns in the anthracite mining region. 
The inhabitants of that up-to-date place enjoy many of the things usually 
found only in larger towns. A modem club-house equipped with pool and 
billiard tables, a large library, an up-to-date moving picture show, fine base- 
ball grounds and a dancing pavilion, are some of the things of which Morea 
can boast. 

The Morea Supply Company has one of the most up-to-date stores in the 
State. Anything that can be purchased in a city department store may be 
had here at prices as low as the lowest. The meat market is one of the 
conveniences much appreciated by the employes. It is thoroughly modem. 
An artificial ice plant furnishes all the refrigeration for the meat market 
and store. P. J. Malloy is the manager of all the Dodson Company's stores, 
and also purchasing agent for the Dodson Coal Company collieries. J. B. 
Connell is the general superintendent. "Joe," as he is familiarly called, is 
acknowledged to be one of the best store managers in the business. He 
started at the bottom and worked his way up to his responsible position, com- 
mencing his career with the Dodson Company about twenty-three years ago. 

Weston Dodson & Co., Inc., of Bethlehem, were established in 1S62 by 
the late Weston Dodson, one of the pioneers in the anthracite coal trade. 
They have extensive operations in both the anthracite and bituminous coal 
fields. The present officials are: President, C. M. Dodson; vice president, A. 
C. Dodson ; secretary and treasurer, Josiah Bachman. 

JOHN J. BOBBIN, of Shenandoah, has been a business man of that 
borough for over forty years, and during much of that time one of the ener- 
getic spirits in her modem development. His life story is full of interest, 
afi:'ording a remarkable illustration of the opportunities America is still offer- 
ing to those who have the ability and perseverance to take advantage of them. 
The term self-made is often misused, but it may be correctly applied in Mr. 
Bobbin's case, for he started without means or influence in a strange com- 
munity and has gone ahead as he deserved. A native of Lithuania, though 
he belonged to a family of substance and standing he felt that local condi- 
tions did not hold much promise, so he courageously came alone to the New 
World. After a few years he set up in business, modestly, but with the 
hope of becoming independent. Long ago he realized this ambition, and he is 
now one of the leaders of his people in this section of the State, helping them 
in their affairs and doing much by his own example to promote ideals of good 



862 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PEXXSYLVAXL\ 

citizenship among them. The record of his business career will show the 
part he has played in the progress of his adopted place. 

Mr. Bobbin was born Jan. 27, 1850, at Malina, in the county of Kalvariya, 
state of Suwalki. His grandfather, Roland Bobbin, was a man of means, 
and married a farmer's daughter from an adjoining village, whose people 
were also well-to-do. Their son Macej Bobbin, father of John J. Bobbin, fol- 
lowed farming, was thrifty and prosperous, and respected for his character as 
well as his business talents. To his first marriage, with Eve Kuczinski, 
were bom : John J., who was seven years old when his mother died ; Annie, 
and Simon, who died in childhood. For his second wife the father married 
Mctoria Saldukas. and to them were born the following children : Vincent, 
Anthony, Matcej, Maggie and Mary. All of these followed their older half- 
brother to Shenandoah but Maggie, who was the only one of the family that 
did not come to the United States; she was married twice. Vincent Bobbin 
joined his brother here and had his help in continuing his education, after- 
wards working with him in the store and finally going into business for him- 
self ; he still resides in Shenandoah ; his family consists of four sons and two 
daughters. Anthony Bobbin also came to Shenandoah, but returned to 
Poland and still lives there. Matcej also returned to Poland. Mary mar- 
ried Joseph Witkowski and died at Minersville, this county ; her husband now 
lives there with his children. 

John J. Bobbin lived at home until nineteen years old, attending school 
and" working with his father on the farm. But he was ambitious to become a 
merchant, and hoping for chances in America which his own land lacked 
decided to venture out on his own account. He had to be very cautious about 
his departure on account of the military service expected of all young men. 
Making his way to Hamburg, Germany, he crossed to Hull, England, jour- 
neyed from that port to Liverpool, and then sailed for New York City, where 
he arrived in January, 1870. Three or four days later he came to Schuylkill 
county. Pa., joining his uncle, Paul Bobbin, at Mahanoy Plane. For a time 
he was employed in the mines at that point, but when the strike came on 
eighteen months later he removed to Gilberton, this county, where he was 
located for nearly four years, peddling part of the time, when he did not 
have mine work. Meantime he had been awaiting the chance to go into 
business, and in 1874 he came to Shenandoah and opened a grocery store pn 
South Main street. By this time he had acquired enough familiarity with 
the language and customs to look after his affairs properly, and he did well 
from the start, continuing in his original location for ten years. During that 
time he had in addition to his retail trade established quite an extensive com- 
mission business, and also acted as agent for the Hamburg American Packet 
Company, the Bremen & Baltimore, the Red Star and other steamship lines, 
his countrymen especially availing themselves gladly of his services as such. 
In 1884 his store was burned out, and he came to the site he has since occu- 
pied, at No. 132 North Main street, which is now the headquarters of all his 
business interests. There is probably no better known citizen in the borough. 
As a grocer he had the largest trade in the town, and he has followed a num- 
ber of other lines with equal success. He has always maintained a steam- 
ship agency, has made a specialty of handling sewing machines, and does 
considerable business as a private banker, being licensed to handle both 
American and foreign exchange. The steady expansion of his business has 
been due to more than his very evident gift for good management. He has 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 863 

been found worthy of the utmost confidence in all his transactions, and it is 
this which has gained him the constant increase of patronage. Mr. Bobbin is 
a charter director of the Merchants' National Bank; a charter member of 
the Miners', Mechanics' & Laborers' Building & Loan Association ; was one 
of the organizers of the Shenandoah Mutual Fire Insurance Company, of 
which he is still a director ; and holds the same position in the Shenadoah 
Light, Heat & Power Company, which he helped to organize. He was one 
of the purchasers of the Mahanoy Light, Heat & Power Company and a 
director. All enterprises looking to the improvement of the borough count 
on him for support. 

Mr. Bobbin married Mary Janiski (in Polish Januszewski), who was born 
Jan. 29, 1862, in Shamokin, Northumberland Co., Pa. Her parents, Andrew 
and Anna (Kuhaszek) Janiski, are both natives of Posen, German Poland. In 
1854, when fourteen years old, her father came to America with his parents, 
Jacob and Mary (Schuter) Januszewski, the family landing at Montreal, Can- 
ada, where the father died of cholera. He had expected to find work on the 
canal from Montreal to Lachine at $1.06 per day, or 4 shillings, 6 pence. The 
widowed mother came to Lykens, Pa., with her family of five children, An- 
drew, Joseph, Michael, John and Agnes (who married Joseph Akert and died 
soon afterwards). Andrew Janiski became a mine worker, following that 
occupation at Lykens and later at Shamokin, where he still resides. He is 
now (1916) seventy-eight years old, and comes of a long-lived family, his 
grandmother having attained the remarkable age of 116 years, on which 
account she received a pension from the government. She died in Posen, 
and the entire village attended her funeral. Andrew Janiski went to visit 
a sister in Philadelphia and there met and married Anna Kuhaszek, now de- 
ceased, by whom he had the following children : Mary, Mrs. Bobbin ; Anna, 
who is the wife of John Konopki, of Shamokin ; Kate, wife of Michael Dekar- 
ski, living at Manistee, Mich. ; James, a resident of Philadelphia, who mar- 
ried Sophia Christensen ; Helen, unmarried, who resides in Scranton, Pa.; 
Agnes, who is the wife of Charles Dencewicz, of Shamokin; Pa. ; Andrew, 
who is married and lives in Shamokin; John, also a resident of Shamokin; 
and Joseph, who died aged about twenty-four years, unmarried. 

Nine children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Bobbin : Edward G., an 
attorney at law, now located in Waterbury, Conn., is a graduate of the Shen- 
andoah high school, Wyoming (Pa.) Seminary and from the law department 
of the University of Pennsylvania ; he married Mary Fay, of Connecticut, 
and they have had one child, deceased in infancy. Blanch B. is married to 
Max. J. Spotanski, now engaged in business as a druggist at Nanticoke, Pa. ; 
she was formerly a resident of Shenandoah, where she was a music teacher 
for several years, being a graduate of the Broad Street Conservatory of 
Music, Philadelphia; ]\Ir. and Mrs. Spotanski have no children. Adolph C. 
graduated from the high school of Shenandoah and McCann's business col- 
lege of Mahanoy City, and is now engaged in the hardware business, hav- 
ing a store at New Philadelphia ; he is unmarried. Clara M. graduated from 
the West Chester Normal School and taught five terms in Shenandoah before 
her marriage to Anthony J. Rogers, who is receiving teller for the Shenan- 
doah Trust Company; she and her husband have one son, John Anthony, 
born May 16, 191 5. Clayton died in 1902, when eleven and a half years 
old. Isabel graduated from the Shenandoah high school and from Drexel 
Institute, Philadelphia, taking the course in domestic arts, and she has also had 



864 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVAXL\ 

a course in portrait painting and shows unusual ability as an artist; she is 
unmarried. Alberta died in 1900, when four years old; Raymond D. and 
Mary V. are attending high school in Shenandoah. 

Mr. and Mrs. Bobbin and their family are members of St. George's Lithu- 
anian Catholic Church. He is a member of the Knights of Columbus. 

SAMUEL WEID^LA.^^ of Shenandoah, is a descendant of an honorable 
old Pennsylvania family of German origin, long established in Berks coimty. 
Its members in every generation have been notable for their high principles, 
energy and industry, qualities which have contributed so much to advancing 
this State to a place in the front rank. He is a typical representative of the 
name he bears, and his children in their turn are upholding the best traditions 
of the family. 

Mr. Wei'dman was bom April 16, 1849, on the old farm of his father and 
grandfather in Perry township, Berks county, at Five Locks, on the canal, son 
of Elias and Sarah (Fister) Weidman. In a recent biographical work of 
Berks county we find the following: 

Johannes Weidman was the founder of this family in Berks county. He 
came from Germany on the ship "Royal Union," which landed at Philadelphia 
Aug. 15, 1750, with 250 passengers. He obtainec} a number of acres of land 
in Windsor township, two miles north of Shoemakersville, upon which he 
settled, and there prospered. He was a Dunkard and reared his children in 
that faith. The remains of himself and wife, as well as some of their chil- 
dren, are interred on the farm on which he settled, now owned by his great- 
grandson (Joel K. Weidman). He had these children: John and Jonas. 
The latter settled at Myerstown, was a miller by trade, and the owner of con- 
siderable property. 

John Weidman, son of Johannes, was the owner and operator of the home- 
stead in Perry township, and also engaged in carrying produce to Philadel- 
phia, bringing back merchandise with the big Conestoga wagon, although at 
that time the roads w^ere bad, the trip requiring a week. A strict Dunkard, 
Mr. Weidman clung to the customs of his people, wearing a broad-brimmed 
hat, and his clothes were fastened with hooks and eyes. He married Magda- 
lena Kauffman, and they had children as follows: ]\Iagdalena, born Oct. 11, 
1803; Joseph, Feb. 22, 1805; Jonathan, Jan. 16, 1809; Sarah, April 17, 181 1; 

Benjamin, 5, 1813 ; Elias, Sept. 2, 1815 ; John, March 3, 1818; Lydia, 

Nov. I, 1820; Reuben, Jan. 15, 1823; Lydia, married to John Shomo; Syria, 
born .A.pril 17, 1828, married to Isaac Linger. 

Elias Weidman, son of John, was born Sept. 2, 1815, on the old Weidman 
place in Perry township, where he followed farming and took a prominent part 
in local affairs, being highly regarded throughout his long life. He served 
several terms as assessor of his township, and though a Democrat in politics 
was paid the compliment of being the candidate on the Republican ticket the 
last time he ran for the office. He married Sarah Fister, who was born in 
Albany township, Berks county, on the farm of her father, who was one of 
the leading citizens of his district. :\rr. Weidman died aged eighty-three 
years, his wife passing awav in 1913. at the age of eighty. They were mem- 
bers of the German Reformed Church. They were the parents of twelve chil- 
dren viz • (i) William died when fourteen years old. (2) Samuel is next 
in the family. (3) Martha married Jacob Frantz, and they reside in Reading 
Pa., where he is a cigar and tobacco manufacturer; they have a family. (4) 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 865 

John, engineer at the Reading water plant, married Susan Boyer, and they 
have a family. (5) Susan is the wife of Walter Mengle, and they live with 
their family at Hamburg, Berks county. (6) George, who resides in San 
Francisco, has no family. (7) Clara married Albert M. Seeger, a painter, of 
Reading, and has a family. (8) Deborah is the wife of Walter Smith, a mer- 
chant in Lebanon county. Pa. They have no children. (9) Annie married 
Will Robinhold, a merchant, and they are living with their family at Port 
Clinton, Pa. They have three children, Mabel, Frank and Ada. (loj Sallie 
is the wife of Adam Block, a retired merchant, of Lebanon, Pa.; they have 
no children. (11) Wirt, who is a blacksmith and foreman in the Reading rail- 
road repair shops at Rutherford, Pa., married Dora Leiby, and they have one 
child, Charles. (12) Charles, a cigar manufacturer of Lebanon, is married 
but has no family. 

When Samuel Weidman was five or six years old the family moved to 
Leesport, Berks coimty, where he attended school. Later they moved again, 
to Shoemakersville, Berks county, at which place he finished his schooling. 
When twenty years of age he went to Wooster, Ohio, and when twenty-three 
years old came to Girardville, Schuylkill county, where he learned the trade 
of butcher, eventually moving to the borough of Shenandoah, which has since 
been his home. For some time after locating at Shenandoah he worked as a 
journeyman, until he had accumulated enough to open a shop of his own, 
which he carried on for ten or twelve years very successfully. He has since 
been in the ice business, which he carried on first under the name of the City 
Ice Company, later interested in the Kehley Run Ice Company, of whose busi- 
ness he became owner in 1912. The plant has been a popular industry at 
Shenandoah, and under Mr. Weidman's management has increased steadily 
in its value to the community. He is highly regarded for his solid qualities, 
which have won him the friendship as well as the respect of his associates. 
At present he is a member of the borough school board, to which he was 
elected for a three-year term. His political sympathies are with the Demo- 
cratic party in national issues, but in local matters he has been identified with 
the Citizens' party. Socially he holds membership in the Junior Order United 
American Mechanics, Knights of Pythias and Knights of the Mystic Chain. 
Before he was of age he joined the Reformed Church, and he and all his 
family attend the German Reformed Church at Shenandoah. Mrs. Weidman 
became a member of the Lutheran Church in Berks county. 

Mr. Weidman married Salome Heckman, daughter of Elias and Lucy 
Ann (Mengle) Heckman, of Berks county, and the following children have 
been born to this marriage: (i) Harry, now superintendent of the Har- 
wood Electric Company, of Shenandoah, married Alice Downey, and they 
have two children, Harry and Edith. (2) Lubin died in infancy. (3) Edna is 
an artist of ability, also at present engaged as supervisor of drawing in the 
grade and high schools of Shenandoah, and as drawing instructor of the 
teachers of Ashland. She has lectured at Pottsville and elsewhere, and has 
taught many teachers in the townships. Miss Weidman graduated (as vale- 
dictorian) from the high school at Shenandoah, and later graduated with hon- 
ors at the Normal School at Kutztown, also taking a post-graduate year at 
that institution ; followed this with a drawing course at West Chester Nor- 
mal, and took a special course in the art department of Harvard College, near 
Boston, where she received a certificate. Subsequently she studied in the 
Augsburg Art School at Chicago, 111., where she also received a certificate, 
Vol. 11—17 



866 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENXSYLVANL\ 

and she has visited various art schools in California and elsewhere in the West. 
Indeed, she is a thorough and devoted student, constantly seeking improve- 
ment, and well deserving of the confidence she has gained. (4) Roy is en- 
gaged as electrician at the Harwood Electric plant, Shenandoah. He married 
Bessie Heckler, and they have one daughter, Ruth. (5) Mabel, a graduate 
of the West Chester Normal School and of the Thomas Conservatory of 
Music, Detroit, Mich., is now music supervisor of the Downington (Chester 
county, Pa.) schools. (6) Carrie, a teacher in the public school at East Mill- 
stone, N. J., graduated, as did her sisters, from the high school at Shenan- 
doah and from the normal school at West Chester. 

DARKWATER COLLIERY. In the fall of 1903 Messrs. S. B. Thome 
and James B. Neale purchased from H. K. Myers, of Philadelphia, the 
stock of the Darkwater Coal Company, which company owned a lease on 
what is known as the Pott and Bannan tract, situated towards the eastern 
end of the Heckscherville valley. Quite shortly a new breaker was built, 
and the water which had been lying in the main basin for probably fifty years 
was removed. Coal is now being mined from the Mammoth and Skidmore 
veins lying in the main basin. During the past summer a new breaker was 
built, which has a capacity of seven hundred tons per day. 

BUCK RUN COLLIERY. During the fall of 1900 and the spring of 
1901 Messrs. S. B. Thorne and James B. Neale negotiated a lease with Mr. 
R. C. Luther, then general manager of the Philadelphia & Reading Coal & 
Iron Company, and with Mr. G. W. Streng, of Pittston, Pa. The two leases 
cover an area of about 424 acres lying contiguous, and situated in the western 
end of the Rohrersville basin. During the summer of 1901 the water was 
pumped from the old mine wxirkings on this property and work was begun on 
building the breaker and other colliery improvements. The first coal was run 
through the breaker on ]\Iarch 12, 1902. The colliery has been in prac- 
tically continuous! operation since that time, and has now a daily capacity of 
one thousand tons. The coal is an excellent quality of Schuylkill white ash, 
and finds a ready market in Philadelphia, Baltimore, Washington and that 
general vicinity. 

Buck Run Colliery has an excellent operating equipment, doing much of 
its work with electricity. It has also a fair equipment of houses for its 
employes, and it also has an excellent club-house and amusement hall for 
the benefit of the community in general. One of the schools of Foster town- 
ship is operated under the management of the Coal Company's officials, and 
excellent instruction is aiiforded to the children in the vicinity. 

EDWARD LANDES SHISSLER, late of Minersville, was one of the 
substantial citizens of that borough, and his widow is one of its most respected 
residents. That place has been her lifelong home, and by her family and 
social connections she has gained a wide circle of acquaintances, to whom she 
has endeared herself in years of friendly association. 

Mr. Shissler was born at Minersville, son of William C. Shissler, who 
lived principally at Pottsville, this county. The father was a carpenter by 
trade and was engaged in newspaper work for some years. He met his death 
while serving in the L^nion army, at the second battle of Bull Run. By his 
marriage to Catherine Mosser he had two children, Edward L. and Mary 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANL\ 867 

Frances; the daughter taught school a number of years ago at Port Carbon, 
and died March 24, HJ15, at X'ineland, Xevv Jersey. 

Edward L. Shissler received his early education at Alinersville and fol- 
lowed the shoemaker's trade there. In i'863-he enlisted in Company F, 48th 
Pennsylvania Regiment, and served in the Union army to the close of the war. 
On June 17, 1864, he was wounded in the leg, at the battle of Petersburg. 
After the war Mr. Shissler again took up his residence at Minersville, where 
he followed his trade until his death, July 5, 1904. He is buried in the Union 
cemetery at Minersville. Mrs. Shissler, whose maiden name was Clara 
Kauffman Braucher, continues to reside at Minersville. She is a daughter of 
John and Cecilia Heisler (Kaulifman) Braucher, who had a family of three 
children, namely : Mary Jane, Samuel and Clara K., all deceased but Mrs. 
Shissler. She was reared by her maternal grandfather, Samuel Kauffman. 
Mr. Braucher was an extensive farmer and drover, and lived and died in 
Union county, Pa. ; he is buried at Hartleton, that county. His widow subse- 
quently married Edward Shissler, of Minersville. and by him she also had 
three children, William K. and Emily Cecilia and George Lynn, twins, the 
last named deceased. 

The Kauffmans have been in America since 1680, in which year two 
brothers, Jonas and Christian Kauiifman, natives of Wurtemberg, Germany, 
emigrated to this country. They settled in Lancaster county. Pa., among its 
early residents ; some of their descendants located in the Lykens valley, in 
what is now Schuylkill county, in the days when the Indians were still in 
possession. The savages molested them frequently and drove them from 
their homes a number of times, but they left their families for safety at Pine 
Grove and returned to their holdings courageously. Samuel Kauifman, the 
great-grandfather of Airs. Shissler, was born in the Lykens valley, Schuylkill 
county, and lived and died in what is now known as Hubley township, this 
county. Though he passed away at a comparatively early age he had acquired 
the ownership of a large and valuable farm, having followed farming all his 
life. He was a Whig in politics, in religion a devout Lutheran. A family of 
eight children, six sons and two daughters, was born to him and his wife, 
whose maiden name was Klueger or Klinger : Jacob, who married Lydia 
Drehr, was a merchant in the Lykens valley ; Henry and Samuel were next in 
the family ; Emanuel, who was engaged as a merchant for some time and 
subsequently went West, served in the Civil war, and received promotion to 
the rank of captain before his death, which was caused by typhoid fever; 
Jonas died in 1859 at Llewellyn, Pa. ; John, a farmer, is deceased, as are all of 
his brothers; Mary married a Mr. Baker, of Trevorton, Northumberland Co., 
Pa. ; Sarah is also deceased. 

Samuel Kauffman, son of Samuel, was one of the foremost men in Schuyl- 
kill county in his day. As a business man he was widely acquainted through 
his long connection as cashier with the First National Pjank of Minersville, 
and he was also a civil engineer of note, in that capacity laying out most of the 
town of Minersville. He also served one term as county commissioner, and 
represented this district in the lower branch of the State Assembly. His death 
occurred at Minersville, when he was seventy-six years old. Mr. Kauffman 
married Maria Heisler, a daughter of George Heisler, and they became the 
parents of five children: Cecilia H., now deceased, mother of Mrs. Clara 
Kauffman Shissler; Dr. Jonas LL, a prominent resident of Minersville: Luther 



868 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PExNNSYLVANIA 

S., a successful attorney of Philadelphia; George, who died in infancy; and 
Samuel, deceased. 

THOMAS J. MARTIN, an old time employee of the Pennsylvania Rail- 
road Company, at Pottsville, is a native of that borough, born in December, 
1853, son of Joseph Martin. 

Joseph Martin was born in County Cavan, Ireland, where he was reared, 
and came to America before his marriage, locating first at Doylestown,' 
Bucks Co., Pa. While at Doylestown he was engaged in farming, but after 
moving to Pottsville found employment at the mines, also following that occu- 
pation while at Ravensdale, near St. Clair. On his return to Pottsville he 
became engaged as an iron worker at the blast furnace, then located on the 
island, and later took charge of the stables, holding this position until his 
death April 23, 1897. At Doylestown Mr. Martin met and married Bridget 
Drumm, a native of Limerick, Ireland, who came to America when a young 
girl. Six sons were born to them : Thomas J., John, James, Edward, Joseph 
and William. 

Thomas J. Martin received his education in the public schools at Potts- 
ville. He was first employed at the blast furnace when thirteen years old, 
working there during the summer time and attending school winters. He was 
so engaged up to the age of si.xteen years. Then he took charge of a car, 
hauling cinders out to a dump, and after two years at this employment com- 
menced braking on the blast furnace shifting engine. He followed this work 
until twenty-three years old, when he had to give up work because of an acci- 
dent, being incapacitated for about a year. Subsequently he went to Phila- 
delphia, where he entered the employ of the Lester Milk Company, with whom 
he remained one year, in 1881 entering the employ of the Pennsylvania Rail- 
road Company, in the West Philadelphia yards, at Thirty-second and Market 
streets, as a brakeman. He continued to reside at Philadelphia until 1886, em- 
ployed as brakeman and conductor, and on Nov. 15th of that year, when the 
railroad was opened to Pottsville, he was transferred hither in the capacity 
of brakeman. Shortly afterwards he was made flagman, and about the end of 
1886 became a freight conductor, being so employed until the .Shenandoah 
branch was opened, when he was appointed conductor of the work train, with 
headquarters at Shenandoah. When the road was completed he became 
conductor, in 1887, his run being from Pottsville to Shenandoah, and he held 
that position until June, 1888, when he became assistant yardmaster at Mount 
Carbon. He was stationed there until 1903, under H. C. Dysinger, yard- 
master, and was then appointed to his present position, being yardmaster at 
Pottsville, for the Pennsylvania Railroad Company, in whose employ he has 
been continuously since 1881. By the conscientious performance of all his 
duties and intelligent application to the responsibility intrusted to him, Mr. 
Martin has proved himself worthy of the confidence of his superiors, and is 
esteemed alike by them and by his associates in the company's employ. He is 
a man of upright character and highly regarded by his fellow citizens in Potts- 
ville. His home is at No. 417 South Coal street. Mr. Martin is a member of 
St. Patrick's Roman Catholic Church, at Pottsville. He has no political ties, 
voting independently. 

In T887 Mr. Martin married Annie Brown, of Centralia, Columbia county, 
and a family of five children were born to them: Joseph P., ticket clerk in the 
Pennsylvania office, at Reading; Irene, living at home; Thomas B., who is a 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 869 

clerk in the Philadelphia and Reading Coal & Iron Company's shops at Potts- 
ville ; Anna, who is attending a commercial school at Pottsville ; and Charles, 
also at school. 

GEORGE H. BEATTY, of Minersville, at present holding the position of 
machinist at the Lytle Coal Company's mine, has been associated with local 
mines in that capacity for a number of years and has made an enviable reputa- 
tion for mechanical ability. Mr. Beatty is of Irish extraction, his grandfather, 
George Beatty, having been a native of Ireland, whence he came to America 
at an early day, settling first in Nova Scotia. Later he came to this country 
and made his home in Schuylkill county, being a gardener by calling and so 
employed on the Bennett estate at Forestville, in Cass township. He spent the 
rest of his life there, dying in 1865. 

Joseph A. Beatty, father of George H. Beatty, was born in Nova Scotia, 
and came with his father to this county, where he made his permanent home, 
dying at Minersville. He learned the trade of blacksmith, which he followed 
at different collieries. By his marriage to Elizabeth Griffith, of Schuylkill 
county, he had the following children: Mary, George H., Jennie. Florence, 
Selina, .Adelaide, Blanch and William. The last named, who died in 191 1, was 
chief clerk and paymaster at the Pine Hill colliery, near Minersville, for sev- 
eral years. 

George H. Beatty was born March 28, 1866, at Forestville, in Cass township, 
Schuylkill county, and received a common school education. When a boy he 
found employment at the mines, holding various jobs, and spending four years 
at mining. He then became engaged at blacksmithing and the machinist's 
trade, where he evidently found his proper vocation, for he became a skilled 
and well trusted emplovee in that line. For fourteen years he was chief ma- 
chinist at the Pine Hill colliery, ^n 1910 taking his present position with the 
Lytle Coal Company. Aside from his duties in this association Mr. Beatty's 
cliief activity has been as member of the board of school directors of Minersville. 
He was elected to that body in 1909, and in 1912 was appointed to succeed 
Edwin Ford, who removed 'from the borough to Cass township. Mr. Beatty 
has taken a keen interest in the work of the board, and has co-operated aljly 
with his fellow members in providing the best possible educational advantages 
for the children of the borough. Politically he is a Republican, and fraternally 
he holds membership in the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He is an 
Episcopalian in religious connection. 

Mr. Beatty was married to Annie Turner, daughter of Joseph Turner, 
and they have a family of four children : William, Frances, Elizabeth, and Janet, 
all living at home. Frances Beatty is a graduate of the Minersville high 
school and the Bloomsburg State Normal School, class of 1914. and is now 
teaching in the Fourth Street school. 

DANIEL DEIBERT, son of John Deibert and grandson of Wilhelm 
Deiver (as the name was originally spelled), was bom July 2, 1802, and died 
at Schuvlkill Haven, Pa., in September, 1890. In 1884 a pamphlet was printed 
containing the "Life and Experience of Daniel Deil)ert, from his youth to his 
old age. Schuylkill Haven, Pa." He had written it, as he tells therein, "Chil- 
dren and whoever wants to read this, to tell you more of my life and ex- 
perience, for what then? Because my parents and grandparents told their 
experience in life, and I heard them with delight. I am old and weak now : 



870 SCHUYLKILL COUXTY, PEXNSYLVANL\ 

cannot work any more." We quote all that the pamphlet contains concerning 
the family and his own life. 

"My grandfather. Wilhelm Deibert, was born in Wittenburg, Europe. When 
he was three years old his parents came to America, and settled in Bern town- 
ship, Berks county, Pennsylvania, near Alichael's church. The family consisted 
of five children, three boys and two girls : Michael, Christopher, and my grand- 
father Wilhelm; and when they were grown up came to Manheim township, 
-Schuylkill county, and one after another got married. My grandfather to a 
daughter of John Renchler. from Bern township. Berks county. Michael to 
Miss Elizabeth Weaver. One sister to George Huntzinger, the other to John 
Gevert. 

"My grandfather and his brother Michael bought in partnership, 300 acres 
of land in North Manheim township. Schuylkill County, Pa., in the year 1744, 
at the road leading from Schuylkill Haven to Landingville, where they settled 
themselves. My grandfather's part was at the place where Mr. Edward Peal 
lives ; and his brother Alichael's part was at the place where Mr. John Filbert 
lives at present. 1884. Christopher went to X'irginia in his younger years, and 
after that we did not hear from him. 

"Grandfather and his brother Michael had. in the beginning, the Indians 
for their neighbors. They molested them very much at that time. The deers 
and bears were plenty : when they shot any. and gave the Indians some of the 
meat, they were good fellows. 

"Grandfather was married twice: he had three children with his first wife, 
named John, Rosina. and Catherine. His second wife's name was Wagner. 
They had together five children, four sons and one daughter. Michael, George. 
William. Henry, and Elizabeth, and they were married as follows : John, my 
father, to Christina Dewald from Manheim township, Bear Creek valley ; 
Rosina to George Orwig: they moved to Bellevue, Seneca county, Ohio; and 
Catharine to Philip Schock. from L'nion county. Pa. ; and George to Miss Mary 
Faust of Brunswick township, Schuylkill County. Pa. Michael and William 
were both married, but I forget the names of their wives ; and Elizabeth to 
Samuel Schock. Union county. Pa.; Henry to Miss Hertz of \\'eideer (White 
Deer) township. Union county. Pa. The above mentioned died and got buried 
at Zion's church below Orwigsburg. and his sister Gevert at Hetzel's church. 
Pinegrove township. All the other children died and were buried at the place 
above mentioned. This above is the end of great and grandfather; they spelled 
their name Deiver. but the second generation Deibert. 

"A small history of Michael Deiver. the brother of my grandfather. Had 
five sons and two daughters, named Henry. Andrew. Michael, Christian. John. 
Catharine and Elizabeth. They were married as follows: Henry to Miss 
Kriner. Andrew to Miss Luckenbili. Michael to Miss Luckenbill ; they had no 
children ; Christian to Miss Miller, Catharine to John Dewald, Elizabeth to 
Daniel Repp. 

"I am coming now to the third generation, namely, my parents. Aly father, 
John Deibert, was the oldest son of his father's family. My mother was a 
daughter of Tohn Dewald. She was born in Manheim township, Schuylkill 
county. Pa., in the vear 1797 ( ?). He bought 144 acres of land in the township 
and county aforesaid, on the road leading from Orwigsburg to Schuylkill 
Haven. He built the house where Tames Deibert now lives at present, 1884 
[he was still living there in 1914: died Feb. g, 1915]- He had pretty hard 
times in tlie first years. I remember very well yet. when I was four to five 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 871 

years old. when father and mother were clearing land, they took the cradle 
along, and the three children; I was the oldest. I had to take care of the 
other two. I had to keep the locusts from the cradle. The deer, wolves and 
bears were numerous at that time. We could hear the wolves at night. They 
traveled in flocks. I, as the oldest boy, had to work very hard, so that I only 
had eight months' schooling in all. We cleared every year from si.x to eight 
acres. It was at that time merely a wilderness. At that time Orwigsburg 
was the only town in the county. In the year 1815 to 1816 the courthouse and 
jail were built. I helped my father haul stones and bricks for the buildings. 
In the year 1810 the Centre turnpike was made from Philadelphia to Sunbury. 
A four-horse stage run then. About the same time coal was discovered in 
Schuylkill county. At the age of fifteen to sixteen years I hauled coal to 
Reading with the wagon. There was no canal or railroad at that time. At the 
age of twenty. George Body and I hauled, each of us, a load of coal to Phila- 
delphia, for fifty cents per bushel. At the age of twenty-one I worked for my 
uncle George Deibert for si.x dollars per month ; he was sick at the time and 
died while I was there. My grandfather Diebert was living with him at that 
time ; he worked at weaving. He told me many stories about the Indians ; how 
they molested them when they first settled here. But no wonder, they were 
the first settlers. 

"In my twenty-fourth year I got married to Elizabeth Shappell of Windsor 
township, Berks county. Pa., -daughter of Jeremiah Shappell, brigade inspector. 
Her mother's name was Wille. I lived several years with my father, then 
moved to Landingville and tended the guard lock at the canal. I also kept a 
ferry boat for taking passengers over the Schuylkill. There was no bridge at 
that time. Then the fever got so bad there that we moved back to my parents 
again. My father worked at plough making. We had a blacksmith shop and 
made the iron for the ploughs ; that gave me a chance to learn the blacksmith 
trade. 

"In 1828 I bought a house and eleven acres of land from Rev. M. Knusky, 
a half mile above Orwigsburg, at the turnpike, for six hundred dollars, in 
payment as follows : One hundred dollars down, and the balance one hundred 
dollars per year. My father gave me the money for the first payment. I 
started a blacksmith shop and did customer's work for the farmers. I also 
made the iron work for the boat builders, and plough work for my brother 
John. I had two fires going. The iron I had to work was heavy forged iron. 
My wife often helped me split iron to make spikes for boats. I worked there 
seventeen years, and the most of the time I was complaining from the sulphur 
of the coals ; several times I was very sick. At that time the first Evangelical 
preachers came to Orwigsburg, Revs. Seibert, Breitenstein. Focht, and others. 
Through them we were enlightened and by the help of God were both con- 
verted and became members of the Evangelical Church. 

■"After the death of my father, 1834, his land was divided as follows: The 
homestead in two pieces, the lower part with the building brother George took, 
containing eighty-two acres, at $3,116. No. 2 brother John took, containing 
sixty-two acres at $1,674. No. 3 and No. 4, I took, the first mentioned seventy- 
three acres at $612, the second mentioned twenty-four acres, at $229. No. 3 
laid at the second mountain, at the Poplar run, now owned by John Borman, 
at present, 1884. No. 4 laid at the Fisher's run. one mile above Daniel Boyer's 
mill. On No. 3 I built a new stone house ; it was my intention to move there, but 
didn't. Afterwards I sold it with no profit. And in 1846 I sold my place at 



872 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENi\SYL\\^XL\ 

Orwigsburg, for $1,500, to a man by the name of Smith, a railroad contractor. 
He bought, also, the place formerly the homestead of my uncle Andrew 
Deibert, where Alartin Sheaffer now lives at present, 1884. At that time 
the Schuylkill canal was enlarged. Mr. Smith had very large contracts ; he 
had as high as one hundred horses and five to eight hundred men at work. He 
bought sometimes as high as si.xty to eighty head of oxen to be butchered; and 
the bread he baked by the two-horse load. He boarded his hands all himself. 
The times were good and money plenty. At the same time the county seat was 
removed from Orwigsburg to Pottsville. The courthouse and jail were built, 
which are at present. The times were very brisk : many men got rich ; through 
the many banks most everybody could get money. 

'"Pottsville increased very rapidly, but after that the hard times came, 
and many men lost all. Pottsville went down faster than it increased. Many 
men spent their money in building houses. Others lost their money in banks. 
So it was for several years ; nearly all the banks in Pottsville closed : hundreds 
lost all they had. It was said that Henry Clay said 'too many banks were the 
ruin of the people.' 

"In the year 1846 I bought a farm from George Moyer, in South Man- 
heim township, Schuylkill county. Pa., containing 175 acres at $25.00 per acre ; 
the payment was as follows: $1,000 to be paid down and the balance in yearly 
payments of $250 per-year, without interest. Times were good, and I believe 
the Lord gave his blessing so that I had it paid in twelve years. This farm lies 
two miles south of Schuylkill Haven, in the Werner's Creek valley. The State 
road leading from Schuylkill Haven to Schartlesville passes through the farm. 
I never had any desire to get rich ; all I wished, to have a farm where I could 
raise my family at home. Mother and I had to work very hard in our early 
years, but by and by when the children came on hand, and by the help of God, 
raised my family as good as I understood ; but by and by got more experience 
in religion, and so I spent my time in the service of God. 

"In the year 185 1 I sold part of this farm, containing 22 acres with an old 
house and stable for $25 per acre, to Daniel Daubert. 

"Fourteen years after I built a new house and barn on the lower part of 
the farm. 

"Eight years after I sold that part to' Jared Wagner containing forty-five 
acres at $70 per acre. The old homestead, one hundred and some acres, I own at 
present. 1884. Nine vears I had it rented to Jacob Schweigert, for the shares, 
and afterwards to William Hicks. Eleven vears ago I bought a house and lot 
in Schuylkill Haven, Columbia street, for $1,100, from George Utz, where we 
live at present, 1884. 

"My parents' family consisted of nine children, seven boys and two girls. 
They were all raised at the old homestead. Father and mother died and were 
buried in the Schuylkill Haven cemetery. The names of the children and to 
whom they were married: Daniel to Eliza Schappell : George to Susanna 
Reed ; Catharine to Henrv Shelly ; John to Catharine Koch ; Jacob to Polly 
Miller : Benjamin died single : William to Hannah Wiest : Samuel's first wife 
Marv Esert, second ]\Iary Sterner : Hannah to John Hummel. The following 
are the names of the deceased : Daniel's first wife died ; George died : Catharine 
died; Tohn and wife died; Benjamin died; Samuel and first wife died; Hannah 

"I, Daniel Deibert. was married to my second wife the first day of April, 
1865, Hannah, wife of Joseph Berger, deceased, a born Kerschner. 



SCHUYLKILL COUNTY/ PENNSYLVANIA 873 

"The following contains the family of Daniel Deibert, consisting of thir- 
teen children, and to whom they were married : Marcus to Elizabeth Allison ; 
Lucy to George Rischel : Christian to Elias Reed ; Henry to Susan Hoffman ; 
Catharine to John Focht ; Susannah to George Schafer ; William to Rebecca 
Saylor ; Jeremiah to Angeline Huntzinger ; Daniel to Emma Reber. The fol- 
lowing are the names of the deceased children : Daniel died at the age of a year 
and a half ; Elizabeth died at the age of six years ; Hannah died at the age of 
two weeks ; John died at the age of eleven years ; Jeremiah died at the age 
of twenty-three years. The above named children all died in their youth, except 
Jeremiah; he was married when he died. His wife and one son named Jere- 
miah live in Iowa at present. 

"Eliza, my first wife, and the mother of the above named children, was born 
the 8th day of July, in the year 1803, and died February 25th, 1861, aged 
fifty-seven years, seven months and seventeen days. Her sickness was dropsy, 
her suffering was six months, but she bore it resignedly, and in hope of a blessed 
immortality. She looked into the future. Shortly before her death she said 
to me and the children, 'When I die don't mourn for we all must die ; but what 
I desire most of all is, that you may all be converted to God, then we shall 
meet again in heaven. Eleven years ago, when I was very sick and you were 
young yet, it seemed much harder to die and leave you ; now, you are all 
grown up ; be obedient to your father as long as he remains, he will surely 
not mislead you, but direct you in the right way.' 

"Nearly the same time, or a few years earlier than my grandfather settled 
here in Schuylkill county, a German family by the name of Hartman came 
from Europe and settled at the place where Orwigsburg now stands. The fam- 
ily consisted of the parents and four children, two boys and two girls. They 
were a pious and God fearing family ; they went to work and prospered well. 
One day, in fall, in the year 1744, Hartman and his eldest son were to finish 
their sowing. Mrs. Hartman and the youngest son went to the mill to get 
some grist done, but little they thought that this should be the last time that 
they should see each other in this world. At noon when they were eating their 
dinner, a troop of Indians came, fifteen in number, and killed Hartman and 
his eldest son ; plundered the house, then set it on fire. The two girls they took 
along as victims. Towards evening when Mrs. Hartman came home, she found 
her buildings all in ashes. They burned the bodies of Hartman and his son; 
even the dog, they threw him into the flames and burned him. The two girls, 
as above mentioned, aged ten and thirteen years, they took along, and another 
little girl only about three years old, that they took along as victim, from a 
family named Smith. They murdered the father of that family in the niorning, 
the same day they came to Hartman's, the girls they took along barefoot, and 
soon their feet got sore that they could hardly walk any more ; the oldest of 
the girls got sick and could go no farther ; then they killed her with the toma- 
hawk. The two other girls they wrapped their feet with old cloth and took them 
along in their camp. Mrs. Hartman was very much troubled about her husband 
and children: some hunters found the body'of her eldest daughter and buried 
her. She could comfort herself better over them that were dead, than over the 
one she knew was among the Indians. She was a praying and God fearing 
woman and prayed to God that He should restore the child to her again ; but 
years passed on and sometimes she heard that children were taken from the 
Indians, then she went to see whether she could find her lost daughter. One 
time she went as far as Pittsburg, but all in vain. So nine long and weary 



874 SCHUYLKILL COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA 

years passed away, and she prayed to God for her lost daughter. One day a 
man brought her a message that a great many children were taken from the 
Indians and they were in care of Colonel Boquet at Carlisle. As soon as she 
heard it she expected to find her long lost daughter there, so she started for 
Carlisle; when she came there the children were all presented to her, but she 
could not recognize one that might be her daughter ; she spoke to some of them 
but got no answer, for they could only speak the Indian language. With a 
heavy heart she thought she had to go home again without her daughter. The 
Colonel asked her whether she could sing a German hymn they used to sing in 
their family at home. Then she commenced to sing the' following hymn : "Allein 
und doch nicht ganz allein bin ich,' meaning in English, "Alone and yet not 
all alone am I.' Then a grown-up girl sprang to her, fell around her neck and 
kissed her, and recognized her as her dear mother. No pen can describe the 
joy when they recognized each other again. O ! what a blessing it is when par- 
ents sing and pray in their families with their children. This hymn the mother 
sang was the means of finding her long lost daughter again. 

"At Landingville, near George Adams' boatyard, stood a small log mill that 
the Indians burned down. 

"Near Landingville, at the farm now owned by Daniel Heim, the Indians 
took a sister of Martin Werner along as a victim. 

"In Schuylkill Haven, where the Reading shop now stands, the Indians 
murdered a family by the name of Fincher, and burned their house. 

"One day a troop of Indians, eighteen in number, passed my father's house. 
They looked wild ; they had bows and arrows, and blankets around them. They 
laid in my father's woods at night; in the morning they went to Orwigsburg 
and shot small pieces of money at a distance from posts. 

"One day when I was young, father, I and a hired man were mowing 
clover in a field ; two deers came to the cows in the adjoining field, and made 
company with the cows. Father went for the gun and shot one of them. 

"In the year 1850 there was a very high flood. The Schuylkill river went 
over its banks and swept several houses awa